Armstrong Clark Wood Deck Stain Review 2022 4.4/5 (59)

This post was updated on April 19, 2022

2022 Armstrong Clark Wood Stain Reviews

Here at DeckStainHelp.com, we take pride in the fact that we have become the Internet’s number one reference for all things exterior wood and deck restoration related. Our customers who have used Armstrong Clark wood deck stain continue to be satisfied by the appearance and longevity of their deck stain projects. If you have used Armstrong Clark wood deck stain, we appreciate your input, so feel free to leave a comment below and pictures of your completed projects if you have them.

Newer is for Armstrong Clark is the Espresso Semi-Solid color, a rich deep brown tone that promises excellent UV resistance.

Armstrong Clark Deck Stain Review

Armstrong Clark Deck Stain Review

Important Note: This is our 3rd Review of Armstrong Clark Stain.

Armstrong Clark Wood Deck Stain is a highly regarded oil based stain formulated with 5 generations of stain industry experience. Armstrong Clark is available in several formulas: Transparent, semi-transparent, and semi-solid colors.

Armstrong Clark Deck Stains are uniquely blended with drying and non-drying oils that isolate from each other during application. The non-drying oils penetrate the wood fibers and help rejuvenate and condition lost natural oils while the drying oils cure on the surface to lock in the conditioning oils and form a barrier of weather protection at the surface.

Armstrong Clark Stain Review

Armstrong Clark Stain Scores (1-10)

Appearance After Initial Stain Application: 9

– The initial appearance of Armstrong Clark was a rich deep finish with naturally enhanced wood grain showing through the stain formula. Our choice of the Cedar Semi-Transparent color had a rich cedar tone.

Armstrong Clark Wood Stain Photos

Preventing UV Graying at 2 Year Mark: 8

Upon our 2-year inspection, Armstrong Clark Wood Deck Stain in the Cedar Semi-Transparent color produced above-average UV resistance. With the Armstrong Clark, the transparent colors would deliver slightly less UV shielding due to less pigment in the formula, while the semi-solid colors would have slightly better UV protection when in full sun.

Wear/Tear and Peeling: 9

– No peeling was detected at the 2-year point. There was a slight wearing on the high traffic areas, around the furniture, and on the stairs.

Cost Per Square Foot: 9

– Armstrong Clark Deck Stain can be purchased for $38.99-$45.99 depending on the opacity of the formula. In our test experience, Armstrong Clark had one of the best spread rates of any stain. We used a total of 3.5 gallons on our 600 square foot deck applied in one coat.

Preventing Mold/Mildew/Algae: 8

– At 2 years we noticed some slight mold growth on top of the Armstrong Clark stain in some shaded areas. We did not detect any mildew spores within the stain as the mildew spores could be wiped away using a wet towel.

Ease of Application: 9

– The Armstrong Clark Deck Stain was super easy to apply and extremely user-friendly. Upon the manufacturer’s claims of being able to apply in direct sunlight, we tested our application on a 90-degree day in full sun. We were surprised the stain did not dry too quickly and applied evenly in those conditions, avoiding potential issues with Applying a Deck Stain in Full Sun. There were no excess dripping issues on the railings even though we applied using a pump sprayer and back wiped with a stain brush. The semi-transparent stain applied well using this method.

Color Shifting (darkening) after 2 Years: 8.5

– Our 2-year test of Armstrong Clark Stain in Semi-Trans Cedar color did show signs of slight darkening from its original color. We figured this was likely due to a higher solid content of the formula. The AC is over 70% solids, containing both linseed and paraffin oils.

Difficulty of Reapplication: 8.5

– Because Armstrong Clark Wood Deck Stain penetrates well and does not overly darken it would be easy to recoat. A simple cleaning with a wood deck cleaner to remove dirt, grime, and mold spores would be plenty sufficient prior to reapplying.

Overall Score Armstrong Clark Stain at 2 Year Period: 8.5

– Armstrong Clark Wood Stain held up well at our 2-year test mark. Easy to apply and terrific coverage rates, raise Armstrong Clark to a high level. No peeling and only a slight darkening color shift were more than acceptable. Easy to maintain and prep prior to recoating. Armstrong Clark is definitely one of our top choices for a professional durable finish that lasts and is easy to work with in the future.

