Ipe Oil Hardwood Stain Review 3.5/5 (17)

This post was updated on January 19, 2022

Ipe Oil Hardwood Stain Stain Review 2022

IPE Oil has become popular in the past years. It is an oil-based semi-transparent stain that will give a brownish tint to your IPE or other exotic hardwoods.

If you have used the Ipe Oil Hardwood Stain, please post a review in our Star Ratings and or comment area. Our comment system does allow the ability to post pictures of your deck or exterior wood.

Note: See here for other exotic hardwood and Ipe Stain Reviews: Exotic Hardwood Stain Reviews


IPE Oil Wood Stain Review

IPE Oil Deck Stain Rating

IPE Oil Hardwood Stain Review

IPE Oil Hardwood Stain Review

Ipe Oil™ Hardwood Deck Finish is designed specifically for IPE and other Brazilian Hardwoods. Ipe Oil™ Hardwood Deck Finish offers deep penetration into dense exotic woods protecting the wood from water and UV damage.

Ipe Oil™ can be used on all types of wood including ipe, tigerwood, cumaru, or and hardwood decking and wood siding, preserving the natural grain while enhancing at the same time. Ipe Oil™ Deck Finish is a 250 VOC compliant oil-based finish that can be used in all 50 states.

Important Note: Testing for Exotic Hardwood Deck Stains

Exotic hardwoods such as IPE are extremely dense and difficult to penetrate. These wood types when stained will always fade faster than other woods such as Cedar, Redwood, and Pine. Testing will be changed to 1 year instead of 2 years for exotic hardwoods.

IPE Oil Hardwood Stain Stain Rating (1-10)

Appearance After Initial Stain Application: 8

– IPE Oil comes in only a Natural Finish. This is a transparent but pigmented color that really enhances the natural grain of the wood. The finished look after drying was a beautiful rich tone of brown with a hint of red throughout our IPE wood.

Preventing UV Graying at 1 Year Mark: 5

– We only test exotic hardwoods for 1 year. IPE oil had retained most of its color. Only about 30% of the color has faded from the wood. The was still a decent amount of color left.

Wear/Tear and Peeling: 9

– IPE Oil penetrates very well into exotic hardwoods. There wasn’t any peeling of the stain from the wood, even in the high traffic areas.

IPE Oil Finish Review

Cost Per Square Foot: 6

– IPE Oil Finish retails for an expensive $60.99 per gallon. Fortunately, the IPE Oil spreads extremely well. The coverage per gallon was over 300 feet per gallon. This is double the coverage on a soft wood such as Cedar or Pressure Treated Pine. We only used 2.5 gallons for the 800 sq. foot test deck.

Preventing Mold/Mildew/Algae: 7

– Small amounts of algae were present after 2 years around the outside railings and in corners. We did not find any mold growing in or on the IPE Oil Stain.

Ease of Application: 8

– The coverage is excellent. We applied with a pad applicator, waited 20 minutes and back wiped the excess stain residue. The entire project was completed in about 3 hours.

Color Shifting (darkening) after 2 Years: 8

– The IPE Oil did not color shift/darken noticeably. No mold/mildew and very little dirt accumulation.

Difficulty of Reapplication: 8

– Future maintenance would require a wood deck cleaner and some scrubbing to alleviate the wood of dirt. This would be enough prep prior to applying a maintenance coat of stain.

Overall Score IPE Oil Hardwood Stain at 1 Year Period: 7.38

– We liked the IPE Oil overall. Easy to apply, coverage per gallon was excellent, and the finished look was stunning. This would be a decent product for any exotic hardwood that requires annual maintenance.

