One Time Wood Stain Review 3.4/5 (101)

This post was updated on January 19, 2022

One Time Wood Stain Review 2022

One Time Stain Review 2016

One Time Stain Review 2016

We would love to hear from you if you have used One Time Wood Stain on your wood or deck. Please post a rating in the Consumer Star Ratings below. One Time Wood Stains consumer reviews below have shown issues with proper curing of the stain. We encourage you to read all the comment reviews.

If you have any pictures of your experience with One Time Wood Stain, you can add them in the comment area with a detailed description.


One Time® Wood Stain is a 100% solid stain that can be used on all types of unfinished exterior wood.  One Time® Wood Deck Stain is a proprietary acrylate resin blend that protects by penetrating into the wood cells and cross-linking into the wood. One Time® contains no solvent or water to evaporate and cures in the full UV rays of the sun.

The manufacturer claims a 7 Year Warranty on UV Fading, Water Damage, and Natural Weathering.

One Time® Wood Stain Rating (1-10)

Appearance After Initial Stain Application: 6

– One Time Wood Stain had a decent look to the finished wood. Very rich in color. We did not appreciate the drying problems that the One Time displayed. This caused a slick/sticky appearance.

Preventing UV Graying at 2 Year Mark: 6

– One Time® faded considerably in the full sun areas. About 40% of the original color had remained. The shaded part of the deck still had the stain left but unfortunately had darkened considerably.

Wear/Tear and Peeling: 8

– One Time® Stain showed little to no peeling or wearing. This is the only claim by the manufacturer that actually lived up to its warranty.

One Time Turned Black

One Time Turned Black

Cost Per Square Foot: 3

– One Time® promised coverage per square foot to be 2-3 times better-spread rate than conventional stains. We did not get those results. Coverage was closer to 200 square feet per gallon on the 7-year-old cedar deck.  At $84.99 per gallon, this doubled the cost of a conventional decking stain.

Preventing Mold/Mildew/Algae: 5

– The deck had a very dark appearance in the shaded areas. On closer inspection, the One time stain had a noticeable amount of black mold. These happened to be the same areas in which we had the drying issues (see below).

Ease of Application: 6

– Applying One Time Wood Stain was fairly easy. The problem was the drying/curing of the stain. In the full sun areas, One Time® took 1-2 days to fully dry. The issue was the full shaded parts of the decking. Full curing/drying did not take place for 2-3 weeks. The manufacturer suggested that the stain was over-applied. Not sure if that was the case as the One Time® did dry in the sun.

Color Shifting (darkening) after 2 Years: 4

– One Time® Wood Stain did very poorly at the 2-year mark. The stain had turned a dark black color in the shaded areas. In the full sun areas, the One Time® Stain had faded to about 40% of what the original stain color had been.

Difficulty of Reapplication: 4

– One Time® would not be an easy product to reapply. The finish darkened in color substantially. Applying another coat would darken the appearance even more. Cleaning with a deck cleaner would not lighten the stain so a heavy-duty stain stripping would be needed.

Overall Score One Time Wood Stain at 2 Year Period: 5.25

– We were very excited to test One Time® Wood Stain and its 7-year warranty, unfortunately, One Time® did not live up to its warranty claims. One Time® failed faster than many of the other deck stains that have been reviewed. One Time® Deck Stain lost a substantial amount of color in the sunny areas and turned a dark black in the shaded areas. The 7-year warranty is limited. It states that it will “prevent” not “stop” UV fading for 7 years. A conversation with the manufacturer confirmed this point.

One Time® would have scored an “average” score if not for the warranty. The warranty claims brought our scores down. A deck stain that will last 7 years on a horizontal deck surface is not possible in our field tests.

Note: One Time® Wood Stain had been removed from the shelves in the Metro Detroit, Michigan area. When consulting with the local Ace Hardware store, the manager said it was removed due to poor sales and customer complaints with drying and not living up to its claims.

Product Information:

Where To Buy: One Time®
Cost: $89.99 per Gallon, $379.99 per 5 Gallon Pail
Stain Type: Semi-Transparent
Available Colors: Natural, Golden Honey, Red Cedar, Clover Brown, Chestnut
Coats Required: 1 Coat
Coverage Per Gallon: 250-400 sq. ft (According to Manufacturer). Actual coverage when tested was about 200 feet per gallon
Application Tools: Sprayer, Pad, Brush, Roller
Dry Time: 12-72+ Hours
Cleanup: Mineral Spirits
VOC Compliant: 250 Compliant all 50 States
Manufacturer: Bond Distributing

Test Deck Stats:

Deck Wood Type: Cedar
Deck Square Footage: 1200
UV Exposure: 50% Sun 50% Shade
How Many Years Tested: 2.5 Years
Stain Color Used: 
Red Cedar

*All products tested and results are from our experience. We offer no guarantee of similar results. Take into consideration that results may differ due to different wood types, exposure to UV radiation, and natural weathering.


