Behr (Advanced) Deckover Review 2.3/5 (650)

This post was updated on May 2, 2022

Behr Deckover Review Updated for 2022

Since the article was first originally published, we have had many comments from consumers who have used the Deckover and have had a terrible experience with peeling and failure. If you have used the Behr Deckover, please upload and post pictures of your exterior wood or deck with the Deckover on it. A brief description of your experience would be helpful as well. This can be done in our comment area below. Feel free to submit a Star Rating on the Behr Deckover coating.

Important Note: Behr Deckover is now called Behr Advanced DeckOver.  It comes in a smooth or textured finish.


Behr Advanced Deckover Review

Behr DeckOver RatingsBring new life to old wood and concrete surfaces with BEHR ADVANCED DECKOVER. This 100% acrylic formula conceals cracks and splinters up to 1/4″, and creates a smooth, slip-resistant finish that also resists cracking and peeling. It’s available in 54 solid custom colors and is also great for decks, railings, patios, composite decks, pool decks, and walkways.

Recommended for properly prepared exterior weathered or cracked horizontal and vertical wood and composite surfaces such as Decks, Railings, Porches, and Boat Docks. Also great for concrete surfaces such as Pool Decks, Patios, and Sidewalks. Do not use on drivable surfaces such as garage floors and driveways.

Behr Deckover Stain Ratings (1-10)

Appearance After Initial Stain Application: 4

– Behr applies like thick paint and helps to fill cracks and conceal splinters. It looks like paint, not like a deck stain. Our customer complained about dirty footprints always showing up on the deck. Had to scrub to remove.

Preventing UV Graying at 2 Year Mark: 10

– Excellent UV protection from graying in the areas that were not peeling.

Wear/Tear and Peeling: 4

– After one Winter and the Deckover was peeling heavily. We prepped according to manufacturer directions, so we know that was not the problem. In general, we have found that all Behr stains have a tendency to peel, especially after a Winter in a cold-weather state.

Cost Per Square Foot: 1

– Not good. Behr says 75 sq. per gallon, and that is very generous. We used 8 gallons for the 400 sq. foot deck. The first coat applied at about 50 sq. feet and the second coat applied at 75 sq. feet per gallon.

Preventing Mold/Mildew/Algae: 10

– No Mold or Algae were on the deck stain after 2+ years.

Ease of Application: 2

-Very difficult to apply. We applied with a brush and roller. We needed to back brush numerous times to get the stain to fill in the cracks. We had many drips between the deck boards showing.

Color Shifting (darkening) after 2 Years: 10

– It did not darken or attract dirt.

The Difficulty of Reapplication: 1

– This would be tough to fix and may not be worth it to recoat with the same product. You would have to scrape and sand all loose stain before reapplication. If you wanted to change brands, you would need to sand the entire deck to remove as the Behr Deckover will not strip off with a conventional deck stripper remover.

Overall Score Behr Deckover at 2 Year Period: 5.5

– If you took away the UV protection of being a solid stain product, this product’s ratings would be much less. There are many complaints on the internet about the Behr Deckover. Use at your own risk as there is a good chance it will peel and create an enormous mess for you to fix.

Behr DeckOver Surface Consumer Photos

Product Information:

Behr Advanced DeckOver Home Depot

Where To Buy: Home Depot
Cost: $38 per Gallon
Stain Type: Acrylic Solid Stain – Water Based
Available Colors: 54 Custom colors
Application Temperature: 45-95 F
Coats Required: 2 Coats.
Coverage Per Gallon: 75 sq. ft per gallon. Need 2 coats for the best performance.
Application Tools: Brush, Roller
Dry Time: 8-24 Hours
Cleanup: Water
VOC Compliant: 250 Compliant in all States
Manufacturer: Behr

Test Deck Stats:

Deck Wood Type: Untreated Pressure Treated Pine Dock
Deck Square Footage: 400 Square feet
UV Exposure: Full sun
How Many Years Tested: 1 Year. Peeled after the first Winter.

Update Spring of 2022

Please read our article on Gulf Synthetics Deck Revive Review 2022  We believe this product has actual value if looking for these product types that actually work.

*All products tested and results are from our experience. We offer no guarantee of similar results. Take into consideration that results may differ due to different wood types, exposure to UV radiation, and natural weathering.

Please Rate This. You may also post comments or ask questions below.

