Restore-A-Deck Wood Stain Review 4.7/5 (47)

This post was updated on April 19, 2022

Restore A Deck Wood Stain Review

Restore A Deck Wood Stain Review

Restore-A-Deck Semi-Transparent Review 2022

This is our 4th Year for the review of the Restore-A-Deck Semi-Transparent Wood Stain. This review will be updated through the years with new pictures as the stain ages. In 2017, our first full year of using the Restore A Deck stain, we had no issues with performance and saved a tremendous amount of time with the ability to prep and stain on the same day. We will continue to offer the Restore A Deck Semi-Transparent Wood Stain as one of our go-to decking stains for the 2022 restoration season.

*We prefer the application to damp wood as it performs better and applies easier.

Note: Restore-A-Deck Semi-Transparent Wood Stain can be applied to dry or damp wood. Applying to damp wood allows you the ability to prep and stain on the same day, saving you a tremendous amount of time.

Summary: Restore-A-Deck Semi-Transparent Wood Stain is an advanced, water-based, semi-transparent stain formulation designed to penetrate deep into wood pores for maximum protection and longevity. Restore-A-Deck Wood Stain protects the wood from harmful UV rays and damage caused by water penetration. Restore-A-Deck Semi-Transparent Wood Stain is safe to use, has a low odor, and is easy to clean up with soap and water. It is ideal for all wood types including pressure-treated pine, cedar, fir, or redwood.

Recent advancements in water-based wood stain technology have allowed the active ingredients in the Restore-A-Deck Stain to offer better UV protection, excellent penetration into the wood grain, the ability to apply to damp wood, all in 4 beautiful semi-transparent colors that highlight the natural wood grain.

RAD Wood and Deck Stain will increase the life, appearance, and durability of all exterior wood surfaces. With the easy-to-apply and maintain Eco-Safe formula, you’ll be able to finish faster and enjoy your exterior wood or deck for years.

Restore-A-Deck Wood Stain Ratings (1-10)

Appearance After Initial Stain Application: 8

– The Restore-A-Deck wood stain color we used was the Semi-Transparent Light Walnut. The initial appearance was a rich brown with a hint of red (see pictures below) after drying. The Restore-A-Deck Stain penetrated extremely well into the wood grain on our test deck. No surface film on top of the wood.

Preventing UV Graying at 2 Year Mark: 9

– Restore-A-Deck had little to no fading at the 2-year mark. Excellent color retention should be achieved through years 2-3 as well based on initial pictures and testing. See below for a picture.

Restore A Deck Stain One Year

Restore A Deck Stain Two Years

Wear/Tear and Peeling: 9

–At the 2-year mark, there was no wearing or peeling.

Cost Per Square Foot: 8

– We applied two coats to our 150 sq foot deck that included all railings and steps. Less than 1 gallon was used for this at a total cost of $40. This equates to $.30 a square foot. Very reasonable pricing and better than most other top brands.

Preventing Mold/Mildew/Algae: 10

– Similar to other water-based deck stains, the Restore-A-Deck Wood stain will not promote the growth of mold or mildew. This is one of the primary advantages of using a water-based coating. At the 1-year mark, the deck showed no signs of any mold or mildew.

Ease of Application: 9

– Our favorite aspect of the Restore-A-Deck Wood stain is the ability to stain and prep on the same day! We tested this by cleaning and brightening the wood with the Step 1 and Step 2 Restore A Deck Cleaner/Brightener Kit and then applying the RAD stain 1 hour after the prep. The wood was visibly wet on a few areas of the deck and damp to the touch throughout. The Restore-A-Deck actually applied easier to the damp wood than any other water-based stain that we have used previously. We also found that the coverage was better when applied to damp wood. In theory, the stain will actually absorb better when applied to damp wood. The water “swells” the wood pores and “pulls” the stain deep into the wood as it dries.  Applying to damp wood will also help avoid potential issues with Applying a Deck Stain in Full Sun.

See before and after pictures below.

Restore A Deck Stain After Prep

Restore A Deck Stain After Prep

Restore A Deck Stain Damp Wood Application

Restore A Deck Stain Damp Wood Application

Color Shifting (darkening) after 2 Years: 8

– As expected, there was very little darkening for the Restore-A-Deck Stain or color shifting.  See picture at 2-year mark above.

Difficulty of Reapplication: 8

– The Restore-A-Deck will be an easy clean and reapplication as needed.

