The 7 Best Deck Stain Reviews and Ratings 4.8/5 (324)

Best Deck Stain Reviews for 2022

For a more in-depth article on “What is The Best Deck Stain for Your Deck” see this article: The Best Deck Stain

DeckStainHelp.com is a help and review site with the goal of offering advice to homeowners with the laborious task of restoring their exterior wooden decks, docks, and wood homes. We have been using and reviewing wood and deck stains since we started working on restoring exterior wood in the early 1990s. We developed this site to help consumers research and ask questions on what would be the best deck stain, with the goal of longevity and, just as important, the ease of reapplication.

Questions on Which of the 7 Best Deck Stains to use?

Want personalized help? Post your questions below in the comments and we’ll be glad to guide you toward the best deck stain and sealer. Please include any pictures you may have and a brief history of the deck.

Our favorite deck stains have always been penetrating semi-transparent and semi-solid stains. These stain types allow the wood grain to show, and if they truly soak into the wood grain, reapplying is easier down the road. The problem we have noticed in the last 5-10 years is that not all semi-transparent stains are penetrating. Many manufacturers have gone away with the true penetrating stains because of VOC laws and for profitability. These non-penetrating stains will dry on top of the wood and will be prone to peeling and failure while looking more like paint than a stain. Believe it or not, deck stains performed better 10-20 years ago with wearing and peeling than they do in 2022. There have been some major advancements though with UV protection in the past 5-10 years. Nano-particles of zinc oxides and improvements to trans-oxides have shown excellent UV resistance.

The good news is you can still find some quality deck stains in 2022 that will offer UV protection, penetrate deep into the wood grain, and highlights the natural beauty of the wood all while making the ease of reapplication a breeze down the road.


The Top 7 Deck Stain Reviews & Ratings

Each deck stain review that we do offers two rating types. Our DeckStainHelp.com review is based on our experience with the deck stain and the Consumer Star Ratings, which are based on actual customers’ experiences with using the same stain.

Consumer Star Ratings are based on these criteria:

  • Ease of Application
  • Appearance After Application
  • Preventing UV Graying at 2 Year Mark
  • Wear and Tear After 2 years
  • Color Shifting/Darken in Color (5 Star = No Darkening)
  • Preventing Mold/Mildew/Algae at 2 Year Mark

Listed below, we summarize our Best Deck Stain Ratings for the 2022 deck season, based on these criteria stated above. We have also broken them down into the top oil-based and water-based versions.

Top 4 Oil-Based Deck Stain Ratings
1. TWP 100 Series
2. Armstrong Clark Wood Stain
3. TWP 1500 Series
4. TWP Pro-Series Semi-Solid

Top 3 Water-Based Deck Stain Ratings
1. Restore-A-Deck Wood Stain
2. Defy Extreme Stain
3. Defy Hardwood/Cedar Stain

The 7 Best Deck Stain Ratings

1. TWP 100 Pro Series Stain Review

TWP 100 Deck Stain RatingsTWP 100 Series penetrates well into the wood, fades lightly in color, and holds up to wear and tear. We like that when it is time to redo the wood in 2-3 years, the TWP can be cleaned and re-coated or even removed with ease. This makes the reapplication process much easier. TWP 100 Series is only allowed in 35 States and cannot be used in Canada.
Stain Type: Penetrating Semi-Transparent Oil-Based. Full Curing EPA Registered Stain.
Consumer Star Ratings:  4.5/5 (40)
DeckStainHelp.com Review (On a scale of 1-10): 8.69
See Review Article Here: TWP 100 Series Review

2. Restore-A-Deck Semi-Transparent Wood Stain Review

Restore A Deck Wood Stain ReviewRestore-A-Deck Wood Stain can be applied to dry or damp wood. Applying to damp wood allows you the ability to prep and stain on the same day, saving you a tremendous amount of time. Restore-A-Deck Wood Stain is an advanced, water-based, semi-transparent stain formulation designed to penetrate deep into wood pores for maximum protection and longevity. Restore-A-Deck Wood Stain protects the wood from harmful UV rays and damage caused by water penetration.
Stain Type: Penetrating Semi-Transparent Water-Based. Full Curing Damp Application Stain.
Consumer Star Ratings:  4.7/5 (45)
DeckStainHelp.com Review (On a scale of 1-10): 8.625
See Review Article Here: Restore-A-Deck Wood Stain Review

