Restore-A-Deck Deck Stain Stripper Review  4.5/5 (45)

This post was updated on May 1, 2024

Restore-A-Deck Stain Stripper

Best Deck Stain Stripper Review

Restore-A-Deck Stain Stripper

Update 2024: Restore-A-Deck Stain Stripper Review

We would love to hear from you if you have used the Restore-A-Deck Stain Stripper on your wood or deck. Please post a rating in the Consumer Star Ratings below. Consumer reviews below in the comment section have shown excellent results when using the Restore-A-Deck Stain Stripper.

If you have any pictures of your experience with Restore-A-Deck Stain Stripper, you can add them in the comment area with a detailed description.

Note: There are 2 new additives for the RAD Stain Stripper. The Restore-A-Deck Stain Stripper Booster and the Restore-A-Deck Thickening Gel. These products will increase the overall effectiveness of your stain stripping. These two additives greatly enhance the removal and ease of your stain stripping project.

See here for more info:

Restore-A-Deck Stripper Booster and Thickening Gel Additives


Restore-A-Deck Wood Stain Stripper is a biodegradable, powdered concentrate that quickly removes worn finishes to restore wood surfaces. Stains and varnishes are removed along with collected dirt, mold, mildew, and mill glaze.

The Restore A Deck system is a multistep deck cleaning system, and the best results are achieved when using all 3 products. This product is Step 1 Stripper of the Restore A Deck system and can be substituted for or used after Restore-A-Deck Wood Cleaner.

The Restore-A-Deck Deck Stain Stripper needs to be neutralized with a wood brightener.

Restore-A-Deck Deck Stain Stripper Scores (1-10)

Removal of Graying, Dirt, Grime: 9

– The RAD stripper easily cut through the dirt. All mold was removed from the deck.

Cost Per Square Foot: 10

-Restore-A-Deck Stain Stripper covers up to 1000 sq. feet for the 2 pounds, $39.99 a bottle. The RAD stain stripper is a bargain to use for the cost! Less than $8 per gallon when mixed with water.

Removal of Old Stain: 9

– The Restore-A-Deck Stain Stripper was used to remove a buildup of TWP 100 Series stain. The stripper was very effective at removing over 95% of the TWP. There was a little difficulty in a spot where a doormat had sat there for years. We applied the RAD stripper to this spot with the pump sprayer and it came off easily.

Ease of Application: 10

– The RAD Deck Stain Stripper in the 2-pound container mixes with 5 gallons of water. We tested the stripper by using a pump sprayer for application. We covered our 800 sq foot deck in less than 10 minutes. We most of the 5 gallons to do this.

Final Appearance of Stripping: 9

– Great at removing our semi-transparent stain. It was very important that we used a wood brightener to neutralize as the RAD stripper is extremely strong.

Overall Score Restore-A-Deck Deck Stain Stripper: 9.4

– Great at removing stains, easily applied, and costs pennies a square foot! Our highest score to date. There are other deck stain strippers that are just as effective but we really like the ability to inject the stripper as an option.

Product Information:

Manufacturer: Restore-A-Deck
Product Type: Powdered Concentrate Deck Stain Stripper
Available Sizes: 2 Pound Container Makes 5 Liquid Gallons
Application Temperature: 45-95 F
Coverage Per Container: 750-1000 sq. ft
Application Tools: Scrub Brush, Pressure Washer, Pump Sprayer.

Test Deck Stats:

Deck Wood Type: Cedar
Deck Square Footage: 800
The condition of Deck: 2-year-old TWP Stain was removed
How Much Product Used: 
2 Pounds. Retails for $39.99 with Free shipping.

*All products tested and results are from our experience. We offer no guarantee of similar results. Take into consideration that results may differ due to different wood types, exposure to UV radiation, and natural weathering.

