TWP 1500 Wood and Deck Stain Review 2022 4.6/5 (28)

This post was updated on April 19, 2022

TWP 1500 Series Review

Here at DeckStainHelp.com we take pride in the fact that we have become the Internet’s number one resource for all things exterior wood and deck restoration related. As years before, our customers who have used TWP wood and deck stain continue to be satisfied by the appearance and longevity of their deck stain projects. If you have used TWP wood and deck stain in the past, or if you are using it for the first time this year, we appreciate your input, so feel free to leave a comment below and pictures of your completed projects if you have them.


TWP 1500 Stain Review

TWP 1500 Stain Review

TWP 1500 Stain RatingsImportant Note: This is an updated 2022 TWP 1500 Series Review.

TWP® (Total Wood Preservative) 1500 Series Deck Stain was brought onto the market in 2010 as the permanent substitute for TWP 500 Series. TWP 1500 Wood and Deck Stain is a semi-transparent, oil-based, EPA registered wood preservative.

TWP 1500 Stain is specially formulated to use on all exterior wood surfaces. Its outstanding UV resistant blend prevents wood graying and discoloration. It is commonly used on decks, fences, log cabins, wood siding, and cedar shakes. It is offered in 10 shades that enhance the natural beauty of the wood.

TWP 1500 Deck Stain Rating

TWP 1500 Series Deck Stain Scores (1-10)

Appearance After Initial Stain Application: 8

– The appearance of TWP 1500 Wood Stain on our test deck was a warm rich finish. The wood grain was enhanced and highlighted effortlessly. The 1501 Cedartone color was a little browner (not as orange) than a conventional cedar stain color.

TWP 1501 Cedartone

TWP 1501 Cedartone

Preventing UV Graying at 2 Year Mark: 9

– At the 2-year mark, TWP was holding up well against UV graying. This was one of the top deck stains tested as far as reflecting UV radiation that typically creates wood fading and discoloring issues. TWP 1500 retained about 90% of its initial color at 1 year and 70% at 2 years.

Wear/Tear and Peeling: 9

– TWP 1500 displayed zero signs of peeling and only a slight amount of wear. TWP is not film-forming. The stain dives deep into the wood fibers, which reduces any chance of wearing or peeling on the wood surface.

Cost Per Square Foot: 8.5

– TWP 1500 Wood and Deck Stain cost us $39 per gallon. We applied 2 coats “wet on wet” to our 400 square foot test deck. Coverage for the TWP 1500 was 125 square feet per gallon for 2 coats applied wet on wet. The cost broke down per square foot was .35 cents.

Preventing Mold/Mildew/Algae: 9

– In our testing of oil-based deck stains, TWP 1500 offered one of the best resistances to mold spores and fungal growth, which some oil-based stains are known to attract. This was most likely due to the EPA registered mildewcides in the TWP formula. Also contributing to the lack of spores is the use of synthetic and natural oils and a limited amount of linseed oil, which has been known to promote mildew growth.

Ease of Application: 8

– TWP 1500 Wood and Deck Stain applied fairly well for an oil-based formula. It was necessary to back brush or wipe excess stain to get a nice even finish. TWP 1500 Series Stain dried within 6 hours and we were able to place items back on the deck.

Color Shifting (darkening) after 2 Years: 9

–At the 2-year inspection, no noticeable darkening was apparent like we have seen with other oil stains. The 1501 Cedartone color essentially lightened up a bit giving a more natural appearance.

Difficulty of Reapplication: 8.5

– We are confident that the TWP 1500 Wood Stain would be easy to recoat. A quality deck cleaner could be used to remove common dirt and grime prior to re-staining with TWP 1500 again.

Overall Score TWP 1500 Series at 2 Year Period: 8.5

– The TWP products like 1500 and 100 Series Stains are known to produce a durable long-lasting finish. They have always been a favorite of ours and are consistently one of our top choice stains. We personally use the TWP stains on 300+ deck restorations annually. Ease of application, a beautiful finish, and easy recoating makes TWP 1500 an outstanding professional-grade stain for all exterior wood projects.