Please Rate This. You may also post comments or ask questions below.

Related Deck Stain Help Articles & Reviews

guest
148 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Jim D Fitting
Jim D Fitting
1 year ago

I used it for a new cedar deck and it was beautiful the first year but looked really bad after two years. Had to refinish and that was more difficult because it had to be sanded off before another product could be used. Drying time and conditions are ridiculous. I am surprised they still market this stuff and haven’t been sued yet.

YANA
YANA
1 year ago

I will never buy this product again.
Highly overpriced product even if you compare it to most expensive similar product at Home Depot or Lowes were you have the quality guaranteed.
Misadvertised and misrepresented as a highest quality stain.
Was drying over a week on properly prepared cedar deck with an outside temperature 28 degree Celsius and after drying appeared to have uneven finish texture and staining shades on different .
I have had very unpleasant experience while dealing with this company customer service.
When I called customer service with complaint the best they can suggest was to buy more of their product to do the touch up’s.
Ridiculous!!!!

Kelly
Kelly
3 years ago

We applied one time 5 years ago on a brand new deck. We waited 6 months after installation to use it so he boards could “dry out”. It does NOT hold up to even one year of Alabama sun, shade, humidity, rain, freezes/snow. It looked good for maybe 6 months, but then you could tell the water no longer was heading up and the boards were cracking and turning black. (Turned black in both sunny and shady areas.)

The deck surrounds a pool, and is BIG. Lots and lots of lumber. Cost us over $20k to have it done. So we really wanted to protect it. Followed all instructions, let it cure for days & days. (It stayed sticky in shady spots for weeks.)

Now we are replacing many boards (about 30 2x6x16 boards) and will need to seal them but don’t know what we can use on them and the existing One Time sealed boards. I am going to use a few of the old boards and see what Thompson’s does to them… hoping we can just use that over whole deck.

Don’t buy it! Not worth the price or the headache.

Todd
Todd
3 years ago

DO NOT USE THIS PRODUCT! This product is expensive and the only reason I used it was on recommendation from a reputable local hardware store. I applied this stain on my front deck and let it “cure” for 4 days. It then rained and splattered the stain up to 2 feet high on my textured vinyl siding. I tried removing with water and several other cleaners with zero results. I then call their customer service and they told me the only thing that might remove it is Goo Gone Graffiti remover or Goof Off professional grade remover. This somewhat worked after applying multiple coats and scrubbing, but it ruined my siding in the process. I have darker blotches that are shiny from trying to remove it. I took pictures before and after and sent it to them and contacted them several times. THEY DO NOT STAND BEHIND THEIR PRODUCT!

Tammy
Tammy
5 years ago

Do NOT use this stain!!! I can not emphasize enough.
We invested over $700 to refinish our deck and fence. After power washing, we removed each board and planed it, then we sanded each one. We wanted to do it right. We purchased One Time, hoping it would last the 7 years it says.
I wish I could attach photos. The guarantee says they will refund if more than 10% fading. In less than a year we had 70 to 80% fading. After going back and forth with a representative for two months, I was told they would not stand behind their product. They have not given me a concrete reason why they are not standing behind their product. The owner is suppose to call me however, I have not heard from her/him.

Elsa
Elsa
2 years ago

We have a 500 square-foot deck that was new in 2010. We use one time stain, to Different colors, natural on the flat surfaces and around the railings and posts. It did take almost 2 weeks to dry however our deck faces north so Get a tremendous amount of sun all day. All in all we were very happy with the results. Now in 2019 we are planning to re-apply. We did power wash lightly And now we’re waiting for the rain to stop. I don’t understand all of the negative feedback and I am seeing a lot of it but this was not our experience. I will follow up after our second application.

Jake
Jake
2 years ago
Reply to  Elsa

Hi Elsa. I have put down one time natural color on a 4000 sq/ft deck. I pre-finished each board before I installed them. It turned out quite impressive. Almost 4 years later I just got a call from the owner and he wants me to refinish it. I haven’t seen the deck since. Did you have any luck refinishing the deck with one time?

Susan Carson
Susan Carson
1 day ago

I have One Time left from previous applications 2-3 years ago. There is clumping in the container. I called the company asking what to do. No answer yet

Susan Carson
Susan Carson
18 hours ago

Thank you

JB Williamson
JB Williamson
9 months ago

I’ve used One Step for 20+ years after wasting $ on Thompsons. I had 2 houses on the Texas gulf coast, both waterfront. Each deck exposed to a brutal sun, but the One Step was still good after 6 years, when we bought another house. The deck was still looking great when hurricane Ike came thru along with a 7 foot storm surge. The boat deck was gone, but the upper deck still looked great.

So we bought a house in the Texas hill country which is a semi arid climate. In 19 years I applied One Step twice. Summer Temps 95-100 almost every day and very little rain. We’ve been in drought conditions for the past few years. Until this February when the temperature was around 6 degrees for a few days, then a very wet spring.

