Restore-A-Deck Stain Stripper Booster @ Thickening Gel Review 4.9/5 (8)

This post was updated on May 10, 2022

Update for 2022 Restore-A-Deck Stain Stripper Booster @ Thickening Gel

We would love to hear from you if you have used the Restore-A-Deck Stain Stripper with the Booster and/or Thickening Gel additives on your wood or deck. Please post a rating in the Consumer Star Ratings below.

If you have any questions as to the effectiveness of your deck or wood stripping project, please ask below with the name of the stain brand and type being removed. Please add a couple of pictures as well.

Restore-A-Deck Stripper Booster and Thickening GelNote: These are 2 additives for the RAD Stain Stripper. They only work as additives for the Restore-A-Deck Stain stripper and will not work by themselves. This article is reviewing both of the additives when used together in the RAD Stripper. We tested this on two extremely hard-to-remove finishes. Behr Acrylic Based Semi-Transparent Wood Stain and a White Solid Color Deck Stain. Both of these coatings were applied 3 weeks before removal. Pictures of test boards are below.


Restore-A-Deck Stain Stripper Booster – Up to 300% More Effective

Restore-A-Deck Stain Stripper Booster Additive is a special blend of solvents that is added to premixed 5-Gallons of the Restore-A-Deck Stain Stripper. The Restore-A-Deck Stripper Booster will raise the effectiveness of the stain stripping up to 300% by helping to break down the surface tension of difficult-to-remove wood stain finishes.

Restore-A-Deck Booster should be used to increase the effectiveness of stripping difficult to remove wood and deck stain coatings. Stripper Booster improves effectiveness on removal for most exterior wood and deck finishes including:

  • Acrylic-based (water-based) wood and deck coatings such as Behr, Olympic, Sherwin Williams, etc
  • Oil-based wood and deck coatings
  • Clear wood and deck sealer
  • Transparent wood and deck stains
  • Semi-transparent wood and deck stains
  • Most semi-solid exterior wood and deck stains
Behr Stain Before Stripping with Booster and Behr Stain After Stripping with Booster

Behr Stain Before Stripping with Booster and Bare Wood After Stripping with RAD Stripper + Booster

Restore-A-Deck Stripper Thickening Gel Additive – Clings up to 1 Hour

Restore-A-Deck Stain Stripper Thickening Gel is a special blend that is added to premixed 5-Gallons of the Restore-A-Deck Stain Stripper. With a longer dwell time, Restore-A-Deck Stripper Thickening Gel will raise the effectiveness of the stain stripping by adding the ability to cling to vertical and horizontal surfaces for up to 1 hour. Works especially well on improving the performance of the stripping on vertical wood such as wood railings, wood fences, and wood-sided homes.

Restore-A-Deck Thickening Gel should be used to increase the effectiveness in stripping difficult to remove wood and deck stain coatings. RAD Stripper Thickening Gel improves effectiveness on removal for most exterior wood and deck finishes including:

  • Increased effectiveness for vertical surfaces such as railings, wood siding, log homes, and wood fences
  • A longer dwell time for horizontal and decking surfaces
  • Clings to wood for up to 1 hour

The pictures below show the RAD Stain Stripper with Thickening Gel with the Booster Additive combined.  The before picture is Behr Acrylic Stain. The middle is after 30 minutes leaning against a wall. Notice how the stripper did not run off the wood with the Thickening Gel Additive. The after picture shows the stripping results.

RAD Stain Stripper with Thickening Gel

RAD Stain Stripper with Thickening Gel – Before – During Leaning Against a Wall – After Stripping

Restore-A-Deck Deck Stain Stripper with Booster and Gel Additives Scores (1-10)

Removal of Graying, Dirt, Grime: 10

– The RAD stripper will easily remove all oxidized graying, dirt, mildew, mold, and algae.

Cost Per Square Foot: 9

-Restore-A-Deck Stain Stripper covers 500- 1000 sq. feet for the 2 pound, $34.99 a bottle. The RAD Booster and Thickening Gel Additives retail for $24.99 each. All mixed together this will make 5 liquid gallons for a total cost of $90. That equates to $18 per gallon. Very good price for an extremely effective product.

