The 7 Best Deck Stain Reviews and Ratings 4.8/5 (309)

by Deck Stain Help

This post was updated on January 13, 2022

Best Deck Stain Reviews for 2022

For a more in-depth article on “What is The Best Deck Stain for Your Deck” see this article: The Best Deck Stain

DeckStainHelp.com is a help and review site with the goal of offering advice to homeowners with the laborious task of restoring their exterior wooden decks, docks, and wood homes. We have been using and reviewing wood and deck stains since we started working on restoring exterior wood in the early 1990s. We developed this site to help consumers research and ask questions on what would be the best deck stain, with the goal of longevity and, just as important, the ease of reapplication.

Our favorite deck stains have always been penetrating semi-transparent and semi-solid stains. These stain types allow the wood grain to show, and if they truly soak into the wood grain, reapplying is easier down the road. The problem we have noticed in the last 5-10 years is that not all semi-transparent stains are penetrating. Many manufacturers have gone away with the true penetrating stains because of VOC laws and for profitability. These non-penetrating stains will dry on top of the wood and will be prone to peeling and failure while looking more like paint than a stain. Believe it or not, deck stains performed better 10-20 years ago with wearing and peeling than they do in 2022. There have been some major advancements though with UV protection in the past 5-10 years. Nano-particles of zinc oxides and improvements to trans-oxides have shown excellent UV resistance.

The good news is you can still find some quality deck stains in 2022 that will offer UV protection, penetrate deep into the wood grain, and highlights the natural beauty of the wood all while making the ease of reapplication a breeze down the road.

Best Deck Stain Ratings

Best Deck Stain Reviews

Best Semi-Transparent Deck Stain Review

Best Newer Deck Stain in 2022: Restore-A-Deck Wood Stain can be applied to dry or damp wood. Applying to damp wood allows you the ability to prep and stain on the same day, saving you a tremendous amount of time. In 2018, our first full year of using the Restore A Deck stain, we had zero issues with performance and saved a tremendous amount of time with the ability to prep and stain on the same day. We will continue to offer the Restore A Deck Wood Stain as one of our go-to decking stains for the 2022 restoration season. The Restore A Deck Stains come in both Semi-Transparent and Solid Colors.

Best Semi-Solid Deck Stain Review

Best New Semi-Solid Stain for 2022: Available in 30 Custom Colors, the TWP® Semi-Solid Pro-Series will keep your wood beautiful, fresh, and looking new longer! The ease of application and maintenance will allow you to enjoy your investment for years to come. TWP® Semi-Solid Pro-Series provides a broad spectrum of weather protection, is water repellent, and aids in color retention. TWP® Semi-Solid Pro-Series resists water absorption that causes warping, cracking, splitting, and prevents freeze damage in colder climates.

If you have any questions on this rating and review of deck stains, please ask below. For a more in-depth article on “What is The Best Deck Stain for Your Deck” see this article: The Best Deck Stain


The Top 7 Deck Stain Ratings

Each deck stain review that we do offers two rating types. Our DeckStainHelp.com review is based on our experience with the deck stain and the Consumer Star Ratings, which are based on actual customers’ experiences with using the same stain.

Consumer Star Ratings are based on these criteria:

  • Ease of Application
  • Appearance After Application
  • Preventing UV Graying at 2 Year Mark
  • Wear and Tear After 2 years
  • Color Shifting/Darken in Color (5 Star = No Darkening)
  • Preventing Mold/Mildew/Algae at 2 Year Mark

Top Oil-Based Deck Stain Ratings
1. TWP 100 Series
2. Armstrong Clark Wood Stain
3. TWP 1500 Series
4. TWP Pro-Series Semi-Solid

Top Water-Based Deck Stain Ratings
1. Restore-A-Deck Wood Stain
2. Defy Extreme Stain
3. Defy Hardwood/Cedar Stain

Listed below, we summarize our Best Deck Stain Ratings for the 2022 deck season, based on these criteria stated above.

