Restore-A-Deck Solid Color Stain Review 4.8/5 (8)

This post was updated on April 19, 2022

Restore A Deck Solid Color Stain Review

Restore A Deck Solid Color Stain Review

Restore-A-Deck Solid Stain Review 2022

This is our initial Review of the Restore-A-Deck Solid Color Wood and Deck Stain.  This review will be updated over the years. As deck restoration contractors, Restore A Deck Solid Color Stain will be our go-to Solid Color Stain for 2022 due to its ease of use, 5 pre-mixed solid colors (the only solid stain on the market that comes pre-mixed), and the ability to prep and stain on the same day.

Note: Restore-A-Deck Wood Stains are the only stain we have tested that can be applied to dry or damp wood. Applying to damp wood allows you the ability to prep and stain on the same day, saving you a tremendous amount of time.

 

Restore A Deck Solid Color Wood Stain Review

Summary: Restore-A-Deck Solid Color Wood Stain is an extremely durable synthetic-resin, opaque wood finish that helps protect against the damaging effects of water, fungi, and UV radiation on exterior wood surfaces. This V.O.C. compliant water-based product provides exceptional protection for nearly all exterior wood surfaces in a beautiful matte finish.

Restore-A-Deck Wood Stain can be applied the same day as the prep. Make sure that all standing water has dried off the surface after prep. Typically 2-4 hours at 70º F and less than 50% humidity.

Restore-A-Deck Solid Color Wood Stain can be used on interior or exterior horizontal and vertical wood surfaces including wood siding, log homes, decks, fences, outdoor wood furniture, pressure-treated, and all other natural wood surfaces.

Restore-A-Deck Solid Stain Scores (1-10)

Appearance After Initial Stain Application: 10

Note: We used a two-toned deck stain approach for this Restore A Deck Solid Stain Review. This review is for the White Solid color stain that was applied to all verticals. To see our review or the RAD Semi-Transparent Stain, Click Restore A Deck Wood Stain

– The Restore-A-Deck wood stain color we used was the Solid Classic Color in White for the Railings and Semi-transparent Dark Walnut for the Floor. The two coats applied to our PTP wood covered nicely and did not show any wood grain which is expected with a solid stain. Even application and no overlap lines.

Restore A Deck Solid Color Stain Review

Restore A Deck Solid Color Stain Review

Wear/Tear and Peeling: 10

–At the 1-year mark, there was no wearing or peeling anywhere on the white verticals.

Cost Per Square Foot: 8

– We applied two coats to our 350 sq. feet of verticals that included all railings and steps. 2 Gallons were used at a cost of $50 per gallon.

Preventing Mold/Mildew/Algae: 9

– Similar to other water-based solid color deck stains, the Restore-A-Deck Solid Color Stain will not promote the growth of mold or mildew. This is one of the main advantages of using a water-based coating. At the 1-year mark, the deck showed no signs of any mold or mildew.

Ease of Application: 8

– Our favorite aspect of the Restore-A-Deck Wood Solid Color Stain is the ability to stain and prep on the same day. We tested this by cleaning and brightening the wood with the Step 1 and Step 2 Restore A Deck Cleaner/Brightener Kit and then applying the RAD stain 1 hour after the prep. The Restore-A-Deck actually applies easier to damp wood than dry wood. We also found that the coverage was better when applied to damp wood.

We applied both coats of the White RAD Stain with a roller and brush to the wood, waiting about 30 minutes between coats. The second coat goes on very easily and covers twice as far as the first coat. Overall application with the Restore-A-Deck solid stain is very easy. Spreads excellent and easy to work with.

Difficulty of Reapplication: 8

– Clean and reapply as needed using their Step 1 Deck Cleaner and a light pressure washing.

Overall Score Restore-A-Deck Solid Color Stain at 1 Year Period: 8.88

– The Restore-A-Deck is a great Solid Color Stain. It is the only solid stain on the market that comes pre-mixed, making it much easier to choose a color. Restore-A-Deck Wood Stains have allowed the ability to Prep and Stain in the Same Day, giving it a huge advantage over other brands that perform just as well. If you are looking for the future of exterior wood and deck stains, then you should consider the Restore A Deck Solid Color Wood Stain and their prepping systems.

