Messmers UV Plus for Hardwoods Stain Review  3.3/5 (11)

This post was updated on May 1, 2024

Messmers Hardwood Decking Stain

Messmers Hardwood Decking Stain

2024 on Messmers Hardwood Stains

Messmers UV Plus for Hardwoods Stain ReviewMessmers UV Plus for Hardwoods was developed to penetrate and protect exotic hardwoods. This stain will help preserve and protect hardwoods from UV fading and water absorption. The two colors available will restore the wood’s natural color tones.

Messmers UV Plus for Hardwoods was the first stain specifically designed for difficult to penetrate exotic woods.

Important Note: Testing for Exotic Hardwood Deck Stains

Exotic hardwoods such as IPE are extremely dense and difficult to penetrate. These wood types when stained, will always fade faster the other woods such as Cedar, Redwood, and Pine. Testing will be changed to 1 year instead of 2 years for exotic hardwoods.

Messmers UV Plus for Hardwoods Stain Rating (1-10)

Appearance After Initial Stain Application: 9

– The Red Mahogany color was used for the IPE test deck. We choose this color since the manufacturer said it would last a little longer than the Natural tint. The stained appearance when dry was a beautiful color of reddish-brown tones throughout our IPE.

Preventing UV Graying at 1 Year Mark: 8

– As mentioned previously we only test exotic hardwoods for 1 year. Messmers retained 70% of its original color after one year in the full sun areas and close to 80% in the shaded areas. Overall good results for an IPE deck.

Wear/Tear and Peeling: 8

– The Messmers Hardwood stain exhibited little to no peeling on the wood. The stain faded evenly without any wear patterns.

Messmers Hardwood Stain

Messmers Hardwood Stain

Cost Per Square Foot: 9

– Messmers UV Plus for Hardwoods costs $45.99 per gallon. The IPE decking was 650 square feet and we used all 3 gallons for the 1.5 coats. Costs $.22 a square foot.

Preventing Mold/Mildew/Algae: 7

– After 1 year we did find a small amount of mold growing on the stain in the shaded areas only. Nothing major but a good cleaning with an Oxygenated wood cleaner would be needed prior to reapplication.

Ease of Application: 8.5

– Very easy stain to apply. Coverage was exceptional as the first coat only took two gallons for the 650 feet. We did apply a second coat “wet on wet” as the 10-year-old IPE absorbed the stain quickly. The second coat only took one gallon of stain. We used a stain pad applicator for the entire floor and we finished the two coats in 3 hours. There was no need to back wipe.

Color Shifting (darkening) after 2 Years: 8.5

– The Messmers Exotic Wood Stain did not darken but faded in color. There was a little darkening though from the mold on about 15% of the decking surface.

Difficulty of Reapplication: 8

– The Messmers will need to be cleaned with an Oxygenated Wood Deck Cleaner. This will remove the mold, general dirt, and grime. The use of a wood deck brightener would be beneficial as well.

Overall Score Messmers UV Plus for Hardwoods Stain at 1 Year Period: 8.25

– Messmers was the first stain company to develop a stain that is specifically designed to penetrate exotic hardwoods. We expected good results with their stain and we were not disappointed. If you want an IPE/Hardwood Stain that is easy to maintain annually, then Messmers would be a top choice.

Product Information:

 

 

Purchasing Info: Messmers UV Plus for Hardwoods
Cost: $55.99 per Gallon, $299.99 per 5 Gallon Pail w/Free Delivery
Stain Type: Semi-Transparent – Oil-Based for Hardwoods
Available Colors: Natural, Red Mahogany
Application Temperature: 45-95 F
Coats Required: 1 coat for most hardwood decking surfaces
Coverage Per Gallon: 300+ sq. ft for Exotic Hardwoods
Application Tools: Sprayer, Pad, Brush, Roller
Dry Time: 4-12 Hours
Cleanup: Mineral Spirits
VOC Compliant: 250 Compliant in all States

Test Deck Stats:

Deck Wood Type: IPE Hardwood
Deck Square Footage: 650 Square feet
UV Exposure: 60% Shade 40% Sun
How Many Years Tested: 1 Year
Stain Color Used: 
Red Mahogany

*All products tested and results are from our experience. We offer no guarantee of similar results. Take into consideration that results may differ due to different wood types, exposure to UV radiation, and natural weathering.

