TWP 100 Wood and Deck Stain Review 2024  4.5/5 (41)

This post was updated on February 27, 2024

2024 TWP 100 Series Review

Important Note: There has been a label change for the TWP 100 Series. New labels now say TWP 100 Pro Series. Same product, performance, and colors.

At Deckstainhelp.com, we take pride in the fact that we are your trusted go-to site for all things exterior wood and deck restoration-related. Hearing from our customers who have used TWP 100 Series wood, their decks have held up to the test of time and weather surprisingly well after this harsh winter. As always, we appreciate your input, so feel free to leave a comment below and pictures of your completed projects if you have them.


TWP 100 Series Deck Stain Review

TWP 100 Series Deck Stain Review

TWP 100 Series Stain RatingImportant Note:  This is our 2nd Review of the TWP 100 Series.

See our other reviews of the TWP 100 Series here: TWP 100 Wood Stain Reviews

TWP 100 Total Wood Preservative Deck Stain protects and maintains all exterior wooden surfaces. TWP Wood Stain is a special blend of chemicals in a contractor-grade formula that safeguards and protects exterior wooden surfaces.

TWP 100 Wood Deck Sealers lock out water and moisture that causes wood to crack, split, and warp. Freeze damage is also prevented in cold climates.

TWP Stains – 100 Stain Review

TWP 100 Series Wood Deck Stain Scores (1-10)

Appearance After Initial Stain Application: 9

– The TWP 100 Stain was applied to a very large deck surrounding a pool. The wood was about 1 year old at the time and was prepped with the Restore-A-Deck Cleaner and Brightener kit. The wood was a knotty cedar and the Cedartone 101 color gave a rich look that is typical of a cedar stain. Knots and grain were enhanced and the stain dried evenly for the 2 coats that were applied to the floor.

Preventing UV Graying at 2 Year Mark: 8

– Same as the first time tested, The TWP Cedartone 101 retained about 80% of the original color after 2 years of weathering.

Wear/Tear and Peeling: 8

– We found that the TWP did wear slightly in about 20% of the floor area. It was mostly in the high-traffic areas that surrounded the pool. The upper-level deck in the back had little to no wearing.

TWP 101 Cedartone Color

TWP 101 Cedartone Color

Cost Per Square Foot: 8.5

– The price paid was $170 for the 5-gallon pail of TWP 101 Stain. We used all 15 gallons for the 2100 foot pool deck. We applied two coats to the floor and 1 coat to the railing.  The cost to stain with TWP 100 Series was $.23 per sq. foot.

Preventing Mold/Mildew/Algae: 10

– No mold, mildew or algae spores were present.

Ease of Application: 8

– As you can see from the photo, this deck was surrounded by a pool. We needed to be extremely careful of getting any stain into the pool. We did all flooring with a stain pad that allowed the stain to apply evenly and absorb well. We tarped the railings to prevent overspray and used a pump sprayer to apply to the spindles, back wiping the drips.

Color Shifting (darkening) after 2 Years: 9

– The TWP did not darken from mold or UV discoloration. Slight water spots were noticeable around the edge of the pool.

The difficulty of Reapplication: 9

– Reapplication will be easy without the need for stripping off the two-year-old stain. The use of a wood cleaner and wood brightener should be sufficient prep. On this particular deck, we cleaned and prepped the flooring and reapplied it to the floor and top of the railings. We did not do the verticals as they still looked good from the original application.

Overall Score TWP 100 Series Stain at 2 Year Period: 8.69

– As contractors, we enjoy using TWP Stains. It penetrates well into the wood, fades lightly in color, and holds up to wear and tear. We like that when it is time to redo the wood in 2-3 years, the TWP can be cleaned and re-coated or even removed with ease. This makes the reapplication process much easier.

Note: We do not use TWP on brand new wood. If applied to wood that is less than 4 months old, it seems to have a difficult time with penetration. We find this with many of the stains we have used on new wood. The manufacturer suggests waiting 4-12 months to let the wood weather. We strongly suggest that you wait.

TWP 100 Pro Series Review

Product Information:

 

 

TWP Help? Search Google: TWP Stain Help
More Info: TWP 100
Cost: $41.99 per Gallon, $210 per 5 Gallon per Pail is the average
Stain Type: Oil-based Semi-Transparent
Available Colors: 100 Clear, 101 Cedartone, 102 Redwood, 115 Honeytone, 116 Rustic, 120 Pecan, 1o5 Cape Cod Gray, 106 Prarie Gray
Application Temperature: 45-95 F
Coats Required: 2 Coats. “Wet on Wet”
Coverage Per Gallon: 150-250 sq. ft
Application Tools: Sprayer, Pad, Brush, Roller
Dry Time: 2-8 Hours
Cleanup: Mineral Spirits or Paint Thinner
VOC Compliant: 550 Compliant in 36 States
More Info: Product Data

Test Deck Stats:

Deck Wood Type: Western Red Cedar
Deck Square Footage: 2100
UV Exposure: Full Sun Deck and Pool Area, Skirting and Railings
How Many Years Tested: 2 Years
Stain Color Used: 
TWP Cedartone Natural 101

*All products tested and results are from our experience. We offer no guarantee of similar results. Take into consideration that results may differ due to different wood types, exposure to UV radiation, and natural weathering.

