Best Semi-Transparent Deck Stain Reviews 2022 4.7/5 (19)

This post was updated on May 2, 2022

Best Semi-Transparent Deck Stain

Best Semi-Transparent Deck Stain

Best Semi-Transparent Deck Stain

We have been using deck stains now for 25+ years and reviewing them on DeckStainHelp.com since 2012. Our favorite stains have always been penetrating semi-transparent stains as they last for 2-3 years, do not peel, and can be cleaned and reapplied without the heavy lifting of power sanding and insurance scrapping.

Here is a list of our Top 5 semi-transparent penetrating wood and deck stains.

 

The 5 Best Semi-Transparent Deck Stains are

  • TWP 100 Series Semi-Transparent Stain
  • Restore-A-Deck Semi-Transparent Stain
  • Armstrong Clark Semi-Transparent Stain
  • TWP 1500 Series Semi-Transparent Stain
  • Defy Extreme Semi-Transparent Stain

See below for more information on each brand.

Penetrating semi-transparent deck stains allow the wood grain to show, and if they truly soak into the wood grain, reapplying is much easier down the road. One issue is that not all semi-transparent stains are penetrating but rather film on top of the wood like paint. Stains that film on top of the wood will have a tendency to peel and will be harder to re-coat or remove down the road.

Note: Our Top 5 semi-transparent stains are all penetrating when prepped properly and applied properly. Do not skip the prep steps or over-apply as this will lead to failure of the deck stain at a much faster rate!

1. Restore-A-Deck – Best Semi-Transparent Deck Stain and Sealer

Restore A Deck Wood Stain ReviewWhere To Find On Google: Restore-A-Deck Semi-Transparent Stain
Pros: Damp Wood Application – It can be applied the same day as the prep. Penetrating Semi-Transparent Water-Based. Easy water clean-up. Allowed in all 50 States and Canada. Excellent mildew resistance. Able to clean and recoat as needed for maintenance.
Cons: Only 5 colors.
Consumer Star Ratings:  4.7/5 (47)
DeckStainHelp.com Review (On a Scale of 1-10): 8.625
See Review Article Here: Restore-A-Deck Wood Stain Review

How To Restore Your Deck All in One Day – DeckStainHelp.com

2. TWP 100 Pro Series – Best Oil-Based Semi-Transparent Deck Stain

TWP Stain Reviews

TWP Stain Reviews

Where To Find On Google: TWP 100 Pro Series
Pros: Penetrating Semi-Transparent Oil-Based. Full Curing EPA Registered Stain. 10 semi-transparent colors. Easy to apply. Excellent mildew resistance. Clean and re-coat as needed for maintenance.
Cons: Only Available in 35 States. See TWP 1500 for Low VOC version.
Consumer Star Ratings:  4.5/5 (40)
DeckStainHelp.com Review (On a Scale of 1-10): 8.69
See Review Article Here: TWP 100 Series Review

3. Armstrong Clark – Easiest to Apply Semi-Transparent Deck Stain

Armstrong Clark Wood Stain RatingWhere To Find On Google: Armstrong Clark Semi-Solid
Pros: Very easy to apply. Paraffin and Curing Oil Blend. Full Curing Stain. Allowed in all 50 States and Canada. Able to clean and re-coat as needed for maintenance.
Cons: It can take a few days or longer to fully cure.
Consumer Star Ratings:  4.4/5 (60)
DeckStainHelp.com Review (On a Scale of 1-10): 8.5
See Review Article Here: Armstrong Clark Stain Review

4. TWP 1500 Series – Best VOC Compliant Semi-Transparent Deck Stain

TWP 1500 Series RatingWhere To Find On Google: TWP 1500 Series
Pros: Complaint in all 50 States. Penetrating Semi-Transparent Oil-Based. Full Curing EPA Registered Stain. EPA Registered Wood Preservative. Able to clean and re-coat as needed for maintenance.
Cons: Takes longer to dry than the TWP 100 Series
Consumer Star Ratings:  4.6/5 (20)
DeckStainHelp.com Review (On a Scale of 1-10): 8.5
See Review Article Here: TWP 1500 Series Review

