Defy Wood Brightener Review 5/5 (2)

This post was updated on April 5, 2022

Defy Wood Brightener

Defy Wood Brightener

Defy Wood Brightener Review 2022

Note: Defy Wood Brightener had a label change in 2019.

Defy Wood Brightener is an oxalic acid blend deck brightener and neutralizer. Designed to be used with either the Defy Wood Cleaner or the Defy Stain Stripper. Defy’s Wood Brightener is a concentrated liquid gallon that can make up to 5 gallons covering about 750 square feet. The purpose of this product is to “brighten” the wood’s appearance while canceling the caustic effects from wood cleaners and stain strippers. Helps to prep new decking by removing mill glaze. Defy Wood Brightener can also be used to remove rust spots from brick, concrete, and masonry.

Note: This deck brightener can be used to neutralize any deck cleaner or deck stain stripper.

Defy Wood Brightener Rating (1-10)

Wood Brightening/Lightening: 8

– An almost immediate reaction when applying. The Defy Wood Brightener lightened the wood right before our eyes. After the wood dried there was a very natural look to the cedar decking.

Cost Per Square Foot: 9

– Concentrated liquid gallon makes up to 5 gallons. One gallon for $19.99 covered the 600 square foot deck with ease.

Ease of Application: 8

– Defy’s wood brightener applies very easily with a pump sprayer. No issues with clogging the sprayer. There was no need to scrub or wash the wood after applying. Just rinse with water to remove any residue after 15 minutes of activation.

Overall: 8.33

– Easy to apply, brightens immediately, low cost per square footage. Everything a wood brightener should be. Defy Wood Brightener is an excellent choice!

Product Information:

Where To Buy: Select Stores and Online
Product Type: Concentrated Wood Brightener. Oxalic Acid Mixture.
Available Sizes: 1 Gallon Concentrate. Makes 5 Liquid Gallons
Application Temperature: 45-95 F
Coverage Per Gallon: 150 sq. ft
Application Tools: Pump Sprayer, Garden Hose
Manufacturer: Saversystems

Test Deck Stats:

Deck Wood Type: Western Red Cedar
Deck Square Footage: 600
The condition of Deck: Wood was cleaned first with Defy Wood Cleaner
How Much Product Used: 
1 Gallon. Retails for $34.99

*All products tested and results are from our experience. We offer no guarantee of similar results. Take into consideration that results may differ due to different wood types, exposure to UV radiation, and natural weathering.

Please Rate This. You may also post comments or ask questions below.

Related Deck Stain Help Articles & Reviews

guest
28 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Troy M
Troy M
9 months ago

I used defy wood cleaner and brightener on my not previously stained (weather a few years) cedar deck. Unfortunately the weather is not showing great windows of opportunity being dry for staining for as long as defy would like. Would it be ok to switch to a restore a deck stain after already prepping with defy products? Since RAD seems to be more forgiving of rain/ moisture.

Troy M
Troy M
9 months ago

Thanks! One more question, the deck is 6 years old, made of cedar and has never been stained or coated. I have used the Defy prep products and the wood looks good and ready to stain. Since it has never been stained should I do one coat only or since it is so old should I do two coats? I plan to use RAD semi transparent light walnut.

Jean
Jean
10 months ago

I have dogs, what do I need to do to make sure it’s safe for them to enter the area?

Nolan
Nolan
3 years ago

Just had a redwood fence installed and want to know the best course of action to keep it looking great. I’ve been told cleaner and Brightener, then to add a sealer. What’s your recommendation?

Larry Watson
Larry Watson
4 years ago

I scrubbed my deck using water and tide, is it still necessary to use a brightener? If so, is a sprayer the only application method? Thanks.

Kelly Bissetta
Kelly Bissetta
4 years ago

I am looking for a product to seal and brighten up the look of a composite deck – it is faded and looks good when wet – looking for that appearance. Others have said your sealer will not change the look, but this brightener may. Upon reading, it seems this is only for full wood – to clean and brighten. Does Defy make any product that will give me a stronger wet look on composite decks?

