TWP 100 Wood and Deck Stain Review 2022 4.5/5 (40)

This post was updated on January 18, 2022

2022 TWP 100 Series Review

Important Note: There has been a label change for the TWP 100 Series. New labels now say TWP 100 Pro Series. Same product, performance, and colors.

At Deckstainhelp.com, we take pride in the fact that we are your trusted go-to site for all things exterior wood and deck restoration-related. Hearing from our customers who have used TWP 100 Series wood, their decks have held up to the test of time and weather surprisingly well after this harsh winter. As always, we appreciate your input, so feel free to leave a comment below and pictures of your completed projects if you have them.


TWP 100 Series Deck Stain Review

TWP 100 Series Deck Stain Review

TWP 100 Series Stain RatingImportant Note:  This is our 2nd Review of the TWP 100 Series.

See our other reviews of the TWP 100 Series here: TWP 100 Wood Stain Reviews

TWP 100 Total Wood Preservative Deck Stain protects and maintains all exterior wooden surfaces. TWP Wood Stain is a special blend of chemicals in a contractor-grade formula that safeguards and protects exterior wooden surfaces.

TWP 100 Wood Deck Sealers lock out water and moisture that causes wood to crack, split, and warp. Freeze damage is also prevented in cold climates.

TWP Stains – 100 Stain Review

TWP 100 Series Wood Deck Stain Scores (1-10)

Appearance After Initial Stain Application: 9

– The TWP 100 Stain was applied to a very large deck surrounding a pool. The wood was about 1 year old at the time and was prepped with the Restore-A-Deck Cleaner and Brightener kit. The wood was a knotty cedar and the Cedartone 101 color gave a rich look that is typical of a cedar stain. Knots and grain were enhanced and the stain dried evenly for the 2 coats that were applied to the floor.

Preventing UV Graying at 2 Year Mark: 8

– Same as the first time tested, The TWP Cedartone 101 retained about 80% of the original color after 2 years of weathering.

Wear/Tear and Peeling: 8

– We found that the TWP did wear slightly in about 20% of the floor area. It was mostly in the high-traffic areas that surrounded the pool. The upper-level deck in the back had little to no wearing.

TWP 101 Cedartone Color

TWP 101 Cedartone Color

Cost Per Square Foot: 8.5

– The price paid was $170 for the 5-gallon pail of TWP 101 Stain. We used all 15 gallons for the 2100 foot pool deck. We applied two coats to the floor and 1 coat to the railing.  The cost to stain with TWP 100 Series was $.23 per sq. foot.

Preventing Mold/Mildew/Algae: 10

– No mold, mildew or algae spores were present.

Ease of Application: 8

– As you can see from the photo, this deck was surrounded by a pool. We needed to be extremely careful of getting any stain into the pool. We did all flooring with a stain pad that allowed the stain to apply evenly and absorb well. We tarped the railings to prevent overspray and used a pump sprayer to apply to the spindles, back wiping the drips.

Color Shifting (darkening) after 2 Years: 9

– The TWP did not darken from mold or UV discoloration. Slight water spots were noticeable around the edge of the pool.

The difficulty of Reapplication: 9

– Reapplication will be easy without the need for stripping off the two-year-old stain. The use of a wood cleaner and wood brightener should be sufficient prep. On this particular deck, we cleaned and prepped the flooring and reapplied it to the floor and top of the railings. We did not do the verticals as they still looked good from the original application.

Overall Score TWP 100 Series Stain at 2 Year Period: 8.69

– As contractors, we enjoy using TWP Stains. It penetrates well into the wood, fades lightly in color, and holds up to wear and tear. We like that when it is time to redo the wood in 2-3 years, the TWP can be cleaned and re-coated or even removed with ease. This makes the reapplication process much easier.

Note: We do not use TWP on brand new wood. If applied to wood that is less than 4 months old, it seems to have a difficult time with penetration. We find this with many of the stains we have used on new wood. The manufacturer suggests waiting 4-12 months to let the wood weather. We strongly suggest that you wait.

