Ready Seal Wood and Deck Stain Review 3.8/5 (52)

This post was updated on January 19, 2022

Ready Seal Wood and Deck Stain Review 2022

Ready Seal Stain Review

Ready Seal Stain Review

We would love to hear from you if you have used the Ready Seal Wood and Deck Stain on your wood or deck. Please post a rating in the Consumer Star Ratings below. Consumer reviews below in the comment section have shown mixed results when using the Ready Seal Wood and Deck Stain.

If you have any pictures of your experience with Ready Seal Wood and Deck Stain, you can add them in the comment area with a detailed description.


Ready Seal® Stain and Sealer for Wood is a Professional Grade wood stain. Ready Seal® Wood Stains may be used on fences, decks, arbors, gazebos, log cabins, and any other outdoor wood project. Developed for contractors, Ready Seal is now available to homeowners. Ready Seal will not run or drip and will always apply evenly. It is a unique blend of paraffin oil, quality resins, finely ground trans-oxide pigments, and algaecide.

Ready Seal® Stain Rating (1-10)

Appearance After Initial Stain Application: 7

– The Ready Seal® had a nice even application on the wood. The Gold color enhanced the older pine decking similar to as if wet with water. We did notice that the stain color faded significantly after a few days.

Preventing UV Graying at 2 Year Mark: 3

– There was no color left after two years. Very poor at preventing UV graying.

Picture of Ready Seal losing all color after 14 months. Picture from DeckStainPro.com

Ready Seal Stain Fail at 14 Months

Wear/Tear and Peeling: 8

– Ready Seal® penetrates extremely deep into the wood. It does not peel.

Ready Seal Gold

Ready Seal Gold

Cost Per Square Foot: 5

– Coverage for the Ready Seal® is not very good. We got only about 75 square feet per gallon and needed to apply 2 coats. The Ready Seal® is less than many stains per gallon but you need much more stain than normal. The stain absorbs so well into the wood that you get very poor coverage. We needed 10 gallons to properly cover our 600-foot test deck with two coats of stain.

Preventing Mold/Mildew/Algae: 7

– Containing primarily paraffin oil which does not promote mold growth, Ready Seal® shows promise. 30% of the decking floor was covered in green algae, though.

Ease of Application: 9

– We agree with the manufacturer’s claims here. Ready Seal® is goof-proof in that it will dry evenly and will not run or drip. When we looked at the deck 24 hours later, the finish was perfectly even. 3 days later though it had faded significantly.

Color Shifting (darkening) after 2 Years: 9

– No darkening was noticeable. Ready Seal® fades in color instead. Better for reapplication.

Difficulty of Reapplication: 8

– Easy to reapply. Just clean/brighten the wood to prep. No need to use a stain stripper.

Overall Score Ready Seal® Stain at 2 Year Period: 7.125

– Ready Seal® contains paraffin oil which is a non-drying oil. This means that it does not cure or seal the surface of the wood but dives deep into the wood cellular structure. The positives to Paraffinic stains are:

  • Extreme ease of application
  • Deep penetration into the wood
  • Even coverage

The negative is the poor UV protection and proper sealing of the surface. If you want a stain that is easy to apply then Ready Seal® might be a good choice for you. Just remember you will need to redo every 9-18 months if you want to retain the color.

Ready Seal Deck Stain Customer Photo Issues

Product Information:

Where To Buy: Ready Seal® Stain
Cost: $44.99 per Gallon, $199.99 per 5 Gallon Pail
Stain Type: Paraffin Oil Based Transparent
Available Colors: Gold, Natural Cedar, Light Brown, Medium Brown, Dark Brown, Medium Red, Dark Red
Application Temperature: 45-95 F
Coats Required: 1-2 Coats
Coverage Per Gallon: 75-100 sq. ft per gallon as tested
Application Tools: Sprayer, Pad, Brush, Roller
Dry Time: 48-72 Hours
Cleanup: Mineral Spirits
VOC Compliant: 250 Compliant in All 50 States
More Info: Product Data
Manufacturer: Ready Seal® Stain

Test Deck Stats:

Deck Wood Type: 8-year-old Pressure Treated Pine
Deck Square Footage: 600
UV Exposure: Full Sun
How Many Years Tested: 2 Years
Stain Color Used: 
Gold

*All products tested and results are from our experience. We offer no guarantee of similar results. Take into consideration that results may differ due to different wood types, exposure to UV radiation, and natural weathering.


Please Rate This. You may also post comments or ask questions below.

