TWP 1500 Series Stain Review  4.4/5 (23)

This post was updated on February 26, 2024

TWP 1500 Series Stain Update 2024

We find that the TWP 1500 Series Stain to be the best performing oil-based deck stain on the market.  We personally use the TWP 1500 Series Stain on deck restorations every year in the Midwest and is one of our go-to brands.


TWP 1500 Stain Rating

TWP 1500 Series Deck Stain Ratings

TWP 1500 Series Deck Stain

TWP 1500 Series was introduced in the Summer of 2010 as the replacement for the TWP 500 Series. TWP 1500 stain is a semi-transparent oil-based wood preservative registered by the EPA. The only deck preservative that is currently registered as an exterior wood preservative.

 

TWP 1500 Series is designed for all exterior unfinished wood. It has excellent UV resistance from graying. It is mostly used for exterior wood decking, wood fencing, log homes, cedar sided homes, etc. TWP 1500 comes in 10 colors that allow the natural grain of the wood to show through.

TWP Stains – 1500 Stain Rating

TWP 1500 Series Deck Stain Scores (1-10)

Appearance After Initial Stain Application: 8.5

– TWP 1500 Series had a beautiful rich look to the wood. The wood grain was highlighted naturally. 1501 Cedartone color was slightly brown for a traditional cedar color.

Preventing UV Graying at 2 Year Mark: 9

– Excellent at preventing UV graying at the two-year mark. One of the top stains that we have tested in terms of absorbing the UV radiation that causes oxidation of the wood.

Wear/Tear and Peeling: 9

– Very good at preventing peeling. TWP penetrates deep into the wood. This seems to reduce any chance of wearing or peeling at the surface.

TWP 1500 Series

TWP 1500 Series

Cost Per Square Foot: 8

– TWP 1500 Series cost us $194.99 for a 5-gallon pail delivered. This breaks down to $.35 per foot for 2 coats of stain on our 400 square foot deck. We still had 1.5 gallons left when done. The coverage for the TWP 1500 was close to 200 square feet per gallon.

Preventing Mold/Mildew/Algae: 9

– Of all of the oil-based stains we tested, TWP offers the best protection against mold spores that are known to grow in oil-based stains. This is most likely due to the oils used in TWP’s stains. They do not use linseed oil but rather a mixture of natural and synthetic oils.

Ease of Application: 8

– For an oil-based stain, the TWP 1500 series applied well. We did notice that you need to back brush any puddles to ensure an even application. This is normal for most of the stains that we have tested. TWP 1500 Series did dry to the touch in 6 hours and we were able to put the furniture back on the deck the following day.

Color Shifting (darkening) after 2 Years: 9

– The 1500 series did not “darken” in color like other oil-based stains have been known to. TWP actually lightened up slightly at the 2-year mark. This gave the wood a more natural-looking feel.

Difficulty of Reapplication: 8.5

– TWP 1500 Series would be an easy stain to reapply. A normal wood deck cleaner would be used to remove some dirt and grime, prepping for another coat.

Overall Score TWP 1500 Series at 2 Year Period: 8.5

– TWP 1500 Series (and 100 Series) have been known to provide tops in terms of durability and color retention. They have always been one of the best stains and are one of our top choices. Little to no fading on the railings. The deck surface faded to about 75% of the stain’s initial color after 2.5 years.

Product Information:

 

 

TWP Help? Search Google: TWP Stain Help
More Info: TWP 1500 Series
Cost: $46.99 per Gallon, $234.99 per 5 Gallon Pail
Stain Type: Semi-Transparent – Oil-Based
Available Colors: 1500 Clear, 1501 Cedartone, 1502 Redwood, 1503 Dark Oak, 1504 Black Walnut, 1511 California Redwood, 1515 Honeytone, 1516 Rustic, 1520 Pecan, 1530 Natural
Application Temperature: 45-95 F
Coats Required: 2 Coats. “Wet on Wet”
Coverage Per Gallon: 150-250 sq. ft
Application Tools: Sprayer, Pad, Brush, Roller
Dry Time: 4-12 Hours
Cleanup: Mineral Spirits
VOC Compliant: 250 Compliant in All 50 States
More Info: Product Data

Test Deck Stats:

Deck Wood Type: Western Red Cedar
Deck Square Footage: 400
UV Exposure: Full Sun
How Many Years Tested: 2 Years
Stain Color Used: 
1501 Cedartone

*All products tested and results are from our experience. We offer no guarantee of similar results. Take into consideration that results may differ due to different wood types, exposure to UV radiation, and natural weathering.