Product Information:

More InfoArmstrong Clark Stains
Cost: $49.99 per Gallon, $259.99 per 5 Gallon Pail
Stain Type: Transparent, Semi-Transparent, Semi-Solid – Oil-Based
Available Colors: Transparent Natural, Transparent Cedar, Transparent Redwood, Semi-Trans Cedar, Semi-Trans Rustic Brown, Semi-Trans Sierra Redwood, Semi-Trans Amber, Semi-Trans Mahogany, Semi-Solid Mountain Cedar, Semi-Solid Woodland Brown, Semi-Solid Oxford Brown, Semi-Solid Sequoia, Semi-Transparent Chestnut, Semi-Trans Natural Oak, Semi-Trans Black Walnut for Hardwoods
Application Temperature: 50-110 F
Coats Required: 1 Coat
Coverage Per Gallon: 200-250 sq. ft
Application Tools: Sprayer, Pad, Brush, Roller
Dry Time: 8-72 Hours, Depending on UV exposure and air temps
Cleanup: Mineral Spirits
VOC Compliant: Under 50 VOCs. Compliant in All 50 States and Los Angeles Counties
More Info: Product Data
Manufacturer: Armstrong Clark

Test Deck Stats:
Deck Wood Type: Pressure Treated Pine
Deck Square Footage: 600
UV Exposure: Full Sun
How Many Years Tested: 2 Years
Stain Color Used: 
 Semi-Transparent Cedar

*All products tested and results are from our experience. We offer no guarantee of similar results. Take into consideration that results may differ due to different wood types, exposure to UV radiation, and natural weathering.


Armstrong Clark Wood Deck Stain Review Video

Please Rate This. You may also post comments or ask questions below.

Related Deck Stain Help Articles & Reviews

guest
470 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
thelilpups
thelilpups
10 months ago

Deck Stain Help,
We just wanted to give you a big thank you for all the prepping and staining advice. In the end we decided to go with Armstrong-Clark on account of some advantages it offers. We have a large south facing deck. The fact that we could put it on in the sun is a big plus as it is too hard to time a dry deck with an overcast day and no foreseeable ran here in the NW. The other big advantage of this product is that you let it sit and soak in for 24 hours instead of having to towel it off 30 to 60 minutes after application. This is a huge labor saver that keeps you from trying to towel up stain while you are still trying to get it on other areas. Within 24 hours it was all soaked in and looking nice. We used the Armstong-Clark Cedar Semi-Transparent on cedar deck boards. Thanks again for all the help!
Lee

Armstrong-Clark 1.jpg
IMG_8438.jpg
IMG_8425.jpg
Armstong-Clark B.jpg
Jonathan Marianu
Jonathan Marianu
2 years ago

I wanted to wait several years before posting this to be certain my recommendation was well founded and accurate.

It has now been seven years and I can confidently recommend the Armstrong Clark stain product for exterior, element exposed cedar. I am in Portland, OR and have cedar carriage garage doors.

The house was built in 6/2008. I had wanted a smooth furniture finish on the doors and so the painter applied numerous thin coats of lacquer to all exposed wood; mahogany front doors, cedar soffits, the cedar ceiling over the enclosed deck, and the garage carriage doors.
By 10/2013 the lacquer had peeled off the garage doors due to the direct southern exposure to sunlight, rain and snow but I will say all other exterior wood was and is still fine.

After researching and finding this site I removed the garage doors, stripped, brightened, properly sanded (going through each grit until 1200) and then applied the Armstrong product as four thin coats.
One gallon was sufficient for two doors (3 Car)

Throughout the years there have been no problems with the product or with any type of greying or fading of the wood.
Despite my best effort at sanding this is still not a smooth, glossy finish which what I desired but I see that that is not practical nor does the product purport to deliver that.
However due to the slight roughness on the surface I do find that pollen and dust stick to the doors so I just wipe them down monthly.
In considering all attributes that this site uses to rate stain products, the Armstrong is superior to the other products I have dealt with.

I helped a family member with his deck and he insisted on a using different product because of the price. What a foolish choice he made!
The cost of the stain is so minimal when compared to labor and time costs.

