TWP 1500 Series Stain Review 4.4/5 (22)

This post was updated on January 19, 2022

TWP 1500 Series Stain Update 2022

We find that the TWP 1500 Series Stain to be the best performing oil-based deck stain on the market.  We personally use the TWP 1500 Series Stain on deck restorations every year in the Midwest and is one of our go-to brands.


TWP 1500 Stain Rating

TWP 1500 Series Deck Stain Ratings

TWP 1500 Series Deck Stain

TWP 1500 Series was introduced in the Summer of 2010 as the replacement for the TWP 500 Series. TWP 1500 stain is a semi-transparent oil-based wood preservative registered by the EPA. The only deck preservative that is currently registered as an exterior wood preservative.

 

TWP 1500 Series is designed for all exterior unfinished wood. It has excellent UV resistance from graying. It is mostly used for exterior wood decking, wood fencing, log homes, cedar sided homes, etc. TWP 1500 comes in 10 colors that allow the natural grain of the wood to show through.

TWP Stains – 1500 Stain Rating

TWP 1500 Series Deck Stain Scores (1-10)

Appearance After Initial Stain Application: 8.5

– TWP 1500 Series had a beautiful rich look to the wood. The wood grain was highlighted naturally. 1501 Cedartone color was slightly brown for a traditional cedar color.

Preventing UV Graying at 2 Year Mark: 9

– Excellent at preventing UV graying at the two-year mark. One of the top stains that we have tested in terms of absorbing the UV radiation that causes oxidation of the wood.

Wear/Tear and Peeling: 9

– Very good at preventing peeling. TWP penetrates deep into the wood. This seems to reduce any chance of wearing or peeling at the surface.

TWP 1500 Series

TWP 1500 Series

Cost Per Square Foot: 8

– TWP 1500 Series cost us $194.99 for a 5-gallon pail delivered. This breaks down to $.35 per foot for 2 coats of stain on our 400 square foot deck. We still had 1.5 gallons left when done. The coverage for the TWP 1500 was close to 200 square feet per gallon.

Preventing Mold/Mildew/Algae: 9

– Of all of the oil-based stains we tested, TWP offers the best protection against mold spores that are known to grow in oil-based stains. This is most likely due to the oils used in TWP’s stains. They do not use linseed oil but rather a mixture of natural and synthetic oils.

Ease of Application: 8

– For an oil-based stain, the TWP 1500 series applied well. We did notice that you need to back brush any puddles to ensure an even application. This is normal for most of the stains that we have tested. TWP 1500 Series did dry to the touch in 6 hours and we were able to put the furniture back on the deck the following day.

Color Shifting (darkening) after 2 Years: 9

– The 1500 series did not “darken” in color like other oil-based stains have been known to. TWP actually lightened up slightly at the 2-year mark. This gave the wood a more natural-looking feel.

Difficulty of Reapplication: 8.5

– TWP 1500 Series would be an easy stain to reapply. A normal wood deck cleaner would be used to remove some dirt and grime, prepping for another coat.

Overall Score TWP 1500 Series at 2 Year Period: 8.5

– TWP 1500 Series (and 100 Series) have been known to provide tops in terms of durability and color retention. They have always been one of the best stains and are one of our top choices. Little to no fading on the railings. The deck surface faded to about 75% of the stain’s initial color after 2.5 years.

Product Information:

TWP Help? Search Google: TWP Stain Help
More Info: TWP 1500 Series
TWP Stain Facebook Page: TWP Deck and Wood Stains
Cost: $45.99 per Gallon, $224.99 per 5 Gallon Pail
Stain Type: Semi-Transparent – Oil-Based
Available Colors: 1500 Clear, 1501 Cedartone, 1502 Redwood, 1503 Dark Oak, 1504 Black Walnut, 1511 California Redwood, 1515 Honeytone, 1516 Rustic, 1520 Pecan, 1530 Natural
Application Temperature: 45-95 F
Coats Required: 2 Coats. “Wet on Wet”
Coverage Per Gallon: 150-250 sq. ft
Application Tools: Sprayer, Pad, Brush, Roller
Dry Time: 4-12 Hours
Cleanup: Mineral Spirits
VOC Compliant: 250 Compliant in All 50 States
More Info: Product Data

Test Deck Stats:

Deck Wood Type: Western Red Cedar
Deck Square Footage: 400
UV Exposure: Full Sun
How Many Years Tested: 2 Years
Stain Color Used: 
1501 Cedartone

*All products tested and results are from our experience. We offer no guarantee of similar results. Take into consideration that results may differ due to different wood types, exposure to UV radiation, and natural weathering.