Overall Score Restore-A-Deck Stain at 1-Year Period: 8.63

– The Restore-A-Deck is an awesome exterior wood stain and has shown the ability to outperform other water-based and oil-based wood stains. Restore-A-Deck’s 3-Step system allows you to save time and money when it comes to restoring your exterior wood and decking. No other system that we have used or tested has allowed the ability to Prep and Stain in the Same Day. If you are looking for the future of exterior wood and deck stain, then you should consider the Restore A Deck Wood Stain and their prepping system.

Product Information:

More Info: Restore-A-Deck Wood Stain
Cost: $45.99 per Gallon,  $209.99 per 5 Gallon Pail. Products ship free on their website.
Stain Type: Semi-Transparent Water-Based
Available Colors: Natural, Cedar, Light Walnut, Dark Walnut, Cottage gray
Application Temperature: 45-95 F
Coats Required: 2 Coats. “Wet on Wet” for older wood. New wood = 1 Coat.
Coverage Per Gallon: 100-150 sq. ft
Application Tools: Sprayer, Pad, Brush, Roller
Dry Time: 2-4 Hours
Cleanup: Water
VOC Compliant: 50 VOC Compliant in all States
More Info: Product Data
Manufacturer: Restore-A-Deck

Test Deck Stats:
Deck Wood Type: Pressure Treated Pine
Deck Square Footage: 150 Square feet
UV Exposure: 50% Full Sun
How Many Years Tested:  2 Years
Stain Color Used: 
Light Walnut

*All products tested and results are from our experience. We offer no guarantee of similar results. Take into consideration that results may differ due to different wood types, exposure to UV radiation, and natural weathering.

Restore-A-Deck Semi-Transparent Stain Photos

How To Restore Your Deck All in One Day – DeckStainHelp.com

Please Rate This. You may also post comments or ask questions below.

Related Deck Stain Help Articles & Reviews

guest
726 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Brandon
Brandon
1 month ago

I applied the this product to a new deck this weekend, with great results. I was able to mostly complete a 750+ sq. foot deck by myself.

I was extremely surprised how much much dirt and grime came off of new kiln dried cedar after only 3 months of being installed. Although it was a bit of work scrubbing the deck boards, I am so glad that I used as I had no idea that the boards were are dirty as they were.

Anyways, now for my question, do you have a suggestion for a product to remove any stain that may have gotten on metal railing/trim?

I saw the video of someone suggesting goof-off graffiti remover. My worry with this product is that is it pressurized and I don’t want overspray to hit the deck.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

20220815_085351.jpg
20220812_113932.jpg
Richard & Irene Garipoli
Richard & Irene Garipoli
1 year ago

I absolutely can honestly say this restoration product(s) are the best I have ever used. We live in PA. I followed all the directions to the tee. I applied the SOLID stain on 20 yr old deck wood, which was in poor shape. Nothing worked previously, even when it was professionally done with their materials, we would have chipping and peeling after the first Winter. I applied this during covidcation last March/April because we had a warm beginning of Spring. This was not hard to apply but we did everything that was recommended, along with some sanding. We were in communication by email with this company almost every other day asking a question or two. They returned a reply sometimes within 10 min. Then if we had additional questions they answered them and referred us to other research material to help us. They were great to deal with even though you didn’t talk over the phone with them. Like I said, we applied this and then wondered if it was going to start peeling by the Fall. Nope, well then definitely after the first ice storm, nope. Well, then after 3 weeks of snow fall pretty continuously. Even though we shoveled the snow off the wood deck, NO PEELING OR CHIPPING! We have a deck that gets hammered with rain, ice, hail and snow. This stuff is the best we have ever used. This Spring, we only had to hose it down with mild soapy water and that’s it. We really appreciate when something actually works the way it’s advertised. This would out sell anything in the stores if it were sold their. I am in awe by this product(s). I am telling all my family, friends and colleagues. I hope you don’t sell out because of word of mouth advertising. It is GREAT COMPANY WITH GREAT PRODUCTS!!! Thank you!!

Erin
Erin
2 months ago

Please send a pic and let us know what color you used. Thank you!

