Olympic Elite Wood Stain Review 2024  3.7/5 (26)

This post was updated on May 1, 2024

Olympic ELITE Advanced Stain + Sealant in One Review

At Deckstainhelp.com, we appreciate your feedback. It is our commitment to remain your number one source for tips and the latest industry news for all things deck stain related. Olympic ELITE Advanced Stain + Sealant in One continues to receive average to above average reviews as years before. Leave us a comment if you’ve used Olympic Elite Wood Stain and let us know how your projects held up.

The Olympic Elite Wood Stain is actually the exact same thing as the PPG Timeless Advanced Stain + Sealant, just relabeled.


Olympic Elite Wood and Deck Stain Review

Olympic Elite Wood and Deck Stain Review

Sherwin Williams SuperDeck Solid Stain Ratings Review

Olympic ELITE Manufacturer Description

Olympic ELITE Advanced Stain + Sealant in One is a super-premium stain formulated to protect and enhance the natural look of wood with exceptional richness and depth of color. A curated color palette of 14 rich, wood-inspired colors utilizes only the most durable pigments for natural beauty and durability. Semi-transparent stains use natural oils and rich, subtle color to highlight and enrich wood’s natural grain.

Olympic Maximum Stain + Sealant in One Stain Scores (1-10)

Appearance After Initial Stain Application: 6

– Olympic Elite Stain is an oil-based stain + sealer in one. We used the Chestnut Brown color. The appearance of the final stain finish was a brown color that did not seem to enhance the beauty of the wood as well as we had expected. However, the Olympic Elite Wood Stain did penetrate the wood fairly well and did not form a film on top.

Preventing UV Graying at 2 Year Mark: 7

–At the 2-year test mark Olympic Elite Woodland Oil did hold up pretty decent with an estimated 70% color retention. Some fading and graying were noticed in traffic areas.

Wear/Tear and Peeling: 5.5
–As mentioned the Olympic Elite Wood Stain did show signs of fading but no peeling. Most of the fading and wearing was on the horizontal surface like the tops of the handrails and deck flooring. There were almost bare areas with no stain left in the high traffic sections of the deck.

Cost Per Square Foot: .5

– It took 4 gallons total of Olympic Elite Deck Stain to coat the entire 600 square foot deck. The manufacturer claims 250-350 square feet per gallon but we experienced closer to 150-200 feet per gallon.

Preventing Mold/Mildew/Algae: 8

– Olympic Elite Deck Stain plus Sealer provided a powerful mildew-resistant coating and did a decent job at preventing fungal growth.

Ease of Application: 8

– The Olympic Elite Stain was average to apply. We did a one-coat application using a stain pad and did not get great coverage. We did notice some overlap marks when finished.

Color Shifting (darkening) after 2 Years: 9

– At the 2-year mar,k we didn’t notice any darkening due to no mildew but the Olympic Elite Wood Stain did lighten up on 90% of the deck.

The difficulty of Reapplication: 5

– We did have to strip the old stain off due to bare wood and graying showing in high traffic areas and lightening of the stain in other areas.

Overall Score Olympic Maximum Stain + Sealant in One at 2 Year Period: 7.0

– The Olympic Elite Advanced Stain + Sealant was above average score overall. The stain did hold up fairly well except in high traffic areas and no mildew was present. We were not overly happy with the coverage rates and having to strip the stain off prior to recoating.

Product Information:

Where To Buy: Lowes
Cost: $44.99 per Gallon, $209.99 per 5 Gallon Pail
Stain Type: Semi-Transparent Oil-Based
Available Colors: Canyon Sunset, Chestnut Brown, Cumaru, Dark Ash, Drift, Fall Foliage, Jatoba, Madrone, Olivewood, Royal Mahogany, Rustic Cedar, Timberline, Wenge
Application Temperature: 45-95 F
Coats Required: 1 Coat
Coverage Per Gallon: 150-200 sq. ft
Application Tools: Sprayer, Pad, Brush, Roller–Back brush as needed.
Dry Time: 24 Hours
Cleanup: Mineral Spirits for 550 Version
VOC Compliant: 550 Compliant
Manufacturer: PPG

Test Deck Stats:
Deck Wood Type: Pine Deck
Deck Square Footage: 600
UV Exposure: Full sun
How Many Years Tested: 2 Years
Stain Color Used: 
Chesnut Brown

*All products tested and results are from our experience. We offer no guarantee of similar results. Take into consideration that results may differ due to different wood types, exposure to UV radiation, and natural weathering.