Behr DeckOver Video Review

Behr DeckOver Consumer Rating Results

5 47
4 58
3 136
2 148
1 261
5 162
4 145
3 120
2 91
1 132
5 81
4 73
3 89
2 116
1 291
5 37
4 14
3 33
2 42
1 524
5 119
4 95
3 106
2 87
1 243
5 105
4 63
3 81
2 86
1 315

Related Deck Stain Help Articles & Reviews

guest

806 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Russ
Russ
1 month ago

A year after applying this product I found it was not only peeling off, but where I peeled it away the wood was wet – so it was sealing water in instead of repelling it. It was a disaster. Forget the waste of $ I paid for it, what I really hate is the time I spent prepping the surface (washing with a special cleaner, filling and sanding), and scraping it off most recently. After 10 hours of scraping at least enough of it has been removed so I think it will not cause more damage to the deck, even while it still looks terrible!  

IMG_7138.JPG
IMG_7137.JPG
Cathy
Cathy
3 months ago

i am furious how fast this “deck Paint” peeled off over just one winter. One of the porches we put it on we never even use and it still peel off as much as our heavily used porch. I want my money back!

Mark
Mark
2 months ago
Reply to  Cathy

Same as the old Deckover. Behr just added word advance and took off 7yrs of the original 8yr warranty.

Conestler Green
Conestler Green
5 months ago

On any day I would have sweared on Behr Paint but that Advanced DeckOver is the worst thing they ever made. It paints on lumpy, the color is dull after it drys. Please don’t waste your money. And yes I prepared it just as they said. It is horrible. And I brought 3 gallons of this trash for 42.98 ea.gal. Glad I didn’t put on my deck if this what it looks like on concrete.

20220613_110229.jpg
20220613_110229.jpg
Mark
Mark
2 months ago

The old Deckover had a class action lawsuit against and Behr loss who know how many millions

Leslie E
Leslie E
1 year ago

I started to spray my deck to get all dirt and debris that had accumulated during winter. I applied Deckover just 2 years ago with a product that has a 15 year warranty and as you can see, it came right up and off. I did EVERYTHING perfect according to directions. Unfortunately, I thought I saved the receipt, however cannot find it. PLEASE DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!! I am sick that I have to do this whole thing over and I am no spring chicken!!

deckover.jpg
Lisa Fryar
Lisa Fryar
1 year ago
Reply to  Leslie E

We have applied the product at least 3 times with 2 coats each time. Same results even after a so called deckover expert applied it. Peeling off in sheets! We are going to have replace the wood to get rid of this stuff. Wished we had never tried it. We have it on 3 decks and a gazebo.

Mick
Mick
1 year ago

I read the reviews prior to purchasing and thought, “Surely these people applied the product incorrectly. I’ll just follow the instructions and it’ll be fine.” WROOOONG!! This stuff started peeling about 6 months after application. The underside of the deck looks great, but any area touched by the sun shows extreme degradation. In addition, water got trapped in the wood and I have planks rotting all over the place. Looks like this will be a full deck rebuild. The attached photos are from 6 months ago. It looks much worse now.

Behr was sued over this product a few years back. Wish I could have gotten in on it.

20210121_080308.jpg
20210121_080319.jpg
JOHN
JOHN
1 year ago
Reply to  Mick

This stuff ruined my deck, and with lumber prices through the roof right now can’t afford to replace it. Yeah their claims to sounded good but are BS. Wish I could have gotten in on the lawsuit also.

Alice Jones
Alice Jones
1 year ago
Reply to  JOHN

We got in on it but couldn’t find the original container at the time. We found it later. Amazingly I guess we couldn’t verify we used it but had the ruined deck and we were contacted about the suit so someone knew we purchased it. At the end of the day, we got nothing.

JOHN
JOHN
1 year ago
Reply to  Alice Jones

I contacted Behr directly as I wasn’t aware of the lawsuit at the time. They refunded me for the product and sent me 3 gallons of stain, and some deck cleaner. By then the deck was basically ruined, so the stain is still siting in the garage till I can afford a new deck.

Eric
Eric
6 months ago
Reply to  Alice Jones

Had a receipt, container, and photos. Bear said I filed outside of the submission dead line by one month. Informed me after the strung me along for over a year and lawsuit settled. Will never use a Behr product again.

