Rust-Oleum Rock Solid in A Day Review 2.6/5 (22)

This post was updated on April 5, 2022

Rust-Oleum Rock Solid (formerly Deck Restore) 2022

Here at DeckStainHelp.com, we have worked hard over the years to become your trusted reference for deck stain opinions and consumer reviews. We thank you for your continued support.

Important Note: The Rust-Oleum Rock Solid is a relabeled version of the Rust-Oleum Deck Restore that failed miserably and had a class-action lawsuit against them: Rust-Oleum Class Action Lawsuit Deck Restore

Well, Rust-Oleum is back at it with a newer, relabeled version of their Rust-Oleum Deck Restore. The Deck Restore version has failed miserably in the last 6-8 years and a Class Action lawsuit was settled in 2018. They still continue to sell the Deck Restore version to unknowing consumers but they have come out with the newer RockSolid Deck Coating as well. This new version is marketed slightly differently. It is a Deck Resurface product that uses a primer first and can also be done in one day. From what we have seen and heard, the Rust-Oleum Rock Solid is not any better than the Deck Restore and continues to peel and fail. If you have used Rust-Oleum Rock Solid, we would like to hear what you think, so feel free to leave a comment below and pictures of your completed projects if you have them.


Rust-Oleum Rock Solid Deck Resurfacer Review

Rust-Oleum Deck Restore Review

Transform your Deck in One Day with RockSolid 6X or the 20X Deck Coatings. These innovative one coat deck resurfacers are ideal for moderately worn decks and patios. Formulated to resurface wooden decks and concrete patios.

  • Ideal for moderately worn decks & patios
  • 6X thicker for enhanced durability
  • 20X for best protection on heavily worn decks
  • One coat coverage
  • Superior weather resistance and waterproofing protection
  • Fills hairline cracks
  • Available in 60 different colors, tint before use
  • Coverage: up to 80 sq ft per gallon with 1 coat

Note: Class Action Lawsuit has been filed against Rust-Oleum Deck Restore 10x:  See Here and Our Article

Rust-Oleum Rock Solid Deck Coat Rating (1-10)

Appearance After Initial Stain Application: 3

– The finished appearance of this product is poor. It looks “clumpy” and dirt has a tendency to stick to the surface as the product cures. The color did not match the color on the chart.

Preventing UV Graying at 1 Year Mark: 10

– Does not gray in the areas where it has not peeled.

Wear/Tear and Peeling: 2

– Of all the “Deck Resurface” products the Rust-Oleum version peels the worst. It started peeling within the first year of application in our cold-weather state test deck.

Cost Per Square Foot: 1

– Coverage is terrible. We did not get the 30 sq. feet per gallon for the 2 coats. Closer to 20 sq. feet for two coats. We spent over $350 on our 200 sq. foot deck.

Preventing Mold/Mildew/Algae: 6

– About 40% of the deck had mold.

Ease of Application: 1

– This product is not easy to apply. It splatters and we had to constantly back wipe to ensure an even appearance. The roller that comes with the kit is useless and does not last. It feels like you are applying a coat of tar with sand in it.

Color Shifting (darkening) after 2 Years: 10

– The Rust-Oleum Rock Solid Deck Coating does not darken in color.

Difficulty of Reapplication: 1

– Be prepared to power sand this off for switching to a different brand. If rotting occurs, you may need to replace the decking.

Overall Score Rust-Oleum Rock Solid It at 1 Year Period: 4.25

– We cannot recommend this product based on our testing, numerous poor online reviews (check Amazon), and the past class-action lawsuit. Rust-Oleum just does not seem to care either. Why continue to sell these products knowing there is a good chance of failure? Makes no sense…

Rust-Oleum Rock Solid (Deck Restore) Customer Photo Issues

Product Information:

Where To Buy: Home Depot, Walmart, Amazon, Lowes, Select Stores
Cost: $49 for a 1 Gallon. Deck Start Wood Primer must be used first.
Stain Type: Acrylic Solid Stain – Water Based
Available Colors: 60+colors
Application Temperature: 45-95 F
Coats Required: 2 Coats plus primer
Coverage Per Gallon: 25-30 sq ft per gallon with 2 coats
Application Tools: Brush, Roller
Dry Time: 8-24 Hours
Cleanup: Water
VOC Compliant: 250 Compliant in all States
Manufacturer: Rust-Oleum

Test Deck Stats:

Deck Wood Type: Pine Treated Deck
Deck Square Footage: 300 Square feet
UV Exposure: Full sun
How Many Years Tested: 1+ Years
Stain Color Used: 
Cedar

*All products tested and results are from our experience. We offer no guarantee of similar results. Take into consideration that results may differ due to different wood types, exposure to UV radiation, and natural weathering.

Rust-Oleum Rock Solid (Deck Restore)Video Review 


Please Rate This. You may also post comments or ask questions below.

Related Deck Stain Help Articles & Reviews

guest
22 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Ohio DIY
Ohio DIY
3 months ago

Buyer beware! Not happy at all. Followed instructions to the letter and now bubble/blister within 5 days. Started the complaint process with RockSolid and see where that goes. 450sqft deck and so far about 100sqft affected. If this is 5 days, who knows 12/24mos from now. I bought product from big box store and have a case with them as well asking for support. Not easy to apply, but with patience, it was all looking good upon completion, even the color was right on. Then 2 days later, this issue. There is water or fluid of some sort and when drys, paint becomes flaky. Its gonna be a big mess.

IMG_0474.jpg
TennesseeShopper
TennesseeShopper
1 year ago

The Worst!!
I waited 5 days after the last rain, then prepped and primed with Rust-Oleum products. I applied the RockSolid Tintable Resurfacer on Monday morning. It rained early on Wednesday morning and the entire surface looks like this.I wish I had seen this website before I put the product on.