Note: See here for other exotic hardwood and Ipe Stain Reviews: Exotic Hardwood Stain Reviews

Product Information:

Where To Buy: Mostly Online with a few retail stores, Home Depot
Cost: $65.99 per Gallon
Stain Type: Semi-Transparent – Oil-Based for Hardwoods
Available Colors: Natural Finish
Application Temperature: 45-95 F
Coats Required: 1 coat for most hardwood decking surfaces
Coverage Per Gallon: 300+ sq. ft for Exotic Hardwoods
Application Tools: Sprayer, Pad, Brush, Roller
Dry Time: 4-12 Hours
Cleanup: Mineral Spirits
VOC Compliant: 250 Compliant in all States
Manufacturer: IPE Clip

Test Deck Stats:
Deck Wood Type: IPE Exotic Wood
Deck Square Footage: 800 Square feet
UV Exposure: Full Sun
How Many Years Tested: 1 Year
Stain Color Used:
Natural Finish
*All products tested and results are from our experience. We offer no guarantee of similar results. Take into consideration that results may differ due to different wood types, exposure to UV radiation, and natural weathering.

The Best IPE Hardwood Deck Stain Video – DeckStainHelp.com


Please Rate This. You may also post comments or ask questions below.

Related Deck Stain Help Articles & Reviews

guest
161 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Danielle
Danielle
1 month ago

Can you use Ipe oil stain on a cedar deck? Looking for a penetrating oil based stain for longevity.

Keaton Parent
Keaton Parent
22 days ago

Will the ipe oil ruin a non reinforced rubber roof membrane? We are doing a tiger wood deck with a rubber membrane underneath it, I just want to make sure when we put the oil on it won’t ruin the rubber.

HAF
HAF
1 year ago

We used this on our Ipe deck and after 4 months it looks dark, dry, and patchy with gray scrapes all over from furniture movement. I want the wood to look oiled and not dried out. Two coats would have made it too dark and would not absorb. What product would you recommend to keep a medium brown saturated looking oil finish (like new teak furniture)? Our expensive deck looks awful. Unsure of how to post a picture.

Tracy
Tracy
2 years ago

Can ipe oil be used on pressure treated pine? It has dried for a year, and recently has been cleaned and brightened.

John
John
2 years ago

Hi Crew,
We are installing an ipe deck as we speak. I see from the post below that we have to let it sit for a few weeks and breathe before we do any stains to it(great info).
My question is is there a ipe oil that can stain it black or very dark ?
We have an old Queen Anne house and it will go with the color scheme.
Thank you for your time.

Tim
Tim
3 years ago

My deck is a mix of pressure treated and ipe wood can I stain the treated wood with with ipe oil

Paul Goldberg
Paul Goldberg
3 years ago

I had a contractor use this on my IPE deck which had not been treated in 3 yrs. It was cleaned properly, however once the IPE oil was applied the wood looks like it needs another coat? A lot of the wood did not come out dark and is light in some areas and darker in others,

Maria
Maria
3 years ago

Our Ipe deck was installed three weeks ago. We are trying to find someone to seal it for us. We are getting different recommendations on when to treat it. One company says to wait a few weeks , another says treat it as soon as possible. What do you recommend ?

Maria
Maria
3 years ago

Thank you!

Sean
Sean
3 years ago

Do I need any special skills to be able to apply this to my ipe deck? Kind of a novice

Sean
Sean
3 years ago

Will do! And thanks for the response. Couple questions I had: everywhere I’ve looked just says to clean first, but do I need to sand it? Also, maybe a dumb question, but after you apply the oil, it’s supposed to sit for 30 min before you wipe it down, if you did a large job in one go, wouldn’t you be stepping in the wet oil as you do it? And would that affect its appearance afterwards?

Liz
Liz
3 years ago

Open to other stain if you have a favorite for ipe…

Liz
Liz
3 years ago

Need to clean house with bleach based product before cleaning ipe deck,porches, stairs…if I wet the ipe first do you think the cleaner run off will be a problem for unfinished ipe? Then planning two step cleaning: do you have a preference for rad or deck Wise 2 step kits? Hope for matte rich natural color…preference? Considering rad in light walnut and ipe deck oil…close to 2000 sq ft so want to get it right…thinking no finish on ipe currently…purchased 3 yr old home with no info from previous owner

Liz
Liz
3 years ago

Thank you! And the two step kit? Rad also? And bleach run off ok?