Please Rate This. You may also post comments or ask questions below.

author avatar
Scott Paul ~ Restoring Wood & Decks Since 1993 Owner
As an article and comment contributor to the site, Scott has been around the pressure washing industry since attending college. In 1993 he started his first company called Oakland Pressure Wash specializing in exterior pressure washing and deck staining. That company evolved into OPW L.L.C. shortly thereafter concentrating more on exterior wood and deck restoration. Scott and his Deck Cleaning Michigan company have restored over 10,000 decks in the Metro Detroit area since the early years. He has become an authority in the deck restoration industry and has contributed to numerous wood restoration forums and informative sites. All the products he suggests through this site are sold through online sites and in retail stores, allowing the consumer to choose their own means of purchase. Scott’s eCommerce sites do sell many top brands he endorses and if you appreciate any of the help he has offered then feel free to purchase from one of them.

Related Deck Stain Help Articles & Reviews

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
88 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Suzanne
Suzanne
1 year ago

We have a 500sf second floor mahogany deck installed over a membrane, full sun, Pacific NW, We have always used Messmers Natural. We chose white oil based painted railings, beautiful on this 1918 house, but very hard to maintain. A few years ago the railings were “professionally” repainted before oiling and without tarping the deck, leaving large grey-white paint blotches and ground in paint chips. Pretty sure this needs to be sanded. What sandpaper/sander type should be used?

Suzanne
Suzanne
1 year ago

Thanks. I read through that page.. I’m afraid I have to sand it because the white paint has seeped in too far where I tried to clean it up with paint thinner! Botched job all around! Great site. Wish I’d found it years ago….

Mags
Mags
2 years ago

Hi Thanks for the great article. We are just finishing up installing an 1800 SF wrap around deck with Garapa. We plan to let it age naturally but it is recommended that we do an initial brightening and application of an oil UV treatment?
Do you recommend:

  • Penofin Architectural Grade Hardwood Transparent (satin or matt) or
  • Messmer’s UV Plus for Hardwoods in (Natural or Bare Ipe)?

Thanks!

Mags
Mags
2 years ago

Ok great! Thanks for your help!!

David
David
3 years ago

Excellent site. Thanks for all the great info! I have a new ipe deck installed over a flat membrane roof. I plan to oil it annually (will try the Messers, as suggested). Is there any danger to the membrane roof from the oil? Clearly I will try to be careful, but I’m sure some will drip through to the membrane. It’s a brand new roof, and I don’t want to void any warranty.

Thanks!

David
David
3 years ago

Excellent. Thank you for the prompt reply!

Chad
Chad
4 years ago

I built a large deck using dasso stranded bamboo. It is a very beautiful and a very dense product. It comes with a dark chocolate primer stain which is nice but doesn’t last long. After 6 months I applied cabots australian hardwood penetrating oil. This brought the deck back to its original beauty but after a short time it was faded and blotchy.
I decided to restain with same product. I used a deck cleaner along with a brightner and a stain stripper.
After this the blotches were still there and when i reaplied the cabot on a test area the orange blotches could still be seen. I had to sand entire deck to even everything out. If i apply messmers if uv plus will i have to sand every year before restaining ?

Daniel Shannon
Daniel Shannon
4 years ago

Planning on using this brand for a cedar ship lap ceiling on my covered porch. Cedar is brand new from the mill, smooth. Little to no sunlight, minimal water, zero wear. Really just want to prevent weathering.

Any tips/ recommendations? Many thanks!!

Ayn
Ayn
5 years ago

Is the water that comes off an oil treated deck safe for drinking. After filtering and UV treatment.