IMG_1310.jpg
L. Dorchak
L. Dorchak
1 year ago

HELP!! I used Rustoleum Rock Solid “Deck In One Day” following all instructions Meticulously. By the following year there were chips of it everywhere and strips of it coming off. Now, my yard is a complete disaster… I need help fixing this. The deck takes up much of the back yard and it cannot be used right now. The photos shown on the website with the problems that people are having is exactly what our deck looks like and I used it on our 700 ft.² of decking. It is a disaster, I will never Use rustoleum again!

rick
rick
2 years ago

This was the worse product I ever used. Rock solid stain did NOTHING. After i spend 3 hours staining my deck, there was no change. It looked like Elmer’s glue. I thought after a few hours it would start changing. I will never use this product again. Horrible waste of money. If you see Rock solid stain. RUN !!!

Nick O'Neil
Nick O'Neil
2 years ago

Dry primed. only spindles did good every flat surface bad. 7 months since job. Garbage. This comes out of my pocket to remedy.

15889612548245841938318661083274.jpg
15889612857791259292150339998657.jpg
15889613081284593248806632882278.jpg
15889613401416564280227441919044.jpg
Jeff Lachter
Jeff Lachter
2 years ago

This is a terrible product. I paid $1500 for their prep paint and deck paint to end up having to strip it all off and use a different paint. It does not live up to all of Rustoleums promises. Avoid their deck products at all costs. TERRIBLE WASTE OF MONEY AND TIME

Sara W
Sara W
3 years ago

After receiving a review from a friend who applied this product to his deck, I purchased Rust Oleum Rock Solid 20X Deck Resurfacer. I followed directions, applied the product, twice, on my 12×12 wood deck with the recommended primer and roller in May 2018. During that summer it looked great, and I was happy…

Fast forward to November 2018 and I noticed dark spots on the deck. Looked closer and it was the Rock Solid peeling up and what I was seeing was the original wood. Fast forward again to May 2019 and I am seeing dark spots all over the deck. I am disgusted and dissapointed. I have tried to contact Rust Oleum but have not heard back. I have been purchasing Rust Oleum products all my adult life but that is going to change. I can’t afford to replace my deck, and I am not sure what to do now.

Sara W
Sara W
2 years ago
Reply to  Sara W

Fast forward to November 2019 and more peeling and dark spots. This product was very expensive and the durability is not there at all. I don’t have time, strength or money to sand it and reapply. I was hoping to get at least 10 years out of a product that promises at least twice that amount. Ugh!

Grace Mata
Grace Mata
1 month ago

Is this paint oil-based

Ray Thompson
Ray Thompson
1 year ago

Used this product and regret it badly!!! It’s absolutely the worst product made. looked horrible and didn’t hold up for half a year. started peeling and caused wood rot. Please do yourself a huge favor and use another product.

G.Harju
G.Harju
1 year ago

We used the Rock Solid primer and 6x deck coat on our deck as per the directions. In less than a year it’s all peeling off. Complete waste of money and time. 👎

Lisa Marie
Lisa Marie
1 year ago

I used this on a deck that should have been replaced 10 years ago. There was some type of paint on roughly 50%, peeling horribly. And splits in many boards wider than 1/2”. I scrubbed to clean, primed with a 3/4” nap roller & covered with 20x also with a 3/4” nap roller. It’s VERY thick, but it worked amazingly well!!! I did thin it very very slightly and applied 2 coats and went slow. I’d buy it again in a heartbeat! It filled every hole and literally fused the boards together. It’s holding up perfectly in freezing Detroit temps, shoveling snow and ice off it, and as a bonus, it has anti slip benefit, great for my large dog racing up and down the steps.

Anthony Stevens Arroyo
Anthony Stevens Arroyo
1 year ago

I read all the reviews, but I have not had these problems in two years. I am applying it to my back door deck this year and so far, so good. It really repaired the cracks on the wood of the 10 year old deck which was stained and restained by me every year. The deck looked terrible and cracked. With Rock-solid it looks great!
I THINK IT IS VERY IMPORTANT TO FOLLOW INSTRUCTIONS. I USED THE PRIMER AND A DAY AFTER IT DRIED, I APPLIED THE ROCK SOLID.
On my front deck the only chipping was in one spot about the size of a dime. I guess others have had a terrible experience, but for me, this has really made a difference. Relatively cheap too.

BLewis
BLewis
2 years ago

I primed my deck 24 hours ago and part of it has dried with a white haze. It is dry to the touch. Do I go ahead and apply the 20x Resurfacer?

edward
edward
2 years ago

After applying the glue like substance my deck looks like someone poured Elmer’s glue and left it. I hope it all goes clear which is what I want. No tint needed

Paige
Paige
2 years ago

How to get this terrible product off the wood?? HELP

David Wheeker
David Wheeker
3 years ago

I am only half way through my deck resurfacer project so I cannot comment on durability of the 6X product. My problem has been color selection. So far I have purchased 3 different colors ( Russett, Buckskin & Sante Fe) and non of them have matched the shade guide. They don’t even come close. I took the Buckskin back to Lowes and one salesperson tinted it 3 times more to change it from a pink to a gray color. This was acceptable but when I need more, it cannot be reproduced. Right now I have a peach colored deck which doesn’t match or blend with anything around it. My advice is to buy one gallon of the product and refuse to accept it if it doesn’t match the color chart. It will darken slightly as it sets but will never match the color chart. I talked with a Rust-Oleum rep who offered excuses and was willing to refund my money on 2 gallons. She also indicated that they are having some problems with some colors.

22
0
Questions or leave a review, please comment!x