Benjamin Moore Arborcoat Stain Review 2022 2.7/5 (77)

This post was updated on January 18, 2022

Benjamin Moore Arborcoat Stain Review 2022

Here at DeckStainHelp.com, we have worked hard to become the Internet’s number one reference for your deck stain opinions and reviews. We thank you for your continued support. Our customers who have used Benjamin Moore Arborcoat Stain continue to give poor reviews about the appearance and longevity of their deck stain projects. If you have used Benjamin Moore Arborcoat Stain, we would like to hear what you think, so feel free to leave a comment below and pictures of your completed projects if you have them.


ArborCoat Stain Review

ArborCoat Stain Review

Important Note:  This is our 2nd Benjamin Moore Arborcoat. See our first review here: Benjamin Moore Arborcoat

ARBORCOAT Premium Exterior Stains offer a variety of opacities in an array of captivating colors that let you express your own unique style. These finishes are designed to enhance the appearance of your deck, siding, or outdoor wood furniture with outstanding color retention. All ARBORCOAT finishes are easy to apply and offer superior protection while enriching the texture and grain of exterior wood surfaces.

ArborCoat Deck Stain

Benjamin Moore’s Arborcoat Stain Rating (1-10)

Appearance After Initial Stain Application: 5

– Similar to our first review, the Arborcoat after drying had a “plastic” unnatural look to the wood when done. The finished result was a film-forming stain, similar to a varnish.

Preventing UV Graying at 2 Year Mark: 8

– The Arborcoat does well with UV protection. It has a high solid content, similar to paint. We did use the topcoat clear on this deck as well. Not sure if that actually helps with UV protection, but BM claims it does.

Wear/Tear and Peeling: 3

– This product does not perform well on our tests. It is prone to peeling and wearing. After 2 years much if not all of the flooring had peeling issues. Cracking, peeling, and mold growth were evident throughout.

Arborcoat Failure

Arborcoat Failure

Cost Per Square Foot: 4

– We used 2 gallons of the Cedar color for our 300 sq. foot deck and 1 gallon of the Clear Coat. About $.50 sq. foot.

Preventing Mold/Mildew/Algae: 6

– We had mold growth after two years. The mold was under the stain and on top.

Ease of Application: 5

– We found the Arbor coat to be difficult to apply in this second review. The Arborcoat dries fast and displayed overlap marks. The stain applies like paint and dries on top of the wood.

Color Shifting (darkening) after 1 Year: 10

– Arborcoat did not darken in color after 2 years

The Difficulty of Reapplication: 1

– This product cannot be stripped off completely. You will have to sand to remove it fully. We would not suggest applying a stain of a different brand over the Arborcoat. The new coating may not adhere and will be prone to future peeling

Overall Score Defy Extreme Stain at 2 Year Period: 5.25

– There are many negative reviews on the Internet about the Arborcoat. Benjamin Moore knows there is an issue yet they continue to sell this product. We do not recommend using this product.

Google Search: Benjamin Moore Arborcoat Stain Review

Benjamin Moore ArborCoat Stain Photos

Product Information:

Where To Buy: Benjamin Moore Paint Outlets
Cost: $49.99 per Gallon
Stain Type: Semi-Transparent – Acrylic/Alkyd Urethane Blend – Water Based
Available Colors: 75 Custom Colors
Application Temperature: 40-90 F
Coats Required: 2 Coats. One stain coat and one top clear coat
Coverage Per Gallon: 150-200 sq. ft in field tests
Application Tools: Sprayer, Pad, Brush, Roller
Dry Time: 24-48 Hours
Cleanup: Soap and Water
VOC Compliant: 250 Compliant in all States
More Info: Product Data
Manufacturer: Benjamin Moore

Test Deck Stats:

Deck Wood Type: Cedar
Deck Square Footage: 300
UV Exposure: Sun
How Many Years Tested: 2 Years
Stain Color Used: 
Cedar with Top Coat Clear


*All products tested and results are from our hands-on experience. We offer no guarantee of similar results. Take into consideration that results may differ widely due to different wood types, exposure to UV radiation, and natural weathering.