Related Deck Stain Help Articles & Reviews

guest
89 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Dan
Dan
1 year ago

All of this was my experience as well. Older deck absorbed so much stain I had to acquire more – twice. When wet, the color was beautiful. After a few days of curing, it was much lighter and had a flat finish. Many of my boards stained different shades even though they all received two coats. Ultimately, the job looks like “meh” rather than “wow”. I don’t know if people will even know I refinished the deck.

I chose the mahogany for its deep red color. It doesn’t look like the pictures at all. Its dark brown. This is on older pine pressure washed to a light gray.

I tried the product becomes the Thompson’s wouldn’t last one season. Every spring the deck looked like camouflage. That stain sits “on” the wood rather than soaking into it.

I wish there was a win-all for deck stain. I guess its called composite

Toni
Toni
2 years ago

Just posting a review, and I agree 100% with your review. Ready seal is very easy to apply and is very forgiving. It looks great after application, but in full sun, it only lasted about 6 months before needing to be reapplied. It completely fades.

74740438-3DE8-47D4-ACE9-ABBEF3D60821.jpeg
Sharon
Sharon
1 year ago
Reply to  Toni

What color is this?

Nate
Nate
1 month ago

Hey what chemical or brand of stripper did you use? I can’t find a stripper that removes it. The oil is too deep.

I doubt blasting will draw out the deep oil either.

Thanks!

Last edited 1 month ago by Nate
Marvin Linton
Marvin Linton
1 year ago

I installed a new cedar deck in June of 2020 and applied a product called Ready Seal. This was recommended by my local lumber company and was an oil penetrating product but not strictly petroleum based as it could be cleaned up with warm water if not allowed to dry in brushes. The product has now grayed with a hazy film on my deck which ruins its appearance. I have a hot water commercial pressure washer that I cleaned a portion of the deck with and the color and beauty of the wood is still there under that nasty film. I want to clean the entire deck and and reseal it with your best oil/stain penetrating UV protection product. I live on the Missouri/ Illinois border near St. Louis so summers are very humid here. What would you recommend in my situation? Is that TWP sold in Missouri? It got your best rating overall. Please advise. Thank you.

Erik Beauchamp
Erik Beauchamp
1 year ago

Hi, very useful article, thanks. I was just about to purchase Ready Seal – Pecan because there are many great pictures showing the results when applied on cedar. However, seeing on this review that the color fades so quickly, it’s not so interesting finally.

Which other product performs best in your reviews, when applied on a white cedar deck, with a similar Pecan color and available in Canada? The deck is 6 months-old, almost through its first winter. Thanks in advance!

LeeAnn Dunch
LeeAnn Dunch
9 months ago
Reply to  Erik Beauchamp

After applying Pecan ready seal this spring 2 coats it simply looks beautiful, I don’t live in an area that gets excessive wind and dirt flying all over.but in Ohio so far its been crazy with rain and thunderstorms! I would recommend you reconsider your decision..Just because someone may not have used enough stain or stained when the moisture level was too high…does not mean it will happen to you.. read the product info and follow their directions you should be just fine! There is a utube video on how to apply with a garden sprayer..and not a paint sprayer that might work better and reduce over spray mist..that’s what I’m going to try painting my fence when it drys out some.But my Pavillion looks awesome..

Anita
Anita
1 year ago

Oil Stain for deck – seems whatever we use, continues to peel after the winter, and so annoying. This past spring, we washed the deck with a hose (did not spray hard at all) and the stain that was peeling came off easily. Live in Canada and the deck sits in full sun. We are going to re sand the deck and reapply stain again. We have tried diff stains over the year. The deck was built in 2012. I have read the reviews and only 1 person mentioned peeling but everyone else, says easy to apply or it fades after a year. We want natural oil stain, I would rather it fades than to peel as it is very annoying to have to do this annually. I want to enjoy our deck. Has anyone experienced peeling using this Ready Seal Oil Stain for deck? We use the same oil stain for fence and experience zero peeling so what the heck! Look fwd to replies back re peeling from those living in Canada as apparently because of environmentalist, our oil stains have changed. Very frustrated.

Anita
Anita
1 year ago

thanks for the answer…so you never use RS….what do you recommend then for Canada? that doesn’t peel and last long? cause I am so tired of doing this every year.

