The 7 Best Deck Stain Reviews and Ratings 4.8/5 (332)

Best Deck Stain Reviews for 2022

For a more in-depth article on “What is The Best Deck Stain for Your Deck” see this article: The Best Deck Stain

Click to Read More

 

Top-Rated Deck Stain Reviews

See below for more in-depth reviews of the top-rated deck stains in 2022.

Best Deck Stain

Oil-Based 

Best Deck Stain

Water-Based

Best Solid Color

Deck Stain

Best Applying Wood Deck Stain

Questions on Which of the 7 Best Deck Stains to use?

Want personalized help? Post your questions below in the comments and we’ll be glad to guide you toward the best deck stain and sealer. Please include any pictures you may have and a brief history of the deck.

Our Professional Deck Stain Advice

Our favorite deck stains have always been penetrating semi-transparent and semi-solid stains. These stain types allow the wood grain to show, and if they truly soak into the wood grain, reapplying is easier down the road. The problem we have noticed in the last 5-10 years is that not all semi-transparent stains are penetrating. Many manufacturers have gone away with the true penetrating stains because of VOC laws and for profitability. These non-penetrating stains will dry on top of the wood and will be prone to peeling and failure while looking more like paint than a stain. Believe it or not, deck stains performed better 10-20 years ago with wearing and peeling than they do in 2022. There have been some major advancements though with UV protection in the past 5-10 years. Nano-particles of zinc oxides and improvements to trans-oxides have shown excellent UV resistance.

The good news is you can still find some quality deck stains in 2022 that will offer UV protection, penetrate deep into the wood grain, and highlights the natural beauty of the wood all while making the ease of reapplication a breeze down the road.


Top 7 Deck Stain Reviews & Ratings

Each deck stain review that we do offers two rating types. Our DeckStainHelp.com review is based on our experience with the deck stain and the Consumer Star Ratings, which are based on actual customers’ experiences with using the same stain.

Deck Stain Star Ratings are based on these criteria:

  • Ease of Application
  • Appearance After Application
  • Preventing UV Graying at 2-Year Mark
  • Wear and Tear After 2 years
  • Color Shifting/Darken in Color (5 Star = No Darkening)
  • Preventing Mold/Mildew/Algae at 2-Year Mark

Listed below, we summarize our Best Deck Stain Ratings for the 2022 deck season, based on the criteria stated above. We have also broken them down into the top oil-based and water-based versions.

Top 4 Oil-Based Deck Stain Ratings
1. TWP 100 Series
2. Armstrong Clark Wood Stain
3. TWP 1500 Series
4. TWP Pro-Series Semi-Solid

Top 3 Water-Based Deck Stain Ratings
1. Restore-A-Deck Wood Stain
2. Defy Extreme Stain
3. Defy Hardwood/Cedar Stain

The 7 Best Deck Stain Ratings

1. TWP 100 Pro Series Stain Review

TWP 100 Deck Stain RatingsTWP 100 Series penetrates well into the wood, fades lightly in color, and holds up to wear and tear. We like that when it is time to redo the wood in 2-3 years, the TWP can be cleaned and re-coated or even removed with ease. This makes the reapplication process much easier. TWP 100 Series is only allowed in 35 States and cannot be used in Canada.
Stain Type: Penetrating Semi-Transparent Oil-Based. Full Curing EPA Registered Stain.
Consumer Star Ratings:  4.5/5 (40)
DeckStainHelp.com Review (On a scale of 1-10): 8.69
See the Review Article Here: TWP 100 Series Review