5. Defy Extreme Stain – Best Water-Based Semi-Transparent Deck Stain

Defy Extreme Stain Review

Defy Extreme Stain Review

Where To Find On Google: Defy Extreme Semi-Transparent Stain
Pros: Penetrating Semi-Transparent Water-Based. Nano-technology for deep penetrating. Zinc oxide prevents mildew better than most brands. Allowed in all 50 States and Canada. Able to clean and re-coat as needed for maintenance.
Cons: It can be harder to apply than other brands.
Consumer Star Ratings:  4.1/5 (54)
DeckStainHelp.com Review (On a Scale of 1-10): 8.47
See Review Article Here: Defy Extreme Stain Review

Best Semi-Transparent Deck Stain Photos

Top Deck Stain Reviews Ratings


Do you have questions as to what brand of semi-transparent stain you should use on your deck?

Please ask below, we are here to help!

Please Rate This. You may also post comments or ask questions below.

Related Deck Stain Help Articles & Reviews

guest

165 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Tara Buhr
Tara Buhr
1 month ago

I would love to hear your views on the defy extreme vs. the defy ultra (satin sheen). I like the look of the ultra, but I see that the defy extreme is the best. I have a deck that is almost ready to stain in Oregon. Want to use Defy 100%

Jonathan
Jonathan
2 months ago

I appreciate the post. I’m about to stain decks at a beach home in Florida. In the past, we’ve just done a couple of coats of Thompsons (no need to make fun of me…I know that was stupid), but now we’re looking to replace it with a semi-transparent that will last longer. I don’t know what (or if) the previous homeowner used on the decks, but they are 15 years old and in pretty good shape (we’ve replaced a couple of boards).

Should we go with Restore a Deck or the TWP100? I want it to last as long as possible.

Chris
Chris
2 months ago

I am restoring an outside and an inside deck in central western Maine.
There was nothing done to these decks in about 20 years. They are pressure treated wood. The outside deck is in tough condition, the inside (screened) porch is in fair to good condition. I’m currently cleaning the outside entry deck with a 50/50 mix of simple green / water. After scrubbing and scraping. Whatever preservative was used is long gone! I may sand the outside deck to insure I have a good surface before coating.
I’m looking at using the TWP 1500. Is there a better choice?

Chris
Chris
2 months ago

Thanks, I still have a fair amount of scraping of the surface to do. It will look so much better when done.
This is the western mountains of Maine.
How late in the season can I treat it?
I obviously need to get down to clear wood and let it dry.
What is my minimum night time temperature and for (approximately) how many days of drying time?

Joe Jacobsohn
Joe Jacobsohn
2 months ago

We had a deck built onto our porch last summer, I am currently sanding the paint from the old porch and want to stain all of it. I might have waited too long, as the new deck wood is starting to turn an ash gray and black mold spots are starting to appear. My questions are: 1, how can I get the paint out from in between the boards on the old porch? See attached photo. 2, will pressure washing the newer part of the deck be enough before staining? 3, I love that redwood semi transparent water based. Will that be a good choice or should I be looking at oil based? One thing I read says water based is better, the next says oil based. I am very confused about which I should use and why.

20220923_134339.jpg
20220923_134400.jpg
20220923_134406.jpg
Joe Jacobsohn
Joe Jacobsohn
2 months ago

Thank you for the help.

Anna
Anna
3 months ago

Hello! I’m hoping you can give me some feedback. I had a deck stained a few weeks before these pictures were taken. All the marks that are visible in the pix do not come off with sweeping or washing. I also tried Simple Green with a deck brush, and when it dries, all these marks return.
Can you guess why this happened or what it is? I appreciate your best educated guess(es)! Thanks!

deck2.jpg
deck1.jpg
Anna
Anna
3 months ago

Hi! Thank you so much! I assume “over-applied” means too much was put on? Removing is done by sanding, right? (Sorry to be such a novice). What’s the best brand you’d recommend for a deck that is (1) exposed to the elements/uncovered, and (2) has soil around it with clay in it (which I would hope wouldn’t matter, but this is the excuse the worker who stained my deck is giving me –he’s blaming it on the clay content of the soil that then sticks to the deck). I am looking for something that won’t show dirt (lol) because this is a vacation rental. In other words, I’m less concerned about color/asthetic than I am about it being low-maintenance and easy to clean so it looks normal.

