Valspar Deck Stain Review: One-Coat Semi-Transparent Stain & Sealer 2.1/5 (61)

This post was updated on April 7, 2022

Valspar stain is sold at Lowe’s in a variety of colors at a reasonable price. It’s an acrylic, water-based deck stain that’s basically thin paint. Valspar One-Coat Semi-Transparent Stain & Sealer promises to make quick work of your deck project, but both our testing and customer reviews have found that the product fails to deliver on its promises. Even on Valspar’s website, the average consumer ratings are around 2.9 out of 5, and our results produced even worse scores. If you’ve used this Valspar deck stain yourself, please post a comment below to add your review.

What the Manufacturer Has to Say

Valspar Wood and Deck Stain Review

Valspar Wood and Deck Stain Review

Valspar markets its One-Coat Semi-Transparent Stain & Sealer as a high-quality product that will protect your deck from all types of weather for six years. The manufacturer claims that this deck paint dries thoroughly in four hours, offers fade-resistant UV defense with just one coat, and resists mold and mildew. This product can be purchased in dozens of Valspar stain colors and cleans up easily with soap and water.

What Our Experts Found: Valspar Wood Deck Stain and Sealer Scores (1-10)

Appearance After Initial Stain Application: 4

We used a cedar color with the Valspar stain and sealer, applied with an exterior stain pad. The result was very splotchy stain coverage that did not look good: The Valspar deck stain did not penetrate well and formed a film on top of the wood. It also looked more opaque than we expected, so it is not an actual semi-transparent stain.

Prevention of UV Graying at 2-Year Mark: 6

At the 2-year test mark, Valspar One-Coat Semi-Transparent Stain & Sealer lost about 50% of its color. We noticed some peeling, fading, and graying on well-trafficked areas.

Wear/Tear and Peeling: 4

This Valspar stain did show signs of fading and slight peeling. Most of the fading and wear were on the horizontal surfaces, like the tops of the handrails and deck flooring. There were nearly bare areas with no stain left on the high-traffic sections of the deck.

Cost per Square Foot: 6

It took 4 gallons of this Valspar deck stain to coat the entire 400-square-foot deck. The manufacturer claims that the product will cover 250-350 square feet per gallon, but in our experience, it was closer to 100-150 square feet per gallon.

Prevention of Mold/Mildew/Algae: 7

Valspar semi-transparent stain provided an average mildew-resistant coating and did an OK job preventing fungal growth.

Ease of Application: 6

Despite its marketing, this Valspar deck stain was not easy to apply. We did a one-coat application using a stain pad and did not get great coverage. The stain turned out blotchy when it dried, and we needed 4 gallons to adequately cover 400 square feet.

Color-Shifting (Darkening) After 2 Years: 7

At the 2-year mark, we noticed darkening due to mildew, but the Valspar stain did lighten up on 90% of the deck.

Difficulty of Reapplication: 6

We had to strip the Valspar deck stain off due to bare wood and graying in high-traffic areas and lightening of the stain in other areas to ensure even coverage for the new coating.

Overall Score at 2-Year Mark: 5.625

Valspar One-Coat Semi-Transparent Stain & Sealer did not score very well overall. This wood deck stain and sealer did hold up fairly well except in high-traffic areas, and its mildew protection was decent, but we weren’t satisfied with the coverage or the blotchy application and appearance. We would not use this product again.

Valspar Deck Stain Photos

About Our Test Deck

  • Wood Type: Pine
  • Square Footage: 400
  • UV Exposure: Full sun
  • How Many Years Tested: 2
  • Stain Color Used: Cedar

About This Valspar Deck Stain

  • Where to Buy: Lowe’s
  • Cost: $39.99 per gallon
  • Stain Type: Semi-transparent and water-based
  • Application Temperature: 45-95 °F
  • Coats Required: 1-2 coats
  • Coverage per Gallon: 150-200 sq. ft.
  • Application Tools: Sprayer, pad, brush, roller; back-brush as needed
  • Dry Time: 24 hours
  • Cleanup: Water
  • VOC Compliance: 250-compliant
  • Manufacturer: Valspar

Frequently Asked Questions About Valspar Semi-Transparent Stain

Is Valspar Exterior Stain and Sealer Oil- or Water-Based?

This Valspar deck paint is a water-based acrylic stain.

How Long Does it Take for Valspar One-Coat Stain and Sealer to Dry?

It takes 24 hours for this product to cure fully. It becomes water-resistant after 4 hours, and you can apply a second coat after 2 hours.

We offer no guarantee of similar results. Take into consideration that results may differ due to different wood types, exposure to UV radiation, and natural weathering.

Please Rate This. You may also post comments or ask questions below.

Related Deck Stain Help Articles & Reviews

guest
74 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Tammy
Tammy
2 months ago

After the first year this stain peeled terribly, now it’s just a mess, I paid $150 for a 5 gallon bucket, what a waste of money, never will I buy another valspar product !!!!!

