Sherwin Williams Deckscapes OIL Based Review 2.8/5 (13)

This post was updated on January 19, 2022

SW Deckscapes Oil Review

SW Deckscapes Oil Review

Sherwin Williams Deckscapes Reviews

Sherwin Williams has removed the Deckscapes line and Replaced it with the Sherwin Williams Super Deck Line.

Long-lasting penetrating oil-based formula protects the beauty of wood with a rich semi-transparent stain. Scuff-resistant formula with maximum UV protection that resists fading.
Waterproofs to prevent moisture damage.

Note: This is a test in the Sherwin Williams Deckscapes Oil-Based Formula. This formula tested better than its water-based version. See Here for Water-Based Review: SW Deckscapes Review

Sherwin Williams DeckScapes Stain Scores (1-10)

Appearance After Initial Stain Application: 7.5

– Sherwin Williams DeckScapes in the oil formula penetrated much better than their waterborne version. Application of the stain was decent and the color of the Cedar bark was a brown cedar. After drying a day, the stain looked blotchy in appearance. We applied a light second coat to even out the look.

Preventing UV Graying at 2 Year Mark: 7

– 2 years later the Sherwin Williams DeckScapes lost about 30% of its original color.

Wear/Tear and Peeling: 7

– The Oil-based version of the Deckscapes is definitely an improvement over the water version. The oil penetrates deep into the wood. This resulted in average wear and tear on our test deck.

Cost Per Square Foot: 8

– We used 7 gallons of stain for our 800 sq foot test deck. 2 Coats of stain were applied to the deck surface, one day apart. The cost to stain was around $.30 a foot.

Preventing Mold/Mildew/Algae: 6

– The oil-based version of the Deckscapes had a decent amount of black mold growing covering about 40% of the surface. The mold appeared to be growing underneath the stain. This would make reapplication difficult.

Ease of Application: 8

– The SW Deckscapes applies fairly easily. We used a pump sprayer and stain pad application. The flooring was applied with the pad while the railings were sprayed. Back brushing was minimal and coverage was adequate. No overlapping of the stain on the flooring. We had to apply a second coat though to the floor as the first coat penetrated very deep and looked light.

Color Shifting (darkening) after 2 Years: 6

– The stain darkened considerably after 2 years. Looked like a muddy brown color instead of the original rich cedar. A combination of mold and UV darkening the stain.

Ease of Reapplication: 6

– Reapplication of the DeckScapes would require stripping off the old stain. Failure to remove would cause the appearance to darken considerably if another coat was applied on top of the wood. Cleaning alone would not be enough to remove the mold and restore the original color. Fortunately, stripping of this stain would be easy.

Overall Score SW Deckscapes at 2 Year Period: 6.9

– Much better than the waterborne but not up to par with other oil-based deck stains. If you had to choose between the two versions of the Deckscapes, then absolutely choose the oil-based version.

Product Information:

Where To Buy: Sherwin Williams
Cost: $46.99 per Gallon, $210.99 per 5 Gallon Pail
Stain Type: Semi-Transparent – Oil
Available Colors: 30 Different Colors
Application Temperature: 40-90 F
Coats Required: 1-2 Coats
Coverage Per Gallon: 150-200 sq. ft in field tests
Application Tools: Sprayer, Pad, Brush, Roller
Dry Time: 4-12 Hours 24 hours fro recoat
Cleanup: Mineral Spirits
VOC Compliant: 550 Compliant – Cannot be sold to all states.
More Info: Product Data
Manufacturer: Sherwin Williams

Test Deck Stats:

Deck Wood Type: Pressure Treated Pine
Deck Square Footage: 800 Square Feet
UV Exposure: Full Sun
How Many Years Tested: 2 Years
Stain Color Used: 
Cedar Bark

Sherwin Williams Stain Photos from Consumers


*All products tested and results are from our hands-on experience. We offer no guarantee of similar results. Take into consideration that results may differ widely due to different wood types, exposure to UV radiation, and natural weathering.


Please Rate This. You may also post comments or ask questions below.

Related Deck Stain Help Articles & Reviews

guest
26 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Marjo van Dijck
Marjo van Dijck
2 years ago

Our deck is treated with this product. Deck stays slippery and oily even after a week. Previous stain was oil stain as well. Deck was power washed before application.

