Restore-A-Deck Solid Color Stain Review  4.8/5 (8)

This post was updated on May 1, 2024

Restore A Deck Solid Color Stain Review

Restore A Deck Solid Color Stain Review

Restore-A-Deck Solid Stain Review 2024

This is our initial Review of the Restore-A-Deck Solid Color Wood and Deck Stain.  This review will be updated over the years. As deck restoration contractors, Restore A Deck Solid Color Stain will be our go-to Solid Color Stain for 2024 due to its ease of use, 5 pre-mixed solid colors (the only solid stain on the market that comes pre-mixed), and the ability to prep and stain on the same day.

Note: Restore-A-Deck Wood Stains are the only stain we have tested that can be applied to dry or damp wood. Applying to damp wood allows you the ability to prep and stain on the same day, saving you a tremendous amount of time.

 

Restore A Deck Solid Color Wood Stain Review

Summary: Restore-A-Deck Solid Color Wood Stain is an extremely durable synthetic-resin, opaque wood finish that helps protect against the damaging effects of water, fungi, and UV radiation on exterior wood surfaces. This V.O.C. compliant water-based product provides exceptional protection for nearly all exterior wood surfaces in a beautiful matte finish.

Restore-A-Deck Wood Stain can be applied the same day as the prep. Make sure that all standing water has dried off the surface after prep. Typically 2-4 hours at 70º F and less than 50% humidity.

Restore-A-Deck Solid Color Wood Stain can be used on interior or exterior horizontal and vertical wood surfaces including wood siding, log homes, decks, fences, outdoor wood furniture, pressure-treated, and all other natural wood surfaces.

Restore-A-Deck Solid Stain Scores (1-10)

Appearance After Initial Stain Application: 10

Note: We used a two-toned deck stain approach for this Restore A Deck Solid Stain Review. This review is for the White Solid color stain that was applied to all verticals. To see our review or the RAD Semi-Transparent Stain, Click Restore A Deck Wood Stain

– The Restore-A-Deck wood stain color we used was the Solid Classic Color in White for the Railings and Semi-transparent Dark Walnut for the Floor. The two coats applied to our PTP wood covered nicely and did not show any wood grain which is expected with a solid stain. Even application and no overlap lines.

Restore A Deck Solid Color Stain Review

Restore A Deck Solid Color Stain Review

Wear/Tear and Peeling: 10

–At the 1-year mark, there was no wearing or peeling anywhere on the white verticals.

Cost Per Square Foot: 8

– We applied two coats to our 350 sq. feet of verticals that included all railings and steps. 2 Gallons were used at a cost of $50 per gallon.

Preventing Mold/Mildew/Algae: 9

– Similar to other water-based solid color deck stains, the Restore-A-Deck Solid Color Stain will not promote the growth of mold or mildew. This is one of the main advantages of using a water-based coating. At the 1-year mark, the deck showed no signs of any mold or mildew.

Ease of Application: 8

– Our favorite aspect of the Restore-A-Deck Wood Solid Color Stain is the ability to stain and prep on the same day. We tested this by cleaning and brightening the wood with the Step 1 and Step 2 Restore A Deck Cleaner/Brightener Kit and then applying the RAD stain 1 hour after the prep. The Restore-A-Deck actually applies easier to damp wood than dry wood. We also found that the coverage was better when applied to damp wood.

We applied both coats of the White RAD Stain with a roller and brush to the wood, waiting about 30 minutes between coats. The second coat goes on very easily and covers twice as far as the first coat. Overall application with the Restore-A-Deck solid stain is very easy. Spreads excellently and is easy to work with.

Difficulty of Reapplication: 8

– Clean and reapply as needed using their Step 1 Deck Cleaner and a light pressure washing.

Overall Score Restore-A-Deck Solid Color Stain at 1 Year Period: 8.88

– The Restore-A-Deck is a great Solid Color Stain. It is the only solid stain on the market that comes pre-mixed, making it much easier to choose a color. Restore-A-Deck Wood Stains have allowed the ability to Prep and Stain on the Same Day, giving it a huge advantage over other brands that perform just as well. If you are looking for the future of exterior wood and deck stains, then you should consider the Restore A Deck Solid Color Wood Stain and its prepping systems.