Robert
Robert
4 months ago

Hi Scott, thanks for all the information that you share! I would like to buy a prebuilt studio built in WA state, and install it in my backyard in LA. It has a douglas fir wood siding, and I would like that the shop paints it with a semi transparent wood stain that could last 2-3 years before re-applying a maintenance coat. Which one would you recommend? It will get a lot of sun. FYI: a neighbor installed a similar product and I see that the wood shrank and you can see unpainted wood.(please see picture attached).

He used Olympic Elite Solid.

Thank you!!

PS: The siding is 1×6 T&G Douglas Fir.

attachment (2).jpg
attachment (1).jpg
Robert
Robert
4 months ago

Thank you. Actually, it’s not a prestain. It would be the ultimate exterior finishing…
After reading the link you shared, I think I should wait at least 2-3 months before staining the wood.

Sylla McClellan
Sylla McClellan
4 months ago

Hello! I just had my porch replaced and now I need to treat the bare wood. The porch has a little protection from rain, but is west facing so gets lots of sun. Ideally, I only want a very light stain to enhance the wood color. Recommendations? Thanks! Your site is very informative!

Scott Kirkpatrick
Scott Kirkpatrick
4 months ago

Your recommendation please as to best product for interior bathroom wall. Cedar veneer T&G, Rainier Plank from Defiance, Gig Harbor WA.
Thank you.

Greg
Greg
5 months ago

We are removing Behr semi transparent deck stain from a large deck. It never held up well, and peels off even sticks to your feet.We have used Behr stripping and brightening products to remove the stain. Can we use another brand semi transparent stain, Defy, for example? It is pressure treated

image.jpg
Butch
Butch
5 months ago

I have twelve hundred square feet of pressure treated decking. It is in upstate New York on the water and takes the full sun, wind, and rain. It is 32 years old but looks great because I have kept up with maintaining it. Since New York banned oil based stains, it seems I only get 2 years out of water based semi transparent stains before they start to show wear. I have used quality stains such as Olympic, CWF and PPG products. Do you have any suggestions what semi transparent stain I might use that would last longer? I would like to get at least 3 or 4 years durability before restaining. Also, in preparation I use a deck wash and then pressure wash. With your expertise, could you tell me the name of the best deck wash.
Thank you for your help!

Butch
Butch
5 months ago

Thank you so much for the information!

Yvette
Yvette
5 months ago

Just installed 80′ of Con-heart Redwood fencing and sanded an older 80′ same redwood fencing. Trying to figure out stain. Last time I used an oil base stain and fence became an ugly gray after 4 years or so. Im in So Cal, heat and barely any rain. I want to preserve the look of the grain and knots of the wood, so Im thinking semi-transparent. Whats the main diff between water base and oil base? When I have to restain in the future, do I have to sand wood again if I use a water base? Does one tend to last longer? Also, 1 neighbor may not stain his side of the fence, will that affect my side? Thank you! Product recommendation please. 😊

Mike
Mike
5 months ago

The deck is a year old

Mike
Mike
5 months ago

I live In Missouri. The deck is 16×24 flooring and frame is yellawood with cedar posts and skirting. Wondering what is the best type of semi transparent stain to use? Water or oil based as this deck is in full sun. Thanks for the advice.

John C
John C
6 months ago

i applied Thompson solid stain on my deck in May 2021-now May 2022 it is virtually washed out. I applied the same solid stain in 2018 and it lasted about 3 yrs. it’s water based. should I apply a semi-transparent stain now.? the deck looks awful

John C
John C
6 months ago

Is sanding my only option? Are any of the restoration deck resurfacing products an alternative?

John C
John C
6 months ago

Can I use an old base solid color stain over Thompson water based solid color stain? Should I?