The 7 Best Deck Stains

1. TWP 100 Series Rating

TWP 100 Deck Stain RatingsTWP 100 Series penetrates well into the wood, fades lightly in color, and holds up to wear and tear. We like that when it is time to redo the wood in 2-3 years, the TWP can be cleaned and re-coated or even removed with ease. This makes the reapplication process much easier. TWP 100 Series is only allowed in 35 States and cannot be used in Canada.
Stain Type: Penetrating Semi-Transparent Oil-Based. Full Curing EPA Registered Stain.
Consumer Star Ratings:  4.5/5 (40)
DeckStainHelp.com Review (On a scale of 1-10): 8.69
See Review Article Here: TWP 100 Series Review

2. Restore-A-Deck Wood Stain Rating

Restore A Deck Wood Stain ReviewRestore-A-Deck Wood Stain can be applied to dry or damp wood. Applying to damp wood allows you the ability to prep and stain on the same day, saving you a tremendous amount of time. Restore-A-Deck Wood Stain is an advanced, water-based, semi-transparent stain formulation designed to penetrate deep into wood pores for maximum protection and longevity. Restore-A-Deck Wood Stain protects the wood from harmful UV rays and damage caused by water penetration.
Stain Type: Penetrating Semi-Transparent Water-Based. Full Curing Damp Application Stain.
Consumer Star Ratings:  4.5/5 (46)
DeckStainHelp.com Review (On a scale of 1-10): 8.625
See Review Article Here: Restore-A-Deck Wood Stain Review

Restore-A-Deck Consumer Video Review

3. Armstrong Clark Wood Stain Rating

Armstrong Clark Wood Stain RatingThe Armstrong Clark Wood stain has been a solid performer since we started reviewing and using it about 10 years ago. We really like how it penetrates deep into the wood grain and applies easily. Reapplication is simple with a good deck cleaner for the prep. One thing we have noticed is to make sure you do not overapply. You want the AC to soak completely into the wood. Compliant for all US states and Canada.
Stain Type: Penetrating Transparent, Semi-Transparent, Semi-Solid Oil-Based. Paraffin and Curing Oil Blend. Full Curing Stain.
Consumer Star Ratings:  4.4/5 (59)
DeckStainHelp.com Review (On a scale of 1-10): 8.5
See Review Article Here: Armstrong Clark Stain Review

4. TWP Pro-Series Semi-Solid Wood Stain Rating

TWP Semi-Solid Stain

What we like best about the TWP Semi-Solid Stain is that it is easy to apply, will be easy to prep and reapply when the time comes, and holds color very well from the UV. We are very excited and look forward to using the TWP Semi-Solid colors. Maximum UV protection and a much larger color palette is the top reason we will offer the TWP Semi-Solid to all of our customers. TWP Semi-Solid is only allowed in 35 States and cannot be used in Canada.
Stain Type: Penetrating Semi-Solid Oil-Based. Full Curing Stain.
Consumer Star Ratings: 4.9/5 (5)
DeckStainHelp.com Review (On a scale of 1-10): 8.50
See Review Article Here: TWP Semi-Solid Series Review

5. TWP 1500 Series Rating

TWP 1500 Series RatingTWP 1500 Series is one of the better wood and decking stains and is one of our top choices. As contractors, we really like stains that penetrate deep into the wood and can be reapplied without sanding. TWP 1500 fits this and more by adding excellent UV and mold protection. Maintaining TWP every 2-3 years is easy. TWP 1500 is compliant for all US states, but not Canada.
Stain Type: Penetrating Semi-Transparent Oil-Based. Full Curing EPA Registered Stain.
Consumer Star Ratings:  4.3/5 (24)
DeckStainHelp.com Review (On a scale of 1-10): 8.5
See Review Article Here: TWP 1500 Series Review

