Restore-A-Deck Cleaner System Review 4.7/5 (49)

by Deck Stain Help

This post was updated on January 19, 2022

Restore-A-Deck Cleaner Kit Update 2022

Restore-A-Deck Cleaner Kit Review

Restore-A-Deck Cleaner Kit

The Restore-A-Deck Cleaner Kit continues to be our top performer for the 2022 deck season. Easy to work with, very cost-effective, and great results! Please read this article and post any questions you have in the comment area below. Our newly enhanced website now offers the ability to upload and post pictures of your exterior wood or deck. This will help us determine the proper prep for your deck using the Restore-A-Deck Cleaner and Wood Brightener Kits.

Below you will see a YouTube Video Review of the Restore A Deck Prepping kit. This is from an actual consumer and is very informative and helpful.

Restore-A-Deck Cleaner Review Below


Restore-A-Deck Cleaner ReviewRestore-A-Deck is the only product on the market that offers both a Step 1 Deck Cleaner and a Step 2 Deck Brightener in the same kit. Restore-A-Deck comes in a powdered concentrated formula. Each 2 lb container makes 5 liquid gallons. Simply pour each into a five-gallon container and add water to dissolve the powder concentrate.

Restore A Deck Cleaner and Brightener Scores (1-10)

Removal of Graying, Dirt, Grime: 9

– The Restore-A-Deck Step 1 Deck Cleaner did very well at removing general dirt and grime. The deep cleaning formula made it easy to break down the gray wood cells. All mold was removed as well. The Step 1 Deck Cleaner did not remove some rust stains from the furniture but the Step 2 Brightener did.

Cost Per Square Foot: 10

– The best on the market today. The cost to clean and brighten an average 600 square foot deck is less than $.07 a foot. Since Restore-A-Deck comes in a powder we liked that you only needed to mix as much as you needed. Very little waste.

Removal of Old Stain: N/A

– RAD products are designed to clean, not remove old deck stains. We would presume that they would remove a deck stain if the stain has deteriorated drastically.

Ease of Application: 8

– RAD does not come in a liquid. You need to measure 6 oz per gallon of water mix the entire 2 lb. container into 5 gallons of water. This product does apply easily with a garden pump sprayer. We needed to make sure to mix at the correct dosage otherwise, the powder did not completely dissolve. Testing was done with both scrubbing and pressure washing. Both worked well. Step 2 brightener does not need to be scrubbed, just rinsed with water after 10 minutes.

Final Appearance of Cleaning: 9

– The IPE wood deck looked brand new after cleaning and drying for 2 days. We would have given this a score of 10 if it was not for a couple of minor water spots that did not come out. These spots looked to be from planter boxes.

Overall Score for Restore-A-Deck Cleaner: 9

– Restore-A-Deck makes a great and economical product for reviving your deck to like-new condition. We really like that kits contained both the cleaner and brightener. This was easier than buying the products separately.

Product Information:

Manufacturer: Restore A Deck
Product Type: Powdered Concentrate. Kit contains Step 1 Deck Cleaner and Step 2 Deck Brightener.
Available Sizes: 2 Pound Container Makes 5 Liquid Gallons
Application Temperature: 45-95 F
Coverage Per Gallon: 100-200 sq. ft
Application Tools: Scrub Brush, Pump Sprayer

Test Deck Stats:

Deck Wood Type: IPE Exotic Hardwood
Deck Square Footage: 500
The condition of Deck: Heavily grayed with mold/mildew. No previous stain
How Much Product Used: 
RAD 300 Kit. Retails for $49.99

*All products tested and results are from our experience. We offer no guarantee of similar results. Take into consideration that results may differ due to different wood types, exposure to UV radiation, and natural weathering.


An Independent YouTube Customer Review


Please Rate This. You may also post comments or ask questions below.

Related Deck Stain Help Articles & Reviews

guest
642 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Monica
Monica
4 months ago

I don’t have a hose hookup or a way to pressure wash my deck… any recommendations? Can you use the cleaner/brightener without long rinse afterward? Is there an alternative cleaner I could use to prep? Thanks…

Monica
Monica
4 months ago

Thank you.
Another question: we are still wavering between oil-based and water-based stain. Our climate is very wet with heavy snow in winter – do you have a recommendation?… I am leaning toward RAD water-based at least for the floor, as it can be applied wet, and we seem to rarely dry out here (I have done a test section with Restore a Deck already – looks good) but I am wondering about the re-application process. Is re-application of oils significantly easier than water-based? Will the RAD require complete stripping every few years to reapply? (would oil-based like TWR 1500 require the same?). Thanks in advance!