A. look
A. look
6 months ago

I have a brand new western red cedar arbor with swing from Canada.
Since it is brand new, do I need any preparation before staining? Do I need to wait for sometime? Thank you.
A. Look

Barbara
Barbara
6 months ago

We live in Colorado. We have a redwood deck built around 1998. Penafin transparent stain was always used to stain until about 6 years ago when a painter recommended Cabot’s semi solid which was was a terrible choice. We had the deck sanded down to bare wood and stained 3 years ago with Superdeck oil based transparent stain. It was the Duckback original formula sold at ACE Hardware before Sherwin Williams bought and changed the formula . I can no longer get what I used 3 years ago and what Sherwin Williams has is water based. It’s time to stain again and I am at a loss as to what stain to use on our deck. I don’t want semi transparent and I don’t want to have to sand down to the bare wood. I called the Penafin company and they said I can’t use Penafin with out sanding down to the bare wood again. What do you recommend that I use and where do I find it? We have a north facing deck that can get a lot of snow in the winter and little sun. It does get a good amount of sun in the summer. Thank you for your help. Barbara

Barbara
Barbara
6 months ago

Is the stripper necessary and why?

Barbara
Barbara
6 months ago
Reply to  Barbara

If I use the deck stripper and brightened can I then use the Penafin or does Penafin require sanding the deck because of their formula?

Barbara
Barbara
6 months ago

Where do you find TWP or Srmstrong in Denver

Jonathan
Jonathan
6 months ago

20-year-old redwood deck in Colorado mountains. Just sanded it down to bare wood (looks like a million bucks right now) and am looking for something semi-transparent to show off the grain. Thanks!

Jonathan
Jonathan
6 months ago

I didn’t mention that it was in the full sun 3/4 of the day and just gets hammered with uv. Would the TWP or Armstrong still be your recommendation, and if so, which of one would you go with? Thanks so much!

Cathy Tavernier
Cathy Tavernier
6 months ago

Hi, Love your site! We live in East Texas with lots of humidity. We have a deck that was built last May and a porch that was built in 2017. Neither have been stained. We have a dark grey house and are probably going with the Defy brand of stain after reading your article and we want to use water based stain. What color would you recommend for a SW gauntlet grey colored house?
We are very nervous about this staining project and need help.
Thank you,
Cathy T

John Bacon
John Bacon
6 months ago

We live in Canada. Full sun deck. What is the best Cedar deck stain you would recommend. Easy to apply. UV protectant. Longer life span.

Cathy Tavernier
Cathy Tavernier
6 months ago
Reply to  John Bacon

Thanks

David Rivard
David Rivard
6 months ago

I hope you can help given your experience even though my question relates to a stain for wood installed indoors. I live in Long Island, NY. I’m installing a new wood ceiling in master bathroom which has a shower. We had planned to stain (with a penetrating stain) & seal all four sides of PINE tongue and groove planks with polyurethane. But we’ve learned the heat from shower steam reaches 120 degrees or more, and will very likely cause the polyurethane to bubble up / peal (yes, even though the bathroom is properly ventilated). If we just stain the PINE (NOT also apply poly sealer), shower steam would eventually cause the pine to warp, rot and collect mildew as moisture will get into unsealed PINE. To avoid this problem, and to avoid having to sand the PINE and reapply new poly every 6-12 months (when it bubbles / peals), we’ve decided to install CEDAR tongue and groove planks (4x the cost of pine) on the ceiling and apply 1-2 coats of a penetrating stain or penetrating stain & sealer, hoping the CEDAR’s natural ability to resist moisture, mildew and rot, when combined with the protection of stain, will hold up well and allow us to (simply??) reapply stain every few years to the CEDAR planks (to the one side of CEDAR we will see after installation). 
Questions:
1. Is there a stain, or stain & sealer product / brand you suggest for CEDAR that is designed, or should hold up well, to hot shower steam? If not, do you know of an additive I can add to gallon of stain or stain & sealer to help it better hold up to hot steam?
2. Is my use of tongue and groove CEDAR planks and 1-2 coats of stain or stain & sealer (on all four sides prior to installation on ceiling) a sound plan, or do you have any other suggestions of wood to use (other than IPE or Teak…too expensive)?
3. When the CEDAR starts to gray and needs another coat of stain or stain & sealer (hopefully in at least a few years), will I need to cause a mess in my bathroom by applying a Brightener / Cleaner before another coat is applied? Or, since the CEDAR will be indoors and (in theory) significantly cleaner than if outdoors, I will be able to (get away with) just brush on another coat of stain or stain & sealer in a few years?
Thanks so much! David

Donna
Donna
1 year ago

WE LIVE IN WISCONSIN.GOT A NEW DECK WITH PRESSURE TREATED WOOD LAST YEAR AROUND A POOL.NEED TO INSTALL UPPER DECK NEXT YEAR. HAVE ALWAYS USED OIL SEMI-TRANSPARENT.WHAT DO YOU RECOMMEND TO USE AS A STAIN AND SEALER.

