Rust-Oleum Deck Restore (Rock Solid) Review Updated 2022 2.4/5 (71)

by Deck Stain Help

This post was updated on January 18, 2022

Rust-Oleum (Rock Solid 20X) Deck Restore Review for 2022

Here at DeckStainHelp.com, we have worked hard over the years to become your trusted reference for deck stain opinions and consumer reviews. We thank you for your continued support. Our customers who have used Rust-Oleum Deck Restore (Now Rock Solid 20X) continue to give scathing poor reviews about the appearance and longevity of their deck restoration projects. Numerous issues with peeling and a class action lawsuit as well. If you have used Rust-Oleum Deck Restore, we would like to hear what you think, so feel free to leave a comment below and pictures of your completed projects if you have them.

Important Note on Label Change for Rust-Oleum Deck Restore (Now Rock Solid 20X)

Rust-Oleum Rock Solid Deck Resurfacer ReviewEven though they have settled this lawsuit, Rust-Oleum Deck Restore is still sold to unsuspecting consumers and has not been pulled from the shelves. Rust-Oleum has changed to a newer, relabeled version of their Rust-Oleum Deck Restore.  From what we have seen in the field and heard, the Rust-Oleum Rock Solid is not much better than the Deck Restore and continues to peel and fail.


Deck Restore 10x ReviewRust-Oleum Deck Restore ReviewWhy repaint when you can revitalize your deck—with Rust-Oleum® Deck & Concrete Restore ®? This liquid-armor resurfacer forms a tough, resilient coating over existing decking. It lasts for years with minimal maintenance! Limited lifetime warranty.

  • 10 times thicker than ordinary coatings—fills cracks, locks down splinters, hides imperfections
  • Non-slip, barefoot-friendly texture; water- and weather-resistant; durable
  • Economical, environmentally safe; easy to apply and clean up

Note: Class Action Lawsuit has been filed against Rust-Oleum Deck Restore 10x:  See Here and Our Article

Rust-Oleum Deck Restore Stain Ratings (1-10)

Appearance After Initial Stain Application: 3

– The finished appearance of this product is poor. It looks “clumpy” and dirt has a tendency to stick to the surface as the product cures. The color did not match the color on the chart.

Preventing UV Graying at 2 Year Mark: 10

– Does not gray in the areas where it has not peeled.

Wear/Tear and Peeling: 2

– Of all the “Deck Resurface” products the Rust-Oleum version peels the worst. It started peeling within a few months of application.

Cost Per Square Foot: 1

– Coverage is terrible. We did not get the 30 sq. feet per gallon for the 2 coats. Closer to 20 sq. feet for two coats. We spent over $350 on our 200 sq. foot deck.

Preventing Mold/Mildew/Algae: 6

– About 40% of the deck had mold.

Ease of Application: 1

– This product is not easy to apply. It splatters and we had to constantly back wipe to ensure an even appearance. The roller that comes with the kit is useless and does not last. It feels like you are applying a coat of tar with sand in it.

Color Shifting (darkening) after 2 Years: 10

– The Rust-Oleum Deck Restore does not darken in color.

The Difficulty of Reapplication: 1

– Be prepared to sand this off for switching to a different brand. It might be easier to fill deck boards or replace the floor.

Overall Score Rust-Oleum Deck Restore It at 2 Year Period: 4.25

– The Synta Deck Restore started the craze of the “Deck Resurface” products. Synta’s version was bought by Rust-Oleum and the formula may have changed. Looking at the online history of reviews for this product, it seemed to work better prior to the acquisition. We cannot recommend this product based on our testing, numerous poor online reviews (check Amazon), and the class-action lawsuit.

Rust-Oleum Rock Solid (Deck Restore) Customer Photo Issues

Product Information:

Where To Buy: Home Depot, Walmart, Select Stores
Cost: $45 for a 2 Gallon Kit
Stain Type: Acrylic Solid Stain – Water Based
Available Colors: 60+colors
Application Temperature: 45-95 F
Coats Required: 2 Coats.
Coverage Per Gallon: 25-30 sq ft per gallon with 2 coats
Application Tools: Brush, Roller
Dry Time: 8-24 Hours
Cleanup: Water
VOC Compliant: 250 Compliant in all States
Manufacturer: Rust-Oleum

Test Deck Stats:

When Tested: 2018
Deck Wood Type: Pine Treated Deck
Deck Square Footage: 200 Square feet
UV Exposure: Full sun
How Many Years Tested: 1+ Years
Stain Color Used: 
Cedar

*All products tested and results are from our experience. We offer no guarantee of similar results. Take into consideration that results may differ due to different wood types, exposure to UV radiation, and natural weathering.