Product Information

 

 

More Info: Restore-A-Deck Solid Color Stain
Cost: $59.99 per Gallon. Products ship free on their website.
Stain Type: Solid Color (Opaque) Wood Stain – Water Based
Available in Pre-Mixed Solid Colors: Classic White, Coastal Gray, Desert Taupe, Cypress, Brown Oak
Application Temperature: 45-95 F
Coats  Required: 2 Coats
Coverage Per Gallon: 200-400 sq. ft. Coverage varies on wood age and type of wood.
Application Tools: Airless Sprayer, Brush, Roller
Dry Time: 2-4 Hours
Cleanup: Water
VOC Compliant: 50 VOC Compliant in all States
Manufacturer: Restore-A-Deck

Test Deck Stats

Deck Wood Type: Pressure Treated Pine
Deck Square Footage: 350 Square feet
UV Exposure: Full Sun
How Many Years Tested: 1 Year
Stain Color Used: 
White

*All products tested and results are from our experience. We offer no guarantee of similar results. Take into consideration that results may differ due to different wood types, exposure to UV radiation, and natural weathering.

Restore-A-Deck Solid Stain Photos

How To Restore Your Deck All in One Day – DeckStainHelp.com

Please Rate This. You may also post comments or ask questions below.

author avatar
Scott Paul ~ Restoring Wood & Decks Since 1993 Owner
As an article and comment contributor to the site, Scott has been around the pressure washing industry since attending college. In 1993 he started his first company called Oakland Pressure Wash specializing in exterior pressure washing and deck staining. That company evolved into OPW L.L.C. shortly thereafter concentrating more on exterior wood and deck restoration. Scott and his Deck Cleaning Michigan company have restored over 10,000 decks in the Metro Detroit area since the early years. He has become an authority in the deck restoration industry and has contributed to numerous wood restoration forums and informative sites. All the products he suggests through this site are sold through online sites and in retail stores, allowing the consumer to choose their own means of purchase. Scott’s eCommerce sites do sell many top brands he endorses and if you appreciate any of the help he has offered then feel free to purchase from one of them.

Related Deck Stain Help Articles & Reviews

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
325 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Roger Davidson
Roger Davidson
17 days ago

We have an older pier on a large lake in central Alabama and have used solid color deck stain for several years. Because of all the changes in treated lumber over the years, some of the decking was there 20 years ago and some replaced 4-6 years ago needs replacing. The old decking has aged but it is still strong compared to some of the new decking that is now rotting away. We chose solid-color stain so it would have a similar appearance. What solid-color deck stain do you recommend? When re-applying, what suggestions do you have in addition to pressure washing? Any advice would be appreciated.

Mike
Mike
22 days ago

How does the solid espresso look after applying to a fence? More black than brown? How does it look in the full sun? Full sun photo on their website looks gray.

Mike
Mike
21 days ago

Thanks. Sounds like no gray tones. What would you suggest for this fence after strip with both additives and brighten?

PXL_20240318_155530976
PXL_20240318_155514712
Mike
Mike
21 days ago

Will do. In the meantime what’s the pros and cons between semi and solid stains. What are some pros for choosing a solid stain besides covering up imperfections

Anthony
Anthony
26 days ago

Your review is based on the railings which usually hold up much better and longer than the floor. What is your rating on the floor.

SEV
SEV
1 month ago

You did not use the solid stain on the deck floor, correct? How do you know that it will hold up as well as on the railing?
I have had 4 deck refinishers tell me to go with SW SuperDeck Exterior Waterborne Solid Color Deck Stain, they have heard of, but have no experience with Restore-a-Deck. Why are they wrong? Did SW change it’s product recently? Also, one said that synthetic resin in RAD would sit on top, not soak into checkering cracks. Can they get a discount on this product? Is it available locally in MIchigan or only online? Thanks.

SEV
SEV
1 month ago

Thanks very much

David Francis
David Francis
1 month ago

Can you use solid restore a deck on a previously solid stained deck?

