Restore-A-Deck Deck Stain Stripper Review 4.6/5 (43)

This post was updated on January 19, 2022

Restore-A-Deck Stain Stripper

Best Deck Stain Stripper Review

Restore-A-Deck Stain Stripper

Update 2022: Restore-A-Deck Stain Stripper Review

We would love to hear from you if you have used the Restore-A-Deck Stain Stripper on your wood or deck. Please post a rating in the Consumer Star Ratings below. Consumer reviews below in the comment section have shown excellent results when using the Restore-A-Deck Stain Stripper.

If you have any pictures of your experience with Restore-A-Deck Stain Stripper, you can add them in the comment area with a detailed description.

Note: There are 2 new additives for the RAD Stain Stripper. The Restore-A-Deck Stain Stripper Booster and the Restore-A-Deck Thickening Gel. These products will increase the overall effectiveness of your stain stripping. These two additives greatly enhance the removal and ease of your stain stripping project.

See here for more info:

Restore-A-Deck Stripper Booster and Thickening Gel Additives


Restore-A-Deck Wood Stain Stripper is a biodegradable, powdered concentrate that quickly removes worn finishes to restore wood surfaces. Stains and varnishes are removed along with collected dirt, mold, mildew, and mill glaze.

The Restore A Deck system is a multistep deck cleaning system, and the best results are achieved when using all 3 products. This product is Step 1 Stripper of the Restore A Deck system and can be substituted for or used after Restore-A-Deck Wood Cleaner.

The Restore-A-Deck Deck Stain Stripper needs to be neutralized with a wood brightener.

Restore-A-Deck Deck Stain Stripper Scores (1-10)

Removal of Graying, Dirt, Grime: 9

– The RAD stripper easily cut through the dirt. All mold was removed from the deck.

Cost Per Square Foot: 10

-Restore-A-Deck Stain Stripper covers up to 1000 sq. feet for the 2 pounds, $34.99 a bottle. The RAD stain stripper is a bargain to use for the cost! Less than $7 per gallon when mixed with water.

Removal of Old Stain: 9

– The Restore-A-Deck Stain Stripper was used to remove a buildup of TWP 100 Series stain. The stripper was very effective at removing over 95% of the TWP. There was a little difficulty in a spot where a doormat had sat there for years. We applied the RAD stripper to this spot with the pump sprayer and it came off easily.

Ease of Application: 10

– The RAD Deck Stain Stripper in the 2-pound container mixes with 5 gallons of water. We tested the stripper by using a pump sprayer for application. We covered our 800 sq foot deck in less than 10 minutes. We most of the 5 gallons to do this.

Final Appearance of Stripping: 9

– Great at removing our semi-transparent stain. It was very important that we used a wood brightener to neutralize as the RAD stripper is extremely strong.

Overall Score Restore-A-Deck Deck Stain Stripper: 9.4

– Great at removing stains, easily applied, and costs pennies a square foot! Our highest score to date. There are other deck stain strippers that are just as effective but we really like the ability to inject the stripper as an option.

Product Information:

Manufacturer: Restore-A-Deck
Product Type: Powdered Concentrate Deck Stain Stripper
Available Sizes: 2 Pound Container Makes 5 Liquid Gallons
Application Temperature: 45-95 F
Coverage Per Container: 750-1000 sq. ft
Application Tools: Scrub Brush, Pressure Washer, Pump Sprayer.

Test Deck Stats:

Deck Wood Type: Cedar
Deck Square Footage: 800
The condition of Deck: 2-year-old TWP Stain was removed
How Much Product Used: 
2 Pounds. Retails for $34.99 with Free shipping.

*All products tested and results are from our experience. We offer no guarantee of similar results. Take into consideration that results may differ due to different wood types, exposure to UV radiation, and natural weathering.

How To Strip With Restore-A-Deck Stripper – DeckStainHelp.com

5 38
4 4
3 1
2 0
1 0
5 26
4 11
3 3
2 0
1 3
5 32
4 5
3 3
2 0
1 3

Please Rate This. You may also post comments or ask questions below.

Related Deck Stain Help Articles & Reviews

guest
682 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Gene G.
Gene G.
3 years ago

This was an excellent product to remove the water based semi transparent stain that I used on a one year old cedar deck.
The application was easy; the removal was better than I thought it would be and clean up was easy.
Any stripping process is going to take some work but this product wasn’t that bad.
I didn’t take before pics but I will submit some after pics in the Brightener section.

