TWP 100 Pro Series Wood and Deck Stain Review 2022 4.6/5 (78)

This post was updated on January 14, 2022

TWP 100 Pro Series Review for 2022

Here at DeckStainHelp.com, we take pride in the fact that we have become the Internet’s go-to site for all things exterior wood and deck restoration related. Hearing from consumers who have used the TWP 100 Series wood stain, their decks have held up to the test of time and weather after this harsh winter. TWP is one of our top go-to stains as deck restoration contractors and we have been using it for 20+ years. As always, we appreciate your input, so feel free to leave a comment below and pictures of your completed projects if you have them.

Important Note: There has been a recent label change for the TWP 100 Series. New labels now say TWP 100 Pro Series. Same product, performance, and colors.

TWP 100 Series Review

TWP 100 Series Review

TWP 100 Series Ratings ScoreThis is our 3rd Review of the TWP 100 Series.

See our other reviews of the TWP 100 Series here: TWP 100 Wood Stain Reviews

TWP 100 “Total Wood Preservative” Deck Stain protects and maintains all exterior wooden surfaces. TWP Wood Stain is a special blend of chemicals in a contractor-grade formula that safeguards and protects exterior wooden surfaces.

TWP® 100 SERIES penetrates deeply into wood without excessive surface film build, highlighting existing grain patterns with amazing clarity and warmth, and is specifically designed to provide protection against the four major causes of wood degradation: wood rot, water, sunlight & mildew.

TWP Deck Stains – 100 Pro Series Review

TWP 100 Series Wood Deck Stain Scores (1-10)

Appearance After Initial Stain Application: 9

– We prepped the deck first with the Gemini Restore Kit and applied the TWP 120 Pecan color after a few days of drying. This deck was originally done with the TWP 101 Cedartone. The customer wanted to use the Pecan this time as it has a slight “brown” tone. The overall appearance was excellent.

Preventing UV Graying at 2 Year Mark: 8

– Same as the first time tested, The TWP Pecan 120 retained about 80% of the original color after 2 years of full exposure to the elements.

Wear/Tear and Peeling: 9

– Very minor or no wearing of the TWP. TWP penetrates very well into the wood grain so this is normal and expected.

TWP 120 Pecan

TWP 120 Pecan

Cost Per Square Foot: 8

– The price paid was $170 for the 5-gallon pail of TWP 100 Pro-Series Stain. We used 6-7 gallons for our 700 sq. foot deck. The total amount for the stain came to $240 or .35 cents per foot.

Preventing Mold/Mildew/Algae: 9

– No mold or mildew. Some green algae along the edge, near the home.

Ease of Application: 9

– We use the suggested TWP application of “wet on wet”. Pump sprayed on the first coat for the floor very lightly and applied the second coat with a pad applicator to ensure an even appearance. Railings were stained with a pad and brush. Overall, we applied the TWP stain in a few hours to the 700 sq. foot deck and a team of two employees.

Color Shifting (darkening) after 2 Years: 9

– The TWP did not darken from mold or UV discoloration.

Difficulty of Reapplication: 8

– Reapplication will be as easy as using their Gemini Restore A Deck Kit. One of the kits will be enough to clean and brighten the deck for reapplication. No stain stripper will be needed to remove as the TWP has faded lightly and evenly over the last few years.

Overall Score TWP 100 Series Stain at 2 Year Period: 8.5

– Once again the TWP is one of our most commonly used stains. We personally have applied the TWP 100 Series to many 1000’s of decks and rarely have an issue. Easy to apply and easy to reapply when the time comes. There are a few other stains that are as good, but as of yet, no other product has been better.

Note: We do not use TWP on brand new wood. If applied to wood that is less than 4 months old, it seems to have a difficult time with penetration. We find this with many of the stains we have used on new wood. The manufacturer suggests waiting 4-12 months to let the wood weather. We strongly suggest that you wait and only apply one coat for wood that is 4-12 months old.

