Restore-A-Deck Wood Stain Review 4.5/5 (46)

by Deck Stain Help

This post was updated on January 13, 2022

Restore A Deck Wood Stain Review

Restore A Deck Wood Stain Review

Restore-A-Deck Semi-Transparent Review 2022

This is our 4th Year for the review of the Restore-A-Deck Semi-Transparent Wood Stain. This review will be updated through the years with new pictures as the stain ages. In 2017, our first full year of using the Restore A Deck stain, we had no issues with performance and saved a tremendous amount of time with the ability to prep and stain on the same day. We will continue to offer the Restore A Deck Semi-Transparent Wood Stain as one of our go-to decking stains for the 2022 restoration season.

*We prefer the application to damp wood as it performs better and applies easier.

Note: Restore-A-Deck Semi-Transparent Wood Stain can be applied to dry or damp wood. Applying to damp wood allows you the ability to prep and stain on the same day, saving you a tremendous amount of time.

Summary: Restore-A-Deck Semi-Transparent Wood Stain is an advanced, water-based, semi-transparent stain formulation designed to penetrate deep into wood pores for maximum protection and longevity. Restore-A-Deck Wood Stain protects the wood from harmful UV rays and damage caused by water penetration. Restore-A-Deck Semi-Transparent Wood Stain is safe to use, has a low odor, and is easy to clean up with soap and water. It is ideal for all wood types including pressure-treated pine, cedar, fir, or redwood.

Recent advancements in water-based wood stain technology have allowed the active ingredients in the Restore-A-Deck Stain to offer better UV protection, excellent penetration into the wood grain, the ability to apply to damp wood, all in 4 beautiful semi-transparent colors that highlight the natural wood grain.

RAD Wood and Deck Stain will increase the life, appearance, and durability of all exterior wood surfaces. With the easy-to-apply and maintain Eco-Safe formula, you’ll be able to finish faster and enjoy your exterior wood or deck for years.

Restore-A-Deck Wood Stain Ratings (1-10)

Appearance After Initial Stain Application: 8

– The Restore-A-Deck wood stain color we used was the Semi-Transparent Light Walnut. The initial appearance was a rich brown with a hint of red (see pictures below) after drying. The Restore-A-Deck Stain penetrated extremely well into the wood grain on our test deck. No surface film on top of the wood.

Preventing UV Graying at 2 Year Mark: 9

– Restore-A-Deck had little to no fading at the 2-year mark. Excellent color retention should be achieved through years 2-3 as well based on initial pictures and testing. See below for a picture.

Restore A Deck Stain One Year

Restore A Deck Stain Two Years

Wear/Tear and Peeling: 9

–At the 2-year mark, there was no wearing or peeling.

Cost Per Square Foot: 8

– We applied two coats to our 150 sq foot deck that included all railings and steps. Less than 1 gallon was used for this at a total cost of $40. This equates to $.30 a square foot. Very reasonable pricing and better than most other top brands.

Preventing Mold/Mildew/Algae: 10

– Similar to other water-based deck stains, the Restore-A-Deck Wood stain will not promote the growth of mold or mildew. This is one of the primary advantages of using a water-based coating. At the 1-year mark, the deck showed no signs of any mold or mildew.

Ease of Application: 9

– Our favorite aspect of the Restore-A-Deck Wood stain is the ability to stain and prep on the same day! We tested this by cleaning and brightening the wood with the Step 1 and Step 2 Restore A Deck Cleaner/Brightener Kit and then applying the RAD stain 1 hour after the prep. The wood was visibly wet on a few areas of the deck and damp to the touch throughout. The Restore-A-Deck actually applied easier to the damp wood than any other water-based stain that we have used previously. We also found that the coverage was better when applied to damp wood. In theory, the stain will actually absorb better when applied to damp wood. The water “swells” the wood pores and “pulls” the stain deep into the wood as it dries.  Applying to damp wood will also help avoid potential issues with Applying a Deck Stain in Full Sun.

See before and after pictures below.