It’s fine for some more One Step so bought another 5 gallons. Probably won’t apply until October.

I won’t use anything else!

Barbara I Berwick
Barbara I Berwick
10 months ago

I used it 11 years ago and the deck still looks good. It doesn’t prevent mold, but it does keep its color. It’s faded now, but no peeling, and overall looks okay. I’m here because I’m wondering why it isn’t more popular and I am unsure how much it protects. Looking good and protecting from water damage are not the same thing. It doesn’t make water bead on the boards, but I don’t know if that proves anything. Every other products wants you to redo it every year or 2 at the max and they don’t seem to even work well. redoing a large deck is a lot of work, which I prefer not to have to do. I did think this was expensive, but I got one 5 gallon bucket, did the whole deck which is really big (and still have some left over) it never goes bad if you keep it out of the sun. The shaded places did take a long time to cure, as it really does need uv light to cure. After reading all the reviews, I’m wondering if this is a legit site or just a push site for TWP. Either way, I thought I should give my experience.

Margaret
Margaret
1 year ago

Where can I buy this? I live in Columbia, SC. Also can it be ordered and shipped.

Wes
Wes
1 year ago

I am about to apply this product to my treated lumber deck for the third time in thirteen years. So prior applications lasted 6-7 years. In fact I would have waited another year if I wasn’t putting my house on the market. The deck still looks nice but it will look better with a fresh coat. The last time I put it on with an airless sprayer and the coverage was even greater than the manufacturer claimed. But, I had to wear a mask because it burned my nostrils. My deck is on the south side of my home so lots of sun and I had no drying problems to speak of. I am extremely pleased with the long lasting minimal fading Bonds Clove Brown deck stain. Yes we get algae in areas shaded by deck furniture and so does every other deck. For best results pick a time to apply with a couple days of full sun in the summer.

Marie C
Marie C
2 years ago

Surprised to see recent negative reviews on OneTime. We have lived in our home with deck for 15 years. When we moved in, the deck was 2 years old and we had to strip the cheap peeling stain and applied OneTime, and have used it probably 2 more times since, every few years, whenever we thought the color was looking dull. The first time we applied a couple of coats, because even when the wood was 2 years old, the old stain had not prevented the wood from drying and cracking in the sun and we really wanted to saturate and preserve the wood. We had no intention of letting the deck go to disrepair, or the funds to replace it. So yes it took time to cure, but we didn’t care. We have used it twice since and found it didn’t take as much because we gave it as much as would soak in and it had sealed. We have never had peeling, just a little algae in the shade. We haven’t done it for a number of years, so I hope they haven’t changed it! (One of my brothers used to coat his deck with something else almost yearly to preserve its new look.) Our deck is in full sun and low to the ground, so after all these years in full sun our boards are aging, we have cupping and drying, and we haven’t stained for about 5 years as we are less able. We have been reluctant to try something else because reviews say they all peel.

marj
marj
2 years ago

I used on a new front deck and did not have to replace it for 8 years. I cleaned the deck with vinegar before I did it the second time. It does cure differently in the shade but I love it. Sure beats removing old stain and redoing every year and still have your deck not look so good.

Kim
Kim
2 years ago

We will apply One Time to our deck this summer for the 4th time, each time 5 years after the previous. Sure, 5 years is not 7, but we have been very happy with the product. In fact, after 25 years at another house with another deck and another stain, not to mention observing the decks of neighbors, I should say we are EXTREMELY happy by comparison. I especially like the fact that One Time penetrates the wood (if applied properly) and will never flake off. That means that the surface will eventually degrade in UV light, and that cannot be helped, but it also means that it never needs to be stripped for reapplication. Some of those commenting below seem to expect stain to never fade, prevent decay, bead water forever, etc. These are unreasonable expectations. Read the directions and start with new wood. If you have already applied one of those stains that is more properly called “thin paint,” then just become reconciled to maintenance headaches. Incidentally, One Time will “dry” (actually polymerize) out of direct sunlight, but it takes time. And we had one instance of rain 3 days after application with no ill effects.

Kim
Kim
2 years ago
Reply to  Kim

I should add that new wood needs to weather for quite a long time before One Time should be applied, and I suggest a year. The surface fibers on newly milled wood are compressed, and the stain will not soak in. Incidentally, the only reason we are putting a new coat on this year is that the deck is worn where the grill gets moved around. The rest of it still looks very nice after five years.

Robert Deavers
Robert Deavers
2 years ago

Mom want to protect the 4ft×20ft bridge built over her fish pond and I recommended One Time Wood, hearing Gary Sullivan raving about it. Well, 2 years after having it applied, it needs to be redone and she’s asking me, what else she can have applied to the bridge, seeing how One Time Wood did not hold up to its claim. My response, something that doesn’t cost you 100.00 a gal, if you’ll have to do it every couple of years anyway.

