Sikkens PPG ProLuxe SRD Wood Stain Review 2024  3/5 (144)

This post was updated on February 28, 2024

PG Proluxe (Sikkens SRD) Wood Stain Review 2024

Here at DeckStainHelp.com, we have worked hard over the years to become your trusted reference for deck stain reviews and information. In 2017 PPG changed and transitioned the name of Sikkens branded products for exterior wood to PPG ProLuxe for North America. The PPG ProLuxe product line will contain all of the same Sikkens ProLuxe products and formulas, but will now showcase the updated PPG ProLuxe name and new packaging.


Sikkens PPG ProLuxe Cetol SRD Deck Stain Review

Sikkens PPG ProLuxe Cetol SRD Deck Stain Review

PPG Proluxe (Sikkens) Cetol SRD (Siding Railings Deck) is a high solid 1 coat wood and decking stain. The SRD offers 3-way protection for your exterior wood.  Protection from water damage, UV radiation, and Mold. Sikkens SRD penetrates deep into the wood and does not film on top of the wood.

Containing Translucent Iron Oxide Pigments, PPG Proluxe (Sikkens) SRD can be used on all unfinished exterior wood.

Sikkens PPG Proluxe SRD Wood Stain Rating (1-10)

Appearance After Initial Stain Application: 9

– The PPG Proluxe (Sikkens) SRD displayed a very nice natural cedar color to the pine dock. We were pleased with the penetration into the wood. Much better than other PPG Proluxe stains that filmed on top of the wood like a varnish.

Preventing UV Graying at 2 Year Mark: 6

– At the 2-year mark, Sikkens PPG Proluxe Cetol SRD lost a lot of color after 24 months of full sun exposure. The stain that was left on the dock had either deteriorated away or darkened in color.

Wear/Tear and Peeling: 7

– The Sikkens SRD exhibited bare spots on 30% of the flooring surface after 2 years. The dock exhibited a wear pattern down the middle of the walkway.

Cost Per Square Foot: 8

– The SRD is priced at $45 a gallon. Coverage per gallon was closer to 200 feet per gallon. We used 6+ gallons for the 1200 sq. feet. This equals $.23 a foot.

Preventing Mold/Mildew/Algae: 5

– After 2 years we noticed a lot of black mold growing on the dock. On inspection, we noticed that the mold was embedded into the stain that was still left on the dock. About 40% of the SRD had this problem.

Ease of Application: 6

– We were not pleased with the application process. PPG Proluxe (Sikkens) suggests brushing the SRD into the wood. We took their advice and use a Wooster Stain Brush. It took close to 8 hours to apply the stain this way. We had many issues with the SRD dripping into the water below the dock creating an oily haze to the water.

Color Shifting (darkening) after 2 Years: 5

– Very poor. The high solids of the SRD stain darkened significantly. The original golden cedar color had turned a dark brown. The addition of the mold made the leftover stain look almost black in color.

Difficulty of Reapplication: 6

– A full stripping of the SRD would be needed. This will ensure that the reapplication of a new stain will achieve even color and proper penetration into the wood. Failure to remove/strip will result in the stain darkening even more (where the stain is left) and very light in the bare areas.

Overall Score PPG Proluxe (Sikkens) SRD at 2 Year Period: 6.5

– Akzo Nobel/PPG is one of the largest stain manufacturers in the world with Sikkens being the most popular. We hoped that their signature stain would perform better but we were very disappointed with the final results. We are not fans of stains that darken significantly in color. This makes future maintenance much more difficult to perform.

Product Information:

Where To Buy: Commercial Retail Stores
Cost: $59.99 per Gallon, $289.99 per 5 Gallon Pail
Stain Type: Semi-Transparent Oil-Based
Available Colors: 60 Colors
Application Temperature: 50-95 F
Coats Required: 1 Coat
Coverage Per Gallon: 200-300 sq. ft
Application Tools: Pad, Brush, Roller
Dry Time: 6-25 Hours
Cleanup: Mineral Spirits
VOC Compliant: 250 Compliant in All 50 States
Manufacturer: PPG ProLuxe

Test Deck Stats:

Deck Wood Type: Pine Boat Dock
Deck Square Footage: 1200
UV Exposure: Full Sun
How Many Years Tested: 2 Years
Stain Color Used: 
Natural Cedar

*All products tested and results are from our experience. We offer no guarantee of similar results. Take into consideration that results may differ due to different wood types, exposure to UV radiation, and natural weathering.