Restore A Deck Stain After Prep

Restore A Deck Stain After Prep

Restore A Deck Stain Damp Wood Application

Restore A Deck Stain Damp Wood Application

Color Shifting (darkening) after 2 Years: 8

– As expected, there was very little darkening for the Restore-A-Deck Stain or color shifting.  See picture at 2-year mark above.

Difficulty of Reapplication: 8

– The Restore-A-Deck will be an easy clean and reapplication as needed.

Overall Score Restore-A-Deck Stain at 1-Year Period: 8.63

– The Restore-A-Deck is an awesome exterior wood stain and has shown the ability to outperform other water-based and oil-based wood stains. Restore-A-Deck’s 3-Step system allows you to save time and money when it comes to restoring your exterior wood and decking. No other system that we have used or tested has allowed the ability to Prep and Stain in the Same Day. If you are looking for the future of exterior wood and deck stain, then you should consider the Restore A Deck Wood Stain and their prepping system.

Product Information:

More Info: Restore-A-Deck Wood Stain
Cost: $40.99 per Gallon,  $189.99 per 5 Gallon Pail. Products ship free on their website.
Stain Type: Semi-Transparent Water-Based
Available Colors: Natural, Cedar, Light Walnut, Dark Walnut, Cottage gray
Application Temperature: 45-95 F
Coats Required: 2 Coats. “Wet on Wet” for older wood. New wood = 1 Coat.
Coverage Per Gallon: 100-150 sq. ft
Application Tools: Sprayer, Pad, Brush, Roller
Dry Time: 2-4 Hours
Cleanup: Water
VOC Compliant: 50 VOC Compliant in all States
More Info: Product Data
Manufacturer: Restore-A-Deck

Test Deck Stats:
Deck Wood Type: Pressure Treated Pine
Deck Square Footage: 150 Square feet
UV Exposure: 50% Full Sun
How Many Years Tested:  2 Years
Stain Color Used: 
Light Walnut

*All products tested and results are from our experience. We offer no guarantee of similar results. Take into consideration that results may differ due to different wood types, exposure to UV radiation, and natural weathering.

Restore-A-Deck Semi-Transparent Stain Photos

How To Restore Your Deck All in One Day – DeckStainHelp.com

Please Rate This. You may also post comments or ask questions below.

Related Deck Stain Help Articles & Reviews

guest
656 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Richard & Irene Garipoli
Richard & Irene Garipoli
9 months ago

I absolutely can honestly say this restoration product(s) are the best I have ever used. We live in PA. I followed all the directions to the tee. I applied the SOLID stain on 20 yr old deck wood, which was in poor shape. Nothing worked previously, even when it was professionally done with their materials, we would have chipping and peeling after the first Winter. I applied this during covidcation last March/April because we had a warm beginning of Spring. This was not hard to apply but we did everything that was recommended, along with some sanding. We were in communication by email with this company almost every other day asking a question or two. They returned a reply sometimes within 10 min. Then if we had additional questions they answered them and referred us to other research material to help us. They were great to deal with even though you didn’t talk over the phone with them. Like I said, we applied this and then wondered if it was going to start peeling by the Fall. Nope, well then definitely after the first ice storm, nope. Well, then after 3 weeks of snow fall pretty continuously. Even though we shoveled the snow off the wood deck, NO PEELING OR CHIPPING! We have a deck that gets hammered with rain, ice, hail and snow. This stuff is the best we have ever used. This Spring, we only had to hose it down with mild soapy water and that’s it. We really appreciate when something actually works the way it’s advertised. This would out sell anything in the stores if it were sold their. I am in awe by this product(s). I am telling all my family, friends and colleagues. I hope you don’t sell out because of word of mouth advertising. It is GREAT COMPANY WITH GREAT PRODUCTS!!! Thank you!!

Elaine Booth
Elaine Booth
2 years ago

We are so pleased with the Restore a Deck stain. New wood 9 months after it was installed. Process couldn’t be any easier!