Irene Garipoli
Irene Garipoli
2 months ago
Reply to  Erin

This is the start of our third year and we are still amazed by good it looks with no chipping and peeling. We used the taupe, solid stain originally. Apply this according to the directions and you won’t regret it. This Summer we will use their cleaner and sand it all lightly and apply another coat or two, just for good measure. We don’t want to go through the whole process with stripping again, so this is the easiest method to maintain it. We truly love our deck and would not replace it, at this time since there is no visible rot from above. We cannot see underneath, so maybe years ahead that would be the area that may cause it’s destruction. Until then, we are very pleased with it’s look. Sorry, if the following picture isn’t the best, I just now took it, after a rain storm, early this morning.
Take care, have fun and be safe!

Deck.jpg
Erin
Erin
2 months ago
Reply to  Irene Garipoli

3 YEARS AND LOOKING GOOD!! Thank you so much for sharing!

Elaine Booth
Elaine Booth
3 years ago

We are so pleased with the Restore a Deck stain. New wood 9 months after it was installed. Process couldn’t be any easier!

CB88B97E-FE3E-4015-A838-3ADA1D872F17.jpeg
3275617E-2E00-4573-A7A1-4CE0A6A23203.jpeg
39731F23-0B93-45E5-A3E3-023F3EFF5AAB.jpeg
Steven Murillo
Steven Murillo
3 years ago

All I can say is WOW! I was in a world of hurt with an oil-based sealer/stain product. Admittedly, I had applied too much when I was doing my maintenance clean & reapply after a year of the original coat. I tried stripping the oil-based coat with paint stripper, denatured alcohol, and mechanically, but I would have been at it for weeks!

Then I discovered the Restore-A-Deck webpage and read about the Restore-A-Deck water-based products: Stripper, Brightener, and Stain. I used the Stripper along with the Booster. I first tried just the Stripper, but realized that as the salesperson noted, I did indeed also need the Booster. After a second application with Booster, the deck came out beautifully! I then applied Natural Stain (after waiting a day – ran out of daylight!). The deck looks fantastic! I hadn’t expected the gentle satin or eggshell finish, but it was a nice surprise! Cleanup, being all water-based, was a breeze, and I didn’t end up with lots of environmentally unfriendly run-off.

Hats off to the Restore-A-Deck company! Great products, easy to use, with fantastic results! What more can I say?

Ken Tidwell
Ken Tidwell
3 years ago

Just cleaned and brightened my 2 year old pressure treated pine deck. Then applied the light walnut stain, all from Restore A Deck. It looks great.

Ken Tidwell
Ken Tidwell
3 years ago

Will do.

Ken Tidwell
Ken Tidwell
3 years ago

Here are some photos.

IMG_1887.JPG
IMG_1896.JPG
IMG_1889.JPG
Tina
Tina
3 years ago

What shade color is this

jean eustice
jean eustice
3 years ago

What color stain is shown in photos?

Ken Tidwell
Ken Tidwell
3 years ago
Reply to  Ken Tidwell

Some more photos.

IMG_1886.JPG
IMG_1887.JPG
Deck Finishes, Stains, Sealers,
Forrest Goodwin
Forrest Goodwin
24 days ago

I need to stain and seal a pine tongue and groove door (NOT pressure treated) for a playhouse – exterior. Will this do the job if I do all 6 sides? Or do I need to look at oil or other? Fun fact… it will be a round door and round windows — I have steel rings to keep them from warping, just need to seal them.

Forrest
Forrest
23 days ago

So for T&G premium finish pine, I don’t have to wait to stain, correct? Want to protect it immediately as it is not pressure treated. I’ll be waiting 3-4 months on the rest of the playhouse that is Ptreated to paint/stain. So rather than Restore a Deck…why not TWP 1500. You have that as the best wood protection which is primarily what I need for this door and windows. It is oil base and thus messier to work with but it is only a 44″ in round door and 18″ windows

Olivia
Olivia
1 month ago

I want to make sure I got this game plan right. We have 1000sq ft of deck (toooo big) and it gets sun ALL day in Tennessee. The deck is I think four years old and we put Super Deck on it last year that I don’t think did anything. The patio cover is a year old and will also need something. My plan is is to the RAD cleaner, then the cottage grey semi transparent stain. We can’t do the whole thing in a day so our plan is to clean and stain in sections. Am I missing anything?

20220806_172807.jpg
Olivia
Olivia
1 month ago

So get the strip and brighten. Do I do that while powerwashing? Your saying it should only take about hour or two to stin the floor part? I was going to use a brush. Is there a better tool?