Please Rate This. You may also post comments or ask questions below.

Related Deck Stain Help Articles & Reviews

guest

98 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Marge McGorty
Marge McGorty
5 months ago

Total crap product. Looked great for the first year (Fall 2019) then noticed the steps were wearing. This Spring (2022) which isn’t even 3 full years, and the deck is ruined. Waited 8+ months for the wood to dry out, so this isn’t due to wet wood. This product simply sucks. Please read all reviews and save your time, energy and money and DO NOT BUY ARBORCOAT.

5E8B0703-50D6-4E24-9662-EC29ED88ECD8.jpeg
6DB5008A-25A7-4E2E-A34C-F5C0080D912A.jpeg
Mark
Mark
7 months ago

Spent $500 on this product to restain a large deck . Prepared deck with extra care-power washed and then hand sanded any rough spots. Followed directions exactly in applying two coats. Waited until deck was perfectly dry.. Waited until weather forecast was perfect, dry and well within recommended temperature range. Waited recommended time between coat applications. Applied product with recommended applicators. Less than three month later the deck began peeling off all over. The deck now looks another like it looked before I did all of this and spent all that money. Must be nice for BM to make money selling inferior products while touting them as top-of-the-line. Last time I will get suckered by BM.

CTPAINTINGPROS
CTPAINTINGPROS
5 months ago
Reply to  Mark

Did you preform a water test prior to application?

J Weber
J Weber
1 year ago

This is the worst product I have ever used. It is like chalk after it has been on for less than 3 months. We spent $35,000 on a new deck and this stain completely ruined it. We had it professionally applied and EVERYTHING sticks to it like chalk. Worst stain ever!! It needs to be pulled from the market. We used Arborcoat Semi Solid stain and regret it everyday!!

Andrea Mouldon
Andrea Mouldon
2 years ago

DO NOT buy this stain!!!!! I wish I would have listened to the bad reviews instead of the contractor who told me he hadn’t had problems with it. Completely peeling off a couple of months in. A total disaster and headache!! Applied to a new deck and now it all has to be sanded off. The below picture is one year later but started peeling much sooner.

53273168-1DA2-456F-A7F0-3A3A0678E672.jpeg
Brk49er
Brk49er
2 years ago

Goes on very streaky, leaves horrible overlap marks. I have stained probably 50 or so decks and this stuff has been the worst i have ever used. If you drip any at all it leaves the drip mark even if you go over it immediately. Im just telling you to listen and to not use this on anything you want to look nice.

Kip McEwen
Kip McEwen
2 years ago

Benjamin Moore Arborcoat solid stain is absolutely the worst deck stain I have ever seen. It is a total failure. It was installed on a properly prepared deck, by professional contractors, in Sept of 2019 and not subjected to a lot of use during the fall.

While it did look great for about a month the deterioration, once started, continued through the fall, winter and now spring. It chips, flakes and almost washes away. There is no rhyme or reason. Not just just in traffic areas, but on seating and rails as well. After 6 + months, you would never know it was done. It tracks into house and makes the deck almost unusable and most certainly unsightly.

This is my first experience with with a solid stain and it will never happen again and most certainly won’t be Benjamin Moore Arborcoat

The only solutions are now to Replace the deck completely or somehow sand it all off and choose another stain. Either way a time consuming and very costly solution. Of course I can retreat, but what is the point if it will only continue to deteriorate.

This was a major project I was happy to get out from under, but now I must revisit another even larger project by doing it all again. Highly disappointed.

John Blake
John Blake
2 years ago

Here’s my deck nine months after applying two coats of Arborcoat stain. It started to flake off a couple of days after the application and now I can take it off by dragging my foot across it. This is the worst stain I’ve ever used.The response from Benjamin Moore and the local supplier was just as bad as the stain.