Terry
Terry
4 years ago

Now that I finished my deck project I thought I’d submit a review of the RAD products. My 500 sqft deck was stained with Pennofin back in 2010 then completely neglected since then. And I mean “completely” neglected. I didn’t have very high expectations coming into the project.

I couldn’t be happier with the results. I used RAD stripper and brightener kit for the project. This is industrial strength stuff so I took all the safety warnings seriously. I wore long sleeves, rubber gloves, painters mask and eye protection. I applied the stripper to 3/4 of the deck via sprayer before it clogged, then applied it via brush the last 1/4. After 30 minutes I rinsed it off with a 1600 PSI pressure washer using the green nozzel. It ended up removing 95+ % of the old stain.

After applying brightener to the whole deck I wasn’t completely satisfied how the brush application section turned out so I took another pass at it with the stripper. Then via a suggestion to a question I submitted earlier in this thread I applied another application of brightener to the whole deck and let it dry into the wood. Fantastic results. I ended up staining it with TWP Honeytone.

Before, stripping/brightening, and after photos tell the story.

Finished 1.jpg
Deck 1.jpg
Before 4.jpg
Glenn Wilson
Glenn Wilson
5 years ago

I stripped an 850 sq ft cedar deck with the RAD stripping kit with excellent results. I mixed the stripper at 1/2 pound per gallon in a pump sprayer. The four gallons (two pound bag) turned the Cabot 3000 stain into goo within 30 minutes, and with the aid of a pressure washer, removed 99% of the failed and peeling stain. After stripping, I neutralized with part 2 of the kit with equally impressive results. As an aside, I had a local quotation of $2550 to strip and re-stain my deck. Do the math; RAD stripper is a bargain and does a fantastic job.

Elisha Sanchez
Elisha Sanchez
1 month ago

We just applied Ready Seal natural semi-transparent to our 9 month old redwood fence in California. It looks horrible (turned orange). Can we strip it and start over?

Sally
Sally
1 month ago

Ok, I am back with a new plan for my deck. So, no oil. We are planning on using Restore-A-Deck “system”. Today I read your review. What is confusing, is that you are saying to use 3 products. #1 Stripper, #2 would be a brightener to “neutralize the stripper” I don’t see this product on your and when I did a search I it came up empty. I did find it on google. Am I missing something here? #3 The actual stain.
So it would look like this:
? #1 Red label- cleaner. I already cleaned the deck
#2 Purple label- Stripper. I need this
#3 Blue label-Brightener, to neutralize the stripper. I need this
#4 Green Label- Stain. Yes, this too.
Ok thanks so much for your previous reply about my problem deck.
Sally

jeff
jeff
2 months ago

Will RAD strip SW Woodscapes waterbased polyurethane semi transparent stain from siding

Gary
Gary
2 months ago

Will RAD remove Cabot Solid Color Oil Deck Stain? If so how many applications?

Craig M Sickles
Craig M Sickles
2 months ago

i have stained my porch railing in white, using Olympic solid stain a couple of times. My deck floor i used Olympic semi solid Sandstone a couple of years ago. My wife wants to use a Special custom mix Defy Solid stain that is white on the railings and change the deck to Defy Driftwood Gray. do i need to strip the railings or can i just stain over the existing. i suppose i will will need to strip the deck, What do you suggest

Roy Cordell
Roy Cordell
3 months ago

Will the Restore-A-Deck remove Valspar water based acrylic semi-transparent deck stain? I just coated it yesterday on 1 year old pressure treated lumber. This is the first coat of stain on our deck. Thanks, Roy

Michele
Michele
9 months ago

I have a small IPE deck that was dismantled and will be reassembled after other construction is complete. There was IPE oil applied previously, but it has not been applied for over 1 year and the wood is now grey and has some algae on it. Do I need to RAD stripper or just the cleaner if I want to change to the Armstrong Clark stain instead of IPE oil?

Michele
Michele
9 months ago

Thank you! Can RAD stripper be sprayed onto boards laid out on the lawn if wet first- or will it kill the grass? What brand and color of stain would you recommend? This IPE deck/landing steps down from a red brick wall. Northwest Indiana (near Chicago) at the southern tip of Lake Michigan. Harsh conditions – full sun with hot summers and cold snowy/icy winters. Noted some alge on the underside of the boards when we took them up.