Alex
Alex
1 month ago

Does anyone know of a contractor who uses Restore-A-Deck products in the Washington, DC area? Thank you!

Jennifer B
Jennifer B
2 months ago

Excellent website and detailed reviews. I’ve just ordered Armstrong Clark samples thanks to you!

Jennifer Bettridge
Jennifer Bettridge
2 months ago

Excellent website! I appreciate your detailed reviews. I just called Armstrong Clark (AC) to order samples for my Ipe deck At a 10,000 feet elevation. I told AC that your site sent me to buy their products.

David Jutras
David Jutras
2 months ago

Hi. I previously told you that I used Ready Seal and my wood deck was still oily after a month. I was tracking oil inside my house. I washed it with a deck cleaner, I sanded it and finally, I used a stain stripper. All the stain is gone but the wood is still oily and it still tracks inside, but less. It seems that the Ready Seal stain never dried and the wood is still soaked with oil (but not the pigment). I wonder how deep it went. I tried to wash the wood with dish soap and warm water. It seems a bit less oily now, but still tracks. Should I strip it again or use another product ?

jim richter
jim richter
2 months ago

I used your stain 2 yrs ago and am very pleased. I have a question regarding some stains from Geranium flowers that I now have on my deck. Is there a product that I can use on these stains? I used a solid color stain, if I want to recoat do I have to do any prep? The stain is not peeling and except for the flower stains looks great. thanks, Jim Richter

Erin
Erin
2 months ago

What are your thoughts on Cutek Colourtone stains? Thank you in advance!

Erin
Erin
2 months ago

Thank you! I have a huge flat 900 sq ft deck. Our contractor just finished power washing. His generator was LOUD and the process was time consuming for 3 days. I don’t want to do this process again as it was a real bother to the 8 people in our home that either work at home, sleep days and work nights, or deal with disabilities/sleep/anxiety disorders and sleep during the day. I was apologizing to everyone as the Landlord.

The contractor purchased 18 boards from Home Depot for those needing to be replaced. He is planning to partially replace bad areas since wood is so expensive.

I REALLY, REALLY, REALLY want the beauty of the wood and DON’T want to do a solid color, especially on this huge 80 foot long flat deck. We want a wood tone that blends in with the woods behind us. I also want something easy for my contractors to apply and a product that will give good coverage per gallon.

If I apply a Solid now I will have to complete this process again when I finally get to changing to a beautiful stain. Will the new and old boards ever even out in color so a stain will look even. What product do you suggest that I use this year, if I’m eventually going to go with a semi-transparent later and don’t want have to power washing again. Or is there a process to keep up the deck where you don’t have to power wash each time??

We are in Southern Maryland 30 mins from Wash, DC. This area has weather ranging from Very HOT & Humid sunny days in the summer, (lots of mildew algae buildup on the siding and roofs of homes in the area), to very cold winters, hail storms, snow, ice sticks around for weeks with the North Eastern storms.

Our deck gets midday to afternoon sun with a few areas staying wet having no sun in the corners.

Thanks so much for helping out! I join everyone here in thanking you for your knowledge and kind advise!!! Very much appreciated!!

Joanne Freeman
Joanne Freeman
2 months ago

We used an oil base semi transparent stain on our deck and every winter most of it peels off. Tired of staining every year. Do you have any suggestions?

Jodi fisher
Jodi fisher
2 months ago

We have sanded down our deck that previously had Behr solid stain deckover. Will the restore a deck even out where the wood is uneven? And do we need to use the kit or just the solid stain?

deck.jpg
richard Saron
richard Saron
2 months ago

Hi Solid or semi solid for this old deck, see attached

deck.jpg
Richard Saron
Richard Saron
2 months ago

thanks. what happens if i use a solid?

Richard Saron
Richard Saron
2 months ago

can we use water based? porch is old.

Rebecca
Rebecca
3 months ago

No idea what kind of wood I’m dealing with. I do know that we haven’t stained it in 6 years and it was with a Thompson Waterseal product. We’ve power washed it with muriatic acid and this is now what’s left. Help please! I love the idea of just using a pump sprayer if possible and not doing all this by hand.

21A9FC34-5919-4D1B-AF49-0F8D44BA4A1A.jpeg
Dan Loughridge
Dan Loughridge
3 months ago

What would be the recommended deck stain for a 900sqft 7mo old pressure treated wood deck. I’m looking for something that’s easy to maintain.