2. Restore-A-Deck Semi-Transparent Wood Stain Review

Restore A Deck Wood Stain ReviewRestore-A-Deck Wood Stain can be applied to dry or damp wood. Applying to damp wood allows you the ability to prep and stain on the same day, saving you a tremendous amount of time. Restore-A-Deck Wood Stain is an advanced, water-based, semi-transparent stain formulation designed to penetrate deep into wood pores for maximum protection and longevity. Restore-A-Deck Wood Stain protects the wood from harmful UV rays and damage caused by water penetration.
Stain Type: Penetrating Semi-Transparent Water-Based. Full Curing Damp Application Stain.
Consumer Star Ratings:  4.7/5 (47)
DeckStainHelp.com Review (On a scale of 1-10): 8.625
See the Review Article Here: Restore-A-Deck Wood Stain Review

Restore-A-Deck Consumer Video Review

3. Armstrong Clark Wood Stain Review

Armstrong Clark Wood Stain RatingThe Armstrong Clark Wood stain has been a solid performer since we started reviewing and using it about 10 years ago. We really like how it penetrates deep into the wood grain and applies easily. Reapplication is simple with a good deck cleaner for the prep. One thing we have noticed is to make sure you do not overapply. You want the AC to soak completely into the wood. Compliant for all US states and Canada.
Stain Type: Penetrating Transparent, Semi-Transparent, Semi-Solid Oil-Based. Paraffin and Curing Oil Blend. Full Curing Stain.
Consumer Star Ratings:  4.4/5 (60)
DeckStainHelp.com Review (On a scale of 1-10): 8.5
See the Review Article Here: Armstrong Clark Stain Review

4. TWP Pro-Series Semi-Solid Wood Stain Review

TWP Semi-Solid Stain

What we like best about the TWP Semi-Solid Stain is that it is easy to apply, will be easy to prep and reapply when the time comes, and holds color very well from the UV. We are very excited and look forward to using the TWP Semi-Solid colors. Maximum UV protection and a much larger color palette is the top reason we will offer the TWP Semi-Solid to all of our customers. TWP Semi-Solid is only allowed in 35 States and cannot be used in Canada.
Stain Type: Penetrating Semi-Solid Oil-Based. Full Curing Stain.
Consumer Star Ratings: 4.9/5 (6)
DeckStainHelp.com Review (On a scale of 1-10): 8.50
See the Review Article Here: TWP Semi-Solid Series Review

5. TWP 1500 Series Stain Review

TWP 1500 Series RatingTWP 1500 Series is one of the better wood and decking stains and is one of our top choices. As contractors, we really like stains that penetrate deep into the wood and can be reapplied without sanding. TWP 1500 fits this and more by adding excellent UV and mold protection. Maintaining TWP every 2-3 years is easy. TWP 1500 is compliant for all US states, but not Canada.
Stain Type: Penetrating Semi-Transparent Oil-Based. Full Curing EPA Registered Stain.
Consumer Star Ratings:  4.6/5 (20)
DeckStainHelp.com Review (On a scale of 1-10): 8.5
See the Review Article Here: TWP 1500 Series Review

6. Defy Extreme Wood Stain Review

Defy Extreme Wood Stain RatingWe find the Defy Extreme Wood Stain to be one of the best-performing water-based deck stains on the market. The zinc oxide Nano-particles do double duty in preventing UV fading and preventing mold or mildew growth. The Defy Extreme penetrates into the wood grain extremely well for a water-based stain, resulting in a non-filming coating that is not prone to peeling or wear from traffic. We use the Defy Extreme on about 30-50 deck restorations every year in the Midwest and is one of our go-to brands. Compliant for all US states and Canada.
Stain Type: Penetrating Semi-Transparent Water-Based. Full Curing Stain with Nano-particles of Zinc Oxide.
Consumer Star Ratings:  4.1/5 (54)
DeckStainHelp.com Review (On a scale of 1-10): 8.47
See the Review Article Here: Defy Extreme Stain Review