How To Strip With Restore-A-Deck Stripper – DeckStainHelp.com

5 39
4 4
3 2
2 0
1 0
5 27
4 11
3 4
2 0
1 3
5 33
4 5
3 4
2 0
1 3

Please Rate This. You may also post comments or ask questions below.

author avatar
Scott Paul ~ Restoring Wood & Decks Since 1993 Owner
As an article and comment contributor to the site, Scott has been around the pressure washing industry since attending college. In 1993 he started his first company called Oakland Pressure Wash specializing in exterior pressure washing and deck staining. That company evolved into OPW L.L.C. shortly thereafter concentrating more on exterior wood and deck restoration. Scott and his Deck Cleaning Michigan company have restored over 10,000 decks in the Metro Detroit area since the early years. He has become an authority in the deck restoration industry and has contributed to numerous wood restoration forums and informative sites. All the products he suggests through this site are sold through online sites and in retail stores, allowing the consumer to choose their own means of purchase. Scott’s eCommerce sites do sell many top brands he endorses and if you appreciate any of the help he has offered then feel free to purchase from one of them.

Related Deck Stain Help Articles & Reviews

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
722 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Gene G.
Gene G.
5 years ago

This was an excellent product to remove the water based semi transparent stain that I used on a one year old cedar deck.
The application was easy; the removal was better than I thought it would be and clean up was easy.
Any stripping process is going to take some work but this product wasn’t that bad.
I didn’t take before pics but I will submit some after pics in the Brightener section.

Terry
Terry
6 years ago

Now that I finished my deck project I thought I’d submit a review of the RAD products. My 500 sqft deck was stained with Pennofin back in 2010 then completely neglected since then. And I mean “completely” neglected. I didn’t have very high expectations coming into the project.

I couldn’t be happier with the results. I used RAD stripper and brightener kit for the project. This is industrial strength stuff so I took all the safety warnings seriously. I wore long sleeves, rubber gloves, painters mask and eye protection. I applied the stripper to 3/4 of the deck via sprayer before it clogged, then applied it via brush the last 1/4. After 30 minutes I rinsed it off with a 1600 PSI pressure washer using the green nozzel. It ended up removing 95+ % of the old stain.

After applying brightener to the whole deck I wasn’t completely satisfied how the brush application section turned out so I took another pass at it with the stripper. Then via a suggestion to a question I submitted earlier in this thread I applied another application of brightener to the whole deck and let it dry into the wood. Fantastic results. I ended up staining it with TWP Honeytone.

Before, stripping/brightening, and after photos tell the story.

Finished 1.jpg
Deck 1.jpg
Before 4.jpg
Glenn Wilson
Glenn Wilson
7 years ago

I stripped an 850 sq ft cedar deck with the RAD stripping kit with excellent results. I mixed the stripper at 1/2 pound per gallon in a pump sprayer. The four gallons (two pound bag) turned the Cabot 3000 stain into goo within 30 minutes, and with the aid of a pressure washer, removed 99% of the failed and peeling stain. After stripping, I neutralized with part 2 of the kit with equally impressive results. As an aside, I had a local quotation of $2550 to strip and re-stain my deck. Do the math; RAD stripper is a bargain and does a fantastic job.

glen
glen
8 months ago

I used this product before stain/seal with Armstrong Clark (natural) last year. Worked great & really like AC! In prep for adding railings this year I reapplied AC to the ends most exposed to sun. All well. However, I made huge mistake in building the railings. I used galvanized goat panels & had to do final metal trimming to fit up on the deck surface. Well…long story short…that area is black (fortunately did all cutting in this end). Tons of rain since then so all those virtually invisible pieces of metal that I didn’t get swept away when dry have produced dark staining. I’ve been trying to sand & then use a product that some said would get stain out but it doesn’t, it did make a very minimal change tho. Will Restore a Deck get that stain out? Seems fighting uphill battle as anything that uses water just causes it to come back. Maybe its heavy sanding & using compressor to blow dust off cause that dust contains the particles & just seems to be spreading the problem. Maybe I will have to resort to replacing boards. Can’t turn them over, Any suggestions appreciated as need to remedy boards on that end before can put up final railing. I really don’t want a colored stain to try covering it up. Too much other wood invested in the natural & no time for re-doing all of it. Thanks!

glen
glen
8 months ago

Sounds like brightener will do it. Yes, its the metal flakes that have rusted. Screws are fine. Rest of deck is fine. Because wood has the armstrong clark on it assume I need to use the stripper first then the brightener? Or cleaner then brightener?. Brightener only? Thinking I need to get down to bare wood to get rid of all that metal dust. Doesn’t help that it kept getting walked on & then thoroughly soaked into the wood. Just wanting to confirm what combo I need to order. Thanks so much. I hadn’t been able to find the rust document.