Monica
Monica
4 months ago

great, thanks.

Monica
Monica
4 months ago

do you recommend one over the other for wet ( and snowy) climates?

Katie
Katie
4 months ago

Are the cleaner and brighter products safe for the rubber roof that my deck sits on?

Auguste
Auguste
4 months ago

So where can I purchase the Restore a Deck Cleaner Kit?

Michel Maheu
Michel Maheu
7 months ago

can I use rad on cedar siding that was poorly sealed 3 years ago? would like to apply a light semi transparant stain afterward.

Michel
Michel
7 months ago

Picture

Michel
Michel
7 months ago

Picture of cedar three years old

Chad
Chad
7 months ago

Looking to finally add stain to a pallet deck I built last summer. I used a variety of pallets so there are also a variety of wood species. Attached are three pictures. First is the completed deck while dry. Second is the deck after the rain (and the look I am going for). Third is the deck in it’s current state after power washing (without use of cleaning agent).

My next step is to sand, then I plan to either do a soap and water cleanse or use the Restore-a-deck cleaner and brightener to finish the prep. Which would be preferred?

Will the Restore-a-deck semi transparent stain give the wood the “wet” look I want?

Thanks

Chad
Chad
7 months ago

2nd attempt. Also wondering if the Armstrong Clark Natural Tone Transparent Stain would be a better choice…?

90BCD22B-D7D5-434B-AD2C-7C806F040C15.jpeg
8235A509-ADAA-414B-883E-2F683D828351.jpeg
27C90B1B-F9E4-413A-8FE3-76B8AD1ECD36.jpeg
Chad
Chad
7 months ago

First two pictures are from last summer, third picture is from yesterday.

Susie
Susie
7 months ago

There is sap seeping out of our 8 year old deck on certain slats. What can I do to remove it? Presently sanding deck for refinishing and sap is still there.

nick
nick
8 months ago

This is a great site and has been very helpful in helping my newbie self figure out the best way to restore a very old, mistreated deck. I do have 1 question. Squirrels have been chewing at portions of my deck. I know the stain should help to deter this, but they are getting to some portions on the underside that are very challenging to clean and stain. Is there a simple alternative you know of to deter the chewing that wouldn’t involve staining the underside? Many thanks again!

Donna
Donna
8 months ago

Is it ok for a redwood deck

Michelle Hughes
Michelle Hughes
8 months ago

I have a deck that that I have power washed. After I power washed 50% is down to the wood. I am planning on stripping the whole thing (as it will be impossible to just do the parts that need it), brightening, then staining. Is that correct?

Bob S
Bob S
8 months ago

I have a cedar deck that does not need to be stained but needs to be cleaned of green algae. Do I need the Brightner? TIA

Derosa
Derosa
8 months ago

I just want to clean the deck after the winter. Pressure treated, nothing special. No additional staining or sealing. It was just stained last year and color is fine. Would i use both the cleaner and the brightner or just the cleaner?

Mike V
Mike V
8 months ago

I have a 450 sq/ft cvg t&g doug fur screened porch that was stained 5 years ago with Sikkens ProLuxe Ceto SPD FE semi transparent in Teak. The fully covered areas still show color while the areas nearest to the outside have greyed. Should I sand then brighten. If I sand is 80 grit the proper paper and how long should I wait to prep and stain. Pics included

FFE3CD67-90C3-4A96-98E1-DEB4266F0BC6.jpeg
2624677F-3661-4026-B09D-349ED6B871DB.jpeg
Lori T
Lori T
10 months ago

I have a new pressure treated deck that has weathered for 6 months. It faces south and gets a lot of sun. It is raised about 6 feet off the ground. I want it to be gray as that will look best with the house color.

  1. Should I do the cleaning, brightening, and staining on the posts and structural framework underneath?
  2. Since I want the deck to be gray anyway, is it necessary to do anything? What benefits are there to doing all this work vs. just allowing it to gray naturally?
Connor F
Connor F
10 months ago

