SuperDeck Stain Review  3/5 (191)

This post was updated on May 1, 2024

SuperDeck Stain Review for 2024

We would love to hear from you if you have used the SuperDeck Stain from Sherwin Willaims on your wood or deck. Please post a rating in the Consumer Star Ratings below. Consumer reviews below in the comment section have shown lower than average results when using the SuperDeck Stain.

If you have any pictures of your experience with SuperDeck Stain, you can add them in the comment area with a detailed description.


If you have used the SuperDeck deck stains, please post a review and any pictures in our comment area below.  A short description of your experience would help.

The DuckBack company is the original manufacturer of Super Deck and was purchased by Sherwin Wiliams a few years ago. The Super Deck brand has gone through numerous changes since. Sherwin Williams has kept the SuperDeck brand but has added their old Deckscapes formula into the Super Deck lineup. They now have an oil-based and water-based version. This review of the Super Deck would be comparable to the current oil-based formula of the new label of the SuperDeck, under the Sherwin Williams paint brand. The current Sherwin Labels Super Deck that is water-based, would be comparable to our review of the Sherwin Williams Deckscapes.

Super Deck Review Sherwin Williams

Superdeck Wood Deck Stain Review

Cabot Solid stain Reviews RatingsSUPERDECK® Semi-Transparent Stain is a 70% solid, pro-grade, wood deck finish developed to give superior protection and enhanced color to exterior wood. Superdeck Semi-Transparent Stains uses iron oxide pigments to prevent UV damage.  Containing tung and linseed oils that provide superior protection with mildewcides that inhibit the growth of mildew. Superdeck Semi-Transparent Stains contain Carnauba for a durable finish that is scuff resistant.

SUPERDECK® Semi-Transparent Stain Rating (1-10)

Appearance After Initial Stain Application: 6

– We used the Superdeck Stain in the redwood color on a newly built redwood porch in Northern California. The final appearance after drying was a sticky uneven finish on our porch. The stain did not penetrate very well into the wood even though the Superdeck cleaner and brightener were used to prep prior to application. Only one light coat was applied.

Preventing UV Graying at 2 Year Mark: 8

– 80% of the initial color was left after 2 years of exposure to full sun. The Superdeck did score fairly well here.

Wear/Tear and Peeling: 8

– The was no peeling of the Superdeck Semi-transparent stain but there was wearing in the high traffic areas. This porch is the entrance to the home and the Superdeck was completely worn from the stairs to the door.

Cost Per Square Foot: 7

– Superdeck Semi-transparent stain costs $40 a gallon. The 800-foot porch needed 5 gallons to cover. This included the deck and the railings.

Preventing Mold/Mildew/Algae: 6

– After 2 years of weathering, the Superdeck Semi-transparent stain had a significant amount of mildew spots growing in the finish. Containing linseed oil (known feeder for mold), the Superdeck seemed ineffective at preventing the mold even though it contains mildewcide.

Ease of Application: 8

– We applied the Superdeck Semi-transparent stain with a staining brush to the entire surface of the porch. The stain had issues with penetration into the wood and did not dry evenly. It took nearly 8 hours to apply the stain with two people.

Color Shifting (darkening) after 2 Years: 4

-Very disappointed with the Superdeck Semi-transparent stain turning a dark blackish color after two years. It seems that dirt sticks to the stain. There was a tree above the porch that may have contributed to this issue.

Difficulty of Reapplication: 6.5

– Unfortunately, the Superdeck Semi-transparent stain will need to be stripped and brightened prior to reapplication since the stain had turned a very dark color after the two years.

Overall Score SUPERDECK® Semi-Transparent Stain at 2 Year Period: 6.69

– We were not impressed with the Superdeck stain. Most disappointed with the application and overall appearance after 2 years. Wood stains should not turn a dark black color after 2 years of exposure. This is very unsightly and makes reapplication difficult.