Anjana
Anjana
1 year ago

We live in New York. We got new deck done with pressure treated wood in first week of August,2021. Our question is: should we stain the deck in first week of October or it is better to wait till next spring? Our concern is that our deck would not have protection during the winter / snow months.

David
David
1 year ago

What is best stain/sealer for Cypress siding? Siding is planed and shiplapped. I want a Redwood or Mahagony stain with high UV protection. Should both sides be sealed, and oil or water base? Thanks

David
David
1 year ago

Should underside be sealed

Travis
Travis
1 year ago

Our deck was stained with semi transparent Sherwin-Williams waterborne superdeck three years ago, overall no peeling but there is beginning to be some wear. We want to protect and if possible restore some of the color. Can you reapply semi transparent over the top of the existing stain, or better to use a clear sealer instead?

travis
travis
1 year ago

oops, too late – we pressure washed then applied a light coat of SW stain over top of the original. Will see if it peels. Really appreciate all the good info on your site but was left wondering: besides periodic cleaning, is there any way to *maintain* a deck stained with semi-transparent stain other than to remove/restain – sounds like no?

Nancy
Nancy
1 year ago

What would be the best stain for a log home in Missouri? We have used an oil-based product called WOODGuard HoneyBase; but seems to leave a dripping stain after it rains.

Nancy
Nancy
1 year ago

Thank you. Does the TWP 1500 series have a similar honeybase color? (light orangish yellow)

Nancy
Nancy
1 year ago

Which color do you recommend?

Darlene L Demuth
Darlene L Demuth
1 year ago

I just built a cedar front porch. I stained it in March 2021 with Shermin Williams Super Deck modified-oil formula Transparent Stain in Natural. One coat as per instructions. This porch gets full sun for 8 hours a day. 5 months later (August) it has faded considerably and has areas where it looks like the stain was not absorbed at all. I would like to restain it with something that has the most UV protection with a darker tint, but still want the natural look of the cedar to show through. What do you suggest? And would I have to remove that first coat of Super Deck before re-staining?

IMG_3241.JPG
IMG_2811.JPG
IMG_3240.JPG
Daniel W Bigger
Daniel W Bigger
1 year ago

Do you have a review or knowledge of rodda’s rural manor stain?

Ed Avis
Ed Avis
1 year ago

I have a 10 year old pressure treated deck and the initial application (1 year after it was built) was with a solid stain. The solid stain did not hold up well and had to be removed and reapplied every year. I just had the deck professionally sanded and it looks great! I’m now ready to apply a semi-transparent natural or cedar stain and am considering a few options. Any suggestions?

Christine Aguilar
Christine Aguilar
1 year ago

We have been in our home for three years. The front porch was I believe painted just before we moved in. Pictures are attached. What is the best way to put a semi transparent stain on and what is the best product. There is a green film on the edges near the railing.

A6DE284D-941A-4DD5-A705-1DBA9E72AE93.jpeg
55AF3A0E-8CE8-4EC5-BD1D-FAC836E1D82C.jpeg
Sherri
Sherri
1 year ago

Can I use Defy Stripper and Defy Brightener and then Restore-A-Deck Stain?

Scott
Scott
1 year ago

I am building a fence with rough-sawn redwood. I am refacing a cinder block wall so will not be able to stain the back side once installed. I’ve had the lumber in my garage for 2 weeks can I stain it beforehand? Southern California-temperate climate. Any suggestions?