Please Rate This. You may also post comments or ask questions below.

author avatar
Scott Paul ~ Restoring Wood & Decks Since 1993 Owner
As an article and comment contributor to the site, Scott has been around the pressure washing industry since attending college. In 1993 he started his first company called Oakland Pressure Wash specializing in exterior pressure washing and deck staining. That company evolved into OPW L.L.C. shortly thereafter concentrating more on exterior wood and deck restoration. Scott and his Deck Cleaning Michigan company have restored over 10,000 decks in the Metro Detroit area since the early years. He has become an authority in the deck restoration industry and has contributed to numerous wood restoration forums and informative sites. All the products he suggests through this site are sold through online sites and in retail stores, allowing the consumer to choose their own means of purchase. Scott’s eCommerce sites do sell many top brands he endorses and if you appreciate any of the help he has offered then feel free to purchase from one of them.

Related Deck Stain Help Articles & Reviews

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
359 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Bob Emery
Bob Emery
2 years ago

I live in New Brunswick, Canada. In 2008 we had some major renos done on our home. One of those was a 100′ long veranda or porch which wrapped around 3 sides of the front portion of our home. This decking material is New Brunswick cedar which I sanded with 120 grit paper, (huge job…) and we finished it with the original Sikkens, the good stuff. The veranda and the 3 sets of steps looked beautiful. We applied two coats of Sikkens. It took several days to dry before the second coat was applied. Then several years later we resurfaced our deck with cedar. This cedar, like our veranda cedar was dry and also sanded with the 120 grit. When I went to purchase the Sikkens I was told it was discontinued but was replaced with a water based product, which I was told was exactly the same as the ‘good’ stuff. Well it was terrible. The following year it was peeling off. Then I had to scrape and sand the 22′ x 13′ deck and reapply. The next year the result was similar. I went back to the dealer and the guy told me I was in luck as Sikkens realised they screwed up and brought back the oil based product. I bought the stuff and decided to sand the deck yet again, along with the 3 sets of steps and reapplied with the ‘new and improved’ version, which is SIK250077C, cedar 077. It is a matt finish as that is what I have used since 2008. The problem now is this stuff does not have the same finish as the original stuff. So, all the refinishing I did last year now has to be scrubbed somehow as it is dark and dirty. While doing the refinish job last year, I also refinished all the outer cedar boards on my large veranda, so now all that will have to be scrubbed. I am not a happy camper. And I will not use a power washer on my cedar so it will have to be manual labour. Does anyone know of a product I can use to wash the cedar?

Jeff McGillicuddy
Jeff McGillicuddy
2 years ago

I have a 12X 16 pressure treated deck that’s going on 20+ years old and I took care of the deck – cleaning and using the original formula SIkkens Cetol SRD ( I think that was the name but I could no longer get the original formula in MA the past few years). I used the replacement product by SIkkens for the last couple applications (now PPG) but it’s been awful. The deck became sticky in some spots after application and it doesn’t last. The pressure treated wood is drying out much faster than it used to do. It’s a south facing deck – full sun all year and I have to look at restaining it again this summer when I did it in the Fall of 2019. It was a rich redwood coloring but now looks dirty brownish red because of the lame replacement “Healthy” product I had to buy. Please help recommend a product I can purchase in MA to help reclaim my once proud deck.

Jeff McGillicuddy
Jeff McGillicuddy
2 years ago

Thank you – Here are a few pics – there is some pollen on deck and furniture/grill, but the flat dull coloring and dried out wood still comes through.

Deck1.jpg
Deck2.jpg
Deck3.jpg
Deck5.jpg
Sly
Sly
7 months ago

I need to find a finish for my western red cedar siding (T&G), I’m not sure which one to choose between SRD and Log and siding. I get the satin finish on log house, but I’m not sure it would look nice on tongue and groove siding, and again from what I read Log and siding seems to be more durable.

