Behr Premium Solid Color Stain Review 3.1/5 (30)

This post was updated on April 5, 2022

BEHR PREMIUM Solid Color Stain Review

BEHR PREMIUM Solid Color Stain Review

Behr Solid Color Stain Review 2022

Behr Solid Color Deck Stain RatingThis is our initial Review of the Behr Solid Color Wood and Deck Stain.  This review will be updated throughout the years.

As always, we appreciate your input, so feel free to leave a comment below and pictures of your completed projects using the Behr Solid Stain.

Summary: BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Waterproofing Stain & Sealer
Protect and beautify with BEHR PREMIUM Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer. This 100% acrylic formula seals out the elements, and the sun’s harmful UV rays, for up to 10 yrs. on decks and up to 25 yrs. on fences and siding. It’s available in more than 1,600 custom colors to help you get just about any look you can imagine.

Behr Solid Color Deck Stain Review

Behr Solid Color Wood Stain Scores (1-10)

Appearance After Initial Stain Application: 8

– The Behr Solid solid stain color we used was custom mixed to a red. The two coats applied to our PTP wood covered nicely and did not show any wood grain which is expected with a solid stain. Even application and no overlap lines.

Behr Solid Color Deck Stain Peeling

DeckStainHelp.com Customer Photo of Behr Solid Color Deck Stain Peeling

Wear/Tear and Peeling: 3

–At the 2-year mark, there was significant wearing and peeling.

Cost Per Square Foot: 8

– We applied two coats to our 400 sq. feet of verticals that included all railings and steps. 2 Gallons were used at a cost of $40 per gallon.

Preventing Mold/Mildew/Algae: 8

– At the 2-year mark, the deck showed no signs of any mildew. Some green algae were present in the areas that had peeled.

Ease of Application: 8

– We applied two coats of the Behr Solid solid color stain with a roller and brush to the wood, waiting about 30 minutes between coats. The second coat goes on very easy and covers twice as far as the first coat.

Difficulty of Reapplication: 4

– You will need to pressure wash to remove the peeling stain and sand the remaining off. Not an easy fix!

Overall Score Behr Solid Color Stain at 2 Year Period: 6.5

– The Behr Solid stain did not perform well. Reading numerous reviews online, the Behr has a tendency to peel and wear in high traffic areas. We do not recommend.

Behr Deck Stain Home Depot

More Info: Home Depot
Cost: $39.99 per Gallon
Stain Type: Solid Color (Opaque) Wood Stain – Water Based
Available Custom-Mixed Solid Colors: 1,600 custom colors
Application Temperature: 45-95 F
Coats  Required: 2 Coats
Coverage Per Gallon: 200-400 sq. ft
Application Tools: Airless Sprayer, Brush, Roller
Dry Time: 2-4 Hours
Cleanup: Water
VOC Compliant: 50 VOC Compliant in all States
Manufacturer: Behr

Test Deck Stats

Deck Wood Type: Pressure Treated Pine
Deck Square Footage: 400 Square feet
UV Exposure: Full Sun
How Many Years Tested: 2 Years
Stain Color Used: 
Red

*All products tested and results are from our experience. We offer no guarantee of similar results. Take into consideration that results may differ due to different wood types, exposure to UV radiation, and natural weathering.

BEHR Deck Stain Photos

The Best Solid Color Deck Stain Video – DeckStainHelp.com

Questions on Behr Solid Color Deck Stains? Ask Below!

Please Rate This. You may also post comments or ask questions below.

Related Deck Stain Help Articles & Reviews

guest

45 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
DIANE
DIANE
6 months ago

These stains are garbage, and they do not honor the warranty. It was pealing after the first year. This is crap . DO NOT BUY IT ! We have to re stain every flippin year ……Such crap!

Rick Tiedeman
Rick Tiedeman
6 months ago

This stuff is absolute junk… two years in a row and it just peels off. Makes a worse mess every time ,and it is being applied properly. I’m at a point now with about a 500 square foot deck that I’m not sure what I can do to fix it other than replace wood… will never use a behr product again or recommend them.. thanks for the mess and waste of my time behr

Clint Bragg
Clint Bragg
3 months ago

Hi my question is wood siding with a Solid Stain what is the Best recommended Solid Latex Stain ?

Ansh
Ansh
6 months ago

Hi
1)Whats the difference between
Behr solid color stain and sealer Vs
Behr solid color stain (only product)

2)What other products/brands i can look for better than Behr

I am interested in chocolate color solid color similar to Behrs

Jill
Jill
6 months ago

My mom already used this terrible product last weekend. She hates the color and wants to change it. Can she put another coat of the same product but different color on 7 days later?

Larry
Larry
6 months ago

Anybody know if the Behr semi transparent stains are any better? I am experiencing the same peeling problem described here.

Michelle
Michelle
6 months ago

Hello,

I see that this product is not very good in terms of wear and peeling. However, I’m wondering if you think it would perform well on vertical sections like my deck balusters/spindles? I see that you recommend RAD solid stain, Defy Extreme and Flood Pro for solid stains but I am looking for a specific color (a dark gray) and I can’t find that color in the stains you recommend. But I did see Behr had a few options..

