The 6 Best Deck Stain Reviews and Ratings 4.8/5 (206)

by Deck Stain Help

Update for 2019 Deck Staining Season:

Best Deck Stain Reviews for 2019

Best Deck Stain Ratings

Best Deck Stain Reviews

For a more in-depth article on “What is The Best Deck Stain for Your Deck” see this article: What is the Best Deck Stain

DeckStainHelp.com is a help and review site with the goal of offering advice to homeowners with the difficult task of restoring their exterior wooden decks, docks, and wood homes. We have been using and reviewing wood and deck stains since we started working on restoring exterior wood in the early 1990s. This site was developed to help consumers research and ask questions on what would be the best deck stain, with the goal of longevity and just as important, the ease of reapplication.

Our favorite deck stains have always been the penetrating semi-transparent stains. These stain types allow the wood grain to show and if they truly soak into the wood grain, reapplying is easier down the road. The problem we have noticed in the last 5-10 years is that not all semi-transparent stains are penetrating. Many manufacturers have gone away with the true penetrating stains due to VOC laws and for profitability. Believe it or not, but deck stains in general performed better 10-20 years ago when it came to wearing and peeling than they do in 2019. There have been some major advancements though when it comes to UV protection in the past 5-10 years. Nano-particles of zinc oxides and improvements to trans-oxides have shown excellent UV resistance.

The good news is you can still find some quality deck stains in 2019 that will offer UV protection, penetrate deep into the wood grain, and highlight the natural beauty of the wood.

Best Semi-Transparent Deck Stain?

Best Newer Deck Stain in 2018-2019: Restore-A-Deck Wood Stain can be applied to dry or damp wood. Applying to damp wood allows you the ability to prep and stain on the same day, saving you a tremendous amount of time. In 2018, our first full year of using the Restore A Deck stain, we had zero issues with performance and saved a tremendous amount of time with the ability to prep and stain in the same day. We will continue to offer the Restore A Deck Wood Stain as one of our go-to decking stains for the 2019 restoration season.

If you have any questions on this rating and review of deck stains, please ask below. For a more in-depth article on “What is The Best Deck Stain for Your Deck” see this article: What is the Best Deck Stain


The Top 6 Deck Stain Ratings

Each deck stain review that we do offers two rating types. Our DeckStainHelp.com review based on our experience with the deck stain and the Consumer Star Ratings which are based on actual customers experiences with using the same stain.

Consumer Star Ratings are based on these criteria:

  • Ease of Application
  • Appearance After Application
  • Preventing UV Graying at 2 Year Mark
  • Wear and Tear After 2 years
  • Color Shifting/Darken in Color (5 Star = No Darkening)
  • Preventing Mold/Mildew/Algae at 2 Year Mark

Top Oil-Based Stain Ratings
1. TWP 100 Series
2. Armstrong Clark Wood Stain
3. TWP 1500 Series

Top Water-Based Stain Ratings
1. Restore-A-Deck Wood Stain
2. Defy Extreme Stain
3. Defy Hardwood/Cedar Stain

Listed below is a summary of our Best Deck Stain Ratings for 2019, based on these criteria stated above.

The Best Deck Stains

1. TWP 100 Series Rating

TWP 100 Deck Stain RatingsTWP 100 Series penetrates well into the wood, fades lightly in color and holds up to wear and tear. We like that when it is time to redo the wood in 2-3 years, the TWP can be cleaned and re-coated or even removed with ease. This makes the reapplication process much easier. TWP 100 Series is only allowed in 35 States and cannot be used in Canada.

Stain Type: Penetrating Semi-Transparent Oil-Based. Full Curing EPA Registered Stain.

Consumer Star Ratings:  4.5/5 (35)

DeckStainHelp.com Review (On a Scale of 1-10): 8.69

See Review Article Here: TWP 100 Series Review

2. Restore-A-Deck Wood Stain Rating

Restore A Deck Wood Stain Review

Restore-A-Deck Wood Stain can be applied to dry or damp wood. Applying to damp wood allows you the ability to prep and stain on the same day, saving you a tremendous amount of time. Restore-A-Deck Wood Stain is an advanced, water-based, semi-transparent stain formulation designed to penetrate deep into wood pores for maximum protection and longevity. Restore-A-Deck Wood Stain protects the wood from harmful UV rays and damage caused by water penetration.

Stain Type: Penetrating Semi-Transparent Water-Based. Full Curing Damp Application Stain.