Olympic Elite Deck Stain Photos

Please Rate This. You may also post comments or ask questions below.

author avatar
Scott Paul ~ Restoring Wood & Decks Since 1993 Owner
As an article and comment contributor to the site, Scott has been around the pressure washing industry since attending college. In 1993 he started his first company called Oakland Pressure Wash specializing in exterior pressure washing and deck staining. That company evolved into OPW L.L.C. shortly thereafter concentrating more on exterior wood and deck restoration. Scott and his Deck Cleaning Michigan company have restored over 10,000 decks in the Metro Detroit area since the early years. He has become an authority in the deck restoration industry and has contributed to numerous wood restoration forums and informative sites. All the products he suggests through this site are sold through online sites and in retail stores, allowing the consumer to choose their own means of purchase. Scott’s eCommerce sites do sell many top brands he endorses and if you appreciate any of the help he has offered then feel free to purchase from one of them.

Related Deck Stain Help Articles & Reviews

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
109 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Carol
Carol
6 years ago

The stain has only been on for 4-5 days but there are bubbles on some flat surfaces and it’s overall tacky. What gives did I do something wrong?

BLH
BLH
4 years ago

PPG reformulated the Stain going to lower VOC [Volatile Organic Compounds] content. The 550 (listed here) is very good however the 220 VOC is like using Yahoo (and looks like chocolate milk too) with very poor penetration and ugly colors. Buying the same “color” such as above and “timberline” were entirely different colors. We had purchased the 550 in a “lesser EPA” controlled area. The 550 penetrates incredibly deep and you can tell it went through the entire surface of the T1-11 siding. My test piece with the 220 never dried. Took that back and bought 550. 550 is now completely GONE to the Elite Series is now horrible. The 550 was being phased out to the 220 all over the Country in a slow process. This even the case with Liquid Nails. What’s stupid is I imagine you have to use the 220 every few years to prevent damage while the 550 I put on over 3 years ago looks like it’s only 6 months old. I suspect the problems lie with whether you got the GOOD stain or the Chocolate Milk!

Katherine Connors
Katherine Connors
6 years ago
Reply to  Carol

We are currently in dispute with the Co over the same issues which i occurred 10days after application. It started bubbling & when my husband walked out to look @ them, the tackyness actually left footprints permantely; it only got worse from there! I called the Co ahead of time as we do hv severe weather & being a 2nd story deck, he only wanted to do this project once. My husband prepped stairs & deck according to their specifications per the phone call using all of their products per the warranty. I did notified them immediately & almost a yr in they are willing to reimburse us fr the product, however, it is peeling so badly it looks like it’s been on fr 30 yrs & dreadfully neglected. They sd it’ll nd to be sanded off-my opinion is they can rectify tha themselves by sending someone or reimbursing us costs. They just lost another class action lawsuit fr issues like this w/another product of their’s. I hv experts that saw before, during, & after this was applied. We waited 18mnths-the proper amount of time fr pressure treated wood, along with multiple pictures of before application, when it started & how dreadful it looks now. I don’t back down when I know took all the correct steps, paid a higher cost for their “super premium stain” and called in advance to make sure this would be the correct product for our weather. BTW-the few areas where it ws over applied by the brush are the only ares that hv not started to peal/chip yet so ur not alone. They offered a full refund of product price immediately aftr seeing the pictures as well-I don’t believe it came as a shock to them.

Debbie Skipper
Debbie Skipper
1 year ago

I need help with matching an old Olympic Stain color that I purchased from Lowe’s in 2015. I used it on my fence and it’s time to restain. The name of the color is Fall Foliage. It is in the green family of colors. The formula that pulled up in Home Depot system is brown when mixed with the Elite 80200 ST/SS atlas cedar tint base. I have 1,000 feet of 6 – 8 foot fence to stain and don’t want to change the color if I can help it. Besides, I love the color. Any suggestions?

Keith
Keith
1 year ago

is there a technical data sheet available for Olympic Elite Woodland oil – needing a tip size for spraying with an airless sprayer

JD Chapman
JD Chapman
1 year ago

I don’t understand the 220 and 550 figures in your comments. I bought a older home two years ago and the back deck is “level” and spray painted which is pealing off. The decking is 5/4 pine. I plan to reverse the boards then apply solid stain. What stain do you suggest?