James Russomano
James Russomano
4 years ago

We built an ipe picnic table. Is there an oil that is safe for food?

John
John
4 years ago

Hi, looking at doing my annual oiling for cumaru decking. Used Cabot Australian Timber Oil last fall and was very unhappy with how long it lasted. The majority of the deck is now grayed, what should I use to clean it up before oiling? Or just power wash it? If we’d like to stick closest to the natural look of the wood, which oil would you suggest?

Liz
Liz
4 years ago

Hi,

just had IPE deck installed. My contractor used this oil to finish it but after three days it is still sticky and shiny in most parts.
Should I let it sit or is there something I need to do? It is still sticky to the point if I walk on it it will leave foot marks.

Liz
Liz
4 years ago

Can you give me more details? What do I need to use to strip it? Also you mention prepping hoy do i do this? First time Deck Owner here

Nick
Nick
4 years ago

I have a 500 sq/ft ipe deck and I’m building a pergola over one side of it. I have used nothing but ipe oil on it for that last 9 years and love it. Don’t have the quid for ipe lumber so gonna use all cedar. Is the ipe oil an option on the cedar? If not, For color matching any ideas.

Ken West
Ken West
4 years ago

Hi there,

The deck is 150 feet from ocean in FL panhandle and receives full sun. Based on your reviews we are planning to use Armstrong Clark mahogany for our ipé deck stain (pictured below).
We have KDAT pine substructure (which is part of the outdoor living space and will be seen) and we have already stained it with Sherwin Williams Super Deck IR Reflective Exterior Waterborn deckstain. We want the KDAT to look like the ipé. How do we change the KDAT stain to Armstrong mahogany?

Ken West
Ken West
4 years ago

Thanks for your prompt reply! Two follow up questions: How do you rate the SW product vs the AC? How do I remove the SW? We may want to use AC everywhere for simpler maintenance.

Many thanks,
Ken

Arthur. Wicks
Arthur. Wicks
5 years ago

How long after application can it rain without harm

TheRabbit
TheRabbit
5 years ago

Just tried this last week on my IPE fence. Goes on very well with a brush. Better and quicker than using a rag to apply. The stain with some coloring seems to soak in better and normalize the color a bit more, for a darker reddish brown look.

Rob
Rob
5 years ago

I stained my deck with IPE Oil but thinking of switching to Armstrong Clark Amber next year to give it more of a yellow/brown look rather than the brown/red look. Also doing it because it seems AC is a better quality stain. What do you think of the idea? Can I just apply the AC over the IPE Oil or do I need to strip first? Thanks!

Rob
Rob
5 years ago

Thanks. Is the color between IPE Oil and Armstrong Clark Amber that much different? Or are they about the same?

Alex
Alex
6 years ago

hi guys good morning here is my question I have a large ipe deck to strain it which is the best stain can you guys recommend me
Please
Thanks

Alex ventura:

Chip
Chip
6 years ago

We used ipe oil on 1500 Sf Brazilian masauranduba 4" deck boards in June 2015. Within 4 mos. the wood changed from a beautiful red brown to silver.
I would not recommend this product

Paul North
Paul North
6 years ago

DO NOT USE THIS OIL unless you want to risk water stains showing up every time it rains or using a hose. We sealed a 320 sq. ft. Ipe deck with Ipe oil, following instructions to the T; one week later, the customer insisted that we refinish the deck due to extensive water stains. 1/3 of my entire income for a 3 week job installing a rooftop deck and building planters, was spent refinishing the deck and applying another coat. I have little confidence that the product will hold up.

