One Time Wood Stain Review  3.5/5 (118)

This post was updated on February 29, 2024

One Time Wood Stain Review 2024

One Time Stain Review 2016

One Time Stain Review 2016

We would love to hear from you if you have used One Time Wood Stain on your wood or deck. Please post a rating in the Consumer Star Ratings below. One Time Wood Stains consumer reviews below have shown issues with proper curing of the stain. We encourage you to read all the comment reviews.

If you have any pictures of your experience with One Time Wood Stain, you can add them in the comment area with a detailed description.


One Time® Wood Stain is a 100% solid stain that can be used on all types of unfinished exterior wood.  One Time® Wood Deck Stain is a proprietary acrylate resin blend that protects by penetrating into the wood cells and cross-linking into the wood. One Time® contains no solvent or water to evaporate and cures in the full UV rays of the sun.

The manufacturer claims a 7 Year Warranty on UV Fading, Water Damage, and Natural Weathering.

One Time® Wood Stain Rating (1-10)

Appearance After Initial Stain Application: 6

– One Time Wood Stain had a decent look to the finished wood. Very rich in color. We did not appreciate the drying problems that the One Time displayed. This caused a slick/sticky appearance.

Preventing UV Graying at 2 Year Mark: 6

– One Time® faded considerably in the full sun areas. About 40% of the original color had remained. The shaded part of the deck still had the stain left but unfortunately had darkened considerably.

Wear/Tear and Peeling: 8

– One Time® Stain showed little to no peeling or wearing. This is the only claim by the manufacturer that actually lived up to its warranty.

One Time Turned Black

One Time Turned Black

Cost Per Square Foot: 3

– One Time® promised coverage per square foot to be 2-3 times better-spread rate than conventional stains. We did not get those results. Coverage was closer to 200 square feet per gallon on the 7-year-old cedar deck.  At $84.99 per gallon, this doubled the cost of a conventional decking stain.

Preventing Mold/Mildew/Algae: 5

– The deck had a very dark appearance in the shaded areas. On closer inspection, the One time stain had a noticeable amount of black mold. These happened to be the same areas in which we had the drying issues (see below).

Ease of Application: 6

– Applying One Time Wood Stain was fairly easy. The problem was the drying/curing of the stain. In the full sun areas, One Time® took 1-2 days to fully dry. The issue was the full shaded parts of the decking. Full curing/drying did not take place for 2-3 weeks. The manufacturer suggested that the stain was over-applied. Not sure if that was the case as the One Time® did dry in the sun.

Color Shifting (darkening) after 2 Years: 4

– One Time® Wood Stain did very poorly at the 2-year mark. The stain had turned a dark black color in the shaded areas. In the full sun areas, the One Time® Stain had faded to about 40% of what the original stain color had been.

Difficulty of Reapplication: 4

– One Time® would not be an easy product to reapply. The finish darkened in color substantially. Applying another coat would darken the appearance even more. Cleaning with a deck cleaner would not lighten the stain so a heavy-duty stain stripping would be needed.

Overall Score One Time Wood Stain at 2 Year Period: 5.25

– We were very excited to test One Time® Wood Stain and its 7-year warranty, unfortunately, One Time® did not live up to its warranty claims. One Time® failed faster than many of the other deck stains that have been reviewed. One Time® Deck Stain lost a substantial amount of color in the sunny areas and turned a dark black in the shaded areas. The 7-year warranty is limited. It states that it will “prevent” not “stop” UV fading for 7 years. A conversation with the manufacturer confirmed this point.

One Time® would have scored an “average” score if not for the warranty. The warranty claims brought our scores down. A deck stain that will last 7 years on a horizontal deck surface is not possible in our field tests.

Note: One Time® Wood Stain had been removed from the shelves in the Metro Detroit, Michigan area. When consulting with the local Ace Hardware store, the manager said it was removed due to poor sales and customer complaints with drying and not living up to its claims.