Sherwin Williams SuperDeck Stain Photos from Consumers

Product Information:

Where To Buy: Lumber Yards and Sherwin Willaims Paint Stores
Cost: $45.99 per Gallon, $229.99 per 5 Gallon Pail
Stain Type: Semi-Transparent as tested
Available Colors: Cedar, Redwood, Weathered Gray – Tintable to 60+ Colors
Application Temperature: 40-95 F
Coats Required: 1 Coat
Coverage Per Gallon: 250-350 sq. ft. Actual coverage was 175 sq. feet as tested
Application Tools: Sprayer, Pad, Brush, Roller
Dry Time: 8-24 Hours
Cleanup: Mineral Spirits
VOC Compliant: 250 Compliant in All 50 States. 100 VOC for LA Area
More Info: Product Data
Manufacturer: Duckback

Test Deck Stats:

Deck Wood Type: Redwood Porch
Deck Square Footage: 800
UV Exposure: Full Sun
How Many Years Tested: 2 Years
Stain Color Used: 
Redwood

*All products tested and results are from our experience. We offer no guarantee of similar results. Take into consideration that results may differ due to different wood types, exposure to UV radiation, and natural weathering.

Please Rate This. You may also post comments or ask questions below.

author avatar
Scott Paul ~ Restoring Wood & Decks Since 1993 Owner
As an article and comment contributor to the site, Scott has been around the pressure washing industry since attending college. In 1993 he started his first company called Oakland Pressure Wash specializing in exterior pressure washing and deck staining. That company evolved into OPW L.L.C. shortly thereafter concentrating more on exterior wood and deck restoration. Scott and his Deck Cleaning Michigan company have restored over 10,000 decks in the Metro Detroit area since the early years. He has become an authority in the deck restoration industry and has contributed to numerous wood restoration forums and informative sites. All the products he suggests through this site are sold through online sites and in retail stores, allowing the consumer to choose their own means of purchase. Scott’s eCommerce sites do sell many top brands he endorses and if you appreciate any of the help he has offered then feel free to purchase from one of them.

Related Deck Stain Help Articles & Reviews

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
397 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Patrick Regan
Patrick Regan
1 year ago

Used Sherwin Williams SuperDeck Semi Transparent Water Based Stain. Initial application failed. A second application the following year after sanding and refresher failed even worse. The product goes on like paint and has no penetration. I used this product many years ago before the initial manufacturer was bought by Sherwin Williams.

SuperDeck Stain failure 3.jpeg
SuperDeck Stain failure 1.jpeg
Larry J
Larry J
1 year ago

We have used SuperDeck for many years & been loyal to the product…until now. I was informed the formula was thinner than previous years but that it still was just as efficient with filling in small cracks & going on smooth. I found anything but! The dries uneven & is thinner than regular paint. It did fill in any cracks whatsoever. I will not be buying this product again, in any form. SuperDeck went from being best to worst In one season.

Kelly
Kelly
1 year ago

What a huge disappointment. Paid over $3000 to have our 500 sq. foot deck and railings stained with super deck. Stained in the fall and was peeling by spring. Darkening and mildew accumulated as well. Huge disappointment. Do not recommend.

Alexis Ann Robertson
Alexis Ann Robertson
3 years ago

I will never use this product or S.W again! Was stained one year ago and peeling off😫! They said wood needed to be primed. Thought this product took care of that. Bad stuff all around. I used my savings to get my exterior painted and decking finished.

P. Disco
P. Disco
3 years ago

Sherwin Williams Superdeck Waterbourne stain is a huge disappointment! Does not penetrate the wood, and because of no penetration, the brush marks will drive you crazy. It cannot tolerate much foot traffic. Wear areas, with exposed bare wood, will result after a few months; not only on the floor but on the edges of your steps. Since it is really just a surface treatment, it will peel off it you are not careful. How can this be called a stain when there is no wood penetration? Complete waste of time and money. It will also darken within the first year.
The only positive point is that you can clean your brush with water. Stay away !!

Kevin Z
Kevin Z
3 years ago

Disappointed with this product. After having used deckscapes by Sherwin Williams on my deck and porch since 2007 ( redo every 2.5-3 years) Sherwin Williams discontinued it and sells Superdeck . It was supposed to be improved but I prepped and applied as directed and am greatly disappointed. It took days to dry, looks really dark and has not held up, turning black in big areas after about two months. I gave the remainder of product away and am now planning to sand and paint to be done with the cycle of stain and repeat

LeeLee
LeeLee
3 years ago

After only one year, the stain is peeling and overall my deck looks filthy. My house is only three years old; I waited until the wood had cured, as directed, and had it professionally cleaned before staining. I get morning sun only where the deck is located. This was disappointing for as much as I paid; after reading the other reviews, I’ll probably wait until next year and have someone come out to strip this and use a different brand of stain to replace.