Restore-A-Deck Consumer Video Review

3. Armstrong Clark Wood Stain Review

Armstrong Clark Wood Stain RatingThe Armstrong Clark Wood stain has been a solid performer since we started reviewing and using it about 10 years ago. We really like how it penetrates deep into the wood grain and applies easily. Reapplication is simple with a good deck cleaner for the prep. One thing we have noticed is to make sure you do not overapply. You want the AC to soak completely into the wood. Compliant for all US states and Canada.
Stain Type: Penetrating Transparent, Semi-Transparent, Semi-Solid Oil-Based. Paraffin and Curing Oil Blend. Full Curing Stain.
Consumer Star Ratings:  4.4/5 (59)
DeckStainHelp.com Review (On a scale of 1-10): 8.5
See Review Article Here: Armstrong Clark Stain Review

4. TWP Pro-Series Semi-Solid Wood Stain Review

TWP Semi-Solid Stain

What we like best about the TWP Semi-Solid Stain is that it is easy to apply, will be easy to prep and reapply when the time comes, and holds color very well from the UV. We are very excited and look forward to using the TWP Semi-Solid colors. Maximum UV protection and a much larger color palette is the top reason we will offer the TWP Semi-Solid to all of our customers. TWP Semi-Solid is only allowed in 35 States and cannot be used in Canada.
Stain Type: Penetrating Semi-Solid Oil-Based. Full Curing Stain.
Consumer Star Ratings: 4.9/5 (6)
DeckStainHelp.com Review (On a scale of 1-10): 8.50
See Review Article Here: TWP Semi-Solid Series Review

5. TWP 1500 Series Stain Review

TWP 1500 Series RatingTWP 1500 Series is one of the better wood and decking stains and is one of our top choices. As contractors, we really like stains that penetrate deep into the wood and can be reapplied without sanding. TWP 1500 fits this and more by adding excellent UV and mold protection. Maintaining TWP every 2-3 years is easy. TWP 1500 is compliant for all US states, but not Canada.
Stain Type: Penetrating Semi-Transparent Oil-Based. Full Curing EPA Registered Stain.
Consumer Star Ratings:  4.6/5 (20)
DeckStainHelp.com Review (On a scale of 1-10): 8.5
See Review Article Here: TWP 1500 Series Review

6. Defy Extreme Wood Stain Review

Defy Extreme Wood Stain RatingWe find the Defy Extreme Wood Stain to be one of the best-performing water-based deck stains on the market. The zinc oxide Nano-particles do double duty in preventing UV fading and preventing mold or mildew growth. The Defy Extreme penetrates into the wood grain extremely well for a water-based stain, resulting in a non-filming coating that is not prone to peeling or wear from traffic. We use the Defy Extreme on about 30-50 deck restorations every year in the Midwest and is one of our go-to brands. Compliant for all US states and Canada.
Stain Type: Penetrating Semi-Transparent Water-Based. Full Curing Stain with Nano-particles of Zinc Oxide.
Consumer Star Ratings:  4.1/5 (54)
DeckStainHelp.com Review (On a scale of 1-10): 8.47
See Review Article Here: Defy Extreme Stain Review

7. Ready Seal Wood Stain Review

Ready Seal Stain Rating

Ready Seal Wood Stain contains the non-drying oil paraffin, which dives into the wood fibers and does not cure on the surface. There are many positives to paraffin stains, such as user-friendly application and an even finish. The negatives can be poorer UV resistance and coverage rates with an oily finish that can stay on top of the surface. For an easy to apply even finish Ready Seal Wood and Deck Stain is a great choice. It may be necessary, however, to reapply every 12-18 months due to color loss.
Stain Type: Penetrating Transparent Paraffin Oil-Based. Non-Curing.
Consumer Star Ratings:  3.7/5 (48)
DeckStainHelp.com Review (On a scale of 1-10): 7.75
See Review Article Here: Ready Seal Stain Review

Best Semi-Transparent Deck Stain Review

Best Deck Stain Ratings

Best Deck Stain Reviews

Best Newer Deck Stain in 2022: Restore-A-Deck Wood Stain can be applied to dry or damp wood. Applying to damp wood allows you the ability to prep and stain on the same day, saving you a tremendous amount of time. In 2018, our first full year of using the Restore A Deck stain, we had zero issues with performance and saved a tremendous amount of time with the ability to prep and stain on the same day. We will continue to offer the Restore A Deck Wood Stain as one of our go-to decking stains for the 2022 restoration season. The Restore A Deck Stains come in both Semi-Transparent and Solid Colors.

