Flood CWF-UV5 Oil Wood Stain Review 2022 3.7/5 (24)

This post was updated on January 18, 2022

Flood CWF-UV5 Oil Wood Stain Review

Here at DeckStainHelp.com, we are proud of the fact that we have become the Internet’s number one reference for your deck stain opinions and reviews. We thank you for your continued support. Our customers who have used Flood CWF-UV5 Oil Wood Stain continue to give mixed reviews about the appearance and longevity of their deck stain projects. If you have used Flood CWF-UV5 Oil Wood Stain, we would like to hear what you think, so feel free to leave a comment below and pictures of your completed projects if you have them.


Flood CWF Oil Review

Flood CWF Oil Review

Important Note:  This is our 2nd review for Flood CWF UV5. See our first review here: Flood CWF5 Oil Review

  • Premium oil finish ideal for newer, less weathered wood
  • Adds minimal color and highlights the natural wood grain
  • The penetrating formula protects against moisture damage
  • The mildew-resistant finish won’t crack, peel or flake
  • Clear Tint Base can be custom-matched to most wood tones while maintaining the wood’s natural look
  • Apply quickly with a pump or airless sprayer, or brush or roll on
  • Features Penetrol®, which penetrates and protects wood from the inside out, ensuring long-lasting performance

Flood CWF5 Oil Stain Ratings (1-10)

Appearance After Initial Stain Application: 8

– The Flood CWF-UV5 had a nice rich color when applied to the ACQ Pine decking. Golden with a hint of orange color. Knots were a little lighter in color than the rest of the deck but, that is normal for a true oil-based stain. Grain was highlighted well.

Preventing UV Graying at 2 Year Mark: 7

– Color retention was decent. Flooring lost about 30% color, but railings retained much of the original color.

Wear/Tear and Peeling: 7

– No peeling, but there was wearing around the high traffic areas.

Cost Per Square Foot: 7

– We used 4 gallons total for the 2 coats on the 400 Sq. Feet. We paid about $30 a gallon on a sale from the local Glidden store.

Preventing Mold/Mildew/Algae: 7

– Our first review of the Flood CWF-UV5 had better results. We found mold growing in the coating after two years. Surprising to us since this deck was in full sun.

Ease of Application: 7

– We applied the first coat using a pump sprayer and applied the second coat with a staining pad made for decking. We applied using the “wet on wet” technique as their directions state. We back wiped any excess stain that did not penetrate within 15 minutes.

Color Shifting (darkening) after 2 Years: 7

– The Flood CWF-UV5 slightly darkened in color on the railings. The flooring faded in color.

The Difficulty of Reapplication: 6

– Light stripping or a good deck cleaning while pressure washing will be enough prep to reapply. No sanding would be required.

Overall Score Flood CWF Oil at 2 Year Period: 7.0

– The Flood CWF-UV 5 OIL is a decent stain. Better than most acrylic-based stains as this semi-transparent oil-based stain penetrates well into the wood grain. Little disappointing on the color retention and mold.

Product Information:

Where To Buy: Glidden Paint Store, Home Depot, Paint Stores, Online Stores
Cost: $43.99 per Gallon, $219.99 per 5 Gallon Pail
Stain Type: Semi-Transparent – Oil Based
Available Colors: 27 Colors
Application Temperature: 50-80 F
Coats  Required: 2 Coats.
Coverage Per Gallon: 100-200 sq. ft
Application Tools: Sprayer, Pad, Brush, Roller
Dry Time: 24-48 Hours
Cleanup: Mineral Spirits
VOC Compliant: 250 Compliant in all States
More Info: Product Data
Manufacturer: Flood

Test Deck Stats:

Deck Wood Type:  Pressure Treated Pine
Deck Square Footage: 500 sq. feet
UV Exposure: Full Sun
How Many Years Tested: 2 Years
Stain Color Used: 
Natural Cedartone

Flood Deck Stain Photos


*All products tested and results are from our experience. We offer no guarantee of similar results. Take into consideration that results may differ due to different wood types, exposure to UV radiation, and natural weathering.


Please Rate This. You may also post comments or ask questions below.

Related Deck Stain Help Articles & Reviews

guest
38 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Kevin udenberg
Kevin udenberg
9 months ago

I used flood stain on our brand dew deck and it didn’t last one full season, and started pealing off, now I am not sure what to do, taking it all off is going to be a monumental task, I was told this was a good product, it sure didn’t hold up for me!!

Hilton
Hilton
9 months ago

Why is the stain still tacky in areas after a week

JULIE ANN LIVESEY
JULIE ANN LIVESEY
9 months ago

Can I restain the deck without completely removing previous stain? Prevciously stained with FLood CWF-UV5 Oil. This product seems hard to find. Have the names changed? Can I use Flood CWS Oil without UV5 on a deck that does not get alot of sun?

JULIE ANN LIVESEY
JULIE ANN LIVESEY
9 months ago

What does the UV mean?

mike
mike
10 months ago

Can I tint the stain a black color?

Susan Shay Copple
Susan Shay Copple
10 months ago

We have previously used a different clear product that did not last and our deck looked old and worn. We even thought we might need to replace the deck it looked so bad. We power washed the deck, let it dry then used Flood Oil Natural. Oh My! What a beautiful deck we have! It was so easy. I used a pad put on the broomstick handle and applied. The grain in the wood stands out and the color of the wood is so pretty. We used the non oil Flood Natural on the stairs we have an outside dog we didn’t want the oil on the dog’s paws and it looks beautiful too. Highly recommend this product.

Joanne
Joanne
1 year ago

Can you put this over put this over Thompson’s deck stain?

Van truman
Van truman
1 year ago

Recommendations on flood water based stain and rating?