TWP 100 Pro Series Review

Product Information:

TWP Help? Search Google: TWP Stain Help
More Info: TWP 100
TWP Stain Facebook Page: TWP Deck and Wood Stains
Cost: $39.99 per Gallon, $190 per 5 Gallon Pail is the average
Stain Type: Oil-based Semi-Transparent
Available Colors: 100 Clear, 101 Cedartone, 102 Redwood, 115 Honeytone, 116 Rustic, 120 Pecan, 1o5 Cape Cod Gray, 106 Prarie Gray
Application Temperature: 45-95 F
Coats Required: 2 Coats. “Wet on Wet”
Coverage Per Gallon: 150-250 sq. ft
Application Tools: Sprayer, Pad, Brush, Roller
Dry Time: 2-8 Hours
Cleanup: Mineral Spirits or Paint Thinner
VOC Compliant: 550 Compliant in 36 States
More Info: Product Data

Test Deck Stats:

Deck Wood Type: Western Red Cedar
Deck Square Footage: 2100
UV Exposure: Full Sun Deck and Pool Area, Skirting and Railings
How Many Years Tested: 2 Years
Stain Color Used: 
TWP Cedartone Natural 101

*All products tested and results are from our experience. We offer no guarantee of similar results. Take into consideration that results may differ due to different wood types, exposure to UV radiation, and natural weathering.

TWP 100 Series Stain Photos

TWP 100 Pro-Series Review Video


Please Rate This. You may also post comments or ask questions below.

Related Deck Stain Help Articles & Reviews

guest
651 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Brett
Brett
1 month ago

I have to media blast my Doug fir soffits and covered patio areas to get all of the mildew/mold and stains out. The covered patios are built with 2×6 T&G Doug fir car decking with underlayment and shingles on top and the underside is exposed. Would the TWP 100 be the best product to protect these areas?

Shelley Scott
Shelley Scott
1 month ago

Had my deck stained with honeytone and love the color. It has been over 24 hrs and there are a few shinny wet looking spots. Can they be corrected. Reading the directions, it states that the stain may not have bee absorbed in the wood. Please advise what we can do. Thanks.

Aleksandar
Aleksandar
4 months ago

Do you have any reviews of Sadolin products for decks?

Alfred More
Alfred More
11 months ago

In your ratings you always mention wood. Can TWP 100 semi-transparent stain be used on 10 to 12 year old TREX that is still in good condition but has no color.

Jon
Jon
1 year ago

I’ve got a fence that has a redwood frame and galvanized mesh. I don’t remember what stain/protector I used when I built it a year or two ago. I’m adding some additional features to the fence and would like to clean up the existing portions, too. I saw some comments in the Q&A section that the product shouldn’t be used on new wood. How long should I let it age? After it has aged, what steps can I use to clean it up prior to application? I have a pressure washer, but the fence design is so simple that I can easily sand the wood. Or should I avoid sanding?

Thanks.

20210922_094415.jpg
20210922_094408.jpg
Jon
Jon
1 year ago

Will it be better to sand or just pressure wash at that time?

andi
andi
1 year ago

Hi there, we are just putting in a red cedar deck here in upstate NY. We do not mind the greying that will happen but would like to protect the wood as much as possible from moisture, rot etc.. Found a “recipe” for mixing boiled linseed oil, paraffin for clear transparent seal protection. Has anyone had experience? I hear conflicting things about linseed oil being the best oil for cedar and then other sites saying stay away due to mold issues. Can we substitute mineral oil then? From what I have read, I guess we should wait until the spring before prepping and sealing,, but can we rub on a layer of pure mineral oil to protect for the next 6 months or will that affect the spring sealing?

Corey Hambrick
Corey Hambrick
1 year ago

I should’ve also mentioned that I’m really looking for a one coat system to apply and I believe this would be to pressure treated pine

Corey Hambrick
Corey Hambrick
1 year ago

I have valspar cedar transparent but I really think it issue I transparent. I live in Kentucky. What should I use twp 100 or twp 150. I will have to strip valspar off first. Want to spray on stripper and then use pressure washer to rinse stripper off. Would Armstrong Clark stain be a better choice.

Corey Hambrick
Corey Hambrick
1 year ago

Actually I am cutrious for your suggestion. I had someone encouraging me to use onetime stain but your sight doesn’t give it good reviews. The reason I like suggestion of onestain is the article application. The twp is 2 cost wet on wet for existing wood. I really want to do a single coat and Armstrong Clark seems to say it is stifle coat. Is that true statement?

Corey Hambrick
Corey Hambrick
1 year ago

Doing 3200 sq feet of fence plus my 600 to 800 sq feet of deck is lot to do myself without any help. Rather do one coat than have to go back and do second coat

Corey Hambrick
Corey Hambrick
1 year ago

It may be easy but for me if I am using even a pump sprayer, I will have to spray a section and then back brush it. Only do a small section at a time and then go back and do it again with a second coat. Not hard but very time consuming because I cannot go to far without the need to do the second coat on wet area.