Mike L.
Mike L.
10 months ago

I am using Olympic Premium Stain Stripper and trying to remove two coats of old semi-transparent stains. The top coat was applied five years ago (Bher water based) and bottom coat was applied 15 years ago (Cabot oil based). The Olympic stripper did a very good job in removing the top coat, however, it didn’t do anything for the bottom coat. I reapplied the stripper generously the second time but it didn’t dissolved or flaked off the bottom coat. It seems the Cabot stain penetrated and bonded very well to the wood fibre. Is this mean sanding is the only solution. Would the RAD work on this particular situation? I attached a picture shows stripped top coat (red) and remaining bottom coat (brown). Thank you for your help.

IMG-7796.jpg
Andy M.
Andy M.
11 months ago

Will RAD stain stripper remove PermaChink Vista Deck stain? Also, I only want to remove the stain from the floor boards, not the railing. Do I need to cover the railing with plastic or tarp? Thanks!

Linda
Linda
11 months ago

I have read that before using the RAD stripper product you can thoroughly wet down surfaces such as doors, windows, siding, etc. instead of covering with plastic and/or tarps. What are your thoughts on this? Also, I have a cement patio below the deck. Should the cement and sides be covered with plastic or would thoroughly wetting the entire area down be sufficient?

Photos attached

20210713_173348.jpg
20210713_173353.jpg
Linda Poe
Linda Poe
11 months ago

Thank you for the quick reply.

Terry
Terry
11 months ago

Will the Restore A Deck product remove Sikkens Proluxe Cetol SRD Translucent Matte Wood Finish.

ryan Packer
ryan Packer
1 year ago

Will the stripper and additives remove this stain? Believe it’s a semi solid

ryan Packer
ryan Packer
1 year ago

Sorry didn’t attach

6425343031.jpg
6425342871.jpg
6425342731.jpg
Chris
Chris
1 year ago

Our local dealer only carries TWP Safe-Strip, are the directions the same and is one better than the other? I am prepping heavily oxidized and previously stained cedar siding. I also used the #2 Restore a deck brighter that came in a kit as I was not able to find it by itself. Is Safe Strip compatible with the brightener and should I use it after using the safe strip?

Julie
Julie
1 year ago

Hello I just posted, I prefer NOT to have my last name posted, sorry and thanks! Julie E.

BAB1EE91-3245-4B0C-A730-CAEA2BD3C508.jpeg
B0E6610C-4D7C-4578-B4C4-8EA6072441AB.jpeg
FEBB74A1-0BCB-4B46-81F8-244475AC96E3.jpeg
Julie
Julie
1 year ago

Am I understanding you correctly that I will not be able to strip any of it, including the floor?

Julie
Julie
1 year ago

Hello, I am looking for some advice. This is a 30 year old deck. Last stained 2 or 3 years ago with what is pictured below. The top rail has had many different things on it over the years. Please advise, thanks!

Ari
Ari
1 year ago

I am wondering if RAD with the booster will make a difference for me.
We have been trying to strip what it seems to be solid stain from our deck. First (left) picture shows the results after using a floor sander 36 grit. Didn’t make much progress. Then we tried the Beth stripper followed by the cleaner, which started to help very little (right, still wet), but we still have a long way to go to get rid of it. Would you recommend the RAD + booster on this situation or should we just move to another type of sander?
Thank you!

87830EE0-3091-43C7-B12D-3714A4DD6CC2.jpg
85B57D8E-7FCF-4433-A6AC-7B72B0C28CFC.jpg
Nate
Nate
1 year ago

I will be stripping my deck rails using restore-a-deck with the two additives and brightening using the restore-a-deck brightener. The decking itself is Timbertech composite decking. Are there any concerns with the stripper or brightener falling on the composite decking? Will it discolor it? The decking does have some dark spots in it Do I need to cover it in plastic or something? Or would the stripper and/or brightener help clean the composite decking and it’s OK or even preferred to spray it along with the railings? Thanks!

Naoko
Naoko
1 year ago

Hi, The previous owner seemed to have stained over stain probably over 5 years ago on the cedar deck. It’s been peeled off and cracked especially on the rails because of the very dry climate here (less than 10% humidity is common). I don’t like opaque stain, but how do I fill those cracks? And, do I need booster gel for the stripper for the pervious stain (semi-solid?)? Thank you so much.

20210328_160851.jpg
20210328_160927.jpg
Naoko
Naoko
1 year ago

Thanks. How do I fill the cracks on the railings? Should I replace the boards?

Naoko
Naoko
1 year ago

Ok thank you.

Tim kabrick
Tim kabrick
1 year ago

My front porch deck has sikkens Srd. The front porch deck is covered. The deck by the house looks great but the side that gets sun has faded and the deck in front of the stairs is mostly worn off. We have a log house, so the logs wrap down to the deck. The deck is cedar.