7. Ready Seal Wood Stain Review

Ready Seal Stain Rating

Ready Seal Wood Stain contains the non-drying oil paraffin, which dives into the wood fibers and does not cure on the surface. There are many positives to paraffin stains, such as a user-friendly application and an even finish. The negatives can be poorer UV resistance and coverage rates with an oily finish that can stay on top of the surface. For an easy to apply even finish Ready Seal Wood and Deck Stain is a great choice. It may be necessary, however, to reapply every 12-18 months due to color loss.
Stain Type: Penetrating Transparent Paraffin Oil-Based. Non-Curing.
Consumer Star Ratings:  3.7/5 (49)
DeckStainHelp.com Review (On a scale of 1-10): 7.75
See the Review Article Here: Ready Seal Stain Review

Best Semi-Transparent Deck Stain Review

Best Deck Stain Ratings

Best Deck Stain Reviews

Best Newer Deck Stain in 2022: Restore-A-Deck Wood Stain can be applied to dry or damp wood. Applying to damp wood allows you the ability to prep and stain on the same day, saving you a tremendous amount of time. In 2018, our first full year of using the Restore A Deck stain, we had zero issues with performance and saved a tremendous amount of time with the ability to prep and stain on the same day. We will continue to offer the Restore A Deck Wood Stain as one of our go-to decking stains for the 2022 restoration season. The Restore A Deck Stains come in both Semi-Transparent and Solid Colors.

Best Semi-Solid Deck Stain Review

Best New Semi-Solid Stain for 2022: Available in 30 Custom Colors, the TWP® Semi-Solid Pro-Series will keep your wood beautiful, fresh, and looking new longer! The ease of application and maintenance will allow you to enjoy your investment for years to come. TWP® Semi-Solid Pro-Series provides a broad spectrum of weather protection, is water repellent, and aids in color retention. TWP® Semi-Solid Pro-Series resists water absorption that causes warping, cracking, splitting, and prevents freeze damage in colder climates.

Top Deck Stain Reviews Ratings Video – DeckStainHelp.com

Deck Stain Ratings & Review Photos

Popular Best Deck Stain Questions:

What deck stains will protect from UV graying?

Answer: To protect from UV graying the deck stain must be tinted. We prefer the semi-transparent stains as they will not mask or cover the wood but highlight the wood grain while providing UV protection.

What deck stains perform the best?

Answer: Our favorite deck stains have always been penetrating semi-transparent and semi-solid stains. These stain types allow the wood grain to show, and if they truly soak into the wood grain, reapplying is easier down the road.

What deck stain types can be cleaned and recoated as needed?

Answer: Penetrating deck stains are not prone to peeling and you can clean and reapply as needed. Deck stains that dry or film on top of the wood are much harder to maintain and prep when reapplying.

Can I use a deck stain on wood siding?

Answer: Absolutely! Deck stains are wood stains and work very well for wood fences, vertical wood siding and log cabins. They last even longer on vertical wood.

Additional Deck Stain Rating Questions

If you have questions on this review of deck stains, please ask below. For a more in-depth article on “What is The Best Deck Stain for Your Deck” see this article: The Best Deck Stain


Please Rate This. You may also post comments or ask questions below.

The 7 Best Deck Stain Rating Results in 2022

5 294
4 26
3 3
2 2
1 5
0 2

Related Deck Stain Help Articles & Reviews

guest

1.6K Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Linda
Linda
3 days ago

Can you email me why you removed my added comments? are you paid by the brands you review and write about?

Farrah Romeo
Farrah Romeo
9 days ago

Im in florida with a deck wide open to the elements, lots of rain and sun. New deck built about 4-5 mo ago. Ive been told water-based is the way to go by a deck stain company. Any reccomendations on which product to use?

Farrah Romeo
Farrah Romeo
8 days ago

Im trying to hire someone to do this work. I will have them use one of these products. A couple companies insist they should sand the wood to get best results and longevity. Another one says they wouldn’t sand. Is sanding OK, good idea, bad idea?

Nik
Nik
24 days ago

Hi Love this website! I’m switching from Penofin to Restore a Deck for a wood door on a covered porch. I plan to use a cleaner and brightener before the Restore a Deck application. I have Penofin brand cleaner and brightener on hand already– would it be ok to use them and then apply Restore a Deck, or is there some reason I would need to get Restore a Deck brand cleaner and brightener before using their stain?