Best Semi-Solid Deck Stain Review

Best New Semi-Solid Stain for 2022: Available in 30 Custom Colors, the TWP® Semi-Solid Pro-Series will keep your wood beautiful, fresh, and looking new longer! The ease of application and maintenance will allow you to enjoy your investment for years to come. TWP® Semi-Solid Pro-Series provides a broad spectrum of weather protection, is water repellent, and aids in color retention. TWP® Semi-Solid Pro-Series resists water absorption that causes warping, cracking, splitting, and prevents freeze damage in colder climates.

Top Deck Stain Reviews Ratings Video – DeckStainHelp.com

Deck Stain Ratings & Review Photos

Deck Stain Rating Questions

If you have questions on this review of deck stains, please ask below. For a more in-depth article on “What is The Best Deck Stain for Your Deck” see this article: The Best Deck Stain


Please Rate This. You may also post comments or ask questions below.

The 7 Best Deck Stain Rating Results in 2022

5 286
4 26
3 3
2 2
1 5
0 2

Related Deck Stain Help Articles & Reviews

guest
1.5K Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Regina Brooks
Regina Brooks
12 hours ago

Our 3rd deck, we replaced a lot of wood a couple of years ago when we purchased the home. It looks like there was a solid stain in place. There is very little stain on the deck boards as they have almost all been replaced. We really appreciate your advice.

21745231_2_6.jpg
20220403_121901_resized.jpg
20220403_121852_resized.jpg
Regina Brooks
Regina Brooks
12 hours ago

Attached is the 2nd deck that was stained by someone else with Valspar one coast exterior stain and sealer solid. This was done in 2019. It is peeling and needs to be redone. We know our exterior paints well, but not stains. What is your best advice for this deck? Thank you

IMG_0009(1).jpg
IMG_0016(1).jpg
IMG_0018.jpg
IMG_0019.jpg
Regina Brooks
Regina Brooks
12 hours ago

Hello, we have three properties that needs the decks redone. The 1st deck is pictured. There appears to be a solid stain on the handrails, none on the deck. We are located in Indiana. Would appreciate prep and stain recommendation for the lowest long-term maintenance.

681334981.jpg
d4257b617c68060c729a671a4f3f6f16l-m13xd-w1020_h770_q80.jpg
Lenida
Lenida
2 days ago

The good news is you can still find some quality deck stains in 2022 that will offer UV protection, penetrate deep into the wood grain, and highlights the natural beauty of the wood all while making the ease of reapplication a breeze down the road.

Christiane
Christiane
8 days ago

Thank you so much for this wonderful website that saved me from a lot of frustration down the road by using Behr Deckover. We just purchased a townhouse as a rental unit in PA and want to paint this deck. Doesn’t have to be perfect but hopefully last a while. Same color. Is this a solid or semi-transparent stain that we would have to use? What would you recommend as prep and finish?
Thank you!!

IMG_6399.jpg
Christiane
Christiane
8 days ago

Thank you so much, Scott!

Neil
Neil
16 days ago

I live in Colorado and I’m planning to stain a deck, but with a solid colour i.e blue. Do you have any recommendations for an oil based product. Water based stains don’t appear to weather well. Thanks in advance

Mike
Mike
23 days ago

I have a wraparound deck that get sun different part of the day see picture attached. I live Hampton VA; right on, the Chesapeake Bay the deck is about 5 year old that is ground contact pressure treaded wood (not the yellow wood) and does not have any stain or sealer. The only spot that has green staining are the steps. I would like to have a very light-colored stain

Mike
Mike
22 days ago

would I need pressure wash the deck first

mike
mike
21 days ago

Have have some knot what can I use to fill them in

Lenida
Lenida
2 days ago
Reply to  Mike

Great

Janet Staed
Janet Staed
23 days ago

What is the best product to stain and seal a deck that is in full sun. How often should this be done to keep boards from rotting. We have gone through this before. Built a large deck (the width of out house). We were constantly every year replacing many rotted boards. This last time the joints under the deck had to be replaced in many places because the boards could not be nailed down, so we decided to replace the entire flooring and many rotted joists. Now we have the task of sealing/staining again. Please help with suggestions on product to use.
We used treated wood. I think that the sun in our problem here.