6. Defy Extreme Wood Stain Rating

Defy Extreme Wood Stain RatingWe find the Defy Extreme Wood Stain to be one of the best performing water-based deck stains on the market. The zinc oxide Nano-particles do double duty in preventing UV fading and preventing mold or mildew growth. The Defy Extreme penetrates into the wood grain extremely well for a water-based stain, resulting in a non-filming coating that is not prone to peeling or wear from traffic. We use the Defy Extreme on about 30-50 deck restorations every year in the Midwest and is one of our go-to brands. Compliant for all US states and Canada.
Stain Type: Penetrating Semi-Transparent Water-Based. Full Curing Stain with Nano-particles of Zinc Oxide.
Consumer Star Ratings:  4.1/5 (52)
DeckStainHelp.com Review (On a scale of 1-10): 8.47
See Review Article Here: Defy Extreme Stain Review

7. Ready Seal Wood Stain Rating

Ready Seal Stain Rating

Ready Seal Wood Stain contains the non-drying oil paraffin, which dives into the wood fibers and does not cure on the surface. There are many positives to paraffin stains, such as user-friendly application and an even finish. The negatives can be poorer UV resistance and coverage rates with an oily finish that can stay on top of the surface. For an easy to apply even finish Ready Seal Wood and Deck Stain is a great choice. It may be necessary, however, to reapply every 12-18 months due to color loss.
Stain Type: Penetrating Transparent Paraffin Oil-Based. Non-Curing.
Consumer Star Ratings:  3.9/5 (55)
DeckStainHelp.com Review (On a scale of 1-10): 7.75
See Review Article Here: Ready Seal Stain Review

Top Deck Stain Reviews Ratings Video – DeckStainHelp.com

Deck Stain Review Photos

Deck Stain Rating Questions

If you have questions on this review of deck stains, please ask below. For a more in-depth article on “What is The Best Deck Stain for Your Deck” see this article: The Best Deck Stain


Please Rate This. You may also post comments or ask questions below.

The 7 Best Deck Stain Rating Results in 2022

5 273
4 25
3 3
2 1
1 5
0 2

Related Deck Stain Help Articles & Reviews

guest
1.4K Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Patricia Bryant
Patricia Bryant
1 month ago

Do you have experience/ideas on the topic of plasticiser/paint staining/sealing, compared to oil based stain products.

I live in Blue Mountains west of Sydney in NSW, Australia. New owner of 20 -30 year old house… am sure deck is newer, but whatever applied by previous owner, becomes deeply mould affected in winter…. absolutely no sun at all.

Recently water pressured clean with some resistent areas of previous ? Coatings. Not sure of wood type , certainly not jarrah!

Sue Anne
Sue Anne
1 month ago

I recently bought a new house and the deck needs some work. I’m not sure what it is stained with, or when, but it needs to be redone. About half is in the hot Texas sun all day. The other half is in the shade.

Do I need to strip this, sand it, or just powerwash it?

What can I do to make this deck looking great.

20211125_121106.jpg
20211125_121112.jpg
20211125_121115.jpg
Martin willis
Martin willis
3 months ago

20 year old composite deck turned gray. What can I use to restored the color?

Tom Evans
Tom Evans
3 months ago

I have a 20 x 20 cedar deck installed in 1993. Partial sun and shade. This year I replaced a few planks so some new and some old. I used Penofin in the past and was not happy with the darkening. I have stripped the Penofin and deck now without stain heading into winter. I may have some time to get stained before weather turns or wait until spring. Looking any the reviews, I’m leaning toward either Defy or Restore a deck. Thoughts own which would be the best choice, and if I should wait until spring?

Trina Hughes
Trina Hughes
3 months ago

I need some help on what to do with this. It seems it has never been stained and the only wood that is horrible is the wood in the front because the porch isn’t covered. I have been trying to figure this out since August. Can you please assist me on what is the best plan?

Trina Hughes
Trina Hughes
3 months ago

I did but here you go

Trina Hughes
Trina Hughes
3 months ago
Reply to  Trina Hughes

The deck is the original from house with old wood but some of them look bad with cracks and some wood has been placed. I am at a stand still on what stain and colors I should do. Please let me know if the pictures came through and I can take more that are closer to show the wear and tear.

Trina Hughes
Trina Hughes
3 months ago

Hope here are a few

Richard
Richard
3 months ago

I have 2 year old Behr Premium deck stain from Home Depot that did a terrible job of protecting my deck from cracking, alge & fungi in Michigan. For prep, I scrubbed & pressure washed with a cleaner. Do I need to actually strip it before applying TWP or Restore-a-deck?