Corey Hambrick
Corey Hambrick
1 year ago

Ok. Well I do appreciate your thoughts. I have never done anything like this and so my wife trusting me to do it rather than paying someone which will cost a lot especially right now makes it all seem a bit daunting. Just lot of moving parts. I have to strip off the old valspar, then clean it, then do the stain. Just trying to decide what all I want to do and what product I want to use

Daniel
Daniel
1 year ago

Have you seen the grey color? I can’t find ti online.

Peggy
Peggy
1 year ago

Can I buy the TWP-100 Semi Transparent Stains in Colorado? If not, can it be bought online?

Happy Home Owner
Happy Home Owner
1 year ago

I’ve used TWP 1500 series (1511) for my deck last time. Can I use TWP 100 series (102) this time? I’m from New York State.

Matthew Greiner
Matthew Greiner
1 year ago

2 questions: 1. What would the TWP 100 clear stain coating dry to, satin, gloss, etc? 2. Can you put one coat of clear on and then put another stain coat (say pecan) over the clear coat and get good results? Thx for your help. My deck is 3 years old and I just cleaned the deck and am ready to re-stain.

Patti Keblusek
Patti Keblusek
1 year ago

I have used Cabot’s in the past, but I never see it mentioned on any site. I’m assuming it’s not as as good as long ago. My deck is desperate for some food lol. It’s been cleaned as much as it can be, it’s about 17 years old and in surprisingly good shape – a lot of shade now that’s it’s older. I’m just stymied with all these products, I certainly don’t want to go through this every year, I’m talking about at least 1500 sq ft.
I would appreciate your suggestion, oh by the way I live in the Midwest and try to keep it shoveled in the winter.
Thank you for your time.

Kirby
Kirby
1 year ago

What would be the best tool to apply the TWP 100? I have only a flat surface front porch to do (railings are painted).

Ron
Ron
1 year ago

Building a pergola and have wood in garage to cut and want to apply a semi-trans finish and thinking of the TWP 100. Can I do it now vs. having to wait? The wood was just delivered this week.

Eddie Curley
Eddie Curley
1 year ago

Is TWP oil stain legal in Illinois?

Kim Kelsey
Kim Kelsey
1 year ago

Hello, new cedar decking laid in midwest this week (October) Should we stain/seal with anything to protect or wait until spring. I’m seeing conflicting advice. Thanks in advance, Kim

Nic Tweed
Nic Tweed
2 years ago

We had rough sawn cedar posts wrapped for our front porch. Would this twp 100 be ok for newer wood? It was installed a month ago. The ceiling in the gable is tongue and groove and not rough sawn. Should we let this weather over winter or stain it now? Or do the posts that are rough sawn and wait on the ceiling to cure out? Thanks!

20200803_200853.jpg
Ken
Ken
2 years ago

I have a 30 year old cedar deck that I just finished sanding to bare wood. As I was only able to work on it a few hours a day when weather permitted it took about 7 weeks to finish and it is now graying. I am thinking of using TWP honeytone for the stain. Since I did not use a stripper/cleaner and the wood is very bright do I need to use a brightener? The spindles and posts are a natural honey color and when the deck is wet all areas are the same honey color.

Robin
Robin
2 years ago

I have read your reviews of both the TWP 100 and 1500 series. Why would you use one over the other?

Thanks!!

Eileen
Eileen
2 years ago

How do u know whether to use oil based stain vs water based stain for decks and or/ docks? I have pressure treated wood on dock and Brazilian hardwood on a covered deck. Location I- NE Georgia on a lake

Mae
Mae
2 years ago

Best color to coordinate with taupe siding

Greg
Greg
2 years ago

After using Restore a Deck stripper to remove old bad Behr stain jobs we left the deck to gray naturally. We will re-clean and brighten it but want to retain the gray tint. Is there a good clear stain we can use? I don’t see one on the TWP website. Understand we will have no UV protection, but are there other benefits of staining with a clear because it provides needed oils or other? Thanks.

Christie Zgourides
Christie Zgourides
2 years ago

TWP 100 Pro Series would seem to be the product I need for our new deck, but I’m having an extremely difficult time finding it. I called Gemini Coatings, and the best they could come up with is World of Stains.

Where do you get your TWP products? Are there any stores that carry TWP products? The only thing I’m finding is online ordering. I’d rather go into a store to buy stains, paints, etc.

I am located in the San Antonio, Texas area. There seems to be a dealer in San Marcos, but that’s over an hour away in no traffic.