Product Information:

TWP Help? Search Google: TWP Stain Help
More Info: TWP 1500 Series
TWP Stain Facebook Page: TWP Deck and Wood Stains
Cost: $45 per Gallon, $215 per 5 Gallon Pail
Stain Type: Semi-Transparent – Oil-Based
Available Colors: 1500 Clear, 1501 Cedartone, 1502 Redwood, 1503 Dark Oak, 1504 Black Walnut, 1511 California Redwood, 1515 Honeytone, 1516 Rustic, 1520 Pecan, 1530 Natural
Application Temperature: 45-95 F
Coats Required: 2 Coats. “Wet on Wet”
Coverage Per Gallon: 150-250 sq. ft
Application Tools: Sprayer, Pad, Brush, Roller
Dry Time: 4-12 Hours
Cleanup: Mineral Spirits
VOC Compliant: 250 Compliant in All 50 States
More Info: Product Data

Test Deck Stats:
Deck Wood Type:  Cedar
Deck Square Footage: 400
UV Exposure: Full Sun
How Many Years Tested: 2 Years
Stain Color Used: 
1501 Cedartone

*All products tested and results are from our experience. We offer no guarantee of similar results. Take inconsideration that results may differ due to different wood types, exposure to UV radiation, and natural weathering.

TWP 1500 Series Deck Stain Photos

TWP 1500 Series Stain Review Video

Please Rate This. You may also post comments or ask questions below.

Related Deck Stain Help Articles & Reviews

guest
398 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Amy
Amy
5 days ago

Hi- I cleaned and brightened 3 days ago with RAD on my new redwood deck that has weathered for 18 months. I used a pressure washer to rinse.
I’m attaching pictures of TWP 1500 stain that I just began. I want to make sure it looks like I’ve removed the RAD adequately. Pictures show it still a bit wet.
I do see some furring after cleaning.

Amy
Amy
5 days ago

My husband thinks it looks a bit splotchy

4248D45E-9FA0-4D84-9621-062B76149C9B.jpeg
E25AEAA4-07BC-4879-9CFA-25A378DF4BA5.jpeg
09436FBD-9207-4D29-9358-D824024FBD76.jpeg
8B65E039-9D83-46EF-A6D2-1BD0B7A4EA6F.jpeg
Amy
Amy
1 day ago

Can I buff areas that I have already stained or just leave as is?
Also, I am having to prep the stairs and floor boards separately from the railing. How long after TWP application on the railing can I use the RAD cleaner and brightener on the other areas? Obviously, there will be some RAD that gets on the already stained areas.
Thanks for your help.

Amy
Amy
17 hours ago

Thank you for your help!

Sharon
Sharon
1 month ago

Who sells CWF deck stain? 1515 honeycon e

Dale Schmidt
Dale Schmidt
1 month ago

Hi, What is the best choice for a year old Cedar deck, recently sanded due to the previous product peeling. I live in Wisconsin and the deck faces South/Southwest. 100 Series or 1500 Series?

Carol C
Carol C
2 months ago

Can you recommend a hand-pump sprayer that can successfully handle the viscosity of TWP 1500 semi-transparent stains without clogging? Only “transparent” stains are mentioned as being suitable in the pumps I can find. Thanks

Rich
Rich
3 months ago

What is best stain sealer for redwood in Danville California

Ryan Considine
Ryan Considine
5 months ago

Hi 2 years ago i stained my redwood deck with TWP 1500 ( I think I used honey tone) . Anyway if I restain it the same color with the same TWP 1500 , I don’t have to strip it? Some areas of the deck have great coverage still , but some of the high traffic areas have faded entirely , and are greying. If I clean and reapply, won’t it be blotchy some dark areas where the stain was still present? I am just a bit confused on how to go about it. Also another question, what if I chose a different color but stayed with 1500. Thanks for always being prompt. Looking forward to your answers.