Cedar man
Cedar man
2 years ago

Love OneTime stain on smooth cedar Used on 50 year old cedar home. 5000 sq feet done not one problem or complaint. Does lighten over time to show natural wood grain.

Ken Karas
Ken Karas
2 years ago

I had liked the product for various reasons over the last 8 years. However, it hasn’t ended up protecting like it’s supposed to.

It’s never been great at repelling water like it should. I have a constant problem with algae that has to be cleaned off. And, worst of all, now wood is starting to rot.

This spring, I had to replace 3 boards that suddenly fell apart. Now in early fall, I’ve noticed 2 more 12 foot boards that suddenly caved in. Right in the center portions of the boards. Clearly has not protected the wood. And I’ve applied this 3 times over the years as they said you can, to keep up the color and protection.

Coral Rix
Coral Rix
2 years ago

We were pushed to this product by a Rona employee.
At twice the cost of any others.
He was a good salesman.
I’ll give him that.

Henry
Henry
2 years ago

I’m looking for a deck stain for my 8 year old cedar deck in southern Maine. I previously used One Time on it and it didn’t hold up well. It cracked/peeled and had moldy areas. It’s a large deck some parts don’t get much direct sun and other parts do. I’ve applied a bleach solution to it and pressure washed it.

Georgette Hillenbrand
Georgette Hillenbrand
2 years ago

My deck is 33 years old. From the time it was built I have maintained it yearly. After 25 years of stripping and resealing I was ready to replace with a composite surface until I heard about One Time on Gary Sullivan’s radio show. I researched and decided to use it. Once again I stripped my deck, NOT WITH A PRESSURE WASHER, and applied One Time.
My deck gets full sun maybe four hours a day so it took a little while to cure. I expected that because I read the directions. Once completely dry it was beautiful. Did it lighten a bit? Yes, but it never turned gray.
Six summers I washed my deck with sudsy water, nothing else. This summer I super scrubbed it with a very sturdy deck brush (NO PRESSURE WASHER!)to get the dirt out. (I have 3 dogs.) I reapplied One Time. I was careful not to over apply the product. In fact reapplication took only half as much as the original application. It is darker now, I used Clove Brown, but my wood looks great. Also, it took longer to cure this time, but with all the rain we received this spring and early summer that was understandable.
My deck looks wonderful and people can’t believe it’s as old as it is.
I don’t know if pressure treated wood is different now, but I would never tell anyone to pressure wash their deck to remove a stain. Use a good stripper and a sturdy deck brush. Your wood will thank you.

What happens to steam if rain occurs after 24 hour
What happens to steam if rain occurs after 24 hour
2 years ago

What happens to stain if rain occurs after 24 hours?

how soon is it dry to touch
how soon is it dry to touch
2 years ago

how soon is it dry to touch?

James Farley
James Farley
3 years ago

I have used One Time since it’s inception. I love it and my customers love it. This stain has it’s limitations, however, and there are decks and structures that you cannot use it on. If there is shade on any area of the deck, it will not cure for a long time, if ever. This product reacts with the sun and melts into the wood. It will even breakdown plastic. But just like TSP, it doesn’t seem caustic but it sure is. Wear gloves and protect your skin and eyes. This stain prevents mold from growing in the cracks of wood which ruins the wood and splits it. I have used this product on many exterior projects including oak, untreated pine, and mahogany with flawless results. However, I would never apply this stain to any surface that has been previously treated or does not get full sun. Does not matter how much stripping or sanding you do. This should only be used on wood that has never been treated and applied to new or thoroughly cleaned wood along with bleaching products to kill existing mold. I brush this product on because that’s the way it is intended to be applied. That’s right, get a little rolling stool and knee pads and get to work. A stain pad can be used but I still brush it into the wood immediately. You don’t roll or spray it on, period. It will puddle and not cure properly.
I build decks and have been painting professionally for 30 years. This product holds it’s color for years and, more importantly, it prevents mold from getting into the wood and destroying it. If you have a new or untreated wood deck and full sun over 90% of the deck, this is a great product for you. I hate staining decks. I hate cleaning decks. But I hate repairing decks even more. That’s why I use this product when I can.

S J
S J
3 years ago

Can I apply One Time wood preservative over water based wood stain?

Todd
Todd
3 years ago

I stripped my deck, waited two weeks then applied One Time redwood colored stain as per directions. It had 3.5 days of sun shine to cure. It then rained and splattered my light colored vinyl siding about 2 feet high across the whole deck and off to the sides with the stain. So far, the only thing that will remove it is graffiti strength Goof Off. The texturing on the siding is making it time consuming to say the least. I called the company and all I was told is that they can’t verify that I applied it correctly and to use the goof off. I would never recommend this product to anyone.

Greg
Greg
3 years ago

Is it legal to buy and use this stuff in Santa Barbara County, California?

