Restore-A-Deck Cleaner System Review  4.7/5 (51)

This post was updated on May 1, 2024

Restore-A-Deck Cleaner Kit Update 2024

Restore-A-Deck Cleaner Kit Review

Restore-A-Deck Cleaner Kit

The Restore-A-Deck Cleaner Kit continues to be our top performer for the 2024 deck season. Easy to work with, very cost-effective, and great results! Please read this article and post any questions you have in the comment area below. Our newly enhanced website now offers the ability to upload and post pictures of your exterior wood or deck. This will help us determine the proper prep for your deck using the Restore-A-Deck Cleaner and Wood Brightener Kits.

Below you will see a YouTube Video Review of the Restore A Deck Prepping kit. This is from an actual consumer and is very informative and helpful.

Restore-A-Deck Cleaner Review Below


Restore-A-Deck Cleaner ReviewRestore-A-Deck is the only product on the market that offers both a Step 1 Deck Cleaner and a Step 2 Deck Brightener in the same kit. Restore-A-Deck comes in a powdered concentrated formula. Each 2 lb container makes 5 liquid gallons. Simply pour each into a five-gallon container and add water to dissolve the powder concentrate.

Restore A Deck Cleaner and Brightener Scores (1-10)

Removal of Graying, Dirt, Grime: 9

– The Restore-A-Deck Step 1 Deck Cleaner did very well at removing general dirt and grime. The deep cleaning formula made it easy to break down the gray wood cells. All mold was removed as well. The Step 1 Deck Cleaner did not remove some rust stains from the furniture but the Step 2 Brightener did.

Cost Per Square Foot: 10

– The best on the market today. The cost to clean and brighten an average 600 square foot deck is less than $.07 a foot. Since Restore-A-Deck comes in a powder we liked that you only needed to mix as much as you needed. Very little waste.

Removal of Old Stain: N/A

– RAD products are designed to clean, not remove old deck stains. We would presume that they would remove a deck stain if the stain has deteriorated drastically.

Ease of Application: 8

– RAD does not come in a liquid. You need to measure 6 oz per gallon of water mix the entire 2 lb. container into 5 gallons of water. This product does apply easily with a garden pump sprayer. We needed to make sure to mix at the correct dosage otherwise, the powder did not completely dissolve. Testing was done with both scrubbing and pressure washing. Both worked well. Step 2 brightener does not need to be scrubbed, just rinsed with water after 10 minutes.

Final Appearance of Cleaning: 9

– The IPE wood deck looked brand new after cleaning and drying for 2 days. We would have given this a score of 10 if it was not for a couple of minor water spots that did not come out. These spots looked to be from planter boxes.

Overall Score for Restore-A-Deck Cleaner: 9

– Restore-A-Deck makes a great and economical product for reviving your deck to like-new condition. We really like that kits contained both the cleaner and brightener. This was easier than buying the products separately.

Product Information:

Manufacturer: Restore A Deck
Product Type: Powdered Concentrate. Kit contains Step 1 Deck Cleaner and Step 2 Deck Brightener.
Available Sizes: 2 Pound Container Makes 5 Liquid Gallons
Application Temperature: 45-95 F
Coverage Per Gallon: 100-200 sq. ft
Application Tools: Scrub Brush, Pump Sprayer

Test Deck Stats:

Deck Wood Type: IPE Exotic Hardwood
Deck Square Footage: 500
The condition of Deck: Heavily grayed with mold/mildew. No previous stain
How Much Product Used: 
RAD 300 Kit. Retails for $49.99

*All products tested and results are from our experience. We offer no guarantee of similar results. Take into consideration that results may differ due to different wood types, exposure to UV radiation, and natural weathering.


An Independent YouTube Customer Review

Please Rate This. You may also post comments or ask questions below.

author avatar
Scott Paul ~ Restoring Wood & Decks Since 1993 Owner
As an article and comment contributor to the site, Scott has been around the pressure washing industry since attending college. In 1993 he started his first company called Oakland Pressure Wash specializing in exterior pressure washing and deck staining. That company evolved into OPW L.L.C. shortly thereafter concentrating more on exterior wood and deck restoration. Scott and his Deck Cleaning Michigan company have restored over 10,000 decks in the Metro Detroit area since the early years. He has become an authority in the deck restoration industry and has contributed to numerous wood restoration forums and informative sites. All the products he suggests through this site are sold through online sites and in retail stores, allowing the consumer to choose their own means of purchase. Scott’s eCommerce sites do sell many top brands he endorses and if you appreciate any of the help he has offered then feel free to purchase from one of them.