Brenda Tinker
Brenda Tinker
1 year ago

I live in Jenks Oklahoma. I am in the process of stripping my deck. It has silkens oil base transparent stain. I have a 15 year old Red Wood deck in good shape. The size is 17’ by 20’.
Spring is always raining here.
What is your best suggestion for Stain.
I want transparent and a light color.
I am using DEFY wood cleaner to strip and DEFY brighter.
Confused on a wood stain.
I am 68 years old. This is a big project for me alone. Help.
Thanks
Brenda

Shonda
Shonda
1 year ago

Hello from Charlotte NC. We recently moved into a home with a deck that was previously stained in a semitransparent SW product. The product is wearing through, some treads are showing weathering. Also in a very damp environment so we have mildew. Is it true that I can not use semitransparent again? It is the lightest application of stain, in a gray color that shows the natural grain of the wood. (pressure treated wood) Looking for clear guidance on the proper process to prep, restain and seal this deck before it gets worse. It’s mostly stairs and a small landing.

Thank you!

Brian
Brian
1 year ago

Hello from Ontario, Canada
Looking for stain recommendations.

Full Sun, Partial Shade, Full Shade: Full Sun in afternoon, Shade in morning
Wood Type: Pressure Treated
Mold or Mildew Issues: No
The reason for Previous Stain Failure: No stain failure, 2 Year old deck, not stained
Previous Coating? None – Looking for Semi-Transparent Stain

Dennis
Dennis
1 year ago

Good day, I’ve recently built a pergola and a deck/treehouse, using native western red cedar logs, both living and standing-dead in addition to milled pine. I stripped bark from the living cedar logs and used as is(posts mostly). I want to use a clear sealant/stain in able to see the cedar patterns. I was leaning toward ‘Ready Seal’. What can you recommend? Thank you for your time and cooperation this issue.

Marcus
Marcus
1 year ago

I have an older deck that is in good condition. It appears to have been stained previously with a solid color and then the color appears to have been removed (I can see small areas of remaining stain in various locations).

I wanted to clean/refinish it with semi-transparent stain but have been told that since the deck is older, it would be a problem (color wouldn’t be consistent and given the random stain spots, it would look splotchy).

Therefore, are my only two choices a solid stain again or a clear sealer? If so, I’d prefer not to use a solid stain for aesthetic reasons. Any cost-effective tips on making the deck look as good as possible while protecting it with a sealer or other product?

Phil
Phil
1 year ago

We stain large amounts of fence board and cedar siding

We currently use ready seal because of how easy and goof proof it is

Is there any other products on the market that I can roll on and stack wet before installing, like I do ready seal?

Ricky Herring
Ricky Herring
2 years ago

What is your preference, oil or water based and why? For reference, I have a pressure treated deck I built several months ago and am finally getting around to the staining. Currently has no finish.

Robert
Robert
2 years ago

I built a new cedar deck in 2017. In 2018, I stained it for first time using Ready Seal semi transparent stain. It has faded badly and I will restain in 2021. I am considering TWP 1500. Can I just clean deck and apply the TWP 1500? Do I need to use some other product first? The deck gets full sun in summer near Chicago.

John
John
2 years ago

Used Minwax penetrating stain and Minwax Melmsman Spar Urethane on my porch beams and deck but it is really losing it’s color and peeling rapidly. Can I use one of the Restore-A-Deck Semi-Transparent Deck Stain and Sealer on my porch? Also, I know that I will have to get rid of the peeling problem but will the Restore-A-Deck penetrate with the existing stain still engrained in the wood?

John
John
2 years ago

Are you saying that I need to remove the entire layer of wood that has been stained or that I need to remove just the layer of Spar Urethane on the wood?

John
John
2 years ago

Okay thanks

Robin Keeney
Robin Keeney
2 years ago

We live in Missouri and in the process of having our front porch rebuilt with smooth western cedar flooring, posts, and railing. The floor is done and the contractor said the wood is dry and he suggested we stain or seal it right away. We had always heard we need to wait. Can your please give us advice?

Timothy Howell
Timothy Howell
2 years ago

Im lookong to keep the new fresh pinkesh look to my new Ceder adarondak chairs. What would you recommend. I know fir UV protection it will need some pigment. Iv looked at valspar 4 season and a few others at lowes and home depot… what are your thoughts about the best “clear” ssealer with UV protection.

