TimberOil Brand Stain Review 4.4/5 (8)

by Deck Stain Help

TimberOil Brand Stain - For New Decks

Updated February 2020

Not to be confused with Cabot Australian Timber Oil

Timber Oil Brand is a deep penetrating paraffin oil-based wood and deck stain. This stain dives deep into all exterior wood to condition the wood cells while preventing UV fading and water damage.

TimberOil Brand is strongly suggested by the manufacturer for all new wood. Many wood and deck stains have difficulty with penetrating new exterior wood such as cedar, redwood, and especially pressure-treated pine. Timber Oil Brand promises ease of application and proper penetration into new decking.

Note: We tested the TimberOil Brand on a new cedar deck three weeks after installation. Only prepping was a light cleaning to remove the dirt.

TimberOil Brand Stain Rating (1-10)

Appearance After Initial Stain Application: 8

– The Timber Oil Brand looked even on our new cedar test deck. No overlapping or issues were apparent. The Honey Gold color was a rich “wet look”. The railings did not have any drips or runs. Penetration into the wood was 100% with no surface film or oily residue.

Preventing UV Graying at 2 Year Mark: 5

– About 50% of the original color was left after 2 years. Wood looked more “natural”.

Wear/Tear and Peeling: 8

– Timber Oil Brand had a slight amount of wearing on the railings otherwise, there were no issues.

New Cedar Deck Sealed with TimberOil

Cost Per Square Foot: 7

– We used 6 gallons of the Timber Oil Brand for our cedar deck. The cost was decent per gallon but square footage was a little on the low side. Not bad but average. About $.31 a foot.

Preventing Mold/Mildew/Algae: 8

– Paraffin oils do not “feed” mold or mildew growth like other oil-based stains that contain linseed oil. Little to no mold was noticeable on the cedar. A small amount of algae around the railings.

Ease of Application: 10

– Very very nice to apply! We were surprised at the ease of application on the new cedar. We applied the Timber Oil Brand with a garden sprayer then back wiped the excess with a pad applicator. At the time of application, there was puddling under the railings from overspray but this went away once dried.

Color Shifting (darkening) after 2 Years: 9

– No darkening for the Timber Oil Brand. Fades lightly while looking more natural.

Difficulty of Reapplication: 8

– Light cleaning to remove dirt and grime. No need to strip or sand.

Overall Score TimberOil Brand Stain at 2 Year Period: 7.875

– If you have a new deck then Timber Oil Brand would be our top choice. Fades faster than some of the top stains but still lasts the normal benchmark of two years. The ease of application is plus.

Product Information:

Where To Buy: Online Only
Cost: $35.99 per Gallon, $169.99 per 5 Gallon Pail
Stain Type: Semi-Transparent Paraffin Oil Based
Available Colors: Warm Honey Gold, Western Cedar, Brown Sugar, Amaretto
Application Temperature: 45-95 F
Coats Required: 1-2 Coats
Coverage Per Gallon: 150 sq. ft per gallon as tested
Application Tools: Sprayer, Pad, Brush, Roller
Dry Time: 2-24 Hours
Cleanup: Mineral Spirits
VOC Compliant: 250 Compliant in All 50 States
More Info: Product Data
Manufacturer: Extreme Solutions

Test Deck Stats:

Deck Wood Type: 1-month-old Western Red Cedar Deck
Deck Square Footage: 800
UV Exposure: Full Sun
How Many Years Tested: 2 Years
Stain Color Used: 
Warm Honey Gold

*All products tested and results are from our experience. We offer no guarantee of similar results. Take in consideration that results may differ due to different wood types, exposure to UV radiation, and natural weathering.


Please Rate This. You may also post comments or ask questions below.

Related Deck Stain Help Articles & Reviews

232
Ask a Question or Post a Review

avatar
 
smilegrinwinkneutralshockunamusedcooloopsrollcryeeklolmadsadexclamationquestionhmmbeg
Photo and Image Files
 
 
 
 
Audio and Video Files
 
 
 
 
newest oldest
Pam
Pam

Would you consider this the best for pressure treated pine also?

Kevin
Kevin

Hi there! Thanks so much for this website, I have learned so much!! I wanted to ask your opinion on something, I changed out all my deck boards from april to August with pressure treated pine in new York state. It’s been 2 months since the last deck board was put down and I wanted to ask if you would recommend I stain this weekend or wait until the spring. Water still beads on the deck boards, so I suspect they are not done weathering yet. I’m worried that the harsh winter will damage my deck.

Thanks again!

Kellie
Kellie

My husband built our small 14′ x 9′ deck three months ago, using kiln-dried Alaskan yellow cedar. I checked with the wood supplier, and they said we can stain it immediately since kiln dried. The deck is under a tree and in constant shade. We are planning to use a cleaner and brightener and then apply one coat of the TimberOil. Is this a good idea? Or should we wait until next Spring and use a different product?