Garrett Garner
Garrett Garner
2 months ago

I have a new fence that is rough cut pressure treated pine with 3 1×6 rails per section. I would like to stain it white or something to keep it light in color like new wood. Since it is rough wood, should I spray the stain? What would be the easiest way to apply the stain and which stain would work the best?

Carmen Schmidt
Carmen Schmidt
6 months ago

In the photos shown on this page for the Restore-A-Deck stain, what is the stain used for photos on page 1, 2, 3, and 6? The stain colors aren’t listed for these photos. I previously bought the Cypress solid stain color and it is too red for my liking. Can a new Restore-A-Deck color stain color be painted directly over the old color? The Cypress stain was painted on part of the deck and rails a few weeks ago. Thank you!

Samantha
Samantha
7 months ago

Hello,
I’ve been looking for the best solid stain to use on my year old (never been stained yet) privacy fence. I was contemplating using BM Arborcoat. I was told to use only one coat as it contains a sealer and once it’s absorbed into the wood and sealed it will not allow another coat to be absorbed but will sit on top and peel. This makes sense to me unless it’s a wet on wet double coat. Also, the wood needs to be very dry as the sealer would seal in the water and then it would cause the stain to peel later. Do solid stains actually absorb into wood?

I just found your site and see that you recommend Restore-a-Deck as your go-to solid stain. I like the coverage that you got with two coats of the white since that is the color I will be using. I’m a bit confused though as to why it can be used on damp wood. Does it not contain a sealer to protect the wood? I don’t see that it’s water resistant or waterproof either. Is it really more beneficial to not seal the wood nor have water resistance? Aren’t these some of the reasons to stain wood?

I also know I need to pressure wash it before staining with RAD but do I need to use a special cleaning product also?It still looks very clean as it is. I’d like to get it done soon as we are having great weather this week.
Thank you so much.

Pete
Pete
9 months ago

I have two decks that are 28 years old at my home. They were never stained, just pressure washed. Are there some boards that I should change before I stain the deck? Or should I just change all the decking surface since the deck is so old? I would use the Restore-A-Deck. I attached some snapshots of the worst looking boards.

photos 1-5.png
Photos 6-10.png
Pete
Pete
9 months ago

I want to extend the life of two 28 year old decks at my home using Restore-A-Deck stain, I am wondering what existing boards should be changed before I stain it. Or should all the decking be replaced (reuse everything else). Decks were never stained, but were pressure washed. Attached are photo examples of deck.

photos 1-5.png
Photos 6-10.png
Pete
Pete
9 months ago

Would you recommend pressure washing before doing the cleaner and brightener kits? Thank you!

Alex
Alex
10 months ago

We just moved into a new house with a 10-12 year old 690sqft deck that has seen better days. I have lightly sanded and cleaned with Olympic deck wash. I was planning to paint with Behr advance deck over but thank God I checked reviews and found this site.
The deck area with the stairs was fixed with new wood and Sherwin Williams super deck solid deck stain. I am looking to cover the entire deck with a grey solid stain from RAD. The deck has some slight splintering but still solid. Looking for some advice on how to proceed.
1. Do I need to remove all the SW stain from the old and new wood before I stain with the RAD grey?
2. What about wash and brighten?

Matt
Matt
11 months ago

I’m just finishing stripping a semi solid stain off of my deck with a stripper solution do I need to use a brightener I’m planning on bleaching it to kill the mold etc. Also what kind/brand of stain is the easiest to reapply later so I want have to strip it again I’ve got roughly 1000sq ft of deck and I don’t want to go through this again it’s been a pain

Matt
Matt
11 months ago

I’m thinking semi transparent

Matt
Matt
11 months ago

I’m thinking semi transparent but whatever will last longest and not have to be stripped again

bill epps
bill epps
11 months ago

one year aged treated wood dock in salt water 400 feet long. what would you recommend?

Greg
Greg
11 months ago

Would you recommend Restore-a-deck solid stain or gulf synthetics deck revive for a old deck with splinters and cracks? Will gulf synthetics deck revive last longer than a restore-a-deck solid stain?