Consumer Star Ratings:  4.6/5 (30)

DeckStainHelp.com Review (On a Scale of 1-10): 8.625

See Review Article Here: Restore-A-Deck Wood Stain Review

3. Armstrong Clark Wood Stain Rating

Armstrong Clark Wood Stain RatingThe Armstrong Clark Wood stain has been a solid performer since we started reviewing and using it about 6 years ago. We really like how it penetrates deep into the wood grain and applies easily. Reapplication is simple with a good deck cleaner for the prep. One thing we have noticed is to make sure you do not over apply. You want the AC to soak completely into the wood. Compliant for all US states and Canada.

Stain Type: Penetrating Transparent, Semi-Transparent, Semi-Solid Oil-Based. Paraffin and Curing Oil Blend. Full Curing Stain.

Consumer Star Ratings:  4.4/5 (46)

DeckStainHelp.com Review (On a Scale of 1-10): 8.5

See Review Article Here: Armstrong Clark Stain Review 2019

4. Defy Extreme Wood Stain Rating

Defy Extreme Wood Stain RatingWe find that the Defy Extreme Wood Stain to be the best performing water-based deck stain on the market. The zinc oxide nano-particles do double duty in preventing UV fading and preventing mold or mildew growth. The Defy Extreme penetrates into the wood grain extremely well for a water-based stain, resulting in a non-filming coating that is not prone to peeling or wear from traffic. We personally use the Defy Extreme on about 30-50 deck restorations every year in the Midwest and is one of our go-to brands. Compliant for all US states and Canada.

Stain Type: Penetrating Semi-Transparent Water-Based. Full Curing Stain with nano-particles of Zinc Oxide.

Consumer Star Ratings:  4.2/5 (41)

DeckStainHelp.com Review (On a Scale of 1-10): 8.47

See Review Article Here: Defy Extreme Stain Review

5. TWP 1500 Series Rating

TWP 1500 Series RatingTWP 1500 Series is one of the better wood and decking stains and is one of our top choices. As contractors, we really like stains that penetrate deep into the wood and can be reapplied without sanding. TWP 1500 fits this and more by adding excellent UV and mold protection. Maintaining with TWP every 2-3 years is easy. TWP 1500 is compliant for all US states, but not Canada.

Stain Type: Penetrating Semi-Transparent Oil-Based. Full Curing EPA Registered Stain.

Consumer Star Ratings:  4.3/5 (23)

DeckStainHelp.com Review (On a Scale of 1-10): 8.5

See Review Article Here: TWP 1500 Series Review

6. Ready Seal Wood Stain Rating

Ready Seal Stain Rating

Ready Seal Wood Stain contains the non-drying oil paraffin, which dives into the wood fibers and does not cure on the surface. There are many positives to paraffin stains such as user-friendly application and an even finish. The negatives can be poorer UV resistance and coverage rates with an oily finish that can stay on top of the surface. For an easy to apply even finish Ready Seal Wood and Deck Stain is a great choice. It may be necessary however to reapply every 12-18 months due to color loss.

Stain Type: Penetrating Transparent Paraffin Oil-Based. Non-Curing.

Consumer Star Ratings:  3.8/5 (27)

DeckStainHelp.com Review (On a Scale of 1-10): 7.75

See Review Article Here: Ready Seal Stain Review

Deck Stain Rating Questions

If you have any questions on this review of deck stains, please ask below. For a more in-depth article on “What is The Best Deck Stain for Your Deck” see this article: What is the Best Deck Stain


Please Rate This. You may also post comments or ask questions below.

The 6 Best Deck Stain Rating Results 2019

5 181
4 17
3 1
2 1
1 4
0 0

955
Ask a Question or Post a Review

avatar
 
smilegrinwinkneutralshockunamusedcooloopsrollcryeeklolmadsadexclamationquestionhmmbeg
Photo and Image Files
 
 
 
 
Audio and Video Files
 
 
 
 
newest oldest
Mo R.
Mo R.