DSC00292.JPG
DSC00296.JPG
DSC00294.JPG
Henry
Henry
1 year ago

I been using Arbocoat coat for sometime as a professional painter and it makes me sad hearing all these negatives review about this great product. It does take some skill to accomplish a long lasting product to work. For instance the surface must be prepare fully well meaning sanding, washing, let the surface dry well, Apply in proper weather temperature, No direct sunlight, 2 coats minimum and periodically do some maintenance especially if it is a deck that you can only do one side of it. Very important to stay away from clear, semi clear for decks because the sun with eat or fate it out quick so its best to use semi solid or solid if you want the finish to last longer.

Phaser
Phaser
7 months ago
Reply to  Henry

I’ve been using Benjamin Moore Arbor coat stain for many years and I’ve had zero problems with call backs from customers. The key to long lasting and Great results is proper preparation before you apply the product. Many people do not clean or sand properly and in most case do not apply the product in proper temperatures or apply it on a previous oil stain that had not been sanded and prepped properly.
Preparation is KEY for Professional looking long lasting results with this product.

Ouzelfalls
Ouzelfalls
3 months ago
Reply to  Henry

I agree with you. See my posts below. My daughter’s very happy with the stain. It’s been about two years and the deck overall looks GREAT. We did two coats also and a lot of prep ahead of staining.

Ouzelfalls
Ouzelfalls
3 months ago
Reply to  Henry

Here are a few pictures of the deck one year after we rebuilt it and stained it with Benjamin Moore Arborcoat.

IMG_1187.jpg
IMG_1188.jpg
IMG_1189.jpg
Stanley Barry
Stanley Barry
1 year ago

I have a client that chose Semi transparent oil based Arbor coat because of the color she wants. Have not applied it yet. I am now having 2nd thoughts on using this after reading below. However, most of the comments are not saying if they used a waterbourne finish or the oil. Any help??

Stanley Barry
Stanley Barry
1 year ago

Thanks!

Ouzelfalls
Ouzelfalls
1 year ago

My daughter and her husband began their deck restoration in 2020 and we completed the staining using Benjamin Moore’s Arbor Coat solid deck stain. I can’t give it a performance evaluation as it’s too new. I will say the deck looks great. They used the “Blue Note” navy blue stain for the decking and “Tapestry Beige” for the upper sections of the deck which matched the newly pained home. They used the blue stain on the “hamburger board” (trim board that on top of the spindles). I will also say this—this stain REALLY BONDS. It’s not easy to get it off your hands and as far as getting off the wooden handles of my paint brushes–forget about it! Hopefully it will stick as well to all the wood (very old wood and the new decking boards they installed to fix their deck).

The previous owners did ZERO maintenance on this deck–it was never stained and may of the decking boards were rotted out and badly warped. Rather than spending a lot of money tearing it out and re-building, my daughter invested about $2500 to purchase new “thick” decking boards, new spindles to replace all the rotted decking/spindles, assorted materials and Benjamin Moore deck stain. I am hopefull they will get many new years out of their “new” (and now safe) deck!

Here are some pictures of the project.

Sanding_Main_Deck.jpg
Ben_Moore_Arbocoat_1.jpg
Ben_Moore_Arborcoat_2.jpg
2nd_coat_Arborcoat.jpg
Jeremiah McKenna
Jeremiah McKenna
3 months ago
Reply to  Ouzelfalls

Any follow up to your first report?

Ouzelfalls
Ouzelfalls
3 months ago

this picture’s from Dec., 2022 showing the resin bleed-thru. The same stuff came back this Summer (2022) after we had a spell of 90 degree days and hot Sun was on the deck. When wiped with denatured alcohol, all the “white spots” go away. A small amount of stain’s on the wiping rag, but there’s enough embedded in the wood that we’ve never re-stained an of the resin bleed -thru boards. Also, regarding the small areas that have “popped” –they are VERY small areas—no more that a half inch square located in 2-3 spots on the deck “hamburger” board.

IMG_0027.jpg
John J De Laura
John J De Laura
1 year ago

I recently tried this stain on two small pressure treated decks that had been untouched for 8 months to weather before applying ArborCoat semi-solid deck stain. It lasted 6 months. Awful stain, it peeled and wore off even on one small deck that is hardly used. I would not use this stain again and will re-coat with Flood which I used for my large deck.