Last edited 23 days ago by Janet Staed
frank
frank
26 days ago

New 12’ x 36’ PT deck in Maine. What stain would you recommend? We shovel snow off the deck in winter.

Al Devlin
Al Devlin
26 days ago

Thanks for earlier advice re stain treatment of new deck boards (treated). A related question: the boards (#2/Home Depot) have a fair number of knot holes. Some are superficial, others deeper. Should they be filed? If so, what kind of product is most
reliable, and is stainable? My suspicion is that any product may crack in the short
term. Thanks!

Kate
Kate
1 month ago

I have used Australian Timber oil on my ceder deck for 2 years on a new cedar step.
The first year was great .
I gave it another coat last summer and this spring it is all peeling off. I would like to know why and how to proceed from here.
The stringer and side of the stop have weathered ok.

16569731298521848459241100647091.jpg
16569732057887077949407230746045.jpg
Al Devlin
Al Devlin
1 month ago

Excellent article. Restored deck surface with treated pine (Home Depot) that has cured now for 6 months. Please recommend best stain for such a surface. Missouri: hot summers and relatively mild winters. I have assumed that stain would be followed by a sealer. Is this accurate? I am skeptical of the combined stain-sealer on the market. Please advise and thanks again for a most helpful article. I would hope to preserve some of the grain effect, so probably the semi-transparent products would be appropriate?

Al Devlin
Al Devlin
30 days ago

Thanks for the clarification re stain/sealer. Will visit the TWP 100 Series.

Kara
Kara
1 month ago

We have a newer (2years) cedar deck at lake kachess in Wa state. Hot morning sun and lots of snow nov-April, used Thompson’s water seal and it all peeled off. Obviously it’s not meant for extreme weather shift! Looks like you recommended RAD or TWP which holds up better to 90plus in summer and single digit winters?
Thank you!
Sanding whole deck after only one summers use!

Judy Brown
Judy Brown
1 month ago

Best article on decks I have ever read. Thank you. I am widow who because of my husband’s illness let out porch go. I stained it in the summer of 2018. I used an Olympic maximum stain & sealant cedar clear tone. I live in Michigan. Deck gets hot west side sun & is main entrance. Porch rails still look good but floor is awful. Help!

Sharel
Sharel
1 month ago

I have a year old deck never stained, what’s the best product to use and process?

We are restoring our old deck with new pieces of d
We are restoring our old deck with new pieces of d
1 month ago

We are restoring our old deck with new pieces of decking and putting in a new railing and new stairs do I have to wait to stain the whole deck because half of the deck has new decking and the other is the original

Craig Kohn
Craig Kohn
1 month ago

I have an older deck which I treated every year & replace boards where needed some boards have cracks in them and I want to use a solid Color now can you recommend a good stain that won’t peel after seeing your review on the Behr deck over I don’t want to use it

Kris
Kris
1 month ago

I am going to stain/seal my deck that is about 25 years old. To my knowledge it has never been sealed or stained. I have cleaned it throughly. I’ve read that a semitransparent is best for old decks. I also have many trees that always make the deck extra filthy. I watched the video for Restore A Deck product and am leaning towards using that. Does the brightener and cleaner need to be used still? And what are your thoughts in a “natural” color?
Some of the boards/railings still look kind of rough.

132768DC-9AF0-4D48-95AD-817F5DCD3CED.jpeg
3779E121-D745-4CFB-B502-02AE8897B337.jpeg
8EADCF7A-03FE-4FCB-BFAD-37CB6266A7BC.jpeg
Kris
Kris
1 month ago

That is not a white stain on it. It is how the boards came out after cleaning them with 30 second deck cleaner. There is literally nothing on the boards.