TWP 1500 Series Deck Stain Photos

TWP 1500 Series Stain Review Video


Please Rate This. You may also post comments or ask questions below.

Related Deck Stain Help Articles & Reviews

guest
506 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Michael Murphy
Michael Murphy
3 years ago

We could not be happier with the 1500 TWP Cedar tone. We love the way it looks. It was easy to apply,

IMG_20180923_152845098_HDR.jpg
IMG_20180923_152851454_HDR.jpg
William Palmer
William Palmer
25 days ago

I am unable to purchase the 100 in my state. It was recommended to purchase the 1500 even though I need the semi-solid product.

  1. Why will this semi-transparent perform the same as semi-solid?
  2. Why will it blend new boards with the old 13 year older worn boards? This is confusing that you recommend one oil based to do the job designed for another type of paint. Thank you.
Bill Palmer
Bill Palmer
25 days ago

Yes, that is my original understanding and I’m needing to buy the semi solid; but, the 1500 is is semi-transparent right? I need to hide the older wood. Thank you.

William Palmer
William Palmer
25 days ago
Reply to  William Palmer

I thought the 1500 is NOT a semi-solid. As you state, I need to blend the old wood with new wood better using a semi-solid.

thylantyr
thylantyr
4 months ago

Regarding “ They do not use linseed oil but rather a mixture of natural and synthetic oils.”

The SDS sheet shows;
Linseed oil
8001-26-1
30 to 40%

Elizabeth
Elizabeth
10 months ago

What is the best way to fix over application with TWP 1500 series?

Elizabeth
Elizabeth
10 months ago

Please see attached, thank you. It is a covered porch and a rain storm came through a few hours after application. Was thoroughly power washed and lightly sanded before application. The deck has cured since then.

IMG_3309.jpg
IMG_3312.jpg
Joni Meharg
Joni Meharg
1 year ago

our deck has done great with TWP Cedartone stain- This year we are re-powerwashing and re-staining. We had to replace several boards- how can we get new wood to match old wood???????

Brad Motteler
Brad Motteler
1 year ago

I applied twp 1500 and it looks a bit blotchy and there are some areas that were fuzzy that apparently needed sanded more . I applied two coats wet on wet .am I able to sand down the fuzzy stuff and restain or am I better off using a semi solid over this to make it look more uniform ? Either way when can I re-coat?

100D0FBB-9BD0-489B-909D-6F62E1C92D7A.jpeg
Brad Motteler
Brad Motteler
1 year ago

Can I use a different brand semi-solid instead without having to remove it all ?

Brad Motteler
Brad Motteler
1 year ago

What is my process for stripping and starting over . Do I need to use a floor sander ?

Al Vars
Al Vars
1 year ago

Can I use 1500 series clear on deck furniture.
I have 10 gallons left over from doing all the decks and would like to
use it on all the deck furniture. It is hardwood and has been stripped to bare wood.

Ray
Ray
1 year ago

Can a second coat be applied a few days apart from the first coat? In other words; Does it have to be wet on wet? Thanks

Allen Monsarrat
Allen Monsarrat
1 year ago

I redid my deck last year with kiln dried after treatment KDAT pine. I waited several months for the mill glaze to go away and then applied one coat TWP 1500 Honey color after treating with cleaner and brighter. Very pleased with results.
Now it seems like it’s ready for a second coat. Water no longer beads up like it did originally. I’m assuming that my steps will be to use cleaner and brightener then apply a another coat of TWP 1500. No stripper will be applied. Is this correct?
In the photograph the circle on the right of the photograph is where a pot has been sitting, The deck outside of the circle has been exposed to the elements.