Larry Easterling
Larry Easterling
2 years ago

Used Olympic deck stains for years with no problems. Retired, resurfaced wood with Lowe’s premium grade decking board on my 3,000 sq ft deck and decided to use Sherwin Williams Superdeck stain … my perception historically SW high the most high quality product and they were proud of it. Stain begin rubbing off within a week, Sherwin Williams admitted a problem, at their cost sanded and scrapped deck and restrained over 6 month period. Within year deck stain rubbing off again, now 2 years later we are going to have to restrain deck. The product quality of this stain is awful. Since SW applied the product at the direction of their regional manager, you would have to assume it has to be stain quality issue. Terrible experience however have to give SW people credit for their willingness to to try … net, their best deck stain is terrible.

DIY Bill
DIY Bill
4 years ago

I went ahead and applied the SW SuperDeck Exterior Oil-Based Stain regardless of the chance of mildew. I contacted Sherwin Williams and asked them about the mildew issue and they assured me that “SuperDeck is formulated to resist growth of mildew and algae on the coating’s surface”. I’ll update after the first year. I’ve added a link below of me using the SuperDeck with a couple tips on applying it. i hope this can help someone make their decision on stain a little easier…

Phil Hottinger
Phil Hottinger
5 years ago

What state can I buy Deckscapes Oil???? I live In Illinois

Suzanne
Suzanne
5 years ago

This stain was beautiful when first applied. Within a year we had black mold growing. They told us to treat with a mold killer $25 per gallon, took 2 gallons and did nothing. Then they told us to wash with bleach and soap, we did that and the stain started washing off! SW sent a rep to our camp & he took samples. After several months they said, nothing was wrong with the stain but, suggested we pressures wash the decking and remove as much of the old stain as possible. They gave us the stuff to wash it with and all the stain we needed to redo it. Unfortunately, the new stain (Mountain Ash) was a different color (more golden then white) then the old (Mountain Ash)When I called, the manager told me that SW had redone the formula and that the color should be the same. A little disappointing because it was not. It blend ok and we used it on deck caps etc. They have tried very hard to work with us. Although, I really am not expecting anything better out of all of this work now that I have read all of these reviews!

James Holmes
James Holmes
5 years ago

This stain sucks ..I'm applying my 3rd time in as many years .I doing all the right things but this stain does not hold up at all .
Sherwin Williams can care less about too..thank you!

Bobby Pearson
Bobby Pearson
5 years ago

We had the deck prepared by a professional. Had the stain applied by a professional. The stain would not dry. It continues to be tacky to this day, at least what is left does. Stain was applied on May 16th of 2016. One month later,all of the deck exposed to the elements turned black. The only part that is the color it should be is a small area under the covered part of the deck. This is not mold. Because the stain never dried,the water went into the wood and bled the tannic acid out of the wood. We may have to replace the entire deck. Store that sold us the stain offered to refund our money if we would sign a legal document. releasing sherwin williams of any liability. We were not to contact any attorney or even tell anyone how badly this stain reacted. I refused to accept the payment based on the fact that we may have to replace the entire deck. Don't buy this product.

Bobby Pearson
Bobby Pearson
5 years ago
Reply to  Bobby Pearson

I know you will not post my comment. I have tried before . Will never use a sherwin williams product again. You may not post it but it is posted on Facebook and hundreds of people have seen and commented about it.

Terry
Terry
6 years ago

Help! I stained my deck (after power washing it and allowing it to dry for 24 hours) with Sherwin Williams SuperDeck semi transparent stain…I used a brush as I like the way it usually turns out. After about a month it looked dirty, so I power washed it to try to get rid of the "dirty look". It worked…however here I am about 3 weeks later, and again my deck looks dirty. I can rub the dirt off with a little water. Why is this happening? I've stained my deck using Sherwin Williams for many years and I've never had this issue. Has anyone else had this issue? What can I do to fix this? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Sure Shot Stain
Sure Shot Stain
6 years ago

Thanks for the reply. The article you referred me to was helpful but didn't really address the question about using the direct injection method of stripping. Do you have anything to offer regarding that? "Using a pressure washer and direct injection it would seem that it would help prevent the chemical dwell time induced furring but I am also a little confused as to how the direct injection method allows the stripper time to work."
Thanks again.