Nik
Nik
24 days ago

Two pctures of door

PXL_20221115_192317412.jpg
PXL_20221115_192345919.jpg
Christina Gerwinat
Christina Gerwinat
1 month ago

I just bought a house with a 17 year old deck which was stained at some point with a semi solid but wasn’t maintained. After reading reviews I wanted to buy TWP semi solid, but unfortunately I can’t afford it as their deck stain calculator indicates that I’d need 15 gallons since my deck surface alone is 1200 sq feet! A local guy who does deck restoration swears by Shark Skin semi solid by Cloverdale which is sold by Redda here in Oregon. It’s primarily sold in Canada and the western US (OR, WA, CA, MT, ID, & AK) so you might not have heard of it, but I wanted to ask your opinion…

Thanks in advance!

Jason V
Jason V
1 month ago

Moved in our house 4 years ago, it was built in 2001 and pretty sure the deck was original, so 21 years old. We’ve done nothing to it since moving in. Not sure what the stain on it is. I want to bring it back to life and extend its life. What would you recommend in terms of stain? I’ll repost if need pictures without it raining. Thanks!

Jason V
Jason V
1 month ago

Scott,

Here are pictures. It rained a bit ago so the wood is darker than typical. The stain on it appears to be oil based as there is no peeling at all, it is totally soaked within the wood, but i’m not sure. A contractor looked at our deck yesterday and recommended SW SuperDeck product, but your reviews indicate it is a poor product. For the $$ it costs, I want it done right and with a good product (do it once do it right!). We are located in Northern Illinois if that impacts what product to use. The deck is on the south side of the house and 2/3 of it gets baked in the sun, and 1/3 is shaded. Thank you for your time and recommendations.

Jason

20221012_094039.jpg
20221012_094055.jpg
20221012_094114.jpg
20221012_094158.jpg
Jason V
Jason V
1 month ago

Thank you? Just to clarify:

  1. I don’t know what stain is on there now. But your saying whatever it is on there needs to be stripped first?
  2. The TWP 1500 Series website says coverage is 150 to 250 sq.ft., based on your experience how much would you estimate cover is when purchasing?

Thanks again, super helpful!

Sharon M
Sharon M
2 months ago

I live in Alabama. My porch is covered but about 2/3 full sun each day. Last May we prepped and applied one coat of Thompson Semi Transparent deck stain.Now the 3/4 exposed to sun has faded and looks worn and splotchy. The other 1/4 still looks ok. Do I need to strip and restain or can I put another coat directly over the whole porch?

Sharon M
Sharon M
2 months ago
Reply to  Sharon M

Here are my pictures.

92890375-8D18-4F63-BE11-D81169B489B1.jpeg
762E5F6E-5204-4462-8138-203819B0B3F7.jpeg
Tara
Tara
2 months ago

Hello, new deck with treated wood, has been sitting for about 6 months in Atlanta, so we sanded and this is how it turned out. We used Cabot Timber Oil Natural and it has some areas that are matte looking and others that are sheen looking. Please see attached and ideas on how to correct?

7E8CE2DB-6259-4098-BCDF-EA385EC59069.jpeg
58CF3467-69BD-40B6-AE37-3D14405D4CD9.jpeg
951C45A3-D1F2-42E7-813E-ECA3D532573D.jpeg
Harvey
Harvey
2 months ago

do you also rate best stains for wood [cedar] siding? im needed to re-stain my house currently. thank you

Mike G
Mike G
2 months ago

just finished staining my deck (pressure treated wood) with a clear (honey) stain. is it ok to now use a clear sealer over the top of the stain? or is there a better protection option?

helpercrab
helpercrab
2 months ago

I have a small bump out section of my siding that is cedar tongue and grove cedar. It had cheap water based semi transparent stain applied when new, three years ago. It was peeling and faded. I have sanded it off, am going to clean and brighten and reapply a semi transparent stain. Do you have a preference between the Restore A Deck semi transparent and the Armstrong Clark Semi transparent stain for such an application. The bump out faces west and gets strong sun from about mid day until sunset. I was leaning towards the oil based Armstrong Clark stain but y’all rate the Restore A Deck even higher.