I want to say thanks for your website but feeling a bit overwhelmed and had not seen a question like mine posted, so I wanted to reach out. See pictures I am not sure how old the deck is but have not been great at maintaining it (that will change with your guidance!). I pressure washed it in the fall and this is the current status. My issue is that my deck currently has virtually no stain or protectant and I want to get something on it ASAP. Unfortunately my wife wants to paint our home and that will most likely cause us to change deck color/stain (once we determine paint house color). I expect that that we will paint home during summer/fall 2021. And once we pin down the color we can find a stain that matches we will stain/re-stain most likely spring 2022. So given that, I wanted to get your thoughts on what to do. Given the pictures(and I can add more) I think I can skip pressure washer again, and just use RAD Cleaner or do you recommend pressure wash and then RAD Cleaner? After that I suspect given pics/age I need to use RAD brightener? Lastly, if I just want 1 year protection so we can finalize a stain what do you recommend I do? Ideally I don’t have to repeat the process in a year and whatever I apply to protect for a year won’t have to be stripped off. Thank you

image0.jpeg
image3.jpeg
image4.jpeg
Janet Terry
Janet Terry
10 months ago

In 2019 I applies TWP 100 Semi Transparent Redwood stain-oil based to my redwood deck. It has performed extremely well, but showing signs of wear so it is time to re stain my deck. This year I plan to use the same TWP 100 semi transparent oil based stain again, but want to change colors because the color was too red and unnatural.
Do I need to remove the old stain first? If so, what product should I use?

Rob
Rob
1 year ago

I ordered RAD stain stripper with the booster and thickening gel additives to remove an oil stain from cedar posts. I also ordered the RAD brightener. Your article recommends using the brightener after stripper. Do you use the brightener immediately after using the stripper and power washer, or do you let the wood dry for a few days before using the brightener? Thanks

dahi
dahi
1 year ago

I want clean and repaint my deck. But the weather is getting cold now. So I am planning to do it next spring. what should I do keep it in good condition during winter months.
Paint is peeling off. And I want to restore and stained or paint it properly in next season. Because stripping and cleaning will take time before I paint it. so I will not be able to finish everything right now.
Please advice me what to do.
I would also like to know when I am ready to do it which cleaner and stripper will be best for it.
Thanks again.

IMG-0019.jpg
IMG-0020.jpg
IMG-0021.jpg
IMG-0018.jpg
Johnie Barnett
Johnie Barnett
1 year ago

Used your products for cleaning and brightness
Worked well… however have a few minor small spots where evidently when stain was applied at edges of deck and was missed on spread out with deck brush …is there any product you would recommend to remove the
“Too much applied stain after three days“

Susan Willcoxon
Susan Willcoxon
1 year ago

Our 25+ year old Pressure treated wood deck was cleaned by a company, Superior Soft Wash, and I need to seal it and was considering using Restore-A-Deck stain. Some of the old stain is still visible. Since it was soft-cleaned, not pressure washed, would you recommend doing any other prep or can I just stain it using RAD semi-transparent stain.

Peggy Eyler
Peggy Eyler
1 year ago

I have the older type of Trex composite decking without the wood grain surface. What is the best cleaner for this? I have tried Olympic, 30 seconds and Duckback composite deck cleaner. The one I thought would work best and was the most expensive (Duckback) did not work well. The others were just O.K. I heard Defy was good but it is a powder you mix with warm water just like the Duckback that foams. Before I spend any more money on something that works, thought I would ask your opinion.
Thanks,
Peggy

Dave
Dave
1 year ago

If you have ice and water barrier under decking what kind of cleaner can you use? Will cleaning ruin the ice and water barrier?

Steve
Steve
1 year ago

These are pictures of a 15 year old deck in northern WI. The light colored boards were pressured washed (took way to much time) and the darker boards are what I’m dealing with. It is pressure treated lumber but it’s never been stained or painted. Will Restore-A-Deck and a pressure sprayer clean the layer/years of dirt and mildew?

Deck.jpg
Brian
Brian
1 year ago

I have a 4 year old deck with treated lumber that I never sealed or stained. Finally, this year I am sealing it. As you can imagine it was extremely weathered and dirty. I spent about 8 hours power washing the entire deck. As you can see it still has some dirt, and silvery, gray “blemishes” on it. I was going to start sanding with a belt sander, and/or orbital sander. But after reading about RAD, and watching the video, I am thinking that all I need to do is clean and brighten with RAD to restore the wood to its near natural state. Do you agree? If so, do I need to do anything else, like sanding, etc.? Or can I just go ahead and apply sealer? Thanks

Deck B.jpg
Deck A.jpg
Susan
Susan
1 year ago

Live in Upper SC. Have stained deck ( maybe 5-8 yrs old?) with Cabot semi transparent and 2 yrs later restrained with Behr (last yr). It is a mess. Now trying to clean, then plan to sand before restaining. Stain is peeling up, but hard to to remove with pressure washer.. what is best thing to do to remove. Our worker does not want to sand if peeling since it will gum up sand paper. Sorry pictures are not better. Contractor pressure washed and scrubbed with a deck refinisher.
Then what stain is recommended. Open deck, most of it is sunny all day. Gets mildew though.

