Defy Extreme Solid Color Stain Review 4.7/5 (5)

This post was updated on January 14, 2022

Defy Extreme Solid Stain Review 2022

Defy Extreme Solid Color Stain Rating

Defy Extreme Solid Color Stain Review

Defy Extreme Solid Color Stain Review

This is our initial Review of the Defy Solid Color Wood and Deck Stain.  This review will be updated throughout the years. The Defy Extreme Solid Stain is an excellent choice for a solid color wood and deck stain. As always, we appreciate your input, so feel free to leave a comment below and pictures of your completed projects using the Defy Extreme Solid Stain.

Defy Extreme Solid Color Wood Stain Review

Summary: DEFY Extreme Solid Color Wood Stain is a synthetic-resin, opaque wood and deck finish that helps protect against water, mildew, mold, algae, and UV radiation on exterior wood surfaces.

This V.O.C. compliant water-based product provides a beautiful finish, fortified with transparent “oxide” based Nano Particles. There are over 30 TRILLION nano-particles per square inch that provide extreme protection for your wood by blocking out the sun’s harmful UV rays, moisture and fungal growth.

Defy Extreme Solid Wood Stain Scores (1-10)

Appearance After Initial Stain Application: 9

– The DEFY Extreme Solid Color Wood Stain in the custom-mixed Redwood color has a beautiful finished appearance. Coverage was excellent and the grain of the wood was completely covered, which is the nature of solid opaque stains.

Wear/Tear and Peeling: 9

–At the 1-year mark, there was no peeling anywhere. Little to no wearing was visible.

Cost Per Square Foot: 8

– We applied two coats to our 600 sq. feet of verticals that included all railings and steps. 4 Gallons were used at a cost of $55 per gallon.

Preventing Mold/Mildew/Algae: 9

– After 1 year a slight area of green algae was detected in a shaded area of the deck but seemed to only be on top of the stained surface. This seemed to be more of an issue of the deck’s location than with the actual stain.

Ease of Application: 8

– The DEFY Extreme Solid Color Wood Stain is easier to apply than many of the solid color deck stains that you can find in big box stores. Using a staining brush or roller is best for efficient coverage.  We applied both coats, waiting about 20-45 minutes between coats.

Difficulty of Reapplication: 8

– Pressure wash to remove all dirt and grime using a deck cleaner. Let dry and reapply 1-2 coats of the solid stain. No need to strip off, just remove any loose stain prior to reapplication.

Overall Score Defy Extreme Solid Color Stain at 1 Year Period: 8.5

– The DEFY Extreme Solid Color Wood Stain is a great solid stain and shows lots of promise. It is newer to the market but that does not mean you shouldn’t consider it. Advances in technology mean that durability is better now than previously.

Product Information

Where to Buy: Do-it Best stores
Cost: $54.99 per Gallon
Stain Type: Solid Color (Opaque) Wood Stain – Water Based
Available Custom-Mixed Solid Colors: Custom tinted to any color.
Application Temperature: 45-95 F
Coats  Required: 2 Coats
Coverage Per Gallon: 150-250 sq. ft
Application Tools: Airless Sprayer, Brush, Roller
Dry Time: 2-4 Hours
Cleanup: Water
VOC Compliant: 50 VOC Compliant in all States
Manufacturer: SaverSystems

Test Deck Stats

Deck Wood Type: Pressure Treated Pine
Deck Square Footage: 600 Square feet
UV Exposure: Full Sun
How Many Years Tested: 1 Year
Stain Color Used: 
Red Custom Mix

*All products tested and results are from our experience. We offer no guarantee of similar results. Take into consideration that results may differ due to different wood types, exposure to UV radiation, and natural weathering.

Please Rate This. You may also post comments or ask questions below.

Related Deck Stain Help Articles & Reviews

guest

129 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Julie
Julie
1 month ago

I’d like to use Defy Extreme solid wood stain on my aging deck. Does it require a separate sealer as well?