Product Information

More Info: Restore-A-Deck Solid Color Stain
Cost: $59.99 per Gallon. Products ship free on their website.
Stain Type: Solid Color (Opaque) Wood Stain – Water Based
Available in Pre-Mixed Solid Colors: Classic White, Coastal Gray, Desert Taupe, Cypress, Brown Oak
Application Temperature: 45-95 F
Coats  Required: 2 Coats
Coverage Per Gallon: 200-400 sq. ft. Coverage varies on wood age and type of wood.
Application Tools: Airless Sprayer, Brush, Roller
Dry Time: 2-4 Hours
Cleanup: Water
VOC Compliant: 50 VOC Compliant in all States
Manufacturer: Restore-A-Deck

Test Deck Stats

Deck Wood Type: Pressure Treated Pine
Deck Square Footage: 350 Square feet
UV Exposure: Full Sun
How Many Years Tested: 1 Year
Stain Color Used: 
White

*All products tested and results are from our experience. We offer no guarantee of similar results. Take into consideration that results may differ due to different wood types, exposure to UV radiation, and natural weathering.

Restore-A-Deck Solid Stain Photos

How To Restore Your Deck All in One Day – DeckStainHelp.com

Please Rate This. You may also post comments or ask questions below.

Related Deck Stain Help Articles & Reviews

guest
267 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
James C Williams
James C Williams
1 month ago

I spent a fair amount of monies on a deck product named Wood rx, was suppose to be a good product.
I bought a airless sprayer and 10 gallons of this stuff did an 85 ft deck and ramp and my back deck 28 ft by 16 dec. after seven or eight months it is peeling I am very disappointed can I use your product to spray over this or how do I go about re-doing these decks. They were All treated lumber which I was told had to be weathered for 8 months which I did, my question is can I use your product over my peeling deck as is?

John
John
1 month ago

I went to your website and I drove the 8 miles each way to this store that you list is selling your product, I got there and they do not sell your product. I’m asking if you could tell me for sure where in this area sells your product. Thank you

John
John
1 month ago

On your website you list a paint company called North Cromwell paint on Haggerty Road in Michigan, Walled Lake area that sells your product. I went there today and they do not sell your product. I live in the town of Farmington Hills Michigan can you direct me to someone that sells your product locally that I can drive to and talk to about Restore a deck products and purchase it from them? I understand that you’ll ship for free etc., but I’d really like to talk to somebody that’s handled your sproduct here in Michigan. Can you please Provide me with a paint store that handles your product, Thank you John

Ginny
Ginny
1 month ago

I understand the basic difference between opaque and semi-permanent stain, but I am not clear how you decide which one to use. I live in an HOA and we are required to use cedar color on our decks but the type of stain is not designated. I have cleaned and brightened the deck but I’m not sure where to go from here. I don’t know if what was originally used was semi-transparent or opaque. And does it make a difference if I put semi-transparent over opaque?

Ginny
Ginny
1 month ago

Had to wait until the deck dried out after the rain. Thanks in advance.

Deck 1.jpg
Deck 2.jpg
Ginny
Ginny
1 month ago

Thank you! Appreciate the help!

John
John
1 month ago

Thank you for responding. So again I’m looking for step one through X. Step one, pressure wash get all the peeling off is there a step two of using a chemical to clean the deck and then step three to sand and a step for to shine the deck to open up the pores and then a step five to apply you’re solid stain decking? When I apply your solid stain, if the boards are dry and the humidity is 70% am I good to still put the stain on? Just looking for a clear directions, but again thank you for getting back to me so soon. This is a great feature you guys offer. John

John
John
1 month ago

I’ve been using Sherman Williams decks scape solid stain The last three years. I live in Michigan and each spring it peels up all over the place. I pressure wash it, scrape it, clean it and in some portion sand it, we have a lot of humidity and it’s hard to get a few days without humidity to apply the solid stain. I’m thinking of trying your products. Would like to know your step one, step two, step three etc. I would use a solid stain. I want to avoid it peeling each year. Adding another coat every two or three years is not a problem, dealing with all the peeling and starting over from scratch each year is the problem. Part of me thinks that the boards have never dried out or there’s too much snow in moisture in the winter and they never get a chance to dry out. Also applying the stain if there’s humidity in the air. I can apply the stain when it’s 40 to 60% but it’s hard to find a couple of days words that are under. How does humidity and applying your stain work? Your advice and plan of attack is welcomed.