Alice Jones
Alice Jones
6 months ago
Reply to  Eric

I’m definitely with you on that. NEVER again. They sent us replacement stain and after scraping that crap off my deck it looks awful and the wood has rotted in a number of places. Sadly we put this product on a new deck and now need to replace it. I tell everyone I know about how poorly we were treated and they can simply look at our deck.

Mark
Mark
2 months ago

I put Deckover on in June 2018 a month later heard of lawsuit. Home Depot was still selling it. By December 2018 started peeling in sheets. I filed a claim in May 2019. Pictures and receipts. Kept calling nothing. I tried on the website said it’s closed. In May 2022 tired of waiting for my check. I called several of the lawyers involved only one called me back. I had to call Northern District court of Illinois. I finally got my check.$259.00 8 gals I bought. I need to replace wood which it rotted. No cost of sq ft they were supposed to pay. $4 per SQ foot I have approx 500 SQ ft deck. This new Advance Deckover seems like same formula reduced to a 1yr warranty. From reviews and photos and another 2002 lawsuit of $160 million. There exterior products are garbage,

Jay
Jay
5 months ago

The problem with this stuff is that if moisture get past it (as in, nail/screw holes or cracks in the coating, it traps it there. It snowballs from there. More cracks/rotting lead to more and more deterioration. I had to replace about 25% of my deck boards after 5 years. Maybe if you re-coat it every year it will last. Idk

Chris
Chris
5 months ago

I am shocked to see there aren’t any comments about how hot it gets. We can not walk on the deck barefoot (the dogs are miserable too) without it blistering our feet. It’s not summer yet, either. We chose ‘sable’ because it was a lighter color. When contacting Behr, their solution was to send us two gallons of a lighter color. It took five to paint our deck.

Susan
Susan
2 months ago
Reply to  Chris

Yeah. It is SUPER HOT. Cannot walk barefoot on it at all and my dog used to enjoy lying in the sun on the deck until I painted it with this. 🙁

John
John
6 months ago

I pressure washed and sanded all the stuff that could peel off. After sanding can apply a different stain or does it all have to come off and be bare wood? Can you stain over the deckover stuff that is not peeling?

John
John
6 months ago

Even if I’m using the same deckover stuff?

Marie
Marie
6 months ago

I used behr deckover 2 yrs ago can I apply a new coat

Chandra Prasad
Chandra Prasad
8 months ago

I used deckover on my shaded patio and followed instructions carefully. After 2 years it’s been peeling. Can I patch the peeling areas or do I have to clean off the entire patio and start over? I used the Behr deckover and primer.

Melanie
Melanie
8 months ago

We applied deck over last year and today I am walking on my deck and my foot falls through a board. This stuff rotted our deck! We applied this to a deck that was in good shape, we were just tired of using Thompson water seal every year. Wish I would have just used Thompson water seal.

Pauline
Pauline
8 months ago

Every dirty paw print or foot print shows up on the deck and it doesn’t wash off. Always looks dirty. What can I do to correct this?

20220319_163205.jpg
Sue Wise
Sue Wise
1 year ago

This is the worst product I have ever used. It disappointed me because it is Behr. It only lasted one year and only peeled and came off in the areas that got exposed to moisture and sun. (?!) I tried to take it off of the areas where it didn’t peel and it’s stuck like glue. I’ve tried pressure washing and sanding to no avail. Because I used this product, I am now going to have to REPLACE all the wood on my 40’ x 9’ porch. I only wish Behr would compensate me for this product and the work and expense it has caused me.

Kevin Miller
Kevin Miller
1 year ago

Deckover requires two coats. Can I apply one coat one weekend and the second coat the hext weekend?

Jeffrey Peoples
Jeffrey Peoples
1 year ago

I bought a 5 gal. bucket at the beginning of the pandemic. A year later decided it was safe to be around my mother and went to her home to paint her deck. The bucket had never been opened and it was a hugh mass of rubber. It was like putty. Had to go buy another 5 gal. Bucket. Ran out and had to go buy another gallon to finish. Stored the paint on a shelf in the utility room. This was in May of 2021. Went back in Sept. to finish up by painting some wood railing and the paint had turned to the same rubbery consistency. The top was hammered on the can tightly and it still turned to an unusable glob. Certainly does not last like the company claims it does.

Tracey G
Tracey G
1 year ago

Wish we had found this website before buying and using DeckOver.