image.jpg
image.jpg
Ryan Considine
Ryan Considine
5 months ago

Hi, I just recently built a horizontal Wester red cedar fence. I am looking for a protectant stain that i can just reapply and not have to strip every time. Even if it needs to be done every year. Is TWP have a clear to keep the original cedar color and protect it from greying ? Open to all suggestion. I just have a lot of wood at my property, and my deck alone keeps me busy having to strip it every two years or so to restain. I used TWP 1500 and i like it , but when there is a color to the stain it requires stripping to avoid dark spots

5ABC5F08-BE23-4C33-85BE-B683E8E87EDC.jpeg
9A715A4B-6D55-452B-AE6B-9FA70E455505.jpeg
Ryan Considine
Ryan Considine
5 months ago

Thank you for the fast response. I read the article on waiting to stain. That’s good to know , I will wait a few months before staining my smooth western red cedar fence. I will also use tinted color. As for my Deck in the back that I stained with TWP 1500 honey teak, if I want to restain with the same color, what’s the process? No stripping necessary? That’s the biggest hassle to me. The deck currently looks good in some places and faded away stain entirely in others , due to high traffic areas. Thank you !

b3ll0v1c
b3ll0v1c(@b3ll0v1c)
7 months ago

I pressure washed my deck and treated with RAD Cleaner and Brightener and I am ready to stain it with TWP 1500. However, I live in the North East and I am facing a couple of issues: 1) almost every morning the deck is covered with dew, and sometime frozen dew, 2) the temperature goes below 40F at night. Is it too wet at this point to use TWP even if I start staining the deck around noon when it is more dry? Does the minimum temperature of 50F refer to when the stain is applied for the entire drying period of 2-12 hours? Thanks.

Jared
Jared
7 months ago

If you are using a stain like the TWP 1500 series which calls for two coats to be applied “wet on wet” and you run out of stain where you are not able to apply the second coat on everything, should you wait for the first coat to dry thoroughly on everything before applying the second coat or should you just leave it and apply only one coat? Thanks as always for the help and advice.

Jared
Jared
7 months ago

Hi. I just stripped, brightened, and stained my deck and stairs. I went with a TWP 1530 Natural stain. The stain looks wonderful on most of the wood but slightly orange in places where the wood underneath was yellowish in color. I plan on doing another maintenance coat at the same time next year. If I stay with the same brand and series can I go to a slightly darker color without having to strip the original stain back off? I was hoping to just get TWP’s Gemini kit to clean and brighten and then just to apply one coat of a darker TWP 1500 stain. Thanks for your help and for all the wonderful information on this website. It’s by far the best resource on all of this that I’ve come across.

Jared
Jared
7 months ago

Thanks for the super fast response. Can I expect the wood to darken slightly over time from UV in which case the orange color in places may no longer be an issue as the yellowish wood underneath darkens? Maybe it will all look great and more uniform after it has time to weather a bit. This is my first time using just a stain like this so I don’t have any experience to go on.

John
John
8 months ago

What color in the 1500 series (semi-transparent)would you use on a 20 year old teak deck?Also as it’s a hardwood would you advise one coat or the wet on wet finish?

Nadia M.
Nadia M.
1 year ago

Hello,

I’ve stripped all the railings and spindles of my deck to bare wood with RAD (that was a lot of work), hand sanded where needed with 60/80 grit paper and then used the brightener. There was also some rotten wood but that was replaced last summer 2020, I’ve just cleaned that too with RAD cleaner and brightened after.

I’m staining everything in TWP 1500 series in dark oak. I’ve followed all directions using a good brush but it looks so ugly, it looks like there is dirt on the spindles trapped under the stain. There seems to be beads/bubbles of dirt on the spindles under the stain, there was nothing like that on the bare wood. It looks worse than before, and before they had an ugly Superdeck stain. What could be wrong ? Please see pictures of the spindles/railing before staining and after. I’m now reading that I should have used a wood conditioner first. Should I do that, and if yes which conditioner do you recommend ?