Richard
Richard
3 months ago

Thanks for the help.

Allie
Allie
3 months ago

Can you offer advice on staining and sealing a brand new douglas fir (shingle covered) pavilion? I’m lost trying to compare vertical and non foot traffic types of stain and sealers, as obviously it’s different than staining and sealing a deck. Looking for richer wood tones, and sealing WITHOUT major hassle in future maintenance. Any areas to point me to would be MUCH appreciated. Seems every professional paint store you call has “the best product” for that. And they’re all different LOL.

Bethany
Bethany
3 months ago

Which of your top five stains would you use on a wood deck near a swimming pool. There is 3 feet of concrete between the pool and deck . I recently refinished a covered wood porch with clear DEFY . Would that work on the pool deck ?

Bethany
Bethany
3 months ago
Reply to  Bethany

Thanks, would Behr’s all in one wood and deck cleaner work for prep on 7 year old deck that was either painted or solid stained. S W Ohio , full sun, 90% of finished has peeled off , near chlorinated swim pool. Sand or strip ?

Bethany
Bethany
3 months ago

We have decided to use RAD semitransparent after sanding, cleaning & brightening. Do we need to wait to stain after the prep ? Is it considered “new wood” after sanding ?

Bethany
Bethany
3 months ago

Does sanded wood get one or two coats of RAD semi transparent wood?

Bethany
Bethany
3 months ago

What kind of sander should I use for this project? 16 x 20 floor and a couple of built in benches

Bethany
Bethany
3 months ago

Stripper has worked on this previously solid stain or paint. Have done some sanding with 60 and 80 grit. It is now supposed to rain a lot over the next week. Should we wait to use the RAD cleaner and brightener when we have better weather? Should we cover the “naked” wood until then ?

Kerry
Kerry
3 months ago

I saw that Sherwin Williams Deckscapes didn’t get a good review. What about SW SuperDeck? Have you ever used that in the semi-transparent stains?

Cass
Cass
3 months ago

We have a deck that is about 20 years old. We inherited home from family and have added railing to deck and new stairs. The deck is 80% in shade and 20% sunshine. We live in the south so we get lots of moisture (even though the 80% is covered by a roof). Would you recommend a stain that would allow the woodgrain to show through? We need mold resistant.

Terry
Terry
4 months ago

How much TWP 100 would I need to stain about 600 sq ft of deck and 400 sq ft of posts and railings?

Terry
Terry
4 months ago

Do the post and railings need two coats as well?

Taylor
Taylor
4 months ago

Getting ready to apply revitalize Pittsburgh paint on my deck. I have seen mixed reviews with the complaints being about pealing and not being able to get it off to redo it when it starts to peal. Is this a good product?

Jay
Jay
4 months ago

Have you evaluated Rymar stains in comparison to TWP 100? for new cedar siding and decks.

Jim
Jim
4 months ago

Staining my deck with semi transparent stain, when it begins to peal can I just sand down the peeling area and reapply or do I have to sand the entire deck to the wood again

Jim
Jim
4 months ago

Ok thanks, just got done sanding down a 12×24 deck with a walkout underneath don’t want to do it again. Also I seen bad reviews about sherwin Williams super deck. I used their new formula on my porch been two years and holding up well. Gets about 12 hrs of sun. Semi transparent, no fading yet a little mildew where the water sits though. Thanks again for the quick reply.

Lee
Lee
5 months ago

We power washed and finally sanded (final sanding with 120 grit … Unfortunately we read tips afterwards) our 23 year old deck to remove old semi solid stain. Do we need to wait 1 month before staining (it will start freezing next month in September here in Michigan and I’m concerned about staining that late. I originally thought I could stain shortly after sanding)? Also do we need to use both a cleaner and brightener on the sanded wood? Would you recommend RAD or TWP for the north facing deck?