By far the WORST!!! product I have every used.

We followed all of the instructions to the T. We sanded the deck, then cleaned it with the recommended product, filled the gaps that were more than 1/4″ with wood filler – we should have filled even the small ones. Even with dabbing the screw holes and small joins, DeckOver DID NOT fill them.

In addition, the viscosity (thickness of product) was extremely inconsistent between pails. Thick as mud in one, runny in another. One pail would cover a large amount of space and then the next didn’t even do a 1/4 of what the previous pail did.

Finished product looks HORRIBLE! Colour is not even, very patchy, and we made sure the deck was thoroughly coated and no patches showed threw.

WHAT A WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY!!!

Christopher C.
Christopher C.
1 year ago

I used Behr’s old formula Deckover with no problems. Last summer I repainted my stoops and stairs with the so called Advanced formula. I can echo every ones negative comments about this product. It didn’t stand up to one winter and there is no patching it. It’s almost as if there is a solvent in it preventing it from binding to the wood. I have been applying paint, stains, etc. for over 60 years, both professionally and for myself. I have never experienced a worse product.

Sandra Higgins
Sandra Higgins
1 year ago

We bought the deck over paint, followed directions to a tee and it has to be the worst product ever at an expensive cost. The attached picture is in its 2nd season after application. It began peeling/flaking in the 1st season. I would not recommend this product. My question is there a solvent to help get this off of my deck. This was extremely a lot of work to apply.

16323412265471295238093912808502.jpg
Sandra Higgins
Sandra Higgins
1 year ago

You have got to be kidding me. Both my husband and I are in our late 60s and this work is back breaking. Our deck is huge. We applied 15 gallon of deck over. We do not have the funds to hire it out and the deck was only a year old when we applied it. Very disappointing 😞

16323434196318528474309657819844.jpg
16323435106174419157877261071418.jpg
1632343541155959657760750550579.jpg
16323435707507510546911235622696.jpg
Raymond Drake
Raymond Drake
1 year ago

Can lumber with Deckover on them be burned?7

Lisa Fryar
Lisa Fryar
1 year ago

All you can do to fix Deckover is tear off your deck. Tried 3 different times, 3 coats each time by seasoned contractors. You owe me 3 new decks and a gazebo Behr and Home Depot.

Terri Myers
Terri Myers
1 year ago

Terrible product. So much peeling…the more we pressure washed, the more it came up. Our deck is a mess

Sheldon
Sheldon
1 year ago

This product is horrible. Did our deck and our gazebo. Floors rotted in the gazebo and now the deck railing. Did everything as directed. This was all new wood. Had to sand the decking and treat with another product due to this one peeling up like everyone else’s.

F14246B7-8D9D-4550-97B3-9E238E11FDE9.jpeg
Robert Folks
Robert Folks
1 year ago

I have had the deckover on my deck for over 17 years without any issues or problems. In the 17 years I have had to recoat twice or once about every 5 years. Holds up well and I have had no issues with any peeling. Product is not the easiest to apply but that is understandable given its consistency. The product filled the cracks nicely and I have had no problems with any trapped moisture. I powerwashed the deck and waited 5 days to make sure there was no moisture trapped in the wood.

Susan
Susan
1 year ago

Is there any kind of sealer or clear coat I could apply over the Advanced deck over product?

Phill
Phill
1 year ago

I have a client who needs a product like deck over. All I see here are horror stories. Is there a product that actually works?

Raymond Paquet
Raymond Paquet
1 year ago

J’ai fait un commentaire destructeur pour l’avoir appliqué sur mon bois. J’avais remis mon bois à neuf après l’avoir totalement sablé. Cela n’a pas plus tenu, déjà après le premier hiver, j’ai vu des manques.

