TWP 100 Pro Series Wood and Deck Stain Review 2024  4.6/5 (84)

This post was updated on May 1, 2024

TWP 100 Pro Series Review for 2024

Here at DeckStainHelp.com, we take pride in the fact that we have become the Internet’s go-to site for all things exterior wood and deck restoration related. Hearing from consumers who have used the TWP 100 Series wood stain, their decks have held up to the test of time and weather after this harsh winter. TWP is one of our top go-to stains as deck restoration contractors and we have been using it for 20+ years. As always, we appreciate your input, so feel free to leave a comment below and pictures of your completed projects if you have them.

Important Note: There has been a recent label change for the TWP 100 Series. New labels now say TWP 100 Pro Series. Same product, performance, and colors.

TWP 100 Series Review

TWP 100 Series Review

TWP 100 Series Ratings ScoreThis is our 3rd Review of the TWP 100 Series.

See our other reviews of the TWP 100 Series here: TWP 100 Wood Stain Reviews

TWP 100 “Total Wood Preservative” Deck Stain protects and maintains all exterior wooden surfaces. TWP Wood Stain is a special blend of chemicals in a contractor-grade formula that safeguards and protects exterior wooden surfaces.

TWP® 100 SERIES penetrates deeply into wood without excessive surface film build, highlighting existing grain patterns with amazing clarity and warmth, and is specifically designed to provide protection against the four major causes of wood degradation: wood rot, water, sunlight & mildew.

TWP Deck Stains – 100 Pro Series Review

TWP 100 Series Wood Deck Stain Scores (1-10)

Appearance After Initial Stain Application: 9

– We prepped the deck first with the Gemini Restore Kit and applied the TWP 120 Pecan color after a few days of drying. This deck was originally done with the TWP 101 Cedartone. The customer wanted to use the Pecan this time as it has a slight “brown” tone. The overall appearance was excellent.

Preventing UV Graying at 2 Year Mark: 8

– Same as the first time tested, The TWP Pecan 120 retained about 80% of the original color after 2 years of full exposure to the elements.

Wear/Tear and Peeling: 9

– Very minor or no wearing of the TWP. TWP penetrates very well into the wood grain so this is normal and expected.

TWP 120 Pecan

TWP 120 Pecan

Cost Per Square Foot: 8

– The price paid was $210 for the 5-gallon pail of TWP 100 Pro-Series Stain. We used 6-7 gallons for our 700 sq. foot deck. The total amount for the stain came to $300 or .44 cents per foot.

Preventing Mold/Mildew/Algae: 9

– No mold or mildew. Some green algae along the edge, near the home.

Ease of Application: 9

– We use the suggested TWP application of “wet on wet”. Pump sprayed on the first coat for the floor very lightly and applied the second coat with a pad applicator to ensure an even appearance. Railings were stained with a pad and brush. Overall, we applied the TWP stain in a few hours to the 700 sq. foot deck and a team of two employees.

Color Shifting (darkening) after 2 Years: 9

– The TWP did not darken from mold or UV discoloration.

Difficulty of Reapplication: 8

– Reapplication will be as easy as using their Gemini Restore A Deck Kit. One of the kits will be enough to clean and brighten the deck for reapplication. No stain stripper will be needed to remove as the TWP has faded lightly and evenly over the last few years.

Overall Score TWP 100 Series Stain at 2 Year Period: 8.5

– Once again the TWP is one of our most commonly used stains. We personally have applied the TWP 100 Series to many 1000’s of decks and rarely have an issue. Easy to apply and easy to reapply when the time comes. There are a few other stains that are as good, but as of yet, no other product has been better.

Note: We do not use TWP on brand new wood. If applied to wood that is less than 4 months old, it seems to have a difficult time with penetration. We find this with many of the stains we have used on new wood. The manufacturer suggests waiting 4-12 months to let the wood weather. We strongly suggest that you wait and only apply one coat for wood that is 4-12 months old.