Related Deck Stain Help Articles & Reviews

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
688 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Noel White
Noel White
8 months ago

Hi, I am using your Stripper, Booster and thickening gel. my deck is large cedar deck (over 1k sq ft). 2 years ago i put RaDeck semi-transparent stain on it. I probably didnt do it correctly and it was peeling up all over. I have decided to not use any colored stain in the future and just letting it turn gray then using cleaner/brightener periodically to clean it.

During my first run of stripping on a section it didnt get all of the transparent stain up. I have work to get the rest done. I did not use brightener so it is darker which I read is normal.

After I finish the entire deck. I was planning on using the stripper again to focus on where all the stain didnt come up. the first phase of stripping will take a few weekends.

4 questions.
1) is it fine to use just the brightener some time period after i use the stripper or do you have use it right after using the stripper even though I still need to use more stripper at the next weekend to remove the stain that didnt come up?
2) is it ok to wait until spring after stripping and and then do the cleaner and brightener?
3) if i just let it turn gray do you recommend just using the cleaner and brightener to clean the deck?
4) i am sure the wood fuzzies are due to not using a brightener and some from the power washer even though i try to not do it strong on the wood. I have had these before I believe they just went away over time? or will the future cleaner and brightener help remove these?
Thank you!

Chris
Chris
10 months ago

It’s been one year since I installed a brand new pressure treated deck. Is it recommended to use the cleaner and then the brightened before applying semi transparent stain? Thanks in advance.

PS: I’ve used both the cleaner and brightened in my cedar docks with GREAT results. Hoping the results will be similar with pressure treated pine.

Mike Coleman
Mike Coleman
11 months ago

Sanded to rails last year and applied one coat of light walnut stain. Can I just lightly sand and recoat? Keeping cleaner or brightener off my deck while doing the railing will be very difficult.

Carol
Carol
11 months ago

This is Carol again Also wondering about the Behr Deckover

Carol
Carol
11 months ago

Can this be used on Composite Decking by name of CORRECT DECK. About 13 years old. Also read some of your articles on staining or restoring composite decking. Do you still advise TWP Semi-Solid Pro Series? You recommended for composite but when going to TWP website composite isn’t mentioned. It is hard to find definitive information on restoring Composite decking. Especially my type as company of course went out of business. It was listed as “polypropylene (one of the harder
plastics), reclaimed hardwood fiber, UV-inhibited
pigment systems and selected process additives”. from brochure.
Do you recommend TWP over BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer or Rustoleum Rock Solid. Also question Behr Deckover.
Any help appreciated.

Last edited 11 months ago by Carol
Jim
Jim
11 months ago

I realize that you reviewed the cleaner/brightener product Restore-A-Deck Kit and liked the results. Have you also reviewed or have knowledge of “Gemini Restore A Deck” product? It appears to be touted by the TWP folks. Are these two cleaners/brighteners similar in their results?

sab big canoe
11 months ago

Need to refinish deck. Don’t know what the original finish is. Poly or stain?? When we moved in it was stained and lovely shiny finish. The wood grain was visible. I had painters refinish a few years ago, but I don’t think they did a proper job as it was never as good looking as original. I am guessing they just stained over original stain finish. I have pressure washed and used a putty knife to remove whatever they put on. It was a gooey film. Which product do I need to get deck where I can use your finish product.

sab big canoe
11 months ago

Front Porch deck 45′ x 6′. boards next to house less sun bleached. It all used to be homogeneous in color with a nice sheen. I power washed and scraped up the film that was loosened. My wife wants her shiny old deck back. Thanks

porch1.jpg
porch2.jpg
porch3.jpg
porch4.jpg
David
David
1 year ago

i recently placed an order for Restore A Deck solid color stain but never received a confirmation email. Please let me know how to contact your sales dept to confirm my order. Thanks , David

Mary Peacock
Mary Peacock
1 year ago

For my pine deck installed September 22, my carpenter recommends Restore a deck system. Today( feb 23) he looked at it and said i could skip the cleaner and just use brightner before staining. I saw some mention of cleaner being part of a “ ph balance”. Should i use both?