Par contre sur mes tuiles de ciment, c’est tout le contraire. Les tuiles ont été lavées à pression et j’ai appliqué au rouleau très facilement, le but n’était pas de boucher les cracks, mais simplement d’en appliquer un couche uniforme. Il est posé depuis l’été 2015 et je le nettoie avec mon appareil à pression et il tient toujours.
Je l’ai appliqué sur les tuiles de mes 3 patios.

patio1.jpg
patio2.jpg
Patio3.jpg
patio4.jpg
Jim Wadley
Jim Wadley
1 year ago

It would have been easier to spread maple syrup in Vermont in January. The consistency is like mud. Getting a smooth finish is impossible. Followed the directions step-by-step. Totally regret using this and now I am stuck.

tracey wilson
tracey wilson
1 year ago

We used behr premium deck over in the russet color and it ruined our deck! Not only did it fade to a pink color in a few years (we have full southern exposure), but it traps moisture and rots the wood after a few short years! The stuff just peeled off in sheets and the boards were wet underneath even though it hadn’t rained for days. Plus the stuff gets so hot in the sun that your feet burn right through your shoes. We are in the process of cleaning, scraping, sanding and puttying this mess now. We will prime it with Rustoleum clear deck primer, then paint with Kilz porch, floor and deck paint (sad it only comes in 1 color, gray). Do you think this will work over the crappy Behr premium deckover?

I’d give this product a ZERO rating. It looked nice when we first put it on, but what a disaster now!!! See the photos below.

0-2.jpeg
0-3.jpeg
0.jpeg
0-1.jpeg
Lisa
Lisa
1 year ago
Reply to  tracey wilson

I agree. This product sucks. Same problems

Sarah Hay
Sarah Hay
1 year ago

Peeling fucking disaster what a highly expensive crap product. I am so pissed, Behr you have ruined my deck!!!!!

Dkbl
Dkbl
1 year ago

I put this on my deck last August 2020 and was so thick I needed a lot. It took me a considerable amount of time and money to apply with a roller as well as hand brush. It is May 2021 and snow is melted and my deck looks like a disaster – peeling all over and just horrible. They advised me to rent out a sander/grinder from HomeDepot (more money and time) to do it again. Why would I want to, especially after reading all of these comments as it is clearly an issue with the product!

deck.jpg
deck2.jpg
deck3.jpg
Molly Gold
Molly Gold
1 year ago

I used Behr Deckover 5 years ago on our back deck. It appeared to work out ok. However I used it Again 2 summers ago with their “ New and Advanced “formula and I was stunned to find it was rotting the good pressure treated wood underneath! Like the other reviews I read it was coming off in big damp sheets holding the moisture. Instead of protecting the deck it was ruining the wood. I bought an unopened gallon and am returning it to research a different product. Buyer Beware!!

Eugene Robinson
Eugene Robinson
1 year ago

I expected WAY BETTER from BEHR Deck Restore paint. This is THE WORST deck paint I have ever used. It peeled up within months after application on new wood as well as pre-washed decking. Absolutely horrible!!! Do NOT buy this paint! You will be sorry and have wasted HOURS of your time.

Mccabe
Mccabe
1 year ago

Terrible product, peeling and lifting after a year. 2nd time it has not met expectations. First time we requested warranty – restrained after refinishing and using Behr cleaning products as recommended (again!) – same results! Will NOT use this product again.

Gabe Jackson
Gabe Jackson
1 year ago

Is there an active lawsuit against this product? Its the worst product I’ve ever used. Absolute money pit. Will ruin your deck.

Bob
Bob
1 year ago

I’ve had Behr Deck Over on for about five years. Did a light touch up after two. Had an eight inch patch peel on railing. Deck portion had no problems. I just cleaned it with detergent and a brush today and only discovered two dime sized chips.

0E8AEF6D-0AF6-4431-9B07-8D0665B603C9.jpeg
george dunwoody
george dunwoody
1 year ago

HI I getting ready to pressure wash and sand my deck. its about 500 SQ FT. My thought was to use Behr Deckover but after reading all these reviews I’m a bit afraid to use it. ANy other suggestions? Some spots are cracked pretty good so I thought Deckover would be the solution. Any help or suggestions???

Charolette Davis
Charolette Davis
1 year ago

Do not use it . Do not use it. Do not use it. All of the reviews are true.

Brian
Brian
1 year ago

I used this product and it sucks. After 1 year it chipped and peeled… followed all directions to prep deck and apply product.. Now I have to strip all the product off and apply new stain. I would never refer this product to anyone who has a wood deck.

