Defy Extreme Stain Review 4.2/5 (41)

by Deck Stain Help

Defy Extreme Wood and Deck Stain Update 2019

Note: Defy Extreme Stain had a label change in 2019.

We find that the Defy Extreme Wood Stain to be the best performing water-based deck stain on the market. The zinc oxide nano-particles do double duty in preventing UV fading and preventing mold or mildew growth. The Defy Extreme penetrates into the wood grain extremely well for a water-based stain, resulting in a non-filming coating that is not prone to peeling or wear from traffic. We personally use the Defy Extreme on about 50+ deck restorations every year in the Midwest and is one of our go-to brands.


Defy Extreme Stain Review

Defy Extreme Stain Review

Defy Extreme Deck Stain RatingDefy Extreme Stain was introduced in 2008 as the newest member of the Defy Stain family. Defy Extreme Deck Stain is a penetrating water-based stain that does not film on the wood. Defy Extreme contains synthetic epoxy resins that “harden” the wood pores below the surface.

Utilizing nano-technology, Defy Extreme is one of the best stains on the market when it comes to preventing UV graying.

*Note: Defy Extreme Wood Stain is an improved version of the Defy Epoxy Fortified Wood Stain. Containing the same ingredients but with the added UV protection of the zinc oxide nanoparticles .

Defy Extreme Deck Stain Scores (1-10)

Appearance After Initial Stain Application: 8.5

– Defy Extreme Stain had a rich look to the wood. Natural grain was highlighted evenly throughout. The Defy Extreme did not mask the grain like other water-based wood stains. Penetration of the stain into the wood was excellent. The Cedartone color was slightly on the “orange” side but acceptable for a cedar deck stain color.

Preventing UV Graying at 2 Year Mark: 9

– One of the best in the industry. Testing over a 2 year period showed little to no color fade. The zinc oxide nanoparticles seemed to help drastically with the Ultra Violet radiation that turns the wood gray.

Wear/Tear and Peeling: 8

– Better than average wear and tear. High traffic areas show some wearing but overall tested
extremely well. No noticeable peeling.

Cost Per Square Foot: 7

– Defy Extreme costs about $40 per gallon. For two coats we got about 100 square feet per gallon. We used 8 gallons for the 750 square foot deck translating to a per square foot price of $.43 a foot.

Preventing Mold/Mildew/Algae: 10

– Defy Extreme Stain is a water-based stain that does not promote mold growth in the stain. A very small amount of algae was noticeable but was only in a shaded area and was on top of the stain. More of an issue with the decks’ location, not the stain itself.

Ease of Application: 7.5

– Fairly easy to apply. One issue we noticed was that it can dry very fast when in direct sunlight and on a hot day. Easy cleanup with water.

Color Shifting (darkening) after 2 Years: 9

– Stain changed very little in color after the 2 year period. No noticeable darkening.

Difficulty of Reapplication: 8.5

– No noticeable darkening, deep penetration, and little wearing make the Defy Extreme Stain an easy product to reapply when needed. Mild wood cleaning with the Defy Wood Cleaner and Defy Wood Brightener is what you would need to use to prep.

Overall Score Defy Extreme Stain at 2 Year Period: 8.47

– Defy Extreme is an excellent product and easily outperforms the majority of stains on the market. When it comes to water-based “Eco-Friendly” stains, Defy Extreme is our top choice. Defy Extreme performed in the top three of all stains tested when it comes to preventing UV graying on a horizontal surface. On vertical surfaces such as railings, the Extreme had no color change.

Product Information:

Help or Questions? Defy Extreme Stain
Cost: $45 per Gallon, $222 per 5 Gallon Pail
Stain Type: Semi-Transparent – Water Based
Available Colors: Cedartone, Natural Pine, Light Walnut, Clear, Redwood, Butternut, Driftwood Gray
Application Temperature: 45-95 F
Coats  Required: 2 Coats. “Wet on Wet”
Coverage Per Gallon: 100-150 sq. ft
Application Tools: Sprayer, Pad, Brush, Roller
Dry Time: 2-4 Hours
Cleanup: Water
VOC Compliant: 250 Compliant in all States
More Info: Product Data
Manufacturer: Saver Systems

Test Deck Stats:

Deck Wood Type: Pressure Treated Pine
Deck Square Footage: 750 Square feet
UV Exposure: 90% Full Sun, 10% Shade. South facing.
How Many Years Tested: 2 Years
Stain Color Used: 
Cedartone

*All products tested and results are from our experience. We offer no guarantee of similar results. Take into consideration that results may differ due to different wood types, exposure to UV radiation, and natural weathering.