Joyce
Joyce
1 year ago

Have you tested/reviewed Cabot decking stain?

Joyce L Marlow
Joyce L Marlow
1 year ago

Where’s the search bar?

Rita
Rita
1 year ago

Arborcoat started peeling within 6 months. Rather than refinish the entire deck areas, what is the best product to use over Arborcoat? Plan to sand the peeling areas. For the future, can you recommend a product that will hold up on an older deck during the harsh winters of Western Massachusetts?

Rico Suave
Rico Suave
2 years ago

I have had nothing but GREAT RESULTS using Benjamin Moore Arborcoat! Listen folks, I don’t care what product you use. If you don’t do the proper prep work before applying the stain, then it’s gonna be an awful job. Stop being lazy and doing a half-ass job and do it right the first time!!! You want good results?? Then do the job right!!!

Ouzelfalls
Ouzelfalls
1 year ago
Reply to  Rico Suave

I AGREE with you 100%. I helped my daughter with her deck staining project. We used “Oxyclean” and scrubbed the deck, then used Oxclic Acid as a brightner. We sanded the entire deck and all spindles. followed up with two coats of Ben Moor’s Arbor Coat solid deck stain. A picture’s worth a thousand words. We did the prep and I’m hopeful they will get YEARS of use from this deck. I think it is a good product!

2nd_coat_Arborcoat.jpg
Arborcoat_finished_project.jpg
Stanley Barry
Stanley Barry
1 year ago
Reply to  Rico Suave

Rico, what would you do for prep on a clear vertical grain western red cedar deck?

Lydia Afeman
Lydia Afeman
2 years ago

I had bought the solid black Negro solid stain to have my painter stain the fence. The Benjamin Moore store manager told me I would need 20 gallons but now that he started we found out it will up to 40 gallons on my new cedar 8ft 450 sq ft fence. I’m not happy. This is what they said in response. None of this is stated in the brochure so the average consumer will be blindsided by the cost of using this product. From this post, I’m worried now about how long it will last.

Hello Lydia,

Thank you for contacting Benjamin Moore & Co.

I am sorry to hear about that.

Stain is one of the most difficult types of coatings to calculate. The porosity of the wood and how the stain is applied greatly affect how much material is used. Also, a dark color takes more material to provide an even finish.

All of our dealers are independently owned. I do apologize – if you are not satisfied, we recommend discussing with the manager or the owner of that dealer.

Thank you,

Steve Murphy

Product Information

Benjamin Moore & Co.

360 Route 206, Flanders, NJ 07836

Steve S
Steve S
2 years ago

I have an older deck (pressure treated) that has wear and tear and stains. I am considering Arborcoat translucent. Any thoughts/comnents on Teak versus Natural as a stain color. Thanks

Sue Dye
Sue Dye
2 years ago

I just finished a two week project of prepping and staining the deck with Arborcoat Deck Stain and it already has scuff marks and scratches from shoes and the dog’s paws. I have used Arborcoat on my porch for 5 years without these issues. The differences are : 1. The deck is a darker color stain than the porch and 2, the deck is water-based semi-solid as opposed to the porch where I used an oil based semi transparent. Is there a way to prevent the scuff marks or do I have to re-coat(which the product states not to)?