Product Information:

 

 

TWP Help? Search Google: TWP Stain Help.
More Info: TWP 100 Series
Cost: $42 per Gallon, $210 per 5 Gallon per Pail is the average
Stain Type: Oil-based Semi-Transparent
Available Colors: 100 Clear, 101 Cedartone, 102 Redwood, 115 Honeytone, 116 Rustic, 120 Pecan, 105 Cape Cod Gray, 106 Prarie Gray
Application Temperature: 45-95 F
Coats Required: 2 Coats. Applied “Wet on Wet” Only 1 Coat for new smooth wood.
Coverage Per Gallon: 150-250 sq. ft
Application Tools: Sprayer, Pad, Brush, Roller
Dry Time: 2-12 Hours
Cleanup: Mineral Spirits or Paint Thinner
VOC Compliant: 550 Compliant in 36 States
More Info: Product Data

Test Deck Stats:

Deck Wood Type: Pressure Treated Pine
Deck Square Footage: 700
UV Exposure: Deck in full sun
How Many Years Tested: 2 Years
Stain Color Used: 
TWP Pecan 120

*All products tested and results are from our experience. We offer no guarantee of similar results. Take into consideration that results may differ due to different wood types, exposure to UV radiation, and natural weathering.

TWP 100 Series Stain Photos

TWP 100 Pro-Series Review Video

Please Rate This. You may also post comments or ask questions below.

author avatar
Scott Paul ~ Restoring Wood & Decks Since 1993 Owner
As an article and comment contributor to the site, Scott has been around the pressure washing industry since attending college. In 1993 he started his first company called Oakland Pressure Wash specializing in exterior pressure washing and deck staining. That company evolved into OPW L.L.C. shortly thereafter concentrating more on exterior wood and deck restoration. Scott and his Deck Cleaning Michigan company have restored over 10,000 decks in the Metro Detroit area since the early years. He has become an authority in the deck restoration industry and has contributed to numerous wood restoration forums and informative sites. All the products he suggests through this site are sold through online sites and in retail stores, allowing the consumer to choose their own means of purchase. Scott’s eCommerce sites do sell many top brands he endorses and if you appreciate any of the help he has offered then feel free to purchase from one of them.

Related Deck Stain Help Articles & Reviews

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
1.2K Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Jeff Devore
Jeff Devore
2 years ago

Thanks Deck Stain Help for all of the great info on your site! Followed your guidance & just finished staining our deck, details below & 4 photos attached.
TWP 100 series stain
Custom Color – 5 gallons Rustic 116 to 1 gallon Dark Oak 103
600 sq ft deck + rail + steps + lattice
Pressure Treated Southern Yellow Pine
Waited 1 year to stain new deck
Used Gemini 2 part cleaner
Brushed stain application, 2 coats wet on wet
12 gallons of stain to cover everything in photos

IMG_7327.jpg
IMG_7330.jpg
IMG_7332.jpg
IMG_7333.jpg
Andrew
Andrew
6 years ago

I have applied thousands of gallons of this stain. I LOVE it! I have used Olympic (Max and Elite), Flood, Readyseal, Armstrong Clark, and others. this is BY FAR the best stain money can buy, which is generally cheaper than most oil based stains. Weathering is KEY. you can NOT apply this stain to new wood, it molds in a matter of weeks, but all oil stains will do this because they will not penetrate and trapped in spores will not wash out. Great stain, great price.

Nemo
Nemo
6 years ago
Reply to  Andrew

While we were waiting to stain our white cedar shakes and cypress posts some mildew took root in some areas and we have some water marks. We finally are having it stained 6 mo later and the painters pressure washed every thing with Green Clean. I still see some mildew and they said they hope some sanding will remove it. We also have pine ceilings on the brow and porch which does not have any mildew, thankfully. But does everythg need to be brightened now as well? I do not think they are planning to do that. We are using the TWP 100. Thanks for your help.

Michael Bongiovanni
Michael Bongiovanni
6 years ago
Reply to  Andrew

Cedar Adirondack chairs, sanded smooth, in Minnesota. Do I just leave them alone for the 1st season before applying any finish next fall?

Gary
Gary
5 years ago
Reply to  Andrew

Andrew, when can you apply this to new wood?

Carrie kosenko
Carrie kosenko
3 years ago

My NEW deck was built in April with pressure treated wood . I was going to stain it in oct ( Fall for Michigan ) before the harsh snowy winter season approaches. So that would make it 6 months old but of course the wood could have been older than that from the lumbar yard. That I do not know . Should I be safe to use TWP ?