Bet Doebler
Bet Doebler
3 months ago

We have a 4 year old pressure treated pine deck. It was originally stained with Thomson. That peeled off any horizontal surface and we have sanded it off the upright posts. We plan to use the cleaner, brightener, and Cedar semitransparent RAD.
1) Do we need to let the posts weather for any length of time?
2) Should we sand the entire deck surface first or can we just clean, brighten, and stain?

Thank you!

Nancy
Nancy
4 months ago

Is the deck slippery after apply Restore a Deck stain? we have a pool off our deck, so its often wet

Cathy Tavernier
Cathy Tavernier
4 months ago

Additional info to first post
Or…would you recommend Restore a Deck instead of Defy? Please help

Sandy Storer
Sandy Storer
4 months ago

I want to use the RAD clean and brighten system on new cedar railings in preparation for staining with Armstrong Clark, but need to consider the Wolf Serenity PVC decking and the vinyl coated wire mesh on the railings. Will the product be safe for these other surfaces? I see no way to fully protect them. What method would you recommend for application. Thanks!

Daryl Strauss
Daryl Strauss
4 months ago

Last year, I cleaned and brightened a cedar covered porch using RAD, and then stained with RAD stain.
I intend to re-stain every year for maintenance.
This year, I cleaned and brightened before a new coat of RAD stain. It removed a LOT of the old stain and seemed a bit agressive to me.
I do now see that the RAD stain instructions say to clean step 1 only, NOT brighten for maintenance. I must have been confused based on other recommendations I read on this site that I thought I needed to clean plus brighten any time I re-stain.
Can you confirm, for maintenance, I should use the cleaner step 1 only and NOT the brightener?
The RAD instructions seem to lead you to believe you need to use the brightener to neutralize the cleaner.

john e zuehlke
john e zuehlke
4 months ago

I don’t want to buy a dozen stains, brushes etc. So, besides using “Restore A Deck” on my hardwood deck, can I also use it on my soft redwood siding of my house? john

Brandon
Brandon
4 months ago

I am installing a new incense Cedar deck. I assume this can be used on a new deck for it’s first application. Are all steps needed, or just the stain? Also, how long should I wait before staining/sealing the new deck once installed? Thanks!!

iris
iris
4 months ago

I have a low to the ground spuce pressure treated wood 5 year old deck, I used a couple of year ago Thompson advance sealer with color it had wax in it ingredient and the deck looks terrible. I want to use solid stain because the spruce has terrible knots and many .How long will it last with restore a deck stain. . half of deck is under covered roof and that part stain has a long life. if I use restore a deck solid can I strip the effected area and re-stain it without doing the whole deck, is solid stain ok for my deck. and where can you get it. I am in Ontario canada.

Vince Capobianco
Vince Capobianco
4 months ago

Can this be used on a one year old deck? And do I need to prep it? Its still very clean thank you

Kathy Yancey
Kathy Yancey
5 months ago

I am looking for a product to seal cracks and splits in my wood deck before staining or painting my 30 yr. Old wood deck. I’m on a fixed income and can’t afford to replace it. Thanks for your help.

Joan
Joan
5 months ago

I am so confused with all the options to prepare and stain my deck. My deck is about 20 years old and hasn’t been stained in about 4 years. Looks like it is pressure treated wood. It has some cracks in boards and some areas are green/blackish and gray. Do I just need a cleaner or also a brightner and stripper. Also, should I use a semi-transparent or semi-solid stain since it is so old and worn. Do you recommend one or the other. I like to see a little wood but since it is so old and has so many cracks, I may need to go with semi-solid. I’m not ready to replace the entire deck and would like to see if I can make it better for a couple of years at least. Thank you for your help and guidance.

IMG_2692.jpg
IMG_2696.jpg
IMG_2695.jpg
Joan
Joan
5 months ago

Thank you

Steve
Steve
5 months ago

I used RAD and TWP 1500 in 2014 (new deck) and 2018 and have been pleased with the product. I did not use a maintenance coat each year because of cost (900sf deck=$200+ see attached picture of where a potted plant was located on the deck.#1) I live in Raleigh, NC and I have a few questions before I stain my deck this year.