Tracey J Wilson
Tracey J Wilson
1 year ago

Can I put this over top of Behr Premium Advanced DeckOver that is 3 years old? The Behr has held up well, but it has faded to a milky color. I tried adding the Flood CWF-UV5 on one railing and it looks good. Our deck is on the South side and gets sun all day long, 365 days a year. Our concern, is chemical reaction between the two, and the fact that the deck gets so hot (can’t walk in bare feet on it), that we wonder if it might get soft so that twisting a shoe on it would cause the coating to loosen.

Tracey J Wilson
Tracey J Wilson
1 year ago

Sad to hear this, but thank you for responding!

Zack
Zack
2 years ago

Can I apply this over a 10-year old application of Flood CWF-UV Acrylic/Oil sealer?

John Vallesi
John Vallesi
2 years ago

I used CWF-UV5 for a new brown pressure treated deck. I bought 6 gallons of the product. I waited 9 months to apply the finish to ensure the deck boards were ready to accept the stain. Once applied I loved it! Especially when it was wet as the deck looked like it was cedar. After the 1st year though there were areas where the finished wore off.

I am going to give the product another try and hopefully this time I was have better success.

Mike
Mike
2 years ago

Used it up in Canada where not much lasts well with our freeze thaw cycles and baking sun. But it lasts well. Goes on well and looks good even after four years. The top portion is 4 yrs and the bottom and trim are fresh. No bad. Took about 3.5 cans to do about 80’ double sided.

image.jpg
Kevin Bandi
Kevin Bandi
2 years ago

I felt compelled to post a review about the superb quality of your product. I’ve been applying it on my back deck every 2 years for 20 years, it looks better now than the day it was built. Awesome stuff, thanks for your commitment to quality.

This flood product is absolute garbage. I put it o
This flood product is absolute garbage. I put it o
3 years ago

Talk to customer support came up with every excuse called a few professional painters in my area of Connecticut they told me they would never even consider ever using it. Bought it from Lowe’s in Lowe’s discontinued it. Do yourself a favor get anything else other than this product

This flood product is absolute garbage. I put it o
This flood product is absolute garbage. I put it o
3 years ago

This flood product is absolute garbage. I put it on my kiln dried Western Cedar and it’s sun fades blotchy spots and water stains within four months stay away from it absolutely terrible product support offered to refund my money instantly when I told him I had a problem $20,000 worth of work later do not use it

Bill
Bill
3 years ago

You call Flood CWF-UV5 a semi-transparent stain. But the Flood website calls it a transparent stain. That website lists two semi-transparent stains: Flood Pro Series Semi-Transparent Stain Alkyd and Flood Pro Series Semi-Transparent Stain Acrylic. Both seem to be oil-based, and the oil/acrylic has a much longer guarantee period than CWF-UV5. I can’t find any mention of either one on your site. Could you clarify, please? Thanks.

B.M.
B.M.
4 years ago

Based on reviews found elsewhere and the information on your site, I am leaning towards flood uv-5 for an upcoming project. Hemlock board and batten siding, new construction so it hasn’t been finished before. The wood is going up around 30% moisture, and dries to around 20 within a week. Should be finished putting siding up by mid sept.

My question- do you think uv5 would be a good choice for this aplication. It seems readily available in my area (home Depot carries it), is a decent price, and your reviews seem pretty good. Anything else you’d suggest over it in this price range?

Deborah
Deborah
4 years ago

Thanks for the link, but to clarify, I am looking to seal and protect a new screenporch made of construction grade pine, NOT treated lumber…. is it still recommended to leave it unprotected for 2 months ?

Deborah Bedell
Deborah Bedell
4 years ago

Central Wisconsin. Heavy Snow.
Newly constructed Screen porch of untreated pine. What do I need to apply to protect? The floor of this porch has 5+ year old . CWF honey gold.
Some sections (also treated with honey gold)combined with previous deck probably just Thompsons water sealed….what would mske this uniform appearance?

david
david
4 years ago

hello, thanks for the info and advice. The site, its GREAT!

i did a search, but didnt see info on Flood CWF-UV FLD520, penetrating wood finish. 4/2 warranty, $~96 x5Gal at HD.
None of you top rated products were available local at the time, I got it thinking it was the same as in your review for UV5 Oil, this one is water clean up and cheaper.

I had similar results application wise as you with th UV5. Two coats to smooth out finish, some dripping, spray w/back roll. Only a year on deck but holding up well (full sun, NY winter) compared to previous (Olympic MAXIMUM oil AND water based) products.

thanks again for your reviews and tips!

Alex
Alex
3 years ago
Reply to  david

How is yours holding up 2 years in? Like you, I could only find the FLD520 at my local HD, at $96 for 5 Gallons, seems pretty good for a decently rated product. One difference I can see with this CWF-UV FLD520 is the fortification with Penetrol which is used to improve leveling for a smooth finish. Cheers

Joy
Joy
5 years ago

Have decks in two locations, one lakeside, the other on wooded rural acerage. Both full sun in Massachusetts.
Always used flood cwf-uv5 on both, pressure treated pine. Lake deck 30 yrs old. Reapplied every other year. Small amount of green algae sanded off railings, otherwise protects wood very well. Have never replaced any wood. Wooded location product worked fine, same pattetn, no algae except hidden behind one post.
Easy cleaning, easy application, no stripping. Light sanding on top of lakeside railings.
Sticking with a product that works.

William N. Benoit
William N. Benoit
5 years ago

Can I put CW-UV5 Oil over a fence that has been covered with CWF-UV for about 15 years ??

Dave
Dave
6 years ago

In south western Canada, On a set of stairs.. Medium traffic,fully open to sun , rain, needs redoing every year. Disappointing.looking for a better product.

38
0
Questions or leave a review, please comment!x