Stripped, brightened and neutralized. Used Defy semi transparent. Have uneven coverage. All three areas have variation in color. Any tips? Would you apply more coats to the lighter decks? If we apply a 3rd coat do we have to apply a 4th coat since Defy is wet on wet? We also still have a 4th deck to stain which is not shown. Is there something that we can do prior to staining to get even coverage? Help please!

deck 4.jpg
deck 5.jpg
deck 3.jpeg
deck 1.jpeg
Corey
Corey

I am about to install a screened in porch with cypress 2x4s. The cypress has been kiln dried and is smooth. I also have 3 10×10 cypress posts on the front porch that are 6 months old. I am going to build louvers to go between them. The posts are rough cut and the louvers are new, smooth and kiln dried. Should I sand the posts smooth to get everything to blend together? What should I stain all of the cypress with? I would like to finish it before I put up the screen. What about prep before stain? Also, I like a lighter color stain.

8662F849-5B6F-4158-9292-EF46C3454074.jpeg
615F515A-A59C-4E18-A2FF-5EAC0BB483F1.jpeg
mv415
mv415

Put in a new redwood deck 6 months ago and the contractor messed up the stain (sounds like he should have waited until the end of the summer). Anyway, he is coming back to re-stain it (Deck is great for what it’s worth) and looking for a stain that will work in Marin County California on a northern facing slope that brings out the dark, rich redwood color. Any recommendations on stains that do well for northern facing decks & fight off mildew and mold?

Thanks! Love this site, super helpful

Jaret Benson
Jaret Benson

Recommended company in Dallas for new fence prep and staining?

Mo R.
Mo R.

Fixing to apply Flood solid to rails, fencing, lattice and arbor. Defy semi transparent to flooring. Start with rails and vertical work first?
Do you find it is best/easiest t to use a HVLP spray gun on railing and vertical work or an airless paint sprayer?
On flooring, do you recommend rolling Defy semi transparent or using an airless paint sprayer?

After stripping Behr semi transparent stain 3 times (Awful product!), spot hand sanding, Neutralizing/Brightening, dodging rain and falling leaves, we have FINALLY made it to the staining process! This is one preparation that I feel we have done right. Hope this thing turns out gorgeous!
Thanks for the help.

Diane
Diane

Our new screened porch and deck were built last winter — majority of the wood was in place by November 2018 but the finishing dragged on until February (they worked thru rain and snow). So the wood (pressure-treated southern pine) has been weathering in place since November last year — should be nice and dry. I couldn’t find anyone in Nashville to seal and stain this summer … and here it is almost winter again. Am I destroying my deck by not getting it stained and sealed before winter? I found one guy who says it can be done even in winter — in fact, he says, winter is better for oil-based stain. Two others say to wait until spring because you need hot temps. Another wants to use varathane. Help! Know anyone who stains professionally in Nashville? This is a big job!

NjjIvly2Rg2sA5w2iuaboA.jpg
mM0EKwInSYqHWzX73OgW9w.jpg
carla
carla

Do you have an opinion on the California Storm products? We are looking for something transparent to protect our new red cedar railing installed a month ago. Also, why do we need to use restore a deck on a railing that still has it’s beautiful red cedar color?

Sheila gesing
Sheila gesing

I am looking at a Flood pro series semi transparent stain. How does it compare to your top six or was it not used in this review?

Mo R.
Mo R.

What solid stain is recommended? These all look to be semi-transparent.

Michael Jedlicka
Michael Jedlicka

I have a piece of cedar on my deck top railing that I want to be sanded down to 4000 grit and stained and sealed starting at 180 grit. Any suggestions on the stain and sealer I should use?

RScott Browne
RScott Browne

Pretty stoked about finding/reading this website. Find it extremely informative. I live outside Chicago, new pressure treated pine(menards thick deck), handrails, steps, balusters replaced on existing 15 year old framework constructed by me, no structural issues, March of this year. From reading answers to other posts it sounds like the prudent approach is deck cleaner/brighter, power wash, and seal. One coat evenly applied by competent contractor(they do the washing/brightening also). Would like to use an oil base, so TWP, Armstrong Clarke? Restore a deck cleaner and brightener? Prolly missing something somewhere I like the concept of 1 day prep and finish but unsure if contractors understand this. It’s also October, weather could be a factor, can I (should I)let it sit till spring? The boards are not beading now. I got about 15 years out of the old deck, even with sporadic sealing due to health issues. Of course I’m 60 now so next time around will probably be someone else’s responsibility!! Hate to let it sit with water soaking in all winter. Comments yay or nay, considerations I missed, etc? Thank you in advance! RScott

Miriam Gravatte
Miriam Gravatte

How can I remove the ink stamp from new pressure treated lumber? Nothing seems to help except sanding, which leaves obvious sanding marks. Over time, about a couple of weeks, the sand marks are no longer visible. I’m trying to prep the wood prior to staining. I want to use semi-transparent stain, but these ugly ink stains will show through. Should I use a semi-solid instead?