Jason
Jason

I recently had a worn out PT deck resurfaced and re-railed using Selkirk KD cedar. It’s got SE exposure here in Minnesota, so lots of sun in summer and lots of snow in winter. I ordered the Timber Oil sample kit, but have not tried any yet. I’m contemplating between deciding on a Timber Oil stain and applying in a month or so, or waiting til late next spring/early summer (gotta let the snow melt), and going with something like TWP 100. Color preference is something dark golden, darker than honey but not all the way to brown. Would you recommend the former, to get something on before the onslaught of winter, or the latter, and wait to use a better product?

Lori
Lori

The boards on my deck are about eight years old. The semi stain that was used is almost all off now. I’ll be trying to remove the rest with the pressure washer and a remover. The wood has sort of grayed from age and being bare. Will this oil be suitable for it? If so, what shade should be used to get a brown tone?

Debbie
Debbie

I applied penofin oil to an IPE deck about a year ago and not happy with the results. I’ve heard good things about the Woodrich brand Timber Oil. What do I need to do to switch products on the ipe wood? Thanks!!!

Stephen Troutman
Stephen Troutman

The TimberOil (Woodsman) stain has been great on our ipe deck. The color has been long lasting, up to three years. The reapplication is relatively easy … does require wiping but it looks great

Mack Buckner
Mack Buckner

Is Austrarian Oil stain avalible in quart size ?

craig
craig

Does it come in a clear formula? My wife is allergic to the off-gassing of the red cedar in our sauna. Will this product seal the wood? If not, can you recommend something else?

Marcia
Marcia

I have used the Cabot Timber Oil semi transparent Natural. My question is the stairs did not stain well, how can I redo these ? or should I wait until next year and clean and then stain again. From what I read I only have to clean with no sanding and then stain with the same stain. I just stained yesterday, so I guess I am wondering what my options are without ruining it.

Judy
Judy

We have a new deck installed about a month ago using cedar wood. I am not aware that we are not supposed to sand it before applying stain as it will not penetrate into the wood. What should we do to fix it? Should we wait until spring to stain it? What brand and type of stain should you recommend us to use?

Rai
Rai

have a 12 yr old mahogany deck just power washed has had 3 seperate coats over the yrs it is very blotchy used mahogany flame bfore will the blotchy areas show thruanother round of mahogany flame love the look no time to sand down any recommendation would be appreciated . should i do a solid color?

Eric
Eric

Just had a new cedar deck installed. Plan on waiting a month (NY) then staining. I’m guessing I will need to use a cleaner first? Is it ok to,use a regular brush and then a rag to apply or should I use a foam brush and then a rag?

The deck is about 700 square feet with about 40 linear feet of railing. Any guesstimate as to,how much stain I will need? If i get 10 gallons is there any chance the leftover will be good for a reapplication?

Jean momo
Jean momo

I have a brand new cedar deck. Looks like you recommend Timberoil. Can I switch to TWP 1500 in a year or so. If so qwhat prepwork is needed

Joe
Joe

I recently had my deck added-on to, the decking is Trex but the railings are cedar. I now have a combination of 8 year old cedar (previously stained with Cabot transparent) and new wood. If I strip and brighten the old wood can I stain with Timber oil or will the color difference between old and new be too glaring and I should instead use a solid stain?

Kalasie
Kalasie

I have new cedar for a new deck. The wood has been sitting, not installed, for several months. I want a penetrating semitransparent oil stain, but I want a medium grey/charcoal color, and that seems to somehow be a hard thing to find in a quality oil based and semitransparent stain. The best stains don’t come in grey shades. Does anyone know the best oil based stain that does come in a semitransparent oil stain, medium grey? I obviously don’t mind if it fades to grey, but I do want a richness to it, good protection, and expect to have to reapply, but I had heard of a stain that really—stained, that is to say, people actually complain led that the color wouldn’t come out. I’d consider that to be ideal. Why would you want the cooor to come out? Now I can’t find the name.

Thanks to anyone who has some input here.

Ray
Ray

Very informative site. Thank you! I have a new cedar topped deck structurally built for a spa to sit on it. My plan is to wait a month, apply the Timber Oil, then place the tub. Any particular issues or advice on this? Reapplication will obviously be around and not under the tub. Thanks.

Patty
Patty

I would like to maintain the color of this rustic western red cedar sauna. I need UV protection. I do not want to change the color. Transparent penetrating stain with UV for this new wood would TimberOil be a good choice? We built it about 1 week ago. How long should I wait to protect the color? I don’t want it to gray. Also, I’m hoping to not have to use a deck clean product etc to prepare if at all possible.
Thanks!

new sauna.jpg
Gary
Gary

Replacing rotted front porch ballasters and railing with PT pine. In SC, with high heat and humidity. The HOA requires a white finish. Could I use a stain or is it best to paint? If paint, then what primer?