Melissa Lyle
Melissa Lyle
2 months ago

I am planning to re-paint the porches on my mother’s house. There is a large downstairs front porch with a smaller upstairs front porch that both face South, then a small side porch that faces East. The decks on these porches were replaced about 5 years ago, and painted at the time (I’m thinking they were not primed, it doesn’t look like it), but the paint has nearly completely worn off in places because of sun exposure. I was considering the Olympic Rescue-It product, but see that people have a lot of complaints about its wear. I plan to put in the time needed to prep: scrape, use a cleaner, power rinse, and sand, etc. What produce would you recommend that might stand up to the sun?

Melissa Lyle
Melissa Lyle
2 months ago

thank you

Jerome Klosowski
Jerome Klosowski
2 months ago

I have an 27 year old deck in full sun and it has been stained several times. It shows sun damage with cracks and splinters. I have power washed it and got a lot of the old coating off. Anything that stayed on is well adhered. I read the many reviews and listened to your talks and think it is a toss-up between Defy -Extreme solid color wood stain and Gulf Synthetics Deck Revive. Do you agree with my choices? Is one more tested than the other (both seem very new with no longevity data)? Your data indicates the Defy product is available from Do-it-Best stores. I have no idea of where to get the Gulf product (the outlets in their web site claim never to have heard of the product and they did not return my call or e-mai). If you think my best choice is the Gulf product, where do I get it?

C Hass
C Hass
3 months ago

Hi! We planned a two toned solid stain deck with restore a deck ( espresso and white). We did the top railing and floor first, I know not ideal but that’s what had to happen. It came out great! However, I just started a few spindles and the white Restore a deck barely barely shows up. It will take five coats to even look white. Is there a different product you would suggest here? Maybe a deck paint?

53AFCE26-EDAA-42D6-B690-35C9DDC723B2.jpeg
C Hass
C Hass
3 months ago

Ok thank you for the advice! Any primer suggestions that would work with the RAD solid? Or does it not matter too much?

Also would you tape off each spindle or just eye ball it? I was taping off but it seems it’s going to peel off tiny bits of the RAD solid I already put down on the floor and base. Ugh!

Thanks in advance!

Joey
Joey
5 months ago

I sanded as much as I can as below in the picture. I am going to use the defy solid stain. I blow dry all the sand. Can I just use defy solid stain now? Do I need any cleaner or brightener before?

409C0266-53CF-4976-BFBD-460EB85DD5DA.jpeg
Vivian
Vivian
5 months ago

Can I apply defy extreme solid stain to a well cleaned and prepped deck that still has some old Behr solid stain that is not loose or peeling?

Vivian
Vivian
5 months ago

Thank you!

BcH
BcH
7 months ago

I looked at the products on the Defy website, and I Google searched for their solid stain. Plus I looked at Do-It-Best stores (as suggested in Defy website), but I can not find solid stain products anywhere. I’m mystified. Please help.

Paul
Paul
8 months ago

I just finished staining my deck with Defy solid stain, my grandson wanted to help so I gave him a brush and turned him loose on the steps. He did his best but after the steps dried, I see a lot of brush marks. My question is do I need to wait a certain amount of time to recoat these, or can I do it now? P.S, I did tell him he did a good job! Thanks for your help.

Jimmye
Jimmye
1 year ago

Where can you buy Defy solid color stain? I can’t find it anywhere

Rob
Rob
1 year ago

Hey, love the site. I want to apply the Defy solid stain to my deck, as I want a product I can just wash and reapply as needed down the line. The current stain is a few years old and is starting to flake. Problem is I’m not sure what type of stain was used. It’s on the vertical and horizontal surfaces of the deck. Attached some pics. With the current stain, would I need to strip and/or sand it off? Or would I be able to just clean and scrape any loose stain and apply over it? Tried testing some 80 grit sandpaper manually on the stain and it doesn’t budge. Thanks in advance!

IMG_2438.jpg
IMG_2436.jpg
IMG_2437.jpg
Rob
Rob
1 year ago

Thanks! Would I need to use a brightener after stripping what comes off before applying the new stain?

Theresa
Theresa
1 year ago

I’m applying Defy Solid stain to my cedar deck railings and posts. Do I need to apply the second coat before the first coat is entirely dry or do I wait for first coat to dry and then apply second coat? Thanks!