Vickie
Vickie

Hi, Im planning on putting wood shingles on roof gables, and trying to figure out what product would protect best against wear and tear, moisture, uv, and mildew/mold. Would you recommend using these deck stains on wood shingles? If so, what would be the pros and cons of using oil based vs water based on the shingles and which product would you recommend using. Thank you in advance!

Peggy
Peggy

I live in New England and have a mahogany deck that has just been pressure washed. In the past, I have used Australian Timber Oil and it needs to be reapplied every two or three years. It has helped a great deal when removing snow from my deck. What would you recommend for a sunny deck treatment, to be done in a couple of weeks?

Barb
Barb

Is Cabot a good deck stain

Jack Lang
Jack Lang

further to the lengthy email I just posted below, would I have better luck with your top quality water based stain the next time? I have read that some oils, especially linseed oils, do promote mould. And also, one of these decks is ground level, vented, and then steps up to the other pool deck which is about 3 ft off the ground, also ventilated though..

Jack Lang
Jack Lang

Hi. Jack from Ontario, Canada. After researching stains to death on your website I had Armstrong Clark “natural” transparent stain shipped up to me. I know 2 friends that have used this brand a couple of years ago and it has performed perfectly. BUT NOT MINE!!! I had a dark colour Messmers Brand stain on my decks around my above ground swimming pool for for last 2 years and it was just fine. Did not peel or flake, and it wore down in areas to the point it needed another coat this year. However we wanted a lighter more natural colour so we stripped it all off. I am not a total newcomer to this process, done it the last time, so it was done exactly as it should and as recommended as far as I am concerned. Rented an industrial deck sander and sanded completely to BARE wood, then used a deck stripper to get the brown stain out of all the edges of the boards, rinsed well, and then used a deck cleaner/brightener to neutralize the deck stain as well. I waited 3 full days of hot weather after the last rain to make sure the wood was thoroughly dry. Then we applied the Armstrong-Clark stain exactly as recommended. It looked great. Did NOT overapply the stain either. I am a senior so this was a ton of work for me. I spent weeks working on this deck to make sure I would never have a future problem!! NOW, after only approx. 1 month, the wood started looking a little blotchy,(the stain was applied evenly at the time), and this week it started going mouldy. The wood has got black mould spots all over it and some boards are getting dark,( I believe it is mould “under” the stain).. I read Armstrongs trouble shooting guide and tried wiping a board with bleach . it took off some black spots on the surface. I have had this deck for at least 6 years so the wood is not new, the mill glaze is long gone off the wood also. I am so upset that I am sick after all the work I did, not to mention that by the time I got the stain delivered to Canada it ended costing close to $80.00 a gallon, but I did it because I wanted the best product that I could buy. I have barely got the job done and it is moulding already?? Now here are 2 particulars that could be a factor?– 1)- could the pools chlorine vapours cause a problem? 2)– we are beside a farm field with a “hay” crop. someone said to me that you can get a lot of dust from the field that if it landed on wet stain may cause mould spores? However if this was the case then why didn’t this happen 2 years ago when I did the exact same procedure as above and applied the last oil based stain?? HELP!!!!!!!!!! Am… Read more »

Eric
Eric

Currently having a 3-season porch built in NH, with doug fir posts and beam, doug fir beadboard ceiling, and pine shiplap walls. Contractors will stain all wood surfaces when the construction is finished. Project was started in June 2019 and should finish up in the next month. Which product(s) would you recommend? Thanks!

Jenny
Jenny

Hi. I live in Oklahoma and restained our 9 year old deck 3 years ago. I power washed and bleached it prior to applying TWP 100 series stain. The stain only looked good for 6-12 months before the wood started to look cracked and grow mildew. The wood looks very dry and brittle. We are needing to restain the deck again. What product do you suggest? The deck is large (approx 600 sqft). Should we power wash and clean the wood again prior to applying product? Also, how many sqft/gallon for application? Just a single coat of stain?

Thanks for your help.