15908596826632112177697.jpg
15908592466201670394238.jpg
15908597721021745787663.jpg
Susan
Susan
1 year ago

Thank you. What will brighter do? Which one? Also what should I use for stain?
I want pretty natural or light.

Luigi
Luigi
1 year ago

Hi. Any idea how long does it take to be delivered in Toronto (Canada)?

Thanks

Mary
Mary
1 year ago

We built our deck in 2018. We hired a company to stain it for us in 2019 and we bought the restore a deck products. They used the cleaner and brightener on it. However it looks awful this year. I have plenty of stain left and want to stain it myself this year. I
Based on what I read i just need to use the cleaner on it before I stain. Can you please look at the pictures and tell me if that sounds right or do I need to use the stripper too?

3D464D47-4FC1-4C48-94E9-3D3589EC7010.jpeg
F69E381B-5BB8-4DF6-9FA1-26F41BD20531.jpeg
2683D584-611E-4A12-B774-6F24E6E94032.jpeg
1BAC4C94-E267-48C6-9227-883A0B584BF0.jpeg
Greg
Greg
1 year ago

I am re-staining my top deck with the same solid color stain that was on it previously. I replaced boards on the lower deck with Pressure treated deck boards and plan on using the same solid color stain as the top deck. Do I need to do anything different with the 2 decks to prep it for staining.

image.jpg
image.jpg
Jamy
Jamy
1 year ago

I cant seem to find an answer. My steps and deck have turned black but they are not stained, They are painted with deck paint. I paint them every couple years. Would this product work the same way as a stained deck?
Thank you in advance.

Jamy
Jamy
1 year ago

I dont know if the previous owner used pressure treated lumber. Im thinking not.

20200409_101254.jpg
Jamy
Jamy
1 year ago

Thank you.

Ed
Ed
1 year ago

I have a 5 year old pine roof that I need to restain. This stain is from the builder. It is dull with no sheen at all. I am not sure exactly what is on it. Water does not bead on it. I would like to use the RAD dark walnut semi transparent. Can I use a pressure washer, cleaner, and brightener on this? Again I think the dark walnut is very close to this stain so I am not trying to drastically change the color. There is no peeling just some wearing. Thank you.

deck.jpeg
Edward Zevola
Edward Zevola
1 year ago

Thank you.
1. Would you recommend just the stripper without additives? This was only stained once about 5 years ago.
2.My plan is to use the RAD semi transparent dark walnut stain after. Do you see any issues with that plan?
3. Do you recommend scrubbing using the stripper or just letting the product sit and then powerwashing off?

Thank you for the help!

Bill
Bill
1 year ago

I am told that my 15 year old deck was originally stained with a silicone stain. About 4-5 years ago it was pressure washed and restained with Sherwin Williams water based clear stain. It started coming up almost immediately in traffic areas and has since worn away. It stayed down for the most part in non traffic areas, but I assume needs to be removed with a stain remover then brightener? Also, would an oil based or water based stain be best? Thanks!

Jeff Richmond
Jeff Richmond
1 year ago

The cleaning system has good reviews but is their stain any good?

Joey
Joey
1 year ago

I stained about 4 years ago with twp 100 series, it’s definitely time to restain. What should I use to prep? Both Restore a deck products or just one?

Luke
Luke
1 year ago

Our deck was stained with Thompson Water Seal about 3 years ago. Can I clean the deck with Restore A Deck. and if so will it be alright to stain the deck with new color.

robert davidson
robert davidson
1 year ago

Is the ‘Restore a deck’ product available in Australia ?

e_iida@yahoo.com
e_iida@yahoo.com
2 years ago

Is it nessasary to use a cleaner on a new redwood fence prior to applying a sealer ?

e_iida@yahoo.com
e_iida@yahoo.com
2 years ago

What if ur to treat a new fence is it nessasary to use a cleaner before sealing the fence ?

Bryan
Bryan
2 years ago

My deck was stained with AC stain 2 years ago but has accumulated mildew and algae since then. Will using the the Restore-A-Deck cleaner and brightener end up removing that stain from 2 years ago? I’m not really wanting to have to stain it again so soon.

Y. Brazeau
Y. Brazeau
2 years ago

Which store sells it?

Rjones4029
Rjones4029
2 years ago

Will this combo of cleaner and brightened damage black aluminum painted pickets?