TWP 1500 Series Deck Stain Photos

TWP 1500 Series Stain Review Video


Please Rate This. You may also post comments or ask questions below.

author avatar
Scott Paul ~ Restoring Wood & Decks Since 1993 Owner
As an article and comment contributor to the site, Scott has been around the pressure washing industry since attending college. In 1993 he started his first company called Oakland Pressure Wash specializing in exterior pressure washing and deck staining. That company evolved into OPW L.L.C. shortly thereafter concentrating more on exterior wood and deck restoration. Scott and his Deck Cleaning Michigan company have restored over 10,000 decks in the Metro Detroit area since the early years. He has become an authority in the deck restoration industry and has contributed to numerous wood restoration forums and informative sites. All the products he suggests through this site are sold through online sites and in retail stores, allowing the consumer to choose their own means of purchase. Scott’s eCommerce sites do sell many top brands he endorses and if you appreciate any of the help he has offered then feel free to purchase from one of them.

Related Deck Stain Help Articles & Reviews

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
523 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Michael Murphy
Michael Murphy
5 years ago

We could not be happier with the 1500 TWP Cedar tone. We love the way it looks. It was easy to apply,

IMG_20180923_152845098_HDR.jpg
IMG_20180923_152851454_HDR.jpg
Californiaoutdoors
Californiaoutdoors
6 months ago

Due to multiple contractor and other delays, a redwood deck was prepped (stripper, brightener, and sanded from rough cut to smooth) months ago. Due to other delays, it could be months longer before it’s stained. I have a large blue plastic tarp. To protect from sun, would you recommend tarping until work resumes? Or recommend against that because it might trap water? While my home is in a moderate climate zone, we do get rain, and our rainy season is approaching.

Alternatively, is there a temporary protective product that could be applied for UV protection, but wouldn’t require later removal by chemical strippers and/or sanding?

Thank you.

Thanks.

California Outdoors
California Outdoors
7 months ago

Hi. For a redwood deck and fence, we need to replace some posts and boards. All will be sanded fully smooth. While I’m guessing there’s no way to get the new wood to perfectly blend with the old wood, is there anything we can do to at least somewhat minimize the difference? FYI, the plan is to stain with Armstrong Clark semi-transparent in natural oak color. After all the sanding the wood is beautiful and we don’t want to cover it with a semi-solid or solid stain.

Thanks for your help.

California Outdoors
California Outdoors
6 months ago

Thank you. What is the maximum number of months from the prior prep work (chemical stripping and sanding) that the wood safely can be exposed to the elements (e.g., UV) prior to application of the new stain? If/when that maximum is reached, would you advise tarping at that point?

Brent
Brent
11 months ago

Hello,
Looking to stain a deck roughly 1 year old in rural part of Tennessee. Algae is a concern. Small deck full sun all day. Looking at the twp stains and wondering which formula would be best. I was also curious how long the stain is good in the container after being opened. If a 5 gal bucket kit was purchased would I be able to use that stain when the deck needed another coat in 2-3 years. It would be stored sealed in a conex no temperature control.
Thank you.

Brent
Brent
11 months ago

Thank you very much!

Doug
Doug
1 year ago

What’s the drawback of only doing one coat. Does it simply mean you’ll need to re-coat sooner than expected? Thanks.

Fo Sf
Fo Sf
1 year ago

Hi. We’ll be staining a redwood deck and fence. We’re leaning towards the TWP 1500 series. Will one coat be sufficient on both horizontal and vertical surfaces? Also, while a stripper was used, it didn’t fully strip all areas. Will that be a problem? If so, short of reapplying a chemical stripper and brightener, can the stain in those areas be removed with a scraper or by sanding? If by sanding, what grit do you recommend? Thank you.

Fo Sf
Fo Sf
1 year ago

Thanks for the helpful reply.

I’ve received several contractor estimates for completing the work started (and abandoned) by the first contractor. Because of the stripper recently applied (it was Woodrich HD-80), they advised against further stripping, claiming further stripping would risk damaging the wood. Specifically, they claim that in addition to removing stain, it would remove some wood. I’m wondering if that’s a valid concern, or if the motive perhaps is to increase billable work (I assume more labor required for sanding than stripping and brightening).