Ben P
Ben P
11 months ago

Wish I had found this site before I purchased a Cabot semi-solid New Redwood stain. The color is much darker than anticipated. Will this product be effective at removing a semi-solid stain? In addition, is it easier to remove a semi-solid stain sooner after staining (as opposed to waiting until next year to remove)?

Ben P
Ben P
11 months ago

The intent was to match or compliment the base slats, but the final color of the stain is not really close to the sample color that I was shown

IMG_3618.jpeg
IMG_3615.jpeg
IMG_3614.jpeg
IMG_3613.jpeg
Ben P
Ben P
11 months ago

Thanks for the advice Scott

Heidi
Heidi
11 months ago

Why does my stripping solution seem to dry so quickly. I am constantly having to reapply. I’m about to use a gallon on one little spot

Angela
Angela
1 year ago

I have a rental cabin that was purchased 1 yr ago. At time of purchase, prior owners had deck restained. I am not sure of the product probably sikkens. seems like just within 1 yr, the deck showing a lot of wear and I want to restore. If I just use the RAD stripper, booster and thickening gel.

  1. Do you think it will work well to strip the floors?
  2. It seems like when you mist it, it goes everywhere and can get on cabin body and posts. So will I need to also restain the body and posts where it gets on?
  3. Should I be trying to protect the posts/body if I don’t want to restain those?
  4. Perhaps it should be hand applied and not misted? I have a wrap around porch so lots of floor to cover.
image000000 (4).JPG
image000000 (3).JPG
339083288_787696062873399_5071924382695512472_n.jpg
Angela Hsu
Angela Hsu
1 year ago

Is it possible not to strip it but just add a solid or semisolid stain directly on top after power washing? What product would you recommend?

Angela Hsu
Angela Hsu
1 year ago

Looking at my pictures, would there be a stain you recommend to hide the footprints that get on deck? I think they footprints from the gravel road are light in color. I was thinking perhaps using a lighter colored stain might be better. This would then probably require the full stripping using the RAD paint strip you mentioned.(thanks again for all your help!)

Angela
Angela
1 year ago

I messaged RAD compnay and they were of the opinion that it would be difficult to protect verticals from the gel/powerwash off even with tape/tarping. What is your opinion?

I think the verticals are in good condition and would like to keep as is. Having to strip and restain the skirting, rails, cabin body would add alot of cost of materials and labor. hoping for your suggestions on how to get around this.

339030296_804755624501400_465651009689934139_n.jpg
Rene
Rene
1 year ago

what pressure washer are you using and gun?

Dawn Lorenzen
Dawn Lorenzen
1 year ago

How do you repair a tacky or sticky Penofin stain application on deck?

Tara M.
Tara M.
1 year ago

We live in northern Michigan and need some advice on the best way to remove this 4 year old deck stain. We used a Valspar semi-transparent stain; however, it appears to look more like a solid? Perhaps because the deck sits in full shade so it doesn’t get any sun fading or damage.
Anyway, we’ve tried a couple different deck strippers (Valspar and Flood) with little to no effect. Do you think the RAD stripper with the additives would be effective at stripping this stain or are we better off renting a floor sander?

5DD8A934-DB5F-4F5B-B6A2-22623260D002.jpeg
E7EB01D0-823C-42F9-8C9D-EE88E270B54F.jpeg
DC096BA0-E751-40DF-B4DF-E150C1A16E4A.jpeg
3455E37C-5A93-4425-B5A3-FAAC644FF0B2.jpeg
Marian Witucki
Marian Witucki
1 year ago

About 3 years ago we used Behr Deck Restore on our deck and steps and landing into our home. It has been peeling and unsightly since the beginning.
We are trying to restain, but need to remove the old first. Some of the areas are not coming off with just the power washer. What can we or should we use to remove it. The associate at Home Depot said to use Citri Strip. I am hesitant to use that at $26.00 a half gallon. Help please!!!