Carol Ivins
Carol Ivins
2 years ago

I have always used Benjamin Moore products for the inside of my house and have been pleased with their product. Five years ago, I automatically purchased the Arborcoat for my new 9 month old, pressure-treated-wood deck in Pennsylvania. I followed the long-time employee’s directions and after washing the deck, I put down 1 coat of their Fresh Start exterior primer and 2 coats of the solid Arborcoat water-based stain. I was told then that it would last 2 – 3 years before needing to be reapplied. In 2017, I did the same thing after doing some light sanding and washing down the deck. I thought that I could squeeze out another year, however, and now in 2020 it looks terrible. Some boards look wonderful but the ones right next to them on either side are all cracking and peeling and there is now much bare wood exposed throughout the deck. This deck does not have much wear at all so I can’t blame it on that aspect. As I work alone and do my deck in sections, the first third (with very little peeling) is completely done and looks good- only some light sanding and washing needed, 1 coat of primer and 2 coats of stain. The second and third sections have quite a bit a bit of peeling and cracking. I’ve been using a scrub brush,putty knife, palm sander and my leaf blower (works great to show me where the paint is peeling) and am ready to begin the painting process all over again – primer and 2 coats of paint for these last two areas. Then, I happened upon your website! I thought that this every 2 year thing was to be expected for all decks and products. I’ve been reading all of your reviews and helpful information and am wondering if I should just purchase a new product to finish the rest of the deck or am I “stuck” with the Arborcoat for ever and ever? I am very mindful of the weather when applying the stain (actually give myself a whole month to get it done) but as I am in my mid 70’s with a sore back, I find it more and more difficult to to this ritual every two years. I guess I am asking, other than hiring someone, what would you do? So, #1 – do I continue using BM product to finish the deck this year and hope that maybe 2 years from now their product will be improved? #2 – do I change my product now and finish the last 2 sections and, if so, do I have to sand off the paint that is firmly in place in the unfinished sections? My palm sander probably won’t be much help here. #3 – am I correct in assuming that any new stain could not be painted directly over the deck area that is completely done with BM stain so that I would have color uniformity? #4 – I noticed that you… Read more »

Erin
Erin
2 years ago

I was planning to use BM Arborcoat until I read this review. I had purchased the Restore cleaner based on the recommendation from the local store and after cleaning 7 boards I started to panic. The result was extremely splotchy and left a fuzzy texture to the wood. When I called the store to ask if this is normal they told me that it’s not a very good product and that they wouldn’t recommend using it (!) and that I should just power wash my deck since it is only a year old and only slightly gray. Needless to say, I won’t be using their products BUT my question is, how do I fix these boards? Do I need to use another product to clean it (I already power washed everything) or can I just sand it down along with the rest of the boards with 80 grit and start to stain? I have some Olympic Premium Deck Cleaner on hand from a composite deck if needed but with the weather being perfect this weekend I’m hoping it is an easier fix! Thanks for your advice!

Screen Shot 2020-05-29 at 3.54.54 AM.png
Screen Shot 2020-05-29 at 3.55.04 AM.png
Yana
Yana
2 years ago

Have you reviewed the Benjamin Moore oil-based Arborcoat deck stain? Having my mahogany deck refinished now, used Australian Timber Oil (not water-based) in the past and new contractor swears by Benjamin Moore Arborcoat alkyd product, not water based. Thanks!

Yana
Yana
2 years ago

Thanks for quick reply! So then Australian timber oil, not water-based? TKO-1500 reviews well but is it good for mahogany?

Yana
Yana
2 years ago

Is TKO-1500 good for mahogany deck?

Yana
Yana
2 years ago

Oops — TWP-1500. Armstrong-Clark looks like the best pick for my mahogany deck, but have yet to find in a retail store, just online/. Suggestions? Thanks again!!!

Kathi
Kathi
2 years ago

Can you use the solid Arbor coat over a 6 year old sikkons oil based product? How long will it last if you can use it compared to the sikkons product? We need something that will last on railings longer than 2 years

Jane Benson
Jane Benson
2 years ago

I totally agree. We applied Arbor July 2019 and when the snow melted off the deck in March 2020 it looked horrible. Now we will need to sand and stain again. Do not buy!!!

Donald Schulz
Donald Schulz
2 years ago

Can I use on Trex composit deck?

Ray Wojcik
Ray Wojcik
2 years ago

Hi I just finished staining my deck,with Arborcoat ,k637-30,teak color,is it safe to apply Arborcoat, clear coat,k636-00,will it peel sooner then later

Lynn Downie
Lynn Downie
2 years ago

Is this product safe for garden containers where food is grown?

Caroline
Caroline
2 years ago

I used semi solid stain on an outdoor buffet. Do I have to put a clear coat on it.

