TWP 1500 Wood and Deck Stain Review 2024  4.5/5 (29)

This post was updated on May 1, 2024

TWP 1500 Series Review

Here at DeckStainHelp.com we take pride in the fact that we have become the Internet’s number one resource for all things exterior wood and deck restoration related. As years before, our customers who have used TWP wood and deck stain continue to be satisfied by the appearance and longevity of their deck stain projects. If you have used TWP wood and deck stain in the past, or if you are using it for the first time this year, we appreciate your input, so feel free to leave a comment below and pictures of your completed projects if you have them.


TWP 1500 Stain Review

TWP 1500 Stain Review

TWP 1500 Stain RatingsImportant Note: This is an updated 2024 TWP 1500 Series Review.

TWP® (Total Wood Preservative) 1500 Series Deck Stain was brought onto the market in 2010 as the permanent substitute for TWP 500 Series. TWP 1500 Wood and Deck Stain is a semi-transparent, oil-based, EPA registered wood preservative.

TWP 1500 Stain is specially formulated to use on all exterior wood surfaces. Its outstanding UV resistant blend prevents wood graying and discoloration. It is commonly used on decks, fences, log cabins, wood siding, and cedar shakes. It is offered in 10 shades that enhance the natural beauty of the wood.

TWP 1500 Deck Stain Rating

TWP 1500 Series Deck Stain Scores (1-10)

Appearance After Initial Stain Application: 8

– The appearance of TWP 1500 Wood Stain on our test deck was a warm rich finish. The wood grain was enhanced and highlighted effortlessly. The 1501 Cedartone color was a little browner (not as orange) than a conventional cedar stain color.

TWP 1501 Cedartone

TWP 1501 Cedartone

Preventing UV Graying at 2 Year Mark: 9

– At the 2-year mark, TWP was holding up well against UV graying. This was one of the top deck stains tested as far as reflecting UV radiation that typically creates wood fading and discoloring issues. TWP 1500 retained about 90% of its initial color at 1 year and 70% at 2 years.

Wear/Tear and Peeling: 9

– TWP 1500 displayed zero signs of peeling and only a slight amount of wear. TWP is not film-forming. The stain dives deep into the wood fibers, which reduces any chance of wearing or peeling on the wood surface.

Cost Per Square Foot: 8.5

– TWP 1500 Wood and Deck Stain cost us $39 per gallon. We applied 2 coats “wet on wet” to our 400 square foot test deck. Coverage for the TWP 1500 was 125 square feet per gallon for 2 coats applied wet on wet. The cost broke down per square foot was .35 cents.

Preventing Mold/Mildew/Algae: 9

– In our testing of oil-based deck stains, TWP 1500 offered one of the best resistances to mold spores and fungal growth, which some oil-based stains are known to attract. This was most likely due to the EPA registered mildewcides in the TWP formula. Also contributing to the lack of spores is the use of synthetic and natural oils and a limited amount of linseed oil, which has been known to promote mildew growth.

Ease of Application: 8

– TWP 1500 Wood and Deck Stain applied fairly well for an oil-based formula. It was necessary to back brush or wipe excess stain to get a nice even finish. TWP 1500 Series Stain dried within 6 hours and we were able to place items back on the deck.

Color Shifting (darkening) after 2 Years: 9

–At the 2-year inspection, no noticeable darkening was apparent like we have seen with other oil stains. The 1501 Cedartone color essentially lightened up a bit giving a more natural appearance.

Difficulty of Reapplication: 8.5

– We are confident that the TWP 1500 Wood Stain would be easy to recoat. A quality deck cleaner could be used to remove common dirt and grime prior to re-staining with TWP 1500 again.

Overall Score TWP 1500 Series at 2 Year Period: 8.5

– The TWP products like 1500 and 100 Series Stains are known to produce a durable long-lasting finish. They have always been a favorite of ours and are consistently one of our top choice stains. We personally use the TWP stains on 300+ deck restorations annually. Ease of application, a beautiful finish, and easy recoating makes TWP 1500 an outstanding professional-grade stain for all exterior wood projects.