Krisandra
Krisandra
1 year ago

My deck is thirty year old redwood that was planed as well as new cedar. A Cabot UV clear stain was applied. I live in southwest New Mexico. After three months we had lots( more than last 30 years seasons) of rain. Attached are pictures of what looks like mold all over the decks, one is 700 ft, the other 144 feet. This stuff is on railings and steps as well. I’m pretty freaked out. Can you advise me how to get this off. I’m chemically sensitive and have pets so, nontoxic options? And then what type of clear protectant/ stain do you recommend. Thanks

Krisandra
Krisandra
1 year ago

Ok trying again. The weird thing is I tried using a scrub brush aggressively on the redwood (it was dry) and most came up but not when I used the brush on the cedar. Also on the brush the debris looked greenish grayish brown, not black. The Cabot product was water based not the Australian Timber product. There is none of this black stuff on the vertical posts but it is on the slanted arm railing.

image.jpg
08118680-39B8-4098-BB6E-73B28819AB0D.jpeg
Dianne
Dianne
1 year ago

Here are the pictures you asked me to post

Deck stain Mistakes
IMG_20220717_100833877.jpg
IMG_20220717_101139982.jpg
IMG_20220717_101157861_HDR.jpg
Dianne
Dianne
1 year ago

I have a new deck built with pressure treated wood. It was left to dry for a several months before staining with a semi transparent deck stain PPG ProLuxe premium deck wood finish transparent satin. High performance for exterior wood natural 078 color. First coat looked great and second coat wasn’t applied till after the pollen season. After a time I noticed black spots and streaks on the deck. Don’t know if this is worth mentioning but the shingles on my roof has black streaks as well. I’ve spent considerable amount of money having this deck built and I’d like to use the right cleaner to remove the black stains. Please advise!

Mateo
Mateo
1 year ago

My two year old large cedar deck was treated with a clear water based sealer. It looked fine when new, but rain has lifted off the sealer it spots. I am switching to an oil based clear sealer. The deck is clean but I I have “worn” sealer on much of the deck and bare cedar in some areas. What’s the best prep strategy? A deck cleaner + brightener?

joe
joe
1 year ago

can i use restore-a-deck cleaner and brightener on trex ?

Larry
Larry
2 years ago

I have a deck that is treated wood and has been in place 15 years. I have occasionally power washed the deck to bring back the original wood look. The deck is in good shape and has that gray faded look. If I use Restore a Deck do I have to power wash the deck prior to applying? Will I need to power wash after applying?

Larry
Larry
2 years ago

Ok. Just to be clear. When I pressure wash off the cleaner is it the same as pressure washing more heavily the deck without the cleaner or is it a slight pressure washing

Larry
Larry
2 years ago

Great. So the Brightener does not require a pressure wash?
If I were to use a clear stain what would last and for how long?

BILLYGOAT
BILLYGOAT
2 years ago

My decks has been stained with the Cabot Australian timber Oil natural . I last applied it 12 months ago, Still showing water (pooling ) resistance . I have no problem with the product except my deck is much darker then I want. I need to start over -Wood is in good shape –Will the restore a deck Clarence and brightener work on the Cabot AUS Timber Oil product considering the fact the wood seems to be sealed fairly well ?