In 2020 I did give the garage doors a very light sanding and added a single coat before I sold my house.
It looked beautiful and I believe the doors were a contributing factor in selling the house, even during the slower housing market.
I highly recommend the product and I will use it again.

Aline Q
Aline Q
4 years ago

Extremely impressed with this stain. After a backbreaking job of sanding and brightening the cupped pressure treated 7’x28’ front porch and four 5’ wide steps, I was praying the finished product would be worth it. I wasn’t disappointed. A complete transformation. Very easy to apply, and huge bonus not having to time application to avoid the sun. Used two coats applied only about 20 mins apart but dries enough in that time to not have worries about leaving shoe imprints on previously coated surfaces. Finish was rich and smooth. After almost a year signs of wear are minimal, and only on steps used to drag bicycles and scooters up and down in addition to very heavy foot traffic.
Will recoat steps this summer and that’s it. Highly recommend,

A Quint
A Quint
4 years ago

I’m out of town for a couple of weeks but can get take some pictures when I return and post them at that time. I never think to do a before and after. If you had seen the before, you’d be amazed by the after.

Bobby
Bobby
5 days ago

Can this transparent stain be applied with a sorayer

Daryl Strauss
Daryl Strauss
10 days ago

Maintenance question.
I installed a new IPE deck 12 months ago. Let it sit unfinished for a year.
3 days ago, used the RAD cleaner and then brightener. Let it dry 48 hrs.
Yesterday I stained it with AC Amber. Looks good.
I plan to add a fresh coat of AC Amber every year for maintenance. Trying to make it last and look good.
The AC instructions say to “wash with mild scrubbing using 1 part bleach to 3 parts water with a max of 1/4 cups liquid dishwashing soap per gal. Then light pressure wash”.
Questions:
1. The cleaning sounds simple, and I like it. Is this cleaning method preferable over the RAD cleaning step 1 cleaner?
2. If instead, you recommend the RAD cleaner over the AC can instructions, do you recommend using the brightener also? Or just the cleaner step 1. I ask because on my front porch, I cleaned + brightened and stained with RAD over cedar last year. This year I cleaned and brightened before adding a maintenance coat of RAD stain and the cleaner/brightener combo removed a LOT of the previous years RAD stain. Seemed a bit aggressive to me.
3. I have one corner of the deck that can get more shade and hold moisture a little more. If this area starts to have issues with mold or dirt, (as was on the previous deck boards) THEN should I use the RAD cleaner AND BRIGHTENER? Or as long as the stain is still good only the AC cleaning instruction method or RAD Step 1 only?
Appreciate your help.

Daryl Strauss
Daryl Strauss
4 days ago

Any idea what caused this yellowing all over the deck boards?
IPE deck, installed 12 months ago. I let it weather for 12 months. Boards were a pretty even and consistent gray, but beautiful IPE color when wet. A week ago I used RAD 1&2. Gray was then a bit lighter, but still pretty even and consistent. Feel like I did a really good job getting all of the cleaner and brightened off. I let that dry for 2 days. Looked good. Applied AC Amber. Looked great for 4 days.
Then when it rained, many of the boards seemed to leach yellow. But not all boards. I can slide my shoe on the good looking boards smoothly like there is a thin dry oil coating on them. But the yellow boards are much dryer so shoe doesn’t slide the same.
Everything looked good thru all steps, and then out of the blue, this.
Ideas?

A221043C-A7C9-4486-A2B0-885C3A8BED9A.jpeg
77275B8A-10F3-445F-8F40-4C41F145C331.jpeg
8FED308B-7474-4006-AECD-F8BC1B5C3C0F.jpeg
Daryl Strauss
Daryl Strauss
2 days ago

It does go away when wet. Other than water beading up, the color looks the same as when it was wet BEFORE the stain was applied.
But when it’s dry it looks terrible.
Nobody has ever seen this?

BFCC3137-EEFC-46F4-8458-355FB2E5EF1D.jpeg
Daryl Strauss
Daryl Strauss
2 days ago

And you think that’s ok to do on those certain boards over the existing stain, no prep?
Just want to confirm the best way.
Thank you!