Sandra Higgins
Sandra Higgins
1 year ago
Reply to  Brian

Is there a product to strip the deck over. We have to do ours and one we are elderly, it’s costly and the time we have vested. I’m so disappointed 😞

carole cotton
carole cotton
1 year ago

why footprints???????????????? terrible with all behr deck paints help

Mike in NC
Mike in NC
1 year ago

Adding to the negative reviews of Behr Deck Over. I purchased this product a few years ago. I was convinced by the sales person that it would be good to use on older decks (ours was 15+ years old at the time). Looked pretty decent at first, but took less than a season for it to start peeling, even in low traffic areas. Re-applying does not help. At first I thought I had done something wrong when applying this product but sounds like this peeling is a pretty common problem. Wish I had seen these reviews before spending all that money on this inferior product.

download.png
Adriana Green
Adriana Green
2 years ago

Would expect some refund.

Adriana Green
Adriana Green
2 years ago

We had a professional apply Deck Over so it was done well per instructions. Although it looked great the next spring it came up in sheets. I was blowing it off to put down a rug and it just came off. We spent a lot of money on this because it was Behr and we only use Behr products. We are so very disappointed!!! Really should give a refund. It also molded on an area.

Summrbrz in Michigan
Summrbrz in Michigan
2 years ago

Two years ago, we replaced worn slats in our 15 year old, 115’ wood stockade fence.
We then painted the fence, front and back with Deckover. The fence still looks great!

Ricky Kendall
Ricky Kendall
2 years ago

Purchased 3 gallons in April but didn’t get around to painting until October. All 3 gallons hardened and were unusable. They should yell you to use immediately. Terrible waste of money.

Steve
Steve
2 years ago

This stuff is garbage..did it perfect to the instructions. It lasted not even two years and looks horrible. Most has peeled off. Never use this product.

Kathy
Kathy
2 years ago

Behr advanced deck over is the WORST paint I have ever used. It’s the consistency of concrete, it has sand in it, it’s flat and dull and the color shipped was not the color of the online swab. It was terrible to use, like trying to roll putty on a roller. It has bad reviews as well.

Melissa
Melissa
2 years ago

This stuff is horrible! I wish I read these reviews before using. It is extremely difficult to use. The product does not stick to the roller forcing you to kind of scoop it, then it is very difficult to spread the paint on the deck. We followed all directions to a T and 2 weeks in it is already peeling and there are a lot of scuff marks. Furthermore, it did not provide great coverage.

20200927_143858.jpg
Heidi melone
Heidi melone
2 years ago

Dear DeckOver victims……I am one as well. Recently purchased our home which has 3 lovely decks which the previous owners painted with DeckOver. I must have 2000 square feet of deck to fix as it is now peeling up in sheets!! This products SUCKS!!!! We all know that or we wouldn’t be here. But that’s not the point of my post. I’m posting to tell you how I am removing it and hope it helps others.
Purchase a product called “Diamabrush”. There are great videos on YouTube of people using it. It fits onto an angle grinder and LITERALLY eats through the Deckover without hurting the wood. I am not being paid to say this. I spent 8 hours sanding one portion of my deck with a deck sander I rented and got nowhere. 10 minutes with the diamabrush and I cleared probably 30 square feet with no residual product left over. Pros: fast…..thorough…..won’t chop into wood like a sander does….gets the Deckover OFF!! Cons: a little dusty but you can attach it to a shop vac…..angle grinder gets a little hot so I had to take breaks to let it cool.
Really guys this method might be the saving grace when it comes to getting this horrible product off and I felt like I had to reach out and let other folks know about it. Oh also, I am not a deck pro or anything. I am a Nurse Anesthesiologist. Good luck and sorry you all are going through this.

Terry
Terry
1 year ago
Reply to  Heidi melone

Heidi, Thanks for the tip I’m going to give this method a try before just replacing all the boards.

David Matos
David Matos
2 years ago

Less than 3 years old.

Wood completely rotted under the DeckOver. foot went through my front porch steps (see the blue tape one. Sad thing, was it still looked good, just structurally it was destroyed underneath. Like lipstick on a pig.

The work that was done on this house’s decking was done by professionals, the wood was cleaned, dried (replaced if necessary) and the DeckOver produce was properly applied and allowed to dry. The nails and screws are all under a solid layer of DeckOver. There are areas of my front steps that looked completely solid, however the wood under it was completely rotted.

Behr has graciously offered to supply me with more DeckOver – warrantied for a whole year. I am currently tearing out my steps and replacing them with composite.

2020-09-18 16.26.58.jpg
2020-09-18 16.26.51.jpg
2020-08-05 19.26.40.jpg
Tracey J Wilson
Tracey J Wilson
1 year ago
Reply to  David Matos

Really, their solution was to offer you more crappy product so you rot more boards???? What a joke, who in their right mind would use this stuff again??????