CB88B97E-FE3E-4015-A838-3ADA1D872F17.jpeg
3275617E-2E00-4573-A7A1-4CE0A6A23203.jpeg
39731F23-0B93-45E5-A3E3-023F3EFF5AAB.jpeg
Steven Murillo
Steven Murillo
2 years ago

All I can say is WOW! I was in a world of hurt with an oil-based sealer/stain product. Admittedly, I had applied too much when I was doing my maintenance clean & reapply after a year of the original coat. I tried stripping the oil-based coat with paint stripper, denatured alcohol, and mechanically, but I would have been at it for weeks!

Then I discovered the Restore-A-Deck webpage and read about the Restore-A-Deck water-based products: Stripper, Brightener, and Stain. I used the Stripper along with the Booster. I first tried just the Stripper, but realized that as the salesperson noted, I did indeed also need the Booster. After a second application with Booster, the deck came out beautifully! I then applied Natural Stain (after waiting a day – ran out of daylight!). The deck looks fantastic! I hadn’t expected the gentle satin or eggshell finish, but it was a nice surprise! Cleanup, being all water-based, was a breeze, and I didn’t end up with lots of environmentally unfriendly run-off.

Hats off to the Restore-A-Deck company! Great products, easy to use, with fantastic results! What more can I say?

Ken Tidwell
Ken Tidwell
3 years ago

Just cleaned and brightened my 2 year old pressure treated pine deck. Then applied the light walnut stain, all from Restore A Deck. It looks great.

Ken Tidwell
Ken Tidwell
3 years ago

Will do.

Ken Tidwell
Ken Tidwell
2 years ago

Here are some photos.

IMG_1887.JPG
IMG_1896.JPG
IMG_1889.JPG
Tina
Tina
2 years ago

What shade color is this

jean eustice
jean eustice
2 years ago

What color stain is shown in photos?

Ken Tidwell
Ken Tidwell
2 years ago
Reply to  Ken Tidwell

Some more photos.

IMG_1886.JPG
IMG_1887.JPG
Deck Finishes, Stains, Sealers,
Troy M
Troy M
2 months ago

Which RAD color best matches the pre-stained pressure treated cedar tone wood? Also, can this PT cedar tone wood be re-stained after a couple years? Meaning will it hold new stain?
Thanks

Chris
Chris
2 months ago

I am staining a redwood fence. Will this last as well as an oil based stain such as TWP? Does re-application require stripping, or only clean, brighten and reapply?

Chris
Chris
2 months ago

Thanks! I plan to use a pump sprayer and back brush. Would you recommend a pad or your yellow brush for the back brushing?

Trina Scott
Trina Scott
3 months ago

Seriously considering using this. Should I pressure wash with diluted bleach water prior to using the deck wash, in order to remove the dark black and green moldy areas? Or, will the deck wash do the job?

Trina Scott
Trina Scott
3 months ago

Which product goes in the pressure washer and what ratio. Thanks a big bunch for your help and advice. So glad I found you today.

Marcie Roth
Marcie Roth
3 months ago

How is the color retention on ipe? How long after application is that gorgeous photo of the fence? Would I need to re-apply this every year? (NYC winter). Really hoping to find something that can looks good longer than 1 year!

Troy M
Troy M
3 months ago

I stained my cedar/PT framed deck with RAD light walnut several days ago. The pressure treated joists look lighter colored in some areas where I must have applied it too thin. Can I put another coat on to darken it up or do I have to wait til it weathers some? Directions say recoat within 60 minutes… most of the PT joists have a good color so I know it is applied too thin and not differences in the wood. Great product and great resource, Thanks

Troy M
Troy M
3 months ago

Thank you! Again, fantastic resource!

Janette Elliott
Janette Elliott
4 months ago

I’m wondering if there can be a long period of time between stripping old stain using your stripping product and completing the cleaning, brightening and new staining process. And when I say long period I mean. Can I strip now and leave bare for several months.
(I have new wood that needs to be weathered and old wood needs to be stripped all together in the same project, trying to be efficient)

S white
S white
4 months ago

New pressure treated pine deck last year, cedar posts and black aluminum railing. Deck has cured now for 12 months. I know it needs to be cleaned but does it need to be brightened? Do i use 1 coat of restore a deck for new deck and reevaluate next year? Cedar posts were stained in oil base before install and are rough hewn..will stripping the cedar posts damage the railing? Please advise and thanks for your help.