Product Information:

 

 

TWP Help? Search Google: TWP Stain Help
More Info: TWP 1500 Series
Cost: $46 per Gallon, $235 per 5 Gallon Pail
Stain Type: Semi-Transparent – Oil-Based
Available Colors: 1500 Clear, 1501 Cedartone, 1502 Redwood, 1503 Dark Oak, 1504 Black Walnut, 1511 California Redwood, 1515 Honeytone, 1516 Rustic, 1520 Pecan, 1530 Natural
Application Temperature: 45-95 F
Coats Required: 2 Coats. “Wet on Wet”
Coverage Per Gallon: 150-250 sq. ft
Application Tools: Sprayer, Pad, Brush, Roller
Dry Time: 4-12 Hours
Cleanup: Mineral Spirits
VOC Compliant: 250 Compliant in All 50 States
More Info: Product Data

Test Deck Stats:
Deck Wood Type:  Cedar
Deck Square Footage: 400
UV Exposure: Full Sun
How Many Years Tested: 2 Years
Stain Color Used: 
1501 Cedartone

*All products tested and results are from our experience. We offer no guarantee of similar results. Take inconsideration that results may differ due to different wood types, exposure to UV radiation, and natural weathering.

TWP 1500 Series Deck Stain Photos

TWP 1500 Series Stain Review Video

Please Rate This. You may also post comments or ask questions below.

author avatar
Scott Paul ~ Restoring Wood & Decks Since 1993 Owner
As an article and comment contributor to the site, Scott has been around the pressure washing industry since attending college. In 1993 he started his first company called Oakland Pressure Wash specializing in exterior pressure washing and deck staining. That company evolved into OPW L.L.C. shortly thereafter concentrating more on exterior wood and deck restoration. Scott and his Deck Cleaning Michigan company have restored over 10,000 decks in the Metro Detroit area since the early years. He has become an authority in the deck restoration industry and has contributed to numerous wood restoration forums and informative sites. All the products he suggests through this site are sold through online sites and in retail stores, allowing the consumer to choose their own means of purchase. Scott’s eCommerce sites do sell many top brands he endorses and if you appreciate any of the help he has offered then feel free to purchase from one of them.

Related Deck Stain Help Articles & Reviews

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
421 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Sophie Cheney
Sophie Cheney
6 months ago

We are building a new heavy timber deck. The structure is Douglas fir. Would TWP 1500 be suitable for this type of wood? The deck will be located in a partial shade area; the lower structure will likely not see too much direct sun.

Thanks very much for your advice. Really appreciate finding your website.

Sophie Cheney
Sophie Cheney
6 months ago

Thanks very much. Will check out the link.

Paula
Paula
8 months ago

I have a PT wood deck that was built in the 90s. It was in good shape when I bought the home in 2017, and in 2019 hired someone to restain the deck. He sanded it and used a semi-transparent TWP product (mix of cedar tone and rustic). I live in MD (close to DC) and understand that it is no longer available here so assuming it was the 100 series???

In spring of 2022, I had my roof and siding cleaned and the chemicals the company used stripped the stain (ugh). The color is faded and there is no sealant/protectant. Water just pools. Now the wood is really dry, nails are popping up, it has mildew (lots of green) in areas, etc. Basically, it’s badly weathered. The person who stained the deck in 2019 is no longer in business. I have gotten quotes from 2 contractors and they want to sand it and put on Sherwin Wiliams SuperDeck. Based on poor reviews, I prefer not to use it. So, I’m trying to figure out what to do in hopes I can find someone to use what’s best to bring the deck back to life and protect it as well as prep properly. Here are my questions:

  1. What product do you recommend I use? I want to stick with semi-transparent if possible. The deck gets full sun on parts of it at different times of the day and is under a tree. As I mentioned there are areas with mildew. We get all 4 seasons, including hot/humid temps and snow. Should I stick with an oil based and go with TWP 1500 or try Armstrong Clark? Or should I get a waterbased product like RAD?
  2. What prep do you recommend based on the product you recommend?
  3. If I can’t find someone to use the product you recommend, what is the best option that would be available in local stores?

Thanks and greatly appreciate all the info you and your site provides!

Paula
Paula
8 months ago

Thank you! Attached are some pics. About the color and prep, I prefer not to go with the same color because it was too reddish. Is it possible to change to pecan or the black walnut for a more brownish tone? What do you suggest colorwise and also prep if possible to change the color?

IMG-3566.jpg
IMG-3576.jpg
IMG-3579.jpg
IMG-3580.jpg
Paula
Paula
7 months ago

Hi Scott, the deck was finished being stained approx 15 hours ago. I’m concerned the stain didn’t fully penetrate, as you can see wet spots throughout the deck and when I wiped one spot near my door, the stain came off and it’s an orangey color underneath. Dark oak was used. The deck was stripped and brighened, using the boosters. The deck was dried for 3 days before staining and the wood was bare. A sprayer was used and then wiped with a staining pad. 2 coats were put on, using the wet on wet directions. A deck staining company did the work and it’s the first time they used TWP on a deck (they used it on a fence in the past). They followed all directions. What should be done now?