T D
T D
1 year ago

Hi. This is what I have. Unfortunately I’m not sure how old the deck is but I believe stain was applied in 2020 by the previous owner. Would RAD stripper remove this?

9BB6956E-7B3B-4428-8EA3-3E6A619411FB.jpeg
Suzanne V.
Suzanne V.
1 year ago

Please help recommend the best product/procedure for removing Storm 4 solid acrylic stain from my deck. Thank you!

Suzanne V.
Suzanne V.
1 year ago

Thank you for your expert advice! I figured this would be a time-consuming project.

Elisha Sanchez
Elisha Sanchez
1 year ago

We just applied Ready Seal natural semi-transparent to our 9 month old redwood fence in California. It looks horrible (turned orange). Can we strip it and start over?

Sally
Sally
1 year ago

Ok, I am back with a new plan for my deck. So, no oil. We are planning on using Restore-A-Deck “system”. Today I read your review. What is confusing, is that you are saying to use 3 products. #1 Stripper, #2 would be a brightener to “neutralize the stripper” I don’t see this product on your and when I did a search I it came up empty. I did find it on google. Am I missing something here? #3 The actual stain.
So it would look like this:
? #1 Red label- cleaner. I already cleaned the deck
#2 Purple label- Stripper. I need this
#3 Blue label-Brightener, to neutralize the stripper. I need this
#4 Green Label- Stain. Yes, this too.
Ok thanks so much for your previous reply about my problem deck.
Sally

Sally Dannels
Sally Dannels
6 months ago

Ok more questions. Sorry.
>So I am reading the label on the #1 Stripper. It says to avoid application in direct sunlight. My deck is in the sun, does this mean I can’t use the stripper?
> I see it says that the stripper does not strip paint, solid opaque stains or other firm-forming surface coatings. I am under the impression that Restor-A-Deck will adhere to these coatings though. Is this correct? My purchasing it was because it will adhere to oil products.
>Last question, When I cleaned the deck, I scrubbed it with a hard brush and dislodged loose old stains on different parts. Do I need to use a stripper at this point? A lot of the wood is raw as the old stain was scrubbed off. If in the end, I have to sand it, do I need to use step 1 and 2?
If the wood is raw in parts because I scrubbed off most of the old paint and used the brightener, can I stain those parts and work piecemeal depending on the weather here?
>If I do sand the deck floor for some reason, do I need to completely take off the residual stain or can I just rough up the surface for better adhesion if the product can be painted on oil?

Sally Dannels
Sally Dannels
6 months ago
Reply to  Sally

Hi Scott Paul, Wow, now a year has passed since this inquiry. Somehow, I overlooked, forgot and or rather did not use the #1 Purple Stripper” first. I have scrubbed the deck clean, then applied the #2 Brightener. I have no idea why I forgot the #1 Stripper in my haste. I think I was just going by the color and size of the packages and blue and purple are close in the shade. Sigh.. Anyway, I assume, I need to use step #1 Stripper because there is an old layer of oil based paint on the deck. Do I or should I do #2 Brightener again after? I am thinking the answer is yes to remove the stripper. I’m very irritated at myself that I did not pay more attention. Anyway, Moving forward-backward and forward. Thanks in advance

Sally Dannels
Sally Dannels
6 months ago

Will do. Thanks I understand the stripper does not remove paint. It is a prep step.

jeff
jeff
2 years ago

Will RAD strip SW Woodscapes waterbased polyurethane semi transparent stain from siding

Gary
Gary
2 years ago

Will RAD remove Cabot Solid Color Oil Deck Stain? If so how many applications?