Carla Monnier
Carla Monnier
2 years ago

OK, let’s look at this realistically. If the product was applied to a deck that was beyond repair…or in need of great repair, no product will effectively replace the need for wood repair. If the deck has been managed adequately and is aging, in need of a cover then this product fairs well. Like all paint/stain jobs, ease of application and time involved depends on the brushes used and the experience of the painter. Just having finished a deck, the product covered as indicated for the first coating. I painted lattice and a full deck with one can. I am going to apply a second coat which will require another can to finish the job. My inexperience with the product made it difficult to predict coverage so I went in ‘trying’ it out. The coverage was also good for the wood condition on my deck. I wanted something that will last for awhile and having used other stains on decks, I suspect this will be fine for up to five years. If not replacing the deck is most likely the next step for this deck anyway. It is a 25 year old covered deck with little wear, no barbecuing, etc. so it has held up well for the age. I don’t think this product is a cure all for an uncovered deck. Covered, uncovered big consideration!

Sherry H
Sherry H
2 years ago

I’m like everyone else on this post, this product is crap!!! Peels and then let’s wood mold and mildew! Very time consuming to prep for and very expensive too! What a waste!

Is rotten it holds the most moisture so now it’s
Is rotten it holds the most moisture so now it’s
2 years ago

My deck is rotting it holds moisture so now my deck is rotten I would not Recommend anyone to put this on their deck they should have to fix our decks

Mary Mayka
Mary Mayka
2 years ago

This has got to be the worst product EVER. I’ve had such amazing luck with Behr indoor paints that I won’t use anything else–I’ve been a Behr loyalist for years–until now. I spent days and days stripping down my deck and prepping it. I stripped it with a chemical stripper, and then sanded it down till it was smooth as a baby’s butt (80 grit smooth, anyways). Cleaned it and then let it dry out for days. I know I’m not a professional, but I really don’t think and then painted on a gorgeous overcast day in the mid-70s. No rain for days. It looked amazing immediately afterwards.

Problems started pretty fast. First, the deck got very “dirty” very fast. We have kids and dogs, nothing abnormal. Mind you, we used a reddish brown color–its not really light so it shouldn’t look like I need to wash it 1-2 weeks later, and it didn’t wash off with rain or sweeping. It’s like the dirt was attracted to the paint. Am I being picky? Maybe, but it was noticeable.

And then another couple of weeks later the problems really started in. Less than a month after I applied the product and the crap is bubbling up all over the deck. Relatively new boards in perfect condition, old boards, there’s no difference–it’s bubbling everywhere. After it rains, the boards on the underside is SOAKED. My deck is raised ~5 ft so it’s not like it’s trapping in moisture from being too close to the ground. There is no beading on the surface of the paint at all, you can almost watch the water soaking in.

I called Behr’s helpline and and they walked me through their list of questions to see what I screwed up in my prep. Maybe I applied it too thin or too thick. Their suggestion was to to sand down the spots and reapply–they seemed nice enough and wanted to send me some more paint and cleaner. OK, whatever! Forget that noise! I can’t believe I didn’t find these reviews until after I did all that work!

So, my question now is… what to do? My current plan is to strip the porch down AGAIN (this time I’ll be renting a drum sander) and then use the DeckRevive products. But… what about the railings/spindles? Those were SUCH a pain in the butt to do and I don’t think I could possibly get a sander in between them. The DeckOver appears to be well adhered to those (for now)… would I be able to prep and just repaint with the DeckRevive? Or will that be OK and do I just leave it?

I’d really appreciate some feedback.

Thanks!

John O.
John O.
2 years ago

One of the worst deck products on the market. Avoid at all costs. It took days to remove pealing paint.

kathie lansdale
kathie lansdale
2 years ago

What happened?? I followed the directions to a tee.. put the first coat on with the recommended brush. Second with the recommended roller.. done after following prep directions.. footprints l
eave a mark.. my dog laid down and his nails left marks.. his nails are trimmed regularly.. when it dried, it looked like flat paint.. blah.. I’m disappointed.. can’t believe I paid so much money and put so much effort into this project..so disappointed.. wish I would have read the reviews first..

806
0
Questions or leave a review, please comment!x