Removal of Old Stain: 10

– The Restore-A-Deck Stain Stripper with the Booster Additive was tested on Behr Premium Acrylic Semi-Transparent and a White Solid Stain. The stripper was very effective at removing over 100% of the Behr on our test boards (see pictures above). With the Solid White Stain, it removed 98% of the stain. Note on Solid Stain removal, while it worked very well for us on these test boards, Restore-A-Deck is not guaranteeing a solid stain removal with the 2 additives in their product description. If removing a solid stain, the RAD Stripper and Additives will definitely help, but you may still need to do some sanding to remove all.

Solid Stain Before and After Stripping Booster

Solid Stain Before and After Stripping Booster

Ease of Application: 10

– The RAD Deck Stain Stripper with the Booster and Thickening Gel Additives mix with 5 gallons of water. We tested the stripper by using a pump sprayer for application.

Final Appearance of Stripping: 10

– Great at removing both our Behr Acrylic and White Solid Stain. It was very important that you used a wood brightener to neutralize after use.

Overall Score Restore-A-Deck Deck Stain Stripper with Booster and Gel Additives: 9.8

– Great at removing difficult to strip coatings and helps with vertical (railings and siding) stripping as well. We will be using both of these additives as needed for our deck restoration projects

Product Information:

Manufacturer: Restore-A-Deck
Product Type: Deck Stain Stripper Additives to boost overall effectiveness.
Available Sizes: 16oz. Add these into 5 Liquid Gallons of RAD Stain Stripper.
Application Temperature: 45-95 F
Coverage Per Container: 500-750 sq. ft per 5-Gallons mixed.
Application Tools: Scrub Brush, Pressure Washer, Pump Sprayer.

Test Deck Stats:
Deck Wood Type: Cedar
Deck Square Footage: Test Boards
The condition of Deck: Behr Semi-Transparent Acrylic was removed. Solid White Stain.
Cost: 
Retails for $24.99 per Additive.

*All products tested and results are from our experience. We offer no guarantee of similar results. Take into consideration that results may differ due to different wood types, exposure to UV radiation, and natural weathering.

How To Strip With Restore-A-Deck Stripper Additives

If you have any questions as to the effectiveness of your deck or wood stripping project, please ask below with the name of the stain brand and type being removed. Please add a couple of pictures as well.


Please Rate This. You may also post comments or ask questions below.

Related Deck Stain Help Articles & Reviews

guest
56 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Jan
Jan
3 years ago

Used RAD’s cleaner and brightener on a small, old deck. When it still looked ‘blotchy’ (photo on left), I contacted the company who recommended the stripper and brightener. Turned out very nice and am currently stripping another overly-stained deck.

Deck Before.jpg
Deck After.jpg
Jan
Jan
3 years ago

Forgot to mention that I did use the additive during this stripping process and the deck I just finished. Both came out quite well. The deck I just finished was only 1.5 years old; however, it almost looked burned from being over-saturated with another brand of semi-transparent stain. You can see what RAD did for it. I am also working on a gate and have ordered the thickening gel. Will post results.

Cottage Deck after.jpg
Jan
Jan
2 years ago

Actually, it the clear semi-transparent stain over redwood boards.

Jan
Jan
2 years ago

Ooops, yes. I used the Natural on everything except the Cedar gate … that’s the Cedar semi-transparent.

Brea
Brea
2 years ago
Reply to  Jan

What brand and color/type stain did you use? Love the color.

Al
Al
1 year ago

Will RAD plus the two additives (booster and gel) work on several coats of Benjamin Moore’s Oxford Brown solid stain?

Glen Kotowicz
Glen Kotowicz
1 year ago

I’m restoring a Cedar/Doug Fir deck of unknown age, I do not know what brand of stain was previously applied. Last September I replaced several of the boards, then I used RAD stripper but it did not get all the stain off, especially in low foot traffic areas that are also protected by large eaves (see picture).
2 days after using the stripper massive forest fires burned 10 miles away. The deck got covered in ash and the project got put on hold.
Yesterday, April 24 we started back at it.
Im trying to figure out how to remove the remaining stain and address the issue of the color difference between new boards installed last September, new boards installed yesterday and the old original boards that still have stain on them? Any help is greatly appreciate. I will be using RAD woodbrightner and Cabot semitransparent stain.
Thank You
Glen from Eugene Oregon

