Gemini Restore-A-Deck Kit Review 4.6/5 (10)

by Deck Stain Help

This post was updated on January 19, 2022

Gemini Restore-A-Deck Kit Review

Update Gemini Restore A Deck Kit 2022

Gemini Restore-A-Deck Kit

Gemini Restore-A-Deck Kit

Gemini’s Restore Cleaner and Brightener system is a powerful “eco-friendly” two-part restoration system. 100% Biodegradable Concentrated powder formula. Prep wood surfaces for re-coating with a wood or deck stain and restores weathered gray wood to natural color.

Note: We tested Gemini’s Restore-A-Deck Kit on a heavily gray and dirty fence that was neglected for 8 years.

Gemini Restore-A-Deck Kit Scores (1-10)

Removal of Graying, Dirt, Grime: 9

– Gemini’s Restore-A-Deck Kit worked very efficiently to remove the graying from the fence. Even though the fence was severely neglected, the cleaner and brightener restored the wood to 90% of its original look.

Cost Per Square Foot: 10

– Excellent! Gemini’s Restore-A-Deck Kit is a powdered concentrate that is hard to beat when it comes to cost. The kit can clean and brighten up to 1000 sq. feet. You would need 3-5 times as much if purchasing a liquid packaged cleaner or brightener.

Removal of Old Stain: N/A

– Gemini’s Restore-A-Deck Kit cleans and brightens wood. Not designed to remove stains or finishes.

Ease of Application: 8

– We emptied the entire Step 1 Wood Cleaner into a 5-gallon pail of water. We stirred to dissolve and applied the cleaner with a garden pump sprayer. The Gemini’s Restore-A-Deck Step 1 Wood Cleaner needs about 5-10 minutes to activate. We stiff scrub brushed the surface, rinsed and then applied the Step 2 Brightener. No need to scrub the brightener, just rinse after a few minutes.

Final Appearance of Cleaning: 9

– The pine fence looked almost brand new when the wood dried!

Overall Score for Gemini Restore-A-Deck Kit: 9

– Gemini’s Restore-A-Deck Kit is an excellent product to restore weathered wood or for prepping a stain for reapplication. Hard to beat the cost and ease of use.

Product Information:

Where To Buy: Select Stores or Online
Product Type: Powdered Concentrate. Kit contains Step 1 Deck Cleaner and Step 2 Deck Brightener.
Available Sizes: Makes 5 Liquid Gallons per Step
Application Temperature: 45-95 F
Coverage Per Gallon: 100-200 sq. ft
Application Tools: Scrub Brush, Pump Sprayer

Test Fence Stats:

Fence Wood Type: Pine Treated
Deck Square Footage: 800
The condition of Fence: Heavily grayed
How Much Product Used: 
One Kit Retails for $49.99 with free shipping

*All products tested and results are from our experience. We offer no guarantee of similar results. Take into consideration that results may differ due to different wood types, exposure to UV radiation, and natural weathering.

Average Rating Score From Consumers Who Have Used Product 


Please Rate This. You may also post comments or ask questions below.

Related Deck Stain Help Articles & Reviews

guest
59 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Rob
Rob
4 months ago

Hi, After reading your many reviews and customer comments we decided to go with TWP100 and the Gemini Cleaner/ brightener. We cleaned and brightened the deck yesterday and in a few places I am noticing a white fuzz on the wood. is this remaining cleaner/ brightener or something else? Do I need to pressure wash again before staining? The white fuzz does seem to rub off with some effort.

Thanks!

Noah
Noah
1 year ago

Wanting to prep a covered PT wood porch for semi transparent stain. I used one coat of clear Thompson’s water seal on it 2.5 years ago. Do I need the cleaner or the stripper and brightener? I was hoping I could use the cleaner and that I could spray that too on the railings. Any harm in getting the cleaner or stripper solutions on the railings and balusters which are painted a solid Sherwin Williams white? I want them to stay painted white, just to get the grime off.