1615472831156497780648006329889.jpg
Karl H Graf
Karl H Graf
1 year ago

We live in Charlotte NC and have a deck that was installed with pressure treated 2 by 6 boards. Size is 14 by 14, we have a couple of steps, railing on two sides and a pergola. Would seems dry enough to stain now, although top of rails, pergola and some floor boards starting to shoe grey. I am thinking of TWP 1500 on this deck. Since the deck is 5 months old, how much prep should be done? How much stain? and lastly how slick will this get after a rain? Hoping to do this in the next week or two. Thank you for your advice and guidance.

Karl H Graf
Karl H Graf
1 year ago

Thank you for the link, I reviewed it and this deck has now been out in the weather for 5 months, seems okay to stain. Interesting that TWP is not on the list of stains recommended for new wood, and somewhat surprising. It seems that sticking to one brand over time is advisable. What do you think of using one thing now (new wood) and something else later?

Thank you.
Karl

Karl H Graf
Karl H Graf
1 year ago
Reply to  Karl H Graf

Also it sounds like 2 gallons of stain sh be enough, make sense?
Thanks

Karl H Graf
Karl H Graf
1 year ago

Deck surface is 14 by 14 ft. Three stairs, rails and styles and a simple pergola. If a gallon covers 300 sq ft. seems like 2 gal sh be enough. Make sense to you?

Karl H Graf
Karl H Graf
1 year ago

Just posted a couple of follow up questions, don’t see them. On new wood you do not recommend TWP as a preferred stain. What do you recommend as a cleaner/brightener for new wood? How long sh we wait between cleaning and staining?
Thanks for your help.
Karl

Jim Fitzgerald
Jim Fitzgerald
1 year ago

I live in the San Francisco Bay Area .. What is the shortest amount of wait time that the 1500 series can be applied on a new redwood deck. Would light sanding before application quicken the wait?

Dave Hertzberg
Dave Hertzberg
2 years ago

I’m convinced by this review that this is a much better way to go than what we’ve had on our deck, which is Benjamin Moore Arborcoat. Your review of the BM hives with my experience of it.

One question about the TWP stain. How soon after application could I put furniture on it? I ask because I have to do my deck half at a time and put the furniture on the other half since there’s nowhere else I can put it. So after I do the first half I’ll need to put the furniture on there to do the second half. Also, any tips for avoiding a noticeable line at that halfway point?

Also, how many gallons would I need for a 300 sq ft deck? I would use a sprayer and a brush if that matters.

Thanks!!!

Dave Hertzberg
Dave Hertzberg
2 years ago
Reply to  Dave Hertzberg

Sorry, one more question…I’ve read that this shouldn’t be applied when it’s over 90 outside. Looks like there will be a stretch of a few days when it’s approaching 90 but not quite hitting it. Should I just do it then anyway? Or better to wait a couple months after stripping when it gets a little cooler? I guess neither is ideal but I’ve already started so I have to do one of those plans.

Dawn
Dawn
2 years ago

Is Twp 1500 a good stain to use on a cedar deck that gets splashed with chlorine?

Robin Nolan
Robin Nolan
2 years ago

Hi there:) So happy that I found this site! Bought a 1970″s Pan Abode cedar log home kit. Previous owners didn’t maintain the cedar logs well. Can’t sandblast or power wash because it’s like Lincoln Logs and no chinking so water, sand etc gets through he logs into the house. So, painstakingly wire brushing and sanding old stain off to bare wood best we can. Plan on retaining in a dark mahogany semi transparent stain so can see the grain but cover well to hide any mistakes or oops. Any preference as to satin should use? Here in northern NH it’s pretty damp and New England weather. Many folks here use Sikkens products or Ben Moore “Arborcoat”. Not familiar with the products I’ve read here but will take your advice!
Thank you for what you do!!
Some pics of the house,
Robin Nolan
Shelburne, NH

IMG_0678.JPG
IMG_0678.JPG
IMG_0680.JPG
IMG_0682.JPG
james
james
2 years ago

is twp 1500 stain available in canada

Joel LeGrande
Joel LeGrande
2 years ago

Such an incredible stain, we’re ecstatic! It beads rain like mercury and look forward to many years of satisfaction!
Thanks TWP!!!!!