DEFY Extreme, Deck Stain: 12 Months Weathering and 14 Month Update


Please Rate This. You may also post comments or ask questions below.

663
Ask a Question or Post a Review

avatar
 
smilegrinwinkneutralshockunamusedcooloopsrollcryeeklolmadsadexclamationquestionhmmbeg
Photo and Image Files
 
 
 
 
Audio and Video Files
 
 
 
 
newest oldest
Bill Ellis
Bill Ellis

Texas Gulf Coast Dock Application Review.

I have a 2 1/2 year old pressure treated pine dock on the Texas gulf coast that needed a sealer preservative application. I had applied Thompson’s after initially allowing the wood to dry for a few months, but the sealer had lost its effectiveness after only 9 months or so. I researched diligently and chose Defy.

I followed the instructions strictly, using first their wood cleaner, then Brightener, then a week later applying the stain. (I had already pressure washed the deck boards before beginning.)

I am highly impressed by the products thus far. The cleaner was very effective and easy to use. The Brightener was a really easy step that I was curious about, but I did it and I’m glad I did. The Brightener makes a huge difference in opening up the wood pores to receive the stain/sealer.

I then applied the Extreme stain/sealer in Natural Pine color. I sprayed it on with a deck pressure tank sprayer followed immediately by brushing in with a car wash type brush (Unger) and followed with a second wet on wet coat, same steps, within 15 minutes or so, again following the instructions as strictly as I could. I was careful not to over-apply. (The deck is about 500 square feet, but I only used about 3 1/2 gallons.)

I am super happy with the whole process and appearance on completion. It looks fantastic. Really first rate. Let’s see how the next two years of wear and tear go.

Bill in Rockport.

82192FBC-5A1F-4239-BDD5-829673AA9C83.jpeg
Jerry Parker
Jerry Parker

I am a little confused by your rating and comments of this product as compared to the Restore A Deck Wood Stain review. In the comments you state that Defy Extreme Stain is the best water based stain on the market and is your go to brand. However when you rate it is slightly lower than the RAD stain. So how and why is this your favorite, especially since the RAD stain has a lower cost factor than the DES?

Angel
Angel

Can use water based Defy on a lower deck that’s very low , very close to the ground and in shade . It is under the upper deck . Does Defy come in oil based stain ? Would it be better oil one? We live in MA . Cold , many wet days, long winters .

duncan crerar
duncan crerar

I am wrapping 21 porch posts (12 x 12 x 10) with western red cedar. I want to darken the cedar since it is almost the color of pine. What would you recommend?

Mike Fisher
Mike Fisher

Indiana, Fort Wayne – Deck gets 80% full sun, 5yrs old pressure treated pine. I pressure washed the deck and removed current stain. Then applied one coat of the semi transparent light chestnut stain with a brush / roller method. The stain dries up quickly when applying it in full sun conditions. However, the results turned out good. I wanted a stain that was human/pet friendly to use since we have a couple of dogs. This did the trick! I hope it will last us two years before needing to apply the next coat. – Mike

Capture1.JPG
Bruce
Bruce

Has anyone used these products on a black locust deck? Black locust is extremely hard, requiring predrilled holes for deck screws. Which product Defy Extreme vs. Defy Hardwood, would folks recommend? Also, is powerwashing recommended, as well as use of the Defy deck cleaner as prep? My deck is about 10 years old with no surface coatings ever applied. Thanks.

Bruce
Bruce

Thanks!

Gerry
Gerry

Do you have to put on 2 coats? If so, how long between coats? Thank you!

Tina Liehmann
Tina Liehmann

I have a year old Eastern cedar deck that I stained with Benjamin Moore Arbourcoat Translucent natural after it had weathered 6 months (the second deck for 1 month only). I realize from my research now that I should not have relied on the advice of the paint store personnel with respect to deck prep (none) and product. Much of the stain has worn off the horizontal surfaces and is peeling in a major way. There are also a lot of greying and black mold spots.