Theresa
Theresa
1 year ago

And second coat should go on the same day as the first coat?

Paul
Paul
1 year ago

I am going to redo my deck and have decided on using Defy solid stain. I am confused on the sq. ft. per gallon I will get. I see different sq. ft. per gallon talked about and they are different, Defy says to do two coats so how much would I need to do a 900 sq. ft. deck with two coats? Also, I will use RAD stripper and brightener, how much of that do you recommend? Thanks for your help.

Ruth
Ruth
1 year ago

I want to add a custom color (Benjamin’s Moore) paint to stain for exterior treated lumber. Can this be done?

Paul
Paul
1 year ago

You can’t add paint to the stain, but you should be able to find a paint retailer that can tint the stain to a Benjamin Moore color.

Paul
Paul
1 year ago

It can be done if a paint retailer has access to Ben Moore formulas that can be mixed using universal colorant, which is used to tint Defy solid stain. I am a retailer who sells Defy and also sells Ben Moore paint and we have done just this. Love the site btw

Steven Wick
Steven Wick
1 year ago

I have been staining with SW solid Deckscapes, and I don’t want to waste my money on this stain again. I have been prepping for another coat of solid stain, but did so before reading this site. I pressure washed the deck to remove any lose, peeling stain, then sanded pretty much everything with a belt sander using 80 grit, and then pressure washed using Zep multipurpose cleaner and scrubbed the surface before rinsing. I am probably going to apply Defy Extreme solid stain and try to match the original colors, but want to make sure that the deck is properly prepped so it adheres correctly. I’m attaching a few picture of the deck and ramp as it looks right now; the ramp has only had stain applied once, so it cleaned up better than the deck.
Should I use another cleaner and/or do any additional prep work before applying Defy Extreme solid stain? Thanks for your advice.

ramp now.jpg
deck now.jpg
Steven Wick
Steven Wick
1 year ago

Appreciate the response…. I called all of do-it best store near me and unfortunately none of them sell Defy, so now I am considering RAD or Flood.
In either case, should I use a deck stripper and/or brightener before staining, or are these steps not required when applying solid stain over solid?

Steven Wick
Steven Wick
1 year ago

Appreciate… since I am attempting to remove SW solid stain, would you recommend that I use SW Superdeck stain & sealer remover and follow up with SW Superdeck revive; or should I use something from RAD and/or another strip/brightener product? Obviously not all of the solid stain will be removed and I will follow up with solid stain; just want to try to avoid peeling in the future.

Steven Wick
Steven Wick
1 year ago

Thanks again… any chance you can advise me on how much of each RAD product to order? I want to ensure that I don’t order too much, or too little of each of the required products, including stains.
I am attaching an image of my deck with dimensions and color layout. I have 405 sf of decking which will be desert taupe and 81 feet of railings/spindles plus the steps and support posts which will be expresso. Although I plan to use the stripper on everything, my main concern is with the decking surface, since the railings and spindles aren’t peeling much. I live in the Dallas area so it’s probably going to be too hot and sunny to stain the deck, but I’d like to get the existing stain stripped since I already started the project. If I strip and brighten the deck now, will I need to use brightener again before staining in a few months, or just give it a good washing before staining? Again, thanks for your advice.

Deck Square Footage RAD with images.png
Steven Wick
Steven Wick
1 year ago

I really appreciate your willingness to answer all of my questions…
Once I get this project done, I will post some before and after pictures.

Steven Wick
Steven Wick
1 year ago

one more question… 2 coats of stain on everything?

Peter Willis
Peter Willis
1 year ago

How is the Defy solid stain for grip/slipperiness of the deck surface on 1-year old boards? I don’t know what it is, but the stain my in-laws used is treacherous so that was my wife’s first question.

Brad Motteler
Brad Motteler
1 year ago

Here’s the pic of the deck I’m referring to in my comment below.

ACA89D7C-174D-43B9-8B15-2D0EEB46C145.jpeg
Brad Motteler
Brad Motteler
1 year ago

Should I use Defy Extreme Solid or Restore a Deck Solid on this deck? Also can I just use deck cleaner and power wash before staining or do I need to strip ?