Deck 1.jpg
deck 2.jpg
deck 3.jpg
deck 4.jpg
Bill Strutton
Bill Strutton
9 months ago

Hi Scott. Working with TWP 1500 in Black Walnut. Prepped by total sanding followed by RAD cleaner and brightener.

Problem is I missed the party about wet on wet. Only have 1 coat on yet and let it dry. How best to proceed at this point?

Thanks for the wealth of knowledge here!

Bill in Michigan

rtk1949
10 months ago

Sorry this will come as a repeat post. My Google Chrome browser lacked the paper clip upload icon, but I see Safari has it, so I re-signed-on that way:
California
Lots of sun, though partial oak shade.
Redwood, circa 1990’s, good condition
No apparent mold or mildew
September 2020, after stripping and neutralizing old red stain we did not like (alkyd and various oil), With your advice I chose TWP 1500 clear transparent and liked the natural tone. It turned dull and gray after a year or two. 
I anticipate either Restore A Deck two step rather than stripping plus neutralizing this year. Then more TWP 1500 (I have 1-2 gallons left in the 5 gal can). I would also consider a cedar tint since that should give me some sun protection. 
I intend to leave rails as-is this time and only do the 950 sq. ft. floor. Never impressed that my now-leaking pressure washer did any more than hose nozzle unless I got so close as to damage wood, so I am inclined to use scrubbing brush and hose nozzle for prep. Water is scarce here, but I don’t see any way to conserve water on this job. 
Does this make sense?

IMG_6261.jpg
IMG_6260.jpg
Bob Meagher
Bob Meagher
11 months ago

I am interested in 1500 dark oak. My deck is 25 years old. Originally had Sikkens Dek, then switched to Sikkens SRD because I did not want a film. No longer available here. Switched to two step deck scapes after sanding. First coat was oil second was water. Used the water stain over the past 7 years every couple. Just stripped and spot sanded with 40 grit parts that the stripper didn’t remove. Never want to sand again. So I’m thinking one coat of 1500 would be fine for a year or two before recoating. Don’t want product to build up and peel in the future. Or would I be better off with Restore a Deck water based since I have been using a water base. Would the Restore seep in more and have less of a chance to build up in the future or should I use the 1500 .

misty hampton
misty hampton
11 months ago

Is it safe to put TWP 1500 on top of a deck stained with Flood Oil/Acrylic semi transparent stain.

Skip
Skip
11 months ago

I have used TWP 1500 on my TP deck that is covered via an awning. The high temperature post applying has been in the mid 70’s with low humidity. I used Restore a Deck cleaner and brighter let dry to approximately 8% moisture content. The process I used to apply the stain was apply to the first board and then back brushed the two previously stained boards. I applied the stain at a rate of approximately 3/4 of the documented coverage rate. It has been 48 hours and the deck still shows shiny spots.

The Questions:

1 will the fact the deck is covered cause an extended dry time?

2 what should be done to eliminate the shine and get the stain to dry?

thank you for your help.

Laurie Williams
Laurie Williams
1 year ago

Hello, I stained new pine planks with twp1500 about 6 months ago. Can I apply a second coat is stain now?

Michelle G
Michelle G
1 year ago

I used the TWP 1500 stain about a month or so ago. I love the color and stain when the deck is wet, however when it dries, my dogs muddy paw prints show up. When I scrub with water and soap it looks great wet but still dries showing prints. If I scrub with oxiclean it dries almost clean then. However it soon gets dirty again. Is this something I will always battle or is there anything I can do to prevent my deck from looking like it’s constantly covered in mud?

E0A1AAEC-A85F-4B05-AF80-D6CF7B6CF335.jpeg
2A2B3F34-886D-4E3A-B094-0587E57B9669.jpeg
B8F3B035-6F5F-4DE3-B739-899CE9BCEC2A.jpeg
Amy
Amy
1 year ago

Hi- I cleaned and brightened 3 days ago with RAD on my new redwood deck that has weathered for 18 months. I used a pressure washer to rinse.
I’m attaching pictures of TWP 1500 stain that I just began. I want to make sure it looks like I’ve removed the RAD adequately. Pictures show it still a bit wet.
I do see some furring after cleaning.