I will be stripping the deck and then cleaning and brightening it before applying any stain.

I live in Northern Ontario on waterfront property so the conditions include high humidity in the summers and a lot of freezing and thawing in the winter months. Most of the deck is in full sun with no shade. I prefer the look of translucent stain or clear stain but realize from reading up on it now that this will wear too quickly, so I am prepared to use a semi-translucent stain.

I am thinking about Restore A Deck, Defy, TWP 200, Armstrong (staining in the sun). I had planned to use an oil based product because I thought it was better, Am I correct in thinking the water based stains are newer formulations – which makes me wonder if there is enough info yet on how they stand up over time?

What would you recommend for this deck and can you please indicate under which conditions to apply (wet, dry etc.)

Thank you for your help.

pete
pete

Defy semi-transparent better than clear for sun protection? Sun protection with clear stain still unattainable?

On a new deck of pressure treated pine (after appropriate weathering period) I applied Defy cleaner, brightener, and clear stain, following the directions closely. One year later there was obvious greying and discoloration from sun. (This deck gets full sun all day.)
One year later I did it all again, although it was looking like the clear wasn’t protecting from sun. The cleaner and brightener did a decent job; although the deck was still discolored, it was brighter and did look better. I applied the clear stain again. Six months later, the deck looks pretty lousy, grey, discolored, etc.
I called Defy and in a moment of candidness, I think, the very helpful customer service guy seemed to suggest the clear wouldn’t really protect from sun. Ironically his does make me trust Defy a little, although the ads promised great sun protection for a clear stain (nano particles and all). I may call them and ask what stain they suggest for sun protection, see what they say, as due to the good reviews I am willing to try another Defy stain.
1) Does anyone else have observations on the sun performance of clear Defy?
2) Is it foolish to expect sun protection from any clear stain?
3) How about their semi-transparent stains? I am inclined to go as light as possible.
4) Does how light the semi-transparent stain is affect sun protection?
Thanks in advance.

Clueless in PA
Clueless in PA

Question/Review: What should I do now?

Almost two years ago we moved into a house with a deck needing some TLC.

What we did: Scrubbed off lots of mold/mildew/algae, sanded off old stain etc, applied Defy Extreme Semi-Transparent. We were pretty happy with how it turned out.

Now: It’s been a year and a half. Obviously there’s been some wear. There is also some significant mold/mildew/algae growth, but, much less than when we moved in. It is on the shaded parts and we do get a lot of moisture, so anything less than a bleach forcefield wouldn’t keep that green sheen at bay forever.

Also, rain doesn’t bead up anymore. not on any part of the deck any more. So, this means it’s ready to recoat right?

What do I do?

Defy Safe Oxygenated Bleach Wood Cleaner, then rinse, then Defy Wood Brightener (same day), then rinse, then let dry for (some days)? Then apply Defy stain (same stain as before)? Is that right?

How long should the deck dry (after brightening) before applying stain?

If rain happens between brightening and staining, do I have to start over with cleaning/brightening, or can I still just wait and stain when it finally dries out? The pH talk kind of confused me, and my current forecast includes rain for 10 of the next 10 days, so, I’m gonna need to know what to do if it rains. (Yes I am waiting for a better stretch of weather than 10 days of rain before I start this project. But still want to know, because rain happens here).

How long does the stain need to dry after applying, in terms of weather– how soon can it safely rain after applying the stain without it affecting the job?

Thanks!

Norman Douglas
Norman Douglas

I know this is a deck forum but I have a question about solid stain. I built an 800 foot fence, pressure treated pine, and was wondering what you would recommend for a solid stain. From what I’ve read, the Defy product looks pretty promising but would like your advice. Would you have any idea how much stain I would need as well?

Thanks

fence.jpg
Ellen Obermiller
Ellen Obermiller

Definitely appreciate your information but am hesitant to get started on our deck because of a tree incident. We live in the Midwest and our deck is made with treated lumber. It is 2 years old and was initially treated with Thompson water seal a year ago. Useless stuff. This past January a tree fell on our house taking out part of our house and part of our deck. We are finally back in our house and now are ready to work on the deck. One side of our deck was replaced with new lumber—spindles, top rail and two horizontal floor planks. We have a combo of color on the deck. Most of it has worn naturally and has a light grey color. I have cleaned the deck and would like to give a fresh and uniform look while using a semi transparent stain. Would really appreciate any and all advice.