Also, replacing deck boards on porch not white, natural, where the railing was rotted. So I have a mix of old and new decking. I would prefer leaving natural but getting a stain to a consistent look will be difficult. Is a colored stain best for a uniform look?

KLW
KLW

We are currently installing a new deck and I am really worried because after only 4 days the first part of the deck that has been installed is already showing splitting on the top. The name of the wood is AC2 CedarTone Premium from Menards. We used screws to install but the splitting is all along the length of the boards. Should we stain it as soon as possible to stop the cracking or still wait. Please advise what product would be best. I do like the idea of a natural looking stain but splitting is why we got rid of the previous deck! We live in the Upper peninsula of Michigan deck gets afternoon sun, very humid and a ton of winter snow.

Yvonne
Yvonne

I assume from everything I have read that a new deck should not be stained at least for a month or more depending on the satin ?

Yvonne
Yvonne

I have a new pressured treated deck and fence before I stain with Timber Oil stain what deck cleaner and wood brightner product should I use ? My contractor is wanting to stain soon and the fence has been up since February however the deck has just been completed a week ago.

Megan
Megan

Hello, we are finishing a deck renovation in Georgia. The decking has been down since late September. Painters are telling me it should be fine to stain now. I like everything I’ve read on your website about the timber oil. I just want to clarify that since this is a brand new deck we should only put one coat of stain on it at this point? Everyone keeps telling me two coats but that does not seem to be the best solution for a new deck. Can you please just confirm this? And, is it OK to use a brush to apply?

Shanda
Shanda

Hello, I am new here and have been reading articles and reviews, a little confused. I am installing a new Redwood Deck (as I type it is being constructed), I live in Central Point, OR. We have a good amount of rain and cooler temps, average highs 40-50 and lows can be 30’s or colder. We have a dry couple of weeks coming up but colder temps, I get good morning sun on deck till about noon, wanted to take advantage of dry wearther.

I was recommended and sold “SuperDeck transparent Natural” by the lumber store and no mention of any waiting period. Only instructions I have on the bucket say 40-95 degree install temps. But reading the reviews, SuperDeck doesn’t seem to be a great overall choice? I am wondering if I should return and get something else??? From what I read I do need to use a brightener prior to staining whether now or later.

I had planned on applying ASAP, but again reading articles I am rethinking, but would like to do something to protect (if needed) from our wet winter, not wanting to add color just preserve. I saw that the timber oil didn’t require as long of a waiting time, but details on using on new wood (Redwood) were not clear.

Thank you for your help, in my overall shopping experiences reviews can be as confusing as they can be helpful.

Shanda

James J Goodwin
James J Goodwin

I’m building two Adirondack chairs from Douglas Fir. Can I use Woodrich Timber Oil on furniture; sitting surfaces?

Thanks!

james m tabor
james m tabor

We’ve just installed a new 400 sq ft cedar deck in central Vermont. Would we be better served by trying to finish with TO now, or wait through the fall, winter, and chilly spring until next year to apply TWP or AC?
This is a great site and super service. Thank you for all it takes to keep it running!

Mike
Mike

I have a new deck made of 2×6 douglas fir spruce in Washington State. It is roughly 1800 sq. ft. And has full sun. The wood is non pressure treated. I want a natural finish. I understand the prep work but am unsure of the best stain to use for this application. Your advice would be appreciated. I am being told Sikkens, or Cabot. I understand this is an every 2 yr maintenance. Money is not an issue. I just want a beautiful deck when its all done. Thank you Mike

Peter Gaulin
Peter Gaulin

I am replacing deck boards with Siberian Larch decking. Can I use this stain right away? Live in Rhode Island and deck gets partial sun and mostly shade.

Martina
Martina

Can you use this on old wood?

BoomChuck
BoomChuck

Hi,
I have a 4 year old western red cedar deck that was previously finished with Penofin. The covered area of deck still looks great minus normal wear. The portion that is not covered has an almost black appearance.
Im going to pressure wash and then sand all deck surfaces and rails and posts.

Will Timber Oil Brand work better than Penofin? We live in the PNW and I’m looking for a penetrator that will hold up for a longer period of time than Penofin and that won’t lose its color.

Thanks,
BC

NIall Ryalls
NIall Ryalls

I have a brand new Alaskan Cedar deck going down, I live in Portland, Oregon, so we have months of rain and damp conditions.

I just tried a Behr product from Home Depot, it did not absorb consistently, pooling in some areas, so I’m just using this for the underneath. Granted I have not used a cleaner on the wood, and it has not weathered any, so do not know if this would have made a difference or not.

What is the recommended stain to use? I’m reading this article and looking at the Wood-Rich Timber oil. The company who sold me the wood are recommending Penofin.