Steve
Steve
3 years ago

I used this product on some cedar chairs for outside use. This product is WAY over rated. Hardly worth the $90 per gallon. I thought if this stuff is that expensive, its got to be good. Oh well, I learned my lesson.

Greg
Greg
3 years ago

Anybody have a bad physical reaction to this?

David
David
3 years ago
Reply to  Greg

Yes i did rash on my arms soreness on lips it happen twice

Greg
Greg
3 years ago
Reply to  David

Thanks David. I got really jacked up from this poison.

Nathan Morse
Nathan Morse
3 years ago
Reply to  Greg

Terrible, eyelids badly chemical burned to the point of scabs 3 days later. Arms look like i rolled in poison ivy. Went completely blind while applying and had to get s full face respirator on. I paint professionally and have used xylene, oil, shellac, all manner of stains and urethanes. This is the most caustic chemical ive ever touched. I can rub my arms down with laquer thinner, xylene, gas etc and it isn’t even in the same ballpark.- professional paint company owner years. DON’T USE THIS! And a helper had to go home so want just me.

Nathan Morse
Nathan Morse
3 years ago
Reply to  Nathan Morse

This is after 3 days of healing. Eyelids were very chemical burnt it was just from the fumes. Mostly applied with airless but brushing and rolling was awful as well. For a 0 voc product ive never seen something kill the grass and humans skin cells so quickly. And why thin with mineral spirits if not solvent based? Either way i hope nobody uses this.

15584048223217187041082748046184.jpg
15584048695997351880365362129994.jpg
Melissa Mason
Melissa Mason
2 years ago
Reply to  Greg

Yes. My soon is experiencing a chemical burn from this currently

20190710_121401.jpg
mike humphrey
mike humphrey
3 years ago

I live in Wisconsin and I used the red cedar one time deck stain the first time I stained our deck (16×36)&(10×10) it turned out very nice and lasted about 8-9 years. The deck gets sun for a few hours in the morning then a few more hours as the sun sets due to 3 large maple trees next to the deck. Last month I cleaned the decks and railings with a pressure washer replaced a few deck boards due to being bad from a hot tub that use to be on the deck. I purchased 4 gallons of the one time to restain the deck. I used a partial gallon I had left over from the 1st time I stained the deck on the railings and spindles, Than I used the 4 gallons I just bought on the 16×36 deck boards and ran out just short of completing that deck. went back to the store and bought another gallon and used that one on the 10×10 the next day. After all 3 dried the railings and the 10×10 look like new but the main deck 16×36 looks real light in color and spotty. We sent an email and they asked for pictures and the lot numbers that were on all the gallons of stain. The older stain had one lot number the 4 gallons I bought had all the same lot numbers and the one gallon I bought the next day had a different lot number so that got me thinking the 4 gallons with the same lot number must be bad stain as that part of the deck I used it on looks bad but with the other 2 different lot numbers it looks good. There response was I didn’t clean the deck good enough but according to there directions if one time was the only product used before a good cleaning and you can reapply new one time. When I told them that then they changed there story that from looking at the pictures it looks like I used a different product before that’s not compatible to one time and if I want the results I’m looking for I would need to strip and resurface my deck. Will I have never used any other product and now they wont respond to any emails. Not good customer service

Rodney Godwin
Rodney Godwin
3 years ago

One time lasted 9 seasons for me in NC. Very happy with product. Using it again

Tom swanson
Tom swanson
4 years ago

I have plied. One time sealer and I do not like it. How do I remove it so I can apply a better product? Thank you

Tom Swanson
Tom Swanson
4 years ago

I put one time on my picnick table. Do not like it . Can I remove it and apply a better stain? Thank you

Enrique Hanzlik
Enrique Hanzlik
4 years ago

Who sells Bond’s One Time in Puerto Rico?

DD Lamartiniere
DD Lamartiniere
4 years ago

My husband just finished a 22′ x 22′ pressure treated pine deck. I know we need to let the wood cure several months prior to applying a protective finish to the deck. We live in Central Louisiana so we get VERY hot, dry summers and Very rainy winters. The west side of the deck has a river birch on each end and they are about 15′ tall, thus providing some shade to the deck. We were convinced One Time Wood Protector was the product for our deck. However, after reading the comments posted on your site, we are not sure. We have dogs and cats so it would be impossible to keep them off the deck for any length of time. We also live in the country so there is no telling what creatures would be on the deck after dark.

What product would you recommend for our area?