C. J. Boley
C. J. Boley
5 months ago

Extreme novice in all things involving painting/finishing. I purchased and assembled a pre-fab cedar pavilion that was pre-stained with a water based pigment only stain (per manufacturer). They claim it now needs to be “sealed.” My preference is to not change the color because I like it but will if need be. I’d like to apply a clear coating to seal if that’s possible. I’ll be very happy to take any recommendations and use your links as a thank you.

Last edited 5 months ago by C. J. Boley
Randy Markey
Randy Markey
5 months ago

Considering restaining (power wash prep, at least) my 80′ segments of (white & red) cedar fence line. What makes restaining a fence line different from all these deck inquiries and your very competent responses? Some stain is peeling off, after power washing am I likely to have to consider power sanding (the older red cedar is more rough hewn). Thanks

Randy Markey
Randy Markey
5 months ago

Here’s a pic:

Maritza
Maritza
5 months ago

Hello,
I live in Charlotte NC. I  have a multi level deck, sections 23ft X 17ft and 5ft X 13ft are 10 years old. Also a new addition 17ft X 14ft which was built in June. Next month I’m hosting an outdoor party and the entire deck has to be stained. 
 The older deck had Behr solid stain but I had experience with issues with peeling and mildew every year. This older portion is already stripped and power washed.
I want to switch to an oil based stain either semi-transparent or semi-solid, allowing the wood grain to show. Which stain do you recommend and how many gallons?

Thanks in advance!
Maritza

20210701_085740.jpg
Maritza
Maritza
5 months ago

Can I use TWP to stain the old deck and the new one next month?
Thanks

Maritza D DPool
Maritza D DPool
5 months ago

Semi-transparente or semi-solid TWP stain

Maritza D DPool
Maritza D DPool
5 months ago

Semi-transparente or semi-solid TWP stain? I like the look of semi-transparente but I’ll have to stain it again in a 1-2 years.
Which of the semi-solid stain will allow the wood grain to show?
And how long until I’ll have to stain it again?
Thanks in advance!

Maritza
Maritza
5 months ago

How do you apply the semi-transparent TWP stain and how many coats?

Thanks

Maritza
Maritza
5 months ago

What is best to use for semi-transparent a paintbrush or push brush?
Thanks

Maritza D DPool
Maritza D DPool
5 months ago

What type of floor brush is the best? Sorry, I’m confused which one to buy.
Thanks

Maritza
Maritza
5 months ago

Today I sanded the deck, now I have to do the cleaning/brightening and the staining. Unfortunately Charlotte’s weather forecast looks very rainy this week. Can I do the cleaning/brightening if it rains the next day? How long after I can stain the deck?

Thanks

Maritza
Maritza
5 months ago

I read water/rain raises the grain of a freshly sanded deck, suggesting to tarp it. If I do the cleaning/brightening a day before raining I don’t need to cover it? I purchased Restore-a- Deck kit, will the deck be protected from the rain if I apply before starts raining.

Thanks

Maritza D DP
Maritza D DP
5 months ago

I have a lot of birds flying over my deck. Since I have to wait at least a week to stain after cleaning/britening the deck. Can I wash it just before staining it?
Can the deck be wet before staining it?
Thanks

Maritza D DP
Maritza D DP
5 months ago
Reply to  Maritza D DP

Have been raining a lot here in Charlotte NC. Since it rained Saturday, I know have to wait until tomorrow to stain the deck. Unfortunately rain is forecasted for Wednesday. Can I still stain it tomorrow? How long does it take for the stain to dry?
Thanks

Maritza D DPool
Maritza D DPool
5 months ago

The total deck area is around 670 square ft. Including the new addition.
Do you think 5 gallons of TWP 100 series will be enough? I know I’ll have to wait 4 months to stain the new addition.
How long can I store the leftover stain until I need it for the new deck?
Is one coat enough?