JJM
JJM
2 years ago
Reply to  Paul North

I have the same problem. It is not water stains on top of finish, it is water penetrating the finish and causing staining under the oil. Very poor problem and not water repellent at all.

Dusty
Dusty
6 years ago

I applied IPE Oil to my mystery exotic hardwood screened porch floor. I did not know how long to wait before wiping & probably wiped it after about 7 minutes. Should I reapply IPE Oil since I see you recommending waiting 20 minutes before wiping? Is there any problem with reapplying too soon, other than needing to wipe up excess after 20 minutes? Thanks

Drew
Drew
7 years ago

We are looking at a home to purchase and the pool has an IPE deck around it. It does need to be refinished based as it is basically grey now. I read the comments below and see what needs to be done to refinish. (Thank you!)

My question is about loose boards…I do not see nails or screws fastening down the boards. Any ideas on how to best secure these?

Lars
Lars
7 years ago

I have a 1200 sqft IPE deck just completed. The construction company made the mistake of using Cuprinol oil for impregnated wood. As a result, the finish is uneven and I guess that it will wipe off with some rain. Should we sand the deck before applying IPE oil? The property is located in Sweden with cold snowy/wet winters and dry warm/wet summers. What oil is recommended? Thanks.

Marcus
Marcus
7 years ago

I am thinking of using Fijian Genuine Mahogany decking offered through Green World Lumber in Toronto Ontario. They recommended I try Messmers UV plus. I tested it out on a sample and I don't like the colour – its got an orangy/red tint to it.

I like the way Linseed oil makes the Genuine mahogany decking look, but it doesn't have UV protection i need.
Can you recommend a UV/weather protective oil? are their oils with a brownish tone?

Thanks

M

Darren
Darren
8 years ago

I had a three decks, and two large shade structure built twelve years ago, all made of Ipe hardwood. Finished with Penofin the following years and again seven years ago. We live on the lake in Southern Ontario, the wood takes a real beating; direct sun, wind snow and rain. The entire project still looks great, has required no maintenance but needs a little TLC. I recently power washed the deck and it looks incredible again, my nine year old likes to take the hose to it to marvel at the beauty.

I don't want to make a huge project out of this, but want to have the "when wet look all the time". What is the best product on the market to oil the wood for maximum beauty and protection?

loren
loren
8 years ago

Thanks for the answers to other's questions. This is probably the easiest to understand, best written q&a. Definitely answered my quesrions. You are very helpful. Patient, too. Hope somehow it makes you money!

Chris
Chris
8 years ago

What are the differences between IPE Oil and Armstrong Clark in the Amber?
On an IPE deck in Portland, OR what would be the advantages of one over the other

Chris
Chris
8 years ago

I notices that Armstrong-Clark has many colors. I'll check out the color considerations.
Other than the color, would you say that one would last or protect better than the other?
Would the deck preparation for one be different than for the other?

Joe
Joe
8 years ago

i have a 10 month old Tigerwood Deck in the Outerbanks of Nc. It has turned silver gray. Willa sealer bring the rich red/brown color back?

Jeff
Jeff
8 years ago

Just put in a good sized screened in porch and the flooring and railings are ipe. We live in Northern Virginia and the temperatures are now in the 30-40's. Should we apply a light coat of the oil once we get a day or two of 50 degrees or wait until spring? If we wait until spring, won't the color turn grey/silver? We strongly prefer the present natural brown wood color. We have also installed ipe for the railings on the new deck.

Jeff
Jeff
8 years ago

Do you have a preference for a wood deck cleaner for a screened in porch? Once used, how long would you wait until applying the IPE oil? Thanks

Fred
Fred
8 years ago

I'm building some outdoor cabinets for a covered porch using Ipe. Would Ipe oil be a good choice for a finish on the cabinets? suggestions? Maybe I should have done my research on Ipe before selling the customer on it.