Wes Green
Wes Green
8 months ago

I have been using Sikken natural teak stain and clear sealer for my sailboat for last 8 years. Are these two [products still sold by Proluxe (Sikken) ?

Gordy P
Gordy P
8 months ago

I used the Sikkens SRD stain/sealer on several redwood projects (exterior furniture) I built 2 years ago. The sales pitch was that 1 coat would provide 5 years protection from the elements. Unfortunately it did not hold up, and I just refinished everything with 2 coats of a Spar Urethane product sold by Rustoleum.

I would rate this at ** 2 stars at most.

Gordy P
Gordy P
8 months ago

OK, Scott, what do you use for exterior wood?

Katherine Brook
Katherine Brook
9 months ago

Hello. We used Sikkens Cetol SRD RE on our deck. We know this is a one time application but if we wanted to do a second coat could we wait approx 30 days, lightly pole sand and apply second coat?

Ron Limber
Ron Limber
10 months ago

trying to send rebate in for stain having trouble with it not accepting upc .we have 4gal cans

mike lewis
mike lewis
1 year ago

I have used sikkens cetol srd redwood stain for years to stain and maintain my redwood deck, it is no longer available. Is there another product to use and what prep is required

Don M
Don M
1 year ago

Best recommendation for exterior stain on Douglas fir

Sherry
Sherry
11 months ago
Reply to  Don M

We put a new outside porch fir flooring and used sickens proLux stain. After this winter flooring turned black in a lot of places. Do we have to sand it down and put restore a deck stain on top of sickens? So disappointed 😢

Jim Snay
Jim Snay
1 year ago

Hi I applied PPG prolix 079 the product did not cure completely. Any ideas on how I can fix this?

Vicky Gillespie
Vicky Gillespie
1 year ago

We have used the original sikkens deck stain for many years. Loved it. But when changed to Pro Deluxe it’s horrible. The formula definitely changed. So very very disappointing. Never ever will I use again.

Matt C
Matt C
1 year ago

Looking for information on the fire rating for this product if you could be of any help

Asif
Asif
2 years ago

I live by the ocean. The deck is brand new. It is wet due moisture from the ocean. What type of
Which stain is recommended and do yo recommend a sealer afterwords. I like the natural wood color. The speck is of redwood

Kerry Miller
Kerry Miller
2 years ago

Can Proluxe Log and Siding be added over Proluxe SRD?

Richard
Richard
2 years ago

What is best stain for refinishing a mahogany deck? And I need a solid color or semi solid color product.

Dennis Greiner
Dennis Greiner
2 years ago

I have a deck that is south exposure that I treated with PPG Proluxe natural cedar 3 years ago and it looks terrible now. What can I do to make it look good?

Dennis
Dennis
2 years ago
Reply to  Dennis Greiner

Treated with Proluxe natural cedar now what can I do to make it look good again

D6A47EB7-49D0-49C4-B468-2349DFD6BAA3.jpeg
2A130161-B093-4195-840C-31DADCF8BF86.jpeg
DFCD5125-8441-4784-A7CA-99FCEA6DF7CB.jpeg
072EE84E-F4C5-4762-8B8A-D8D0F53454A5.jpeg
Terry
Terry
2 years ago

What is a good stripper for Sikkens ProLuxe Cetol SRD (translucent matte wood finish)?

Terry
Terry
2 years ago

West facing deck pictures.

A55B6A13-CD5A-4042-A6BD-7E13D33C707A.jpeg
9C6B7BC7-A813-40AB-B52F-940391DD5056.jpeg
Terry
Terry
2 years ago

The deck is WRC, west facing in the Seattle area.

00032123-3419-42BA-A44C-E7833CB45DA2.jpeg
58063FF9-A47B-4D0A-972A-3A668DCE3C93.jpeg
Terry
Terry
2 years ago

This a second story cedar deck with a western exposure.