Scott
Scott
1 year ago

I applied two coats of DEFY Extreme Solid Color Wood Stain on my treated lumber deck after cleaning and using DEFY Brightener as directed. The deck sat for a year to let the treated lumber dry out thoroughly. I used White/Pastel base untinted for the vertical surfaces and a gray tint for horizontal surfaces. Two days after staining, we had a freak snowstorm. Several inches of snow fell and remained on the deck until melting a day later, leaving standing water in several places until it dried about a day later. After the deck dried, the gray stain had faded wherever there was standing water that dried. Even on the vertical surfaces where water ran down, the white stain was faded enough to see the natural wood color coming through. Any advice on what I should do? Should adding more coats of stain eliminate this problem?

Deck stain fading.jpg
Scott
Scott
1 year ago

I have a 300 sq. ft. pressure-treated deck that is one year old and am debating whether to use Defy Solid or Defy Semi-Transparent stain on the horizontal surfaces. The deck is in full sun, no trees, and we are in the mid-west, so we can get hot in the summer and very cold in the winter. I think I would prefer the look of the solid, especially since we would be able to choose any color to custom tint. Which product should last the longest and be lowest maintenance, assuming proper treatment prior to staining? Should I be able to apply a single maintenance coat every couple of years with the solid after removing any loose stain without further prep work?

Doug Nelms
Doug Nelms
2 years ago

Our pressure-treated deck was stained with Defy Extreme semi-transparent 5-6 years ago and now is mostly worn off of the floor. We are thinking of switching to Defy solid stain. Will the old semi-transparent stain need to be completely stripped (including railings / pickets) before applying Defy solid stain?

Thanks.

Doug Nelms
Doug Nelms
2 years ago

Thanks!

Doug Nelms
Doug Nelms
2 years ago
Reply to  Doug Nelms

Just to clarify…..If any existing semi-transparent stain isn’t worn off (such as on railings), it’ still OK not to strip it before applying solid stain?

Doug Nelms
Doug Nelms
2 years ago

One more question, I think….Should brightener be applied after cleaning? (I noticed brightener is recommended on the Defy solid stain instructions).
Thanks

Debbie
Debbie
2 years ago

I have a 20 yr old pressure treated deck that was previously stained with semi-transparent stain many years ago. The stain is very worn. I live in Minnesota and my deck faces south. What stain would you recommend using on an old deck?

Debbie
Debbie
2 years ago

Thank you. I’ve cleaned the deck and there is no flaking or peeling. The old stain is a PPG semi-transparent. Can I cover with a Defy or TWP semi-transparent that is the same color without strip/brightening? Does a semi-transparent last longer than a solid?

Arlene
Arlene
2 years ago

Our deck was previously stained with Flood CWF solid stain. The wear pattern has no peeling or flaking. After cleaning and drying, can we cover with Defy extreme solid stain?

George D
George D
2 years ago

The Defy website does not show solid stain. Using search has no results. https://www.defystain.com/wood-and-deck-stains.html. Is it available in California?

George D
George D
2 years ago

Thanks

Steve H
Steve H
2 years ago

I have a deck rail on four balcony porches. The top rail is a 2″-x 6″ horizontal flat supported by 1×1 posts spaced every 6″ and a 2″ x 8″ horizontal base board. Wood is prob 10-12 yrs old and was painted with white Behr Alkyd Semi-Gloss Enamel paint in Oct 2019. That went on top of the previous layer of unknown Sherwin Williams white latex paint that was sanded but not removed. It was frosty mornings in October and we now realize that the wood must have still been wet later in the day when it was painted. Ouch. QUESTION: I have scraped and sanded the railing horizontal surfaces to bare wood in some spots, but still have layer of sanded paint in others. Can I apply Defy Extreme Solid (Bright White) on top of this after a week of drying in the sun? Will that give me at least 2-3 years before flaking? These rails are decorative only and get no foot or hand traffic, but are fully exposed to Seattle wet winter. (Photo is before scraping/sanding.)