Mel
Mel
2 years ago

I stain a cedar table base with Ready Stain & Sealer in “Dark Walnut”. However the color was a more golden brown color. Can I use a darker Ready Stain & Sealer “Mahogany” over the existing stain? Im looking to darken the Wood and give it a red tint.

deb
deb
1 year ago
Reply to  Mel

Spoke to manufacturer about just this issue. They suggest a quick clean of 25% bleach and 75% water. Rinse well, Let dry completely like you would a deck and apply a coat of next color darker. The cleaning reopens pores and kills any mildew etc that might be hiding in the grain.

S Thomas
S Thomas
3 years ago

I’ve got 3 gallons left of a 5 gallon pail. Can the stain/sealer be saved? If so, what is the best way to store and at what temperatures?

TOM CASEY
TOM CASEY
3 years ago

Should I apply a second coat with this product on the first application?

TOM CASEY
TOM CASEY
3 years ago

Just as I thought. The 2 different people at the paint store recommended a light second light coat on outdoor furniture I made and some of it took 48 hrs to dry. Lesson learned but I will use it again. Thanks.

Andrew
Andrew
4 years ago

I have previously used transparent Behr products on our deck, but cannot completely remove the Behr product from all the crevices of some redwood shingles that we have as a part of the railing. What can I do if I want to make the switch to using Ready Seal, because I am worried that the new coats may not be absorbed through the Behr product that lingers.

Thanks for any tips.

Andrew
Andrew
4 years ago

Doing both, hope it turns out OK!

Andrew
Andrew
4 years ago

My deck (mahogany/redwood color) is weathered, and has many small cracks and splits. Unfortunately, before i know this site, i have applied wood filler (dap plastic wood) to fill those cracks. Now my deck has a beige colored filler scattered on tje mahogany/redwood colored deck. It seems that the ready seal is semi transparent? Would 2 coats of ready seal still make the beige area noticeable? Would you rather suggest using solid stain?

Andrew
Andrew
4 years ago

Thank you…… It seems that i am stuck……. well, would thin paimt spray on the filler area followed by applying ready seal eventually result in peeling in a while? Thank you.

Andrew
Andrew
4 years ago

I now own a 25 year old home with 25 year old magogany/redwood colored deck, which now has so many small cracks and splits. Unfortunately , before i recognize ready seal, i applied beige colored wood filler (dap plastic wood) in sealing the cracks and splits. Now, would two coats of ready seal on the deck hide, at least more or less, bright colored filler marks? Or would you recommend using other solid stains?

Dayle
Dayle
2 years ago
Reply to  Andrew

no

James
James
4 years ago

Our builder delivered new green (wet) cedar to our home, but it also rained on the wood for two hours that day, and then he built our fence with the very wet pickets. He returned just 36 hours later and stained with Ready Seal dark walnut. Of course the stain job is completely uneven and four different colors, but the worst part is that all of the defects in the wood turned very dark brown – black and the fence looks horrible; I suspect this is because the tannins never had a chance to dry and cure before being soaked with oil stain, but do you have a reference that I can read to understand this better, and at this point what can / should we do?

James
James
4 years ago

I will post three images. One of the new “wet” stained fence, one of a 17 year old gate that was power-washed and stained, and one of a two month old fence that was never stained until now; all three were stained the same day with Ready Seal.

image.jpg
image.jpg
image.jpg
Russ Newberry
Russ Newberry
4 years ago
Reply to  James

It looks, to me, like the left side of your fence (in the picture on the left) was sprayed with dark walnut and the lower right portion was sprayed with the pecan stain. The door and the non rail side of the fence both look like walnut. I’ve used Ready seal for years and have never seen that kind of color difference. This is purely speculation, on my part, but it sure looks like two different colors of stain were used…

tim
tim
4 years ago
Reply to  James

it appears as if the product wasnt mixed well the lower was the mostly solvent “top of the pail” and the upper was the “bottom of the pail” where all the colorant settled. as for the photo on the right soft woods need conditioner directly before staining to take stain evenly

James
James
4 years ago
Reply to  tim

Thanks for your insight Sherlock. The fence builder stirred the stain, he’s not very bright but he’s not that stupid!

Ready Seal is just a really crappy product designed for ease of use by DIY’ers and fence builders with little professional continuing education; read the reviews by the professionals here at Deck Stain Help.

I had the crappy Ready Seal chemically stripped off and then restrained with Bakkers, no more black knots and defects, just an even single tone and single color of high quality stain that will last for 5 years.

Do your research, Ready Seal fades 50% within 18 months and has no UV protection, just garbage.

Nate
Nate
1 month ago
Reply to  James

Hey what chemical or brand of stripper did you use? I can’t find a stripper that removes it.