Monica
Monica
3 years ago

I have the same problem as many others. My deck has an oily film that attracts dirt so it looks filthy all the time. We spent the whole day today stripping it off. A very expensive lesson. The worst thing, when I called SW regarding my frustration, they acted surprised.

Daniel Condon
Daniel Condon
3 years ago
Reply to  Monica

Anyhow I’ve used this product for about 10 years…I have had some pressure treated lumber “go dark” after applying this product, on other pressure treated lumber It has looked great for years.

The stain is intended to be applied with “thin” coats, then another “thin” coat within a few hours, over applying (one thick coat) will cause an incomplete drying and will attract dirt, dust, and pollution to stick to it.

Contractor for many years…built and power washed and stained over a thousand decks…MANY products do not hold up well…never use a solid color…only semi-transparent…always use an “oil based” product…if you can clean it up with water…leave it at the store!

Saša
Saša
4 years ago

Super unimpressed with this deck stain.
I treated the wood exactly as instructed and it peeled a year after application.
After it peeled, I painted it again and decided not to use the deck at all throughout the winter.
Sure enough, it peeled in a bunch of places again.

This has been an absolute nightmare.
I’d recomment burning down your deck and building a new one before getting involved with this deck stain.

Joe
Joe
4 years ago
Reply to  Saša

I have two decks, almost same situation. “This stuff sucks” May I ask what if anything have you done to try to correct the problem.

Mikey
Mikey
5 years ago

I am a little disappointed in the Superdeck stain. At first I thought my deck was just dirty but to find it getting dirty relatively fast was just crazy. Last season I had to scrub the deck down at least 4 times just to remove the dark grime that was accumulating on the surface. Like the review above, this stain attracts dirt and stuff like crazy giving it a consistently dirty appeal on the top. I’ve attached a photo of my deck, this is after all the snow has melted and you clearly see the difference between the top of the deck and the sides where the sides don’t seem to be affected as much as the top surface. Keep in mind that last season, this is how my deck looked mostly with the dark dirty grime on the top. I highly do not recommend Superdeck, I’ll now have to spend extra expenses to strip, clean and use another stain in hopes it better than this crap I used.

deck.jpeg
James
James
4 years ago
Reply to  Mikey

I had a new deck stained 2 years ago with the same stain and have the exact same issue – terrible, however this tells me that any other stain I put on top of this will likely adhere very well and plan on restaining with another solid stain (without stripping) from a different manufacturer. Any thoughts about doing this?

Bryan I Schwartz
Bryan I Schwartz
3 years ago
Reply to  Mikey

I have exactly the same problem. My deck attracts dirt and won’t let it go. It looks like I never clean the deck. Very disappointing and the fix will be expensive to get this crap off.

Derek Johns
Derek Johns
5 years ago

I used Superdeck natural transparent stain on rough cedar cladding about 4 years ago. It looked fantastic for the first year but gradually it got darker until now it is a near a black brown. The cedar was dry and the cladding was out of the weather. I am now looking at having to paint or replace the cladding. Very disappointed with this product.

Larry Hissner
Larry Hissner
6 days ago

I used super deck semi solid over super deck, semi transparent which I did last year. Now the deck is all blotchy. Can I use a solid same color to even it out

David Mcmillen
David Mcmillen
23 days ago

I applied superdeck to a new deck and steps. The wood was allowed to dry for 9 month and then washed thoroughly with a deck wash. The surface started to peal within less than a year and continues to peal every time I wash the deck. I am now trying to figure out how remove the superdeck so that I can start over.