If you believe sanding is a reasonable approach, would use of a grinder rather than regular sander be ok, or would that be too harsh and thus risk damaging the redwood? If grinding is a reasonable approach, what is the lowest grit you feel safe? The contractor proposes the grinding followed by light sanding to remove any swirl marks caused by the grinder and other touch-up.

Thanks again for your help.

Alvin Sanders
Alvin Sanders
1 year ago

What deck preparation is required if I’m replacing 18 month old Sherwin Williams oil modified semitransparent redwood super deck stain with TWP 1500 series oil based semitransparent redwood stain?
Note. The current stain is in decent shape with no peeling.

William Palmer
William Palmer
1 year ago

I am unable to purchase the 100 in my state. It was recommended to purchase the 1500 even though I need the semi-solid product.

  1. Why will this semi-transparent perform the same as semi-solid?
  2. Why will it blend new boards with the old 13 year older worn boards? This is confusing that you recommend one oil based to do the job designed for another type of paint. Thank you.
Bill Palmer
Bill Palmer
1 year ago

Yes, that is my original understanding and I’m needing to buy the semi solid; but, the 1500 is is semi-transparent right? I need to hide the older wood. Thank you.

William Palmer
William Palmer
1 year ago
Reply to  William Palmer

I thought the 1500 is NOT a semi-solid. As you state, I need to blend the old wood with new wood better using a semi-solid.

thylantyr
thylantyr
2 years ago

Regarding “ They do not use linseed oil but rather a mixture of natural and synthetic oils.”

The SDS sheet shows;
Linseed oil
8001-26-1
30 to 40%

Elizabeth
Elizabeth
2 years ago

What is the best way to fix over application with TWP 1500 series?

Elizabeth
Elizabeth
2 years ago

Please see attached, thank you. It is a covered porch and a rain storm came through a few hours after application. Was thoroughly power washed and lightly sanded before application. The deck has cured since then.

IMG_3309.jpg
IMG_3312.jpg
Joni Meharg
Joni Meharg
2 years ago

our deck has done great with TWP Cedartone stain- This year we are re-powerwashing and re-staining. We had to replace several boards- how can we get new wood to match old wood???????

Brad Motteler
Brad Motteler
3 years ago

I applied twp 1500 and it looks a bit blotchy and there are some areas that were fuzzy that apparently needed sanded more . I applied two coats wet on wet .am I able to sand down the fuzzy stuff and restain or am I better off using a semi solid over this to make it look more uniform ? Either way when can I re-coat?

100D0FBB-9BD0-489B-909D-6F62E1C92D7A.jpeg
Brad Motteler
Brad Motteler
3 years ago

Can I use a different brand semi-solid instead without having to remove it all ?

Brad Motteler
Brad Motteler
3 years ago

What is my process for stripping and starting over . Do I need to use a floor sander ?

Al Vars
Al Vars
3 years ago

Can I use 1500 series clear on deck furniture.
I have 10 gallons left over from doing all the decks and would like to
use it on all the deck furniture. It is hardwood and has been stripped to bare wood.

Ray
Ray
3 years ago

Can a second coat be applied a few days apart from the first coat? In other words; Does it have to be wet on wet? Thanks

Allen Monsarrat
Allen Monsarrat
3 years ago

I redid my deck last year with kiln dried after treatment KDAT pine. I waited several months for the mill glaze to go away and then applied one coat TWP 1500 Honey color after treating with cleaner and brighter. Very pleased with results.
Now it seems like it’s ready for a second coat. Water no longer beads up like it did originally. I’m assuming that my steps will be to use cleaner and brightener then apply a another coat of TWP 1500. No stripper will be applied. Is this correct?
In the photograph the circle on the right of the photograph is where a pot has been sitting, The deck outside of the circle has been exposed to the elements.

1615472831156497780648006329889.jpg
Karl H Graf
Karl H Graf
3 years ago

We live in Charlotte NC and have a deck that was installed with pressure treated 2 by 6 boards. Size is 14 by 14, we have a couple of steps, railing on two sides and a pergola. Would seems dry enough to stain now, although top of rails, pergola and some floor boards starting to shoe grey. I am thinking of TWP 1500 on this deck. Since the deck is 5 months old, how much prep should be done? How much stain? and lastly how slick will this get after a rain? Hoping to do this in the next week or two. Thank you for your advice and guidance.