Deck rail.jpg
Vic Smith
Vic Smith
2 years ago

We have an older VERY LARGE 3-level deck, railings, and steps all with pressure-treated pine and with lots of Sun exposure in a hot, humid southern state.
Re-finished several years ago with Wolman “Durastain One Coat” Solid Color Stain in custom Chestnut Brown. Looked great for 2 years.
All vertical surfaces still OK..
Horizontal deck boards look awful. Paint peeling and boards splitting in areas with full sun. However, deck boards in a few shady areas are mostly OK.
I would like to replace worst deck boards with new P-T pine, and turn-over existing that may be usable.
I think I would like to use DEFY or FLOOD PRO Solid Color Stain in custom color to repaint entire deck.
So, 70% of deck boards will be new and 30% will be flipped old ones.
Is thorough pressure washing sufficient before new finish?
Any pre-treatment needed for new deck boards?
Also concerned about possible rain before 2nd coat.

Lisa Spink
Lisa Spink
2 years ago

Hi! I live in Arizona and it is extremely hot right now. I would like to use this product on a new deck due to it’s UV protection and ease in application. Can it be applied to wet/damp wood? I plan on rough sanding and pressure washing it first. I figure the wood would be somewhat cooler if wet, or do I need to let it dry completely first? Thanks!

Kyle
Kyle
2 years ago

1125 sq ft of 17-year-old sun-faded covered porch and 925 sq ft 2-year-old semi-transparent stained pool deck along with railing around pool deck (sq ft unknown on railing/spindles).

I want to go with a solid light blue color for everything. I’m concerned because every solid stain I have read reviews on shows awful peeling after 1-2 years (Sherman, Olympic, Valspar, Cabot). I was told by my contractor to make everything match (because of wear difference between the deck and porch) my only good option is solid stain. I’m concerned that after a few years it will be a regrettable decision though. (The contractor will be doing the work)

Is this the right product for the job?
How many gallons should I purchase?

Kyle
Kyle
2 years ago

Thanks

Kyle
Kyle
2 years ago

Our contractor has used 20 gallons and asked us to get him 10 more. I sure hope 30g does it because this stuff is expensive.

Rosie Baldwin
Rosie Baldwin
2 years ago

We are trying to strip off old stain from deck with all Defy products to put on a Defy solid color extreme stain. Just can’t seem to get the latest coat, a darker brown off, have tried sanding also on few boards. Drops of water seem to soak in on the few places that are down to wood, but not on the wood where stain will just not come off. Use, deck stripper and low pressure washer, just won’t budge! About to give up. Help! We are in our 70s, have plenty of steam left, but this has us stumped. We used the cleaner first.

Dean Stocksdale
Dean Stocksdale
2 years ago

The previous owners used Behr Deck Over. The deck boards/stairs have been professionally sanded to bare wood and look great. I lightly sanded the railing and no paint is chipping. The paint on the spindles is textured but completely in tact and tight to the wood. Can I use your product over the spindles and railing? Thanks for getting back to me.

Tom Croft
Tom Croft
2 years ago

If a previous Deckover coating had been applied 7 years ago and now belt sanded to roughen up the surface and peeling scraped off why can’t your solid stain work? I was not told about this and have just received a 5 gallon bucket.

Conor OBrien
Conor OBrien
2 years ago

How does one get the Defy Solid deep base tinted?

John Green
John Green
2 years ago

Is Defy extreme solid cedar color stain best choice for lap cedar siding on home in northeast mich area 49777 damp near lake Huron environment….Thanks

Tom Piccirili
Tom Piccirili
2 years ago

I am interested in a semi-solid look but want to stick with Defy product, because that is what I have used as previous stain. And a ready made product like Arborcoat has too many negative reviews. Would it be feasible to ‘thin’ down this solid stain enough to create a semi-solid look? I contacted Defy, and they did not have any comment on thinning it out other than, ‘let us know how it turns out’.

Mar
Mar
2 years ago

Are all colors of a reddish hue or do they have a dark brown?