Product Information:

Where To Buy: One Time®
Cost: $89.99 per Gallon, $379.99 per 5 Gallon Pail
Stain Type: Semi-Transparent
Available Colors: Natural, Golden Honey, Red Cedar, Clover Brown, Chestnut
Coats Required: 1 Coat
Coverage Per Gallon: 250-400 sq. ft (According to Manufacturer). Actual coverage when tested was about 200 feet per gallon
Application Tools: Sprayer, Pad, Brush, Roller
Dry Time: 12-72+ Hours
Cleanup: Mineral Spirits
VOC Compliant: 250 Compliant all 50 States
Manufacturer: Bond Distributing

Test Deck Stats:

Deck Wood Type: Cedar
Deck Square Footage: 1200
UV Exposure: 50% Sun 50% Shade
How Many Years Tested: 2.5 Years
Stain Color Used: 
Red Cedar

*All products tested and results are from our experience. We offer no guarantee of similar results. Take into consideration that results may differ due to different wood types, exposure to UV radiation, and natural weathering.


Please Rate This. You may also post comments or ask questions below.

author avatar
Scott Paul ~ Restoring Wood & Decks Since 1993 Owner
As an article and comment contributor to the site, Scott has been around the pressure washing industry since attending college. In 1993 he started his first company called Oakland Pressure Wash specializing in exterior pressure washing and deck staining. That company evolved into OPW L.L.C. shortly thereafter concentrating more on exterior wood and deck restoration. Scott and his Deck Cleaning Michigan company have restored over 10,000 decks in the Metro Detroit area since the early years. He has become an authority in the deck restoration industry and has contributed to numerous wood restoration forums and informative sites. All the products he suggests through this site are sold through online sites and in retail stores, allowing the consumer to choose their own means of purchase. Scott’s eCommerce sites do sell many top brands he endorses and if you appreciate any of the help he has offered then feel free to purchase from one of them.

Related Deck Stain Help Articles & Reviews

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
162 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Jim D Fitting
Jim D Fitting
3 years ago

I used it for a new cedar deck and it was beautiful the first year but looked really bad after two years. Had to refinish and that was more difficult because it had to be sanded off before another product could be used. Drying time and conditions are ridiculous. I am surprised they still market this stuff and haven’t been sued yet.

Coreene Krawiec
Coreene Krawiec
8 months ago
Reply to  Jim D Fitting

I have cedar deck and one time is all I will use after using Sickens and cabots that both peeled up and made a big mess and lot of work finally having to sand to get it off finally found one time that soaks into the wood and has lasted 10 years on a 25 year old deck . Just now having to replace the whole floor and can’t find anyplace that sell it , so frustrating . I can order it from the company and pay a fortune in shipping chargers but I will pay that to do the new cedar boards on my deck for nothing else compares.to the look and longevity Bonds One Time

YANA
YANA
3 years ago

I will never buy this product again.
Highly overpriced product even if you compare it to most expensive similar product at Home Depot or Lowes were you have the quality guaranteed.
Misadvertised and misrepresented as a highest quality stain.
Was drying over a week on properly prepared cedar deck with an outside temperature 28 degree Celsius and after drying appeared to have uneven finish texture and staining shades on different .
I have had very unpleasant experience while dealing with this company customer service.
When I called customer service with complaint the best they can suggest was to buy more of their product to do the touch up’s.
Ridiculous!!!!

Kelly
Kelly
4 years ago

We applied one time 5 years ago on a brand new deck. We waited 6 months after installation to use it so he boards could “dry out”. It does NOT hold up to even one year of Alabama sun, shade, humidity, rain, freezes/snow. It looked good for maybe 6 months, but then you could tell the water no longer was heading up and the boards were cracking and turning black. (Turned black in both sunny and shady areas.)