Product Information:

TWP Help? Search Google: TWP Stain Help.
More Info: TWP 100 Series
TWP Stain Facebook Page: TWP Deck and Wood Stains
Cost: $36 per Gallon, $180 per 5 Gallon Pail is the average
Stain Type: Oil-based Semi-Transparent
Available Colors: 100 Clear, 101 Cedartone, 102 Redwood, 115 Honeytone, 116 Rustic, 120 Pecan, 105 Cape Cod Gray, 106 Prarie Gray
Application Temperature: 45-95 F
Coats Required: 2 Coats. Applied “Wet on Wet” Only 1 Coat for new smooth wood.
Coverage Per Gallon: 150-250 sq. ft
Application Tools: Sprayer, Pad, Brush, Roller
Dry Time: 2-12 Hours
Cleanup: Mineral Spirits or Paint Thinner
VOC Compliant: 550 Compliant in 36 States
More Info: Product Data

Test Deck Stats:

Deck Wood Type: Pressure Treated Pine
Deck Square Footage: 700
UV Exposure: Deck in full sun
How Many Years Tested: 2 Years
Stain Color Used: 
TWP Pecan 120

*All products tested and results are from our experience. We offer no guarantee of similar results. Take into consideration that results may differ due to different wood types, exposure to UV radiation, and natural weathering.

TWP 100 Series Stain Photos

TWP 100 Pro-Series Review Video


Please Rate This. You may also post comments or ask questions below.

Related Deck Stain Help Articles & Reviews

guest
1.2K Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Jeff Devore
Jeff Devore
7 months ago

Thanks Deck Stain Help for all of the great info on your site! Followed your guidance & just finished staining our deck, details below & 4 photos attached.
TWP 100 series stain
Custom Color – 5 gallons Rustic 116 to 1 gallon Dark Oak 103
600 sq ft deck + rail + steps + lattice
Pressure Treated Southern Yellow Pine
Waited 1 year to stain new deck
Used Gemini 2 part cleaner
Brushed stain application, 2 coats wet on wet
12 gallons of stain to cover everything in photos

IMG_7327.jpg
IMG_7330.jpg
IMG_7332.jpg
IMG_7333.jpg
Andrew
Andrew
5 years ago

I have applied thousands of gallons of this stain. I LOVE it! I have used Olympic (Max and Elite), Flood, Readyseal, Armstrong Clark, and others. this is BY FAR the best stain money can buy, which is generally cheaper than most oil based stains. Weathering is KEY. you can NOT apply this stain to new wood, it molds in a matter of weeks, but all oil stains will do this because they will not penetrate and trapped in spores will not wash out. Great stain, great price.

Nemo
Nemo
4 years ago
Reply to  Andrew

While we were waiting to stain our white cedar shakes and cypress posts some mildew took root in some areas and we have some water marks. We finally are having it stained 6 mo later and the painters pressure washed every thing with Green Clean. I still see some mildew and they said they hope some sanding will remove it. We also have pine ceilings on the brow and porch which does not have any mildew, thankfully. But does everythg need to be brightened now as well? I do not think they are planning to do that. We are using the TWP 100. Thanks for your help.

Michael Bongiovanni
Michael Bongiovanni
4 years ago
Reply to  Andrew

Cedar Adirondack chairs, sanded smooth, in Minnesota. Do I just leave them alone for the 1st season before applying any finish next fall?

Gary
Gary
3 years ago
Reply to  Andrew

Andrew, when can you apply this to new wood?

Carrie kosenko
Carrie kosenko
2 years ago

My NEW deck was built in April with pressure treated wood . I was going to stain it in oct ( Fall for Michigan ) before the harsh snowy winter season approaches. So that would make it 6 months old but of course the wood could have been older than that from the lumbar yard. That I do not know . Should I be safe to use TWP ?

Donald H. MacMullen
Donald H. MacMullen
5 years ago

I just completed staining my 5-year old cedar using TWP-101. This is by far the best oil-based stain on the market. I made my decision on going with the TWP-100 series based on information on the Safety Data Sheets (SDS) available for most stains online. If it doesn’t contain petroleum distillates and linseed oil, and cleans up with paint thinner, it probably is going to fail and peel within the year. I had used Cabot’s Australian Timber Oil which peeled after 6 months. It took me two months to sand the deck, I then applied the deck stripper and deck brightener. The stain went on smoothly and quickly using a brush. I completed my 650 sf deck including the railing with on 5-gallon pail! The wet-on-wet application is easy and quick and you will not see any drips or lap marks! This stuff is the best out there…you can’t go wrong as long as you have a properly prepared deck! The prep time is the most important; again it took me 2 months to sand and prep!!!!! Don’t rush is and you will be very satisfied! So glad I found this product.