Pip
Pip
7 months ago

Just applied semi transparent oil based, 5 gallons to an off the grid log cabin previously stained with a dark latex. Sanded all loose latex. Went on well. Will post again in the spring and in a couple of years. It seemed to me like it adhered very well to the old late. Solid stain, and the dark color blended in very well where I sanded down to bare wood.
Time will tell. Using Wolmans f&f oil on my cedar lap house. They all will get darker, better than gray.
Elected to not use the Wolmans because I was going over a previous latex application

Karen Charters
Karen Charters
11 months ago

Had a new deck installed with pressure treated wood. Waited a year as instructed and hired a painting company. They stained it with Super Deck transparent modified oil formula exterior wood stain cedar tone. The deck turned out dark in some spots (was not an issue prior to staining) and grey in others. I complained and withheld payment. They came back TWO years later and sanded and “blew” the deck clean. I asked if they’d be washing the deck to prep it and they said sanding and blowing was the same if not better. The deck looks horrible. It’s a mixture of areas of blackish dirty, random grey spots, unstained look in others, cracking, and sanding marks yet some parts look a beautiful honey color. They tell me that this is the normal wood grain coming through. They brought a Sherwin Williams rep to inspect it (in the rain) and said because it was beading it was doing its work. For your reference images 3, 4 and 5 in the comments section match the look of my deck. I don’t know what to do and feel bullied.

Bob K
Bob K
1 year ago

SuperDeck is my Go To Stain. I stained my decked in 2020 and only had to touch up 3 years later. It’s the best stain on thr mkt in my opinion. You have to properly prep: powerwash, treat surface for mold, and sand. If you don’t prep properly it will fail. However, this product rewards folks who properly prep. So easy to apply and reapply 3 years later. The cheap deck stains peel and flake. Superdeck does not. My Go to stain.

Michael Grew
Michael Grew
1 year ago

It’s time to re-stain my deck. (spring 2023)
unfortunately, Super Deck has been taken over by SW.
I’m switching to TWP as the next highest rated brand.
it is so unfortunate that excellent products and good companies are bought out by larger companies that want to instantly change the formula.
I loved Supedeck semi transparent oil stain……….but SW has decided without the input from their consumer base to change it to the same as their current product.
What ever happened to quality American products sticking to their guns?

Mike Grew
Mike Grew
1 year ago

Thank you for your thoughts……….I tend to agree. It just seems so un-American……….we used to be innovators………now we are just followers. No one ever wins a race by running with the pack. What do you think of TWP

Mike Grew
Mike Grew
1 year ago

Thank you! you provide a great service…I wish more people where like you (us)

Mike Dean
Mike Dean
1 year ago

Have used super deck for over 10 years ..quite happy overall…always oil based…under Nevada sun stain holds up a minimum of 2 years ..Was quite sad when local hardware stores quit carrying it because of the high voc but found the Sherwin Williams stores still make and carry it. Proper prep is the solution.

Sam Jaquay
Sam Jaquay
1 year ago

What is the cost of super deck cedar stain per gallon

Jill DeWitt
Jill DeWitt
1 year ago

Anyone uses Zar deck stain?

larry meyer
larry meyer
2 years ago

Last year I had to replace the back of my fence, and have used superdeck 1905 heart redwood color of stain for years on my fences. Last year I bought a case of this stain when I replaced my fence. I recently had to replace the side fence of my yard and had a gallon left over, but not enough to stain the whole fence. I go today to purchase some more and you can no longer get it in California, (Figures). So my question is, I stained half of my new fence and need a brand/color to match it the best I can. Any suggestions.

Susan
Susan
2 years ago

Heart redwood transparent stain is no where near the same colour as previous. Previous this stain has a dark red. New stain or orange. Doesn’t take on wood grain as previous. Looking for different product to carry on last years staining. Not happy with this new product

Daniel W Bigger
Daniel W Bigger
2 years ago

Reviews of rodda rural manor stains? Trying to find a stain that will color match body of house.

Andrew
Andrew
2 years ago

Was so excited to put that stain ( natural semi transparent super deck ) on the new weathered and sensed cedar wood decking , the application and appearance went really good ,we stained it in the month of August 2020 in the spring of 2021 was shocked to see the decking it looks like old none stained deck , was hoping to get at least 3 years on it!!! So disappointed 😞!!!

33552E3B-CE1F-40DA-8555-969F32932E9E.jpeg
85223348-3DD9-430A-A5F5-BC55BF23A112.jpeg
2BDE1F78-C844-41DB-AA41-4167074998B1.jpeg
80A514F9-DF41-49E4-B4B3-C04F8497F31C.jpeg
Andrew
Andrew
2 years ago

Was so excited to put that stain ( natural semi transparent super deck ) on the new weathered and sensed cedar wood decking , the application and appearance went really good ,we stained it in the month of August 2020 in the spring of 2021 was shocked to see the decking it looks like old none stained deck , was hoping to get at least 3 years on it!!! So disappointed 😞!!!