Thanks

Greg
Greg
6 months ago

Hello. I currently have a 10×16 covered deck, pressure treated wood, which was last stained with “Behr Premium Semi-Transparent Waterproofing Exterior Wood Stain and Sealer”. The deck is 20 years old but in excellent condition. I am currently having a contractor install a 10×16 addition to the deck, to make it 20×16 overall. I am not removing the current decking. So half of my deck will be new pressure treated wood, and half will be 20 year old pressure treated wood which has been refinished several times over the years. I know I need to refinish the older portion when I stain the new portion….what steps / product would you recommend to make the old and new portions of the deck have the same appearance and color, giving the impression that it was all built at the same time? (The old portion will remain covered, and the new portion will be uncovered). Thanks!

Greg
Greg
6 months ago

If I strip the old decking well, do you think I could use a semi-solid in a dark color? (I don’t really care for the look of solid stain.)

Jerry
Jerry
6 months ago

I’m refinishing a deck in Illinois. I will have to replace 2-3 boards that have rotted due to previous homeowner neglect. I’m powerwashing the old stuff off but it’s hard to get off in the less trafficked areas, so I bought a Cabot stripper and brightener. Most of the deck gets a lot of hot sun in summer and snow and cold in winter. Some is in the shade. Should I sand this after stripping? And can I apply a semi-transparent to replace this solid stain so I don’t have to go thru this next time? Also, when restraining do I treat the 2-3 new boards same as the rest of the deck or do one less coat? Pictures are of what I’ve been able to power wash off and another area I haven’t started on yet

6AAECC78-91BA-4DDE-92C3-AE4A6EA8949D.jpeg
CCB4B061-5AFB-4285-A5CA-79A2339B9667.jpeg
Jerry
Jerry
6 months ago

Thank you. Previous owner used indoor screws and they are all very rusted, some having left rust stains around them. The boards also have some decent sized cracks, an example of which is pictured. Would I be better off with a solid stain to cover up some of this, or could I use a semi-transparent as initially hoped?

EC0E917B-AFE4-45E4-AF23-F4E9F1CE3B74.jpeg
6C2B113C-9874-4DBE-8B2D-C062BDBEB740.jpeg
Wayne
Wayne(@wayne)
6 months ago

What is your opinion of Sherwin Williams Super Deck semi transparent waterbase?

VVNIll
VVNIll
6 months ago

Hi, This site is a very helpful resource. Thanks!!

We have a newly sanded deck. Used the drum sander and belt sander together with ~12 hours to sand Behr deck over paint off our 600sq ft deck. Tried stripping/power washing and had to sand this at the end.

Two questions:
A) we are considering a gray solid stain from RAD or Thompson. In 2-3 years, will we need to sand this off or will it come off using a stripper. We may consider changing colors in future and I would like to avoid sanding this off again. If there is a different stain type we should use, please let us know. We are in northern Illinois.

B) after sanding, my plan is to clean and brighten with RAD, and next stain. Is the the right approach?

Thanks again!!

Summer Crook
Summer Crook
6 months ago

I am trying to find a nice, dark, semi-transparent stain and sealant for my new, pressure-treated pine pergola. It was built 4 months ago, and I think it’s ready for stain. I’m having a hard time finding a dark enough stain that is still semi-transparent and is not too red. The closest color to what I want I found with Olympic Maximum in color Oxford Brown. Is this a good product???

Laura Dupler
Laura Dupler
6 months ago

Built a fairly large deck two years ago. We are getting older and longevity and ease of reapplication are important. The outside walls of covered area are fairly rough cut oak. We have let them age for two years. Just did a thorough pressure wash. Would like to retain wood grain look instead of cover up. A clear to semi transparent probably. Do not necessarily have to have color added but would like the option. Recommendations??

Lori
Lori
6 months ago

Which stain would be best for a new pressure treated wood deck in the Midwest which gets a lot of sun, RAD or Defy and why? It has weathered about 10 months.

Rich
Rich
7 months ago

Just built a new front porch with pine treated wood for house in the northeast. Would like to cover in white stain/paint (except floor boards) but options seem limited. Suggestions?