Richard
Richard
2 months ago

Question:
California
Lots of sun, SE side of house, though partial oak shade
Redwood, circa 1990’s, good condition.
No significant mold/mildew.
Wanting a return unpigmented natural wood penetrating oil “stain,” in September 2020 I vigorously stripped (including some hand sanding) entire deck of old alkyd semi-transparent redwood stain and more recent redwood oil stain with sodium hydroxide, then neutralized with oxalic acid, followed by (at your suggestion) TWP 1500, non-pigmented. Two winters have passed—albeit with less than normal rain—and I am inclined to re-treat horizontal only, but after the previous exhausting/toxic effort, I am not willing to do more stripping or sanding work. As I recall, the TWP instructions were a little more restrictive than others, i.e. “wet-on-wet” procedure and two coat requirement, though that may not have reflected an actual difference in their product; thus, I was thinking of using Armstrong Clark this time, presumably after the two step cleaning/brightening with RAD. I still want to avoid any unnatural color, because I like the color of the deck without any red or yellow tint, despite the understanding that less color is less protection. 
Armstrong Clark says I don’t need to strip Armstrong Clark, but do I need to strip the TWP before applying Armstrong Clark?

Mark
Mark
3 months ago

The siding on my home is redwood. Never been painted. In the past 25 years I have always used Superdeck 1910 an oil based transparent stain/sealer. I refinish it every 4 years by stripping/cleaning, brightening and reapplying a new coat of finish. Now, with Sherwin Williams buying out Superdeck and eliminating the oil based product that I used for so long, I would like to get your opinion on what product I should now use. (I will not be using Superdeck as I believe it is now pretty much junk!)
what’s your opinion?

Dale Himes
Dale Himes
7 months ago

I like the armstrong products I live in Oakdale and they are mde right up the road in Tuolumne county….but I think I mad a mistake ..I used the semi solid on an adirondack chair I built….I understnd now that it was a no no…that it will stain the clothing….is there a sealer I could coat so the clothing staining wont happen..also can I 2 coat….(doug fir and pine)

Eric Bauer
Eric Bauer
10 months ago

Applied a coat of AC driftwood. Looks great. One third were older never stained wood, two thirds 1 year old weathered. Obviously there is expected difference. I did not apply a second coat immediately, as it seemed still wet after 30 minutes. Anyways, it’s been ~3 weeks. Is it too late now to put another coat on for appearance sake?
Thanks

chris
chris
10 months ago

I just finished staining my cedar deck with AC semi trans natural oak. With rainy days in the forecast for the next week, I took the risk of staining in a rain free weather window when we have 60% chance (unfortunately some heavier rain) after 24 hrs but before 48 hrs of the stain curing. Fortunately the verticals have had 48-72 hrs, but I could not get to the horizontals sooner.

I have plenty of stain to do a second coat (and was hoping to do a second coat anyway since the stain absorbed into the wood before 60 minutes as AC mentions). Well, I suppose I will just cross my fingers and take pictures afterwards! In reading about a 72 hr cure time now, I am a bit worried — but we shall see!?

Chris
Chris
10 months ago

Thank you! That is music to my ears — the deck is looking great and I have this website to thank for all the awesome guidance!

Am I correct that I can try a second coat since the stain soaked in within 30 to 60 min of application? My cedar deck is 3 years old and was fully cleaned/brightened and took the first coat very well (no excess to wipe). I don’t want to over apply — when I try in a week to do a second coat, how do I test to make sure I’m not over applying? I am also assuming brushing like I did for the firat coat is best approach? Thanks again!

Sam B
Sam B
11 months ago

Our home was built in 1993, surrounded by decks, so huge job to maintain. We have most recently used Sikkens Cetol SRD, but since we live in NYS, we understand the VOC regulations have changed that product for the worse. Have 1200 SQ of deck so would like to get this right (and durability is a huge concern since so much deck). We are considering Armstrong Clark Semi-Transparent.
Questions: 1)Our contractor is unfamiliar with this product but willing to use. He is planning to strip decks completely… does he need to use Armstrong Clark product to do this (Stripper/Brightener) or will other typical products work? Should we plan on 1 or 2 coats? 3) Any other thoughts with an older deck that has been maintained but showing some wear. Another product to consider? Wood is pressure treated (Pine, I assume).
Thanks!!!