I’ve also used this same TWP stain in dark oak on an outdoor wood table and that came out nice. Please help! I’ve stopped staining for now as I don’t want to have to strip everything again. Thank you.

image4.jpeg
image2.jpeg
image1.jpeg
image0.jpeg
Nadia M.
Nadia M.
1 year ago

Thank you for your reply. So you don’t recommend the wood conditioner prior to restaining ? Or mineral spirits ? I’ve worked so much stripping/prepping this and it’s so disappointing to see this ugly result now. Thank you again. Please let me know if there is anything I can do.

Steve
Steve
1 year ago

I refinished a pressure treated deck last year, pressure washed, sanded and 2 coated with TWP 100 series. Is there any reason I can’t apply TWP 1500 Cedartone over the 100 for a maintenance coat? I get it, the standard answer is going to be strip and brighten but I’m wondering why the 1500 couldn’t soak in as a maintenance coat?

Bryan Keil
Bryan Keil
1 year ago

I am redoing my deck of about 500 square feet. The wood is clear redwood that is about 20 years old. I have been using a solid stain on it and I think it would be very difficult to sand smooth. I also do not like that the wood was butted close when installed creating puddles on the deck. I plan on removing all of the wood a few feet at a time and putting it through a thickness planer and reinstalling it with 1/4 ” gaps using screws, possibly stainless as the nails back out constantly. I also live near San Francisco, about 1 mile from the ocean. Not a lot of hot and never freezing or snow.
My question is about aging. As the wood is 20 years old, when I plane it, will I have to let it age or can I install the finish right away. I would love to finish each section before reinstalling it as will be just a bit easier.
Also, should I use TWP 100 or TWP 1500? I do get sun more days than not.

Dennis
Dennis
1 year ago

Hello, I live in southern Wisconsin and have a 630’ x 6’ elevated walkway from my backyard crossing over wetlands onto the beach. The walkway is 3 years old, pressure treated yellow pine and has not been oiled/stained yet. The topside is slightly grey and weathered. I’m looking for the easiest possible way to finish the walkway with the least amount of preparations. My pressure washer and hose will not extend 600 feet plus I’m concerned about using deck cleaning chemicals over the wetlands area. Question 1) Will a stiff brushing do well enough on the walkway prior to oiling/staining? I can care less about the color of the walkway when finished as I am more interested in max protection from UV, rain, snow and harsh weather. Question 2) I’m thinking oil would be best due to least amount of prep work in between reapplying oil every couple years. Thinking TWP 100 or TWP 1500?? or again, a product that doesn’t require sanding, stripping, ect. in between reapplication every couple years. Thought, thanks.

17B00723-9988-4E3C-BBBC-00259EEA34E6.jpeg
CDB09D4B-E719-46EB-BF30-00057B36CC35.jpeg
Allison
Allison
1 year ago

We used the the 1599 series in cedertone on our redwood fence and the results don’t look great (it really emphasizes the knots in the wood and made them look very dark). Do you think it is an application or prep issue? The fence was pressure washed a few days before applying. Thank you!

1536B696-156C-4918-A686-56A1FED14A0C.jpeg
Allison
Allison
1 year ago

Thank you. Do you know if and how quickly it will mellow? I really loved the look of the wood after pressure cleaning and brightening, but we wanted to use a tinted application to get the UV protection.

3713FBB7-BC45-4949-B831-F93D691097A6.jpeg
Kristie
Kristie
1 year ago

Hi, on the 100 series you suggested waiting at least 4 months for the wood to age, but you didn’t say the same on the 1500 series review. Is the 1500 series better formulated to go on brand new wood or do I still need to let it age? Also, do I need to sand the whole surface after letting it age or just power wash? I’ve never heard of doing this before. Thanks for the reviews and taking the time to answer!!

Bev Brooks
Bev Brooks
1 year ago

I am about to have a very large, expensive pavilion built on my lakeside property. After reading the reviews of the TWP 100 Pro Series stain, I am convinced that it is a quality stain, and I understand it is used on log cabins. Therefore, I assume it is good for use on a pavilion, but I am scared to death. How in the world do you apply the product hanging from a ladder, and get a good job on intricate high ceilings, and large interior and exterior areas?