Update Spring of 2022

Please read our article on Gulf Synthetics Deck Revive Review 2022  We believe this product has real value if looking for these product types that actually work.

Rust-Oleum Rock Solid (Deck Restore)Video Review 


Please Rate This. You may also post comments or ask questions below.

Related Deck Stain Help Articles & Reviews

guest
75 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
UnhappyRustoleumCustomer
UnhappyRustoleumCustomer
2 months ago

Used 20X and it peels and the wood underneath it has started to rot. The product does not prevent moisture from getting underneath the coating.
STAY AWAY FROM IT ! ! !
I now have to replace ALL of the wood decking.

Joseph long
Joseph long
3 months ago

All the bad reviews I have read mostly deal with wood decks. I used the 10x about 7 years ago on my sidewalk and back patio. Both are concrete slabs. I followed the directions and prepared it as it says and after 7 years it is still in excellent shape. I have no peeling or chipping and it still looks the same as when I painted them 7 years ago. The back patio does get a little mold but my back patio gets very little sun light and we have high humidity. I clean it with armor house wash and the mold comes right off and it has not damaged the coating at all. We just poured another large slab on the side of the house but can’t find the 10x anywhere so we are going to try the 6x. If it is like the 10x I am sure I will be happy.

Donald Partee
Donald Partee
5 months ago

im painting my deck for the first time using rustoleum rock solid deck coat 6x and it is the thickest hardest to apply product ever ,, but ive bought 2 gallons so i have to use it ,, one gallon is suppose to cover 80 square foot but i will be lucky to get 60 square foot per gallon ,, and there is no way to thin it down and you have to use the roller that is made for it,,, needless to say im not satisfied with this product at all,

Joy
Joy
5 months ago

We used this product on our deck and are very happy with it. Our deck gets a lot of wear and tear from traffic, direct sunlight, snow and ice. It went on well and held up very well. A few minor areas of peeling, and that was in places of extra usage, for example where everyone hangs wet pool towels to dry, ended up bubbling and pealing. Stairs with heavy traffic just has minor flakes after over five years of sun, ice, shoveling etc. Color has maintained very well, except in a small area that gets wet but does not get sun, a small amount of mildew grew. Looking to touch up spots and all I see are bad reviews. If it didn’t work for you, then you likely did not prep the area correctly, or assure the area was clean and dry, let it get wet to soon after etc. Great product.

David
David
6 months ago

Absolute garbage spent over 2 grand last year with this garbage and the deck looks worse then it did, major peeling issues. Don’t do it.

Joy
Joy
5 months ago
Reply to  David

We used it five years ago and deck is still in great condition with just a few minor peels in high traffic areas. Are you sure you followed directions correctly?

Deneen DeHate
Deneen DeHate
9 months ago

This product has rotted our deck boards. It was great for the first 2 years. We followed the painfull directions by the book. In 2 years it cracked and 3 years peeled and in 4 years rotted the boards and 5 years the rotted boards are now holes. This product should not sold and should be recalled. It has been about 6 or 7 years and we have spots that are rotted right thru. When it cracks it holds the moisture in under it and causes rot.

20210411_104550.jpg
Joy
Joy
5 months ago
Reply to  Deneen DeHate

Odd. We are five years into our application and just a few minor spots of peeling in areas of high wear and tear. Not one sign of rot anywhere on our deck. Its probable that you wood was already wet and rotting when you applied this. This wont fix wet and already rotting wood.

Carli Spero
Carli Spero
1 year ago

I was puzzled by the negative comments until I saw the part about being bought by Rustoleum. We used Deck Restore in 2012 and it held up well. I’m finally planning to re-cover this year (2020).

Carli Spero
Carli Spero
1 year ago
Reply to  Carli Spero

Here are pix. Most of the deck still looks fine, after almost 8 years, but the steps have peeling spots as you can see. We’re in Maryland, so the winters are not too bad.

IMG-5020.JPG
IMG-5019.JPG
IMG-5018.JPG
K & B
K & B
1 year ago

can rustoleum 20x be brushed on instead oa rolling on?