IMG_1139.JPG
Donald H. MacMullen
Donald H. MacMullen
5 years ago

Thanks! And thank you for this product!!!!

Chris Charleston
Chris Charleston
5 years ago

Hi. What color tint did you use on your deck? Looks great.

donald h. MacMullen
donald h. MacMullen
3 years ago

TWP-101 Cedartone

Brett
Brett
22 days ago

Does the higher amount of solids in the TWP 1500 help it perform better than the 100 in anyway?
There is review of the 1500 in 2022 on this site that says it is the best even though they are rated the same overall.
Is there a reason I should use one over the other?
Also, can I add a mildewcide to either for extra protection?

Brett
Brett
21 days ago

I’m using it on Douglas fir wood soffits and covered patio ceilings so most of it doesn’t get direct UV. I’m more concerned with mold and mildew since I already have a problem with it 1 year after moving in to a new house. PPG cetol SRD was used on it.
Would I be better off using Restore-a-deck with better mildewcide? Or TWP 100 or 1500?

Kirsten Logan
Kirsten Logan
1 month ago

Hi there,
We will be having a new red cedar, horizontal tongue and groove fence installed in a couple of weeks. Unfortunately, TWP is not VOC compliant in NJ as I know it is your top pic and gets great ratings in general. I have researched quite a bit and Consumer Reports rates Behr as very good/their pick. But I have seen lots of complaints as well. The company that we are working with is a firm believer in BM Arborcoat and has never had an issue. I was thinking semi-transparent Stonehedge. We are having our fence stained before it is put in place because we have a narrow lot and don’t want to bother the neighbors once it is in place. So, it won’t be weathered for 4 months unfortunately. Any help you can provide would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

Chadd Sewell
Chadd Sewell
2 months ago

I used TWP golden pecan on a very weathered wooden fence. I pressure washed it the wood and then applied 1 coat of TWP and 3 years later still very happy. FUNNY Thing, I Came across this review because, I bought Rocksolid 20x,around the same time; but went with the TWP instead. I was going to use up the gallon of 20X on small wheelchair chair ramp but I don’t have the primer suggested, and now I am having second thoughts on the 20X rust-O which I had high hopes for. TWP I felt I would give credit, where credit is due.

20220708_170047.jpg
Cheryl Mack
Cheryl Mack
3 months ago

I have a 22 year old deck in pretty good condition. So happy to have found your website about 6 years ago – TWP is the only product I’ve ever used (after perhaps 5 or 6 different products needing to be redone nearly every year!) that has lasted and worked beautifully!

Last year we had to redo our steps and a few boards with new cedar. Now I need to stain the new boards after weathering approximately 10-11 months.

I know I need to clean/brighten the new wood, and clean the old wood, then stain it all. Should I use the same cleaning products on the entire deck (I usually just wash with dish soap and water and reapply TWP when necessary)? Should I strip the old decking even if I’m using the same color stain (TWP 120 Pro Pecan)?

And anything different if I decide to change the color?

CBE21E02-B311-4A9D-89C0-AC59583F54C4.jpeg
0F3C8A6A-BE7B-4146-A7DA-41720E3B3F37.jpeg
Cheryl Mackinnon
Cheryl Mackinnon
12 days ago

Just wanted to say thanks for your excellent guidance. It took me a while to get to it, but I did just what you said and the deck turned out great!

Carol McKee
Carol McKee
4 months ago

My little deck is 140 sf pressure-treated lumber (pine?), Central Florida. Originally coated 6 years ago with Thompson’s Water Seal(?) or some other useless stain/sealer. It’s finally peeled off enough to tackle again and have pressure-washed- mostly bare wood now except for a few small areas which I have sanded enough to blend, if not completely removed. I’m 72 yo (old and tired) and don’t need the deck to look perfect. Cost is an issue. I’m leaning towards the RAD bc of the short drying time and easy cleanup.
Will it be a disaster to use either TWP (oil based) or Restore-A-Deck without all the prep work? At this point I just want to be able to slop it on with a pad and be done with it.