Chris
Chris
11 months ago

I stained my cedar deck with AC semi-trans natural oak in September 2019. I’d like to give it a refresher with the same product. My understanding is that I can use RAD clean, light pressure wash and then stain. There are some areas that have worn a little more from heavier foot traffic. I am getting mixed messages on whether I need to brighten. Including pics just in case.

87D1F6C3-DF4E-4247-8AE1-7892BD589D93.jpeg
0DC0A88D-B02F-4DE3-8EFE-5EEDC302ED95.jpeg
Jamis Roose
Jamis Roose
11 months ago

I am a painting contractor in PNW on the coast. What is the best siding/deck stain for the PNW environment? Currently we are using super deck and woodscapes, but would like to try out something different. Thank you

Jamis Roose
Jamis Roose
11 months ago

TWP stains?

Dale Lindholm
Dale Lindholm
11 months ago

We used Super Deck semi transparent stain on our cedar decks in the past, we sanded, and cleaned the decks ready to change to Armstrong Clark semi transparent stain, why do you have to use a brightener before the stain goes on?

Elliot
Elliot
1 year ago

Stained an ipe wood deck and teak furniture with the product about a month ago. Still smelling odor from the product. When should it dissipate?

Brian F
Brian F
1 year ago

Great information on this site. We have a large batu deck that was installed in 2015, the previous owner chose not to treat the deck. We are now in the process of sanding the deck and plan to use Armstrong Clark Mahagony stain. Do you recommend any preperation for the stain after the sanding is completed?

Brian F
Brian F
1 year ago

Thank you for the fast response. Is there a specific product recommended for “clean and brighten”?

Kathy
Kathy
1 year ago

I am a first time user of this product.I have already cleaned the deck according to your reccomendation. How many days after appling semi-solid stain, should I allow for drying. From the product information, it
indicates only one coat is necessary for semi-solid. My deck is old, should I apply 2 coats?
Trying to plan this project according to weather forecast.

Last edited 1 year ago by Kathy
sam
sam
1 year ago

I installed a new cedar deck last spring and used Ready Seal, natural seal 512-5 and found after one year of Toronto winter that the sealer is peeling all over the 500 sq.ft deck. I don’t understand why. Please help and provide some guidance on how to reapply with RS or go to another brand. Much appreciated.

sam
sam
1 year ago

How do you recommend prepping the cedar surface? I’m looking for a natural cedar look and does Armstrong Clark has something similar in color?
thanks

skris
skris
1 year ago

We just cleaned and brightened our redwood deck which was stained 3 yrs ago with TWP1500. Going with Armstrong Clark Semi transparent Light Oak this time. We’re noticing that there are many holes and hollows in the wood. In a few hollows, some of the wood seems loose and can be pulled off by hand.

  1. Is it important to remove the loose wood chips before staining? Would you advise using a wood hardener for these areas?
  2. For holes/cracks, is there any prep required? Or is it enough to stain the insides using a narrow brush?
pat the deck stainer
pat the deck stainer
1 year ago

Do you ship to NY

Pat
Pat
1 year ago

I’m a painting contractor in NY. Do you shop your products here, I see they are available in NJ. You mentioned that this is not a retail site. What do you mean by that. Pat

Chad
Chad
1 year ago

We will be staining our 10 month old 700 sq ft pine deck in the coming weeks. Do you suggest one or two coats of the Armstrong Clark semi transparent?

Travis
Travis
1 year ago

I have a brand new long cedar deck wrapped around the house. Planning on putting transparent cedar tone Armstrong Clark stain. But I’m concern about footprints dirt will be showing on the deck. Any suggestions? Thanks Travis 02-17-21

savethisdeck
savethisdeck(@savethisdeck)
1 year ago

Just replaced 3 boards on deck. Other boards are much older. I want to subdue the difference in age when I apply next stain. Not sure if a semi-solid will do it or if I need to go with a straight solid stain to cover. I have used Armstrong (on your advice) and loved it. They offer a semi-solid but do not recommend for wood less than a year old. Any insight on what opacity I should choose to lessen the difference between new boards and old wood?

Kerry
Kerry
1 year ago

We just installed a rough hewn split rail cedar fence and want to know the best sealer/stain to use to protect it from the summer sun (in Alabama) and moisture. We want to prevent graying and mildew as much as possible and we would don’t want to have to re-apply the stain every year if possible. Is the Armstrong Clark stain our best option?