TWP 100 Series Stain Photos

TWP 100 Pro-Series Review Video


Please Rate This. You may also post comments or ask questions below.

author avatar
Scott Paul ~ Restoring Wood & Decks Since 1993
#As an article and comment contributor to the site, Scott has been around the pressure washing industry since attending college. In 1993 he started his first company called Oakland Pressure Wash specializing in exterior pressure washing and deck staining. That company evolved into OPW L.L.C. shortly thereafter concentrating more on exterior wood and deck restoration. Scott and his Deck Cleaning Michigan company have restored over 10,000 decks in the Metro Detroit area since the early years. He has become an authority in the deck restoration industry and has contributed to numerous wood restoration forums and informative sites. All the products he suggests through this site are sold through online sites and in retail stores, allowing the consumer to choose their own means of purchase. Scott’s eCommerce sites do sell many top brands he endorses and if you appreciate any of the help he has offered then feel free to purchase from one of them.

Related Deck Stain Help Articles & Reviews

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
669 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
James Walker
James Walker
4 months ago

I applied TWP 100 on a KDAT deck and next spring I will need to reapply. Overall the deck is in great shape but the water repellency went down this year. It is otherwise clean and mold free. If the deck is clean and mold-free, do I need to use something like the Restore-a-deck cleaner and brightener before applying a new coat? Would just a brightener be sufficient? Can I simply pressure wash, dry and reapply?

Steven
Steven
6 months ago

Restaining a 18 year old Mangaris deck in SoCal. South facing. Used TWP in the past and it held up ok but probably needed to reapply in 2 years instead of 4 or 5. Is this still the best to use for this application. It takes a beating from the sun but very little foot traffic as it’s a balcony.

Thank you!

Paul
Paul
9 months ago

Would you recommend this for Red Grandis Eucalyptus which has high sun exposure – Pena fin was used which greyed very quickly after install, Messmer UV and IPE stain were recommended now but not applied.

What would you recommend?

David Butcher
David Butcher
9 months ago

What works best on a treated wood dock in a freshwater lake It is 100% in sun The dock is 30×17 in PA.We just built it and want it to last

Roger Dixon
Roger Dixon
10 months ago

Have you ever used Outlast q8 for a deck? What is your opinion?

Gail J.
Gail J.
1 year ago

Question:

I have beautiful 2 x 8 clear cedar facias. I love the natural, warm orangey color. We power-washed and oil them about every 2 years.

I live in CA about 1/2 mile from the ocean. I am told that the salt air tends to cause my cedar to gray. Also, I have a “galvalume” metal roof, and the chemical in the roof’s run-off seems to add to the streaking and weathering of the facia. (No rain gutters except where necessary.)

So far, we have been using the Armstrong Cedar Tone oil finish. We are willing to clean and condition the wood for a new product, if there is anything better. It appears that TWP 100 is not available in CA, and Armstrong v. TWP 1500 is comparable.

What would you recommend for my cedar facias?
Thanks, GJ in CA

Mike
Mike
1 year ago

Wanted to get your thoughts for the best product for the job.
Large deck in North Carolina lots of sun an humidity. Some snow an ice.
Mostly redone with kadat kiln dried pine but still has some 20 year old previously painted but 95% stripped an blasted.

Brett
Brett
1 year ago

I have to media blast my Doug fir soffits and covered patio areas to get all of the mildew/mold and stains out. The covered patios are built with 2×6 T&G Doug fir car decking with underlayment and shingles on top and the underside is exposed. Would the TWP 100 be the best product to protect these areas?

Shelley Scott
Shelley Scott
1 year ago

Had my deck stained with honeytone and love the color. It has been over 24 hrs and there are a few shinny wet looking spots. Can they be corrected. Reading the directions, it states that the stain may not have bee absorbed in the wood. Please advise what we can do. Thanks.

Aleksandar
Aleksandar
1 year ago

Do you have any reviews of Sadolin products for decks?

Alfred More
Alfred More
2 years ago

In your ratings you always mention wood. Can TWP 100 semi-transparent stain be used on 10 to 12 year old TREX that is still in good condition but has no color.

Jon
Jon
2 years ago

I’ve got a fence that has a redwood frame and galvanized mesh. I don’t remember what stain/protector I used when I built it a year or two ago. I’m adding some additional features to the fence and would like to clean up the existing portions, too. I saw some comments in the Q&A section that the product shouldn’t be used on new wood. How long should I let it age? After it has aged, what steps can I use to clean it up prior to application? I have a pressure washer, but the fence design is so simple that I can easily sand the wood. Or should I avoid sanding?

Thanks.