Ed G.
Ed G.
3 years ago

Can this water based product be used on cedar lap siding that was finished prior with an oil based stain??? Some areas of the siding are only about (1) year old & some areas are dark w/ exposure. If used how should the siding be prepared??? Our home is on Long Island, NY, about (2) miles from the coast. Thank you for your help.

Denise
Denise
3 years ago

We live in Central Virginia and had a new deck built in October 2017. Benjamin Moore Arborcoat semi-transparent classic oil based stain was recommended and applied to our deck in April 2019. Within a month it started showing signs of mildew, dirt, footprints, etc. Is it resin or mildew in the knots on wood. Contractor was told by BM to use 75% bleach and 25% water to clean. What is the best product to use to clean this mess? I certainly wish I would have read these reviews prior to the stain.

20190819_151501.jpg
20190819_151738.jpg
20190830_133159 (2).jpg
Denise
Denise
3 years ago

Just realized told contractor to use 25% “outdoor” bleach to 75% water. This isn’t going to help either, is it? Reading other comments, is sanding off the stain the only solution?

John Blake
John Blake
3 years ago

Just used Arborcoat Solid Deck stain. Followed all the instructions, allowed it to dry for three days before applying a second coat. Allowed second coat to dry for three days. Putting back the patio furniture and the stain started to flake off with just putting the patio chairs back. Happened in other places with just walking on it. No response from Benjamin Moore. This is overpriced garbage.

Frederick W McCullough
Frederick W McCullough
3 years ago

I couldn’t be more disappointed with Benjamin Moore stains. My mother’s residence has been treated with Moore stains since it’s construction in 1987. In the last 7 years I have had the house professionally stained by a fastidious contractor twice. In year 3 the last application is peeling on most surfaces. Given the extensive amount of preparation undertaken for the last application I am fuming. The contractor just told me he is losing confidence in the Benj. Moore product line. Have I been duped? Do I have any recourse? Any advise is welcome.

Janet Mashia
Janet Mashia
3 years ago

I used a water based semi-transparent stain made by Benjamin Moore Arborcoat on my deck last year. Had cleaned the pressure treated wood thoroughly before painting. Within two months I could see a grey dirty looking film on the deck. Will need to clean and restain. Do I need to sand and strip the BM product off the deck to stop this from happening again?

DAwn
DAwn
3 years ago

My contractor used Arborcoat on brand newly installed house shingles and after a couple years it has started peeling off! It apparently doesn’t penetrate the wood like a stain. It did prevent graying of Shingles but my goal was low maintenance and this apparently peels like a paint, plastics. Very dissatisfied with this product!

NJ Deckmate
NJ Deckmate
3 years ago

NJ Deckmate followup Spring 2019.
Attached are photos o my results in preparing to restain my deck of 2018. The BM Arbor Coat solid stain has continued to deteriorate and has worsened with a JOMAX cleaning/scrub followed by a light power washing and then hand sanding of the dried cedar boards. The stain comes off the surface of the wood like peeling and onion….thin flakes! I will try one “MOORE” time and completely stain the deck with what will be 2 more coats on top of teh 2 that I had originally applied in May of 2018

Clean with JOMAX1.jpg
Light power wash 2.jpg
post sand 3.jpg
NJ Deckmate
NJ Deckmate
3 years ago

My experience with BM Arbor Coat solid water base deck stain is a disaster. I live in New Jersey and had a 600 sq-ft western red cedar deck installed in October 2017 (see pic). I understood that BM does not warrant the preparation/labor…only the product thus insuring that if anything goes wrong, they only need to send you more of the same crap to replace what you already have. Knowing this, I had several discussions with the BM customer support team to insure that the stain process was done correctly. In summary, I waited until May 20, 2018 to allow the cedar to age a bit. I sanded the deck to remove any possibility of Mill Glaze then cleaned it with TSP solution and allowed to dry for 5 days. The weather was a perfect 80F and the humidity was low….the wood was dry. I hand brushed on two coats as per BM instructions. The outcome was spectacular thru the summer of 2018 until the fall arrived. Then random areas began to FLAKE off (not peel). The stain is simply not adhering to the wood. As time has passed, more areas are flaking. Now I have an ugly deck that I paid $30,000 for. Of course I called BM for remedy. Of course they tell me that I did not correctly prepare the surface and the wood was not dry….and they are happy to send me 2 gallons more of the same crap. They should call it “Bendover Moore”. And as expected…I have to sand the entire deck and start over all at my time and expense. So my friends…my advise is to buy a gallon and pour it over the salesman’s head!