The deck surrounds a pool, and is BIG. Lots and lots of lumber. Cost us over $20k to have it done. So we really wanted to protect it. Followed all instructions, let it cure for days & days. (It stayed sticky in shady spots for weeks.)

Now we are replacing many boards (about 30 2x6x16 boards) and will need to seal them but don’t know what we can use on them and the existing One Time sealed boards. I am going to use a few of the old boards and see what Thompson’s does to them… hoping we can just use that over whole deck.

Don’t buy it! Not worth the price or the headache.

Todd
Todd
5 years ago

DO NOT USE THIS PRODUCT! This product is expensive and the only reason I used it was on recommendation from a reputable local hardware store. I applied this stain on my front deck and let it “cure” for 4 days. It then rained and splattered the stain up to 2 feet high on my textured vinyl siding. I tried removing with water and several other cleaners with zero results. I then call their customer service and they told me the only thing that might remove it is Goo Gone Graffiti remover or Goof Off professional grade remover. This somewhat worked after applying multiple coats and scrubbing, but it ruined my siding in the process. I have darker blotches that are shiny from trying to remove it. I took pictures before and after and sent it to them and contacted them several times. THEY DO NOT STAND BEHIND THEIR PRODUCT!

Tammy
Tammy
7 years ago

Do NOT use this stain!!! I can not emphasize enough.
We invested over $700 to refinish our deck and fence. After power washing, we removed each board and planed it, then we sanded each one. We wanted to do it right. We purchased One Time, hoping it would last the 7 years it says.
I wish I could attach photos. The guarantee says they will refund if more than 10% fading. In less than a year we had 70 to 80% fading. After going back and forth with a representative for two months, I was told they would not stand behind their product. They have not given me a concrete reason why they are not standing behind their product. The owner is suppose to call me however, I have not heard from her/him.

Elsa
Elsa
4 years ago

We have a 500 square-foot deck that was new in 2010. We use one time stain, to Different colors, natural on the flat surfaces and around the railings and posts. It did take almost 2 weeks to dry however our deck faces north so Get a tremendous amount of sun all day. All in all we were very happy with the results. Now in 2019 we are planning to re-apply. We did power wash lightly And now we’re waiting for the rain to stop. I don’t understand all of the negative feedback and I am seeing a lot of it but this was not our experience. I will follow up after our second application.

Jake
Jake
4 years ago
Reply to  Elsa

Hi Elsa. I have put down one time natural color on a 4000 sq/ft deck. I pre-finished each board before I installed them. It turned out quite impressive. Almost 4 years later I just got a call from the owner and he wants me to refinish it. I haven’t seen the deck since. Did you have any luck refinishing the deck with one time?

Coreene Krawiec
Coreene Krawiec
8 months ago
Reply to  Elsa

Thats been my experience as well Elsa, it’s the best stain and sealer for cedar .It does take longer to dry unless it’s in full hot sun but well worth the little inconvenience. of waiting for it to completely cure

Jim
Jim
2 months ago

I did on mine

Marko
Marko
10 months ago

Since I had a mixed experience, on mixed wood, I thought I’d add my 2 cents’ worth…
About 6 year ago I replaced 7 planks of my cedar deck in NW Oregon after pressure washing the whole thing. The other 17 were 16 years old at the time and I’m just replacing them this Summer.

I was fairly happy with the application process. The smell didn’t bother me at all and I loved the fact that I could put the tools in a dark basement and they would still be wet when I came back 2 or 3 days later. The curing is definitely faster where there is direct sun, but even the shady spots were cured in a couple of weeks.

Now as to the longevity: The older & rougher planks definitely absorbed the product better and still look to be protected after 6 years, with perhaps 50-60 percent of the original darkness. The rough-hewn vertical balusters for the railing still look REALLY good… Those 7 NEW deck planks are another story. Despite my patience in applying slowly & as fully as possible, their color was shot long before 5 years and at 6 they are all quite splotchy – you can feel where there is still product in the darker areas and just wood in the silvery areas.