Kerry
Kerry
1 year ago

Awesome, thank you. And what is the best way to apply it?

Carolynne W Knisley
Carolynne W Knisley
1 year ago

I am building a new redwood deck, I used Redwood Con Heart & want the deck to maintain the current look. What product do you recommend I use to keep the fresh “new wood” look? How long should i wait to stain, if I wait I run the risk of discoloration and staining, like red wine. How often should i re-do the process to keep the look of new wood???

IMG_2719.jpg
Donna
Donna
1 year ago

Do Armstrong Clark Stains appear lighter on pressure treated pine wood? We have been testing with their sample stains, and some of their colors appear lighter than shown online. Rustic brown for example appears as a medium to light brown with red undertones.

Donnell
Donnell
1 year ago

Hi. My question is, I have mahogany entry doors. Full sun etc. I like a sheen on them. However after stripping & refinishing them every yr, since I was using minwax red mahogany stain & then a sealer on top for the look I want, I know they aren’t good to use tgthr & are the wrong products. Door is prepped to stain. I’ve chosen AC semi solid .
Curious which color of AC would get closet to this look & how can I get a sheen on it? Pictures of b4 & after below. I really would love to get some sort of shine/sheen on the doors, even if I have to refinish every yr. Is that even possible w AC? Any suggestions please.
Ty in advance. 😊

FB_IMG_1506289079109.jpg
FB_IMG_1506289089590.jpg
Michael Chilcoat
Michael Chilcoat
1 year ago

Could you list the dealers of this product near me that stock this product 21161 Thanks

Senorita
Senorita
1 year ago

What color do you recommend for redwood cedar decking? Also should I use TWP or AC. I live in Ontario Canada. Thank you.

Cheri Adkins
Cheri Adkins
1 year ago

I have never stained a deck. I want to use RAD, A.C., or TWP. Please tell me which is easiest to apply with a stain pad. This is a new deck 5 months old.

Mark
Mark
1 year ago

If you sand an old deck to remove a prior stain, do you have to wait for the newly sanded wood to weather prior to staining?

Louis Dempsey
Louis Dempsey
1 year ago

Can I do 2 coats of stain on a new deck.? What do I need to do to prep my new pressure treated deck? Do I need to sand and then wash it. If I can apply a 2nd coat how long do I need to wait?. Thank you

Lou D
Lou D
1 year ago
Reply to  Louis Dempsey

what about the factory glaze that is on the wood? the other thing is i had to sand factory stamp out of wood. now where i sanded out the stamp is lighter then the rest of the wood. what do i do for that? will a brighter help me on that?

Joanie C
Joanie C
1 year ago

This is the transparent stain, right? If that solves the problem that’s great! I’m assuming that down the road when another coat of the semi solid is needed, cleaning/brightening will be enough or will the added coat of natural require some additional prep?

Joanie C
Joanie C
1 year ago

OK, we cleaned the small deck, reapplied a coat of AC semi-solid Sequoia yesterday and it once again looks great. Tomorrow we will go over it with dry rags to remove any excess stain. How long should we wait before applying a coat of Natural? Thanks!

Dale Himes
Dale Himes
7 months ago

so thompsons water seal may seal in the pigment also?..

dale himes
dale himes
7 months ago

you are probably right but from a business perspective it is unprofessional to publicly degrade a competitors product …..better to let your product do the talking…..speak for itself..

JE Boyce
JE Boyce
1 year ago

We have a mahogany deck that was completed in late 2014. We stained it with Cabot Australian Timber Oil Mahogany in early 2016 and again in early 2018. Frankly it has never looked anything like it did when it was new (see Photo 1; new after rain 2014).
We want to retain again but have the following questions:
> Should we prep with RAD Stripper & Brightener Kit or with RAD Cleaner and Brightener Kit (We notice that the customer video does not even use the brightener!)
>> If we use the Stripper, do we need a power washer? (we don’t own one that works well.)
>>> In some places, comments say you recommend using AC Amber instead of AC Mahogany on mahogany decks. Can you tell us why?