Dan
Dan
8 years ago

We just had Ipe Oil applied to our new ipe deck. The color is gorgeous, but the finish looks a bit flat/matte. I would not say its anywhere near semi-gloss. Is this normal for ipe oil? The person applying it followed the instructions to a "T", identical to what you have listed here. We're in Virginia, and because the building phase took longer than anticipated, the stain was only applied in November, with 50-55 degree days. Is this the finish we can expect with this product, or can it be shined up to show the beautiful grain. We do plan another application in late Spring, want to know if there's something we should do differently.

Tom
Tom
8 years ago

I am going to install a new ipe deck in the spring. There is a guy over on ipe-deck.com that is selling a product called "Super Shield" that is a fluoropolymer coating designed to last many, many years without chalking, fading, cracking, peeling or allowing oxidation or discoloration or ultraviolet radiation damage of any kind to whatever it is applied to. They claim this will keep Ipe looking new with one application for 20 years. Does anybody know anything about this stuff? Is this real or a load of crap?

Pat
Pat
4 years ago
Reply to  Tom

We used Super Shield. After 1y it is peeling and looks terrible. Stay far away. We are looking for a remedy since SS ruined look of our deck.

Jamie
Jamie
8 years ago

Ii just purchased the ipe oil, brightener, cleaner ands stain remover. I have a dark stain in one spot that I need to remove. Do I start with the cleaner, then stain remover, then brightener, the stain? Is that the order? There is some residual stain from last year

jamie
jamie
8 years ago

Stain after brightener?

Dan
Dan
8 years ago

Installing an Ipe deck in Northern Virginia (DC burbs) with curved fascia, which will be made of planed cedar. Do you suggest I stain the cedar with a tinted product to try to match the Ipe Oil finish I plan for the decking/posts?

Dan
Dan
8 years ago

Could you suggest another wood that can be planed to form a curved fascia that might work better than cedar? Our original deck was redwood, but the wood bees got into it. Would the redwood be an easier match with the appropriate tinting?

Dan
Dan
8 years ago

Don't want to sidetrack this discussion on Stains. Could you send me a note or advise for creating ipe fascia?

Dan
Dan
8 years ago

OK Thanks

Andrew toth
Andrew toth
8 years ago

how do you rate cabbots austrialian timber oil on new IPE decking?

Don
Don
9 years ago

We have newly installed ipe deck and exterior wall. To color match the trim, I would like the ipe to be darker, almost espresso dark. Do you have any brand of stain recommendations? Can the stain be added to the Ipe Oil for a single application, or done in two stages? Finally, in subsequent years, will the unstained oil be sufficient, or will I need to stain each time?

Tish
Tish
8 years ago
Reply to  Don

Don, I see that your post was from 8 weeks ago. Were you able to find a dark brown stain for your IPE? If so, please let me know what brand and color you used…and how it's holding up. Thanks.

Lydlil
Lydlil
9 years ago

HI, I live in LA and have an Ipe deck which was treated every 6-8 months with Penofin since installation 2 years ago.. We noticed that the beautiful wood grain was still evident on the covered portions of the deck which are dry and have less sun exposure; the areas of sun and rain are now so dark you cannot see the grain, even after a deck wash and retreatment with Penofin.. What is the cause of the poor result after the retreatment (and will it recur with the Ipe oil if I try it?), and is there anything special to do to change to Ipe oil after Penofin?.

Jim
Jim
9 years ago

I live in Minnesota and have a cumaru deck. I've sealed my deck with ipe oil and certain sections/boards are still "tacky" and don't seem to want to dry. Does anyone know a solution?

Kirk
Kirk
9 years ago

Installed a Tigerwood deck last year. Stained with what was recommended at the time (McFarland Cascade extreme finish), which I don't like (it was cloudy), and want to redo since it's quite weathered now. A few questions…
Should I sand and refinish with oil or do a clean and brighten incl pressure wash? Initially thinking of sanding due to slight warpage (I live in the Seattle area and get a lot of rain) but don't really want to sand if I don't have to. If sand….grit size to finish??
Thinking of either the Ipe oil or was told Penofinf for the finish….thoughts?
Any overall thoughts on how I should get it back to a bright finish then coat every summer?