Amy Eston
Amy Eston
11 months ago

I have a deck in bad shape. I have replaced bad boards and sealed it.
I just need to paint it a color as a bandaid until I can replace it in a year or two.
what are your recommendations?
I was not aware of the class action suit against rock solid. I used it last fall on a small porch.
it is a vacation cottage so it’s fine that it looks a little rough. Now we will see how it holds up.

Amy Eston
Amy Eston
11 months ago

Thanks. Where do I buy it. I see company website and Amazon. Is it available locally?

Larry Rudisill
Larry Rudisill
1 year ago

Will RAD adhere to other solid stains such as SuperDeck, or Behr, or Arborcoat? Or do you need to strip the previous stain off?

Larry Rudisill
Larry Rudisill
1 year ago

Thank you.

Alex K
Alex K
1 year ago

Hi – have a customer in NC looking for a very specific mixed color to match pre existing stained trim that none of the premixed solids would match. Ideas for best solid stain for a deck with the ability to color match?

Richard J
Richard J
1 year ago

Im in upsate NY. MY tongue and grrove deck has peeling paint or solid stain cant tell which, that I am going to wirebrush, sand, and clean but I dont expect to get all the paint /solid stain off the deck. There is minor splintering of wood but the surface of the deck is solid.

Which RESTORE product is best for this application

Keith
Keith
1 year ago

Hi Scott,
Thanks for all you do to provide this very helpful resource.
We have a covered porch with 6×6 cedar posts and 4×8 cedar beam facing south, taking direct sun throughout the day. This work was done 10 years ago when we moved into the home. The stain has held up nicely for areas not exposed to the sun, but peeling in areas that do have direct exposure to the sun. I’ve pressure washed most of the stain off of the posts (please see photo below). I plan on sanding them today.
For the beam, the stain is on there good. I won’t be able tp pressure wash the beam to strip it down to bare wood like I did the posts without damaging the wood. Can I just clean the beam with deck cleaner, lightly pressure wash to remove any loose stain, and apply RAD over both posts and beam? If so, which product would you recommend?

thumbnail_IMG_0961.jpg
thumbnail_IMG_0963.jpg
Brett Hollenbeck
Brett Hollenbeck
1 year ago

Can I use a RAD solid water based stain over a previous oil based stain on my deck? The current stain is OneTime wood, which did not last anywhere near 7 yrs as advertised. It is very weathered, but no pealing, and has now been power washed. Thanks

Brett Hollenbeck
Brett Hollenbeck
1 year ago

Thanks!

Greg
Greg
1 year ago

I have a small wood deck that was painted before I bought my house. It peeled but the spots that didn’t peel where hard to strip. So I sanded, pressure washed, let dry and applied a peel stop primer from zinsser. Painted with Behr porch and patio. After a year it’s held up to weather and traffic, but my plastic chairs stick and peel off little spots whenever they’re moved. I live in Florida. The deck gets sun half of the day. Any recommendations on a more durable paint that can be applied to already painted surfaces?

Myra French
Myra French
1 year ago

Where can I find the sample colors of the restore-a-deck solid stain?

James C Williams
James C Williams
1 year ago

I spent a fair amount of monies on a deck product named Wood rx, was suppose to be a good product.
I bought a airless sprayer and 10 gallons of this stuff did an 85 ft deck and ramp and my back deck 28 ft by 16 dec. after seven or eight months it is peeling I am very disappointed can I use your product to spray over this or how do I go about re-doing these decks. They were All treated lumber which I was told had to be weathered for 8 months which I did, my question is can I use your product over my peeling deck as is?

John
John
2 years ago

I went to your website and I drove the 8 miles each way to this store that you list is selling your product, I got there and they do not sell your product. I’m asking if you could tell me for sure where in this area sells your product. Thank you

John
John
2 years ago

On your website you list a paint company called North Cromwell paint on Haggerty Road in Michigan, Walled Lake area that sells your product. I went there today and they do not sell your product. I live in the town of Farmington Hills Michigan can you direct me to someone that sells your product locally that I can drive to and talk to about Restore a deck products and purchase it from them? I understand that you’ll ship for free etc., but I’d really like to talk to somebody that’s handled your sproduct here in Michigan. Can you please Provide me with a paint store that handles your product, Thank you John

325
0
Questions or leave a review, please comment!x