97C076FA-AE9A-4793-B9BA-53FF61776016.jpeg
Bob
Bob
1 year ago

Hi,
I have an IPE deck which is around 8 years old. I have been able to treat it every other year due to work travel – but will now have more time. We have full, hot sun so the floor turns grey 10 – 12 months after prep and oil.
I am replacing 8 or so 16 foot boards with new IPE (I have not installed them yet). Should I install them then treat them as the rest of the deck – or keep separate for a different process and what would that be?
Thanks
Bob

Pat
Pat
1 year ago

1) 26 yr old deck
2) Has current coating of solid color stain—several layers
3) Unsure what stain will be. May change to semi transparent vs solid color. Will stay with Sherwin Williams however.
4) Sherwin Williams
5) Water based solid stain
6) Green algae issues (north facing deck)
7) No stain failure. Just many years/layers. Need a fresh start again.

64DD4587-9F6E-4020-9EF2-4342667C338E.jpeg
5DC75577-D8CA-4ABF-9668-27852A28A0C0.jpeg
95FF5951-6735-4FA1-B66C-BA9A61D2965F.jpeg
79BA928D-2C6A-4058-94EF-F11DC638F109.jpeg
Pat
Pat
1 year ago

If we choose to sand it, should we clean it first (algae) with deck cleaner?

F5166C1C-A080-418D-B5F7-D1CAE6A2C0F7.jpeg
CDF3FC5C-A19F-40EA-BD5F-9B179E07699E.jpeg
carman thompson
carman thompson
2 years ago

what is the best stripper to remove flood pro series 100 acrylic stain solid color. thanks

Chad
Chad
2 years ago

Greetings, we are in the process of restraining our deck. Unfortunately I did not run across your awesome website before we started.

We applied Olympic stain and sealer on a new cedar in deck after the wood weathered about 6-7 years ago.
We power washed deck and got most of the stain off. Then proceeded to try and sand off the rest.

Need advice on how to get this thing properly prepped as I have seen here that sounds like the most important part of the process. Based on what I have read I will want to use cedar tone Twp 100.

We live in western central Missouri.

Thanks in advance for your thoughts.

A50A09DA-523F-4287-BE94-8E5930B48804.jpeg
571479BC-71F0-45E2-AC45-0B6CEDDA7C95.jpeg
DA585973-E571-4DB9-9A3A-3B70D6241C7E.jpeg
8AE4C524-5CA4-4D1E-9D48-6F1748E05BF5.jpeg
Chad
Chad
2 years ago

Thanks so much for the quick response.

vince
vince
2 years ago

I have a 16 x 20 ceader deck i have just used a diama brush to to remove solid color
sherman williams super deck and dock. i want to apply Restore a Deck semi trans parent
stain is there a stripper to use between the boards that will work? Any help with this!
thank you vince

vince
vince
2 years ago

diamabrush16x20 cedar deck the deck was covered with sold colored sherman williams super deck. the deck is now down to bare wood.but there is some solid stain between boards.
what stripper will work ? i want to apply resoter a deck semi transparent stain

thank you for your time vince

Colleen
Colleen
2 years ago

Is there a sprayer you recommend for using the gel additive and the strip booster? The Chapin International 25020 gets very mixed reviews and I’m afraid it wouldn’t work with the gel. Ideally we’d be able to use the sprayer we get to spray the stripper and also a new sealant (haven’t picked new sealant yet…just want something basic and not tinted). Thank you.

Bob
Bob
2 years ago

Here is my deck. Looking for suggestions. Deck was built in 2015. See pics. Last pic is stain I used.

Thanks for your suggestions.

IMAG0004~2.jpg
IMAG0024(1)~2.jpg
20200425_103533~2.jpg
IMAG0301.jpg
Bob
Bob
2 years ago

So what should I do to get the best result.

Eric
Eric
2 years ago

You would just be able to pressure wash and add another stain (any color solid) over the top? I would have thought he would need to sand/strip to get as much stain off as possible. Can you apply another solid stain on top of a cracked/peeling solid stain as long as the wood is clean?