CCAA7FA9-A8EB-4470-8CA8-AF35CEE4DB4D.jpeg
8F21F9BE-F070-42C4-BE33-23BBF8EE144D.jpeg
F3F42CCA-F128-4E01-B09C-386E6B98563D.jpeg
C4846281-1B89-496A-8294-A0D5B6370CEE.jpeg
Lisa
Lisa

Hi. I live in New England and have a pressure treated set of wooden exterior stairs that is the only entrance to a 2nd floor apartment. The stairs rise to a small landing then turn to continue up. As far as I know they have never been stained or sealed and are at least 10 years old. There is a roof that partially protects them. But snow and rain will fall on the upper level. There is a small amount of mildew but the stairs are in pretty solid condition.

I was told by a contractor doing work at the apartment that the stairs should be sealed to protect the wood. My main concerns with sealing and/or staining is using something that will be easy to maintain (if that is possible) and not making the stairs slippery. Although the beauty of the stairs is a secondary concern, the undersides of the stairs are very visible to the entrance to a store front. Is it ok to completely seal all sides of the stairs, or does some portion of the wood need to be kept free from sealing to breathe?

A few people recommended to me just power washing the stairs and using only a sealer. Do you think this is a good option? I don’t know much about sealers versus stains, etc. but after reading reviews on your site I have been thinking of using Restore a Deck or the oil based Armstrong Clark. Are water based sealers as durable as the oil based? I greatly appreciate any advice you can give me. Thank you!

Henry
Henry

Is there a difference between Defy Extreme and Defy Extremem 40?

Nancy
Nancy

I have a full sun deck that has to be over 30 yrs. old since I’ve been here 27 yrs., located in a Philadelphia suburb. Well built by Amish and very solid there are no wobbles or creaks. I wanted to replace the boards but the guy who replaced my 6′ property fence said no need to. The wood is splintered but over the 27 years I have power washed, sanded and even stripped before using Wolman’s Cedar transparent stain/sealer. The last stain was not a good one so I’ve stripped it this year and getting ready to stain. Wolman’s is scarce and I’m not sure how good it is any longer. I haven’t seen it in any reviews. My question is do you recommend water or oil based for older wood that has deep veins or splinters. I’m in my 70’s now and have always maintained this deck myself. I’m looking for a stain/sealer that will last longer that 12-18 months (Wolman’s used to but no longer) Thanks for your help. This website is great.

Frank
Frank

TWP 100 vs 1500, which one do you recommend? I just installed my new deck about 2 months ago and the pressured treated wood is starting to dry up and I think it’s time to stain the deck but I don’t know which one to choose!

After removing the old deck I found out that one of the joist has rotted and I had to sister two joist together to support that one rotted joist. As far as I know, the 100 does not fight mold and mildew but the 1500 does right? I don’t recall seeing any mold or mildew when I removed the old decking but shouldn’t all deck stains come with mold fighting/prevention since it’s for exteriors and see the rain a lot?

Jane Gerdes
Jane Gerdes

Was reading through your comments about buying stains at the big box stores & how the formula is changed to keep the price lower. Does the same thing happen to the stains sold on Amazon?J

Jane Gerdes
Jane Gerdes

Regarding the stains you mentioned above, should I buy direct from the manufacturer or do you think Amazon would carry the same quality product?

Jane Gerdes
Jane Gerdes

Thank you.

Ryan Benson
Ryan Benson

Doing about 3600 sq. ft. of fencing. Was looking at ReadySeal due to its ease of application and price, but your review has longevity issues. I’m looking for something that would last 3+ years.

kara
kara

how do yall feel about thebrand of stain “flood”?

Stuart
Stuart

Is BEHR Premium Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing Wood Stain any good? It seems to have descent/mixed review on the homedepot site.

Trish
Trish

We just sanded off all the peeling black stain (previous owners applied) on our south facing Colorado deck. It is made of redwood and looks gorgeous now with red and blonde tones. We are thinking about deck oil such as cabot Australian deck oil—a linseed oil product. What do you think? The deck is 800 square feet and i hope to not have to ever sand it again! Also, the railings are painted and peeling. I cannot sand all this . Any advice is appreciated. Just paint railings again?

Martin Plost
Martin Plost

I just had my 20 year old deck stained with Benjamin Moore Arborcoat Solid Deck Stain. I like the way it looks. However, any footprints will not hose off. If I scrub them off, is there anything I can put on that will allow me to hose off any footprints in the future. A friend suggested polyurethane, but after reading your comments, that does not seem like a good idea. Thanks.