Carol McKee
Carol McKee
4 months ago

It’s somewhat weathered but not actually gray and comes up to a rich “natural” color after a good rain. Six years of dead pecan tree leaves must’ve protected it. Color resembles new PT lumber. Pics show leftover previous finish.
Forgot to mention pressure wash was with water only, two weeks ago. Which product(s) do I need to use? Both cleaner and brightener?

IMG_20220601_131744710[1].jpg
IMG_20220601_131756543[1].jpg
IMG_20220601_131738673[1].jpg
Rick
Rick
4 months ago

Why did my cedartone CWP stain applied to western red cedar develop black splotches and spots in some areas which are shaded and near the house?

Suzie
Suzie
4 months ago

What is the difference between TWP 100 and 1500? What is the best TWP to use on a 5yr old cedar deck that I will clean first with your suggested Gemini product. Previously stained with oil base

Kelly
Kelly
4 months ago

I have a deck around my salt water pool. Will this stain hold up?

Ryan
Ryan
4 months ago

New deck 12 months old in Michigan

Ryan
Ryan
4 months ago

Which one to use on a new deck….12 months old…in Michigan

Jennifer
Jennifer
4 months ago

My pressure treated deck is only a month old and my contractor is wanting to stain… I am in Georgia where it is getting quite hot but I’m wondering if it’s really ready. Is there a TWP product that works on new pressure treated wood?

FCH
FCH
4 months ago

We put in a deck about 6 years ago using treated wood. We live near Seattle in Washington state. We have not been happy with the stain we have used and have not been able to get an even coverage even after pressure washing. We plan on sanding the deck and using TWP stain. The deck is 17′ x 32′. Should we use any other product to make sure this stain penetrates? Any other advise you can give us would be appreciated. (Right now it is raining so the picture would not be helpful, but let us know if you need one.
Thank you

Larry
Larry
4 months ago

We live in Ohio a couple of miles inland from Lake Erie. Deck is on the east side of house. Replaced about 1,000 sq ft of ptw last September. Considering TWP semi-transparent. Would 100 be a better choice than the 1500? Clean and brighten? Would probably be at least another month before I and Mother Nature both get in the mood. Thanks

John
John
5 months ago

Great information here, this really is the best online source out there for staining expertise. We’ve read the reviews and wanted to know your opinion on our plans to apply semi transparent stain to not only our PT decks, but also our shed and fence.

Standard pine fence and T 111 shed has been stained over several years ago with semi transparent. Our smaller PT deck has been stained years ago with semi transparent. Our larger PT deck has never been stained post install 3 years ago.

Torn between Restore A Deck and TWP 100. They are very close in score w/ a slight edge to Restore A Deck. I saw your TWP 100 testing was performed in full sun, whereas Restore A Deck was half sun. Our larger deck, shed and fence will be in mostly full sun. The smaller deck has very little sun (north facing).

Was hoping to simplify and only use one stain for all. Leaning toward TWP 100 but can also see the value in the Restore A Deck being a little better w/ mildew prevention. Our larger deck has developed small black specs of mold even though it’s primarily in the sun.

Would appreciate any thoughts you have on what stain would work best for the above.

Thanks,

John

Scott
Scott
5 months ago

I live in the desert southwest and I am wondering if I need to oil the wood before I apply a 100 series product. The wood has been outside for 1.5 years now and is starting to show the little cracks of dryness.

Thomas BRANDOW
Thomas BRANDOW
6 months ago

What is recommended for redwood desk?

Kim
Kim
6 months ago

Thank you for this useful information! Planning to stain our new pressure treated pine deck that has been weathering 7 months. Still debating the merits of oil-based vs water-based. It is a large deck that comes out over a walk-in basement, and it will be a big project prepping and staining. The question is should we stain underneath the boards at the same time as we do the top surface, or can they be done at separate times? Can the boards be sprayed from underneath? (I understand we will need to clean/brighten first)

Brian
Brian
6 months ago

I am replacing my vinyl siding of my house with non treated cypress siding. What would you recommend to preserve and maintain natural look the longest? I have considered a light tint transparent stain/sealer as well. I live on the southern Gulf Coast in blistering sun and high humidity. Thanks.