Deck After Rain.jpg
JE Boyce
JE Boyce
1 year ago

Thanks for your answer. I guess that means we won’t be doing the job. Can’t afford a pressure washer, and we had hoped for some professional advice on which color would best match our original deck.

rob r
rob r
1 year ago
Reply to  JE Boyce

that looks closer to the mahogany than amber. Amber dries more brown, mahogany more red

Stephen
Stephen
1 year ago

Considering using AC semi-transparent on a pressured treated deck that is about 14 months old. Deck has never been stained. Will do RAD clean and brighten first:
1. Should I do 2 coats applied wet on wet to deck given its age?
2. Should I expect to get 2 yrs out of AC verses Ready Seal?
3. Is AC application more forgiving than RAD/water-based stain when it comes to lap marks etc (though both need wet on wet)
Thanks

Nicole B
Nicole B
1 year ago

We just stained our deck with RAD based on your reviews, but we are novices and there were terrible lap marks (pic 2) and drip stains that required a very careful feathering of a second coat (pic 3). As we practiced we got better at it, (and learned to do one board at a time) but the RAD stain was pretty unforgiving of our lack of skill. My question is this: we are about to stain our 2 year old Rainbow Playset and are wondering if the TWP will be any easier to apply than the RAD in terms of drips and lap lines and such. The playset came from the factory with a light coat of water based stain/sealer and now needs its first maintenance coat. We are very wary to use RAD on it because it’s such a complicated surface and we are afraid we won’t notice splatters or we won’t back brush fast enough and then the finish gets so uneven. Is TWP more forgiving? We got very excited about the Ready Seal brand for this reason, but we really really don’t want to have to do this every year. And lastly, what application tool would be the fastest and least likely for error for us novices?

IMG_5785.jpg
IMG_5794.jpg
IMG_5304.jpg
LORAINE A FLOOD
LORAINE A FLOOD
1 year ago
Reply to  Nicole B

Which color of RAD did you use on the deck?

Lorie
Lorie
1 year ago
Reply to  Nicole B

And what kind of wood?

Kim
Kim
1 year ago

We have a composite deck the previous owners either painted or used a solid stain over it. We tried cleaning it off and pressure washing and the stuff wouldn’t budge. Not sure if we should try a stripper or find a good solid stain to go over it with??? I contacted the manufacturer and they say they don’t recommend painting but since original stuff is sticking so good that maybe a paint would adhere?? Thoughts, strip, paint or solid stain?? Material is ultra deck, and no clue on the solid stain

Bruce
Bruce
1 year ago

Hi there
I’ve been reading about all the problems with using inferior products and want to get the staining of my deck right the first time. We live in Toronto, Ontario. Deck floor is mahogany and seating and walls are cedar. I have included photos of deck area when dry and wet (which highlights difference). This was after a pressure wash and after application of Behr deck clean which I picked up at Home Depot before finding this invaluable forum. Have now returned all the Behr stain I purchased and thinking of the AC Mahogany or Amber for floor section (you seem to recommend Amber stain on mahogany decks so not sure why that is) and AC Semi Transparent Cedar for walls and benches. Would appreciate your views to confirm.
Thanks
Bruce

195C560B-5C4E-492C-859A-F737D5CB506C.jpeg
1510B745-782E-4A27-A61F-7F997B353B8C.jpeg
89525D16-40BE-4110-B794-3F1B08E46326.jpeg
adriana aguilar
adriana aguilar
1 year ago

I want to stain my porch…is 10 years old and previous stain with solid stain. I powerwash but pain still in the rails! What can i do to remove it! And what stain you recomend. We are in michigan so the weather is ruf. Thank you!

adriana aguilar
adriana aguilar
1 year ago

Thank you!

Dennis
Dennis
2 years ago

I want to install a 120 square foot cedar deck under a covered cement patio.The wood will never really become “weathered”and will never really see sun or rain.I would like to stain it.How can I prep the wood?

Dennis
Dennis
2 years ago

I want to put a small,120 sq foot,cedar deck on a covered cement patio.I t will never see full sunlight and little rain.I want to stain it,but it is new wood and will never become “weathered”.Any suggestions?

John Stec
John Stec
2 years ago

I have a 10’x20′ attached deck with wood rails and balustrades. The balustrades are square and need sanding but I do not have the time or inclination to do so manually.