Mike Hahn
Mike Hahn

Can this product be used on a 14 yo TREX deck? Fading and mold/mildew are main problem currently.

Todd West
Todd West

Defy Semi Transparent wood stain should NOT be used on Cedar. It ruined my 10 month old 800sq ft beautiful cedar deck, see attached pictures. I used Defy Wood cleaner, which was quite an effort in itself, then Defy Wood Brightener followed by Defy Semi-transparent stain in Cedar. The stain left darker sports wherever it overlapped. I have never seen such discoloration after a short period of overlap. Once I started and saw the staining I tried to prevent overlap but the watery consistence make it impossible to not have at a minimum drops fall into the area immediately coated alongside the planks I was staining and the overlap grew into a dark hideous color. I bought DEFY after reviews on this site; I’m not sure if all of them can be trusted. It may work on other wood but not on Cedar. I am sick to my stomach, can’t stand to look at my deck and I on;y stained it yesterday!!

Defy 2.jpg
DEFY.jpg
Kelly McNeil
Kelly McNeil

We have a new pressure treated deck and the moisture levels are now low enough for us to stain. For the Defy Extreme Wood Stain, would this me all we would use or is there a sealer that would need to be added as well?

DeLores
DeLores

How is it on a previously stained deck that was done about 10 years ago in gray. I will be using gray again

Jay
Jay

Does it come in a solid color gray , where can it be bought at and get color chart ?
Jay

Keith Flory
Keith Flory

I live on the water on the Texas Gulf Coast and used Defy Extreme (light walnut) on my deck and boat dock two years ago just before hurricane Harvey. It has held up to the elements and the Texas sun very well. But it is now time for a renewing maintenance coat and can’t find the proper application instructions for that anywhere on your web sight. What is the best way to apply a maintenance coat? I will be using the same Extreme stain in the same light walnut color.

Thanks for the advice – Keith on Padre Island

Michael Nomura
Michael Nomura

would it be possible to send a few photos of your deck. I like to see the light walnut color.

Nita
Nita

I had a brand new deck installed with pre-treated lumber 2 years ago. Last summer I cleaned, brightened and stained with Defy extreme stain and products. This summer I need to do some work on my deck. Can you tell me if I need to strip my deck or just clean it before I brighten and stain? Here on some pics of what is going on with it.
Some places look great, and other places peeled.

stain is blotchy.jpg
stain looks good.jpg
stain peel.jpg
Bob
Bob

I installed new pressure treated pine deck last August. Size is 20 x 30′ (600sq) I had expected to use clear or semi clear product as I wanted a light grey end finish. What Defy product do you recommend and what amount will I need?

Meagan
Meagan

I see that Restore-A-Deck markets that, because it’s water-based, you can clean/brighten and stain all on the same day. Since Defy Extreme is also water-based, is this true of it as well?

Karen Bracken
Karen Bracken

We have a brand new deck and will be staining it for the first time. It was built about 7 months ago. It was recommended that we only apply 1 coat of stain the first time then 6-9 months later apply the second coat. Do you agree or should we do 2 coats right up front. I think by applying one coat it would reduce the chance of peeling but I have read so many theories and reviews at this point I am so confused as to what to do or what to buy. Price doesn’t matter. Quality is the key for us. Something that will look good and last at least 3 years.

Anthony
Anthony

My wife and I worked very hard last July and August (2018) stripping, cleaning/brightening our 12 year old cedar deck. Finally, in September 2018, we applied the Defy Extreme Semi Transparent stain. Everything looked great initially. Then 3 months later, we started to notice lots of flaking. All the vertical parts of the deck look fine. But the horizontal parts (floor boards and top railing) have lost a significant amount of stain due to flaking.
I am not sure which brand of semi-transparent stain was on the deck previously. We did remove all the old stain and the deck looked almost as good as when first installed. Needless to say, we are very upset and frustrated. I do have before, during and after pictures but not sure how to include them with this post.
Will someone please help?
Thank you

Debi Rolland
Debi Rolland

Hello, I have an 18 foot 10″x8″ wood beam installed in my home (Pine I think) and I want to make it a little darker to match the Saltillo floors; which product do you recommend I use to stain it and is pre-treating necessary? Thank You!