Robert Rohwer
Robert Rohwer
7 months ago

I live in the Seattle area. In Aug 2016 I installed new 5/4 x 6 cedar decking and stained it with Storm 2 cedar toned. In Sep 2019 I refinished it by using Storm wood stripper and then sanding. Again I applied Storm 2. The finish faded more quickly this time so in Oct 2020 I refinished it again by stripping and this time not sanding. Now I have some white spots at knots and tight grain probably due to not sanding. I feel like being done with the Storm System. The wood is in excellent shape. Please recommend a new product and process for the next refinishing. Thanks!

Robert Rohwer
Robert Rohwer
7 months ago

Excellent! Do you have a product suggestion for a stripper and brightener? I really appreciate the information.

Robert Rohwer
Robert Rohwer
6 months ago

Hi again, I did a light cleaning and the previous finish held tight except for some small areas that the previous stain had “peeled” from and left the cedar to appear still treated but without any pigment. What do you suggest now? Stronger cleaning over just those areas? It is such a small percentage of the deck I really do not want to fully strip the whole thing.

Robert Rohwer
Robert Rohwer
6 months ago

pics attached

IMG_4447.JPG
IMG_4448.JPG
IMG_4449.JPG
Robert Rohwer
Robert Rohwer
6 months ago

Thanks. What product do you recommend I strip it with and how strong do I mix it?

Robert Rohwer
Robert Rohwer
6 months ago

And do I strip just the bad boards or the whole deck?

Robert Rohwer
Robert Rohwer
5 months ago

OK, I bought the stripper and both additives. The instructions say to use the separate brightener after stripping. Do I buy this as well?

Barbara
Barbara
7 months ago

I am using Behr premium solid color waterproofing stain and sealer on a 25 yr+ deck. There is a 50% chance of rain in 6 hrs. Humidity 69. Do you think it will dry ok before the rain? Or should I wait?

Jane
Jane
7 months ago

I have an 18 year old cedar deck that has never been stained or treated. I like the gray color but I was told I should put on some kind of sealer. What do you recommend?

Jane
Jane
7 months ago

How often does the sealer need to be applied?

Arlene
Arlene
7 months ago

I want to change the stain color on my deck. We have semi transparent stain on there now. What do we need to do?
We pressure washed already. I can still see the old color. Do we have to remove all the old color off the deck? Do we need to sand that off. Should we use a sold or a semi sold this time?

Val
Val
7 months ago

Our local hardware stores only cary Cabot Brand. I Live at 7000 ft above South Lake Tahoe. Snow Ice and dry air with strong sun in the summer. I don’t see a rating for Cabot brand.

Lee
Lee
7 months ago

I am planning to stain an old deck that has never been stained. It is in fair condition. I am not seeking perfection to cover flaws in wood etc. and am trying to be frugal. I am thinking about using the Armstrong Clark semi-solid stain. IS this a good choice for older decking for ease of application and protection?

Steve
Steve
7 months ago

Going to apply stain/sealer to a new pressure treated deck and would like your recommendation. We are looking for a long term finish. The wood is at least 10 months old. Thanks

Kristine Sipple
Kristine Sipple
7 months ago

We just moved and now have large covered mahogany front /back deck & stairs . They have been using Cabot natural stains yearly staining it . Can we switch stains without sanding etc to one you recommend ? Can you comment on Cabot brand

Mary
Mary
7 months ago

Have used Rustoleum Restore for my deck about 8 years ago – the decking is fine but has been coming off the 2 x 4 rails – now need to redo the deck – what can I used to go over the Restore – sanded it with 60 grit palm sander – pressure washed – did this twice – no more comes off – but about 60-70% still on – what can I use to seal over this restore? What would be the best recommended product that will last. Also what would adhere to the Restore – a solid stain or a deck paint? Looking for recommended product to use – cannot keep doing this…help!! Can send

Deck.JPG
Railing 2.JPG
Railing.JPG
Ben
Ben
7 months ago

I’ve got a pine deck, the wood is good quality and fairly old (late 80’s). I’ve sanded the entire thing and I’m getting really frustrated with stain/sealer. I want to keep the nice bright color of the wood and Thompson’s water seal has made it look dingy and dirty. I tried Behr Waterproofing Stain and Sealer Penetrating Oil in Cedar Naturaltone and it looks even darker. What can I put on this deck to protect it but keep the wood as light and clean as possible.