Janette Elliott
Janette Elliott
5 months ago

Thanks for this very helpful and informative site and feedback. Now. Once I’ve weathered my wood for minimum 3 months. Is there a minimum number of dry days “without rain” that should occur to allow for some “drying out or just as the article says, damp but not wet it pooling? I guess what I’m really asking is can I really stain in the fall with the semi transparent if the temperature are mild enough and the deck has received rain.

Janette Elliott
Janette Elliott
5 months ago

I live on the rainy west coast Vancouver British Columbia. Hot sunny summer. But plenty of rain throughout the year. I have removed all my old cedar deck boards to be planed, trimmed and I have additional new dry cedar that I will be using for an addition. I originally was going to use the oil based stain but after seeing the restore a deck in action I think that I might choose to use it. Given our mild, rainy weather. What would you recommend, and do I have to do anything else to prep the wood after planing.

Janette Elliott
Janette Elliott
5 months ago

So just to clarify, are you saying that once sanding or planing occurs to wood that has already bybeen on the deck (ie weathered). Then weathering must be done again? We are going into wet weather season again. Once these planks are planed, and unprotected they will be potentially exposed to rain and sun in unknown amounts, and will absorb a lot of water.

Last edited 5 months ago by Janette Elliott
Craig Sickles
Craig Sickles
5 months ago

i have a new deck around my above ground pool, built in Dec 2020. we live in North Central Ohio, so we get all kinds of weather. it is pressure treated lumber. i think it ready to stain. It is in full sun and we have railings. My wife wants to apply White stain to the Railing, then Gray to the deck floor. Also beneath the deck floor, we have treated lumber to act as skirting for toy storage and etc. Me question is what would you suggest for the spindles, the top railing, and the skirting, and for the deck itself?

Donna
Donna
6 months ago

I have just ordered 5 gallons of RAD solid. 1) Why do I need a brightener if I am using a solid color?. 2) what product can I use as a wood filler to fill in some holes from the knots and screw indentations? ALL your advice is greatly appreciated. THANK YOU.!

Donna
Donna
6 months ago

Would the “wood prep for decks” the same as the “brightener”. Thank you again for all your helpful advice.

Donna
Donna
6 months ago

ok..thank you.

mike
mike
6 months ago

we do not want colour but clear deck stain for Haliburton harsh Canadian winter
what is best?

Keturah Swank
Keturah Swank
6 months ago

Do you happen to have any photos of RAD Dark Walnut? We are looking for a dark brown. The little swatch of color on their website seems as though it’s not all that dark but hard to say. Couldn’t find a “photo album” on their site like other companies. Thanks

Heather Fry
Heather Fry
6 months ago

Hi there,
We have about 500sq ft on our cottage deck. The deck is cedar and over 20 years old. Some boards have been replaced over the years. It has been stained several times. For the last 10 years we have been using Cabots Australian timber oil. It really deserves and needs a refresh. I am not looking for perfection but a little more continuity would be nice.
When I can across your video – it gave me hope. I absolutely love the idea of not having to wait for significant drying time! I don’t know if anything like this sold in Canada.
However, in your opinion how would your stripper and brightner and stain refresh our deck considering it’s age? Also , because we are in Canada knowing how much would be needed of each product would help me. For example, would we need double of one of the products to improve it? Or would each step just have to sit longer to get the best results? I have attached a pic of one part of the deck.
Thanks for any advice and for answering all my questions.
Cheers,

321355D7-17D2-4773-8A0E-74AE5131C60B.jpeg
F3EAF6A6-6053-4668-91F3-FF462B0F5FB9.jpeg
Daniel W Bigger
Daniel W Bigger
6 months ago

If the semi transparent stain gets on painted trim, can it just be painted over to cover?