IMG_6843.JPG
Helpercrab
Helpercrab
2 months ago

No mold or mildew issues

Helpercrab
Helpercrab
2 months ago

Is there an advantage to having the oil in the Armstrong Clark soak into and perhaps rejuvenate the natural oils of the wood lost to weathering of will the restore a deck water based stain accomplish the same thing without oil?

Danny B.
Danny B.
2 months ago

Is there a good semi transparent stain that comes in black or dark charcoal? Looking to stain a pergola that I am building. Its new douglas fir. I’ve gone back and forth between paint or stain. Looking for lowest maintenance and longest lasting without frequent re application. Thank!

Victoria Linden
Victoria Linden
2 months ago

The stain was not fully removed by the treatment described below.

Victoria Linden
Victoria Linden
2 months ago

Additionally, the 2-yr-old, oil based stain was not fully removed from the boards of the deck.

Victoria Linden
Victoria Linden
2 months ago

We live in middle Tennessee. SealSmart treated our pressure-treated pine deck last Friday, September 23,2022. Once the treatment dried, our deck looks worse, nothing like the result advertised. We were told the treatment is water based.
How can moisture content be measured?
How long should the deck dry before it can be stained and sealed with another product?
Can another product be safely used on it?
If so, should the product be water or oil based?
What stain and sealant product do you recommend?

Maria
Maria
3 months ago

Hi, I am looking for a semi-transparent (trying to stay away from solid as I read that it is a pain in when you want to reapply it) stain and sealer in one product for my fence. Looking for a long lasting product (6+ years for reapplication). Any suggestions? Fence is about 5 years old and we have power washed it and bleached.
Thank you.

Maria
Maria
3 months ago
Reply to  Maria

Thank you. Will definitely look it up.
My friend told me to use a 50/50 pine tar and boiled linseed oil for my fence if I don’t wan to reapply new coats of stain and sealers every 2-3 years as the pine tar can go up to 10 year and it is a very good water repellent (we live about 5 miles from the ocean so the summers are hot and humid). What is your input on it? Is it worth the investment? If yes, is there a place to purchase the pine tar (since none of the stores Home Depot, Lowes, Sherwin Williams, BM, etc.) don’t carry any pure pine tar.
Thank you so much.

Maria
Maria
3 months ago

Thank you. I appreciate your input.

jesse
jesse
3 months ago

Building a new 12×16 deck in Northern Ontario starting in September. What is the best deck stain for a new deck that is about to go through a harsh winter? Do I stain immediately or better to wait until spring?

Scott Scheiry
Scott Scheiry
3 months ago

What stain do you recommend for rough one side pine vertical wood siding. I live in south eastern PA. Attached are pictures of the building. It was stained with Cabot semi-transparent over ten years ago. Popular in my area are PPG/Sikkens and Cabot. I plan to have the siding pressure washed within the next two weeks.

20220528_121342.jpg
20220528_121406.jpg
20220528_121439.jpg
Scott Scheiry
Scott Scheiry
3 months ago

To keep wood peckers away, what bug deterrent additive do you recommend?

Tina Wright
Tina Wright
3 months ago

I live in a heavy snow area and our deck gets has full sun until early evening. Looking a solid color stain that will last. I would prefer water based but if there is a better oil based that is fine as well. Any suggestions?

Regina Brooks
Regina Brooks
4 months ago

Our 3rd deck, we replaced a lot of wood a couple of years ago when we purchased the home. It looks like there was a solid stain in place. There is very little stain on the deck boards as they have almost all been replaced. We really appreciate your advice.

