Thompson’s Deck Stain Review 2.1/5 (41)

This post was updated on January 18, 2023

THOMPSONS WATERSEAL STAIN & SEALER REVIEW 2023

THOMPSONS WATERSEAL STAIN & SEALER REVIEW

THOMPSONS WATERSEAL STAIN & SEALER REVIEW

We would love to hear from you if you have used THOMPSONS WATERSEAL STAIN & SEALER. Please post a rating in the Consumer Star Ratings below. Thompson’s WaterSeal has clearly not been a consumer favorite with deck stains or sealers. Mainly as it does not offer any UV protection and it grays in a few months. The Transparent and Semi-Transparent versions are prone to premature peeling and wearing after about 1 year.

Thompsons has 4 different labels for the same stain. They change the name based on the store that carries it but it is the exact same product.

Lowes: THOMPSON’S® WATERSEAL® SIGNATURE SERIES – STAIN & SEALER

Menards: THOMPSON’S® WATERSEAL® TOTAL ALL-IN-ONE STAIN AND SEALER

Walmart: THOMPSON’S® WATERSEAL® WATERPROOFER PLUS TINTED WOOD STAIN

Other Retail Stores: THOMPSON’S® WATERSEAL® WATERPROOFING STAINS

If you have any pictures of your experience with the THOMPSONS WATERSEAL STAIN & SEALER you can add them in the comment area with a detailed description.


THOMPSONS WATERSEAL STAIN & SEALER Manufacturer Description

THOMPSONS WATERSEAL STAIN & SEALER provides ultimate protection from water and sun damage. This innovative, pre-mixed formula is quick and easy to apply with a two-hour dry time and soap and water cleanup. Signature Series All In One Stain and Sealer provides long-lasting, durable protection in just one coat.

Thompsons Deck Stain

THOMPSONS WATERSEAL STAIN & SEALER RATING (1-10)

Appearance After Initial Stain Application: 7

– THOMPSONS WATERSEAL STAIN & SEALER looks like thin paint when applied. Very blotchy appearance and it did not cover evenly, every brushstroke and roller mark showed. Water did bead on top of the finish and did not absorb into the wood.

Preventing UV Graying at 2 Year Mark: 5

– As far as we can tell, THOMPSONS WATERSEAL STAIN & SEALER does not prevent UV graying very well. This is a huge disappointment at less than 6 months it started to fail. Not only is there visible flaking but the coating is washing off in areas that are not flaking. There is quite a bit of mold where the coating has come off.

Wear/Tear and Peeling: 5

– THOMPSONS WATERSEAL STAIN & SEALER does not soak into the wood but dries on top like a paint. Less than 6 months it started to fail. Not only is there visible flaking but the coating is washing off in areas that are not flaking.

Cost Per Square Foot: 8

– THOMPSONS STAIN & SEALER is a very inexpensive product to purchase. Unfortunately the saying “you get what you pay for” applies here as the Thompsons Deck Stains does not even last a year.

Preventing Mold/Mildew/Algae: 3

– After 2 years most of the deck was covered in black mold. It seems that the oils used in THOMPSONS STAIN & SEALER feed and promote the growth of mold spores in the areas where it had failed.

Ease of Application: 5

– Very blotchy appearance and it did not cover evenly, every brushstroke and roller mark showed.

Color Shifting (darkening) after 2 Years: 7

– We would say that Thompson’s® darkens in color since there was a good amount of mold growing in the finish.

Difficulty of Reapplication: 4

– A heavy stripping will be needed to remove the failing stain that is left as you will need to switch to a better brand of stain.

Overall Score THOMPSONS STAIN & SEALER at 2 Year Period: 5.75

– Overall THOMPSONS STAIN & SEALER wood finish is a disappointment. Checkout out the consumer reviews from Thompsons, Lowes, Walmart, and Menards websites. You will read and see that this product does not work well and has consistent issues with failure.

Thompson’s Deck Stain Photo Issues

THOMPSON’S WATERSEAL TRANSPARENT STAIN & SEALER

Product Information:

Cost: $24.99 per Gallon
Stain Type: Transparent, Semi-Transparent
Available Colors: 4 Colors: Autumn Brown, Natural Cedar, Honey Gold, Timber Brown
Application Temperature: 45-95 F
Coats Required: 1 coat for most scenarios
Coverage Per Gallon: 150-200 Square Feet as Tested
Application Tools: Sprayer, Pad, Brush, Roller
Dry Time: 48 Hours
Cleanup: Water
VOC Compliant: 250 Compliant in all States
Manufacturer: Thompson’s

Test Deck Stats:

Deck Wood Type: Pressure Treated Pine Deck
Deck Square Footage: 400 Square feet
UV Exposure: Full sun
How Many Years Tested: 2 Years
Stain Color Used: 
Natural Cedar


*All products tested and results are from our experience. We offer no guarantee of similar results. Take into consideration that results may differ due to different wood types, exposure to UV radiation, and natural weathering.