Carol Ann Beckum
Carol Ann Beckum
2 years ago

I am miserable with my deck. The deck itself is old and many boards have been replaced. So I have kept the deck in good shape as far as the deck boards go. I started using a solid deck stain about 6 years ago. I am using a dark color, black, ebony, etc. Up until this year I have been very satisfied. But this year beginning when the weather started getting right to put new coats on my deck, I decided to use Valspar Solid Deck Stain in a ebony color. I prepped my deck like it should be. Removed all mildew, dirt, etc., and sanded the deck all over to smooth places out. Started painting my stain on my deck. I (73 years old, female, lots of energy and love to work outside.) Am by myself so I used a good brush to put the stain on with and took my time in making sure all looked good. After finishing all of my side deck I left it totally alone and did not allow any walking on it and waiting for several days to make sure all was dry. At this point my deck looked really good. BUT, after about a week or so when I start working in the yard, and the dog is running back and forth across this deck, of course there was mud, dirt, and droppinngs from trees. I of course washed it off really good. Mud stains and dirt stains and droppings from trees were still very noticible on this deck. I have never had that to happed and it looks awful and so very dull looking. I put a cleaner on the deck and took a outdoor broom and scrubbed on it and still no difference. It looks dirty all the time and is driving me crazy. So my mission has been to find something to make my deck look like new, like it always has after refreshing it for the past 6 or 7 years. I wanted to get something on my deck that would give it a sheen (look somewhat shiney) and at the very least look clean. Well I bought a small can of Rust-Oleum Stain + Polyurethane (Ebony in color) I just finished painting 2 boards to see what this looks like and it looks great. BUT I read your article that tells me NO POLYURETHANE – will not hold up!! Please, please tell me what I can do. I am so wiling to paint the whole deck over again if I can get that look of at least being clean. Still would like a shine to it. PLEASE HELP ME. I have talked to Valspar people, talked to Sherwin Williams people, etc. They basically tell me nothing I really can do about the dirt and grime.

Carol Ann Beckum
Jackson, Mississippi
601-502-6965

Jon
Jon
2 years ago

I have a painted white wood deck that gets black mold/mildew on it. I’ve used bleach based products in the past. Will any of these oxygenated products work? I usually apply with a sprayer and power wash it off.

Last edited 2 years ago by Jon
Nancy
Nancy
2 years ago

I have just had a mangaris deck sanded. it was originally coated with a rosewood oil stain. After sanding, It came out very clean. should it still be power washed with cleaner, brightener after sanding?

Monica
Monica
2 years ago

I don’t have a hose hookup or a way to pressure wash my deck… any recommendations? Can you use the cleaner/brightener without long rinse afterward? Is there an alternative cleaner I could use to prep? Thanks…

Monica
Monica
2 years ago

Thank you.
Another question: we are still wavering between oil-based and water-based stain. Our climate is very wet with heavy snow in winter – do you have a recommendation?… I am leaning toward RAD water-based at least for the floor, as it can be applied wet, and we seem to rarely dry out here (I have done a test section with Restore a Deck already – looks good) but I am wondering about the re-application process. Is re-application of oils significantly easier than water-based? Will the RAD require complete stripping every few years to reapply? (would oil-based like TWR 1500 require the same?). Thanks in advance!

Monica
Monica
2 years ago

great, thanks.

Monica
Monica
2 years ago

do you recommend one over the other for wet ( and snowy) climates?

Katie
Katie
2 years ago

Are the cleaner and brighter products safe for the rubber roof that my deck sits on?

Auguste
Auguste
2 years ago

So where can I purchase the Restore a Deck Cleaner Kit?

Michel Maheu
Michel Maheu
2 years ago

can I use rad on cedar siding that was poorly sealed 3 years ago? would like to apply a light semi transparant stain afterward.

Michel
Michel
2 years ago

Picture

Michel
Michel
2 years ago

Picture of cedar three years old

Chad
Chad
2 years ago

Looking to finally add stain to a pallet deck I built last summer. I used a variety of pallets so there are also a variety of wood species. Attached are three pictures. First is the completed deck while dry. Second is the deck after the rain (and the look I am going for). Third is the deck in it’s current state after power washing (without use of cleaning agent).

My next step is to sand, then I plan to either do a soap and water cleanse or use the Restore-a-deck cleaner and brightener to finish the prep. Which would be preferred?

Will the Restore-a-deck semi transparent stain give the wood the “wet” look I want?

Thanks

Chad
Chad
2 years ago

2nd attempt. Also wondering if the Armstrong Clark Natural Tone Transparent Stain would be a better choice…?

90BCD22B-D7D5-434B-AD2C-7C806F040C15.jpeg
8235A509-ADAA-414B-883E-2F683D828351.jpeg
27C90B1B-F9E4-413A-8FE3-76B8AD1ECD36.jpeg
Chad
Chad
2 years ago

First two pictures are from last summer, third picture is from yesterday.

Susie
Susie
2 years ago

There is sap seeping out of our 8 year old deck on certain slats. What can I do to remove it? Presently sanding deck for refinishing and sap is still there.

688
0
Questions or leave a review, please comment!x