Christian
Christian
2 years ago

I’ve been reading articles posted on this website over the last couple of weeks, thank you for all of the information, very helpful.

My question: I am trying to track down the best semi-transparent grey stain for our redwood fence, to match the color/trim of our home, but I feel like I am going in circles. I’ve narrowed the search down to two:
1) RAD, Cottage Grey: https://www.restore-a-deck.com/restore-a-deck-wood-stain/restore-a-deck-wood-stain-5-gallon/flypage.tpl.html
2) Armstrong Clark, Driftwood Grey: https://www.armstrongclarkstain.com/armstrong-clark-stain-5-gallon

Others in the running include: Wood Defender Fence Stain (Charcoal Grey) and Defy Extreme (Driftwood grey)

While I realize you have the top deck 5 stains listed in this article, I am wondering if this list changes for fences.

Thank you in advance!

Christian
Christian
2 years ago

Thank you for responding so quickly!

katie
katie
4 months ago
Reply to  Christian

christian, which did you end up using and how did it turn out? do you have photos?

bearo7
bearo7
2 years ago

Hi have a question if I have a deck stained 3 years ago that has faded some spots still show color other spots you can see the wood can I give it a new coat of the same stain or do I have to strip all of it. Thanks

bearo7
bearo7
2 years ago

Flood CWF-U.V. semi transparent

B25F13A3-05DC-404E-8B78-9972D7E4AC8D.jpeg
66042F6D-66D5-4E78-84A9-B1BD6E353357.jpeg
E9CE69D2-015F-4F0E-BD70-93CBF07817E7.jpeg
E5B3D44A-0E70-45B7-BD35-CCBDFB424454.jpeg
bearo7
bearo7
2 years ago
Reply to  bearo7

Flood CWF-U.V. semi transparent

B2C4BC7A-8C87-434C-8CAE-1126A3AE9C7C.jpeg
F746A079-BDF5-471C-B64F-2C25BC08E372.jpeg
578D3A3E-424C-4F18-B448-7FC225162DE2.jpeg
1869F217-965C-4F58-BFE0-6D425B4FBDFF.jpeg
Angie Daniels
Angie Daniels
2 years ago

First, let me say what a WONDERFUL Site you have! I have found it to be The Most Informative on Stains & Sealers. Thank you for the time you spend on sharing your knowledge & experience.
My info…
We live on a Lake in Central Mississippi.
Very Hot, Dry & Humid Summers, Wet & Cold Winters w/a lot of North Wind off the lake.
Our deck and Boat Ramp is Fully exposed, Penna-treated Pine. The House is Western Cedar Lap Siding, Full Sun.
The siding however, turns dark, almost black when untreated. Is this due to mildew ?
It cleans up beautifully to a light blond/orange tone which we would like to keep as close to the natural look as possible.
We just recently purchased the house and Neither the Deck nor Siding, Which are both approximately 8yrs old, have ever been treated.
Question 1- Best Clear Sealer or Transparent stain for Deck?
Question 2 – Best Semi-Transparent Stain for the House Siding?
Thank you for your suggestions.
A Grateful Southern Gal,
AngieDale

Kristen
Kristen
2 years ago

We live in Central/Northern Virginia & have replaced all of the horizontal boards on our deck. We plan to use an Armstrong Clark stain for those after about 3 months.

We want to paint the spindles white – they are not new & are currently stained dark brown. What is the best thing to use to make the spindles white? Would we look for a solid stain?

Thank you!

Gary Welch
Gary Welch
2 years ago

Your list of top-rated deck stains is much different than the list published by Consumer Reports, and a local deck-staining business strongly recommends the Sherwin-Williams SuperDeck product. Why the big differences in these ratings?

Heidi
Heidi
2 years ago

We have a composite deck but new deck posts. Since they are not smooth can we stain immediately? Is there a specific stain we should use?

james
james
2 years ago

we just had a deck built. we were told when we stain it use a semi- transparent stain. we were also told not to seal it??
When we shopped for a semi-transparent stain they all had sealer in it. Is that ok. what should we do.
we live in the South east ( western north Carolina )

Larry
Larry
2 years ago

What transparent stain to use on western red cedar ?