Craig M Sickles
Craig M Sickles
2 years ago

i have stained my porch railing in white, using Olympic solid stain a couple of times. My deck floor i used Olympic semi solid Sandstone a couple of years ago. My wife wants to use a Special custom mix Defy Solid stain that is white on the railings and change the deck to Defy Driftwood Gray. do i need to strip the railings or can i just stain over the existing. i suppose i will will need to strip the deck, What do you suggest

Roy Cordell
Roy Cordell
2 years ago

Will the Restore-A-Deck remove Valspar water based acrylic semi-transparent deck stain? I just coated it yesterday on 1 year old pressure treated lumber. This is the first coat of stain on our deck. Thanks, Roy

Michele
Michele
2 years ago

I have a small IPE deck that was dismantled and will be reassembled after other construction is complete. There was IPE oil applied previously, but it has not been applied for over 1 year and the wood is now grey and has some algae on it. Do I need to RAD stripper or just the cleaner if I want to change to the Armstrong Clark stain instead of IPE oil?

Michele
Michele
2 years ago

Thank you! Can RAD stripper be sprayed onto boards laid out on the lawn if wet first- or will it kill the grass? What brand and color of stain would you recommend? This IPE deck/landing steps down from a red brick wall. Northwest Indiana (near Chicago) at the southern tip of Lake Michigan. Harsh conditions – full sun with hot summers and cold snowy/icy winters. Noted some alge on the underside of the boards when we took them up.

Mike L.
Mike L.
2 years ago

I am using Olympic Premium Stain Stripper and trying to remove two coats of old semi-transparent stains. The top coat was applied five years ago (Bher water based) and bottom coat was applied 15 years ago (Cabot oil based). The Olympic stripper did a very good job in removing the top coat, however, it didn’t do anything for the bottom coat. I reapplied the stripper generously the second time but it didn’t dissolved or flaked off the bottom coat. It seems the Cabot stain penetrated and bonded very well to the wood fibre. Is this mean sanding is the only solution. Would the RAD work on this particular situation? I attached a picture shows stripped top coat (red) and remaining bottom coat (brown). Thank you for your help.

IMG-7796.jpg
Andy M.
Andy M.
2 years ago

Will RAD stain stripper remove PermaChink Vista Deck stain? Also, I only want to remove the stain from the floor boards, not the railing. Do I need to cover the railing with plastic or tarp? Thanks!

Linda
Linda
2 years ago

I have read that before using the RAD stripper product you can thoroughly wet down surfaces such as doors, windows, siding, etc. instead of covering with plastic and/or tarps. What are your thoughts on this? Also, I have a cement patio below the deck. Should the cement and sides be covered with plastic or would thoroughly wetting the entire area down be sufficient?

Photos attached

20210713_173348.jpg
20210713_173353.jpg
Linda Poe
Linda Poe
2 years ago

Thank you for the quick reply.

Terry
Terry
2 years ago

Will the Restore A Deck product remove Sikkens Proluxe Cetol SRD Translucent Matte Wood Finish.

ryan Packer
ryan Packer
2 years ago

Will the stripper and additives remove this stain? Believe it’s a semi solid

ryan Packer
ryan Packer
2 years ago

Sorry didn’t attach

6425343031.jpg
6425342871.jpg
6425342731.jpg
Chris
Chris
2 years ago

Our local dealer only carries TWP Safe-Strip, are the directions the same and is one better than the other? I am prepping heavily oxidized and previously stained cedar siding. I also used the #2 Restore a deck brighter that came in a kit as I was not able to find it by itself. Is Safe Strip compatible with the brightener and should I use it after using the safe strip?

Julie
Julie
2 years ago

Hello I just posted, I prefer NOT to have my last name posted, sorry and thanks! Julie E.

BAB1EE91-3245-4B0C-A730-CAEA2BD3C508.jpeg
B0E6610C-4D7C-4578-B4C4-8EA6072441AB.jpeg
FEBB74A1-0BCB-4B46-81F8-244475AC96E3.jpeg
Julie
Julie
2 years ago

Am I understanding you correctly that I will not be able to strip any of it, including the floor?

Julie
Julie
2 years ago

Hello, I am looking for some advice. This is a 30 year old deck. Last stained 2 or 3 years ago with what is pictured below. The top rail has had many different things on it over the years. Please advise, thanks!

722
0
Questions or leave a review, please comment!x