Tyler
Tyler
6 months ago

Would you suggest using TWP over regular (not pressure treated) pine tongue and groove for an exterior porch ceiling or would an oil based poly be better? Thanks.

Dean G
Dean G
7 months ago

I have a cedar panel garage door that is in need of renewing. Used Sikkens Cetol SRD originally when new. Have never really been happy with it. What is the best product to remove it to prep for a new stain product? Would like to use something else to refinish the door. Is TWP 100 a good choice for vertical application (obviously not a deck). Live in Colorado so 100 is banned but 1500 is not. If TWP is a good choice, should I be concerned about the difference of 100 vs 1500 for Colorado exterior conditions or not as overall results may be the same? I can get 100 in Wyoming and have a friend that can help me out with that depending on your remarks. I would welcome suggestions for other products that you may have experience and think would be a better solution.

Dean G
Dean G
6 months ago

Ok – here are pictures of both doors. I will be doing some minor repair of the base boards but otherwise it is ready to strip and restain. Your recommendations will be appreciated. Thanks

door1.jpg
door 2.jpg
Dean G
Dean G
6 months ago

Assuming the stripper and brightener do the job, should I do a wet on wet application for the doors or stick with one coat?

Dean G
Dean G
6 months ago

Sorry one last note: I intend on using the TWP 1501 stain (cedartone).
Thanks

John Andrick
John Andrick
9 months ago

Does the clear provide UV protection and prevent graying

John Andrick
John Andrick
9 months ago

Thanks

randy oconnor
randy oconnor
10 months ago

i just had new western cedar picket fence stained, after all the correct prep, ageing, powerwashing, was using honeytone 1515, after i went thru several samples ordered from twp, ordered 10 gals, more than enough, first bucket the professial used, looked like baby **** yellow, second bucket come out beautful golden honey color, whats up with that?!, spent 9 grand on the fence, and half of it is ruined, and of course its on the roadside, we live on a corner lot. I know they ll be a reason for it,

Paul J Georgas, Jr.
Paul J Georgas, Jr.
10 months ago

How can I get a samples of Cypress stained with TWP100 105 Cape Cod Gray and 06 Prairie Gray

Aleisha
Aleisha
1 year ago

Hi! We have a two year old pressure treated deck that has never been stained. At the advice of a paint store employee, we purchased Benjamin Moore Restore to prep the deck for stain (wish I read this article and the comments ahead of time and purchased the TWP prep kit). We also pressure washed it. Couple of questions:
1) do you recommend we do anything else to prep it, like sanding? There are a couple of stains that are lingering.
2) what type of TWP should we use? (We live in upstate NY)
3) two coats?

Thanks for your help!

Nancy Eden
Nancy Eden
1 year ago

We want to re-coat a deck that is in very rough shape. What would you suggest? We used a Pittsburgh Paint product 6 or so years ago. It’s mostly gone. Should we use a solid stain or paint product? What brand?

Sherri
Sherri
1 year ago

We used Cabots Semi Transparent srain and seal on our deck. We finished about 6:15pm last night, and it is raining this morning . Will this cause problems?

Sarah
Sarah
1 year ago

I am looking to refinish some cypress columns around my home. I would like for them to match our gable or repeat their current finish but am having a hard time judging what is on either of them. Also weighing in ease or reapplication and overall longevity. Any ideas?

BDC3A96F-B3D7-460E-A243-5DB25DE6A5FE.jpeg
F89AB822-1809-4BF2-A78C-532874490401.jpeg
Atlanta
Atlanta
1 year ago

Should you wait several months for new pressure treated pine split rail fence with this stain, too? This wood is rough cut and seems very dry and “thirsty.”

Thanks!

Bill
Bill
1 year ago

Do I need to wait for a number of days with low humidity before staining with water base semi-transparent stain? Old finish has been sanded off.

Greg
Greg
1 year ago

Can I get deck stain in sage green tones?

Lynne
Lynne
1 year ago

Hi, I’m in WA state outside Seattle, planning to stain a long cedar fence bordering 3 neighbors. Part shade in back; shade and sun on sides; sides under Douglas fir trees. Built in 2004. It was stained once about 16 years ago using clear; my husband says the stain and protection “is long gone.” Don’t know what former product was used. We have some mold issues, lichens/moss, etc. clinging but it’s in mostly good shape. Planning on using TWP 100 in clear as neighbors are not staining the fence on their side and I am concerned about colored stain ending up on their side from our painters/slat openings. I know no UV protection with that.
Do I still need to strip, clean, brighten? Or can I skip the stripping? (and what products for all this?) How to remove the mold? Thanks for such a helpful site!