IMG_1854.jpg
Thomas
Thomas

I run a one man painting business in central Arkansas. Every home home has a outdoor deck with a lot of exposure to rain and hot sun. A client of mine wants to use defy. Client has a new deck surface that has now aged for 5 months. I plan on power washing with a wood cleaner on the surface. Will I need a brightness as well? The spindles on the deck are rough sawn cedar that have been previously stained. Will the old stain need to be stripped before applying defy? If not is there a solid stain to use that would match what is applied to the deck surface.

Sheila
Sheila

I have a gazebo that has never been treated. I am going to hire someone to pressure wash & stain it. Hoping for something to protect it from the hot Central Texas sun, & from mildew from the rain and clay soil here. What do you recommend?

91D7BA63-4B12-4CAD-B1BC-C430ED70C384.jpeg
image.jpg
thomas arnold
thomas arnold

Are there any special considerations relative to staining when installing a tongue and groove fir deck?

thomas arnold
thomas arnold

If new decking is supposed to weather for a number of months prior to staining how is it that many experts suggest pre-staining all sides prior to installation? (i.e. how do you seal the underside after the fact?)

thomas arnold
thomas arnold

Thanks for all of your great feedback (you’ve responded to various questions I’ve posed recently all regarding the same project, where we pre-stained t & g fir decking prior to installing). The manufacturer in question (ICP/Storm System 2) suggests that we remove the stain and brighten (using their products) than sand prior to re-staining. They “highly recommend” sanding to remove any remaining mil glaze and to further soften the wood to get better stain penetration (suggest 100 grit or less). Does that sound reasonable or do we stick to your thoughts that discourage sanding?

Tom
Tom

I just had a new deck installed around an inground pool using pressure treated wood.
How long should I wait to use the Defy Extreme Wood Stain?
Thank you.

Peter
Peter

I have cedar shake siding on my home (vertical) and had used Arborcoat exterior oil based stain, Translucent / Natural. Beautiful color. However, certain “sides” of my home have a lot of mold due to weather and the feeding off oil resins. Once I clean, and wanted to try Defy, would I use exterior crystal clear / clear to try to get the same color effect and will less mold build up?

lydia
lydia

I have a deck with solid stain ,Last stained about 3 yrs ago. with a cabot product, i am planning on power washing as only prep. Will this scenario work to produce a good result? The deck is redwood placed 15yrs plus. Has been stained at least 3 times

Doug
Doug

Can you use this product on new rough cut pine and if so what preparation should you do prior to staining.

J. Bridges
J. Bridges

We prepped our 15 year old deck for staining a few days ago and now rain is forecasted for the next week or so. We live in the Midwest. If we aren’t able to stain it for 2 or 3 weeks do we need to do the prep all over again?
Thanks
J. Bridges

Sally Guthrie
Sally Guthrie

Just finished applying Extreme exterior semi-transparent a few days ago on the horizontal areas of my deck. Live in western NY so summer sun and winter snow. A family member recommends I follow up with a coat of Thompson’s clear. Would this work okay to better protect the surface?

Pam Martin
Pam Martin

We have a Doug fir porch that we treated with linseed oil upon contactor recommendation. What a disaster! Some parts turned black. Yuck! Treated today with cleaner and brightener. Looks great but the wood looks kind of fuzzy now. Should we sand before staining?

Curt
Curt

I have a 20 year old redwood deck under covered porch with some afternoon sun on parts of it (central CA mountains).Deck has never been sealed or stained, I have cleaned and brightened how many coats of Defy Extreme semi should I apply.

483981EE-5DB2-4C37-B8D3-2AFB5E22AFB1.jpeg
George Adams
George Adams

Here’s my story. Southeastern PA hot (85-100) humid summer, cold winter (0-35). Deck eastern white cedar 15 year old. Initial stain Cabot Australian oil every 3 years. At 9 years used Cedarcide wood preservative, no stain. Now at 15 years deck worn so the knots higher than wood. Contacted Cedarcide was told its lasts about 6-7 years. Power planned to level planks (removed screws first). Cleaned with Oxyclean to remove residual gray wood. Reapplied Cedarcide preservative May 2018, instructed by Cedarcide to wait 72 hours before staining process. Finally got to cleaning, brightening ( Penofin), September 2018. Began staining ( Defy Extreme Butternut) with a pad, wood damp to touch but readily absorbed water drops. Defy instructions states1 gallon per 100- 150sqft. Used only 2 gallons to cover 600 sqft, not even close to the 100 – 150 sqft per gallon estimate. Decided to do wet an wet 2nd coat, the first coat had not dried. 2nd coat absorbed at 2gallons per 600 sqft, almost the same rate as first. No puddling or shine was apparent. Morning after deck very blotchy with Butternut and gray coloration (see attached photo). Taken after morning rain, sorry.