Martin
Martin
6 months ago

Just stained with RAD Semi transparent stain. Do I need to do the whole cleaning next year to recoat or just some mild detergent.

Jim
Jim
6 months ago

What if I need to sand a little before applying the stain, do I dampen the deck after sanding?

Martin
Martin
6 months ago

Should water bead on RAD semi transparent water based stains afterwards?

Martin
Martin
6 months ago

Thanks for the quick reply

Larry Rudisill
Larry Rudisill
7 months ago

In the video above, was the stain that you stripped an oil-based stain?

Last edited 7 months ago by Excelsior1958
STEVEN MISCHKE
STEVEN MISCHKE
7 months ago

I have a deck that is 10′ X 16′ with a set of 4 steps that lead to the ground. There is one handrail on the steps and a handrail with balusters on three sides of the deck.

The balusters are 39″ long and 2″ X 2″ square. The top rail and bottom rail are of a 2″ X 6″ redwood.

The deck, steps, handrail, balusters are all new redwood.

How much of the stain will I need to cover the deck two times?

How long do I need to wait between coats of stain?

Jane S Hatter
Jane S Hatter
7 months ago

I used an oil based stain two years ago. Can I use a Restore A Deck water base semi-transparent stain now and will it penetrate into the wood?

Jane S Hatter
Jane S Hatter
7 months ago

the decks have been pressure washed twice. Is that sufficient? (please say yes, please say yes) 😊

Jerome
Jerome
7 months ago

Can I use the RAD Semi-Transparent stain on a deck that still has some stain color after prepping with a pressure washer or does the deck need to have all stain removed?

William J Moore, Jr
William J Moore, Jr
7 months ago

Great web site. What is the Restore-A-Deck stain color used on the picture of the horizontal fence titled “Stain IPE Fence

Kay Ogborn
Kay Ogborn
7 months ago

Where can you get this stain

Yvonne Holloway
Yvonne Holloway
7 months ago

When you say it can be applied to a wet deck, does that include rain? We’re having trouble finding a dry spell for staining.

Amanda
Amanda
7 months ago

I got a bit ahead of myself today and over-sanded my deck. I power washed it yesterday, then sanded it today. Its about 10 years old and was not maintained by the previous owners. I started with 80 grit then went to 120. I am looking online and many people are saying 120 is too much. Should I do back and sand it again with 80 grit to make it a bit more rough?
thanks

Mary Kay
Mary Kay
8 months ago

I live in Windsor, Ontario, and have a deck that is 1 1/2 years old. It faces southwest, and gets the afternoon sun. It is made of pressure treated wood in the Sienna colour. I plan to stain it for the first time using the Restore-a- Deck semi-transparent stain (after using their cleaner and brightener). I am having a hard time deciding between the cedar and light walnut colours. 1. In your opinion, which might go best with the Sienna colour of wood? 2. Would the cedar look too orange? Please and thank you!

Mary Kay
Mary Kay
8 months ago

Thank you. I am also wondering when it is best to do any spot sanding on rough spots. Should I do it, then wait a couple of weeks to clean, brighten, and stain? Or spot sand between the cleaning and brightening?

Mary Kay
Mary Kay
8 months ago

Thank you….one more question. Re: staining a deck for the first time that is 1 1/2 years old, and gets a lot of sun. Should I do 1 or 2 coats. I appreciate your help!

Mark Huntley
Mark Huntley
8 months ago

What’s your preference, RAD or Defy Extreme? Had lots of darkening and mold problems with Armstrong, so thinking of trying something else. Pacific northwest so lots of rain and winter shade. Looking for durability, ease of application and ease of re-coating a couple years down the road.

Larry
Larry
8 months ago

How is it on the re-application, when it is time to re-apply the stain? Do you just clean and add a new coat? Is one or two coats needed at this time?