Donald H. MacMullen
Donald H. MacMullen
6 years ago

I just completed staining my 5-year old cedar using TWP-101. This is by far the best oil-based stain on the market. I made my decision on going with the TWP-100 series based on information on the Safety Data Sheets (SDS) available for most stains online. If it doesn’t contain petroleum distillates and linseed oil, and cleans up with paint thinner, it probably is going to fail and peel within the year. I had used Cabot’s Australian Timber Oil which peeled after 6 months. It took me two months to sand the deck, I then applied the deck stripper and deck brightener. The stain went on smoothly and quickly using a brush. I completed my 650 sf deck including the railing with on 5-gallon pail! The wet-on-wet application is easy and quick and you will not see any drips or lap marks! This stuff is the best out there…you can’t go wrong as long as you have a properly prepared deck! The prep time is the most important; again it took me 2 months to sand and prep!!!!! Don’t rush is and you will be very satisfied! So glad I found this product.

IMG_1139.JPG
Donald H. MacMullen
Donald H. MacMullen
6 years ago

Thanks! And thank you for this product!!!!

Chris Charleston
Chris Charleston
6 years ago

Hi. What color tint did you use on your deck? Looks great.

donald h. MacMullen
donald h. MacMullen
5 years ago

TWP-101 Cedartone

Conniea
Conniea
2 months ago

Last spring we applied TWP 100 to treated pine decking that had been untreated for approximately 4 years. We did a light sanding to clean up then did a powerwash clean after a couple of weeks. It was perfect all summer and fall, but now that it has wintered, the stain has come off of the boards in spots that appear to have knots or a ‘harder’ grain in the areas that catch the most sun (shaded part still looks great). I will say that the stain did not seem to penetrate these areas as well when we initially stained…..but maybe didn’t penetrate at all. We sanded off Behr water base stain on cedar railings and posts then power washed same as decking and all the railing still looks great. I do not detect any peeling of any kind at this point. Is it OK to power wash and recoat this spring? If OK, do we need to do 2 coats or just one? Do you think it will do the same thing every year in these areas that do not penetrate very well? Thanks for any direction you can give us.

deck finish.jpg
Timmy Keenan
Timmy Keenan
4 months ago

Hi, I recently finished replacing all of my old deck boards with new pt pine deck boards which I finished in the late summer. This process took me a little over a year to accomplish due to several factors: I had to cut the deck boards off due to the fasteners failing(screw heads stripped out and screws that broke off), only working on it when I had days off, trying to keep the deck functional by only doing a few rows of boards at a time so that my dogs could get out to the yard and the fact that I don’t work as fast as I used to. Based on varying opinions I decided to let the deck ‘weather’ until this spring to finish the deck. My family likes the look of the TWP 100 Dark Oak so that’s what I plan on using. The deck is 360 square feet One flight of stairs is 26 square feet another flight of stairs is 72 square feet totalling 458 square feet. Someone that works in the stain business suggested that I seal the underneath also which I didn’t think of. I’m not sure if this a good idea or not as far as the sealer recommendations go but do think that it would deter those pesky wood boring bees for a while so if I do the underneath I would need more TWP 100. Since the pt boards have been exposed and gotten weathered I’m thinking they need to be cleaned with something before putting the TWP 100 on and possibly sanded. There are a few products recommended on this site that would probably work to clean the wood. I’m not sure which one to go with for my situation or if I should sand it also. Any suggestions would be appreciated!

Carla
Carla
7 months ago

Last year I stripped and stained our Redwood deck and used TWP rustic. Husband was not pleased with how it weathered (he liked the oily look and water beading of whatever stain the previous owners used). He also feels that it faded too much. For the sake of time, we have decided to just recoat with TWP this year. I used the TWP restore a deck cleaner and brightener and plan to restain- Husband wants to use the Redwood stain color over the Rustic color from last year- will we have issues doing this?

20230929_084640.jpg
20230929_084652.jpg
Diana Viney
Diana Viney
8 months ago

Hi there,
I have prepped my 25 yr old cedar deck by stripping most areas with the restore a deck stripper and also used the twp stripper. Brightened using Restore a deck product last week. I replaced a few rotting boards with kiln dried cedar from local Seattle lumber yard. The new boards were exposed to the brightener product. Should i apply only one coat of the twp 100 series to the new deck boards? And two coats to all others? Would the cleaner/brightener product remove the mill glaze that i see referred to in other new wood posts? This will be my first time using an oil based product since my nightmare with penofin stain 12 years ago. Slightly shy about using the twp in September in Seattle. I will do my best to apply correctly ( not overapply!) so that it gets a full cure despite shade on north side of deck and high humidity in this region. Any tips appreciated! Thanks, Diana

KHen
KHen
8 months ago

Hey there, we have a cedar deck. It’s been neglected for about 5 years so the wood was really grey. I sanded all the railings and added Dalys sea fin ship and shore penetrating waterproofing sealer to harden and condition the wood. I’d like to now use TWP cedar tone over to finish. Do you see any issues there! Thank you!!