Andrew McLaughlin
Andrew McLaughlin
9 years ago

I have a 1500' sq/ft IPE Tile Deck (mounted on top of a huge concrete slab) and have been going through the IPE Oil like candy. Easily two-three gallons every six months. It look great oiled and last for about 2-3 months looking stunning and 2-3 months looking ok. It starts greying within 6 months (NE Climate of Washington DC). I hand wash the IPE wood prior to an oil application with powdered laundry detergent, hot water, cotton towels, lots of elbow grease, and spray it off quickly with a high pressure hose (not a pressure washer!). This is followed by a week of drying, followed by a medium coat application of IPE Oil using a micro fiber (cloth) roller. I let the oil soak in for 2-3 days and wipe off the excess (which is not much! Only a few tiles). It works great and takes about 6 hours total (4 hours to clean and two hours to oil). My question is: Where can I get 5 gallon cans of this stuff or 5 one gallon cans at wholesale or discount prices? Do they have 5 gallon cans? I order every year and with shipping, it runs over $300 a year! About $50 a gallon! Thanks, Andrew

PaulinChicago
PaulinChicago
9 years ago

Splattered some Ipe Oil on my stone patio, tried Mineral Spirits to remove. Didn't work very well. Any ideas on what can clean this product off of stone, or is it too late and I should put my barbeque over the tain so people won't see it???? By the way, my Ipe deck was put in last December and by June it had greyed out. Lot of work to oil it again, but totally worth it. Ipe is a fantastic looking hardwood.

R.L.
R.L.
9 years ago

I have three medium-sized decks in western Oregon (moderate climate with lots of rain). I can't decide between Messmer's and IPE Oil. I realize that I will need to maintain my ipe once or twice a year to keep up the appearance, but I think the gorgeous look of new ipe is worth the trouble. (After carefully searching suppliers, I ended up with indoor floor-quality decks; stunning!) My decks were installed late last fall in the rain and the rainy and cold weather persisted and prevented a fall application. It is now somewhat grayed-out, but still very nice. My concern about Messmers is that stripping it each year would be more of a hassle than the IPE oil. What do you think? Also, given my situation, what cleaner/brightener product or products would you recommend. I do have a 3100 psi power washer, but worry about using it on my precious ipe. Thanks in advance for your help.

Dawn
Dawn
9 years ago

We had a Tigerwood Deck installed two years ago and we've had it stainend with Messmer's UV Protection. I've been doing some research and it seems to me that Ipe Oil may be the superior product. The Messmer's was okay, but looked dull by fall. Would I get any better penetration with Ipe Oil? Would you be able to give me a recommendation of one product over the other? We live in Southern Ontario in Canada. Thanks.

Jeff
Jeff
9 years ago

I have a client who recenty had their IPE deck sanded, cleaned and stained. A short time after (one week) they had a mason come in to put down a patio. Some of the dust from the stone cutting made its way onto the deck and now the homeowner is having a tough time removing it. She is afraid to use anything other than water and a sponge. Do you think the stain could have still bet tacky and the dust dried into it or does she need to use something more than water? If so can you recommend a cleaner that will take care of the problem?

Michael Sands
Michael Sands
9 years ago

I have an ipe deck and some ipe siding on front of terraces. I like twp 1500 California redwood and want to know what wouould last longer, that or ipe oil?

IpeDeckOwner
IpeDeckOwner
9 years ago

What deck cleaner would you recommend before re-application of Ipe Oil?

Chris
Chris
8 years ago
Reply to  IpeDeckOwner

It depends is the deck is exposed mostly to harsh sunlight or in rainy conditions.