Thanks!

Francisco
Francisco
3 years ago
Reply to  James

Can you please tell me what is the name of the color of the first picture on the lift

James
James
4 years ago

Hi, I replied this morning and included three images, but for some reason I don’t see that reply as posted. Did you get it? Thank you.

Tariq Suseyi
Tariq Suseyi
1 year ago
Reply to  James

Cedar has to dry for a whole year pressure-treated 90 days before you apply any paint or stain

Hugh Coatwood
Hugh Coatwood
5 years ago

Ready sesl gets loads of love from verified purchasers. This fact influenced my purchase decision.

steve fung
steve fung
5 years ago

Does Ready Seal works well for walking deck that already had an old coating that was from more than 10 years ago? Any recommendation? Thanks.

Jason M.
Jason M.
5 years ago

I've used 20 + gallons of this stain on decks over the past 5+ years and have found the Ready to hold up very well. I have also used Defy (older mix) and Ready Seal applied easier and lasted longer on a full sun deck in Maryland area. I do think the overall review score on this site seems low and believe the UV rating should be higher. The ease of reapplication is also a major plus. Stains seem to only last 2-3 years on most full sun decks, but this stain has outperformed others in my experience. Overall I would rank this as the best possible stain for the money, and given other aspects of a good quality stain. As others noted, you can also 5 gal. at Home Depot right to your house with free shipping.

Michael
Michael
5 years ago

I am very familiar with the Ready Seal products and wouldn't use anything else. The Texas heat/sun can be relentless, but Ready Seal has held up beautifully on the fences around here for years. I agree with those who say that the darker colors will have a longer "staying power" than the lighter shades, so your review of the Gold color is a little misleading about the brand as a whole. Pecan is the most popular color choice in our area. Some other key points that some are not mentioning– the age of the wood, the type of wood, and the condition of the wood can all affect how any stain works. Experienced contractors will know this, but DIY homeowners may not. If you are applying stain on a brand new fence or deck, it won't last as long as an older fence because of the porosity of the wood. Older wood is more porous and will absorb more stain. That is just the nature of wood– it can take months or years for it to open up completely. So after that first application on a new fence, you may have to re-stain after a couple years, but beyond that, you should be getting years longer life. Also, if an older fence or deck is grey and oxidized, or if it has been previously stained or sealed with another product, there are some easy but necessary steps to prep the wood. Power washing is not always sufficient. Sanding not always recommended. And if there is any moisture left in the wood at all after cleaning or rain, the stain won't absorb properly. You absolutely have to let it dry sufficiently before applying any product (should be less than 15% – you can get a moisture meter cheap at HD to be sure). I've found very helpful information just by calling the company (Ready Seal) to describe the condition of a particular project and to get their advice on the best way to prep. I personally recommend Ready Seal to all our customers. I think it's an excellent product and was pumped to find it available at my Home Depot last year.

brian
brian
5 years ago

Is the information on this site applicable to staining wood on Log homes?

Glen
Glen
5 years ago

Readyseal Is the best stain I've ever used will always use it. itlasts The longest and goes on the easiest it is uniform with great color

Kendall
Kendall
6 years ago

Ready Seal is easy to apply but does not last very long. We do many decks in PA and tried the Ready Seal a few years ago. Color fading was significant after one year, but that was not the biggest complaint we received. Our customers really did not like the oily residue that would rub off on clothes after the first week or two of applying. I guess this would be the nature of having the paraffin oil as it does not dry at all. We stopped using it because of this.

Jeff
Jeff
6 years ago

So basically, you've got a 3-4 year old review about a product that isn't even made anymore (Ready Seal Gold), and you're basing your evaluation off that? I have no connection with the company nor do I care which stains are rated highly, but the point is your review is too old to be valid any more, yet it doesn't mention anywhere the date of the review, nor what has changed with the product. It certainly doesn't cost $27.99, and it definitely doesn't come in the colors this review claims it does. I believe, like another poster said, that the Gold finish, specifically, didn't contain UV protection. So while you claim you were trying to compare apples to apples, you definitely weren't. Time for an update, or even a retest?