Richard
Richard
1 year ago

Not enough stain? Water doesn’t bead.
I fully stripped, cleaned, and brightened my redwood deck, then stained the floor with clear transparent TWP 1500, following wet-on-wet instructions as closely as possible with a thick roller. I didn’t want unnatural color this time.
It looked even, except for one board on which I decided to add a second coat hours later after it dried, because it looked dull and maybe under-stained. That one remained darker than the rest, though no tackiness, and nothing wipeable with paint thinner on a rag. But maybe it was always a darker board.
But my question is: when we got our first light winter rain here in northern California a week later, I saw none of the beading of water I have always seen after a new coat of oil-based stain (except on the board I had stained twice and a few others). Does that mean I did not put on enough stain? Too late now, I assume. Maybe this brand/formulation with its wet-on-wet instructions is too complicated for me to use in the future. Waiting for rain drying to do the rails with next five (or fewer) gallons.
Note photos of stained floor and brightened but not-stained-yet rails. Cloudy day with deck still damp from rain. Really not as ugly as photos suggest; in fact I am satisfied. On sunny days, I would call the average color brown with this clear oil preservative, in contrast to the reddish hue with my previous tinted stain; just not as shiny as I anticipated. I would call the cleaned and brightened unstained rails yellowish-tan? Incidentally, that darkest board in the upper part of the first photo, and left of center in the third photo, is the one I mentioned staining twice (again, not a problem).
Also FYI the square part of the deck (first three photos) had light sanding (circular 60 grit), but the long part (4th photo) had none. They look the same to me, though while sanding I noticed I did remove considerable black color.
I can send more pics when the whole job is done. I’m looking forward to it.

IMG_3491 2.jpeg
IMG_3492.jpeg
IMG_3493 2.jpeg
IMG_3495.jpeg
Richard
Richard
1 year ago
Reply to  Richard

Actually the pictures did not load in the order I submitted them. Re my comments, they are above #4,#3 , #2,#1. So here it is: unsanded, dark one left of center, area that needed significant sanding, and lastly the dark one near top of picture. Sorry.

Richard
Richard
1 year ago

Shelf life unopened?I have stripped and brightened/neutralized big 30 year old redwood deck and ready to stain with transparent TWP 1500. Would like to order more from one of TWP’s recommended online vendors to be sure I don’t run out in middle of job, especially considering the wet on wet method described–and the usual fall/winter rain here in northern CA. Willing to store extra leftowver for re-application in 3 years, but will it still be good then? The first batch I just received has June 19, 2020 stamped on label on bottom of can, assume the manufacture date.

Richard
Richard
1 year ago

Thank you!

Richard
Richard
1 year ago

…and, after stripping and brightening/neutralizing, I decided to do some additional perfectionist light sanding with 60 grit. Does that mean I have to brighten again? It doesn’t look like the color has changed from sanding other than some remaining black reduced, and a few streaks of newish red color of redwood showing up. But I read several places on your website that brightening is necessary after sanding. Even if already done before sanding? Guessing the brightener absorbed deeper than the minimal layer sanded off. Incidentally, since my deck was already clean from stripping, when I applied the brightener, the boards brightened equally whether I used the bristle brush or not, and the solution brushed off was quite clean.

Richard
Richard
1 year ago

Thanks, again.

Gary Rolf
Gary Rolf
1 year ago

Will this work on Alaskan Yellow Cedar decking? Covered front porch – so not a lot of direct weather(rain) on it. New Cedar, air dried for 12 years – and resawed this summer to 1″ thick for the decking Leaving the saw mill side up as it’s super consistent textured finish (no blade marks at all) and not smooth. So what kind of pre-treatment should I get. Would 100 series or 1500 be best? Will use clear (I like the yellow color is now).

Gary Rolf
Gary Rolf
1 year ago

It’s not a smooth finish.