So I guess my advice is that with weathered wood that is still in good structural shape this product might be something that gets you out of the 2, MAYBE 3 year, cycle I had with an ostensibly-good oil stain like SuperDeck (and that was in a much friendlier environment in the Bay Area… With new wood going down now, though, I am not buying this $90/gallon stuff this time. I’ll either sand or pressure-wash the previous 7 new planks and go with the best oil-base stain I can find.

Bob Erickson
Bob Erickson
1 year ago

After using 3 different regular deck stains every two years because of the poor appearance I decided to try one time. I had to strip all the old sealers off first per the instructions. The clove brown sealer looked beautiful. I did have some curing problems but I believe that was due to not getting all the old products off completely. That application lasted a good five years before I thought it had faded enough to reapply. This is the thing I like most about one time. You only need to clean the deck and reapply and it took less product to do it the second time. I agree that it is expensive, but not having to reapply a product every two years is worth it to me. My deck is cedar and my neighbor installed his deck at the same time and used regular deck stain over the years. He had it torn it out due to rotting 5 years ago. I’m going on 20 years! I have had to replace some boards and will need to again this year, but I have no trouble recommending the product. I also have not experienced any skin problems or think the smell is all that bad. I don’t think it is a great as the manufacturer states (7 years is probably in some ideal situation) but it works for me.

Charles
Charles
1 year ago

After I make my purchase, how long will it take you to deliver the product to my front door?
Thanks in advance.

Kathy Palmer
Kathy Palmer
1 year ago

This stuff rotted our wood! We had a new deck so it was new wood. It’s been awhile now (2009) and we ended up replacing almost every deck board very soon after and it continues today! Our local radio handyman endorsed it (Gary Sullivan) and we noticed he stopped doing that. Don’t know if they quit sponsoring him or he realized how bad it was for himself. Would steer everyone away from it if asked for a recommendation.

Kristi DuBois
Kristi DuBois
1 year ago

I see this is an old thread, but since this product still seems to be available I decided to comment on it. We used this on redwood when we replaced the wood on our deck about 10 years ago. If I had known how bad the chemical smell was, I would have used something else. Our deck gets full sun so it should have cured out quickly, but the chemical odor lasted at least 2 years from what I recall. Even after a year, the color would still rub off on your hand if you touched it, so I was afraid to let my dog out on the deck, let alone go out there in bare feet. It did look beautiful for 2-3 years, but I decided to never use it again because of the terrible chemical smell and the way it rubs off. It has now been 10 years since we applied it, and we have neglected our deck during that time. Most of the One Time stain has weathered off, and I now have to decide what to replace it with. I am hesitant to use a deck cleaner, as our deck is on the 2nd floor above a door into our walk-in basement, so any cleaners would end up down where we and our dog walk and spend time. This will be a painful re-do for sure, but I hated One Time and will never use it on a deck again. This stuff is not safe to be used on surfaces used by people and pets. I am amazed it is still on the market, as it is very nasty stuff. I am hoping I can just cover the remaining spots of it over with a water-based product to get us by until we can afford to replace the deck with a composite material that is more fire-resistant.

Kristi DuBois
Kristi DuBois
1 year ago

What do I use to strip it? I was going to try a little sanding, and if that worked rent a larger sander for a day. I do hate the thought of the sanding, due to dust.

peter
peter
1 year ago

If your deck is on the ground with no air circulation, i think you will have trouble no matter what, that is a moisture thing that stain cannot solve, unless you remove boards and recoat both sides. Even that still has limits. If bottom of boards are wet , you have a different issue, my deck is 4 feet off ground so lots of circulation. air circulation is the key to any deck lasting. if it is super wet you likely need a petrifier of some sort.