MaryBeth
MaryBeth
6 years ago

Very disappointed in this stain. Very expensive & does not cover with one coat. Fades quickly if fence is in the sun.
Color varies significantly from can to can. Will never use again.

john
john
6 years ago

"Ready Seal Stain and Sealer for Wood is an oil based semitransparent stain and sealer in one. It is a unique blend of oils, quality resins, and finely ground transoxide pigments that penetrate deeply into wood to protect and preserve it from the elements."

all brands say this, and the "oils" are subject to change and also unlisted. i personally would not rely on rumor and assume the product contains no natural oils that mold likes to eat. you'd have to keep it clean, like (%99 to %100 of products i can find that are not synthetic; like urethan)

Raysa
Raysa
6 years ago

I have 125 feet of new cedar wood fence to stain front and back, how many gallons of Ready Seal do I need to buy. I will be using a sprayer. Thanks

Randy Oberg
Randy Oberg
6 years ago

I have used Ready Seal for the past 3 years and I believe I have finally found the stain I will be using forever. I have a 500 square foot cedar deck built in 2008 which I first used Cabot and I was not pleased with the results. In 2011 I stripped the deck and applied Behr solid stain. The be Behr stain is junk do not use this stain ever! In 2013 I tried 3 gallons of Ready Seal for the floor just to try it out. It worked wonderful. I will never use another stain. Buy it you will love it.

Jim Scandle
Jim Scandle
6 years ago

I have used this product four times at our beach home and it in the past 13 years and it has held up well and provided the protection I expected. Will use again and would recommend it.

Mark
Mark
7 years ago

This Product is the best on the market Goof Proof no laps runs or streaks and it shows the wood grain looks beautiful. I have used it several times on different jobs decks, fences, cedar homes, and logs homes. The light colors don't last as long because they don't provide as much UV blocking. Light colors 2-3 year, Dark colors 7-8 years. I prefer a medium to dark color. I have use it on my own personal things like a 20 year old Redwood deck that I stain ever four years with Ready Seal, I use the Redwood color it looks like new. I also have a 20 year old fence that I stain ever seven years it too looks like new. How many fences have you hear of lasting 20 years I think that says it all.

H Rushing
H Rushing
7 years ago

My deck was 10 feet from the water's edge on North Padre Island, Corpus Christi TX. About every 5yrs I would power wash and refinish with Ready Seal using their dark transparent stain. Many compliments by those living on the Island. With stood the hot South TX sun and salt air/ salt moisture. Found no other seal to compare. Worked well on long privacy fences,sprayed banisters/rails, fences and used roller/brush on deck, applying 3 coats each, using much less with each coat. I gave 5 star on all questions as the deck mellowed over a 5yr period. Much better than other products.

Tom Howard
Tom Howard
7 years ago

The stain does apply easily, civerage is good but be aware it does dry darker than you might anticipate. I have a shaded deck so I can't really judge how well the stain holds up in direct sunlight. I do vey much like the surface of the wood on bare feet, very smooth. If asked to rcommend it I would but i would be cautious about using it in areas that receive a great deal of direct sunlight.

Jonathan
Jonathan
7 years ago

READY SEAL is actually a really good product but you have to know some things about it, choose the correct color and use ample amounts where the sun is going to hit.
Basically, we've found (after using it on hundreds of decks) that the darker the color, the more UV protection. This may not be much of a surprise! However, using "Redwood" color on pressure treated pine or other similarly dense woods, we can easily get 2 full years of UV protection and still have a beautiful looking wood color.

Tim
Tim
8 years ago

Used readyseal on cedar pool deck. Horrible for this application. Figured since it penetrated it would have some durability. Currently looking for an oil penetrating stain for cedar that will not peel and last longer than the swimming season in NY.

Charles
Charles
8 years ago

I used ready seal 3 years ago on a new deck after 6 months of aging, I used the dark walnut, it has held up very well, I have found that it needs to be applied heavily on the. First coating, then reapplied after 48 hrs. It is easily applied , I think some people apply like a paint. It all about your application, have been very satisfied, am about to reapply again.

Diane
Diane
8 years ago
Reply to  Charles

How did you apply your ready seal? Did you spray or paint with a brush? If sprayed, did you use hand pump type sprayer or electric sprayer?

Charles Porter III
Charles Porter III
8 years ago
Reply to  Diane

Personally, I have had the best results with a two inch paint brush. It allows you to thoroughly apply the product, and coat cracks and crevices, etc.

Charles Porter III
Charles Porter III
8 years ago
Reply to  Charles

Another detail, is to thoroughly stir the product before use. The color pigmment tends to settle at the bottom of the can, so it really should be stirred with a stir stick once every hour, to maintain a uniform color while using the product.