IMG_0147[2381] copy.jpg
IMG_0146 copy.jpg
Ken
Ken
2 years ago

I spent 2.5 days sanding my 350 sq. Ft. cedar covered porch down to the bare wood. Applied Siko Proluxe SRD Re wood finish as instructed by dealer. Nice day, low humidity, no rain. 15 days later it is still tacky all over, dirt and leaves sticking to it. I don’t know how to get it to dry?
can anyone recommend a solution? Horrible product as now I’ve got a mess. Used a Para product previously which lasted for 13 years but is now unavailable.

Larry
Larry
1 year ago
Reply to  Ken

Unfortunately you over applied the product. I’m not sure what method you used, but I always back-brush starting at one end of the board to the other. You only want to put down as much stain as the wood will accept. Then by back-brushing you help force the product in, even out the pigment and remove any excess stain ( pools or puddling). You can try to wipe some lacquer thinner to remove the shinny spots but for the best results you’ll probably have to start all over by removing the existing stain. Good luck.

marqfive
marqfive
2 years ago

I have been using Sikkens srd on my deck for 20 years. They discontinued the redwood color that I love. I just recently sanded the whole deck and railings for a new application. Would the teak color match the redwood better than the mahogany? Is there a better stain that would match the old Sikkens srd redwood color. Would like to stay with a semi transparent stain. Deck is in midwest with full sun most of the day in summer and lots of snow in winter.

Antonio renzo
Antonio renzo
2 years ago
Reply to  marqfive

Same situation for me see #089 redwood discontinued and not sure mahogany would color match good.
What option did you opt for

Craig
Craig
3 years ago

Do you need to varnish after applying

Anthony Schmidt
Anthony Schmidt
3 years ago

How do you know that wood is dry enough

Jackie Gibbs
Jackie Gibbs
3 years ago

How is sickens proluxe cetol srd different from sikkens proluxe srd

j.golde
j.golde
3 years ago

I was told Sikkens deck stain was outlawed in nh now. I just want to stain over the sikkens caoba (mahogany) stain I had used previously several years ago. What can I use now over the old stain. I replaced a few pressure treated boards that were splitting. Need to restain deck as due. Same color .

Puppet
Puppet
3 years ago

I wanted to let you know that I used Sikkens Cetol 1 and Sikkens Cetol 23 Plus before the product went to PPG. I used it on an outdoor swing on my patio at the beach in southern California near the water and It looks great. It is almost a year now that I have used it and I love love love it. It looks great, not that hard to apply except for the way the swing was made there were many narrow spaces. However, I am very pleased with the results. I grew up on the east coast in a boating community where this was used on boats.

R Jost
R Jost
3 years ago

Can I restain with Sikken’s Deck Stain on top of another Stain product that has failed and is coming off?

cathy duncan
cathy duncan
3 years ago

What is hte best product to use on old barns (1905 redwood). since i have owned it the last 20 years, i have applied “oil based semi solid stain” to both penetrate the wood to lengthen its life and to match the original ranch ‘green”. Since i live in California , everything seems to be reformulated for VOC emissions. the last product ‘floated’ on the surface, yellowed and also got very moldy.
Any woods of advice?
and btw,…. i am not looking for picture perfect finish and with 4 40ft silos, 3 barns and more, i am looking for some economy yet preserve this old old ranch. (at least for california its old)

Donna
Donna
3 years ago

I have a 5 year old cedar deck. Used sikkens cetrol SRD. I am not happy with the dull dirty look. Any recommendations?

image.jpg
image.jpg
image.jpg
Goldie Frances Dixon
Goldie Frances Dixon
3 years ago
Reply to  Donna

We also have a deck treated with sikkens, just 2 years old and looks like crap!! So disappointed. Expected to get more for the money it cost!😡😔

Deborah Quagliozzi
Deborah Quagliozzi
3 years ago

I agree, I did my deck carefully last year and it looks awful

William B
William B
3 years ago

Same bad experience here. Less than 2 years old and, as the review mentions, the deck is almost black with mildew embedded in the stain. Will need to strip and find a new brand. This bad experience (and expense) makes me wish I had paid extra for composite decking.

359
0
Questions or leave a review, please comment!x