Restore-A-Deck Wood Stain for Exotic Hardwoods Review  4.9/5 (2)

This post was updated on May 1, 2024

Restore A Deck Wood Hardwood and IPE Stain Review

Restore A Deck Wood Hardwood and IPE Stain Review

Restore-A-Deck Exotic Hardwood Stain Review

This is our initial Review of the Restore-A-Deck Wood Stain for Exotic Hardwoods such as IPE.  This review was one on IPE sample boards and was tested for 1 year from the date of application. The  Restore A Deck Wood Stain showed excellent color retention for the Ipe and had no signs of wearing or peeling. This test was on brand new, unseasoned IPE and was done the same day as the prep. We waited 1 hour after prep to apply the RAD Stain while the wood was damp.

Note: Restore-A-Deck Wood Stain is one of the only stains we have tested that can be applied to dry or damp wood. Applying to damp wood allows you the ability to prep and stain on the same day, saving you a tremendous amount of time.

Restore-A-Deck Stain Summary:

Restore-A-Deck Wood Stain is an advanced, water-based, semi-transparent stain formulation designed to penetrate deep into wood pores for maximum protection and longevity. Restore-A-Deck Wood Stain protects wood from harmful UV rays and damage caused by water penetration. Restore-A-Deck Wood Stain is safe to use, has a low odor, and is easy to clean up with soap and water. It is ideal for all wood types including pressure-treated pine, cedar, fir, or redwood.

Recent advancements in water-based wood stain technology have allowed the active ingredients in the Restore-A-Deck Stain to offer better UV protection, excellent penetration into the wood grain, the ability to apply to damp wood, all in beautiful semi-transparent colors that highlight the natural wood grain.

RAD Wood and Deck Stain will increase the life, appearance, and durability of all exterior wood surfaces. With the easy to apply and maintain Eco-Safe formula, you’ll be able to finish faster and enjoy your exterior wood or deck for years.

Important Note: Testing for Exotic Hardwood Deck Stains

Exotic hardwoods such as IPE are extremely dense and difficult to penetrate. These wood types, when stained will always fade faster than other woods such as Cedar, Redwood, and Pine. Testing will be changed to 1 year instead of 2 years for exotic hardwoods.

Restore-A-Deck  on Hardwood Stain Scores (1-10)

Appearance After Initial Stain Application: 8

– The Restore-A-Deck wood stain color we used was the Semi-Transparent Light Walnut. The initial appearance was a rich brown with a hint of red (see pictures below) after drying on the IPE wood. The Restore-A-Deck Stain penetrated extremely well into the wood grain on our test deck. No surface film on top of the wood.

Preventing UV Graying at 1 Year Mark: 9

– Restore-A-Deck had minor fading at the 1-year mark for the IPE test boards. See the picture below at the 12-month mark.

Restore-A-Deck Stain on IPE after 9 months

Restore-A-Deck Stain on IPE after 12 months

Wear/Tear and Peeling: 9

–At the 1-year mark, there was no wearing or peeling for the Restore-A-Deck Wood Stain on the IPE test boards.

Cost Per Square Foot: 8

– We applied one coat to our IPE test deck. Coverage for the Restore-A-Deck Wood Stain on exotic hardwoods will average around 250-300 sq feet per gallon. Only 1 coat should be applied to exotic hardwoods.

Preventing Mold/Mildew/Algae: 10

– Similar to other water-based deck stains, the Restore-A-Deck Wood stain will not promote the growth of mold or mildew. This is one of the main advantages of using a water-based coating. At the 1-year mark, the deck showed no signs of any mold or mildew.

Ease of Application: 9

– As our previous review on the Restore-A-Deck Wood Stain on PTP wood, our favorite aspect of the Restore-A-Deck Wood stain is the ability to stain and prep on the same day! We tested this by cleaning and brightening the wood with the Step 1 and Step 2 Restore A Deck Cleaner/Brightener Kit and then applying the RAD stain 1 hour after the prep. The wood was visibly wet on a few areas of the deck and damp to the touch throughout. The coverage was better when applied to damp wood.