Ann
Ann

I have treated pine rails that’s been installed since April, no water beads up when wet. I live in Georgia, hot and humid here. What would you suggest for my rails. I would like some color to rails, but if transparent will last much longer I would go that route. Thank you

Traci Seltz
Traci Seltz

Do any of the top 6 need sanding before re-applying?

Susan
Susan

What are your thoughts on Penofin? We have used Penofin on our house. It has turned essentially black. We just added an addition and are debating about what to use. Would like to somehow get rid of the black. Wondering if we should use a different product or if there is something we need to be doing differently with Penofin.

Jaymie Salley
Jaymie Salley

Our deck was stained with semi solid Arborcoat by Benjamin Moore about 2 years ago. It has not held up very well and needs to be redone. There is alot of mildew as well. We used a light gray color that I’d like to stay with. Can you recommend a better product and how it needs to be applied. We live in SC where it starts to cool off early October. Thank you!

Jason
Jason

I have an old deck with some fairly weathered wood. Ive read the solid and deck-over type stains are not ideal so looking far a semi-solid as a good combo of hiding some of the wheathering but still easier to maintain. Any recommendations for a semi-solid brand in a gray color?

Thank you

Greg
Greg

I have an older pressure-treated (PT) deck that I recently had to replace some boards on because they were in very bad shape. Of the remaining boards, almost all had some degree of splintering but since they were otherwise fine, I decided to sand them (60 & 80 grit). To avoid having a mixture of sanded and un-sanded boards when it comes time to stain, I just sanded them all. All of this work (replacing the damaged boards with new PT boards and sanding everything) was done at the end of June. Here is my plan moving forward, along with some questions:

· Wait 3 months (July, August, September – very sunny and hot here in northern Maryland, with an average amount of rain). This will put me into October, where the weather here should still be good enough for staining. If I have to wait longer, I’ll be into November (colder, more rain), which means I’ll probably have to wait until the spring to stain.

QUESTION #1: Is 3 months long enough to wait with new PT boards and newly-sanded old PT boards?

· The sanding removed very nearly ALL oxidation/graying, as well as all dirt, mildew, and residual stain from the past. There are a few boards where the oxidation/graying ran deeper than I could remove with the sander, but only very small regions near the ends of the boards. Given this, I’m thinking that in 3 months the boards will still have essentially no oxidation/grating and no mildew.

QUESTION #2: As long as there’s no significant oxidation/graying in the next 3 months, can I skip the cleaning/brightening steps and just apply the stain after thoroughly blowing off all surface dirt & debris? If I can’t skip both steps, can I just skip the brightening step by pressure-washing with water only, or maybe a mild cleaner that doesn’t change the pH of the wood?

QUESTION #3: Maybe a dumb question, but I’ll ask anyway: Other than for the obvious reason of removing dirt, mildew, etc, is cleaning necessary before staining? In my situation, where sanding has removed all oxidation/graying, dirt, mildew, etc, it seems like cleaning isn’t necessary as long as I wait long enough before staining.

QUESTION #4: If there is some light oxidation/graying, how will that affect the stain: will it just not look as nice in those areas, or will it prevent the stain from penetrating the way it should, possibly causing it to peel, blister, or lift?

QUESTION #5: For old PT boards that have been sanded, weathering doesn’t seem necessary. Do I have to wait before staining boards, or can I stain right away (after thoroughly removing dust, dirt, and debris)?

Ed Real
Ed Real

New deck, pressure treated pine. How long before applying exterior oil based semi transparent stain. Full sun on the south side, eastern exposure am sun , afternoon fully shaded.
Considering Ready Seal, reads as foolproof but short lifespan.
Lastly, brush, roller or pad for applying.
Thanks! Ed

Sue Mahar
Sue Mahar

We just replaced our old deck with a new cedar. Our contractor recommended to let it dry for three to five months then treat. What is the best product to apply to new cedar? We would like to keep it as natural color as possible.

Sue Mahar
Sue Mahar

I see that you have recommended TWP. I’ve seen 2 different ones, is there 1 for new cedar? I also see that there are people talking about prepping the wood prior to the sealing/stain, is that necessary with new wood? Our deck was completed the end of June, when should we seal/stain? I’ve heard everything from 3-5 months to 1 year. I live in eastern Nebraska and our deck is on the east side of the house, so it gets the full morning sun.

J Davis
J Davis

I have just built a new 300 sq. Ft. PTE (pine) deck. I think I prefer water based to ease the mildew problem.