Matt
Matt
4 years ago

I see a few people mention the chemical burns. I wish I would have seen this back when I first used the product. I did an entire deck some new some old three years ago. My first problem was the dry time this is a vacation home located in Western NY I did the decks and came back 1 week later to find the deck a sticky mess with leaves stuck to it. I called the manufacture and they said I just applied it too thick like other were tole. I wiped it down as best as I could but could since we were installing a hot tub and too many logistics were already in place to postpone it. Overall I think it took 4-6 weeks to dry. I thought I had poison Ivy or poison oak because of the rash I went to Dr. and they agreed it looked like the above. While working on the house I kept getting little areas of what I thought was poison Ivy throughout that summer even though I have never had it in my life. Three years later the tops of the railings were looking faded I decided to re apply some one time stain that I had left over. I applied it without issue one week later after multiple sunny days and temps in the high 8Os it looked dry but was a little tacky in spots it was applied super thin. It rained and I ended up resting my arms on the railing and now I have the chemical burns again. I know it was this product that caused it. Do not use this stuff it is dangerous and should be removed from the market. The new deck with the stain still looks good after 3 years the old deck is peeling off in the areas that get a lot of am sun.

Greg
Greg
3 years ago
Reply to  Matt

I am horribly sick from this and I know another painter that got sick.

Nathan Morse
Nathan Morse
3 years ago
Reply to  Matt

Im an professional painter and this stuff chemical burnt me like crazy. Nothing else has ever done this.

ETB
ETB
4 years ago

Terrible stuff. Bought because of 7 year claim to not have to reapply. After 1 year looked horrible. Was applied to a 1 year seasoned never stained wood deck. Benjiman Moore Arborcoat superior to One Time.

Gail
Gail
4 years ago

Is it possible to apply a water based solid stain over One Time, which was initially applied 10 years ago? The difficulty of applying and drying, and especially the odor prevents us from wanting to use One Time again.

Norm
Norm
5 years ago

I used it and love it reapplied to the horizontal area after 3 years but vertical still looks good, and it’s a deck it should be washed once in a while, I wash my deck with Oxi clean works great

kathy m
kathy m
5 years ago

I have use OTW 2 times and hate it. What do I need to do to the deck to apply another stain?

guy lepine
guy lepine
5 years ago

I have used this stain twice before.it has always worked very well .I get 7 years of use before I restain.it's easy to use, follow the directions, clean properly first. my decks are in direct sun and shaded sun light .I get twice the life from this stain than my neighbors due with their stains.

goodkingcitizen
goodkingcitizen
5 years ago

Since this is a DECK stain website, my comments may not help. I used One-Time Stain about 4 years ago for my SHED and a FENCE. After a good bit of research reading the FINE PRINT on stains and seeing that they all recommended stripping and resealing every 2-3 years, I decided there HAS to be a better way. Found One-Time and gave it a try, and couldn't be happier. The color has lasted so well compared to previous stains. Granted, these are VERTICAL surfaces. I have not tried them on a horizontal surface like a wood deck and might be cautious after reading these other reviews, but would not use anything else on vertical surfaces.

Sharon
Sharon
5 years ago

I had my deck and pergola stained with One Time two years ago. I just added a roof over my pergola which included adding additional treated wood under the roof above the pergola, replacing one 2×6 and adding ripped 2x4s to angle the roof. The roof is a rubber roof with OSB board underneath it. The instructions on the One Time container state "do not apply One Time under a roof covered area". What issues will I have if I stain the newly added wood (OSB and treated lumber). Will the wood ever cure? Will there be issues with mold or mildew? Other issues? Would it make a difference with the time I have the wood dry?

Cincy Deck Owner
Cincy Deck Owner
5 years ago

I used OTW based on reviewers on a radio home improvement show. It was a mistake for sure. Do you own research on line! I used it on a new deck build and after two years I had to re-apply on my horizontal surfaces. I cleaned my deck and when I started to re apply (new jug of OTW)on my deck it had a severe pre-gelation issue. As soon as you applied it it snap cured leaving thick tacky puddles on 3 of my deck boards. I stopped using it and called OTW and they said they had a bad lot of material. I asked about my deck and they told me to sand the tacky thick material off my deck!!! Instead of sending a contractor down to repair the damage from their "Bad Lot" of material they told me to sand it off?!?! It was a total mess to deal with. I had to replace 3-16' boards at my expense which involved disassembling my rail to replace the boards. They did send me a replacement jug of material….for what?? That issue aside….the product does NOT perform as stated. I would recommend this product. I used TWP products and am satisfied with the performance.

Chad ODonnell
Chad ODonnell
6 years ago

I applied the clove color in August of 2011 and have been disappointed ever since. First the application was not easy. It doesn't dry. It took over 4 weeks to dry. When it did, I had a few different shades of clove even though it was all applied in the same day. Second, it has never seemed to bead up the water. Isn't protection from water a main reason to stain? Third, it has started peeling this year so I am stuck doing something with it. Gary Sullivan missed the mark on this one. Do not buy this product!

C Homoly
C Homoly
6 years ago

I love one time wood! Originally applied it to a newly installed fence in 2007. Just reapplied in 2015 as there was starting to be more grey than stain left, probably should have re applied in 2014. Easy to apply, long lasting color, also have it on 2 pergola's and a wishing well cover over my well. Nothing lasts as long as this does!!