Donna
Donna
3 years ago

Does TWP 1500 series contain paraffin oil like the TWP 200 series?

Paula
Paula
3 years ago

I prepped and applied TWP 1500 to our cedar deck 3 or 4 years ago, and it looked fantastic. It has held up very well, but needs to be touched up. I am planning on using the same product in the same shade. Can I use deck cleaner and brightener or should I use a deck stripper and brightener before using the TWP 1500?

Ernie
Ernie
3 years ago

Can the TWP series 1500 stain be applied over aTWP series 100 stain?

Dave
Dave
3 years ago

Can this product be appiled with a garden type sprayer and then backed brushed?

Mark
Mark
3 years ago

I did not have as good of luck with TWP-1500.. Evidently, it’s not a true oil base stain but a hybrid of some kind.. Floor was rolled consistently and some areas just didn’t take, leaving these shiny spots.. It’s been 2 years and contractors are talking about stripping so they can re-do with a true oil..

Blotchy Stain Application
Mark
Mark
3 years ago

Ask a Question or Post a Review…Thanks for reply. I was told it is “formulated” oil. Deck was pressure washed before staining. So TWP 1500 would not have to be stripped to go over with any oil base stain ??

Mark
Mark
3 years ago

Ask a Question or Post a Review…Picture above is from 2017. This picture is same area taken March, 2019. If we went with TWP-1500 again, would you still recommend strip and brighten ? If so, do you have recommended products and process ??

Deck 2019.jpg
Andy
Andy
3 years ago

Just thought I would post a comment regarding the application/use of TWP 1504 (Dark Walnut). It was very easy to apply using a brush which is recommended. The TWP went on as advertised. In fact, the coverage was better than expected. I let the salt treated deck boards weather a little more than a year and then pressure washed (after bleach application). Just make sure you follow the instructions. One thing that was excellent was the support from the manufacturer, AMTECO/Gemini. Any questions – no problem. I recommend this product.

alfred Ament
alfred Ament
3 years ago

cedar floor deck after power washing 20&14 how many gallons

Brad Bailey
Brad Bailey
3 years ago

We have a relatively new (2 year old) pergola in Los Angeles… common fir construction lumber.. that was originally only given a quick coat of Ready Seal oil based stain. We now want to add far more protection to the the stability of the wood..as well as protect from the graying. We are looking at wood cleaning and then one coat of C2 Guard product (clear deep penetrating protector) and then a coat of TWP 1500 Cedartone stain. The C2 Guard is rather remarkable at deep and longer wood protection from water … not something we would have to apply again for 7 to 10 years.) The C2 Guard is designed to be good before staining. However… I do wonder of such construction lumber… will be able to receive much of the TWP stain after the C2 Guard. The C2 guard would give us much more confidence that we have given this some lasting protection…but I am wondering if it will also limit receiving any valuable stain over it that will serve color and UV values. We know that TWP 1500 has good wood protection itself… but presume not as deep and lasting as the C2 Guard which could serve as a base.

Brad
Brad
3 years ago

Thank you so much. I know there is little research to be found on that or similar products. Like a few who have used it… it seems to all in me have good waterproofing effect… but I too wonder.
Big question – when you state to strip Teady Seal… since that is an oil semi transparent and we will be putting on TEP which is oil based semi … we were not planning to sand but rather just use cleaner … scrub… power wash off. Will that be enough?

Frank
Frank
4 years ago

Is this stain good for pool decks that use chlorine

Colleen P manzi
Colleen P manzi
4 years ago

My house has natural cedar stain over cedar. I am doing over deck and railings with PT should that be darker color than house ?????

Sharon
Sharon
4 years ago

Can TWP 1500 be used for cedar shake roof shingles?