IMG_7194.jpg
Steve friedman
Steve friedman
1 year ago

I used Gemini restore a deck on a pressure treated deck and railings. Wood was 3 months old. Than used twp 205 cedar. Ihave always used 205. Not 100. Now I have tannin and mold and mildew. Stained 3 months ago. What shield I do now. Thanks.

Bob mladucky
Bob mladucky
1 year ago

Can I add anti skid to a semi solid stain to get some slip resitance

Katie
Katie
1 year ago

My unopened TWP 120 stain is full of clumps like this I think I got a defective batch? I tried mixing in the clumps but they won’t go away and don’t want to risk ruining my deck after all the prep work I did.

Attach0.jpg
Katie
Katie
1 year ago

You were right I purchased a drill mixer, used the stain and it turned out great. Thank you for quick answer and giving me piece of mind.

Jeff
Jeff
1 year ago

My new pressure treated covered deck is a year and has never been stained. I power washed it pretty thoroughly because it had lots of stains from everyday use and then I used a brightener and now waiting two days it to dry. Tomorrow I plan on rolling with (3/4″ nap) one coat of TWP 100 Pecon then spraying my railings.

1.) My understanding is that I should only apply one coat of stain is this correct?
2.) Should I apply a 2nd coat of stain next year or just wait until the entire deck needs to be refinished? In other words is there any advantage to staining again quickly?
3.) The deck still gets rain and snow blown on it so should I look into applying a sealer after staining for waterproofing? I’m worried about the wood expanding when it freezes and thaws.
4.) The ceiling of my deck is pine tongue and groove (shingled roof, little to no sunlight). I already sanded it with 180 grit then plan on using one coat of TWP CLEAR 120. Is this a good plan and is there anything else I should be doing to it? Will it need two coats?
5.) How good will unused stain last for in the can opened and unopened?
6.) Will rolling stain on deck and ceiling then spraying railings give me best result or is there a preferred method?

Attach0 (1).jpg
Cheryl
Cheryl
1 year ago

Can you use this on 5 month old cedar fence?

David and SPENCER
David and SPENCER
1 year ago

We are in coastal North Carolina and have installed a new wood fence of Severe Weather EcoLife-treated pine from Lowe’s. We want the natural wood color to remain unchanged over time. Should we use the TWP Pro Series 101 or another product now for the initial preservative coating? How dry does the wood need to be for proper finishing? We are having a fairly consistent tropical afternoon rain daily. Your thoughts.

Bill Bowers
Bill Bowers
1 year ago

is a wood cleaner AND brightener just as good as SEPARATE cleaner and later a separate brightener only

Deborah A Clouser
Deborah A Clouser
1 year ago

If I use the “wet on wet” application method, when would I apply a second coat?

Nadie VanZandt
Nadie VanZandt
1 year ago

I stripped and sanded my deck and I am wondering if it is necessary to use a wood brightener before staining the deck. I plan to use TWP 100 PRO- Series for the stain.

KATARINA
KATARINA
1 year ago

I was wondering if you can help me choose a right product for older cedar siding on the house. We are in Seattle, siding has been painted with solid color few times, but paint usually only last for a couple of years or so and then starts peeling.

thelilpups
thelilpups
1 year ago

Hi guys,

Love all the videos you have added. So after stripping and sanding my deck, I will be doing a final round of prep – being cleaning and brightening with the RAD products, per your suggestions. After 4 days of drying we will apply TWP101 Cedartone which we have previously purchased from you affiliates. Since we have stripped and sanded the deck, you have already advised us to only put on one coat this season and a second coat next season. Your TWP video here shows a two step process: Wet on wet pump spray on then use a pad applicator. Would that work for one coat or is that considered two coats?

Thanks in advance!
Lee

thelilpups
thelilpups
1 year ago

Thanks, glad to confirm that. We are now in a heat wave with full sun so it may be a couple weeks but I will post pictures. BTW, I get a total score of 8.63 for TWP based on your ratings.