21745231_2_6.jpg
20220403_121901_resized.jpg
20220403_121852_resized.jpg
Regina Brooks
Regina Brooks
4 months ago

Thank you again, since the deck boards are all new and properly weathered could we not use a semi-transparent stain for the deck boards and a solid for the vertical pieces and the pergola? What would you suggest and what cleaning process would you suggest? Thank you very much. Your Insight is invaluable

Regina Brooks
Regina Brooks
4 months ago

Attached is the 2nd deck that was stained by someone else with Valspar one coast exterior stain and sealer solid. This was done in 2019. It is peeling and needs to be redone. We know our exterior paints well, but not stains. What is your best advice for this deck? Thank you

IMG_0009(1).jpg
IMG_0016(1).jpg
IMG_0018.jpg
IMG_0019.jpg
Regina Brooks
Regina Brooks
4 months ago

Thank you I have a contractor that will be doing this for for us that has never used the rad products before. I have found the video and all of the information for the stripper and cleaner to take off the Valspar product. We wish to recoat with solid rad stain. I cannot find a video to send my contractor showing him the proper staining technique for the wet on wet solid stain. Do you have a link? I will be supplying all the products for him thank you

Regina Brooks
Regina Brooks
4 months ago

Thank you for your assistance. So the solid rad products do not peel at all if applied properly? I cannot find any other information on the internet regarding their solid products. Thank you very much

Regina Brooks
Regina Brooks
4 months ago

Hello, we have three properties that needs the decks redone. The 1st deck is pictured. There appears to be a solid stain on the handrails, none on the deck. We are located in Indiana. Would appreciate prep and stain recommendation for the lowest long-term maintenance.

681334981.jpg
d4257b617c68060c729a671a4f3f6f16l-m13xd-w1020_h770_q80.jpg
Regina Brooks
Regina Brooks
4 months ago

Thank you for your reply. My trim carpenter has determined that we should replace all of the deck boards. That will leave us with fresh wood. I would like to get this project knocked off this fall. I know you highly recommend TWP, however it cannot be used on fresh wood. What are your best thoughts? I can use a solid stain or semi solid stain on the rails or balusters and something else on the deck that coordinates. Appreciate your expertise. Thank you

Lenida
Lenida
4 months ago

The good news is you can still find some quality deck stains in 2022 that will offer UV protection, penetrate deep into the wood grain, and highlights the natural beauty of the wood all while making the ease of reapplication a breeze down the road.

Christiane
Christiane
4 months ago

Thank you so much for this wonderful website that saved me from a lot of frustration down the road by using Behr Deckover. We just purchased a townhouse as a rental unit in PA and want to paint this deck. Doesn’t have to be perfect but hopefully last a while. Same color. Is this a solid or semi-transparent stain that we would have to use? What would you recommend as prep and finish?
Thank you!!

IMG_6399.jpg
Christiane
Christiane
4 months ago

Thank you so much, Scott!

Neil
Neil
4 months ago

I live in Colorado and I’m planning to stain a deck, but with a solid colour i.e blue. Do you have any recommendations for an oil based product. Water based stains don’t appear to weather well. Thanks in advance

Mike
Mike
4 months ago

I have a wraparound deck that get sun different part of the day see picture attached. I live Hampton VA; right on, the Chesapeake Bay the deck is about 5 year old that is ground contact pressure treaded wood (not the yellow wood) and does not have any stain or sealer. The only spot that has green staining are the steps. I would like to have a very light-colored stain

Mike
Mike
4 months ago

would I need pressure wash the deck first

mike
mike
4 months ago

Have have some knot what can I use to fill them in

Lenida
Lenida
4 months ago
Reply to  Mike

Great

Janet Staed
Janet Staed
4 months ago

What is the best product to stain and seal a deck that is in full sun. How often should this be done to keep boards from rotting. We have gone through this before. Built a large deck (the width of out house). We were constantly every year replacing many rotted boards. This last time the joints under the deck had to be replaced in many places because the boards could not be nailed down, so we decided to replace the entire flooring and many rotted joists. Now we have the task of sealing/staining again. Please help with suggestions on product to use.
We used treated wood. I think that the sun in our problem here.