peter
peter
1 year ago

I saw a couple of reviews that say rain caused it to splatter. It should not be put on so it can splatter, it should be spread out so that it alll soaks in. Yes it will look wet, but should not splatter. basically apply so it does not puddle. you don’t need too much to cover. i have used this for awhile now on my second coat after initial 6 year coat, Ya it had faded, what do you expect same color forever, even paint doesn’t do that. I have a total shade area and a total sun area , both applied great, the sun area gets a lot of stuff drag around so the deck got scraped which was main reason for recoating in 6th year. also we wanted a refresh on color. super easy to recoat. Yes dry time can be long in total shade ares. ours took between 1 and two weeks, cottage so was only there on weekends, second weekend it was dry. Now it can look wet when it is actually dry. As long as a tiny bit will rub off on your shoes but does not affect the surface. just don’t wear your shoes in the house in case. after walking and using the shaded parts it started to look just like the sun area. It is really only a powder kind of stuff that can rub off. this usually means too much stain was applied, a thin coat is all that is required. Don’t try to darken by pooling stain, that just causes issues. I am totally satisfied with this stain and will buy nothing else. I live in canada and we have a lot of sun in summer and a lot of snow in winter, no issues with the stain. so, so easy to recoat once every 6 or 7 year. We also used it on our rough cut cedar siding, a bit of a pain to put on with brushes, cause it drips down the brush and your hand. that was done 7 maybe 8 years ago , still good. Total shade in back wall of house still looks same as when we put it on. Front is full sun and starting to fade a bit.
Shoulda used a sprayer, reaching up to apply result in drip onto hands. Live and learn.

I had some original stain left from first use and reused the leftover 6 years later, good as new. keep sealed in dark and will not change. same with brushes, just wrap up in green garbage bag and wait for next use, beauty.

Susan Carson
Susan Carson
1 year ago

I have One Time left from previous applications 2-3 years ago. There is clumping in the container. I called the company asking what to do. No answer yet

Susan Carson
Susan Carson
1 year ago

Thank you

JB Williamson
JB Williamson
2 years ago

I’ve used One Step for 20+ years after wasting $ on Thompsons. I had 2 houses on the Texas gulf coast, both waterfront. Each deck exposed to a brutal sun, but the One Step was still good after 6 years, when we bought another house. The deck was still looking great when hurricane Ike came thru along with a 7 foot storm surge. The boat deck was gone, but the upper deck still looked great.

So we bought a house in the Texas hill country which is a semi arid climate. In 19 years I applied One Step twice. Summer Temps 95-100 almost every day and very little rain. We’ve been in drought conditions for the past few years. Until this February when the temperature was around 6 degrees for a few days, then a very wet spring.

It’s fine for some more One Step so bought another 5 gallons. Probably won’t apply until October.

I won’t use anything else!

Barbara I Berwick
Barbara I Berwick
2 years ago

I used it 11 years ago and the deck still looks good. It doesn’t prevent mold, but it does keep its color. It’s faded now, but no peeling, and overall looks okay. I’m here because I’m wondering why it isn’t more popular and I am unsure how much it protects. Looking good and protecting from water damage are not the same thing. It doesn’t make water bead on the boards, but I don’t know if that proves anything. Every other products wants you to redo it every year or 2 at the max and they don’t seem to even work well. redoing a large deck is a lot of work, which I prefer not to have to do. I did think this was expensive, but I got one 5 gallon bucket, did the whole deck which is really big (and still have some left over) it never goes bad if you keep it out of the sun. The shaded places did take a long time to cure, as it really does need uv light to cure. After reading all the reviews, I’m wondering if this is a legit site or just a push site for TWP. Either way, I thought I should give my experience.

Margaret
Margaret
3 years ago

Where can I buy this? I live in Columbia, SC. Also can it be ordered and shipped.