Amy
Amy
1 year ago

My husband thinks it looks a bit splotchy

4248D45E-9FA0-4D84-9621-062B76149C9B.jpeg
E25AEAA4-07BC-4879-9CFA-25A378DF4BA5.jpeg
09436FBD-9207-4D29-9358-D824024FBD76.jpeg
8B65E039-9D83-46EF-A6D2-1BD0B7A4EA6F.jpeg
Amy
Amy
1 year ago

Can I buff areas that I have already stained or just leave as is?
Also, I am having to prep the stairs and floor boards separately from the railing. How long after TWP application on the railing can I use the RAD cleaner and brightener on the other areas? Obviously, there will be some RAD that gets on the already stained areas.
Thanks for your help.

Amy
Amy
1 year ago

Thank you for your help!

Sharon
Sharon
1 year ago

Who sells CWF deck stain? 1515 honeycon e

Dale Schmidt
Dale Schmidt
1 year ago

Hi, What is the best choice for a year old Cedar deck, recently sanded due to the previous product peeling. I live in Wisconsin and the deck faces South/Southwest. 100 Series or 1500 Series?

Carol C
Carol C
2 years ago

Can you recommend a hand-pump sprayer that can successfully handle the viscosity of TWP 1500 semi-transparent stains without clogging? Only “transparent” stains are mentioned as being suitable in the pumps I can find. Thanks

Rich
Rich
2 years ago

What is best stain sealer for redwood in Danville California

Ryan Considine
Ryan Considine
2 years ago

Hi 2 years ago i stained my redwood deck with TWP 1500 ( I think I used honey tone) . Anyway if I restain it the same color with the same TWP 1500 , I don’t have to strip it? Some areas of the deck have great coverage still , but some of the high traffic areas have faded entirely , and are greying. If I clean and reapply, won’t it be blotchy some dark areas where the stain was still present? I am just a bit confused on how to go about it. Also another question, what if I chose a different color but stayed with 1500. Thanks for always being prompt. Looking forward to your answers.

image.jpg
image.jpg
Ryan Considine
Ryan Considine
2 years ago

Hi, I just recently built a horizontal Wester red cedar fence. I am looking for a protectant stain that i can just reapply and not have to strip every time. Even if it needs to be done every year. Is TWP have a clear to keep the original cedar color and protect it from greying ? Open to all suggestion. I just have a lot of wood at my property, and my deck alone keeps me busy having to strip it every two years or so to restain. I used TWP 1500 and i like it , but when there is a color to the stain it requires stripping to avoid dark spots

5ABC5F08-BE23-4C33-85BE-B683E8E87EDC.jpeg
9A715A4B-6D55-452B-AE6B-9FA70E455505.jpeg
Ryan Considine
Ryan Considine
2 years ago

Thank you for the fast response. I read the article on waiting to stain. That’s good to know , I will wait a few months before staining my smooth western red cedar fence. I will also use tinted color. As for my Deck in the back that I stained with TWP 1500 honey teak, if I want to restain with the same color, what’s the process? No stripping necessary? That’s the biggest hassle to me. The deck currently looks good in some places and faded away stain entirely in others , due to high traffic areas. Thank you !

b3ll0v1c
b3ll0v1c
2 years ago

I pressure washed my deck and treated with RAD Cleaner and Brightener and I am ready to stain it with TWP 1500. However, I live in the North East and I am facing a couple of issues: 1) almost every morning the deck is covered with dew, and sometime frozen dew, 2) the temperature goes below 40F at night. Is it too wet at this point to use TWP even if I start staining the deck around noon when it is more dry? Does the minimum temperature of 50F refer to when the stain is applied for the entire drying period of 2-12 hours? Thanks.

Jared
Jared
2 years ago

If you are using a stain like the TWP 1500 series which calls for two coats to be applied “wet on wet” and you run out of stain where you are not able to apply the second coat on everything, should you wait for the first coat to dry thoroughly on everything before applying the second coat or should you just leave it and apply only one coat? Thanks as always for the help and advice.

Jared
Jared
2 years ago

Hi. I just stripped, brightened, and stained my deck and stairs. I went with a TWP 1530 Natural stain. The stain looks wonderful on most of the wood but slightly orange in places where the wood underneath was yellowish in color. I plan on doing another maintenance coat at the same time next year. If I stay with the same brand and series can I go to a slightly darker color without having to strip the original stain back off? I was hoping to just get TWP’s Gemini kit to clean and brighten and then just to apply one coat of a darker TWP 1500 stain. Thanks for your help and for all the wonderful information on this website. It’s by far the best resource on all of this that I’ve come across.

Jared
Jared
2 years ago

Thanks for the super fast response. Can I expect the wood to darken slightly over time from UV in which case the orange color in places may no longer be an issue as the yellowish wood underneath darkens? Maybe it will all look great and more uniform after it has time to weather a bit. This is my first time using just a stain like this so I don’t have any experience to go on.