IMG_6005.jpg
Carol
Carol
7 months ago

We have a pressure treated deck with a lot of trees. New Jersey. Each year we have a time consuming process: wash deck with a bleach-based cleaner and then sand the deck before staining to remove mold and dirt from the trees. This takes a month to do – waiting for pollen to subside, rain, etc. We use Benjamin Moore stain. What stain can we use that would not require re-sanding and just cleaning each Spring?

nick
nick
8 months ago

I have used Big Box Stains with varying results. I am looking for something better. What would you recommend for a boat house built 20 years ago? -Pressure treated wood in Florida over a fresh water lake. Wood is in fairly decent shape for age

John Rizer
John Rizer
8 months ago

I used Behr stain on my deck several years ago and as you know did not work. When I sand it off what grain of sandpaper and type of sander (renting one) do I need and then what would be my next step before staining again?

Rita Thompson
Rita Thompson
8 months ago

We have just completed a screened in patio with cedar on the roof and inner trim.. We live in Austin Texas where the weather can be hot and humid. Do you have any thoughts about penofin verde stain. Thank you for your help.

Rita Thompson
Rita Thompson
8 months ago

Thank you is there a benefit to finish cedar without staining it.

Mela
Mela
8 months ago

Our 19 year old 14×14 gazebo has a solid stain on it that is peeling. Looking for the best solution to make it shine again. Have had deck companies tell us to sand and re-stain and others tell us to paint over it with a solid stain rather than one that sinks into the wood like a true stain. Any tips would be greatly appreciated. Any brands that work better than others? Heard Sherwin Williams is a great choice but now reading bad reviews. What to do?

Elizabeth a
Elizabeth a
8 months ago

Great informative site! We are buying new house in Ohio. 870sf of deck that I believe is painted or solid stain red. Will restore a deck (3 products) and pressure wash remove? Or do I need to sand? And if sand, a belt, orbital sander like the machines for interior hardwood floor refinishing? Or should I punt and apply solid stain over the red mess? Thx

75CCF1C1-65A3-48FE-9333-F818D596FCA6.jpeg
2480FF96-3130-48C2-A8FC-9626FB284F4C.jpeg
Elizabeth a
Elizabeth a
8 months ago

I prefer it not to look like it is painted. I’d prefer it to look like it had stain deep into the wood and not have yearly maintenance. Thx

Kristin Ciano
Kristin Ciano
8 months ago

What do you recommend for stripping paint from an ipe deck?
We were planning to use super wood deck stripper. Is this a good option? What would you recommend?

We are located in California.

Mitch Mears
Mitch Mears
8 months ago

Had new pressure treated deck built 9 months ago, most of it has a lot of sun exposure and turning bright, nearly white. Looking for the best stain or sealer that I won’t have to reapply every year. Thanks!

Jeff Davison
Jeff Davison
9 months ago

Can Olympic Maximum clear deck stain be used in a pump sprayer?

Jeff Davison
Jeff Davison
9 months ago

Ok, it had been recommended to me by a professional so that’s why I asked. Does Armstrong Clark Wood Stain (your #3 choice above) work in a pump spayer? (I can’t use TWP because I am in Canada.)

Debbie
Debbie
9 months ago

Our deck is well over 10 years old although I don’t remember the exact age. We have discussed demo but hopefully can restore again. We like the look of natural wood so considering a semi transparent stain. Also considering two-tone finish so railings can be skipped next application. Please recommend if you think deck can be saved and if so best cleaner and stain for our situation. We did pressure wash a small portion in the fall to see what the natural would look like. Thank you in advance. Your website is very informative.

1. TN
2. Facing south with early morning shade from house then full sun until very late afternoon.
3. Pressure treated pine
4. No
5. Have only waterproofed in the past
6. Thompson’s

D52ECA0F-C97A-4CC3-9A5E-138F4BDE7A8A.jpeg
7A093E39-4226-437C-87DD-9A6B66F42298.jpeg
D82016A4-EC45-4422-96F5-3CB9C4B860A8.jpeg