  1. What is the main difference between TWP 100 and 1500? Pro and Con,
  2. What is the main difference (other than H20 base and able to apply on a damp/wet deck) between TWP and your stain (RAD), Pro and Con
  3. I recently purchased RAD (stripper) but at this point have hesitated on purchasing my stain.
  4. With either must I use a cleaner and maintenance coat each year to preserve “the original look.”
  5. Attached picture from 2018-#2. On further examination I think I should have stripped it rather than cleaned it….?
  6. Interested in your recommendation

Thanks in advance,

Steve

IMG_3231.JPG
IMG_3247.JPG
Darren Vardy
Darren Vardy
5 months ago

how many square feet does a gallon cover on a pressure treated deck

Tim
Tim
6 months ago

I’ve inherited a wood deck that’s not in horrible shape, but I’d like to get it to the point where it’s as good as it can be. It looks like it’s had multiple layers of paint, not stain. Pictures attached and any suggestions appreciated – great site!

IMG_1979.jpg
IMG_1980.jpg
Dianne Woody
Dianne Woody
7 months ago

I am staining a deck that has new and old wood both on it. Do I need a solid stain or will a semi-transparent blend both together to be same color?

Troy M
Troy M
10 months ago

Which RAD color best matches the pre-stained pressure treated cedar tone wood? Also, can this PT cedar tone wood be re-stained after a couple years? Meaning will it hold new stain?
Thanks

Chris
Chris
11 months ago

I am staining a redwood fence. Will this last as well as an oil based stain such as TWP? Does re-application require stripping, or only clean, brighten and reapply?

Chris
Chris
11 months ago

Thanks! I plan to use a pump sprayer and back brush. Would you recommend a pad or your yellow brush for the back brushing?

Trina Scott
Trina Scott
11 months ago

Seriously considering using this. Should I pressure wash with diluted bleach water prior to using the deck wash, in order to remove the dark black and green moldy areas? Or, will the deck wash do the job?

Trina Scott
Trina Scott
11 months ago

Which product goes in the pressure washer and what ratio. Thanks a big bunch for your help and advice. So glad I found you today.

Marcie Roth
Marcie Roth
11 months ago

How is the color retention on ipe? How long after application is that gorgeous photo of the fence? Would I need to re-apply this every year? (NYC winter). Really hoping to find something that can looks good longer than 1 year!

Troy M
Troy M
1 year ago

I stained my cedar/PT framed deck with RAD light walnut several days ago. The pressure treated joists look lighter colored in some areas where I must have applied it too thin. Can I put another coat on to darken it up or do I have to wait til it weathers some? Directions say recoat within 60 minutes… most of the PT joists have a good color so I know it is applied too thin and not differences in the wood. Great product and great resource, Thanks

Troy M
Troy M
1 year ago

Thank you! Again, fantastic resource!

Janette Elliott
Janette Elliott
1 year ago

I’m wondering if there can be a long period of time between stripping old stain using your stripping product and completing the cleaning, brightening and new staining process. And when I say long period I mean. Can I strip now and leave bare for several months.
(I have new wood that needs to be weathered and old wood needs to be stripped all together in the same project, trying to be efficient)

S white
S white
1 year ago

New pressure treated pine deck last year, cedar posts and black aluminum railing. Deck has cured now for 12 months. I know it needs to be cleaned but does it need to be brightened? Do i use 1 coat of restore a deck for new deck and reevaluate next year? Cedar posts were stained in oil base before install and are rough hewn..will stripping the cedar posts damage the railing? Please advise and thanks for your help.

Janette Elliott
Janette Elliott
1 year ago

Thanks for this very helpful and informative site and feedback. Now. Once I’ve weathered my wood for minimum 3 months. Is there a minimum number of dry days “without rain” that should occur to allow for some “drying out or just as the article says, damp but not wet it pooling? I guess what I’m really asking is can I really stain in the fall with the semi transparent if the temperature are mild enough and the deck has received rain.

Janette Elliott
Janette Elliott
1 year ago

I live on the rainy west coast Vancouver British Columbia. Hot sunny summer. But plenty of rain throughout the year. I have removed all my old cedar deck boards to be planed, trimmed and I have additional new dry cedar that I will be using for an addition. I originally was going to use the oil based stain but after seeing the restore a deck in action I think that I might choose to use it. Given our mild, rainy weather. What would you recommend, and do I have to do anything else to prep the wood after planing.