Sure Shot Stain
Sure Shot Stain
6 years ago

RAD seems to have a consumer and a contractor grade product. I have to assume you are referring to the contractor grade which is fine since I am one, I primarily do fences though hence my questions on the deck. I have seen the references to "furring" and it seems to be a direct result of allowing the product to sit on the deck for too long, am I correct? Using a pressure washer and direct injection it would seem that it would help prevent the chemical dwell time induced furring but I am also a little confused as to how the direct injection method allows the stripper time to work. My intent is restain the deck using Wood Defender deck stain since it can be reapplied without stripping when the job needs to be redone. I really appreciate the help you provide here. Thanks.

Sure Shot Stain
Sure Shot Stain
6 years ago

I need to find the best (easiest to use) stripper for SW Deckscape OIL based stain. Thanks

Sure Shot Stain
Sure Shot Stain
6 years ago

Sorry,, yes it is the Semi-transparent. This "deck" is an elevated walkway at a local school, where they unforutnately used this SW product. It is peeling, allowing mold development etc. My guess is that the applicator did not properly prep the wood but IMHO this is still not a product I would use. I think I can go back over it with a solid but they are going to be right back in the same situation in another year or two so I think stripping and starting over going to a true oil based that can be recoated without stripping is a better option. Thanks for the help.

ron smith
ron smith
6 years ago

the person at the store llied about the product information i guess to make a sale on top of that the color was suposed to be pink and it was a very dark brown the store maplewood, mn

David
David
7 years ago

Bought this and applied it last year to a clean wood deck. So disappointing. Stain is already coming off in areas and showing wear. Will need ro re-stain my deck in one year! Don't buy this junk!

Joe
Joe
6 years ago
Reply to  David

Having the same problem, stain applied to new deck material after allowing for wood to cure. Stain is coming off in areas and same with wearing. Going for TWP this time. For anyone looking to stain outdoor wood, steer clear of this inferior product.

Wil
Wil
8 years ago

I used this on a fence last summer. It is not even one year and it is already flaking in areas. This was for a regular customer too. Very embarrasing. Sherwin Williams always promotes their products like they are the best around and worth the extra costs. I have been dissapointed too many times with their paints as well

Greg Baron
Greg Baron
8 years ago

I stained a new deck for a customer 2013 late spring and and deck was installed in previous fall using Deckscapes semi transparent oil base, I cleaned and power washed deck because of the weathering and some slight fadeing. The would was completely dry and temperature was ideal. I applied it in the am in the shade so it would not dry to fast . did the job in two mornings before the sun hit it . Ive been painting and staining for 30 years. the coustomer came to me ,a friend and she said the stain on the horizontal surfaces was all flaking off??????? Never had this happen she was in tears. I have to go to the store in Brockport ny and find out what they are going do to help, GOOD LUCK RIGHT . I would never use their exterior stain again. And their interior , exterior paint prices are getting outragous,I have found that valspar is a very good paint and you cant beat their prices. My name is Greg Garon

Nancy
Nancy
8 years ago

I would not recommend this product to my worst enemy. We spent hundreds of dollars on multiple gallons of this stain for a deck and a custom wood playset. We waited the recommended time for wood drying/curing prior to the application of the product. Both pieces are faded and the deck had a terrible mold problem. The product was applied onto dry clean wood in both cases (oil based stain) and several coats were applied. I filed a complaint with Sherwin Williams who promised to send someone out to inspect the deck and playset – they never called or came. Spoke with a friend who is in upper management at SW and he didn't seem to care either. Don't waste your money on this product!!! We just stripped the deck and are preparing to re-stain it this week. That is what brought me to this site – don't want to make another mistake and can't trust store employees.

Job
Job
8 years ago
Reply to  Nancy

Nancy I'm a contractor that used this product and I had a terrible experience with it. Looks terrible. How did you strip the deck?? I've used SW seal and stain remover product that is supposed to be for this and tried to power wash it off… It's not doing the job. any suggestions?? JPL

26
0
Questions or leave a review, please comment!x