EMily
EMily
2 years ago

Have new garage deck and porch railings which are pine. (Vertical posts pressure treated and some older wood which will be sanded prior). Prior deck had terrible peeling problem due to type of strain and full sun all day. Contractor says can be stained right away because pine and suggested arbor coat. Need a better stain that will be taupe/light brown in color not cedarhoney or red. Other times I have used Rymar brand. You seem to have a few favorites – in high sun setting mostly pine what do you suggest?

Pat Overfield
Pat Overfield
2 years ago

I posted a question about a deck still being tacky however I gave you incorrect information. The deck has only 2 coats of stain. The stain was completed in 80+ degree weather 17 hours ago. The deck remains tacky. What can I do to remedy the excess. Please see my first posting for further details. Thank you.

Oplorn
Oplorn(@oplorn)
2 years ago

Thank you. Will do. I’m very pleased with the product so far and hope to enjoy the finish for a prolonged time.

Pat Overfield
Pat Overfield
2 years ago

I used RAD STRIPPER/BRIGHTENER kit on my 830 sq. ft. deck in NE OHIO. Then followed it by 2 coats of TWP 1500 series Cedartone 1501 stain. The result is beautiful. My concern now is my helper sprayed on a third coat that remains shiny even after wiping with a rag. Now what do I do to remedy the excess stain?

Heather
Heather
2 years ago

Hi there, I have this deck and I believe the stain on it is the Pittsburgh Ulta advanced stain & sealant in one solid color stain. It was stained when we bought the house and I found a mostly used can of it in the shed. It’s peeling badly now, so I’m looking for advice on how to get it stripped so I can restain. Thank you!

Snapchat-1763509835.jpg
Snapchat-1648571106.jpg
Jan
Jan
2 years ago

Last one (I think I may have gotten carried away with using RAD). This is our new-ish garden gate before and after. While the gate was only installed a year ago, I realized when I applied the cleaner that it actually had a stain on it. Thus, I used the stripper and gel additive in order to enhance the staying power of the stripper. As you can see, it turned out pretty nice. I’m so impressed with RAD that I’m going to tackle an old redwood structure that surrounds our spa — now that will be a challenge. BTW, I used semi-transparent cedar on the gate.

1-Gate Before.jpg
1-Gate After.jpg
Jan
Jan
2 years ago

Me again. This time, I wanted to show you a ‘redo’ of a very large deck that was installed probably 20 years ago. We just had new railings put on last year so I wanted to clean the rails and strip the deck so that the boards would match (everything is redwood). I used the stripper plus the additive and it certainly made a difference. I was amazed at how well the old deck turned out!! The stain I used was the clear semi-transparent — two coats on the deck and one on the railings.

1-Deck Before.jpg
Best Semi-Transparent Deck Stain
Silvia Vega
Silvia Vega
1 year ago
Reply to  Jan

Jan,

Perhaps you did get carried away but I have really enjoyed seeing all your pics. I am about to apply this formula to remove a stain I hated once applied and your posts give me hope that I my deck will turn out just as beautiful. Thanks!

Jan
Jan
1 year ago
Reply to  Silvia Vega

Thanks Silvia. I did end up redoing our spa enclosure and, while I didn’t have much hope for it, it turned out great. A year later and everything still looks good. I’m planning on cleaning and restaining everything next Spring but it should be much easier this time around. Good luck with your project and be sure to post before and after photos!

Anne Devine
Anne Devine
2 years ago

I have an old ottoman & the legs are a cherry wood color. Can they be stripped? I’m trying to get a more natural wood color. What do u suggest? Thank you!

Amy
Amy
3 years ago

Does power washing alone (well I used a crappy cleaner too) strip old stain?

Deb
Deb
3 years ago

Our original deck was 7 yrs. old when we bought our house. It had never been stained or painted. After we extended the deck, I stained the entire thing with an Oil based semi translucent stain. The two sections came out different colors. Can I use a solid oil based stain over the translucent stain without stripping the old stain? I live in the piedmont region of NC. Mixed sun and shade on deck and mold and algae are a problem.

Stoney
Stoney
3 years ago

Hello, I have the Behr Deckover coating. It is that really thick paint like coating and it is peeling. Will this remove that? I hope I do not have to sand.

56
0
Questions or leave a review, please comment!x