Restore-A-Deck Wood Stain 1 Hour After Prep

IPE Wood After Prep – Unstained

Restore-A-Deck Wood Stain On IPE.

Restore-A-Deck Wood Stain On IPE. Stained 1 Hour After Prep.

Color Shifting (darkening) after 1 Year: 8

– As expected there was very little darkening for the Restore-A-Deck Stain or color shifting.

Difficulty of Reapplication: 8

– The Restore-A-Deck should be an easy clean and reapplication as needed as there was no peeling or wearing. Prep with the Restore A Deck Wood Cleaner first.

Overall Score Restore-A-Deck Stain on IPE Wood at 1 Year Period: 8.63

– The Restore-A-Deck worked great on our IPE test boards. Restore-A-Deck for IPE will be an easy coat and recoat for exotic hardwoods that require annual maintenance. You will be able to enjoy your beautiful hardwood deck with the product.

 

 

Product Information:

More Info: Restore-A-Deck Wood Stain
Cost: $45.99 per Gallon, $139.99 per 2.5 Gallon Pail, $209.99 per 5 Gallon Pail. Products ship free on their website.
Stain Type: Semi-Transparent – Water Based
Available Colors: Natural, Cedar, Light Walnut, Dark Walnut
Application Temperature: 45-95 F
Coats  Required: 1 Coat on Exotic Hardwoods and IPE.
Coverage Per Gallon: 250-350 sq. ft on Exotic Hardwoods/IPE
Application Tools: Sprayer, Pad, Brush, Roller
Dry Time: 2-4 Hours
Cleanup: Water
VOC Compliant: 50 VOC Compliant in all States
More Info: Product Data
Manufacturer: Restore-A-Deck

Test Deck Stats:
Deck Wood Type: IPE Exotic Hardwood
Deck Square Footage: IPE Test boards where used.
UV Exposure: 100% Full Sun
How Many Years Tested:  1 Year
Stain Color Used: 
Light Walnut

*All products tested and results are from our experience. We offer no guarantee of similar results. Take into consideration that results may differ due to different wood types, exposure to UV radiation, and natural weathering.

Restore-A-Deck Semi-Transparent Stain Photos

The Best IPE Hardwood Deck Stain Video – DeckStainHelp.com

Please Rate This. You may also post comments or ask questions below.

author avatar
Scott Paul ~ Restoring Wood & Decks Since 1993 Owner
As an article and comment contributor to the site, Scott has been around the pressure washing industry since attending college. In 1993 he started his first company called Oakland Pressure Wash specializing in exterior pressure washing and deck staining. That company evolved into OPW L.L.C. shortly thereafter concentrating more on exterior wood and deck restoration. Scott and his Deck Cleaning Michigan company have restored over 10,000 decks in the Metro Detroit area since the early years. He has become an authority in the deck restoration industry and has contributed to numerous wood restoration forums and informative sites. All the products he suggests through this site are sold through online sites and in retail stores, allowing the consumer to choose their own means of purchase. Scott’s eCommerce sites do sell many top brands he endorses and if you appreciate any of the help he has offered then feel free to purchase from one of them.

Related Deck Stain Help Articles & Reviews

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
53 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Kerry Dunkling
Kerry Dunkling
3 days ago

I have just used RAD cleaner and brightener on my IPE deck. I used the power washer and am concerned about some variations on the wood. There was algae and a thick mold/scum that came off with high pressure on the power washer. I hope I didn’t hurt the wood. I’m planning to stain with RAD Light Walnut. Will these variations cause a problem with the stain? Thank you for your help! Kerry

IMG_8469
IMG_8468
Kerry Dunkling
Kerry Dunkling
15 days ago

You helped so much last year with our IPE deck that had grayed. I’d like to clean and stain again this year. A couple of questions…

1. Does it need to be done every year?

2. Do I need to strip or clean from last years RAD semi- transparent stain? Followed by the brightener.

3. Can I do 2 coats? If so, the deck is 40ftx12ft and I’m afraid the beginning will dry by the time I finish one coat.

4. Recommendations for what to apply stain with.

Thank you again for all your help and expertise!
Kerry

Kerry Dunkling
Kerry Dunkling
15 days ago

Thank you SO much!!

kathy
kathy
8 months ago

I did steps 1, 2 and 3 24hr ago on my ipe deck. I see a few spots I missed. What is the best way to cover these. Thanks for your help.