Brad Rogers
Brad Rogers
6 years ago

I have a deck that is approximately 600 sq. ft. in size. I replaced all the boards with pt pine in April. The old boards had been treated with a redwood stain by the previous homeowner. I had it re-stained with Cabot Acrylic Solid Color Deck Stain. After about 2 years I had another coat of Cabot applied because the original was starting to peel in places. I also had a problem with boards rotting under the stain. Apparently water was getting into the boards but could not escape, so they rotted. I'm now looking for a better solution for the new deck boards. I was happy to read about One Time, but after reading the comments here, I'm not sure it's the best solution. My deck is about 1/2 shaded and 1/2 sunny during the day. I'm afraid the shaded part would never cure. I see you've recommended TWP1500. Would that be a better option? How often would I have to expect to reapply? And how much prep would be involved. I'm too old to be doing a lot of sanding, etc. (71 years)

Brad Rogers
Brad Rogers
6 years ago
Reply to  Brad Rogers

I neglected to mention in my previous post that I live in east Tennessee, near Knoxville, if that helps.

Jennifer
Jennifer
6 years ago

One time was amazing. We tried every stain on the market. We're in northern Chicago suburbs and have a very shady yard. Applied 4 years ago & is still perfect. Note, it is very Easy to over apply…we wiped with a rag after applying, so the coat was very thin. Would recommend to anyone, my sister is just as happy!! Used on old cedar deck.

Paul
Paul
6 years ago

I built my deck 4 years ago. Pressure treated pine. Used One Time based on the 7 year warranty. After allowing the wood to dry to the recommended moisture percentage which didn't happen until Spring of the next year. Deck built in October. I cleaned with wohlmans deck cleaner and brigtner. Looked great again. Waited two days and applied one time. A year later I was contacting Bond the creators of OneTime. They sole me a new galling for $40 so I could fix the fading issues. 2 years later I'm stripping my deck and going with a new stain. If I have to reapply a $80 stain every two years then what is the point of spending the extra money. Might as well just by the cheaper stuff and save myself a lot of money if I'm doing every two years anyway. I've seen very good reviews on the FLOOD branded stains and have picked up some of that to try out. Only $19 a gallon. Now to see if I can get two years of use out of it before the sun fades it all away.

Not a fan of OTW
Not a fan of OTW
6 years ago

Used it twice, does not protect as stated. I get mold in the 2nd year. You will need to recoat every 2-3 years. They also had a defective batch that instantly cured upon application. This caused severely overthick coverage which looked TERRIBLE on a portion of my deck. One Time Wood admitted they had a bad batch and replaced my supply. However their advise to fix my boards was to sand them down!! the boards needed replaced. They should have offered to have a contractor come and replace the boards. I want to use a different product next time I need to clean and re coat.

Paul Zimmerman
Paul Zimmerman
6 years ago

I agree with the excessive drying time in shaded areas but did last a lot longer in those areas. I only got mold in some wet shaded areas after 4 years and faded considerably in the sun exposed areas. Over all, I was satisfied with the life of this product, but the drying time was a real pain in those shaded areas.

Malcolm D
Malcolm D
6 years ago

I have a large redwood deck with One Time stain applied about 8 years ago and reapplied to horizontal surfaces after first 3 years. I want to change and go to something like TWP product. What is best way to clean and expose wood grain for new stain and to remove One Time stain? Would sandblasting the surface and then clean with deck stain cleaner work? Any advice is appreciated. Malcolm D

John Schaefer
John Schaefer
6 years ago

I have cedar siding and I have tried all the "top of the line" products available from our local building supplier with no luck. No matter what i used every 2 years I had to go back and use harsh stain strippers because what appeard to be black mold kept reappearing. After doing some research I found OneTime. I used it 7 years ago and am very happy with the results. I am just now going back for my first recoat to brighten it up and I love the way it looks and works. 2 years ago I added about 1000 square foot of decking around the back of the house and i am getting ready to use it on the deck ad well.
I have read some of the negative comments about this product and i have not experienced any of these issues. It does take a few days to dry and you can not apply over another product without completely stripping it and I believe the instructions on the can tell you this.

R Martin
R Martin
6 years ago

Gotta admit I'm very surprised to read all the negatives about One Time. Have a 1100 sq ft deck at a lake cottage in central Ohio I purchased in 2008. At that time deck was 4-5 years old, pressure treated wood, and treated 1-2 times by previous owners with Thompson Water seal no more than once. I pressure washed the deck in 2009 (it was dark, dirty, moldy but cleaned up surprisingly well from pressure washing) and applied One Time (clove brown). Application was with a 3-year old, consumer electric paint sprayer I'd used only once previously with latex paint, therefore I was a novice and skeptical how this was going to work. Other than an occasional mishap with over-spray onto the bottom 2 rows of the house white vinyl siding, application was completed in a long afternoon. At $80 a gallon I was careful to cover deck boards but not saturate. Any pooling of the product was thinned using a hand brush. Finished deck looked great, wasn't as dark as others had claimed the clove color to be, and showed a warm reddish hue to it. After 2 days deck appeared 80% cured/dry, and after a week 98% dry. A couple small areas that see no sun appeared not quite dry. Job required 4 gallons with perhaps a pint of One time leftover……..probably 275 sq ft to the gallon.