Stella searcy
Stella searcy
8 months ago

Second coat needed?

Joe
Joe
8 months ago

What is the best stain for a deck exposed to the winter elements here in the northeastern US? It is a deck constructed of Amish rough cut lumber. How often should it be stained? How many coats should be applied each time. Thank you

Silvano Brecevic
Silvano Brecevic
9 months ago

Hi. I live in Port Huron Michigan. I have a pressure treated 2 tiered deck that is 50 percent in the shade for most of the day. With snow cover post winter I do get a bit of mildew that burns off in the spring and summer heat. I used a clear PU coating last year and it faded as well as flaked off. I am looking for a light or clear stain that is very UV resistant and has an Algicide component to it. I can spray or roll or rag on and am not concerned whether it is water based or solvent based. My main concern would be to get the maximum number of years with little fading or flaking. I can sand prep etc. please advise.

Cynthia
Cynthia
10 months ago

I just applied one coat of Sherwin-Williams water-based transparent wood stain on new deck wood9 mos. old.. Now I read that it fades & peels after 2 years…not what I want! Whata to do now? Should I strip it with Restore A Deck stripper that biodegradable, then apply TWP 100 Pro-Series that has 9.2-9.8 rating. Need guidance! Thanks,

Sara
Sara
10 months ago

My husband is in the midst of re sanding deck as we speak. It’s about 15-17 years old. After sanding do you recommend washing or treating with anything before start staining I think we are gonna go with the TWP 100. What is the wet on wet application ? Has spent over a week sanding don’t want to pick wrong stain after all of this. We normally have pressure washed and then stained but felt it was time to give a good re sanding.

Janine
Janine
10 months ago

We are refinishing a cottage dock. The wood is pressure treated about 20 old. It has been sanded, removing old treatments, and are looking for a wood treatment that will give it moisture and more life without building a film or sheen that will be slippery. We would like a bit of colour, but not a solid colour/stain. Confused re differences with the attributes of stains vs oils in the research we’ve done. Suggestions would be appreciated.

tdub
tdub
10 months ago

New cedar fence 6 yrs ago installed in November. Let it sit until the next summer, prepped and stained using this. 5 years later still looking good. Certain parts now starting to show bare wood and some green on a few panels in spots but overall I’m very surprised by the results. Have nothing to compare it to since this is the first time staining my fence but can’t imagine another of this type of stain that would last longer but I’m always looking!

In the next couple years I’ll be looking at restaining and probably looking at their semi solid with hope I could get 10 years.
My fence is 300 ft long and 6 ft. tall. It took dozens and dozens of hours of prep and work.
Pressure washing, cleaning, waiting to dry, staining, waiting to dry, covering with tarps during rain, etc…I tried different methods but ended up brushing the entire thing. Can’t say that brushing made any difference compared to spraying but it did give me more control.
Even if you spray you still need to brush at some point.

Bottom line is it was a lot of work but the results were and still are incredible. I can’t comment on using this on decks but if you do the right work you won’t be disappointed in the results on fencing.

Walter
Walter
11 months ago

I am about to undertake (for the first time) the cleaning, brightening, and staining of a boat dock. The decking is pressure treated #1 pine. The storage room is T-111 siding and was NOT replaced. It is about 6 years old and never been stained. I have been looking at a number of different products and the more I read, the more confused I get. Is it better to use water based stain or oil base? I want something that will last. I don’t want to have to do this all over again in a year or two. Also, some companies say to stain the wood within a couple weeks of installation. On this forum, however, I see it suggested to let new wood weather for 4 to 6 months. What am I to believe?

Jim Kempf
Jim Kempf
11 months ago

Greetings Scott,
I like your website and I can use all the help that you can provide. However, I have tried several times to register for the help forum without success. After I have input my user name (3-15 characters), email address, robot puzzle, click on agree to allow for you to send me an email …. then click enter …. I get a message on the screen telling me that I am using illegal characters (I think in my user name). Which does not allow me to register. I have tried different user names such as JHK49 and harvey …. I get the same message. Any help for this would be appreciated.