Noah
Noah
1 year ago
Reply to  Noah

Photo

2D56EF87-54B5-4152-829F-6587AC999CD7.jpeg
Noah
Noah
1 year ago

I found some rust stains on a new deck that I’m waiting to prep and stain until Spring. I think pouring out standing water on a set of new “rustproof” chairs caused it. Is dish soap on a wet paper towel the best way to remove the marks until it’s time to prep with cleaner and brightener in Spring, without damaging anything? Thank you.

EB341331-C10D-48AF-A427-3D101220EDDB.jpeg
Noah
Noah
1 year ago

Thank you. Do I need to move the chairs until it’s protected with stain, or will these and any other rust spots that happen clean up with the Spring RAD cleaning and brightening?

Noah
Noah
1 year ago

Gotcha. And the RAD cleaner and brightener is the best thing to use to remove the marks in the Spring?

Diane
Diane
1 year ago

I have a pine pressure treated deck that was installed 1 year ago. I have pressure washed it and want to apply a product that is clear but also has UV protection. Do I have to use a deck cleaner and brightener on previously untreated wood? Thank you. If so what would you recommend?

ALL
ALL
1 year ago

I am hoping to use this cleaner on an outdoor deck ceiling (I think it is pine). My concern…we have Trex on the deck below the ceiling. Will this affect the color of the Trex when dripping down onto it?

J P
J P
1 year ago

Can I use this to prep wood (playground) for Defy Extreme semi-transparent stain?

Desiree Awiszio
Desiree Awiszio
1 year ago

I always use Thompson’s clear water sealer on our pressure treated wood deck. I’m looking for a better deck wash than what I have used in the past. The Gemini restore kit looks like that will work from reading. I am not prepping this deck for staining, etc, so wanted to ask, is this a good prep before using the water sealer? Thank you, Desiree

johnbilo86@gmail.com
johnbilo86@gmail.com
2 years ago

Hello There-

I just finished installing new kiln dried cedar decking boards. Took delivery of the boards three weeks ago and they have been outside since. Undersides sealed with TWP 100 Cedartone but the boss wants topsides darker after seeing the cedartone so I am going with TWP 100 Pecan, which I have on hand. Moisture meter shows between 15-16% almost every where.

Rained slightly last night and for the first time I am noticing flecks of black on the topsides of the boards. I know these need to come off before sealing. I have access to the two-part Restore A Deck kit and I have no problem putting forth the effort required-really want to do this correctly. Is the kit necessary or is there another recommended method for the best way to prep this for sealing?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

John

johnbilo86@gmail.com
johnbilo86@gmail.com
2 years ago

Thank you so much. If I use both products today the directions state to wait 48 hours before sealing. Weather forecast is for a chance of showers starting at about the end of that 48 hour period. This chance of showers continues for two days and then it gets drier so I can probably seal then (Thursday or Friday). Will this rain just make the black flecks reappear or does the application of the kit prevent that in the short term? Should I rig a tarp roof after treatment with the kit? I can do that relatively easily if necessary to prevent the reappearance of the flecks and/or provide cover for sealing and then drying.

Thank you again for your help.

John

johnbilo86@gmail.com
johnbilo86@gmail.com
2 years ago

Thank you again, you guys are aces!

johnbilo86@gmail.com
johnbilo86@gmail.com
2 years ago

Thank you for your response. The kit directions state that you should allow the deck to dry for 48 hours after application. I will be using the kit today. Weather forecast is for a chance of showers beginning at about the end of this 48 hour period. Then it is supposed to be drier so I can probably seal then (Thursday or Friday). If it rains after kit treatment and before I seal will the black flecks just reappear or does the kit treatment prevent that in the short term? Would you advise rigging up a tarp roof after doing the kit treatment? I can do that relatively easily if it would prevent a reappearance of the flecks and/or provide cover after sealing.

Thank you again, great resource!
John

Deborah
Deborah
2 years ago

We used the cleaner & brightener on a new cedar deck that had wintered. When the deck had dried the cedar decking is fuzzy. Should we be sanding this off or using TWP 1500 directly?

Stan
Stan
2 years ago

I have a pine 2 x 4 deck which was initially stained with Cabot solid stain, which had held up very well. To save money, “someone” painted over the stain with two coats of $13/gal Glidden porch paint from Wal Mart. One winter & the paint had peeled & split. A wet summer prevented re staining. A second winter, & appx 60% of the paint has peeled off & in some areas washed completely away. I can’t stain over the the paint & pressure washing has been ineffective.
Do I sand, strip or replace? The deck is very solid & it seems a shame & waste to replace.