Eric
Eric
8 months ago

I have a 5-year old Cedar deck that has just been sanded. I’m finding myself needing to strip/sand every year as the stain I’ve been using just doesn’t last that well through the winter without some graying/silvering showing through. I’m in Ontario Canada. Looking for something that I can get a few years out of between re-applying and I’ve come across the RAD product which seems to be getting good reviews. Given this is a newly sanded deck, should I also be using the cleaner/brightener combo before staining (going for the natural semi-transparent)? Also, how many coats of stain given it’s just been sanded? Thanks!

Andre
Andre
9 months ago

Where can we buy this product in Canada

Jon Boright
Jon Boright
9 months ago

I’m have some locally milled Eastern White Cedar 5/4 boards that I’m going to use for decking in a treehouse (about 100 sf). It was milled last November so it’s still relatively green. I purchased it over the winter (January), planed it to consistent thickness, and stacked it in my garage (well stickered). I’ll still need to rip it to a standard width and round the edges (probably with a router?). So my question is should I stain it before installing it? Or is the moisture content probably still too high for that? I’d much rather use a water-based product and RAD looks promising…

Angelina Copen
Angelina Copen
9 months ago

Can you tell me what color stain is the 3rd photo down, with the gray house and brick wall.

Martina Sutton
Martina Sutton
9 months ago

But that photo looks same as Ken Tidwell’s photo and he says he used light walnut color. Which is it really – light walnut or cedar?? I also want to use same color so I want to be sure which one to order.

Felix
Felix
10 months ago

Thank you for all the valuable info that you share on your site! Following your advice, I let my eastern cedar deck age for about one year. Then prepped (cleaner and brightener) and stained using semi transparent natural restore a deck stain.

Should I reapply more stain now that a full year has passed? Some areas look a bit blotchy. I also don’t love the yellow tint and wish I could keep the redish natural color of easter cedar. Can I change the stain and just ad cedar semi transparent from RAD or should I stay with the natural semi transparent I already used?

Thanks again!

Last edited 10 months ago by Felix
Felix
Felix
10 months ago

Thank you! And what do you think would happen if I apply the same brand cedar stain but on top of the natural stain without stripping it?

Linda
Linda
10 months ago

Hello, can I strip cedar decking that has RAD water based stain to apply RAD oil based stain?

Tony Broach
Tony Broach
1 year ago

Hi, Can I spray the RAD semi-transparent stain on with a pump up sprayer? I am planning to use the cleaner and brightener. I have a 450 sq ft deck only 6 months old with railings, stairs and underpinning, and it would take forever to paint with a brush. I have read most of the reviews and no one is clear about it.
Thank you so much for your time!

M. Charles
M. Charles
1 year ago

Question?: I want to stain my new pressure treated wood steps (installed 9/19/2020) with Restore a Deck. Do I have to clean and brighten first and will rain ruin it if the stain isn’t completely dry?

Charlie
Charlie
1 year ago

I am putting in a new redwood fence and will be applying Flame Stop II.

Any thoughts on how RAD will do in terms of a stain after the Flame Stop has dried?

I would test on a board before doing on the fence, but not much sense buying RAD if it’s just going to fail.

Kal Wun
Kal Wun
1 year ago

Not sure if my question got through. My first question is can I use your product on a side fence rather than a deck. Secondly, my contractor mistakenly stained the pine wood side fence using a very dark shade. Can I use your product to remove the dark stain to restore the natural pine look?

Thanks in advance!!

Kalpana Wunnava
Kalpana Wunnava
1 year ago

Thank you so much for the message. We yard Olympic brand water based stain. Attached are some pictures. One side was stained twice and the other side once.

Appreciate your time on this.