Christine Cournoyer
Christine Cournoyer
4 years ago

Oh ya…one year and look!

15207821533351944106360.jpg
Shelf Life Deck Stain
Michael Capehart
Michael Capehart
5 years ago

I am sanding the paint off my 104 year old covered porch. Not new or exotic wood. Thinking about TWP 1500. Amy suggestions?

Travis McCormack
Travis McCormack
5 years ago

How well does the TWP 1500 series fill for some cracks in deck floor boards? As a stain I would imagine not very much for filling purposes. You have recommended I use this for my deck in a previous post and was curious. Thank you!

Margaret
Margaret
5 years ago

I applied the stain to my mohagany deck with a 4″brush as recommended. It went on easily and seemed to penetrate. It looks beautiful! However, it’s 24 hours later and it’s still “wet”. I applied a thin layer initially, then 6 hours later, when it wasn’t yet dry, I went over it with a dry rag. The amount of stain not soaking in is unbelieveable. The decking was properly prepped and power washed several days ago and the weather is clear and dry. I was expecting better results, faster drying, but walking on it it’s wet – it stains my feet. When will it dry? Help!

christy
christy
5 years ago

We power washed our deck and sanded it. It was old (2000) and never stained. looks good now just some cracks here and there. We are thinking of staining it and not painting it. What do we need to do after sanding? wash off? let dry for a few days before staining? What stain do you recommend to still show grain but also make deck look new. TY 🙂

Ray Vishnesky
Ray Vishnesky
5 years ago

I installed new pt deck
Torched deck to create burnt look
Wondering how I could uv protect with one of your clear products wanna keep look without staining was thinking tung oil but friend told me to check out TWP
as I don’t think tung oil will uv protect

James
James
5 years ago

I have a mahogany deck in CT. Just had deck sanded and applied TWP 1500 Honeytone. The finish is very dull and does not have the rich luster I was expecting. What can I do to address this? More coats? Mineral spirits?

Dominic
Dominic
5 years ago

I have a one year old redwood deck in Napa, California – Full sun exposure, I just stain last month with Behr Semi-transparent redwood. It looks orange-red. I plan to drum sand failed color stain off.
Questions:
1) Should I Strip & sand failed color stain off or can I just drum sand stain off?
2) What Grit sandpaper should I use to remove failed color stain?
3) What stain should I use to have a natural clear redwood grain look (Buckskin tan look)? I was thinking about TWP1500 (Clear) but concerned about full sun exposure & graying?

Dominic
Dominic
5 years ago

If I mix the twp1500 (clear) with twp1511 (CA. Redwood) does the color become a lighter version of twp1511 (CA. Redwood).

Michael Bridges
Michael Bridges
5 years ago

I have a 20 year old cedar deck in the Seattle area. With all the rain we get up here, which stain do you recommend for wet areas like mine ? The 1500 series with less mineral spirits and more oil, or the 100 series with more mineral spirits and less oil in the product ? I understand that the 100 series has a slightly better penetration into the wood. Is that the key to longevity in my case ? I would like to get as many more years out of this deck as possible.

Kevin Nash
Kevin Nash
5 years ago

Cedar deck, last coated with Sikkens SRD about 2 years ago, stripping, brightening, then applying TWP 1503. I'm replacing several rotted deck boards with new cedar. Question – should I leave those boards off the deck until finished applying TWP? I've read the aging requirement for new wood, and easiest way to NOT finish them now would be to install after finishing. Is this the right approach?

Brianna Bales
Brianna Bales
5 years ago

We just had a brand new cedar deck installed 2 weeks ago. The contractors stressed we should pressure wash then seal or stain the new deck as soon as possible (within the next couple weeks) to prevent the wood from drying out. We live in Missouri and the weather over the last couple weeks has been rainy and severe heat. We have noticed a couple small cracks shows up on the decking boards and a large crack in one of the side boards. If we wait a few months to allow the wood to weather it will be getting into winter. Would you still suggest we wait to treat the deck or what stain/sealer would you recommend we use?

Donna Kujawa