John Clifton
John Clifton
2 years ago

Can I put super Deck oil base stain over the modified oil base stain? The modified oil stain SUCKS ?& looks like crap. Was a wast of time & money. The old one is MUCH better!

Ken Sarocky
Ken Sarocky
2 years ago

The new, reformulated SuperDeck Transparent Stain is a huge disappointment. The stuff looks like orange yogurt, and goes on with a plastic sheen. It doesn’t seem to penetrate the wood at all, and doesn’t show off the wood grain like the old formula did. This is “name brand engineering” at its most tawdry.

Kelly
Kelly
3 years ago

What is a good deck Brightener to use after cleaning?

Anne Humeniuk
Anne Humeniuk
3 years ago

I used Superdeck in Cedar Bark color on pine Siding with great results last year! First I washed and scrubbed all of the clear boards with water, let dry for 24 hrs and then applied the Superdeck with a rolller and after a few minutes, wiped it with a cloth. I applied two coats on the exterior side of the board and one coat on the interior. I am disappointed to hear that the formula has changed as, I have two more sides of my house to do. As it has only been up a year, I have not noticed any darkening issues and hope that doesn’t happen!

FC5CCEEC-678D-4E69-AD19-44F382F0D1D8.jpeg
93A377C1-0518-4DFA-80A3-E3DB5545E0F1.jpeg
Dusty Hawkins
Dusty Hawkins
3 years ago

Worst stain ever started rubbing off after 6 months garbage even paid a professional to do it.

Iwona
Iwona
3 years ago

Can you apply a second coat? My deck does not look best with just one…

Iwona
Iwona
3 years ago

First coat was applied two days ago… I have tried to apply a second coat in one area, but it doesn’t seem to adhere properly. Hence my question if a second coat application is OK to add to make the deck look better – now there is a lot of unevenness in colour.

Bob
Bob
3 years ago

Why every year?

Bob
Bob
3 years ago

Super deck looks good for 60 days only if used frequently, marks easily, wear through easily, we have to recoat every year and they can’t ever get color close enough to spot in areas, Getting tired of sanding covered porch every year,I’m disabled.

Paul Simpson
Paul Simpson
3 years ago

My painter applied Woodscape to my deck almost 2 years ago. I called him after a year, and told him that it faded.
Question: Can you put Super Deck over Woodscape? I have 1500 sq feet of deck space.
I asked one employee at the Sherwin Williams store and he did not know.
I asked at another store he said sand it all down. (Sure 1500 sq feet)
One part of the deck now has been replaced with new boards, but it connects to an existing deck with Woodscape. Dark brown.
Please Help
Thank you
Paul

Barbara
Barbara
3 years ago

I bought Super Deck Waterborne Exterior Deck Stain and Stain & Sealer Remover. When reading the instructions I see that Revive Cleaner is required after the remover. Is this cleaner really necessary? No one at the Sherwin Williams store mentioned it and, of course, I do not want any unnecessary work. It is pressure treated wood that I previously covered with Deckscapes.

Thank you.

Barbara
Barbara
3 years ago

So, since I have already scraped and sanded the deck then I should be able to just apply the Deck Stain, right?

Barbara
Barbara
3 years ago

Ok, then it’s back to the paint store. Thanks for your help.

MICHAEL
MICHAEL
3 years ago

I used super deck solid stain on my deck on june 16th 2020 and it is now july 6th 2020. I have mildew forming on top of my deck and dirt will not come off. I called SW and the guy said he jas been there 3 years and never had problems with it. Well after some research I see he is full of it. They arr gonna make a decision and call me back about what to do. I’m not holding my breath. I will attach pics. Do you have any advice? The pics are after scrubbing it with Dawn and a hard brissle push broom

20200706_131220.jpg
20200706_124840.jpg
MICHAEL
MICHAEL
3 years ago

Ive also used a commercial grade mold and milder cleaner it was just as effective lol. Sorry didnt note that in the comment

397
0
Questions or leave a review, please comment!x