Joe
Joe
9 months ago

I have a hardwood deck that I did the full process process to 3 years ago (RAD stripper, brightener, and then the stain reviewed here). The stain is fading and the wood has lots of little cracks in it. I understand this should be done every year, and I’m gearing up to do this again. I’m not exactly sure what is necessary though. Can I just reapply a coat of the stain, or do I need to clean, bright, and then stain all again? Thanks!

Joe
Joe
9 months ago

Here are two pics of the worst areas as well as the general view of how things look. Thank you!

IMG_3370.jpg
IMG_3369.jpg
IMG_3368.jpg
Joe
Joe
9 months ago

Thanks!

Joe
Joe
9 months ago
Reply to  Joe

Is there anything that can be applied after the stain that might help it last longer and/or help with all the miniature cracking?

Kerry Dunkling
Kerry Dunkling
11 months ago

We have a 3 year old Ipe deck that we let gray. We’ve decided to put a stain to bring it back to its original glory. We used Messmers’s A and B. It was still gray so we started sanding. It brought the color back but there is still gray that I can’t seem to get it out with the hand or belt sander. We probably should have rented a floor sander. When the wood gets wet the gray becomes much darker. Is there an easier way to remove the gray? Or do we have to live with it? We’ve ordered sample
of the restore a deck stain and wondering if that is the best option when to wood is finally prepped. I really appreciate you helping everyone! I feel like I’ve gone down the Ipe rabbit hole. Also, the deck faces west and gets beaten by the sun if that makes any difference. Thank you again for your help!!
Kerry

Kerry Dunkling
Kerry Dunkling
11 months ago

We did not power wash after Part A. We did Part A, then B. Then sanded, then power washed.

Kerry Dunkling
Kerry Dunkling
11 months ago

Here are the pictures.

035B5129-A4D2-432A-8C85-C109D76427D2.jpeg
FD8F7B98-E0ED-4B07-B278-60C7B3F96CFB.jpeg
B0FBEB3E-4CCB-4351-9876-772BC2E6E1C3.jpeg
0688D9DB-0B3B-4609-AD45-1A6554F90410.jpeg
Kerry Dunkling
Kerry Dunkling
11 months ago

Ok. Thank you so much! How much time after I do this do I have before I need to get the stain on? I just received samples today so I’ll need to figure out which one we like best. Do you have a recommendation? We really just want as clear as possible to let the natural color of the wood come through. Again, we really appreciate all your guidance!!

Kerry Dunkling
Kerry Dunkling
11 months ago

Thank you SO much!!! I’ll order it now. You have been SO SO helpful. I’ll follow up with pictures when it’s done.

Kerry Dunkling
Kerry Dunkling
3 days ago
Reply to  Kerry Dunkling

I have just used RAD cleaner and brightener on my IPE deck. I used the power washer and am concerned about some variations on the wood. There was algae and a thick mold/scum that came off with high pressure on the power washer. I hope I didn’t hurt the wood. I’m planning to stain with RAD Light Walnut. Will these variations cause a problem with the stain? Thank you for your help! Kerry

IMG_8469
IMG_8468
Bryan
Bryan
1 year ago

I’m planning to install a new fence out of Red Balau. It is denser than softwoods, but not to the level of Ipe.

Should I still let the wood weather prior to staining? What are the downsides to staining prematurely, as the fence is being I initially built?

Do you know why the recommendation from the lumber company (stain/oil immediately) differs from the directions of stain manufacturers?