Christie Zgourides
Christie Zgourides
2 years ago

Thanks. That is extremely frustrating. Maybe I’ll look for another product. Nothing replaces being able to go in and talk to someone who has used the product locally.

Tom watson
Tom watson
2 years ago

Can I see a color chart

Bob Degrand
Bob Degrand
2 years ago

The TWP 101 application requires a “wet on wet” 2 coat process! So, wouldn’t the second coat application result in shoe prints since I would have to walk on the first application to apply the second coat!?

Bob Degrand
Bob Degrand
2 years ago

So, how can I not step on the 1st application? Or, are you saying the 1st coat will dry within enough time for me to step on it when I apply the 2nd coat? I have to apply it over the first coat by stepping on the 1st coat! I’m confused 😕!

Bob Degrand
Bob Degrand
2 years ago

Thanks!

Bryant
Bryant
2 years ago

Maybe our contractor applied the Sherwin Williams stain too early (after reading the above). However, we have had our deck two years and it looks horrible. Cracking and mildewed and dry. Can we clean and brighten it and then use the TWP without stripping the deck? We were told to us the Sherwin Williams (oil, transparent) but we would like to find an alternative. Thanks!

Bryant
Bryant
2 years ago

Do we have to strip the deck even if we re-use the Sherwin Williams?

Bryant
Bryant
2 years ago

Thank you for your help! We loved the deck when it was first done, and do want the same color. Hopefully it will go better this time!

JOhn Wagman
JOhn Wagman
2 years ago

Since TWP 100 is an oil based stain, could I mix in a small amount of Penetrol to the TWP 100? I am big fan of Penetrol. Several years ago I stained an area with Penetrol only and it seems to be holding up well. The areas I am staining are oak siding on a barn type structure.

Ryan
Ryan
3 years ago

This work well in Minnesota weather?

Ryan
Ryan
3 years ago

Only available by mail? If so… Just stir good before applications?

Becky
Becky
3 years ago

We have a 5 year old mahogany porch. It is covered and is on the East side of the house. I have stained it every year with Australian Fire oil. It now looks very dark and I would like to get it back to a warmer color. Please advise. We live in Massachusetts. Thank you,

Becky
Becky
3 years ago

So no need to sand the mahogany first?

Bernard Krystkowiak
Bernard Krystkowiak
3 years ago

In Montana there is no such thing as re applying in 2 to 3 years. EVERY year or you’ll be down to bare wood. I’m not happy with this product as compared to the reviews I see. Pic below is one year skipped! Odd how similar this site is to the TWP website. Now I get it….

IMG_0624.jpg
IMG_0625.jpg
Melanie
Melanie
4 years ago

What deck stain is best for a 25 year old cedar deck that has been stained numerous times. We are sanding the entire deck.

Ellen
Ellen
4 years ago

I am in north Georgia mountains and have an extremely large multi level deck (2000+ sq ft). Some deck is covered some not. It has never been treated and is between 1 year and 2 years old (some areas were built later as an addition). Pressure treated pine flooring. We do have dogs that may add additional wear to flooring. Nervous about picking the right stain for the job. Would this stain be your top choice for this application?

Kathleen George
Kathleen George
4 years ago

Where can I buy TWP 100 series Deck stain ?

Brenda
Brenda
4 years ago

If I had a cedar fence installed at the end of June ,what is the soonest I can stain it with TPW?

Leslie
Leslie
4 years ago

Hello, Can you tell me what the difference is in TWP 100 and TWP 1500? Thank you.

Janet
Janet
4 years ago

My deck was previously stained with Olympic Solid Stain. It’s been a nightmare. Peels like crazy. I’ve had it cleaned and powerwashed. As some has remained I need to use another solid stain. Does TWP 100 come as a solid stain? Would you reccomend it to be used to correct my deck issues? Thank you.

Janet
Janet
4 years ago

Do you have any recommendations for an alternative?

Walt
Walt
4 years ago

We live in California and just built a large redwood picnic table. How would this look on redwood? Is it available in California?

Jana
Jana
4 years ago

We are building a barndomenium. We purchased cedar posts to use for the porch posts. My husband used a pressure washer to remove the bark. They have been in place for about a month. I want to keep the natural light color of the wood which has the dark spots or holes in the cedar. Can I use the clear color on cedar posts and if so, will it keep them from the graying process?

Jana
Jana
4 years ago

Okay so if I go with one of the pigments ones, do you know how long I can expect it to last and if it will keep the cedar from graying? Also, I’m thinking either the cedartone or the honeytone. Any suggestions on that?