20210922_094415.jpg
20210922_094408.jpg
Jon
Jon
2 years ago

Will it be better to sand or just pressure wash at that time?

andi
andi
2 years ago

Hi there, we are just putting in a red cedar deck here in upstate NY. We do not mind the greying that will happen but would like to protect the wood as much as possible from moisture, rot etc.. Found a “recipe” for mixing boiled linseed oil, paraffin for clear transparent seal protection. Has anyone had experience? I hear conflicting things about linseed oil being the best oil for cedar and then other sites saying stay away due to mold issues. Can we substitute mineral oil then? From what I have read, I guess we should wait until the spring before prepping and sealing,, but can we rub on a layer of pure mineral oil to protect for the next 6 months or will that affect the spring sealing?

Corey Hambrick
Corey Hambrick
2 years ago

I should’ve also mentioned that I’m really looking for a one coat system to apply and I believe this would be to pressure treated pine

Corey Hambrick
Corey Hambrick
2 years ago

I have valspar cedar transparent but I really think it issue I transparent. I live in Kentucky. What should I use twp 100 or twp 150. I will have to strip valspar off first. Want to spray on stripper and then use pressure washer to rinse stripper off. Would Armstrong Clark stain be a better choice.

Corey Hambrick
Corey Hambrick
2 years ago

Actually I am cutrious for your suggestion. I had someone encouraging me to use onetime stain but your sight doesn’t give it good reviews. The reason I like suggestion of onestain is the article application. The twp is 2 cost wet on wet for existing wood. I really want to do a single coat and Armstrong Clark seems to say it is stifle coat. Is that true statement?

Corey Hambrick
Corey Hambrick
2 years ago

Doing 3200 sq feet of fence plus my 600 to 800 sq feet of deck is lot to do myself without any help. Rather do one coat than have to go back and do second coat

Corey Hambrick
Corey Hambrick
2 years ago

It may be easy but for me if I am using even a pump sprayer, I will have to spray a section and then back brush it. Only do a small section at a time and then go back and do it again with a second coat. Not hard but very time consuming because I cannot go to far without the need to do the second coat on wet area.

Corey Hambrick
Corey Hambrick
2 years ago

Ok. Well I do appreciate your thoughts. I have never done anything like this and so my wife trusting me to do it rather than paying someone which will cost a lot especially right now makes it all seem a bit daunting. Just lot of moving parts. I have to strip off the old valspar, then clean it, then do the stain. Just trying to decide what all I want to do and what product I want to use

David
David
1 year ago
Reply to  Corey Hambrick

Where can you buy the TWP

David
David
1 year ago

Is their a distributor in Kentucky

Daniel
Daniel
2 years ago

Have you seen the grey color? I can’t find ti online.

Peggy
Peggy
2 years ago

Can I buy the TWP-100 Semi Transparent Stains in Colorado? If not, can it be bought online?

Happy Home Owner
Happy Home Owner
2 years ago

I’ve used TWP 1500 series (1511) for my deck last time. Can I use TWP 100 series (102) this time? I’m from New York State.

Matthew Greiner
Matthew Greiner
2 years ago

2 questions: 1. What would the TWP 100 clear stain coating dry to, satin, gloss, etc? 2. Can you put one coat of clear on and then put another stain coat (say pecan) over the clear coat and get good results? Thx for your help. My deck is 3 years old and I just cleaned the deck and am ready to re-stain.

Patti Keblusek
Patti Keblusek
2 years ago

I have used Cabot’s in the past, but I never see it mentioned on any site. I’m assuming it’s not as as good as long ago. My deck is desperate for some food lol. It’s been cleaned as much as it can be, it’s about 17 years old and in surprisingly good shape – a lot of shade now that’s it’s older. I’m just stymied with all these products, I certainly don’t want to go through this every year, I’m talking about at least 1500 sq ft.
I would appreciate your suggestion, oh by the way I live in the Midwest and try to keep it shoveled in the winter.
Thank you for your time.

Kirby
Kirby
2 years ago

What would be the best tool to apply the TWP 100? I have only a flat surface front porch to do (railings are painted).

Ron
Ron
3 years ago

Building a pergola and have wood in garage to cut and want to apply a semi-trans finish and thinking of the TWP 100. Can I do it now vs. having to wait? The wood was just delivered this week.

Eddie Curley
Eddie Curley
3 years ago

Is TWP oil stain legal in Illinois?

Kim Kelsey
Kim Kelsey
3 years ago

Hello, new cedar decking laid in midwest this week (October) Should we stain/seal with anything to protect or wait until spring. I’m seeing conflicting advice. Thanks in advance, Kim

Nic Tweed
Nic Tweed
3 years ago

We had rough sawn cedar posts wrapped for our front porch. Would this twp 100 be ok for newer wood? It was installed a month ago. The ceiling in the gable is tongue and groove and not rough sawn. Should we let this weather over winter or stain it now? Or do the posts that are rough sawn and wait on the ceiling to cure out? Thanks!

20200803_200853.jpg