Gary Rolf
Gary Rolf
1 year ago

Thanks , it’s rough sawn. Will still clean it then stain it. Thanks

Sherry Julo
Sherry Julo
1 year ago

I’m so tired of having to strip and brighten my 12 X 18 deck.

FIrst time was due to company hired damaging wood with power washer and apply sealant/stain (not sure what brand) on damp wood day after a storm. (Had to strip and brighten the whole deck)

Second time was due to using Olympic Maximum Cedartone that was applied in the Fall and by Spring the next year it was peeling off. (Recently stripped and brightened horizontal surfaces)

I don’t have the energy to strip and brighten the whole deck again. The vertical area so far aren’t peeling so I’m leaving that. When it does I’m thinking about having a different kind of railings installed that aren’t wood.

I really don’t care if the horizontal parts I have prepped match the Olympic Maximum Cedartone railings or not. I just want a good product for my horizontal surfaces that doesn’t have to be stripped and brightened. Would like something that penetrates the wood and can reapply every couple years if possible. I live in Kansas City, MO so I have access to most of the brands available.

Sherry Julo
Sherry Julo
1 year ago

Thank you!

Steve
Steve
1 year ago

Have you tried Vermont Natural Coatings poly whey exterior stains? I’m a TWP fan and Wolman F&P fan and I have a customer who is desiring this “cheesy” product and I’m leery of venturing into unchartered territory???

Scot
Scot
1 year ago

Will this work for an exotic hardwood? I’d like to use it just because of its availability in my area.

chris
chris
1 year ago

Hi, I need to stain the floor a new (covered) screened porch. Material is PT lumber. Do i need to wait longer than the recommended 4-12 months to stain since the deck is covered? Would TWP be the best option or should I go with Defy or another brand? Thanks.

Phil
Phil
1 year ago

Weathered PT deck that I stained 3 years ago is faded pretty bad. What do you advise to prep and clean for TWP 1500?

Vickie
Vickie
1 year ago

Boy I am in a bind. After doing tons of research I settled on TWP as per your review. But it is nowhere to be found in Illinois. And I needed it yesterday. Any suggestions where I might be able to find this? Or has it been discontinued?

Kathy
Kathy
1 year ago

Just sanded and brighten our 4years old cedar deck in Seattle, facing north, half in shade, half in the sun. Thinking between Twp 100 or 1500 for staining. I’ve read that sanding is closing the pores in the wood. Should we wait some time before staining?

Kathy
Kathy
1 year ago

Our cedar is quite smooth, not so rough. Is Twp 100 still the best product for us?

20200827_145239.jpg
20200827_145251.jpg
Kathy
Kathy
1 year ago

How many sq feet do you think I’ll get out of 1 gallon?

Kathy
Kathy
1 year ago
Reply to  Kathy

Also, is there need to stain bottom side of the deck , and if so, can I use some different/ cheaper product in there or just sealer? And does bottom side need to be prep and brighten as well before staining/sealing?

Kathy
Kathy
1 year ago

Our cedar seems quite smooth, not that rough ( see pic). Is Twp100 still the best choice of product for us, or some other stain would perform/ last longer on it?

Kathy
Kathy
1 year ago

Here are pics.

20200827_145239.jpg
20200827_145251.jpg
Kathy
Kathy
1 year ago
Reply to  Kathy

Our cedar is quite smooth, not that rough ( see pics) Is TWP100 still the best choice of product for us?

20200827_145239.jpg
20200827_145251.jpg
David E Bedar
David E Bedar
1 year ago

I live outside of San Francisco Ca. ( Novato) I have a redwood neck that needs staining. Does the deck need to be power washed first or can you use soap, water and bleach and then stain the deck? The deck was last done perhaps three or four years ago.
One attached photo is in the sun, the other is in the shade.
Thank you.

deck5.JPG
deck1 (2).JPG
diggis
diggis
1 year ago

quick question – any reviews about the TWP WS series?

Gayle Overturf
Gayle Overturf
1 year ago

Do you ship to Ak?