John
John
2 years ago

What color in the 1500 series (semi-transparent)would you use on a 20 year old teak deck?Also as it’s a hardwood would you advise one coat or the wet on wet finish?

Nadia M.
Nadia M.
2 years ago

Hello,

I’ve stripped all the railings and spindles of my deck to bare wood with RAD (that was a lot of work), hand sanded where needed with 60/80 grit paper and then used the brightener. There was also some rotten wood but that was replaced last summer 2020, I’ve just cleaned that too with RAD cleaner and brightened after.

I’m staining everything in TWP 1500 series in dark oak. I’ve followed all directions using a good brush but it looks so ugly, it looks like there is dirt on the spindles trapped under the stain. There seems to be beads/bubbles of dirt on the spindles under the stain, there was nothing like that on the bare wood. It looks worse than before, and before they had an ugly Superdeck stain. What could be wrong ? Please see pictures of the spindles/railing before staining and after. I’m now reading that I should have used a wood conditioner first. Should I do that, and if yes which conditioner do you recommend ?

I’ve also used this same TWP stain in dark oak on an outdoor wood table and that came out nice. Please help! I’ve stopped staining for now as I don’t want to have to strip everything again. Thank you.

image4.jpeg
image2.jpeg
image1.jpeg
image0.jpeg
Nadia M.
Nadia M.
2 years ago

Thank you for your reply. So you don’t recommend the wood conditioner prior to restaining ? Or mineral spirits ? I’ve worked so much stripping/prepping this and it’s so disappointing to see this ugly result now. Thank you again. Please let me know if there is anything I can do.

Steve
Steve
3 years ago

I refinished a pressure treated deck last year, pressure washed, sanded and 2 coated with TWP 100 series. Is there any reason I can’t apply TWP 1500 Cedartone over the 100 for a maintenance coat? I get it, the standard answer is going to be strip and brighten but I’m wondering why the 1500 couldn’t soak in as a maintenance coat?

Bryan Keil
Bryan Keil
3 years ago

I am redoing my deck of about 500 square feet. The wood is clear redwood that is about 20 years old. I have been using a solid stain on it and I think it would be very difficult to sand smooth. I also do not like that the wood was butted close when installed creating puddles on the deck. I plan on removing all of the wood a few feet at a time and putting it through a thickness planer and reinstalling it with 1/4 ” gaps using screws, possibly stainless as the nails back out constantly. I also live near San Francisco, about 1 mile from the ocean. Not a lot of hot and never freezing or snow.
My question is about aging. As the wood is 20 years old, when I plane it, will I have to let it age or can I install the finish right away. I would love to finish each section before reinstalling it as will be just a bit easier.
Also, should I use TWP 100 or TWP 1500? I do get sun more days than not.

Dennis
Dennis
3 years ago

Hello, I live in southern Wisconsin and have a 630’ x 6’ elevated walkway from my backyard crossing over wetlands onto the beach. The walkway is 3 years old, pressure treated yellow pine and has not been oiled/stained yet. The topside is slightly grey and weathered. I’m looking for the easiest possible way to finish the walkway with the least amount of preparations. My pressure washer and hose will not extend 600 feet plus I’m concerned about using deck cleaning chemicals over the wetlands area. Question 1) Will a stiff brushing do well enough on the walkway prior to oiling/staining? I can care less about the color of the walkway when finished as I am more interested in max protection from UV, rain, snow and harsh weather. Question 2) I’m thinking oil would be best due to least amount of prep work in between reapplying oil every couple years. Thinking TWP 100 or TWP 1500?? or again, a product that doesn’t require sanding, stripping, ect. in between reapplication every couple years. Thought, thanks.

17B00723-9988-4E3C-BBBC-00259EEA34E6.jpeg
CDB09D4B-E719-46EB-BF30-00057B36CC35.jpeg
Allison
Allison
3 years ago

We used the the 1599 series in cedertone on our redwood fence and the results don’t look great (it really emphasizes the knots in the wood and made them look very dark). Do you think it is an application or prep issue? The fence was pressure washed a few days before applying. Thank you!

1536B696-156C-4918-A686-56A1FED14A0C.jpeg
Allison
Allison
3 years ago

Thank you. Do you know if and how quickly it will mellow? I really loved the look of the wood after pressure cleaning and brightening, but we wanted to use a tinted application to get the UV protection.

3713FBB7-BC45-4949-B831-F93D691097A6.jpeg
421
0
Questions or leave a review, please comment!x