Janette Elliott
Janette Elliott
1 year ago

So just to clarify, are you saying that once sanding or planing occurs to wood that has already bybeen on the deck (ie weathered). Then weathering must be done again? We are going into wet weather season again. Once these planks are planed, and unprotected they will be potentially exposed to rain and sun in unknown amounts, and will absorb a lot of water.

Last edited 1 year ago by Janette Elliott
Craig Sickles
Craig Sickles
1 year ago

i have a new deck around my above ground pool, built in Dec 2020. we live in North Central Ohio, so we get all kinds of weather. it is pressure treated lumber. i think it ready to stain. It is in full sun and we have railings. My wife wants to apply White stain to the Railing, then Gray to the deck floor. Also beneath the deck floor, we have treated lumber to act as skirting for toy storage and etc. Me question is what would you suggest for the spindles, the top railing, and the skirting, and for the deck itself?

Donna
Donna
1 year ago

I have just ordered 5 gallons of RAD solid. 1) Why do I need a brightener if I am using a solid color?. 2) what product can I use as a wood filler to fill in some holes from the knots and screw indentations? ALL your advice is greatly appreciated. THANK YOU.!

Donna
Donna
1 year ago

Would the “wood prep for decks” the same as the “brightener”. Thank you again for all your helpful advice.

Donna
Donna
1 year ago

ok..thank you.

mike
mike
1 year ago

we do not want colour but clear deck stain for Haliburton harsh Canadian winter
what is best?

Keturah Swank
Keturah Swank
1 year ago

Do you happen to have any photos of RAD Dark Walnut? We are looking for a dark brown. The little swatch of color on their website seems as though it’s not all that dark but hard to say. Couldn’t find a “photo album” on their site like other companies. Thanks

Heather Fry
Heather Fry
1 year ago

Hi there,
We have about 500sq ft on our cottage deck. The deck is cedar and over 20 years old. Some boards have been replaced over the years. It has been stained several times. For the last 10 years we have been using Cabots Australian timber oil. It really deserves and needs a refresh. I am not looking for perfection but a little more continuity would be nice.
When I can across your video – it gave me hope. I absolutely love the idea of not having to wait for significant drying time! I don’t know if anything like this sold in Canada.
However, in your opinion how would your stripper and brightner and stain refresh our deck considering it’s age? Also , because we are in Canada knowing how much would be needed of each product would help me. For example, would we need double of one of the products to improve it? Or would each step just have to sit longer to get the best results? I have attached a pic of one part of the deck.
Thanks for any advice and for answering all my questions.
Cheers,

321355D7-17D2-4773-8A0E-74AE5131C60B.jpeg
F3EAF6A6-6053-4668-91F3-FF462B0F5FB9.jpeg
Daniel W Bigger
Daniel W Bigger
1 year ago

If the semi transparent stain gets on painted trim, can it just be painted over to cover?

Martin
Martin
1 year ago

Just stained with RAD Semi transparent stain. Do I need to do the whole cleaning next year to recoat or just some mild detergent.

Jim
Jim
1 year ago

What if I need to sand a little before applying the stain, do I dampen the deck after sanding?

Martin
Martin
1 year ago

Should water bead on RAD semi transparent water based stains afterwards?

Martin
Martin
1 year ago

Thanks for the quick reply

Larry Rudisill
Larry Rudisill
1 year ago

In the video above, was the stain that you stripped an oil-based stain?

Last edited 1 year ago by Excelsior1958
STEVEN MISCHKE
STEVEN MISCHKE
1 year ago

I have a deck that is 10′ X 16′ with a set of 4 steps that lead to the ground. There is one handrail on the steps and a handrail with balusters on three sides of the deck.

The balusters are 39″ long and 2″ X 2″ square. The top rail and bottom rail are of a 2″ X 6″ redwood.

The deck, steps, handrail, balusters are all new redwood.

How much of the stain will I need to cover the deck two times?

How long do I need to wait between coats of stain?

Jane S Hatter
Jane S Hatter
1 year ago

I used an oil based stain two years ago. Can I use a Restore A Deck water base semi-transparent stain now and will it penetrate into the wood?

Jane S Hatter
Jane S Hatter
1 year ago

the decks have been pressure washed twice. Is that sufficient? (please say yes, please say yes) 😊

Jerome
Jerome
1 year ago

Can I use the RAD Semi-Transparent stain on a deck that still has some stain color after prepping with a pressure washer or does the deck need to have all stain removed?

726
0
Questions or leave a review, please comment!x