Wes
Wes
3 years ago

I am about to apply this product to my treated lumber deck for the third time in thirteen years. So prior applications lasted 6-7 years. In fact I would have waited another year if I wasn’t putting my house on the market. The deck still looks nice but it will look better with a fresh coat. The last time I put it on with an airless sprayer and the coverage was even greater than the manufacturer claimed. But, I had to wear a mask because it burned my nostrils. My deck is on the south side of my home so lots of sun and I had no drying problems to speak of. I am extremely pleased with the long lasting minimal fading Bonds Clove Brown deck stain. Yes we get algae in areas shaded by deck furniture and so does every other deck. For best results pick a time to apply with a couple days of full sun in the summer.

Marie C
Marie C
3 years ago

Surprised to see recent negative reviews on OneTime. We have lived in our home with deck for 15 years. When we moved in, the deck was 2 years old and we had to strip the cheap peeling stain and applied OneTime, and have used it probably 2 more times since, every few years, whenever we thought the color was looking dull. The first time we applied a couple of coats, because even when the wood was 2 years old, the old stain had not prevented the wood from drying and cracking in the sun and we really wanted to saturate and preserve the wood. We had no intention of letting the deck go to disrepair, or the funds to replace it. So yes it took time to cure, but we didn’t care. We have used it twice since and found it didn’t take as much because we gave it as much as would soak in and it had sealed. We have never had peeling, just a little algae in the shade. We haven’t done it for a number of years, so I hope they haven’t changed it! (One of my brothers used to coat his deck with something else almost yearly to preserve its new look.) Our deck is in full sun and low to the ground, so after all these years in full sun our boards are aging, we have cupping and drying, and we haven’t stained for about 5 years as we are less able. We have been reluctant to try something else because reviews say they all peel.

marj
marj
4 years ago

I used on a new front deck and did not have to replace it for 8 years. I cleaned the deck with vinegar before I did it the second time. It does cure differently in the shade but I love it. Sure beats removing old stain and redoing every year and still have your deck not look so good.

Kim
Kim
4 years ago

We will apply One Time to our deck this summer for the 4th time, each time 5 years after the previous. Sure, 5 years is not 7, but we have been very happy with the product. In fact, after 25 years at another house with another deck and another stain, not to mention observing the decks of neighbors, I should say we are EXTREMELY happy by comparison. I especially like the fact that One Time penetrates the wood (if applied properly) and will never flake off. That means that the surface will eventually degrade in UV light, and that cannot be helped, but it also means that it never needs to be stripped for reapplication. Some of those commenting below seem to expect stain to never fade, prevent decay, bead water forever, etc. These are unreasonable expectations. Read the directions and start with new wood. If you have already applied one of those stains that is more properly called “thin paint,” then just become reconciled to maintenance headaches. Incidentally, One Time will “dry” (actually polymerize) out of direct sunlight, but it takes time. And we had one instance of rain 3 days after application with no ill effects.

Kim
Kim
4 years ago
Reply to  Kim

I should add that new wood needs to weather for quite a long time before One Time should be applied, and I suggest a year. The surface fibers on newly milled wood are compressed, and the stain will not soak in. Incidentally, the only reason we are putting a new coat on this year is that the deck is worn where the grill gets moved around. The rest of it still looks very nice after five years.

Robert Deavers
Robert Deavers
4 years ago

Mom want to protect the 4ft×20ft bridge built over her fish pond and I recommended One Time Wood, hearing Gary Sullivan raving about it. Well, 2 years after having it applied, it needs to be redone and she’s asking me, what else she can have applied to the bridge, seeing how One Time Wood did not hold up to its claim. My response, something that doesn’t cost you 100.00 a gal, if you’ll have to do it every couple of years anyway.

Cedar man
Cedar man
4 years ago

Love OneTime stain on smooth cedar Used on 50 year old cedar home. 5000 sq feet done not one problem or complaint. Does lighten over time to show natural wood grain.

Ken Karas
Ken Karas
4 years ago

I had liked the product for various reasons over the last 8 years. However, it hasn’t ended up protecting like it’s supposed to.