Any ideas on options, we are prepping the house for sale..

IMAG0537[1].jpg
George Adams
George Adams

I figured it was my technique, just hoping I didn’t have to strip the deck. I usually use Soy Gel for stripping, don’t like chemicals, or should I use another stripper? Perhaps RAD stain would be a better choice, it seems to handle dampness the best. Rain started about 12 hours after I finished Thursday evening and since then we have had 2+ inches of rain. When the sun did come out, the gray spots seemed to get a bit smaller. As we are under a firm time constraint and the weather is not cooperating, would deck paint be an option?

Thank you for your reply/advise!

Paul Gesche
Paul Gesche

We have a pine pressure treated deck. Over the years we have replaced rotted/warped boards. How would you suggest preparing and re staining the deck? The deck is about 12 years old, and about 600 sq ft. Thank you

Martha
Martha

After letting my new deck age for 7 months I’m about to clean/brighten/stain using the Defy Wood Cleaner, Brightener and RAD stain products. I live in Northeast Florida. Hot (90s most days and it’s in the 80s by 10am), humid and our deck is in the morning and early afternoon sun. So if temperature is a factor the morning will be the coolest. But we won’t have shade to work in until mid to late afternoon / evening when we also have to contend with sudden thunderstorms. Any advice on what weather conditions and sun vs shade we need to pay attention to?

Mr Ashley Wheeler
Mr Ashley Wheeler

Can previously painted decks be prepared to accept stain? This deck has not been painted or stained for 10-15 years and has weathered down to the bare wood, though there are a couple or boards that still have residual paint.
I have replaced some of the 2×6 deck planks this year. Is it best to not stain, or, if necessary (ref quest 1) paint these this year?
By the way thank you for such a wonderfully informative site.

Rebecca
Rebecca

We had a 16X20 deck built last June of pressurized wood outside Austin, Texas, so it gets lots of sun and heat. (I have just used the Behr All in One wood cleaner/brightener, and was surprised at how much the wood had discolored in the past year.)

Apparently, the info I was originally given that I should wait a year before staining/sealing was not current, but I would like to make sure I do what I can to protect my investment. I’m looking at either the Defy Extreme or Restore a Deck based on the reviews I’ve seen. We would prefer a natural look. Will the Clear or Natural Pine colors protect the wood as much as say, the Cedartone you used? Also, I think I understand the “wet on wet” application to mean that I wouldn’t need to wait to apply a second coat. Is that correct? Also, would the vertical surfaces need to get a second coat?

Thanks for your help!

Scott
Scott

We built a new pressure treated deck with KDAT lumber. About 2 weeks after completed I used Defy cleaner and brightener then used Defy extreme natural pine stain. Only used one coat since instructions say only one coat on new lumber. Now 3 months later there is mold growing on all surfaces, not too impressed by Defy. What went wrong? I have used Cabot on old deck that we replaced for years and never had a problem with mold.

Carol
Carol

We have a large 60 year old cedar home with a 3tier railed deck. 5 years ago we powerwashed the entire home and stained with Sikkens ProLuxe Translucent Matte in ‘Cedar’ and its weathering great. Now we’d like to vamp up the one note wonder by staining the window trims, decking and railings in a solid stain of contrasting color. Over the last years here, we’ve powerwashed areas of the deck thinking we were just going to stay with the sikkens translucent but have had a change to do trim decking in solid. As well, some of the areas of deck are still 60 years and holding. So in summary, our deck has some 60 year old shiny solid stain that WONT come off, some areas are powerwashed, some are PW and Sikkens stained and our house trim is sikkens stained. Any suggestions for solid stain brand? prep? and also, how long does powerwash last for staining, before having to touch up again? days, weeks? Thanks so much for any advice.