Last edited 4 months ago by Janet Staed
frank
frank
5 months ago

New 12’ x 36’ PT deck in Maine. What stain would you recommend? We shovel snow off the deck in winter.

Al Devlin
Al Devlin
5 months ago

Thanks for earlier advice re stain treatment of new deck boards (treated). A related question: the boards (#2/Home Depot) have a fair number of knot holes. Some are superficial, others deeper. Should they be filed? If so, what kind of product is most
reliable, and is stainable? My suspicion is that any product may crack in the short
term. Thanks!

Kate
Kate
5 months ago

I have used Australian Timber oil on my ceder deck for 2 years on a new cedar step.
The first year was great .
I gave it another coat last summer and this spring it is all peeling off. I would like to know why and how to proceed from here.
The stringer and side of the stop have weathered ok.

16569731298521848459241100647091.jpg
16569732057887077949407230746045.jpg
Al Devlin
Al Devlin
5 months ago

Excellent article. Restored deck surface with treated pine (Home Depot) that has cured now for 6 months. Please recommend best stain for such a surface. Missouri: hot summers and relatively mild winters. I have assumed that stain would be followed by a sealer. Is this accurate? I am skeptical of the combined stain-sealer on the market. Please advise and thanks again for a most helpful article. I would hope to preserve some of the grain effect, so probably the semi-transparent products would be appropriate?

Al Devlin
Al Devlin
5 months ago

Thanks for the clarification re stain/sealer. Will visit the TWP 100 Series.

Kara
Kara
5 months ago

We have a newer (2years) cedar deck at lake kachess in Wa state. Hot morning sun and lots of snow nov-April, used Thompson’s water seal and it all peeled off. Obviously it’s not meant for extreme weather shift! Looks like you recommended RAD or TWP which holds up better to 90plus in summer and single digit winters?
Thank you!
Sanding whole deck after only one summers use!

Judy Brown
Judy Brown
5 months ago

Best article on decks I have ever read. Thank you. I am widow who because of my husband’s illness let out porch go. I stained it in the summer of 2018. I used an Olympic maximum stain & sealant cedar clear tone. I live in Michigan. Deck gets hot west side sun & is main entrance. Porch rails still look good but floor is awful. Help!

Sharel
Sharel
5 months ago

I have a year old deck never stained, what’s the best product to use and process?

We are restoring our old deck with new pieces of d
We are restoring our old deck with new pieces of d
5 months ago

We are restoring our old deck with new pieces of decking and putting in a new railing and new stairs do I have to wait to stain the whole deck because half of the deck has new decking and the other is the original

Craig Kohn
Craig Kohn
5 months ago

I have an older deck which I treated every year & replace boards where needed some boards have cracks in them and I want to use a solid Color now can you recommend a good stain that won’t peel after seeing your review on the Behr deck over I don’t want to use it

Kris
Kris
5 months ago

I am going to stain/seal my deck that is about 25 years old. To my knowledge it has never been sealed or stained. I have cleaned it throughly. I’ve read that a semitransparent is best for old decks. I also have many trees that always make the deck extra filthy. I watched the video for Restore A Deck product and am leaning towards using that. Does the brightener and cleaner need to be used still? And what are your thoughts in a “natural” color?
Some of the boards/railings still look kind of rough.

132768DC-9AF0-4D48-95AD-817F5DCD3CED.jpeg
3779E121-D745-4CFB-B502-02AE8897B337.jpeg
8EADCF7A-03FE-4FCB-BFAD-37CB6266A7BC.jpeg
Kris
Kris
5 months ago

That is not a white stain on it. It is how the boards came out after cleaning them with 30 second deck cleaner. There is literally nothing on the boards.