James
James
5 years ago

I am installing a new Cumaru deck on a covered farmers porch and I am struggling with the finishing choices. Would you recommend IPE oil or some type of UV resistant product like Messmers UV Plus? The porch gets scorching direct sunlight from morning till early afternoon?

Marlene Cox
Marlene Cox
5 years ago

This stain was used on my log home on the inside, what are the dangers of the smell of the product? Is it safe after it is dry?

Marlene Cox
Marlene Cox
5 years ago

Thanks

Howie
Howie
5 years ago

I’ve been using this product for about 3 years on an Ipe deck and outdoor kitchen in Silicon Valley. I love the way my wood looks right after it is treated. I follow Messmer’s instructions and do a Part A Cleaner, Part B Brightener before application. After applying, wipe the excess off after 30 minutes and you have a beautiful looking deck.

It is a shame that this has to be done every year. There is no way around it. If you want the right color of Ipe each summer, you need to treat it once a year.

Here is a warning – please follow the manufacturer’s instructions concerning disposal and storage of rags and supplies after use. I just had a garbage can fire because I failed to follow the warnings. The spontaneous ignition warning is for real.

Shari
Shari
7 years ago

I have a large deck made with pre-treated Messmer’s mahogany. I was told not to add another coat of Messmers the first year. By mid-July, the deck looked bleached. Nevertheless, I did not attempt recoat until the following spring. For 15 years, I have been ‘cleaning’, ‘brightening’ and conditioning that deck with Messmers products. Every year, that deck is dark brown by the end of the summer, in spite of a southern exposure. Messmers wants to say it is my fault. It is not. I read directions and follow them to the letter. During the early years, I would confer with Messmers customer service.
This is the last year I will be ‘finishing’ this deck.
In short, stay away from Messmers mahogany decks. The upkeep is not worth the short period of beauty.

Mark
Mark
8 years ago

I have a brand new Red Balu deck and am trying to decide between Messmers, IPE Oil, and Armstrong Clark. You rate them all highly, while I will try to reapply yearly -life often gets in the way. What one would you recommend for longer term results with reapplication every 2-3 years. Also would you recommend the same stain every application or would you recommend one for the initial application and another for reapplication? Do I just need to bite the bullet and try to reapply yearly? I'm in Los Angeles California.
P.S. Thanks for such a fantastic site!

WW Micco
WW Micco
8 years ago

Next summer, 2016, I need to prep and re-stain our 5-year-old redwood deck in SF Bay Area (California). Plan to use the Restore-a-Deck products for prep (and hiring a qualified painter).
After a fair amount of web reading, I was considering an Olympic stain product (VOC approved), but am now considering Messmer's based on the suggestion of a landscape architect. I'm not seeing any comments on your Messmer's page for REDWOOD decking, just Ipe and other woods. Which Messmer product do you suggest for a "natural" look (but not RED)…especially since it's a re-do, not fresh new wood? Thanks in advance for your reply.

Doug
Doug
8 years ago

I'm seeing two versions of the Messmers UV Plus Hardwood available for ordering online (at the Sealer Store, for example), with one indicated as VOC compliant. I believe only the lower VOC is listed on Messmers site, but it's not so clear. Which is the one tested and reviewed here? If not the low VOC, have you since had experience with it? Thank you.

Lou
Lou
8 years ago

We used Messmer's U.V. Plus on our mahogany deck and there are shiny sticky spots now that it is dry.. what can we do to get rid of them

Paul M.
Paul M.
9 years ago

ready to seal or stain a new( mahogany 5/4 x6) deck and want to prestain due to cold weather. What product do you recommend for a porch in New England area that will last that is similar in color to cabots mahogany flame. Afraid to use cabots due to poor reviews. Can you give me a suggestion of where to buy this product you are recommending in Massachusetts area. Thank you for your anticipated answer.
Paul

Ron
Ron
9 years ago

I am ready to install a brand new Iroco deck. I plan to stain all the boards prior to installation.Do they require any pre-staining prep other than just wiping off the dust? I was told to scuff them lightly with 80 grit. Do you think this is necessary?