Conrad
Conrad
2 years ago

Can Defy Extreme Solid be applied on a surface that has previously been stained with a semi-transparent stain?

Gerry
Gerry
2 years ago

Good Day,

I am looking for a solid stain for an existing deck that I stained 2-3 years ago. The deck is in full sun. Being a senior I do not want to do any extra work except putting the stain down.

1. What product would you recommend?

2. Secondly, my deck is 400 sq. ft. How many gallons would I need?

3. Would I have to put 2 coats down?

Thanks.

Gerry

D. Carden
D. Carden
2 years ago

Does new smooth cedar siding have to age before using Defy solid stain?

Larry RUDISILL
Larry RUDISILL
2 years ago

Can this stain be applied over a previously applied water-based stain.

Rob
Rob
3 years ago

Hi there. I see that in your review here the DEFY Extreme Solid is quoted as covering 150-250 ft/Gallon. However on their product page it says 100-150ft/Gallon – https://www.defywoodstain.com/product/defy-extreme-solid-color-wood-stain/

Was the 150-250 based on your experience of actually using the product? It looks as though you were able to cover 600sq ft with 2 coats using 4 gallons, which according to their spec would have required 8 gallons..?

I’m re-covering a deck with an existing solid brown stain and will be using the DEFY extreme in a similar if not slightly darker color of brown.

Jay
Jay
3 years ago

Where can I buy DEFY Extreme Solid Color Wood Stain near me 60915 60 miles south of Chicago IL

Sandy
Sandy
3 years ago

Are Defy Extreme or Restore-A-Deck available in any stores in Canada?

Deb
Deb
3 years ago

Can I apply defy solid stain over a previously applied solid stain that I have power washed and sanded

Trisha Harmon
Trisha Harmon
3 years ago

I painted my huge deck last year with olympic and now it’s peeling!!! It’s a cottage gray color. I have washed the deck down. If I lightly sand where there is peeling can I apply defy?

Andrew
Andrew
3 years ago

hello, ive been reading many posts here and appreciate all the help and had a few questions. We bought a house with a weathered deck that seems to have been stained previously with a solid stain and now is peeling off. Deck is roughly 10-15 yrs old as the house is 15 yrs old and i dont believe the deck was built with the house. I have been able to remove some of the peeling with a pressure washer and was going to attempt to remove more of the stain with a combination of deck stripper and sanding
1 – would that be sufficient enough to remove the old stain or is there other options?
2 – am i now limited to only solid color staining as semi-transparent would most likely show the old stain?
3 – am able to stain over with another solid stain such as the defy solid color stain if i am not able to remove all the stain such as with the vertical rails?
3 – is there a stripper that is recommended for removing solid stain specifically or are they all for stains in general?

i know that it will be time consuming to remove the old solid stain but would rather put time and effort into correctly removing and staining 1 time and just up-keeping from there. Thanks for your help and input

Andrew
Andrew
3 years ago

This is after the first pass with a stripper, the stain is still really hard to remove even with using a pressure washer

1BC02175-E755-4FE7-829B-4FF41E0F77BD.jpeg
Andrew
Andrew
3 years ago

After I power sand it, am I able to use a semi-transparent stain afterwards? Also should I use a 60-80 grit and then progress to smoothen such as a 160 before staining?

Andrew
Andrew
3 years ago

Should I use a 60-80 grit and progress to smoother such as a 160? Would the pores not open if smoothened to accept the new stain?

Andrew
Andrew
3 years ago

Ok great! Thanks for all the advice!

Gale
Gale
3 years ago

Last summer was so rainy I missed the window to restain my 1,500 sq. ft deck, treated pine, gets full sun daily until late afternoon.. I use a solid color stain and like the look. Parts of always peel so it has to be scraped and redone every other year. If we get another rainy spring and summer does the deck have to be bone-dry to accept a water-based solid color stain? If I start over this year and sand it down, what would the optimal weather/sun conditions be and the best brand solid color stain to get a deck finish that doesn’t peel? I’ve been using Olympic but not thrilled.
Thanks for any advice.

Gale
Gale
3 years ago

And as to the first part of my question, does the deck have to be bone-dry?