Karl H Graf
Karl H Graf
3 years ago

Thank you for the link, I reviewed it and this deck has now been out in the weather for 5 months, seems okay to stain. Interesting that TWP is not on the list of stains recommended for new wood, and somewhat surprising. It seems that sticking to one brand over time is advisable. What do you think of using one thing now (new wood) and something else later?

Thank you.
Karl

Karl H Graf
Karl H Graf
3 years ago
Reply to  Karl H Graf

Also it sounds like 2 gallons of stain sh be enough, make sense?
Thanks

Karl H Graf
Karl H Graf
3 years ago

Deck surface is 14 by 14 ft. Three stairs, rails and styles and a simple pergola. If a gallon covers 300 sq ft. seems like 2 gal sh be enough. Make sense to you?

Karl H Graf
Karl H Graf
3 years ago

Just posted a couple of follow up questions, don’t see them. On new wood you do not recommend TWP as a preferred stain. What do you recommend as a cleaner/brightener for new wood? How long sh we wait between cleaning and staining?
Thanks for your help.
Karl

Jim Fitzgerald
Jim Fitzgerald
3 years ago

I live in the San Francisco Bay Area .. What is the shortest amount of wait time that the 1500 series can be applied on a new redwood deck. Would light sanding before application quicken the wait?

Dave Hertzberg
Dave Hertzberg
3 years ago

I’m convinced by this review that this is a much better way to go than what we’ve had on our deck, which is Benjamin Moore Arborcoat. Your review of the BM hives with my experience of it.

One question about the TWP stain. How soon after application could I put furniture on it? I ask because I have to do my deck half at a time and put the furniture on the other half since there’s nowhere else I can put it. So after I do the first half I’ll need to put the furniture on there to do the second half. Also, any tips for avoiding a noticeable line at that halfway point?

Also, how many gallons would I need for a 300 sq ft deck? I would use a sprayer and a brush if that matters.

Thanks!!!

Dave Hertzberg
Dave Hertzberg
3 years ago
Reply to  Dave Hertzberg

Sorry, one more question…I’ve read that this shouldn’t be applied when it’s over 90 outside. Looks like there will be a stretch of a few days when it’s approaching 90 but not quite hitting it. Should I just do it then anyway? Or better to wait a couple months after stripping when it gets a little cooler? I guess neither is ideal but I’ve already started so I have to do one of those plans.

Dawn
Dawn
4 years ago

Is Twp 1500 a good stain to use on a cedar deck that gets splashed with chlorine?

Robin Nolan
Robin Nolan
4 years ago

Hi there:) So happy that I found this site! Bought a 1970″s Pan Abode cedar log home kit. Previous owners didn’t maintain the cedar logs well. Can’t sandblast or power wash because it’s like Lincoln Logs and no chinking so water, sand etc gets through he logs into the house. So, painstakingly wire brushing and sanding old stain off to bare wood best we can. Plan on retaining in a dark mahogany semi transparent stain so can see the grain but cover well to hide any mistakes or oops. Any preference as to satin should use? Here in northern NH it’s pretty damp and New England weather. Many folks here use Sikkens products or Ben Moore “Arborcoat”. Not familiar with the products I’ve read here but will take your advice!
Thank you for what you do!!
Some pics of the house,
Robin Nolan
Shelburne, NH

IMG_0678.JPG
IMG_0678.JPG
IMG_0680.JPG
IMG_0682.JPG
james
james
4 years ago

is twp 1500 stain available in canada

Joel LeGrande
Joel LeGrande
4 years ago

Such an incredible stain, we’re ecstatic! It beads rain like mercury and look forward to many years of satisfaction!
Thanks TWP!!!!!

Donna
Donna
4 years ago

Does TWP 1500 series contain paraffin oil like the TWP 200 series?

Paula
Paula
4 years ago

I prepped and applied TWP 1500 to our cedar deck 3 or 4 years ago, and it looked fantastic. It has held up very well, but needs to be touched up. I am planning on using the same product in the same shade. Can I use deck cleaner and brightener or should I use a deck stripper and brightener before using the TWP 1500?

Ernie
Ernie
4 years ago

Can the TWP series 1500 stain be applied over aTWP series 100 stain?

Dave
Dave
5 years ago

Can this product be appiled with a garden type sprayer and then backed brushed?

523
0
Questions or leave a review, please comment!x