Pam
Pam
2 months ago

Hi,
I have a 30 year old pressure treated deck which had a transparent stain applied 20 years ago. Last fall I hired a painter and he stained the deck with SW SuperDeck solid stain. The deck was not prepped properly and is peeling and lifting after one winter. I live in New Hampshire so we have every type of weather. The painter has agreed to redo the deck with my choice of product. He said he will lightly sand and prime the deck after washing it. So what is my best choice for stain? Oil or water based? Semi transparent, semi solid, solid? I’d love to not use a solid as the deck was natural wood prior to the newest application but I’m not sure that is possible. Also do you have a color recommendation, the house is BM Hale Navy Blue.
Thank you

5146CEA5-CF09-438B-830C-D31571A4EBB3.jpeg
16E8354B-B054-45D8-AB02-8F3DF56BE992.jpeg
0F896063-6E79-4213-9F01-E7EDF751C59F.jpeg
23AAEE15-04B3-4CC9-945F-B35A86CA0B34.jpeg
Pam
Pam
1 month ago

Thank you Scott
I am going to insist on power sanding the SW stain off so it doesn’t keep peeling. I’m thinking based on your reviews I should use Deck Restore Stripper and then Brightener as well as sanding and then using a solid stain on the handrails and a semi semi solid stain on the deck boards. Should I go for TWP 1500 or Deck Restore Stain?

Pam
Pam
1 month ago

Thank you.
I will post finished photos

Travis
Travis
2 months ago

Hi, I just sanded down our 30 year old redwood deck. I am wondering what stain to use. Would like to keep it looking as natural as possible while preventing the redwood from the weathered grey color. I was able to remove a lot of the weathered grey from the deck boards and get them red again but was not able to sand down the railing and built in seating bench as much so they still has a brown appearance. I also had to replace the top hand rail with red cedar because I have not been able to buy redwood in my area. So I am looking for a stain to blend everything together without covering up the natural redwood color… if that’s possible

Travis DeBoer
Travis DeBoer
2 months ago

So even though it’s old wood,just newly sanded, I wait the 3 months to stain as if it was new wood

ASW
ASW
2 months ago

Hi – six years ago, I used Cabot semi-solid oil-based deck stain in redwood color on my PT pine wood deck, in a semi-shading location in Atlanta area. Its a 12 year old deck. Its past time to re-stain and looking for a rec on what I could use and how to prep. Do I need to stick with oil-based or can I switch to water-based? I am prepared and ready to sand down the horizontal surface; the vertical as much as possible. Other factor is I have black walnut trees that stain a portion of the deck every late summer with the falling walnuts, so definitely plan to go to a pretty dark color to help counteract that staining. Should I stick with a semi-solid / solid, particularly if I can’t get all the previous paint off the vertical surfaces? To note that a few boards were replaced about 8 months ago. pics included. thanks much

IMG_1424.jpg
IMG_1425.jpg
IMG_1426.jpg
ASW
ASW
2 months ago

Many thanks!

Les
Les
2 months ago

Applied Behr premium semi transparent water based stain to pt pine deck. Deck was constructed new last fall. This is the first stain application. About two weeks old. Stain is sticky. Can this be stripped? What to do? Thanks

Les
Les
2 months ago

Pics—deck is tacky. I followed the instructions on the can but it acts like the second coat was too heavy? Behr said to scrub with soapy water which I did. No help

image.jpg
image.jpg
image.jpg
Les
Les
2 months ago

Thought so ☹️ Thanks for your input

Les
Les
2 months ago

After I sand this off, what prep and stain would you recommend? Located in south central Pennsylvania. Thanks again

Les
Les
2 months ago

Can you recommend a prep and stain to use once I get the sanding finished? Thanks

Jessica Riedel
Jessica Riedel
2 months ago

Hi! I live in CT and have a 3 year old deck. We used Thompson water seal, and it didn’t even last a full year. What is your recommendation to use? I attached photos of when I first did it to now.

055BA52B-E6E3-4FCA-A57E-5387C587F649.jpeg
D8A9474F-3441-41E0-A83C-335B4B7978E8.jpeg
Jessica Riedel
Jessica Riedel
2 months ago

Does it matter that we already used Thompson on pressure treated wood?