Anyone experience with new Alaskan Cedar in a wet climate?

Margaret Perkin
Margaret Perkin

We have installed pine boards on the deck floor. The deck has a covering roof, but the 2 ends are open. We are thinking of using SuperDeck stain on the deck. What do you think?

Anne
Anne

How does Timberoil work on older decks?

STEVE
STEVE

HAVE DECK SEVERAL YEARS….ORIGINAL STAIN PEELED VERY BADLY…..JUST FLIPPED BOARDS
AND SCREWED DOWN. SOME OF THE BOARDS HAD A BAD CASE OF MOLD ON SURFACE. WILL A
CLEANER REMOVE THE MOLD?

Greg
Greg

Just applied 2nd coat in 3 &1/2 years. Very easy to apply. Cedar was allowed to weather for 1 year prior to first application. Cleaned and brightened and then applied stain. 2nd coat going on just after cleaning. Plan on repeating every 2-3 years. Very happy with results!

20170425_133603.jpg
Terry
Terry

Need a recommendation – I have a 400-500 sq ft 20 yr old deck that we flipped the boards and they look really very good (in spite of being in the Houston area), then expanded the deck with new treated pine and replaced a few unsalvageable old boards. I'm going to pressure wash, clean and brighten the entire deck and posts. I intend to sell the house so need to finish the project pretty quick.
Q1 – Will the timber oil finished look be fairly similar between the old and new boards?
Q2 – I can wait about 2 weeks before staining – will that be ok?
This may be a re-post since perhaps I didn't post the first time correctly.
Thanks for any help.

cat
cat

Hello! I would like to stain a new (3month old) redwood deck with a semitransparent stain that will give a rich brown color and not look reddish. Has anyone used the Brown Sugar color on redwood, and if so, does the final color have the effect I am looking for? Thanks!

Sharon
Sharon

Yes please this is a new ramp for a wheel chair/walker, PT wood, only one week old. Would stain make this slippery when it is wet??

Glenn McKinney
Glenn McKinney

Could you recommend a good brand of deck cleaner and brightener ?

Glenn McKinney
Glenn McKinney

How can I remove mold on a newly stained & sealed red cedar decking ?

Bob
Bob

Where can I buy timber oil stain in North Carolina?

JBdeck
JBdeck

In the picture above for this review, were all components(bridge, etc) that we see stained with this product, or just the deck platform?

Norm
Norm

I installed new cedar deck Aug 2015. I then used RAD cleaner and brighter and applied 1 coat of Woodrich TimberOil in late Sept.

Do I need to apply another coat of Woodrich TimberOil in 2016? If yes, should I wait at least 12 months?
Also would I need to use RAD cleaner and brighter again or would a light cleanup such as water and brush be sufficient?

TMS
TMS

Installing new cedar deck in Northern MN and plan to use timber oil on it per most peoples recommendations. When I go to "re-stain" in a year or two should I keep using timber oil even though TWP seems to be a top choice? and if I do want to switch to TWP do I need to strip the timber oil off?

Brian Hansen
Brian Hansen

I have a new cedar deck that will be completed this week. I plan on using TO as soon as possible – 3 weeks. I noticed in your review you waited three weeks and the only prep was a light cleaning to remove dirt. In the comments you recommended doing a cleaning and brightening to someone in the same situation as myself. I guess I'm just confused – do I need to do a full clean and brighten or can I just do a light cleaning like you did for the review? Great blog btw – thanks for all the great info!

Chuck
Chuck

If I use timber oil to stain my deck. Do I need to use a clear sealer over the top? Or does the timber oil count for that?

Barry
Barry

How many coats did you apply? We just finished a 700 sq. ft. deck 2 weeks ago. It is No. 2 prime kiln dried lumber. Is it okay to strain with this product in 2 weeks?

Carrie
Carrie

Sorry, another question.. I just learned the contractor used TWP 1530-natural on my new cedar deck. I don't love the orangey color. The next time I stain, can I power wash and brighten, then switch to Woodrich Tiber Oil "Western Redwood", or does all of the current color need to be completely stripped/sanded off so it's bare wood? thanks

John O'Loughlin
John O'Loughlin

I have a deck built with IPE Hardwood. Does your product work & how long should it retain the fresh look? Do you ship 2 gallons to a carton. Austin Tx area.

Tom
Tom

I've been pleased with this TO. I've got 2 cedar decks: 1 for our business (1 year old) and 2nd is at home (2.25 yrs old). I've used this timber oil on both of them, I'm currently applying it for the 1st time on the 1 yr old deck.

My question would be, what should be next? Do I continue to use the TO, or at some point do I switch to a stain from same company? The older of the 2 decks had its 1st application applied about a month or 2 after install, and then a 2nd application 1 year ago.

I'm cleaning the decks well before application with sodium carbonate (Oxiclean generic). Thanks for the help.