Kelly
Kelly
4 years ago

Thank you! It’s a shame that a product has not been designed for that. I just sealed my concrete patio that has a nice Timber design and it looks so much better with the sealer that brings out the color. Was hoping my deck could get the same treatment 🙂

Patrick McGough
Patrick McGough
4 years ago

I’ve just gone to a lot of work to remove a 2 or 3 year old coating of Thompson’s water based semi-transparent stain – on a 12 year old deck in Atlanta, PT pine. It looks very good now. I used the Behr brand stripper from Home Depot, and immediately afterwards I used the Behr wood cleaner, at their recommendation, to neutralize the stripper action. I want to now use a TWP 100 series oil based semi-transparent stain. Having used the 2 step treatment by Behr, is it worthwhile to also used this Defy wood brightener? Sounds like it does about the same thing as the Behr cleaner, but I want to make sure the wood is in great condition for the TWP. Also – does the Defy product have to scrubbed after applying, or is it ‘spray on and rinse off’? Thanks!

Larry
Larry
3 years ago

This is not true

Ms JLG
Ms JLG
6 years ago

Have new deck of KDHT-SYP. Near all day sun exposure in hot & humid climate.
I plan to stain with WoodRich Timber Oil (IF I can find a trustworthy seller; that seems to have been a problem for many).
I hope to stain in about a month (yes/no?) subject to weather, and water droplet test.
Questions:
Clean and brightening prep should also wait until a couple days before staining – correct?
I was leaning toward Restore-A-Deck brand for prep, but I see in your review of Defy Brightener, it specifically mentions removing mill glaze, which is not mentioned in the Restore-A-Deck reviews. Which brand do you recommend for new wood?
Why would brightener remove mill glaze – shouldn't the mill glaze have been removed in the cleaning process?
Will the cleaner also remove the manufacturer's stamp, or should I lightly sand them off? (some had to face up due to grain pattern or blemishes on opposite side)
I will do some light sanding on a few rough spots, should I go ahead and sand all of it before cleaning?

Drew
Drew
8 years ago

Can i use this on my Wood Fence? If so what are your suggestions prior to using. My fence is probably about 4 years old. I have never cleaned it. So should I use a pressure washer then apply this product? Sorry I really have no clue.

bob
bob
8 years ago

I learned about oxalic acid in the Coast Guard almost 40 years ago. It's an excellent brightener, and has served me well in deck cleaners ever since. I also knew decades ago that bleach damaged the wood, but my wife persuaded me to look into using both, so I could eliminate mold/mildew stains. I'll go with your recommendation of sodium percarbonate instead of chlorites. Thanks!

Maria
Maria
8 years ago

I have a 2 level PT lumber deck that is at least 17 yrs old (one deck is 20 x24, the other is 14 x16). I have powerwashed (used a deck wash solution from Lowes (can't remember brand) and sanded the entire deck with a palm sander, and am getting it ready for staining. Thankfully read your site and will use your recommendation of TWP 1500. My question is, after having sanded both decks (used 80 grit paper), should I use a brightner before applying the stain, or do I need to do something else to get rid of the dust from sanding? Also, if I use the brightner, how many days should I wait before I stain? Thanks for your help!

Mary
Mary
9 years ago

My deck has been power washed, and I have the DEFY brightner and stain, but I'm concerned about trying to get this done before the weather cools and also the predicted rain just about every day, albeit only "10% chance" on some days. Could I use the brightner and then wait until I get a reasonable dry spell, even it it's a week or two later?
Thank you!
Mary in Northern Virginia

trackback

[…] – The cedar wood had retained 90% of it’s natural color after the Defy Stain Stripper and Defy Wood Brightener. […]

trackback

[…] Wood Cleaner should be used with the Defy Wood Brightener for maximum […]

28
0
Questions or leave a review, please comment!x