They are kiln dried boards and look beautiful in their natural state. However, we love the color of Ipe and these boards are quite light and more yellowish in tone. I was thinking of using Messmers Redwood but was wondering if it would be too red as opposed to brown. Also thought of mixing the Natural with the Redwood. Your opinion please.

I do not believe that the Armstrong product is available in Montreal, Quebec.

Dave S.
Dave S.
9 years ago

I have a 3-year-old Ipe deck. I have so far applied two seasonal applications of Messmer's UV Plus for hardwoods. I'm having a terrible time getting all of the old stain off this year. Sounds like I need to use Restore A Deck stripper. Do you recommend that I strip every year between coats? The second application had some minor blotchy spots, and it looks like this year will be worse unless I use the stripper.

David in NH
David in NH
9 years ago

I live in New Hampshire and have a fairly new, very large IPE and Garapa deck (about 2000 SF) that gets sun ALL day and use Messmers UV Plus Natural. The deck is going on it's 2nd year now and after a record (worst in 150 yrs they say) brutally harsh New England winter, it showed a little bit of darkening from mold. After a little pressure washing, I reapplied Messmers this year and the deck looks really great!! I am very happy with the product (so far) and love how it seems to be keeping the rich look of the real woods.

Jja
Jja
10 years ago

I have a cumaru deck and have tried Messmers UV plus natural. It looks great but will only last 6 months at most. Last year I tried Armstong mahogany for the first time which has lasted a full year and still looks decent. I actually like the look of the Messmers over the reddish Armstrong which hides a lot of the wood grain. Could I apply a coat of Messmers over Armstrong this year? Any other recommendations? I live in North Carolina.

Tim
Tim
10 years ago

I have a team coming tomorrow to stain my new basic pressure treated wood deck that is 4 months old. I cannot get the top rated sealers in time locally. I can get Mesmer and Perofin and any of the lesser rated sealers like cabots. Any very quick suggestions would be appreciated.

Tim
Tim
10 years ago

I have a team coming tomorrow to stain my new basic pressure treated wood deck; no exotic woods. I cannot get TWP, Defy, or Armstrong Clark locally, so have to go with a lesser rated brand due to the time constraint. I can get Mesmer and Perofin in time as well as many of the lower rated stains. I figure in 2 years I will retreat with the better materials. My deck and pergola are 4 months old and get a lot of sun. I live in Maryland. Quick suggestion, please.

paul buzzard
paul buzzard
10 years ago

I have heard the IPE oil is a private brand made by Messmers, and is in fact almost exactly their natural. In some sample boards of both stains, it is very similar, do you know for fact?

Gideon Kramer
Gideon Kramer
10 years ago

I have used Cabot Australian Timber oil (natural) for 10years on my ipe deck and staircase. Looked beautiful, but held up for less than 4 months before it turned gray. This time, the Cabot A. TImber oil is a new formula (less VOCs) and this new EPA approved product stinks. In less than one month of exposure to sun and a few rainy days (in San Francisco's sunny Mission District) and the wood is already graying. Any comments about this new product (the can has a blue top)?

Paul
Paul
10 years ago

I live in Western MA, just installed a screen house, using PT and Spruce-Can I use Messmer's UV Plus for hardwood on both these surfaces? (Spruce base plate and studs) Both are kiln dried/heat treated material, so is it best to pre-clean/stain in a few months, or are they ready to go now?.

Tigerwooded
Tigerwooded
10 years ago

We live in the Seattle area and have a 900 sf tigerwood deck that was installed 3 years ago but we moved into the house 2 years ago. We learned that the previous owners used Biowash Natural Deck Oil previously. We have had it power-washed off. The power washer seems to have done a fairly good job of washing the dirt, moss and old stain off, however, after drying a couple days, the wood appears to have some white streaks in places throughout the deck. What are your recommendations for next steps? Do we still need to use a cleaner, stripper and/or brightener? We've also been considering using Ipe Oil or Messmers Natural UV Plus, after reading your reviews. Thanks in advance for your help and for this very informative and helpful site.

88
0
Questions or leave a review, please comment!x