Please Rate This. You may also post comments or ask questions below.

Related Deck Stain Help Articles & Reviews

Subscribe
Notify of
guest

36 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Lynwood Henson
Lynwood Henson
1 year ago

I used Thompsons Deck stain and Sealant on my new deck. After one year it looks horrible, fading and peeling. Never again. $3500.00 dollar deck has to be redone, what a waste of money and time on this product.

Paul Sullivan
Paul Sullivan
2 years ago

New deck 14×18 foot, preparing for gazebo installation on it. Used Thompsons signature series (transparent stain/sealer Timber Brown). Second biggest mistake in my life. First biggest mistake was buying it at 20.00+ per gallon. New wood deck, let it dry out for about a week. Rented floor (deck) sander and sanded deck. Used Thompsons above (see before and after photos). Thompsons, what happened to quality. Why has your quality fallen by the wayside like others. Your company used to be the “Go To” to get good high quality sealer….Now I’ve got to hire a professional crew to come out and remove the hundreds of dollars worth of stain and work that I did. I can’t afford to take off work to fix this. I don’t understand….do you not realize just how much wood (treated wood/lumber) cost today??? Let me give you a hint, they don’t give it away. All lumber and 6X6 timber, bolts, screws, nails, sander rental……I’ve got well over 1500.00 in materials not to mention the wasted money on the stain. All of this so my handicapped wife can enjoy being outside in the shade. Now it’s going to be a long time off before I can get this rectified.

Before Thompsons.jpg
After Thompsons.jpg
Linda Barrett
Linda Barrett
2 months ago

I have used your water seal for years and have always been very please. I still am, but you have changed the texture of the clear to a milky white, it does dry clear but the past clear will go in a wood deck. I had to keep painting like you are painting wall. Please go back back to a clear clear instead of a milky that DOES dry clear, it takes much longer to paint. Thanks.

Carol wolfe
Carol wolfe
3 months ago

Thompsons has failed again. This is less than a year after application.

DC69E63E-C51A-4587-9A66-26E68D14638A.jpeg
Douglas Krueger
Douglas Krueger
3 months ago

Hi Scott, thank you for providing such detailed and thorough info! We just bought a house with pressure treated pine that was never sealed or stained. It was in terrible shape. I sanded the deck and applied Thomson’s clear sealer. It soaked it up at twice the rate recommended. It’s gorgeous now and the water beads up on every rain but given your warnings about Thompson’s, what do you recommend now? Should I sand it off or can I apply a better product over it? I am concerned any stain will eventually peel, so I’m fine with clear. Many thanks.

Belinda Thompson
Belinda Thompson
3 months ago

What color replaced Autumn Brown in Thompson water seal? Deck stain

Patricia Robertson
Patricia Robertson
4 months ago

This porch wood paint & stain didn’t even last a year on my front porch. I put it on last Apr 2022 and by Jan 2023 the paint-stain was gone off my porch. I was on shock. Now I have to have the porch repainted & stained. V costly.

Dianne McEachnie
Dianne McEachnie
4 months ago

Wish I had read this before I applied. Used the t8 Ted water seal last year and now I have a real mess. Has all pealed and flaked off. Not sure what my next step will be. With all the complaints I am surprised this product is still being sold.!!!!!

Tom
Tom
4 months ago

They must have changed their formula since the original. This product was not originally a surface paint like product. I had used it years ago and it did not bake or flake in the sun, and was not affected by -30C temperatures. The product was basically some sort of wax in a solvent, and when applied in sufficient quantity to DRY WOOD it would soak into the wood fibers, and then the solvent would dry off leaving a waterproof wax imbedded in the wood fibers. Could not be scraped off with snow shovels etc. like all these so called surface plastic coatings. I suppose if it is applied to wet wood it would seal the moisture in, or not penetrate as far etc..

David R Smith
David R Smith
7 months ago

2 years ago I used the relatively new water-based Thompson’s Water Seal on a wooden cover for my heat pump (HP) – keeps ice & snow out of the HP. 35 years earlier I used the oil-based Thompson’s Water Seal on similar 1/2″ plywood for a dog house, so I can now compare the two products.The new product is very thin and “watery” to apply, whereas the oil based stuff reminded me more of furniture varnish – the old stuff had a strong odor but I used it outdoors as instructed.The oil based product required 24 hours to dry but man, what a deep, beautiful semi-gloss finish it left.The new stuff only needed about an hour to dry enough for a 2nd coat. In an afternoon I gave my plywood cover (see photo) 3 coats with about 2 hours drying between each. Immediately after coating, the wood had a beautiful rich color. The plywood board was stored in a garage for a week before it was attached to the final HP cover. The oil-based sealer I used 35 years ago was also 3 layers with about 12 hours in between coats. Again, after 72 hours my 1/2″ plywood boards were used to make a dog house. That dog house lasted for 18+ years outdoors in rain, sun, heavy wind, ice, snow with only very minor deterioration – so tearing it down for the bulk trash pickup was physically a difficult job – those boards were still amazingly strong. The newer water base Thompson’s is really not a heavy duty product at all, it may be ok for indoor wood products that only ocassionally get wet, or only occasionally get direct sunlight but it does Not Stand Up to 24/7 sun, wind, rain, snow, & ice. I am really disappointed.Thompson’s has ruined their once-fine reputation with this lame ‘User Friendly’ product. After I sand and refinish the plywood top for my HP cover, I am going to see if Thompson still makes the older real-deal oil-based formula – maybe not because of the strong fumes that it and almost every other wood coating and exterior paint had in those days.