It’s never been great at repelling water like it should. I have a constant problem with algae that has to be cleaned off. And, worst of all, now wood is starting to rot.

This spring, I had to replace 3 boards that suddenly fell apart. Now in early fall, I’ve noticed 2 more 12 foot boards that suddenly caved in. Right in the center portions of the boards. Clearly has not protected the wood. And I’ve applied this 3 times over the years as they said you can, to keep up the color and protection.

Coral Rix
Coral Rix
4 years ago

We were pushed to this product by a Rona employee.
At twice the cost of any others.
He was a good salesman.
I’ll give him that.

Henry
Henry
4 years ago

I’m looking for a deck stain for my 8 year old cedar deck in southern Maine. I previously used One Time on it and it didn’t hold up well. It cracked/peeled and had moldy areas. It’s a large deck some parts don’t get much direct sun and other parts do. I’ve applied a bleach solution to it and pressure washed it.

Georgette Hillenbrand
Georgette Hillenbrand
4 years ago

My deck is 33 years old. From the time it was built I have maintained it yearly. After 25 years of stripping and resealing I was ready to replace with a composite surface until I heard about One Time on Gary Sullivan’s radio show. I researched and decided to use it. Once again I stripped my deck, NOT WITH A PRESSURE WASHER, and applied One Time.
My deck gets full sun maybe four hours a day so it took a little while to cure. I expected that because I read the directions. Once completely dry it was beautiful. Did it lighten a bit? Yes, but it never turned gray.
Six summers I washed my deck with sudsy water, nothing else. This summer I super scrubbed it with a very sturdy deck brush (NO PRESSURE WASHER!)to get the dirt out. (I have 3 dogs.) I reapplied One Time. I was careful not to over apply the product. In fact reapplication took only half as much as the original application. It is darker now, I used Clove Brown, but my wood looks great. Also, it took longer to cure this time, but with all the rain we received this spring and early summer that was understandable.
My deck looks wonderful and people can’t believe it’s as old as it is.
I don’t know if pressure treated wood is different now, but I would never tell anyone to pressure wash their deck to remove a stain. Use a good stripper and a sturdy deck brush. Your wood will thank you.

What happens to steam if rain occurs after 24 hour
What happens to steam if rain occurs after 24 hour
4 years ago

What happens to stain if rain occurs after 24 hours?

how soon is it dry to touch
how soon is it dry to touch
4 years ago

how soon is it dry to touch?

James Farley
James Farley
4 years ago

I have used One Time since it’s inception. I love it and my customers love it. This stain has it’s limitations, however, and there are decks and structures that you cannot use it on. If there is shade on any area of the deck, it will not cure for a long time, if ever. This product reacts with the sun and melts into the wood. It will even breakdown plastic. But just like TSP, it doesn’t seem caustic but it sure is. Wear gloves and protect your skin and eyes. This stain prevents mold from growing in the cracks of wood which ruins the wood and splits it. I have used this product on many exterior projects including oak, untreated pine, and mahogany with flawless results. However, I would never apply this stain to any surface that has been previously treated or does not get full sun. Does not matter how much stripping or sanding you do. This should only be used on wood that has never been treated and applied to new or thoroughly cleaned wood along with bleaching products to kill existing mold. I brush this product on because that’s the way it is intended to be applied. That’s right, get a little rolling stool and knee pads and get to work. A stain pad can be used but I still brush it into the wood immediately. You don’t roll or spray it on, period. It will puddle and not cure properly.
I build decks and have been painting professionally for 30 years. This product holds it’s color for years and, more importantly, it prevents mold from getting into the wood and destroying it. If you have a new or untreated wood deck and full sun over 90% of the deck, this is a great product for you. I hate staining decks. I hate cleaning decks. But I hate repairing decks even more. That’s why I use this product when I can.

S J
S J
5 years ago

Can I apply One Time wood preservative over water based wood stain?

162
0
Questions or leave a review, please comment!x