Ron
Ron
1 year ago

Bitterly disappointed in this product. Even contacted manufacturer for application advice. Followed directions to the letter. Deck that is partially undercover (little or no rain) is passable after approx eight years. The major portion exposed to rain totally failed after the first Winter season (Western Washington state, sea level, mild winters) We tried once to make some ‘Restore’ repairs, gave up when repairs also failed and have lived with it since. Now ready to sell and have a major problem. Product was applied over new decking and older stained decking. Now is it cheaper to replace good sound decking, or try to scrape off the remaining ‘Restore’?? There is simply not one plank that is not badly blistered, cracked, peeled, or exposed in several hundred feet of decking. 😡

Joy
Joy
5 months ago
Reply to  Ron

Strange. Our deck is in direct rain, sunglight, gets snow and ice and tons of traffic. After five years there are only a few peeling spots in the very high traffic areas. Even the areas we chip ice and snow off of held up almost 100 percent. You likely did not prep correctly.

Geri Bogar
Geri Bogar
1 year ago

I painted three decks one two houses with Rust-Oleum Restore 4X the paint started to peel Within 4 months of application. I’ve painted two decks now with a different product and have understood that there was a class action lawsuit for the deck restore 4X. I would like to be reimbursed for at least the cost of the rustoleum deck restore. I used two 5 gallon buckets. Sincerely Geri Bogart
541 519 0026

Deneen DeHate
Deneen DeHate
9 months ago
Reply to  Geri Bogar

Same here. My deck is rotted right through.

Bonnie Widau
Bonnie Widau
1 year ago

My husband and I love Rustoleum 20x Resurfacer. Used 10x Restore around pool deck many years ago and it is still holding up. It gave new life to old rough wood. My problem is my choice of color.
Yesterday used 20x Resurfacer, from cedar tone to Navajo red. Can I apply 2x stain over my poor color choice….or will we need to apply primer again?

Kimberly Knoch
Kimberly Knoch
1 year ago

we are preparing to redo our deck and have been using pressure washer and water to remove rustled deck restore. A lot of work!! Are there any recommendations for a chemical to use on this stuff for easier removal?? Terrible Product!!!!!

Kimberly Knoch
Kimberly Knoch
1 year ago

Yup. Really bad product. Thank you

T Frey
T Frey
1 year ago
Reply to  Kimberly Knoch

Agreed, terrible product!
Just spent 3 days sanding this product off our deck, it was peeling after only 2 1/2 years.

Daniel Castillo
Daniel Castillo
3 years ago

I used Restore deck and now it is coming off. Why weren’t consumers notified, that there was a class action suit again this product? I went to buy more from Lowe’s store and they told me they didn’t sell this product anymore. This is when I was told the product was bad, and there was a class action suit against this product. How do I get information on this class suit? I had purchased 5 gallons of this product. Daniel Castillo

Dan Castillo
Dan Castillo
3 years ago

If you can’t back up your product or notify consumers of a bad product and a class action lawsuit, You shouldn’t be in business in the USA.
We stand behind our quality in the USA.

James D Rogers
James D Rogers
3 years ago

Our experience is similar to the others. Purchased 2 – 5gallon buckets in Sept. Of 2016. Followed preparation and application directions. 1st year showed some signs of failure. This year rinsed deck with pressure washer and majority of flat surfaces were peeling. We used the cream or light tan color. Leaves or anything with any color will stain the deck. Ours is a very large deck around a pool. I am not looking forward to redoing this deck again already. Have sent a complaint to rust-oleum. Waiting to see if I get a response.

Nicole Distefano
Nicole Distefano
3 years ago

This stuff is awful! Trying to figure out an easy way to get it off my deck!

randy
randy
1 year ago

i am in the same situation, this product is terrible i called and they sent new product but cant get anyone to do the job they will not use the product

Mike
Mike
3 years ago

Failing to understand….. this is the BEST thing I have ever put on my deck.. at 5 year mark just noticing minor peeling and failure

Anne
Anne
2 years ago
Reply to  Mike

Me too

Kathleen Lawrence
Kathleen Lawrence
3 years ago

I used RustoleumDeck Restore 3-4 years ago. At first, I was very pleased with its appearance. After about two years, I noticed the product was cracking. Then, soft spots appeared in the deck. The cracks in the product had allowed water to seep in and become trapped. After Peeling away the product, I found many deeply rotted areas of decking. Some were 3/4 in. deep and 6 in. in length. I covered an upper and lower deck with Rust-Oleum Deck Restore, and regret doing so. The decks had no areas of rot prior to using this product.