Nick
Nick

I have a double level deck that is in real need of preserving. The deck is pressure treated pine, is 13 years old, and has never been stained. It is located on the east side of my home, so the top deck gets sun exposure until around 1 PM, then shade the rest of the day. Because we live in north Georgia, the lower deck is prone to algae growth. We have recently cleaned all surfaces with Olympic deck cleaner and replaced all the top rail boards with new pressure treated pine boards (2 x 6), so it looks pretty decent now except that the upper deck walking surface is pretty grayed out and weathered. We are considering applying Defy extreme water based deck stain in two tones – one tone for all vertical surfaces and a different one for the top rails and all walking surfaces (just to have some contrast). Please provide some advice on our approach.

Nick
Nick

Any better recommendations for stain other than Defy Extreme? Picked this one based on my research.

Joanna
Joanna

How well does the Driftwood Gray cover on pressure treated pine. I just finished with the wood brightener, so the deck looks a lot more yellow/brown, which would look fine showing through one of the wood tone colors. I’m wondering how the Driftwood Gray will look with those undertones in the wood. Also, since the wood tends to turn gray as it ages, will that later blend better with the gray stain on top?

Hillary Bullions
Hillary Bullions

We just finished building our 16×16 flat deck. (The details were just added, the base was finished in the spring). It is pretreated wood bought from Lowe’s/Menards. Most of the wood is over 4 months old. We’ve scrubbed it down and washed it off.
1) do we really need to do any other prep work? I was told to brighten it? But the deck doesn’t look bad at all…the wood is basically new.
2) would this be good stain for us in your opinion…there are countless options, my head is spinning…
THANKS!

James
James

I have a 17-year old pressure treated wood deck in CO that has been stained multiple times throughout the years, the most recent being in 2013. Here are pictures of how it currently looks. It clearly needs to be re-stained. Which of the following should I do before staining – pressure wash, sand, strip, brighten?

CO Deck.jpg
CO Deck 2.jpg
CO Deck 3.jpg
David H Pedersen
David H Pedersen

I applied Defy Extreme on a pressure treated wood deck after a year for weathering All walking/seating surfaces were pressure washed and sanded down to 100 grit. After a year, all vertical surfaces (deck overhead, sides of benches, etc.) looked great. But all horizontal surfaces (walking areas, step surfaces) had faded dramatically and look totally different than the vertical surfaces.

I am considering pressure washing the horizontal surfaces and then sanding with 80 grit before applying another coat. Any other ideas or thoughts on how to proceed and why I have experienced this problem?

althea
althea

Hello. I need advice on how to finish my deck staining project. I have read many articles on your site and others but still am unsure of how to proceed with my situation. I have stripped and brightened our 25 year old deck with Defy products.
I used the Defy Extreme Pine color on the fence. Unfortunately, I did not realize until it was too late that I should have applied two coats. Water is beading and rolling off so the wood is protected, but the appearance is a little blotchy and uneven in places. In the end I did apply two coats on one board and it looks great.
I am unsure on how to proceed with the floor area. I have two considerations:
1) I am thinking perhaps I can improve the appearance of the fence when I do the maintenance coat in maybe a year or two. And if that is a valid plan, I am wondering if I should only apply one coat to the flooring so that they will age similarly. Although I am thinking that with age and the stripping it would probably take two coats. But, if possible, I am trying to figure the future fix into how I proceed.
2) I finished prepping the floor about a week ago and I don’t think the weather in Indiana
is going to allow me to stain it for almost two more weeks. I am wondering if I should brighten again before staining.

We have used Defy products for many years. Love them! Thanks for your help.
Althea Evans
PS: Have learned so much from this site. All things considered, and I have learned there are MANY things to consider, deck staining properly is complicated, hard work and very unforgiving of mistakes, so a site with this wealth of information is great for us clueless, weekend deck fixers. Thank you!!!

Colin
Colin

I’m looking for a water-based stained as I prefer it over oil based stains. However, I’m concerned about the nano-particles of the Defy stain penetrating the respirator during application. Any thoughts? Would applying it by brush be safer than using an HVLP sprayer?

Bryan
Bryan

Defy extreme stain washes away with lots of rain. Being water-based, with a good coat applied on newer dry wood during optimal conditions results in deck areas loosing the stain where rain hiots the surface (under house eves looks great, but that is a small area considering most of the deck is exposed to the rain)