Jim Kempf
Jim Kempf
11 months ago

Greetings from southwest Georgia. I have recently had my pressure treated pine deck replaced (1000 horizontal sq. ft.) and now the next step is to get it sealed/stained. On my old deck I used a product called OneTime Wood, it worked OK but I thought I would try something different this time around. After reading many reviews and “expert” opinions I finally found your website which seems to know more about stains than the others. My concerns are UV protection since I live in the (hot/humid) south and just about the whole deck is in direct sunlight most of the day …. which of your top stains will provide the better UV protection? Ease of application is important to me since at 74 years old I am only good for about 4 hours a day …. and getting up/down isn’t as easy as it once was. Of your top stains, which is the easiest to apply ie. roller, brush, spray, rag? I am planning to use an oil based semi-transparent stain. I saw that you rated TWP 100 and TWP 1500 stains at 8.5 ….. What did you not like about those stains? For the Armstrong Clark stain you did not show a rating as you did for the TWP, why not? Also, if you have any thoughts/suggestions about this next investment for my deck, please feel free to express.

Tony
Tony
11 months ago

Thank you for creating this resource. Which product do you think would be better for my new PT deck- TWP100 or TWP1500? From what I’ve read here, I’m pretty sure it’s between these two. For reference, we live at 6500 feet altitude in Colorado with 8+ hours of full sun exposure, with very low humidity. Is there a better product you know of for this application? Also, I know you recommend ~6 months for the PT to fully dry, however, does that also apply for very dry climates like mine, with full exposure? Thank you!

Tony
Tony
11 months ago

Thank you!

Lois Chance
Lois Chance
1 year ago

My deck and porch were just stained for the second time with TWP 100 series but porch is still tacky 5 days later while deck has dried. Weather is in high 70’s and low humidity What do you recommend to fix issue.

William Blaylock
William Blaylock
1 year ago

I have a 3 month redwood fence. Do I need to wait 4 – 6 months before applying, and is it acceptable to use a pump sprayer?

Hap
Hap
1 year ago

Where can I buy the stain in Cincinnati Ohio

Gary
Gary
1 year ago

I am new to this site. I have a pressured treated deck that will be a year old in July of 2023. What do you recommend to stain the deck with? Thank you.

Gary
Gary
1 year ago

What is your opinion on Penofin vs TWP100?

pjh01
pjh01
1 year ago

Can this product be obtained in a solid color (IE: Barn Red ?) I’m looking for a good Siding product for T-111, which will match an existing structure on the property. Located in Eastern PA. If not can you make a recommendation? Thanks

Randy Martin
Randy Martin
1 year ago

I live in Oregon and have been using TWP 100 series for many years, applying every 2 years to 27 year old cedar deck. About a year ago we noticed deck to stop beading up water after only 1 year since application. Since the wood is so old, should we be putting 2 coats of TWP 100 series on? Thank you very much!

Randy Martin
Randy Martin
1 year ago

Thank you Scott! But does a second coat help or harm? Much appreciation.

Randy Martin
Randy Martin
1 year ago

Scott, thank you again.How does one determine the porosity of a 27 year old cedar detck that has just had a fresh sanding and one coat of TWP 100 series? There is a shine film on the cedar that does not get much traffic, but no shine film on the heavy traffic cedar. Would you recommend 2nd coat test on a portion of the heavy traffic cedar decking? Other thoughts appreciated!

Brett
Brett
1 year ago

Does the higher amount of solids in the TWP 1500 help it perform better than the 100 in anyway?
There is review of the 1500 in 2022 on this site that says it is the best even though they are rated the same overall.
Is there a reason I should use one over the other?
Also, can I add a mildewcide to either for extra protection?

Brett
Brett
1 year ago

I’m using it on Douglas fir wood soffits and covered patio ceilings so most of it doesn’t get direct UV. I’m more concerned with mold and mildew since I already have a problem with it 1 year after moving in to a new house. PPG cetol SRD was used on it.
Would I be better off using Restore-a-deck with better mildewcide? Or TWP 100 or 1500?

Kirsten Logan
Kirsten Logan
1 year ago

Hi there,
We will be having a new red cedar, horizontal tongue and groove fence installed in a couple of weeks. Unfortunately, TWP is not VOC compliant in NJ as I know it is your top pic and gets great ratings in general. I have researched quite a bit and Consumer Reports rates Behr as very good/their pick. But I have seen lots of complaints as well. The company that we are working with is a firm believer in BM Arborcoat and has never had an issue. I was thinking semi-transparent Stonehedge. We are having our fence stained before it is put in place because we have a narrow lot and don’t want to bother the neighbors once it is in place. So, it won’t be weathered for 4 months unfortunately. Any help you can provide would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

1.2K
0
Questions or leave a review, please comment!x