Jessica Riedel
Jessica Riedel
2 months ago

Most of the wood it soaks in… some part that is covered still beads

Dennis incorvaia
Dennis incorvaia
2 months ago

Applied CWF to a pressure treated deck after a year after installation and it peeled the first year . Used CWF on fences for 15 years never an issue. I am planning to power wash and re Stain it ? What is good product to use to stop peeling

Linda Savoie
Linda Savoie
2 months ago

Hi,
What is your opinion on « Seal Once Marine » product? We are looking to restain our cedar patio..that is almost free of the old stain and « sheds » during heavy rain, leaving a residu on the furniture legs and the side of the house.
We live in the Maritimes…all sort of weather conditions..
Thank you!
L.

27C1F640-D529-48CD-A79E-FC5A57470AFD.jpeg
Don Torlina
Don Torlina
2 months ago

HI,
cool info and videos,
Have a 2 year old cedar deck that is peeling on the weather exposed flat surfaces. Ugh! The stain used was “Behr premium semi transparent waterproofing stain & sealer”.
Question…. can I use the strip / brighten / stain approach you show in the videos with the Behr semi transparent currently on my deck?
Also we have a gazillion aluminum bolsters on the handrails….. how to stain around those darn things?
We live in Missouri.
Appreciate your guidance and recommendations!

Don Torlina
Don Torlina
2 months ago

Pics per your request.
Thanks!

2095367D-7FEA-42C6-B9CF-E3218B0FAF06.jpeg
86DE7499-7B72-42AF-9ED9-6E090766C4D5.jpeg
340066BB-1A4A-4B8D-93E3-268E5E1D288C.jpeg
599375A6-E06C-4387-98C8-8522AB96C8DD.jpeg
Don Torlina
Don Torlina
2 months ago

A couple of follow-up questions please….
1. When you say “clean to remove dirt”…. with what product and method? Chemical and power wash?
2. You pointed out that Behr can not be stripped….. but is doing a poor job at stripping better than just cleaning prior to using your recommended solid stain?
3. Last one…. we used the Behr “natural tone cedar”…. sort of the Garfield the cat orange. If we went with a different color solid stain, will the solid stain do a decent job at covering up the Garfield the cat orange? Don’t like the current color!

Appreciate your guidance and experience, Thanks!

Tanya
Tanya
2 months ago

We have a new construction home with rough cedar beams and rough wrapped cedar accents. Is there a stain combo we can do to make the wrapped cedar match the cedar beams?
Thanks

Brian Marcotte
Brian Marcotte
2 months ago

I live in Ontario Canada, my 1 year old cedar deck gets morning sun only. There are no mildew issues but the wood greyed like there was no stain applied at all. I used Behr premium semi-transparent clear stain. What do you recommend.

Prigita
Prigita
2 months ago

Where can I buy the Restore-A-Deck kit in Toronto, Canada?

Sarah
Sarah
2 months ago

We have a cedar deck that was only installed 3 years ago, but looks terrible due to peeling stain. We applied Pittsburgh stain/sealer twice over the past 2 summers, with the same result each time. We now realize that is a low quality product which likely contributed to the issue. We also live in Wisconsin, so it endures harsh winters and is exposed to full sun in the summers.
What product do you recommend? We plan to sand the deck prior to new application. Do we also need to do the cleaning and brightening steps?
Finally, do we need to sand the headers in additin to the main deck? Thise are the only pirtion which have remained in good condition. Thank you for your help!

16519598823918369544922800823915.jpg
16519599134043188864922617059716.jpg
16519599605232956174467111175086.jpg
16519600446958608207682997648570.jpg
Robert
Robert
2 months ago

Writing about epi deck surrounding outdoor pool, upstate New York. Location gets full sun. No mildew issues. Deck received one coat of IPE OIL two years ago, and needs renewal. I’m not happy with the previous treatment. I read info on your website, and am more confused than ever. Simply put, what’s your recommendation? What’s your #1 choice? Many thanks, Robert P. S. I would like to retain the original ipe color.