Paul
Paul
1 year ago

July, 2022. I am very disappointed in the Olympic Waterguard transparent woodstain and sealer. I spread it over my cedar deck with a roller and my wife immediately wiped off excess with a sponge. The new color (I got Woodland Cedar) is very irregular: some areas are very reddish and other areas are light brown. I used the product in the same weather conditions and don’t know why the coverage is so inconsistent.

Vanessa Minton
Vanessa Minton
2 years ago

Can I use this stain on concrete. I have some leftover on another project?

Steve
Steve
3 years ago

Does Olympic Elite Woodland Oil contain polyurethane, varnish, shellac, or any other film-forming ingredients?

gene
gene
3 years ago

I didn’t wait after installing a new deck and had installer stain new deck with readyseal in burnt hickory. The color barely stained the deck. Could I just stain over with olympic elite (probably in dark bark)?

Greg
Greg
3 years ago

RE: … strip the stain off prior to recoating.
Can sanding be done instead of proceeding with stripping and waiting 48-HR? I applied the stain-sealer 3 years ago and traveled areas are worn off. I could tolerate different shadings as I would prefer to wait another 3 years before I strip the stain off the deck. See, 3 years ago I leveled, belt sanded, a quarter-IN off the 15-YR old deck boards, to like new. So, I could just palm sand to roughen the surfaces. Would the world stop spinning should I proceed in this manner? Your comments would be appreciated.
PS: We are well pleased with the look of the Elite Woodland finish (Mt. Cedar).

Greg
Greg
3 years ago

Oh, ok. Had not known of maintenance coating. Might have chosen that. Re: palm sanding, on a test patch, new coating over non worn areas provoked a problem of saturation puddling so, I am belt sanding it all to have a new start.

20201003_200808.jpg
20201003_200849.jpg
Greg
Greg
3 years ago

Thank you sir for your responce and. your time. I do agree about the “maintenance coating” which you mention. I had not thought to place it only on areas which were worn. My test patch was primarily in a corner which was not worn and saturation puddling resulted. (palm sanding was ineffective as you had suggested). Hence, as I was non-hesitant, I proceeded to belt sand with 80-Grit, hence, a new application. Again, thank you for your responses.

20201003_200849.jpg
20201003_200808.jpg
Corey
Corey
3 years ago

Hi, great information on this site, thanks!
I’m having trouble finding any of your recommended stains in Canada. However I’ve seen this one at Rona (now owned by Lowe’s). Do you know if the product in Canada is the same as the one you reviewed? If yes, this may be the best I can find, in store, this side of the border.
I’m staining a deck, btw.
Corey

Corey
Corey
3 years ago
Reply to  Corey

Interestingly the label is slightly different, which may be country-specific or imply a different formulation. Note it’s called `Summit’ here:

74E31CA3-3030-4B5C-A2F8-89EDACD96E69.jpeg
Tom Boehmann
Tom Boehmann
3 years ago

Can you apply second coat?

Tom Boehmann
Tom Boehmann
3 years ago

If applied to new sanded wood will it peel if two coats are applied?

John shambaugh
John shambaugh
3 years ago

Is Olympic Elite Woodland Oil made from Linseed Oil

John shambaugh
John shambaugh
3 years ago

Does Olympic Elite Woodland oil work for cedar fencing

Roger Olson
Roger Olson
3 years ago

To make a long stressful situation end well; It was called Olympic Elite oil stain. I used the Behr oil base stain for 12 years on my decks. It dried quickly and I always had the nicest looking stained wood outside of my home. (3 decks, 1 Entry way and a flight of Stairs going down the side of my home). 2 or 3 years ago Behr changed their formula. It bubbled last year so this year I had to strip my entry deck and my stairs. I than purchased Behr oil base I brushed it on and a week later still not dry so had to wipe it off. Exchange for another can and repeated the same drama. Since I am stubborn and used to love this product exchanged for same product but in clear. It did the same thing and I had to wipe it off a 3rd time. For 12 years I did the same thing and got the same beautiful results. My decks used to look better than most peoples floors in their homes. When I was wiping it off for the 3rd time I noticed where I hit the side of my home. It wiped right off just like a can of oil for your car would have. Pathetic. I called the Behr rep and explain this crap needs to be pulled off the market. After a week and knowing it was going to be hot here in Seattle for a week I decided to try a different brand. I purchase Olympic Elite oil base. I put it on and within 12 hours it was mostly dry. I than put a 2nd coat on and it looks stunning My entry area and stairs won’t every look as nice as they did unless I stripped them down to the wood and started over and that is not going to happen but at least I got a product that dries and looks great. Has a nice shiny look which is what i like. My 3 decks look great also.