Matthew Bridges
Matthew Bridges
2 years ago

I recently restained my deck and I noticed that (not surprisingly) a spot that needed to be sanded looks way better than the rest of the deck. So much so that I think I’d like to go ahead and attempt to make the whole deck look like this spot. Is this a product I could potentially use to avoid needing to sand the entire deck?

Frank
Frank
2 years ago

I have a cedar deck that I stained this past spring using Sikkens (sico proluxe) srd stain.
Prior to staining, I used RAD cleaner and brightener to remove the greying and oxidation from weathering. It worked amazingly to bring the wood back to its natural colour.
I had some fuzzies but they easily knocked down with some 80 grit, I cleaned again to remove the dust and then stained when dry.

If I were to do a maintenance coat using the same stain, would I need to clean and brighten again with RAD or, could I simply clean with plain water, let dry and apply the same brand of stain over existing stain?
No need to strip the current stain?
Would RAD cleaner and brightener negatively affect the stain that already there?

Thanks,

Frank

Frank
Frank
2 years ago

What effect would the cleaner and brightener have on the current stain, if any?

Agam
Agam
2 years ago

I power washed my mahogany porch (it’s a covered front porch that’s exposed to some rain). It previously hadn’t been washed or treated for at least 6 years. My goal is to get it back to a nice reddish mahogany natural color. I was hoping to use the rustic TWP 1500.

Some of the boards are slightly cupped. When I tested with a random orbital sander the edges got more sanded that the middle. Do I need to sand? Or can I just use the cleaner and brightened, then the TWP?

I’m hoping to get the old mahogany wood to look somewhat like the newly installed Red Balau. Both are shown in the photo. The Red Balau isn’t treated yet – it was just installed.

Would love advice on whether I need to sand and if I should use this kit or Gemini restore a deck. Can I use the cleaner/brightener right after sanding? What color TWP should I put on Red Balau if I’m using rustic on the old mahogany?

Thank you!

AC4194D7-2FDA-4712-B1C6-CF09528DB326.jpeg
Agam
Agam
2 years ago

Thank you! If I’m using TWP 1500 should I use Gemini Restore or the one on this page?

Thanks again!

Ben
Ben
2 years ago

Can you use RAD cleaner and brightener and then use Defy Extreme Stain, or do you need to use Defy’s cleaner before using Defy stain? Many thanks.

Amy
Amy
2 years ago

Does power washing alone (well I used a crappy cleaner too) strip old stain? It doesn’t look like there is much/any color left on the wood after power washing. Do I need to apply stripper first and then use the cleaner/brightener (on top of the already crappy one I applied)? Or just one or the other?. I do still see some areas of green algae in other areas of a different part of the deck (added on later than original one with stain) .It’s a 3 year old deck and we just went straight to a cleaner and power washing. HELP!! Thanks

Amy
Amy
2 years ago

The first 2 pictures are of the original deck that had previous stain and we just power washed it. Not sure the type of wood it is. The last one is the pine deck that was added by us later and we just power washed it.

20190704_101456.jpg
Amy
Amy
2 years ago
Reply to  Amy

Second pic

20190704_100931.jpg
Amy
Amy
2 years ago
Reply to  Amy

Pine

20190704_101406.jpg
Shawn
Shawn
2 years ago

If u stain with RAD and need to sand and restain a Area should u apply brightner to the sanded area before staining again?

John Mc
John Mc
2 years ago

Where can it be purchased?

John Mc
John Mc
2 years ago

How does this product rate on new deck application?

Carla Heim
Carla Heim
2 years ago

I have a kiln dried cedar deck installed last year. Was told okay to stain. So stained before it was built. After this past winter, the parts of the decks that are exposed are peeling and flaking, after only a year! Would this word well on this wood? Also, would it perhaps potentially harm my aluminum spindles. Thanks!!

52712933_264605764439293_7406385349187862528_n.jpg
52995475_2050235815096928_6696021818836254720_n.jpg
Carla
Carla
2 years ago

thank you!!

Dick Crabb
Dick Crabb
2 years ago

Is this product designed to use on a cedar deck?

Don
Don
2 years ago

I have a 1 year old deck made with I believe pine boards with a printed stamp on the wood that says SPIB PREM RED KD19 HT. The wood looks like it is treated. The floor boards has not had stain applied to it yet but i would like to do it in the near future. Would I have to apply a cleaner and then use a wood brightener or just use a wood brightener? It has some minor graying that has started.

642
0
Questions or leave a review, please comment!x