Thanks,
Michelle

Michelle
Michelle
6 months ago

Thanks! Do you think a solid paint would work okay?

Larry Huguley
Larry Huguley
1 year ago

Would oil based primer on new treated wood be recommended before using this product

Gail
Gail
1 year ago

Very disappointed with this stain. Does not clean well, mildews easily, peels. Now I must pay someone to fix this crap.

KIP HANLEY
KIP HANLEY
1 year ago

I want to remove the solid stain. What product should I use. I have 750 sq ft of 2×6 redwood decking. Help

Laura
Laura
2 years ago

How do I clean this? My dog walked across the deck and left muddy paw prints everywhere! Tried scrubbing with soap and water, which made it worse and left white streaks!

IMG_20200801_171302000_HDR.jpg
IMG_20200801_180441954_HDR.jpg
Laura
Laura
2 years ago

Unfortunately I have already tried using warm water and soap, which made it worse. They didn’t come out and left white streaks. I am seriously considering just painting the deck instead. It would be easier on cleanup.

Laura
Laura
2 years ago

What should I do then?

Laura
Laura
2 years ago

Thanks. I contacted Behr and told them about the issue. Their sending me a gallon of deck cleaner. Hopefully it works.

Rory
Rory
2 years ago

Can you recommend a few oil based semi transparent stains for my pressure treated fence.

Matt Schimmel
Matt Schimmel
2 years ago

I’ve got one coat on so far of the behr deck plus solid color waterproofing wood stain , had to wait on the second coat for now. and when the dog coMes up from the yard the sand and dirt does not seem to wash off. Does this get easier to clean with a second coat? I don’t want to coat it again if it’s going to look like this. Anyone having this problem?

Joe Vobroucek
Joe Vobroucek
3 years ago

I applied The solid color stain after 2 years it pealed off, and it was applied to new wood and the wood was perfectly dried , I wouldn’t recommend this brand to anyone, however True Value Hardware sells Deck Stain that is awesome, !!!

Chris A
Chris A
3 years ago

I have found all Behr products to be especially poor in quality and longevity. The deck stain peals like snake skin. I have been painting off and on for 50 years.

charlie
charlie
3 years ago

Defy Extreme Stain… Hello. Your review sounds great. I want to buy the EXACT product that you tested. It’s the one listed here – https://www.deckstainhelp.com/category/deck-product-reviews/

The pic shows semi-transparent and cedar even though the wording in the review says nothing about transparency or color. Was it the exact product that is pictured (semi-transparent, cedar) that was tested? No idea how colors or transparency would affect longevity (especially lack of peeling). If it does, I’ll def buy the exact product you tested.

I very much appreciate this site and all the info!

charlie
charlie
3 years ago

There’s only 1 review for “Defy Extreme Stain”. Maybe you missed it in my question since I wrote it first. Defy Extreme Stain is 40% down that page. Has score of 8.5, right below the only product with score of 8.88

charlie
charlie
3 years ago

Thank you!

charlie
charlie
3 years ago

One more thing. I’ve been reading a lot about the need to let new wood weather/dry out for months before staining so moisture won’t get trapped. The guy that made our picnic table used untreated spruce (not PT). He said the wood is Kiln-dried, which I thought was only done on PT. So if he’s right, is it necessary to let untreated Kiln-dried wood dry out even more before using this stain? If so, for how long?

Thank you again.

Vickie Brubaker
Vickie Brubaker
3 years ago

We applied the solid stain and all of our top deck boards are rotting. we will have to now replace all our boards. we had applied it to treated wood that is supposed to last 50 yrs. underneath where we did not stain the boards are still as good as new.

Thomas Peninger
Thomas Peninger
3 years ago

We coated our deck with Behr solid color stain and sealer about a week ago. It is a brick color with a purple hue and it is a flat finish. The problem is that it shows any dirt, smudge or paw print on it and it is almost impossible to clean off. Is there any type of clear coat that can be applied to prevent this?

Ann
Ann
3 years ago

I agree. Impossible to clean. It’s peeling on the outdoor portion of my deck after one year. I also painted it on my covered screen porch. It’s not peeling but shows every scuff, paw print and spill. Worst product ever.

george
george
3 years ago

Looks like a lot of mildew on the boards. Did the applicator do a proper cleaning job prior to coating. No stain sticks well to mold. Secondly what applicator was used for the job? If you rolled it you rolled it over dirty wood. In my mind the sponge applicators ( every bit as quick as a roller) enhance the performance of ANY stain as the mopping action at least encapsulates residual dirt, not to mention making the coating more intimate with the substrate.

bill clements
bill clements
3 years ago

I used the Behr product on my two desks, it started pealing after two weeks , guaranteed for 10 years, got a total refund with no problem, was told to sand my entire deck and apply it again. In my opinion your grade for this product is much too high.

45
0
Questions or leave a review, please comment!x