IMG_0113.JPG
Cristina Larriva
Cristina Larriva
8 months ago

buenas noches quiero 4 galones del sellador thompsons waterseal signatures series all in one stain & sealer semi-transparent honey gold

Paula Cola
Paula Cola
1 year ago

I had the worst experience with Thomson’s Water Seal. The boards on my deck have turned black as though they are dirty. I’m having to re-sand it all. The stuff is so hard to get off. Do not recommend and would never use it again.

image.jpg
J Nelson
J Nelson
1 year ago

DO NOT ATTEMPT TO USE OVER WORN PREVIOUSLY STAINED DECK SURFACES. After cleaning and pressure washing deck and rails ,allowing 3 days to dry, applied the Chest Nut brown solid stain. This product is for use on bare wood only as it does not adhere to older painted areas. Second coats beads up and does not adhere to areas that were previously painted. Customer service advised to SAND those areas before applying. WHY did they not include that statement on back panel???? Don’t waster your time or money on this.

Alicia
Alicia
1 year ago

How do you apply the stain without getting marks and blotches? We can not make it look good no matter what we try.

Mary
Mary
1 year ago

What are the sparkles stuff in Thompson wood water seal

If Thompson’s wood sealer is no good what is the b
If Thompson’s wood sealer is no good what is the b
1 year ago

If Thompson’s wood sealer is no good what is the best product for decks and fences

Dick Pryse
Dick Pryse
2 years ago

4 years ago I applied Thompsons water seal and stain(transparent)Maple Brown. There’s not much of the transparent left after 4 years and I plan on sanding and power washing whatever is left on the deck.
Can I apply Thompsons water seal and stain(semi-transparent)Maple Brown, over Thompsons water seal and stain(transparent)Maple Brown?  

Lee Cromer
Lee Cromer
2 years ago

I bought this stain July 2020 after waiting a full year to stain it. This is the worse product ever, the color looked like Redwood not brown like the picture, didn’t soak into the wood laid on top like paint and it started peeling off in strips at around 6 months. I got my money back but now my deck looks awful and I’ll have to power wash it to remove this crap. Do not buy!!

7EEC6B88-3CD2-46EE-A32F-C2F35743CEB2.jpeg
4B49B529-58B7-4C84-AEDE-59A6BC2377E7.jpeg
Mike
Mike
2 years ago

I used Thompson clear water seal on vertical pine siding on a garage now im thinking of adding a color will the color still soak into the wood or will it dry and peal?Is there any other options to add stain to the siding?

Patrea Lamarre
Patrea Lamarre
3 years ago

We used Thompson’s Water Sealer on a new cedar deck last September It was applied with a brush. Half way through the year, the cedar looked dried out as if no sealer had ever been used. We recently cleaned the deck with a pressure washer, let it dry for a few days, then reapplied Thompson’s. It was awful. The sealer stayed tacky and black streaks appeared. After reading reviews today, I believe the black streaks were mildew that imbedded the wood, which indicates this products did not do what it says by sealing the wood. I now have one big mess and will have to strip the sealer that I just put on and reapply a DIFFERENT BRAND of sealer.This was a BIG WASTE of TIME and MONEY.

Dana Bunn
Dana Bunn
3 years ago

Worst deck stain ever! Bought it because we had used Thompson’s in the past. Stain was flaking off at 6 months!!! Removing it to restain has been a nightmare. Don’t use this product!

Paul Horrell
Paul Horrell
3 years ago

Thompsons is absolute garbage…more like melted crayon wax and paint, no penetration and adhesion to a meticulously and properly preparred and fresh sanded deck…literally a perfect situation for a deck stain to succeed. Best thing about it was it completely lifted in 2 years, so redoing with a quality stain now.

James Lawrence
James Lawrence
3 years ago

I did a Canadian Spruce Log Cabin 2 years ago. Peeling off in blotches now and the deck railings are coming apart. Used the deck stain, peeling off too. Would not use this product again and is going to be expensive to fix the damage this product has done.

Jacqui
Jacqui
3 years ago

How do you rate Thompson’s timber oil.

36
0
Questions or leave a review, please comment!x