Jeff
Jeff
1 month ago

Great site! I’m likely going the RAD solid gray route. I’ve stripped my cedar deck with a Diambrush, fill holes/rot and will final sand to 60 or 80. Deck was previously finished in Benj Moore solid Arborcoat

Question – Do I have to get 100 % of any former stain remnants off? Think the grey color, not any loose stain or chips. Basically does it have be sanded to pristine almost ‘newly installed wood’ condition?

Question – do I need any sort of brightener/pre-stain or can I just use the RAD Solid Stain right over the newly stripped/sanded wood?

Dennis
Dennis
2 months ago

Hi,

I will be sanding my 15 year old cedar deck down to the bear wood. Would it be considered new wood? I read in a comment reply that new wood would have to wait 30 days to be stained. Is this true for an older deck? I will be applying RAD solid color stain?

Thanks!

Dennis
Dennis
2 months ago

Hi, I live in the northeast USA. Last year I sanded my cedar deck down to the bear wood. I applied a water base primer and painted two coats of white California Allflor porch and patio. It came out beautiful! A few weeks later it started tanning.I was told to put an oil based primer and coat the deck again with the California Allflor porch and patio.The next season it peeled terribly and has been peeling every since.(See pictures) I was devastated. I contacted California paint again with no resolution.
I am planning to sand the deck down again to the bear wood (Cedar). I want to use a white solid color again.What product would you recommend? How can I prevent tanning again through the white? Or should I just go with a light gray color if tanning is inevitable ?
Thank you!

Deck Peeling Paint -3.jpg
Deck Peeling Paint.jpg
Deck Peeling Paint -1.jpg
Dennis
Dennis
2 months ago

Thank you for your fast reply. Also should I prime this older cedar wood deck which has quit a bit superficial cracks or just apply the Restore A Deck alone? If so oil or water base primer.
Thank you again!

Paula
Paula
3 months ago

Does the solid RAD stain last longer than semi-transparent? I’m restaining a pressure treated, full sun deck in western NC. Comments read say solid provides better UV protection so I thought it would last longer. Tired of sanding and restaining every 2 years

Jeff
Jeff
10 months ago

Posted this at RAD this morning and did not get a response that leads me to a solution down the road & wondering if anyone here can give advice.

My post: Replaced an old PT deck with new cedar April of this year. Per instructions, allowed it to weather 3 to 6 months, in this case 4 months as I just went through the RAD process this past week. Clean/brighten/stain. The cleaner seemed to do its job. The weathering was scrubbed off mostly with hard bristle brush and then power washed off. Brightener immediately was applied, allowed to sit for about 15 minutes then the whole deck power washed for 1/2 hour. The deck was permitted to dry for a day & 1/2 until I could get to staining. The stain was applied with a hand brush and appeared to be soaked up easily. The deck is a modest size (30 x 12) and I had just enough in the 1 gallon to do the job. Per instructions on the label, only 1 coat was applied being it was on new decking. The stain was light walnut, semi transparent. The result was less than great as it ended up quite blotchy. Questions…is this usual or expected when using the lighter stains on (new) cedar? Would I expect the next year maintenance reapplication to partially correct this? Is there an obvious mistake that was made here that you can see? The lack of absorption around the knots lead me to believe either the wood needed much more than 4 months to weather, or this is the expected result with that type of stain. If so, are there any immediate correction actions that can be taken? Thanks for any help you can provide. 

RAD response: No, this is not a normal result, and not sure what went wrong outside of your wood having very uneven porosity. The easiest thing to do is clean and recoat in the Spring. No immediate concerns as it is protected.

Continuing…

So it is what it is, I suppose, but I can look forward to no better result come next season reapplication. (?) Should I consider sanding with 60 or so to make porous? Should I consider a darker stain or even a solid stain or a different stain? Will I need to strip this RAD completely off or can I clean it up and apply another coat of something else? Any advice?

Thank you.

Deck RAD.jpg
Jeff
Jeff
10 months ago

Thanks. Any issue applying RAD solid over the RAD semi-trans next season?