I am looking for a stripper that will safely and easily remove the srd. I then intend to apply TWP 100.

image.jpg
image.jpg
image.jpg
Lauren
Lauren
1 year ago

Hello. I am going to re-stain a house that previously had ATO red grandis and the owner wants to go water based semi- transparent over it. Can I apply the water based over the timber oil?

3EAA026F-F043-4781-87F9-B525AF4225D6.jpeg
Lauren
Lauren
1 year ago

Can I apply stripper with sprayer, let sit/ untouched, power wash off and then …?

Melissa Cable
Melissa Cable
1 year ago

I’m not sure what is on my deck. I think a Ben More semi-transparent. Stained probably 4 years ago. We are wanting to go to a more natural wood color (it is a greyish brown now). I’ve been told I can not go lighter. Were told just to thompson water seal after power washing it, it but I see that may not be a good option. Hoping to avoid sanding. Can we apply this stripper, powerwash it after, and then use brightener? Pretty basic restain job minus maybe switching products and color. We do have vertical cabinets, with countertops that we will do in a darker contrasting color, thus wanting lighter on the bottom.

So using the stripper allows you to not powerwash as harshly or as long?

Don
Don
1 year ago

Deck Location State: West Virginia
Sun: Full sun
Wood: Pressure treated pine
Mold/mildew: no
Reason for stain failure: winter freeze/thaw, water dripping from eaves. : Most of the deck is still covered, but there are several places where stain worn off and wood exposed. Several spots get dripping water from eve overhang that goes down to the decking.
Previous stain: 3 yrs ago, new deck, no stain the first season.
2yrs ago, Flood CWF Cedar, 2 coats after deck wash.
Last year, Flood CWF Ultra UV5, 2 coats after deck wash.
Preparing for this year, 2020. Can I stain over last year’s coat with the same product to keep from removing the otherwise thick coat on 90% of the deck? If not, what product do you suggest I use to remove current stain, and what to re-stain with?

Deck #1.jpg
Deck #3.jpg
Deck #4.jpg
G. Anderson
G. Anderson
1 year ago

HELP! I used Restore-A-Decks 2-step Stripper & Brighter system to remove the old water-based Benjamin-Moore Arborcoat semi-transparent stain from my hardwood mahogany deck. After applying, power-washing off the old stain, brightening then thorough rinsing & drying, I applied 1 thin coat of Armstrong-Clark’s OIL-based Hardwood Amber semi-transparent stain, as recommended. It looked nice going on, but after drying looked horrible! Very mottled looking with extremely flat finish—no sheen whatsoever. I was careful to apply the stain evenly, full-length of deck 2 boards at a time. But, it looks like staggered marks from the pressure washer used to rinse-off the stripper now managed to show through the semi-transparent stain on the boards..
Can I save the looks of the deck by now applying a different SEMI-SOLID oil-based stain over the SEMI-TRANSPARENT one that’s now on it? If so, do I have to do any re-prep, or can I just apply the new coat of semi-solid stain to cover-up the current uneven appearance? I’m not that interested in showing the grain of the mahogany in it’s current condition. What can I do at this point? Thanks,

G. Anderson
G. Anderson
1 year ago

Here are a few shots of my mahogany deck with AC amber semi-transparent stain

deck1.jpg
deck2.jpg
deck3.jpg
deck4.jpg
G. Anderson
G. Anderson
1 year ago

Appreciate the info. I’m leaving as it is for this season. Next spring, I wish to ad another coat of the AC semi-transparent amber stain. Do I just use your cleaner, rinse and then stain? Or, will I need to re-brighten as well before stain application? Thanks.

Nick
Nick
1 year ago

Is this the right product to use for first time on PT decking to clean and brighten?

Nick
Nick
1 year ago

Will this clean and brighten unstained or unseal PT? If not what’s the right products to use for first time

Laurie
Laurie
2 years ago

I just had some of the boards on my cedar deck replaced with cedar boards and there are also many boards that have transparent stain on them, as the picture shows. If I use stripper followed by brightner will it harm the brand new cedar boards?

IMG_0830.jpg
Kathy
Kathy
2 years ago

Where can I purchase Restore A Deck?

Kathy
Kathy
2 years ago

Thanks

Roger
Roger
2 years ago

will this remove rescue it max from deck?

mike
mike
2 years ago

I have Behr super Rawhide (clear) on my cedar siding and it’s cracking and peeling. Will restore-a-deck stripper remove this stuff? I’ve read that only media blasting will take it off.