Now don’t change your formula like Behr did. I am very loyal to a brand until it messes with me as I don’t like drama. I will never use the behr product again. Olympic Elite oil everyone is a great product

thanks Roger

KEVIN WARNER
KEVIN WARNER
3 years ago

Has anyone used the Olympic Elite Solid Stain on a salt water floating dock?

Craig Dinger
Craig Dinger
3 years ago

Does the previous stain need to be stripped?

Craig Dinger
Craig Dinger
3 years ago

How about if it was defy

Teri O.
Teri O.
3 years ago

I stained my log sided house with the semi-solid Timeless stain in cedar color and it came out great. Timeless is now gone and this Olympic stain is supposed to be the same. The Olympic stain does not come in Cedar color, only Atlas Cedar (lighter) and Rustic Cedar (milkier). There are other colors listed that look close to the Timeless cedar. Is there any kind of cross-reference for colors between stains? I have contacted PPG, but no one is getting back to me. I tried calling and was on hold for over an hour. Just wondering as I still have one side of my house to do. I would ask Home Depot, where the stain is sold, buy my local Home Depot is worthless when it comes to stuff like this. They tried to sell me Chestnut brown because they thought it was the closest match to the sample I brought. Chestnut brown is way, way darker.

Jackie Sprout
Jackie Sprout
3 years ago

Can Olympic Elite advanced stain + sealant be mixed with a Cabot semi-solid oil stain for a unique deck color. We don’t have enough of one or the other to cover a 24×24 wood deck. As long as it doesn’t turn a hot pink or chartreuse color, I’m okay with the resultant color. Side by side on their own, 1 looks like peanut butter and the other looks like chocolate. 2 great tastes that taste together. However, when melted chocolate meets melted peanut butter the color is not hard on the eyes. I would just like to know if the formulas mixed together will create a cohesive product suitable for staining.

Karen
Karen
3 years ago

After 2 coats of Olympic elite stain and sealant was applied 6 days ago clusters of white are appearing in numerous areas of the deck especially around or near knots in the wood. What could this be?

Samantha B
Samantha B
3 years ago
Reply to  Karen

It sounds like sap is coming through from the knots in the wood

Chuck Mountain
Chuck Mountain
4 years ago

Can you use this on pressure treated retaining walls, and how do apply it successfully?

Laurie
Laurie
4 years ago

How can I open the can the stupid plastic ring on the top doesn’t budge. Ridiculous.

Laurie
Laurie
4 years ago

How do o open this stupid plastic ring that’s on the top of the can!!!!!

Monica Jaynes
Monica Jaynes
4 years ago

I never received an answer to my question/ post about Olympic Stain. The deck of many colors… I don’t see my question or post either.
I ask again, I prepped an older wood deck by using a remover, then scraped and sanded the old paint off. I then used three cans of the Olympic Wood Stain in Sequoia Red. All three cans were the same product. The deck turned out various shades of red and PINK! There were also NO instructions as to whether the product should be shaken or not. I was told that you shouldn’t shake it because it creates air bubbles. I would like to get some feedback as to how Olympic Stain plans to remedy this situation. Very unhappy!!

David Bennett
David Bennett
4 years ago

Why do you say “This is for the 550 VOC versions that is an oil based stain.” and then in the product information you say “Stain Type: Semi-Transparent Acrylic Water Based” You really need to post factual information if you want to help.

Marcie bentz
Marcie bentz
4 years ago

I used olympic max on my pool deck yesterday. Last time i used it was only 2 yrs ago. Did not stand up well under salt pool water. Is there another product i can use to add a stronger barrier?

Pat carr
Pat carr
4 years ago

How long after rain does deck need to dry before applying ?

109
0
Questions or leave a review, please comment!x