Melanie
Melanie
1 month ago

I would like some clarification here. I was under the assumption that if changing from RAD semi to RAD solid, one would need to first strip the Semi off 1st.
I’m in a similar situation, though it has nothing to do with porosity or knots, just a change. Stripped last year, then did one coat of RAD Semi & now want a RAD solid.
I’m not just checking that I’ve read this correctly.

John
John
10 months ago

We have a solid dark brown stain throughout on the rails, ballasters, posts, and deck from a previous owner. Looks slopped on with little preparation and the components have weather related checking and cracking. Currently the finish is peeling on the flat surfaces. We’d like to go with white for the rails and ballasters with a dark color for the deck surface. Any ideas to get the white to cover or is this simply a horrible idea? Suggestions to remove the existing finish are welcome.
Climate is middle TN with exposure to sun, shade, some snow, and rain. Thank you in advance.

Ed G
Ed G
10 months ago

Why doesn’t anyone give straight upfront reviews on composite deck refinishing products?

Donna Pedrick
Donna Pedrick
11 months ago

I’m sanding my deck, I’ve used 60 then 80 grit .. what should my final grit number? I’m using RAD solid

Rian
Rian
11 months ago

We applied behr solid stain paint to our fence several years ago. We’re in the process of sanding down the fence as the wood – paint has cracked up in places where snow sits etc. Do we need to remove the existing behr solid stain paint or can we just paint over it with another product.

Andria
Andria
11 months ago

can this be used over behr solid color waterproofing stain and sealer? has some peeling and worn areas

Andria
Andria
11 months ago

How much would I need for 814sq ft?

Donna
Donna
11 months ago

I just hand scraped and removed Olympic Rescue It NIGHTMARE off my 30×60 deck. I would like to use a solid stain but never want to scrape my deck again if I want to touch it up in the future. What product can I use for a solid stain and reapply for touch up in the future? Do solids come in an oil base ? Do acrylic or water bases peel ? Also, some of my knots are leaking sap. Will this affect my new application. Please Help !

68D78A79-792C-4382-B266-4C72CF2FF6AD.jpeg
D429D70B-9DED-4A21-BF47-0B6438D60CFA.jpeg
Kate
Kate
1 year ago

Covering over an existing solid stain particularly chocolate brown Arborcoat. Any special prep?,

Joyce
Joyce
1 year ago

I have a new pressure treated pine deck installed 9 months ago and am now ready to sand, clean, brighten and stain. Should I sand before cleaning and brightening or after. It needs major sanding.

Joyce L Marlow
Joyce L Marlow
1 year ago

Sorry. I don’t understand. Are you saying cleaning 1st, sanding 2nd and then brighten 3rd?

Joyce
Joyce
1 year ago

Is it best to clean with a commercial cleaner for decks (which I thought was best as it removes the mill glaze) or to have the new deck power washed?

Joyce
Joyce
1 year ago

I was under the impression that a commercial cleaner needs to be applied and then use a brush to scrub the deck clean. Is it best to power wash or scrub?
Thanks for all your help.

Scott Hemphill
Scott Hemphill
1 year ago

Is this item available in stores

Jim Caldwell
Jim Caldwell
1 year ago

What is the best deck stain for the Seattle Washington area

Jim Caldwell
Jim Caldwell
1 year ago

solid

Jim Caldwell
Jim Caldwell
1 year ago

Thanks. Your service is appreciated!

Shirley McCray
Shirley McCray
1 year ago

If I use solid white stain on the gazebo, and dark semi-transparent on the floors, do you think the high-back glider seats should be solid white or dark semi-transparent?

gazebo-McCray-pressure-wash.GIF
Chrissy Goodrich
Chrissy Goodrich
1 year ago

Has anyone used the cottage gray semi transparent color and have a picture?

Carol
Carol
1 year ago

How well does this hold up in extremely cold, snowy winters and hot humid summers? Minnesota…

Carol
Carol
1 year ago

Thanks for the quick response. We’re thinking of hiring a guy to redo our deck and he’s pushing pretty hard to use Cabot solid stain. I’m not impressed with the reviews that I’ve seen.

tracey wilson
tracey wilson
1 year ago

Can this solid stain be put over Russet colored Behr premium deck over that has been cleaned, scraped & sanded with a pole sander? There are still many areas where the deck over is still in tact, but there are also bare wood areas and wood putty as well, now (thanks to this crappy stuff). We will be priming it with Rustoleum rock solid clear deck primer. Not sure if we should topcoat with Kilz porch deck and floor paint of this solid stain???