David in Tahoe
David in Tahoe
2 years ago

Thanks for this site. Best source of info on deck restoration I can find anywhere. I’m getting educated!
I think previous owner applied Sherwin DeckScapes solid (found a can under the house), although the can is brown and the deck stain has red tints, what’s left of the stain! Reading here I think I’m doing RAD 3-part prep, but I’m confused on two things:
1) I see you mention Stripper won’t remove a solid stain like DeckScapes. Should I just skip stripping then? This is related to my second question…
2) IF there is/was solid stain on my deck, my only option is another solid then correct? I can’t put a semi stain on, correct?

58260B69-A38C-429B-8F07-1F8497B3E055.jpeg
F08C82C4-7E4D-4A33-A72A-FFC37F06A421.jpeg
David in Tahoe
David in Tahoe
2 years ago

ok thank you! I’ll come back with photos once I have it stripped and cleaned.

Bob
Bob
2 years ago

I am using the RAD (without booster or gel) on my pine deck floor that was media blasted and stained with Permachink Ultra 7 about six years ago. It’s a semi-trans water based stain and it is coming up, but I think the pressure washer may be doing the bulk of the work. I’m just wondering as I have more to do, if I should add the “booster” to the RAD to kick it up in strength. As it is, I mixed it double strength according to the directions. I don’t have the booster (also don’t need the gel as surface is not vertical), but could order it, but should I consider something stronger like Woodrich HD80? I will be light power sanding afterwards to get rid of fuzzies and imperfections.

So the question is, how does the booster (minus the gel) added to RAD stack up against straight HD80?

Thanks for any input.

Deck RAD.jpg
Deck RAD2.jpg
A Bennett
A Bennett
2 years ago

I am hoping that you can advise me how you would tackle this deck railing project. One of your replies states, “…no deck stain stripper will remove a solid stain effectively.”I don’t know enough to be able to know what is on the railing right now. Are you able to tell by the pictures, by chance?
If appropriate, I planned to use Restore-A-Deck Deck Stain Stripper with Booster and Gel Additives followed by the Brightener. We haven’t chosen the coating yet, and would appreciate suggestions for the most durable available for the conditions. The deck is in the Pacific Northwest with a west view and the house is very near the Puget Sound coastline. Also, is there a coating that would make all the wood consistent in color, or are we doomed to have a mismatch on the few treated posts and rim joist that were recently replaced? Do you have any thought about how long this project might take per 6 LF of railing? I appreciate any guidance you can provide! Thank you so much!

2019-10-29-17-18-48.jpg
2020-02-10-14-18-34.jpg
2020-02-10-14-20-15.jpg
2020-02-10-14-18-09.jpg
A Bennett
A Bennett
2 years ago

Thank you for your insight! I should clarify that we’re not doing anything to the deck right now. We’re just doing the railing.

Rebecca Pesola
Rebecca Pesola
2 years ago

I have a 2 year old pressure treated deck that was sealed with a natural-color oil based sealer. I’d like to cover it with Restore a Deck stain. Other than washing the deck, do I need to remove the oil based sealer? At a minimum, what should I use?

Rose L
Rose L
2 years ago

I have a multi level deck that is 28 years old. We have pressure washed the deck and were planning to apply the Restore A Deck cleaner and brightener. but with amount of old Sikkens stain remaining on the deck, I am afraid that will not be enough. Do I have to cover my lower deck when I clean my upper deck?

deck.jpg
deck2.jpg
Rose L
Rose L
2 years ago

Thank you! This is a really great site!!!

Doug Murray
Doug Murray
2 years ago

I just applied a coat of Restore-A-Deck semi transparent Natural, to a few sections of a relatively new cedar fence. I don’t like the results. Can I remove it now and start over?

Earl
Earl
2 years ago

Where can you purchase this product?

John
John
2 years ago

Does this product work on Redwood decks stained with solid stain from Behr

John
John
2 years ago

Thanks. Any thoughts on how to make the deck look good if it cannot be completely stripped. What can be put over the stain if anything and will it last

John
John
2 years ago

Thanks again. I will try it What a pain!

Phil K
Phil K
2 years ago

Great site!

I want to apply a new coat of semi-transparent stain to my fence that has a pre-existing semi-transparent stain. As I understand it, I have to strip it first (using RSD), condition it, then stain it. My question is, do I need to apply any further treatment, such as a sealer or varnish, over the final coat of semi-tranparent stain?

Thanks,
Phil

Russ Watson
Russ Watson