Fall 2017 before stain.jpg
Resized_20190323_150240.jpeg
Resized_20190323_150653.jpeg
CTPAINTINGPROS
CTPAINTINGPROS
5 months ago
Reply to  NJ Deckmate

Cedar continues to bleed…………. info 101

Warren Sheets
Warren Sheets
3 years ago

Product is very disappointing. I spent $15,000 in clear Redwood and now after less than a year, I have a disaster on my hands. Are used it for decorative fencing, and now all of it Hass to be completely found it down and refinished

Dave Brown
Dave Brown
4 years ago

Hi , I’m paintng contractor up in Sun Valley Idaho and I’ve used quite a bit of the arborcoat for multiple applications and haven’t had any problems yet. The one thing I will say is don’t even think about using it when it’s hot . I actually used the solid body arborcoat on a composite deck about 5 years ago and it’s still holding strong . I just think hot decks are arborcoats worst enemy .

Disappointed consumer
Disappointed consumer
4 years ago

Terrible product. Do not purchase. Dirt, foot prints an paw prints cannot even be power washed off with the cleaner Benjamin Moore recommends. Our deck looks awful and all neighbors and friends will not purchase the product because of the way our deck looks.

Andi
Andi
4 years ago

Our contractor is suggesting we have him cover the sides of our garage with a coat of Arborcoat solid (with no primer coat). It’s a large, detached garage in New England. Would you recommend this? Thank you

Don
Don
4 years ago

Is the BM semi-transparent oil not a good choice too? Do semi-transparent oils used on decks peel? (I know that semi-solids and solids do.) My previous deck did not peel when a semi-t was applied. May go with Armstrong Clark. Thx.

Danielle
Danielle
4 years ago

We stained a very large deck and stair case and rail posts with this product. Twice. First time in 2014 was without the clear layer as at that time it was not suggested we use it. It peeled a lot over the winter and we had to have our deck re-sanded and re-stained. In 2016, The contractors brought BM reps to the house to see. They recommended re-applying and this time with the clear protector. Done. Issue has occurred again and once again we are re-sanding our deck and this time NOT going with BM. This company is not responsive and continues to sell this poor-performing product which is not suitable for outdoor decks.

Jerry
Jerry
5 years ago

There is a version of Arborcoat that is OIL BASED. I would assume that it acts completely differently to this water-based version. Have you done a review of the Arborcoat Semi-Transparent OIL BASED version?

Theresa@quirkworks.com
Theresa@quirkworks.com
5 years ago

Arborcoat applied 1- 1/2 years ago. A light gray oil based. It looks horrendous now! A brand new deck and it looks filthy, uneven distribution and a different color now under the welcome mat. I need to completely redo the decks and I have no idea what to do. It’s really bad looking.

image.jpg
Denise
Denise
3 years ago

Mine did the same thing in a matter of weeks. Used Benjamin Moore Aborcoat semi-transparent classic oil finish.

20190830_133054 (2).jpg
20190830_133159 (2).jpg
Anne Wright
Anne Wright
5 years ago

I had Arborcoat Waterborne Exterior Stain Decking and Siding product professionally applied to my new cedar shakes on the exterior of my house. Now it is peeling off in small thin strips everywhere. This is a 2 story house and the shakes cover a huge expanse. There is no practical way to remove the product. My painter has suggested power washing but I feel that it will damage the shakes. I am in California and we have mild weather, almost no freezing. It rains. The rep said that weather damage is not covered under the warranty. Well, this is outside. What good is the coating if it does not withstand weather? I am trying to figure out what to do; the house looks terrible.