Rory
Rory
1 year ago

Looking to use the RAD solid deck stain over stripped deck. How long does it last? Are there any 2 or 3 or 4 year reviews for durability? Thx

Joe S
Joe S
1 year ago

Can I add sand or silica to solid RAD for use on deck floor boards?

Krista
Krista
1 year ago

We have a cedar garage door that we believe was stained with SW SuperDeck Charcoal. It has faded and developed lighter colored spots over the last couple of years. Can we use RAD solid over this or is there something else you suggest? We are hoping for a very dark brown finish.

21DFEC42-E6D3-490A-9A11-1B5B26789708.jpeg
Courtney C
Courtney C
1 year ago

I am painting a cedar playhouse. Is the RAD solid color classic white stain a good one to use for this project? Also, what stain applicators do you recommend I use?

Bill Terwilliger
Bill Terwilliger
1 year ago

We have a dark stain on our deck now. We would like to change it to a light cream color. Is that possible with RAD prep and stain? We live in Indiana and the
Deck is in full sunlight.
Thank you

Bill Terwilliger
Bill Terwilliger
1 year ago

Here’s what is on the deck now.

Bill Terwilliger
Bill Terwilliger
1 year ago

Here is the picture of the deck, product is Olympic stain

image.jpg
Jenny Taylor
Jenny Taylor
1 year ago

I am having a hard time having restore a deck semi transparent 5 gallon pecan or dark walnut colored stain delivered in California – I live right outside of San Francisco and I cannot get anyone to deliver the product to me or even allow me to purchase it where do I go to get restore deck products delivered or purchase and pick up

Bee
Bee
1 year ago

I live in the Pacific Northwest where it rains the majority of the year. I stained my deck two years ago with armstrong clark semi-transparent oil-based stain had to replace it again last year because it was moldy and patchy now this year it’s moldy and patchy again so I’m ditching that. I wanted to know if I can cleanand brighten it with restora deck next year and then put this type of stain over the top of it?
Additionally what type and brand of stain do you think is best for an extreme rainy climate

Rondi
Rondi
1 year ago

We live on the east coast of Florida, full sun, humidity and salt. Our deck and stairs are 2 years old.
Will RAD solid stain hold up well or would you recommend another product?
Thank you.

Rondi
Rondi
1 year ago

How long will the semi-trans last on horizontal surface with light traffic?

Catherine McCue
Catherine McCue
1 year ago

Can Restore-A-Deck Solid Stain be applied over Behr solid stain (applied a couple of years ago)?

Michele
Michele
1 year ago

Do you know anything about Valspar solid stain with 10 year guarantee? How does it hold up?

Brenda Peek
Brenda Peek
1 year ago

We just installed a cedar deck that has been up for about a month and a half. How would we prep and what is best water-based or oil base if we live on the bay in Texas with high moisture and lots of rain?

3441CF73-2963-40D1-9BF8-12633D992C79.jpeg
Tong
Tong
1 year ago

Our deck is maybe 5-10 years old, looks never been painted before. We did pressure wash 2 weeks ago and I use the wood cleanser and scrub the surface yesterday. But probably the pressure wash and scrub is too much, now somehow it looks rough. Do we need to sand to make the surface smooth before paint?

Also we are struggling on whether to choose solid stains or semisolid or semitransparent. I want it to be more durable, I don’t want it peel in a year and we need to prep and repaint every year. Please help on decision-making…

Thanks!

WechatIMG67.jpeg
WechatIMG68.jpeg
WechatIMG69.jpeg
WechatIMG70.jpeg
vjai
vjai
1 year ago

My deck is probably 10 years old. Looks like it was never treated before. I had a friend do pressure wash on it a couple of months ago. That cleaned my deck very well. The pictures attached are what it looks like now (2 months after pressure wash). For various reasons, I was not able to stain the deck since then.

I am unsure about solid vs semisolid vs semitransparent stains. The condition of wood to me looks like I should do a solid stain. Please help me in decision-making. I am not a handy person, have hired a person. We will be using Restore-a-Deck cleaner to clean it further and will be using the stains recommended here.

Thanks.

20200815_120312.jpg
20200815_120330.jpg