Buddah
Buddah
3 years ago

I used the 10X 3 years ago On my deck 12’X40′ I can’t be more pleased Preparation is the ultimate key to success. I used a mixture of 4 Qts water to 1 qt bleach with 2 cups dawn dish liquid in my pressure washer twice, then let the deck air dry for 4 days before I applied it.

Richard Laudenslager
Richard Laudenslager
4 years ago

For those of you who have sanded the Rustoleum product off [at least most of it], what did you do to refinish the deck boards since not all the Rustoleum product comes off. Our deck was done (Rustoleum applied
2-1/2 years ago).. I’d estimate that only about 10% of the deck surface actually began peeling. We did not pressure wash prior to application; only sanding and blowing off residue with an air compressor. And we waited for several rain free and warmer days before applying.
Please reply as to what product you used AFTER Rustoleum. Thx.

Randy Whiting
Randy Whiting
4 years ago

Do NOT, I repeat, Do NOT buy this product. I applied this product to our 3oo sq. ft deck and have regretted it ever since. I built the deck using kiln dried lumber to limit shrinkage and cracking. I followed instructions exactly, and was dumb enough to go buy more product to patch the sections that were peeling. You cannot remove this product easily as the stuff that has actually adhered to the wood is extremely difficult to remove. I ended up pulling my deck boards up and replacing them, no easy task.

Sugarz
Sugarz
4 years ago

Used this product on my deck. I cleaned and prepped as instructed by mfg. It started peeling after 1 month. It is now 1 year later and it has all completely lifted and peeled leaving some stuck in spots. DO NOT USE THIS PRODUCT! It does NOT hold up to the claims of the company, Rust Oleum. Definitely would NOT recommend.

Becky
Becky
4 years ago

Used this 3 years ago. Looked great for the first summer but started peeling by the second summer. I am now struggling to remove the rest from my deck. Would not recommend.

brandy rector
brandy rector
4 years ago

started peeling after the first rain which was a few weeks after application very dissatisfied with the product quality is not worth the the price

Connie Craig Piper
Connie Craig Piper
5 years ago

Rustoleum RESTORE -Very disappointed
I will have to replace my entire wear around deck!!!!

Lorretta Wrenn
Lorretta Wrenn
5 years ago

This is absolutely the worst product on the market. I will be submitting a complaint to the company but I need to know if I can apply a standard water seal over the deck to protect it as it is peeling all over the place – not just where it is walked on the most. Help please.

mary thompson
mary thompson
5 years ago

Peeling after 1 year wood splintered We put this on 3 decks and a dock painstakingly after watching videos. we even contacted a professional to get input. We followed all instructions to the letter because the deck areas were so large. Can't even tell you how frustrated we are.

Rand
Rand
5 years ago

What is the rating or has anyone used the Restore X 2 product, and if so, what kind of results were obtained?

G RichterNelson
G RichterNelson
5 years ago

Used this product the 4x on our deck last summer. Wood was prepped. Very surprised and disappointed that we are having to start over. Peeling off and wood is showing black mold underneath. Spent yesterday powerwashing it off and now looking for a new solution.

Very Unhappy Cust
Very Unhappy Cust
5 years ago

After following all the instructions and making a pretty expensive product, six months later the peeling began and continues. The deck is one out mess. RUSTOLEUM needs to provide a booklet on how to remove the treatment. I will try sanding and start again with something else. How do I join the lawsuit?

Pat Praefke
Pat Praefke
5 years ago

I am disappointed in the product as a whole; I spent hours applying this (not an easy task) and now it is chipping splitting and peeling in sheets! Not only does my deck looks terrible but sounds awful when I walk on it….. and it has only been on it for a couple years. Last year I noticed a few areas that weren't even heavy traffic areas and this year the stuff started peeling up in sheets.
Now I have another back breaking task to take on trying to get this off of my deck so I can start all over again. Guarantee I won't be applying this product again.

Paul Wenum
Paul Wenum
5 years ago
Reply to  Pat Praefke

Had the same exact problem as you. Now how the heck do you get it off the two decks my contractor put in on? Worst product I have ever purchased. Never again. Would rate Rustoleum a zero!!!!

john fiedorowicz
john fiedorowicz
5 years ago

I purchased this product from Home Depot in 2013 and lost my receipts by accident and if someone could tell me how to retrieve them I would be grateful.This product looked good at first but after not even 1 year it started peeling all over the place.Before I even applied this product I watched U tube video how do use this product and I followed the instructions completely , totally disgusted .How do I become part of this lawsuit?