Carol W
Carol W
3 months ago

We just had our 21-year-old deck soft power washed with a cleaner as well. It had been stained 4 years ago with an oil-based stain. We would like to use water based this time. Do you think this will work? As you can see, the deck has been thoroughly cleaned! Do you recommend any particular brand or type of stain?

deck1.jpg
deck2.jpg
deck3.jpg
deck4.jpg
Richard
Richard
3 months ago

Just moved into a place on the St. Johns river in Jacksonville, Florida. Humidity is usually 80+% and it rains a lot. One section of the deck is about a year old, made of pressure treated lumber and appears to have not been stained. I don’t know the age of the older section. I pressure washed the black gunk off of it, and it appeared as if it may have had an oil-based stain in the past, but almost zero color left. Pics of deck attached. First is pre-pressure wash. Others are pics of the older section after pressure wash.
Questions:
1) Should I used stripper?
2) If I do stripper, do I need cleaner as well? or just brightener after?
3) If mold and mildew prevention are the primary concern followed by preservation, do you recommend TWP 1500 or Restore a Deck? i tend to like oil-based stains, but I’ve read they may actually attract more mold.
I’m thinking about a semi-solid to hide some imperfections.
Thanks for the great site and advice.

IMG_1903 (2).jpg
IMG_1918.jpg
IMG_1919.jpg
Joe
Joe
3 months ago

Hello,
I just moved into a house with a deck and connected screened-in porch in Southern Maryland on the waterfront. The deck and porch wood both appear to be quite old and appear to be a mix of knotty pine, cedar and teak as part of a deck house (quite unique looking). They appear to have been previously stained with a solid stain, but it is worn and it looks like it has been many years since they were stained. Would you recommend re-staining with a solid stain given the age of the wood? Any recommendations for brands that would work well with older wood that is a mix of different types of wood? Would you recommend using Restore a Deck stripper and brightener as well? Thanks!

Carol
Carol
3 months ago

Our outdoor deck in Florida has been stained with “flood stain” a few times over the last 5 years. Can we change to something you feel is better that will give us longevity? If so, can we just apply right over the stain? We haven’t used the “flood stain” in about 2 years.

Carol
Carol
3 months ago

I’m not tech savvy at all. Can you give me an email to send the pictures to you. I know how to do that, just don’t know how to add them into this post. Thank you.

David
David
3 months ago

I just had a backyard bar built & the company recommended applying polyurethane to the bar top after staining or painting. I will be staining with Olympic elite as that is what I already used on stuff in the backyard. It is built out of pressure treated yellow pine. Is this right?

David
David
3 months ago

Thank you!

Larry Howard
Larry Howard
3 months ago

I’ve been told that if Penefin has been used to stain a deck, that you cannot use another type of stain, because it will not absorb or stick to the wood. Is this true?

Suzy warnock
Suzy warnock
4 months ago

Can any of these be used on treated decking

Steve Egge
Steve Egge
4 months ago

I am trying to find the best stain for uncapped composite decking. I’d like the result to be compatible with my surrounding wood decking which is a solid reddish brown, color. Ideally, I’d prefer an oil based product, for durability purposes, but I know there are some restrictions here in California ( I do live in Nevada County, CA…..which does get exempted from some VOC regulations, for some reason???) Thanks in advance for any help you might provide, Steve Egge

Kevin Sullivan
Kevin Sullivan
4 months ago

We use the original Rust-Oleum product 14 years ago on a concrete suspended platform on the second floor of our commercial building. We also did the exterior staircase which was concrete treads and concrete platforms. All these years later it has faded from the dark brown to a lighter brown none of it has peeled cracked or blistered. Maybe this should have been designed only for concrete since there’s so many wood problems.

Nick Walter
Nick Walter
4 months ago

My deck was built last February (roughly a year ago) while the attached stairs were done in November (roughly 5 months ago). Obviously the deck shows a bit more wear than the stairs do. I’m planning to clean/brighten the deck itself but outside of that is there any way to get the colors to match a bit better?

Also whats the general opinion on staining the underside of the deck and stairs? We figure since they’re visible and we’ll be under them a fair amount, we’d probably go ahead and stain the underside as well..

IMG_7357.jpg
Phil Grande
Phil Grande
4 months ago

Hello. Read the article and several others. Very informative. I Have a 22 year old Cedar deck, and just sanded the surface AND installed new vinyl railing. Since we sanded it well, do I need to apply cleaner/brightener on the Cedar before TWP or other ? Looking at TWP as a supplier, deep penetrating to bring out the wood grain. Recommendations for this first staining post sanding, AND will cleaner/brightener harm vinyl railing ? Thanks for your advice.