Jana
Jana
4 years ago

Great! Thanks so much for your help!! Maybe I’ll post a before and after pic for others to see in case someone else has same question. 🙂

Indio
Indio
4 years ago

Hi there. Thanks for all the excellent info.
We recently purchased a home with extensive and badly neglected decks and ramps. Replacement isn’t in the budget for any but structurally unsound boards and the surface is horrible, truly dangerous for severe splinters or catching feet and tripping the unwary. If we power wash the thing, use a belt sander on the worst bits, would TWP 100 be a good option for extending the life and making it more user-friendly? The resurfacing products all seem to be extremely costly for minimal benefit. We live in Eastern TN where it:’s quite wet with wide temperature variation.

Indio
Indio
4 years ago

Thank you.

Kyle
Kyle
4 years ago

I have a 3 year old pressure treated dock over water in Florida. The wood has never been sealed or stained. What products should we use? We are interested in clear or semi-transparent sealers.

Craig
Craig
4 years ago

Live in NE Ohio so I cannot get the 100 series but seems like the 150 series will work?
Have a brand new treated wood deck built in Oct 2017.
What do I need to clean it with seeing that it is new?
Do I need a brightener as well before the stain?
Is one coat enough or does it need 2 coats?
Is the product hard to work with as it needs to be applied “wet on wet”?
Do you suggest just doing a board at a time with 2 coats if needed so that it will not dry before the 2nd coat goes on?
Please advise.

Thanks!

Lidy
Lidy
4 years ago

I am about to build a pergola. SO many sites say to stain/seal before construction. However, with TWP 100 I am to wait 4 – 12 months before application. What should I do? What should I use on brand new cedar?

Lidy
Lidy
4 years ago

Just to be clear, I do have rough sawn cedar. Would the Armstrong-Clark Semi-Transparent stain or the TWP-100 be better for the rough sawn cedar?
Thanks for your help.

Dino
Dino
5 years ago

We live in Cincinnati Ohio and have a redwood deck that is 15 years old which has been neglected, the wood seems solid no soft areas! what process do you recommend for restoring such deck and bringing it back!

Pam
Pam
5 years ago

I live in west central IL. Deck was built in Fall of 2016 and is located on the west side of house. Wood is pressured treated pine. What is the best stain for my deck? Do I use a wood cleaner and a wood brightener? If so what would be the best? I have no idea where to start but want to do it right the first time.
Thanks!

William Carson
William Carson
5 years ago

Great site, thank you!!
We have a cyprus deck we put up last year. Not being told to let it weather first we applied Sikkens Cetol SRD matte wood finish in natural translucent.
It has not held up, is blackened. Not happy. It didnt seem to soak in very well at all.
From reading i believe i need to strip first to remove the old finish and plan on using the Restore a deck stripper. After this i become a bit confused. Do i then let the wood age a few months than use the cleaner and brightener prior to using the TWP? We liked the bright appearance of the new wood
Since it is fall are there any issues leaving the stripped deck over the winter? I live in North Georgia, some snow, some ice but mostly rain and cold.
I saw you do not recommend sanding. Will the stripping/cleaning/brightening be enough?
Thanks!

William Carson
William Carson
4 years ago

Its now Spring and time to clean and stain!
Which TWP would you recommend for our cyprus deck? 100, 1500, some other?
We live in Georgia
Thanks again!

Marc Turgeon
Marc Turgeon
5 years ago

Addition to Marc Turgeon question: I am planning on using TWP 100.

Marc Turgeon
Marc Turgeon
5 years ago

Recently installed NEW Western Red Cedar deck about six weeks ago. Floor is greying and some dark grey spots are appearing on the board surface. I am confused & would appreciate your input. The deck is new (~six weeks old) and I am looking to prep properly before staining. Prep instructions vary between Gemini Product data sheet (July 2010) NEW WOOD instructions and TWP-100 Series instructions and Staining A New Deck new Smooth Decking instructions.

Weather new wood 4 – 12, 1 – 12 or 3 – 12 months??
Wood Cleaner / Brightener or wet the wood twice & remove the surface tannins or household bleach & water or power wash / wood bleach ??

Thank you for your site and thanks in advance for a reply.

Sandi Scovill
Sandi Scovill
5 years ago

Where is it available in northern Mn.?

David Swoap
David Swoap
5 years ago

Is there a retail store for TWP in SW Michigan (zip 49093)? Prefer not to order over internet.

Jim
Jim
5 years ago
Reply to  David Swoap

I bought mine in Kalamazoo at O’Leary’s Paint store on Peekstock Rd.