Dale
Dale
5 years ago

They are giving 100% refunds, just need pictures and measurements

Connie Craig Piper
Connie Craig Piper
5 years ago
Reply to  Dale

Refund is fine but it's going to cost THOUSANDS to replace my deck from the damage done from Rustoleum!

Heidi MUeller
Heidi MUeller
6 years ago

Terrible investment! Home depot sold it too us just to get off their shelves! If I find a good receipe everyone needs to have it, I was excited to have a low maintaining deck, Its more work now trying to get this resolve off the deck, pressure washer cannot even take it off! The video of this product is true this product chips and flakes a complete Mess, Rustolem stop producing this product and help me get something to take it off my deck now?

Shirley Vaughan
Shirley Vaughan
6 years ago

It seems a shame to give this product even one star!

Jolene
Jolene
6 years ago

I would not recommend this product!!! I spent a lot of money using this product last summer to repaint my decks…it is all peeling up!!! And if that isn't bad enough the wood under th paint is wet and some has started to rot!!!so not only do I have to peel the paint up off the wood but have to replace boards!! Very unhappy!!!

M Lopez
M Lopez
6 years ago

I certainly will not recommend this product at all. My deck surface was peeling off after one year after the winter months. This application was done in Chicago around september.

Home wonder
Home wonder
6 years ago

Horrible all the way around! I would never recommend this to anyone. Spent a ton of money on 4 three gallon buckets and the primer also. We learned our lesson!

Pat Brown
Pat Brown
6 years ago

My experience with this product was exceptionally bad. Followed the directions and prepped the deck, yet product is peeling off in many locations after one year. The video at this website accurately depicts my results and situation. Now, after spending about $600 am faced with even more costs. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT. You may regret it like I am.

T.oram
T.oram
6 years ago

Peeling after 1 year? Try one month! I'm so disappointed in this product. Horrible horrible horrible. The sand in this stuff clumps up in places, and then in other places, you're left with just paint. Looks like a topographical map, not a deck.

Chris Rikard
Chris Rikard
6 years ago

I would not recommend this product at all. It WILL start peeling up a few months after application. We pressure washed our deck as the instructions said. This deck had previously been treated, for years, with Thompsons deck preservative. I am not sure how this product would do on untreated wood.

Larry Kehoe
Larry Kehoe
6 years ago

IT PEELING UP LIKE BUTTER IT DIDN'T STICK CLEAN WITH A PRESSURE WASH FRIST AND STILL PEELING LOOK TERRIBLY

Sarah
Sarah
6 years ago

Lasted less than 6 months, expensive and terrible peeling. So much work to try to undo….STAY AWAY

Linda H
Linda H
6 years ago

Cleaned my deck with pressure washer and then deck cleaner to prep. Cost me over $400 for Restore. I applied last summer and it is peeling terribly. Would never recommend this product. Looked beautiful after I first applied it. Now I could cry. I'm a 68 yr old woman who did this by myself. Don't think I have the energy to repeat. Would rate a 0 if possible. Looks a mess!

Dan
Dan
6 years ago

Painted an older swing set with it- took four gallons. Three months later I'm flaking it off and re coating almost the whole thing.

Robert_Lauren
Robert_Lauren
6 years ago

They want a rating based on 2 years of product being used. After under 1 year this product was bubbling up, cracking and coming up in large strips from my deck. I would rate it at 0 stars if it was possible!

Emily P
Emily P
6 years ago

We are in the process of trying to remove this from our deck. We applied it two years ago and now it is peeling horribly in sheets. Pressure washing is not getting if off enough for us to restain. Sanding is very time consuming. We may need to replace the boards on all the floors if we cannot get it off. I am going to look into the class action lawsuit. We spend a fortune on the product and now we are stuck paying more to fix it. Very disappointed to say the least!

Connie Craig Piper
Connie Craig Piper
5 years ago
Reply to  Emily P

Same story here, what a mess!!! Ruined the whole look of my home

Justin R
Justin R
6 years ago

How do you remove this junk from concrete?
(used the product designed for concrete)

Like most, I found it peeled easily.

75
0
Questions or leave a review, please comment!x