Mike
Mike
2 years ago

Is this Gemini Kit the Same product as the Restore a Deck Cleaner Stripper that appears to be in bags on some web sites?

Laura
Laura
3 years ago

What would be the best solid color stain to use on a low lying deck. Previously used sw deckscape, does not hold up

Steve
Steve
3 years ago

Got news that the Gemini cleaner/brightener shows up today. Cloudy and rain forecasted for NE PA,,I can still use both products in the rain?

Also, I have approx 100 verical 2×2 rails that I’ll be cleaning and brightening as well. Any suggestion on how to apply the product to these narrow strips.? Could I use a 2”foam brush instead of spraying ( I couldnt imagine how much “overspray” I would waste by spraying )??

Thanks in advance folks…again, fabulous website !!!

Mill
Mill
3 years ago

Someone else ased this question and didn’t get a positive response, so I am asking again (given there is quite a price difference). As researchers, I would think you would want to know, too. What is the difference between Restore a deck and Gemini Restore a deck? Sounds like the same product with different labels. Did you intend to give give 2 reviews rating 1 and 2 for the same product? Doesn’t seem, well, thought out? Unless you can clarify what the actual difference is. Are the ingredients the same? The same ratio of mix? From the same manufacturer?

James J Goodwin
James J Goodwin
3 years ago

Thi may not be the forum for this, but I’ve been having a difficult time finding an answer – I am currently stripping a painted hardwood (pine) in my home. The home is 175 years old and the pine is just not returning to a more natural state; its quite dark – can I use a brightener indoors on this type of floor?

Scott
Scott
3 years ago

I have a rough cut cedar fence that’s about 5 years old. I had previously treated it with a clear coat. I’m planning to stain it now with a semi transparent TWP and have pressure washed it. From reading your site it sounds like I still need to clean and brighten the wood before staining. Is that correct?
Thanks

Ben S.
Ben S.
3 years ago

Can the brightner be applied via the same method as the deck cleaner by garden spray pump bottle?

sws
sws
4 years ago

We are about to use TWP 100 stain on our deck which is pressure treated pine and about 10 months old. The wood has grayed and has some mold, etc.. Should we use the cleaner and brightener before applying the TWP 100?

Rob
Rob
6 years ago

I have not treated my deck in the last 2 years. Some areas are weathered and the protected areas are still sealed. I have never used a stain stripper on it. I built the deck in 1998. The wood is still in great shape for the age. Should I use a stain stripper at this point, and if I do, do I still need to use a cleaner afterwords. Or, Will a deck cleaner take care of the weathered areas so I can avoid using a stripper. The last 2 times I used Benjamin Moore semi-transparent. The last time did not hold up at all with their new formula.
Thanks,
Rob

Rob
Rob
6 years ago

Thanks

Cindy
Cindy
7 years ago

Will Gemini restore a deck remove possible mill glaze on a pressure treated pine deck 10 months old and never stained?

jack
jack
7 years ago

If I don't have a pressure washer, can I still use safely and effectively use this product?

Bill Hendrickson
Bill Hendrickson
7 years ago

We have TWP Stain on our porch oak deck. This is the first full year of its application. Now after the winter is over, there is a bit of dirt/grime and salt stains and what have you. I am not ready to restain, maybe another couple of months, but the wife want to clean the deck.
So will using the Gemini Cleaning work for this, or should it be used just before I am ready to restain.?
Or should we just use another cleaning solution of some kind for this seasonal cleaning job?

Carl Anderson
Carl Anderson
8 years ago

Cedar siding project. When using a stripper do you start at the top of the wall and go down or the bottom and go up? Do you strip the entire wall and then use the cleaner?

Jim A
Jim A
8 years ago

Hi, Will this work on a solid color stain?

baba
baba
8 years ago

is there a difference between gemini restore-a-deck and restore-a-deck??

59
0
Questions or leave a review, please comment!x