20201016_182953.jpg
20201016_182930.jpg
20201016_182909.jpg
Pat
Pat
1 year ago

We have cedar siding painted with a water based acrylic stain. Would the acrylic stain need to be stripped before applying this? Presumably all the acrylic stain would need to be stripped If I used Armstrong Clark oil based stain

Denise
Denise
1 year ago

We have a 45 year old cypress deck that’s still in pretty good shape. We’ve replace a few boards, also with cypress. It was treated yearly with Cuprinol for about 25 years so it was a pretty weathered gray. It was neglected for about 5 years, then it was stained brown. That has finally faded and we’ve begun to clean and brighten it. Some boards have been replaced. I’ve been testing various stain products on the deck, from clear, to semi-transparent, to semi-solid. My hope would be to get it back to a natural weathered gray appearance, but I realize that a lot of time has passed and the wood has been neglected. Would your cottage gray provide a natural look? Another option would be to match the deck to the house (which is cedar siding with Cabot Seacoast Gray solid stain), but that would obscure the wood grain and be too matchy-matchy. I don’t want to go brown again. The wood doesn’t have to look perfect. I’m really stumped. The photo shows old boards next to a couple of the new ones. Thanks for any advice!

deck rev.jpg
Dave
Dave
9 months ago
Reply to  Denise

There’s an Eco Wood Treatment in a ‘silvery patina’ color similar to what parks use for the greyed treatment

Brian
Brian
1 year ago

Should I put a poly coat on my deck after I stain with RAD

Dave
Dave
1 year ago

Will this be compatable with a 14 yr. old deck , good condition that has been done only with Cabot clear oil coat and 1 time with Cabot semi transparent. Planning on prep with the remover from Cabots.

Bill T.
Bill T.
1 year ago

Will a semi-solid stain provide enough cover so that the fact that a deck is made up of different type of woods wouldn’t be obvious – say treated wood and standard cedar? Both have some knots and grain showing? I am considering Cabot semi-solid driftwood.

carla english
carla english
1 year ago

Hi,
I am looking for the best product to restain our mahogany porch. I happen to have TWP in “dark oak” and Restore a Deck in “natural” in our garage. Not sure which one to use or if there is something else we should buy. I saw a “This Old House” vidow clip where they used a PPG product in “natural”. Please advise.

Thanks Carla

J P
J P
1 year ago

Can I use Gemini Restore-A-Deck cleaner kit to prep the surface (this is for a playground) for Restore-A-Deck stain?
(or is restore-a-deck cleaner kit needed)?

Gordon Tully
Gordon Tully
1 year ago

Can Restore-A-Deck be used on new wood?

Gordon Tully
Gordon Tully
1 year ago
Reply to  Gordon Tully

Sorry, there is plenty of advice on this site.

Karen Waddey
Karen Waddey
1 year ago

Thank you for answering my lengthy question earlier. You suggested that I use RAD for deck floorboards. However, you did not indicate if this stain could be tinted to match the color specks required by my homeowners association, which is a dark gray. Would I be better off to buy this at a paint store that can do the tinting for me? If this stain cannot be tinted, which stain would you recommend? Thank you!

Karen Waddey
Karen Waddey
1 year ago

Thank you. What about ANY gray colored semi-transparent stains?

Karen Waddey
Karen Waddey
1 year ago
Reply to  Karen Waddey

If my ONLY option is to use a semi-solid that can be tinted, would RAD still be the best option and would the best way to protect the deck be to reapply it annually?

Karen Waddey
Karen Waddey
1 year ago

Thank you for your quick responses and helpful advice! I’ll check that out! Somehow missed that option.

Will Cody
Will Cody
1 year ago
Reply to  Karen Waddey

You can try combining their gray (which is a bit bright) with a smaller amounts dark walnut to get a somewhat darker gray with a hint of brown: about 2 or 3 parts gray plus 1 part dark walnut seems about the maximum. Much more darkk walnut and the color turns into a muddy dark grown or charcoal color. Get their samples and run some tests. Adding cedar or light walnut to the gray j makes a beige color. .

Walter Rodrigues
Walter Rodrigues
1 year ago

Used restore-a-deck last spring and deck looked great. After the winter, deck finish is starting to fade and some graying occurring.
How do I tackle the update with RAD now;
clean and re-stain.
OR,
clean, brighten and re-stain?

Thank you!

Debbie Wilson
Debbie Wilson
1 year ago

Can this product be tinted with universal pigments to match the blue color on my deck?

656
0
Questions or leave a review, please comment!x