Dianne C Williams
Dianne C Williams
1 year ago

my Grapa Gold deck is gray. What is the process for reviving it. Does it need to be pressure washed, then degreased, then stained?

Coleman Timberlake
Coleman Timberlake
2 years ago

We are installing a new Ipe deck that will be very close to the ground, about 10″ off of ground. Would it still be wise to not stain all sides of the wood or just do the top like you say for breathing? Thanks for your help.

Amanda Woodruff
Amanda Woodruff
3 years ago

We have a 16 year old Ipe deck (part in full sun, part covered) that we have been staining with Australian Timber Oil every few years. Some of it has come off completely, but some still has a lot of stain on it and I’d like to get it all off before I restain this year. Pressure washing didn’t help at all. It sounds like we should use RAD stripper and brightener. Do you prefer RAD for stain on Ipe as well? Or is Armstrong-Clark a better choice?

Andrew Tyrrell
Andrew Tyrrell
3 years ago

I completely restored a neglected dock this summer and applied messmers. Was very happy after application with the dark, wood grain appearance but it hasn’t already lightened significantly. I probably should reapply another coat this fall fall. Thinking RAD strippers plus this vs armstrong clark. What’s are your thoughts on other colors? If we like the darker look which color do you recommend?

Am I correct that I can strip and stain in the same day with these products? Need I wait in between? How much of a rain free window do I need?

pgerb
pgerb
3 years ago

Hi, love the site! I’m in the process of rebuilding a 100+ yr old porch. We’re ripping up the flooring, rebuilding the frame and replacing the flooring with kayu bau. It’s a covered exterior porch and I’m getting mixed reviews online. It sounds like all sides should be sealed but I’m also reading that you should wait 3 months to a year to seal. Can I seal all the sides but the top before installation then wait 3 months and seal the top? If so, what do you recommend for this type of wood? I was thinking about using RAD Natural semi-transparent on the edges and bottom. Then 3 months later, use the cleaner and brightener then finish sealing the top. Do you recommend doing something different or using another product?

pgerb
pgerb
3 years ago

Thanks! Any reason to not stain all sides? Is there a negative in doing it?

pgerb
pgerb
3 years ago

Thank you!

Jezerceg
Jezerceg
3 years ago

Hi, we just installed new garapa decking in Southern California. We picked this type of wood as we wanted very light color to match the flooring in the adjoining living space which is White Oak with white wash finish that almost look like natural oak color. If we are going to preserve the deck what would be the best option to retain the color on garapa without any yellowing or darkening. We purchased Ipe deck but the test color is way too brown. As you see in the image the color is very light and soft. I would hate to get this much darker or brown. I was thinking of clear penetrating sealer but this wood is very dense and not sure if this would work. What would be other options. Also we have few more days for finishing it off and still some time for the rest of the construction to end.
I would really appreciate all the help!

Maxella Deck  - 1.jpg
Stephen
Stephen
4 years ago

I have a Thermory Ash deck that I’ve stained with Cutek twice that does not retain its color even after a few months. Is this RAD stain recommended for thermal treated wood? What about Messmer’s Caribbean extreme?

nancy
nancy
4 years ago

we put in an ipe deck about 3 years ago. It was stained (or oiled – not sure the difference) when it was installed. It’s covered so it has retained a beautiful rich red/brown color. We were told we should oil it to maintain the color. Can you recommend a cleaner and an oil. Or are we supposed to restain it? I’ve noticed people mentioning oil and some mention stain and I’m unclear of the difference and which one we need. Thank you so much!

nancy
nancy
4 years ago

Thx. why a stain vs an oil? What’s the difference?

Curt
Curt
4 years ago

Is this the go-to stain for IPE now given you rate it highest? Seems much easier to apply than Armstrong

Warren
Warren
5 years ago

Have applied Messmer’s UV Plus for several years. After cleaning with Restore-A-Deck system, will this stain penetrate old oil stain?

Luara
Luara
5 years ago

Will this work for Mahogany decking?

53
0
Questions or leave a review, please comment!x