Application is now 6-years old, power washed after 3-years but at a modest pressure level. I didn't want to remove too much of the One Time coating. Just power washed again (2015) but at a higher pressure level to thoroughly clean in advance of my planned re-application of One Time. Deck looks great! No signs of weathering to the lumber and I'm guessing color has lightened/faded 40-50% from the initial application.

In my opinion product claims are at least 95% accurate. My deck does get dark, but it's dirt/grime/mold/algae/tree sap and not darkening of the wood.

Hurst
Hurst
6 years ago

The absolute worse stain ever. Instructions were followed by my husband (contractor for 30 years) and we're on day 5 and it has not dried. We've used Thompson's & Cabot for 25 years and have not had any issues. Dangerous to skin- cat stepped on deck and had to be taken to vet for chemical burns. Another $120 on top of the ridiculous cost of this product. DON'T WASTE YOUR $$$$.

Becky
Becky
4 years ago
Reply to  Hurst

I know this is a very old thread, but I felt I should also add my experience. I cannot complain about the results of OTW. My deck was in poor shape before I power washed and applied OTW. I specifically chose it and paid more than average because it was supposed to be a lower VOC product. The deck looked fantastic when I finished. I loved the clove color and it seemed to really fill in a lot of the cracks in the older deck. It looked new. HOWEVER, I am another customer who got 2nd degree burns all over my arms and anywhere else this product happened to come in contact with over the several hours it took me to stain my HUGE deck. I, like others, had to go to the doctor and was prescribed a cream for severe burns. BE WARNED! Also, it has been four years and my deck needs redone. The vertical areas are fine but the horizontal is in need. The deck is on the west/south side but does get some late day sun. To be fair, I have done no maintenance in that time other than to sweep it. In summary, I would not be opposed to using OTW again if I did not have to worry about severe chemical burns. Nothing is worth that!

GARY
GARY
4 years ago
Reply to  Becky

I too suffered chemical burns on face and in my eyes. Came close to going to ER. I like the product I think, but the application of it was awful. I used an airless sprayer as I had about 1300 sf to cover. I did auto body work for 20 years and sprayed every kind of chemical / solvent imaginable, but have never dealt with anything as nasty to use as this. Customers need to be warned about the dangers of the airborne “fog” from this product.

David evans
David evans
6 years ago

A nice looking product however it is very very dangerous to the skin it Will cause first and second degree chemical burns be very careful do not let it touch the beare skin, I didn't see a warning label telling u that it is so harmful to the skin I would think twice before I would apply this stain. ONE TIME SHOULD WARN THE INSTALLERS.
I am a professional painter and are very familiar with a lot of coatings I have never come across a coating like this.
I had to go to my doctor fore treatment .Please be careful when applying this product.

Jon Williams
Jon Williams
5 years ago
Reply to  David evans

I agree. We initially didnt like the chestnut color's purplish finish but that seems to have burnt off and we like how nice the wood grain looks after applying this product now. However, I did wind up with "moderate to mildy severe" chemical burns to my forearms and had to see a Doctor for a steroid topical perscription. Since the product didnt seem to have any chemical fumes or odors, I was suprised how harsh it apparently is on skin and initially mistook the burns for sunburn though by the end of the day, it was clear it was from chemicals instead. I suspect my exposure occurred when cleaning the brush with mineral spirits and though I rinsed off well, it must not have been adequate. I have had blistering and port wine like staining on my forearms since then and it almost seems to be reactive to exposure to the sun at this point, which is how the product cures. BEWARE and if you use this stuff, BE CAREFUL.

L. Segura
L. Segura
4 years ago
Reply to  David evans

My husband and son sustained 2nd and 3rd degree burns from this product. Be extremely cautious with this product.

Iggy
Iggy
6 years ago

Sounds like this review was based on bad preparation & therefore not following the instructions. I put this wonderful One Time stuff on my Redwood 2-car garage door 2-years ago & it has absolutely none of the problems stated in this review. Strip, Scrape, Wet Scrub, Dry, Sand & Brush Vacuum to solid clean wood (getting rid of any surface rot, feathering & removing any & all previous finishes) to then just lightly paint-on One Time. One Time goes a very long way, 1/3rd of the jug did my 130-S.F & I have another 14-years of future protection waiting on the garage shelf. ONE TIME is truly FANTASTIC, even at just my 2-year experience, the compliments from neighbors & realtors just keep coming!

148
0
Questions or leave a review, please comment!x