Robin
Robin
1 year ago

need recommendation for white semi-transparent stain for unfinished wood deck that has weathered 12 months

Robin
Robin
1 year ago

Cabot & Valspar list semi-transparent and semi-solid white as an option. Lowes says they can color match. How do they do that? We want to do the deck surface in a darker stain and the roof wood supports in a white stain. New wood weathered 12 months & just cleaned with OxyClean. Central Indiana. Your recommendation?

Robin
Robin
1 year ago

Actually, I just found your review on FLOOD stain that looks good!

Kristin
Kristin
1 year ago

Can I use TWP on Ipe? We have a MASSIVE ipe deck, full sun and by a pool. We have tried a few different brands- I lived penofin the first year, but it seems like they changed something in formulation and it’s not as good. We did superdeck exotic as well. Nothing holds up for even a full summer. We are in Massachusetts. Debating on trying two or deckwise ipe oil- also thought about a marine grade teak oil.
Just finishing up washing it this weekend, and will need to apply a brightener(and recs for this?) Before applying a new oil.

IMG_20170615_201354994.jpg
IMG_20180624_140040468.jpg
Kristin
Kristin
1 year ago

Thanks. I read the reviews on exotics, and have heard so many things from different sources. May have to try restore.

Annalee
Annalee
1 year ago

I have used super deck exotic hardwood stain in natural on my hardwood deck & over the years reapply on my mahogany wood & over time I lost the many color variations & became a solid brown. This year I pressure washed it & removed most of the old stain. Some areas that were protected would not budge &remain brown. I can live with that if I have to because furniture will hide this area. What do I do know & what would be the best protection &keep the many shades of the mahogany wood thank you for your help

Jen
Jen
1 year ago

have an old fur deck. It is about 18 in L. It has one side that has a built in bench. Orig from 1987sh. It was we think painted or what looked like paint. We had to replace about 10 or so floor boards two years ago. Now beautiful nice silver gray. No stain or anything on them. We just had to replace 33 floor boards. The railings and bench only minor replacements but the trim under the benches is still fully painted (powerwashed 2x, sanded bench and railings as could). So, my question. 1) Can we stain floor b/c some is brand new and some is a few years old? 2) Or should we wait 4-6 mo for new wood to get seasoned then stain in fall? 3) Or wait a full year and refinish next spring? 4) We were told that we probably need to use solid or semi perm stain (like paint) on the bench and railings/trim b/c we cannot get all of the prior paint out. You agree? So we’ll end up w/ a 2 toned deck hopefully – Transparent stain deck floor and then solid white trim, railings and bench. Should we wait on it all – we powerwashed the deck entirely. Also we have a man who can do this but I fear having someone claim they can do this and not be skilled at doing it well as not all paint jobs are created equal esp when you look at this deck all the time. Would love your take. Also what treatment(s) or stain do you recommend for the flooring and then the white trim, railings etc? He used water to powerwash as didn’t want to use chemicals on new wood if he could avoid.

Robert Christiansen
Robert Christiansen
1 year ago

I have an approximately 600 sq.ft. treated deck in the Chicago area. It has been refinished three times in the last 20 years with semi-transparent stain first then two solid color stains with thorough cleaning between coats. The deck is now peeling and down to bare wood in some areas. I would like to re-coat with TWP 1500. I plan on power washing the deck and using a cleaner.What are your recommendations

Richard Douglas
Richard Douglas
1 year ago

What is the best stain for a pressure treated pool deck. Pool is chlorine. Deck is 5 years old and I sanded the deck floor boards with 100 grit. I live in western NY. Just need the proper product that will last the longest. Don’t really care about wood grain. Last product was solid color and peeled off. Thanks for your help.

Matt Henry
Matt Henry
1 year ago

I stained my deck about 5 years ago with twp 102. I need to restain it. What do you recommend? Sand 60 than 80 grit and use Gemini cleaner and brightener after. They area covered by gazebo help up pretty good as seen in 2nd picture do I have to use a stripper for that area?

60707D47-B14B-45A7-9F4A-D4C94CB8FDAC.jpeg
B715B395-6348-4748-885A-157307189275.jpeg