What do you recommend for new PTE and where can I find it near Philadelphia?

Thanks. Jim Davis

Constance Ulrich
Constance Ulrich

After 24 hours using the RAD on the new lumber to prep for stain, I noticed the staples bleed and staining the deck. The contractor, who used staples when I specifically requested wood screws, reports a semi-transparent stain will solve the problem. Is this possible?

DBA38EC4-322F-498B-9FF1-F046E3542B18.jpeg
532721C6-E63F-4305-9342-0FD9FA5909C6.jpeg
Constance Ulrich
Constance Ulrich

I finished the Restore-A-Deck cleaner and brightener yesterday evening and pressure washed the brightener off after sunset on new wood weathered for a year. This morning there is a powdery residue in patches on the deck. I am going to pressure wash again
Before applying the Armstrong Clark deck stain. Did I do something wrong?

71AA691E-38A7-418B-BA0A-849D7AD15E9E.jpeg
D3F70AC6-716D-4AC7-B329-0412CFB9E10C.jpeg
8F2D83D9-4D43-4EF5-BE7A-3EB95EC6D88A.jpeg
73E023F4-B69C-4D62-A454-650212A7ACB5.jpeg
Tom Klosowski
Tom Klosowski

Getting ready to install new deck boards and railings here. We’re in Colorado at 8200 ft elevation and the deck is south facing- so it gets some pretty harsh sun. We’re using douglas fir and should be completed early August. We generally get quite a bit of snow here, too. SO—-1) thinking of using a solid stain for longevity and lower maintenance and 2) would it be better to try to get it done before a harsh winter (october?) or better to wait until spring? What do you recommend on both counts?
Thanks!
Tom

Judy
Judy

I have a 9 yo pressure treated wood deck. Stained 2 yrs ago using sikkens proluxe translucent matte wood finish in natural oak. Needs restrained so I’ve hired a contractor. Said he prefers flood over sikkens. Want to use a semi. Thoughts as to whether to take contractor’s recommendation? Deck is in full sun in W PA. Thank you.

jon
jon

My deck rail has 1-1/2″ pipe run horizontally about every 6″ between the cedar 4x4s . When cutting in the stain on the 4x4s around the painted metal pipes, will the end result be blotchy where I cut in?

Joe
Joe

Any rating on PPG ProLux Translucent deck stain (Oil based) ? Came recommended for freshly sanded older Cedar Deck.

Jack
Jack

I just had my boat dock wood replaced, in Alabama, lots of sun and water. The wood was replaced just under a year ago and some pieces are already bowing and pulling up. Not too thrilled with the workmanship. I am about to stain it. I’m assuming a water based stain. Any of the top ones good for this and how much prepping do I need to do? The wood was probably from a local lumber yard or Home Depot.
Thanks, Jack

Jade
Jade

Someone I know uses Minwax oil on their deck. How does it hold up for wear and is this recommended for decks?

Susie
Susie

Question about fence staining
1. Why need to stain within 2 weeks of wood preparation? What would happen if not finished in that time frame?
2. Can I just stain one side(outside) of the fence? I like the natural look, but was asked by the HOA to stain it. Also, I have a big fence, try to lower the cost.
Thank you.

Christine
Christine

Why should I not use Cabot? I have a brand new deck. My painter is recommending it. It is one month old and he recommends staining in one more month.

Joyce
Joyce

Hi there we just put in a redwood deck with rough sawn fir posts. My contractor said the redwood is ready to stain. But when I took a sample of the redwood to pick my stain it didn’t seem to penetrate the wood. I have a cedar home and when I put the stain on the cedar it just sucked up the stain. I my contractor about your site and what the discussions say about staining right away and he said that the redwood is not green…I just don’t want to do a lot of work for nothing. Please help!

Keith
Keith

What went wrong ? New PT pine deck sat 12 months. I used 60 second outdoor cleaner, power washer and deck brushes. Next day I used a SW deck cleaner/wash and hosed it down thoroughly. Wait 3 days with temps around 80 and sunny. The day I stained, using TWP 100, it was partly sunny in the morning and 74 degrees Fahrenheit. I was doing 5-6 16 foot boards at a time, stop, shake my stain and apply a light second coat. The next day the last 8 – 9 feet of decking was , is, darker and has more of sheen. These boards are also have more sun exposure than the ones that are what I would consider “normal looking “.