Sorry about the image attached. I don’t know why it came out sideways.

fucked up shakes.jpg
AB Wright
AB Wright
5 years ago

Thanks, but we are not talking about a small area — this is the entire house.

Donna
Donna
4 years ago
Reply to  AB Wright

From what I understand, a “stain stripper” will not remove water based products. And even with a stain stripper, it’s very time consuming to “strip” an entire house.

Donna
Donna
4 years ago
Reply to  Anne Wright

I can see that this is NOT the product (Arborcoat) to use on shingles. I can totally sympathize with you!! We are also in California, have a house with Western Red Cedar shingle siding, used a Cabot stain product (oil based) several years ago and it grew lots of mold. We are having to have our house stripped (it’s a large house and we simply can’t do it ourselves as it would take us months) and then we are trying to figure out what product to go back with. We don’t want mold/mildew again – and we don’t want to put something on that is not going to last – or grow mold.

I’m wondering what you decided to do.

Gary Ludorf
Gary Ludorf
5 years ago

This is a poor quality product. I would never recommend this product to anyone. The Benjamin Moore name is not the sign of quality like I thought it was.

I used the Arbor coat solid stain, applying to my 18 yr old clear cedar deck after stripping the previous stain and preparing the deck with Restore-A-Deck products which worked very well. I live in eastern Massachusetts, my deck is very large, about 800 SF, and the surface is in excellent condition which is why I used clear cedar. The day after applying the Arbor coat solid stain I saw problems from a shiny finish like a veneer that was not attractive. I was not happy with the result.

One year later the deck has ugly black stains. I have been stripping, restoring, and re-staining my deck for 18 years and I have never seen anything like this. I tried to pressure wash the stains but they do not come off. I am going to try a cleaner, but I do not want to remove the stain because I do not stain every year. I expect at least 2 years out of a solid stain and that is asking very little. I am going to assume the spots may be acid rain related, but I have never seen this with other stains. The Arbor coat solid stain does not protect your deck. This is poor. I am hoping that if I use a slightly alkaline cleaner, the stains will come off. Hopefully they will not return during the summer. Can’t wait to get this stain off my deck!

scott
scott
5 years ago

This product is terrible! Ruined my deck and now I cannot get it off. What to do?

stephan
stephan
6 years ago

I have a positive experience with this product.
We had our large open front porch redone in Canada, hot sunny and humid in the summer, wet in the fall, snowy and frozen in the winder. 5 years later the product has not peeled and the colour is good, though it has worn off the floor in some high traffic areas.

The contractor who installed the porch floor and ramps prestained all of the dry, non PT wood with opaque Arborcoat…in his shop… before installing it. Perhaps this explains our good results?

Pika
Pika
5 years ago
Reply to  stephan

What version of the product did you use? Oil or water based? Transparent? Semi-Transparent? Solid? . . .?

mark
mark
6 years ago

The best system for the Arborcoat Solid Deck Stain is to use the Benjamin Moore Fast Dry Alkyd Prime #094 on bare wood. I like in New York and it still looks great 3 years later. The alkyd primer penetrates and bonds to the wood fibers where any waterbased product only grips the surface.

Cecil Marcano
Cecil Marcano
6 years ago

Try the translucent arboat Coat. Be sure the wood is dry 12%. Apply in the afternoon when the wood not hot. We sand the deck completly as a wood floor with belt sander. We are profesional deck and wood floor company. This work for us in the tropics Puerto Rico. And clean your deck every week or two. If you do not wash you car for two years the paint will be really bad same with your deck. Any question.

Alice Vogel
Alice Vogel
6 years ago

A local paint contractor completely sanded and cleaned my cedar deck. Arborcoat was applied, apparently easily. Almost immediately, areas in the sun began to peel. The paint contractor and an Arborcoat representative came out to review the situation. The areas that were compromised were resanded and Arborcoat was applied again. Since then, all areas have lifted and peeled except those areas in constant shade. Very disappointing.

Doreen Shaw
Doreen Shaw
6 years ago

I used arbor coat last year on my shed, deck and fence. All vertical areas were fine the following spring. The deck eas an absolute disaster, peeled very badly.