What type of sander do you suggest for this tedious task? My random orbit sander is fine for the railing but I am fairly certain the a belt file sander will simply be too aggressive for the balustrades. Will a detail sander be more appropriate for what I am trying to do? Honestly – I am not lazy, just old as dirt!

mathew Carson
mathew Carson
2 years ago

Had 1 coat of semi solid cedar by AC applied, how can I tell if I need a 2nd coat?

Wasn’t present so not sure how fast it absorbed

Brandon M
Brandon M
2 years ago

I stripped, brightened and stained my deck 3 years ago using AC semi-transparent cedar and now am looking to restain using AC semi-transparent rustic brown. Do you recommend stripping and brightening before applying new stain?

John P
John P
2 years ago

I used transparent Cedar tone last year on my cedar deck after stripping Penofin off. Also did the brightening & it looked great. I’m in MN. Looks dingy after winter, what should I do to bring it back this season?

John P
John P
2 years ago

What do you recommend I clean with, just power wash or use oxi-clean or a deck cleaner?

Thank you!

Dijkstra Eusden
Dijkstra Eusden
2 years ago

We’re about to stain a new wood red cedar 8×12 greenhouse before putting it all together. Any suggestions on semi-transparent stain to use? Ready Seal, Armstrong Clark, WaterLox, or blend your own linseed/varnish/turp?
Thank you!

Robin
Robin
2 years ago

Would you recommend this AC for a wooden playset? The playset is “white wood,” bought it second hand so unsure what wood specifically. It is about 10 years old and seems to be quite dry. We need to replace some boards but want to salvage what we can. The previous owner stained a couple times with Cabot oil based. We’re planning to clean with power washer and power sand before applying the new stain. Thanks!

20200427_201301.jpg
Robin
Robin
2 years ago
Reply to  Robin

Another photo.

20200427_201313.jpg
Robin
Robin
2 years ago

The wood is real rough so would I sand before or after stripping/ brightening?

Is there any stain you review that could go over without the step of stripping? Thanks!

Duane Young
Duane Young
2 years ago

I will be installing a white oak deck and checking with you help determine best oil product. Also, do you recommend sealing both sides?

Duane Young
Duane Young
2 years ago

What product do you recommend for sealing white oak? I will be installing new decking and if you recommend sealing both sides

Steve P in NC
Steve P in NC
2 years ago

Starting a big deck repair and refinish project on our North Carolina lake house. South facing with constant sun exposure. Approximately 1100 horizontal square feet + railing. We bought house recently so do not know how old the deck boards are. Guessing at least 10 years old. Previous stain looks to have been transparent and definitely not recent. See pics. I’ve replaced some of the boards that were in terrible shape with 2×6 PTP. Hoping to get a few more years from deck before full replacement. Lots of other priorities ahead of it (eg. siding, roof, dock) Thinking of applying AC semi transparent or semi solid rather than a solid or one of those deck repair applications like Deck Correct, which it probably needs. Worried about costs and look. Looking for recommendations. Thanks.

01C62CF3-C03B-441B-9FAF-68D5AEFFBF45.jpeg
0ED3DC09-D3A3-4ADD-8E46-3831E62E30B0.jpeg
83CAA098-4C43-43C8-A67B-386CE7DC0435.jpeg
9DA451CA-D320-4595-8AA3-1BFE30C30A42.jpeg
Steve P in NC
Steve P in NC
2 years ago

Can I sand the new boards and then prep and stain in coming week or so? Also would semi solid be better than a transparent or even a semi transparent because the existing boards are so weathered?

Margaret
Margaret
2 years ago

Hello, I am interested in using AC finish on maghony decking on a wrap around porch. I read that I should use 1 part bleach to 3 parts water for prepping, is that correct? If not, what do you suggest. Also, what would you suggest for finishing as we enjoy seeing the natural grain of the maghony show through the finish.

Margaret
Margaret
2 years ago

The wood is approx. 22 years old and has been stained in the past. I used vinegar solution and power washed the decking, but not sure that was enough before applying a finished coat. What are your suggestions. Thank you.

Margaret
Margaret
2 years ago

1st picture is by steps, which gets the most wear
2nd pic is front section
3rd pic is side porch section

section by front steps.jpeg
front.jpeg
side section of porch.jpeg
Margaret
Margaret
2 years ago

Thank you!

Margaret
Margaret
2 years ago

See above.