Charles
Charles
8 years ago

Preventing UV graying at two year mark, a score of 1? I built a cedar fence in 2008, stained it with Ready Seal, Redwood, using a pump up sprayer and a thin nap roller, and I attest to you that it still looks beautiful, over five and a half years later. I have noticed, with the product, that it really should be applied pretty heavy, so that the wood can thoroughly soak it in, otherwise it will in fact appear too light in color, whichever color being used.

Charles
Charles
8 years ago

Okay, DeckStainHelp, first of all, the issue here involves; {Preventing UV graying at two year mark, a score of 1} Nowhere, does this issue involve whether or not the product has washed out after one year, regardless of any surface it has been applied to (hopefully properly applied). The fence that I built for my friends, is only my first experience with Ready Seal. My second experience (in 2010), was when my mother asked me to pressure wash her deck and apply Ready Seal, 'Natural Cedar'. I did not use a roller on her deck, I only used a pump up sprayer, and I used 15 gallons to cover 2,000 square feet of everything (deck, banisters and handrails). Now, I HAVE NEVER SEEN ANY GRAYING WHATSOEVER, and it has been well over two years on both. The next issue here, 'Looks completely washed out after a year on a deck floor'. All I can say to that one, is, in my experience, the person who used Ready Seal on a wooden deck, or a wooden floor, should not use the product sparingly, however, should use a generous amount, if they actually care about what they are doing. I had to re-apply the product on a deck, because it rained shortly after the product was initially applied; that was completely understandable. If you want to give a stain/seal a poor rating, it should not be Ready Seal. I don't know how Ready Seal invented their product, but I can tell you, I am happy with the quality of the product, and I have no reason to doubt its integrity, whatsoever.

Charles Porter III
Charles Porter III
8 years ago

Ready Seal in itself is a high grade oil that has been tinted. It must be stirred thoroughly before use, and for best results, it must be applied generously on the first coat for best results. Other brands out there look fabulous the first year, but tend to peel, and reveal graying; and need to be fully stripped off in order to properly reapply. Ready Seal does not require much work in order to reapply.

Dorothy Guderian
Dorothy Guderian
8 years ago

Where can I purchase TWC stain in Austin, TX?

Diane
Diane
7 years ago

You can order it on-line at Home depot. I live close to Austin, in Lago Visa TX area. UPS delivered it. It was cheaper than their website. No charge for delivery for me.

Tyoung
Tyoung
5 years ago

Kelly Moore Paints, 3 locations and Jeremy is knowledgeable about the product.

Lucille Ettore
Lucille Ettore
8 years ago

I just started putting Ready Seal on my 21 year old cedar deck. Second time (first in 2008 a contractor did it) It should get a "20" for ease of application! I am a 65 year old grandmom and I love this stuff enough to order it from Texas and get it in New Jersey. I did not want to switch to TWP because I LOVE the natural cedar color.

Mike
Mike
8 years ago

I have a cedar fence in TX that I coated with Ready Seal, 3 years ago when it was new and it needs to be recoated. Should I stick with Ready Seal since it lasted 3 years or do you recommend TWC or AC as an alternative since they are more highly rated for UV protection? Also, how does the prep differ based on the product I choose? THX

markinaustin
markinaustin
9 years ago

I plan to use red pigment to deepen the color of the Ready Seal dark red. I have tried this on test pieces of pressure treated and I have achieved the color my wife wants – a truly reddish stain. I found the pigment at a woodworking store. A very small quantity of pigment will recolor 5 gal.

I have 500 sq. ft. of relatively new pressurized pine – it will have been under TX sun for two months when I clean it and then stain it.

I will let you know how this works out over the next year and I will have photos available.

The pigment is called "Mixol"..

Jean
Jean
9 years ago

Well I can attest that Ready Seal in Medium Red does not hold its color for very long in Utah sun. I've been very disappointed with the product for this reason. It's frustrating when you go through the whole process and within a couple of week it's all faded again. I'd like to give TWP a try instead. Can I clean and brighten, then apply TWP over a deck that has been previously stained with Ready Seal?

Michael
Michael
9 years ago

The Ready Seal Gold **specifically** states that it has no UV protection.

It is no surprise at all that the UV resistance was low. Only the Gold and Clear have no anti-UV properties. The 3 browns and the Cedar do have anti-UV compounds.

Ready Seal is one of the highest rated stains. You might want to try another shade of stain in fairness to your customers.

Jim
Jim
10 years ago

Ready Seal's Gold, Cedar and "light" red and brown are not the best for UV resistance. Stay with the Medium or Dark and you won't have much of an issue with fading.

89
0
Questions or leave a review, please comment!x