Linda Rossio
Linda Rossio
4 months ago

This is the worst stain i have ever used. It took my awhile to finally get it to look decent. Then i put the sealer coat on and it started to peel in spots. Total waste of time and money

Paul Eastman
Paul Eastman
10 months ago

This product (Valspar solid stain) went on nicely and covered well. But after the winter and spring came, the solid stain started to peel off and come off in large pieces. It didn’t even last a year! Now our new deck looks awful and we have to figure out how to get the rest of the stain off. This product is not a good product to use on new decks that was prep for the stain. Especially areas of the deck that has no roof.

image.jpg
Jane raynor
Jane raynor
1 year ago

This was the worst product I’ve ever used I applied it to my $5000 cedar deck that was brand new and they proceeded to immediately turn moldy fade and at one year it’s peeling off and I have no idea how to get it off to apply a decent staying cost me $150 for the 5 gallon thing was the worst product I’ve ever purchased

Dave Matthias
Dave Matthias
1 year ago

We used Valspar Acrylic deck sealer on a new cedar deck. Very disappointed with the results as within a couple weeks the product is failing, leaving patching of untreated wood. The rep from Valspar was no help and took a month just to respond, offering only to allow more product. This product clearly states to use only one coat. We will have to completely sand the huge deck off,power wash and apply a different product….certainly not Valspar!!

Jane raynor
Jane raynor
1 year ago
Reply to  Dave Matthias

Yes the same thing happened to me and I was hoping I could find a product to strip it off with instead of the cost to have it sanded so I have two large Dacks

Linda Marchio
Linda Marchio
2 years ago

I stained my decks Oct. of 2019, for about a month, it looked good, then when it rained white milky spots appeared, and do not got away. i tried washing them off, but the water I was using spotted also. So, two months ago I noticed the railings were sctatched, like a fingernail scratched them, which I know hasn’t happened, then it started on the steps,ones that I used and ones I don’t use. I thought Olympic stain was awful, but, Valsparis the worst. i bought 6 gals, which I had left my deck alone. It is a mess!!!

Tom Barton
Tom Barton
2 years ago

Applied on Sunday. Rained on Tuesday. Now have white spots on about 1/3rd of the deck. Not real happy with the results.

Dianne
Dianne
2 years ago

Same here. I spent a tremendous amount of time prepping the war they recommended and then staining my deck (600 sq. Ft.). I used nearly 4 gallons, which is way more than Valspar estimates. It looked great throughout the rest of last summer, so you can imagine my disappointment and frustration when spring came and much of the stain was gone. When I think of all of the time I put into this project, it angers me that I have to do it all over again less than one year later.

Shannon Bartlett
Shannon Bartlett
2 years ago

I followed the instructions to a tee on the solid bald par stain. Spent hours restraining my pool deck. Imagine my dismay when I went out a few days later to find spots where it literally just wiped away. Has anyone else had this problem? It was previously stained deck but I followed and cleaned like told to do. I am sick to my stomach as the only fix is to rip the deck down and build new.

Shannon Bartlett
Shannon Bartlett
2 years ago

Ugh I am so mad! They need to pull this product from shelves it’s useless. Is there anyway to remove it that’s not going to mess my pool water up? Or will it be best to wait until fall when we cover the pool?

Sana
Sana
1 month ago

The Valspar is supposed to be rain-ready in 4 hours. However, after 24 hours of drying, with water spilled, now have watermarks on the deck. Not real happy with the results.

Tammy Jefferson
Tammy Jefferson
2 months ago

I hate I didnt find your site about Valspar before but I applied Valspar Semi Transparent stain Summer 2020. Color is very orange and I would like to apply dark brown stain this year. Will it be necessary to strip if applying a solid stain over the semi transparent? Thank you

20220410_173806.jpg
20220410_173753.jpg
Linda Rossio
Linda Rossio
4 months ago

This is the worse stuff i have ever used. after i finally got it to look half decent. Then i added the sealer coat and it peeled in spots.
It was a waste of time and money

MDS
MDS
8 months ago

Valspar clear deck sealant is a disaster. It looked great for about a month but finally ruined our new cedar deck. Now, the deck is covered in mold and mildew – not just the floor boards but the railings, posts and expensively milled pickets. Although this Valspar product is defective, I doubt the consumer has any recourse but to sand the damage and repaint with a decent product. Of course, I bought the valspar at Lowe’s before learning they are the worst home / hardware store in the state, bar none.

2C0DAD04-B709-49ED-AA8F-495B7EB1C402.jpeg
F89C7B68-753A-4230-9B45-B9E86BC489B6.jpeg
C62A84C1-13F6-4F9C-994C-790778F87420.jpeg
9BDCFAAB-0C17-4A81-A925-12514CC4A4BB.jpeg
Bobbi Ambruster
Bobbi Ambruster
8 months ago

I applied a coat of clear Valspar sealant over Thompson’s stain seal it and after it rained it has a little white dots all over it. The dots are smooth. What can I do to fix this?

Jay
Jay
10 months ago

I just applied Valspar Semi-Transparent to a 4 month old pressure treated pine deck (previously un-stained). I’m already seeing water spots and very unhappy with the finish appearance (very uneven and showing brush marks). Reading the reviews here, it seems peeling is inevitable. Is the Restore-A-Deck Stripper a good option to start over? Also, would there be any issues with waiting until next spring, or will that make the stripping process more difficult?
Thank you

Jay
Jay
10 months ago

Photos

20210822_101404.jpg
20210822_101459.jpg
20210822_101525.jpg
20210822_101624.jpg
Paul
Paul
10 months ago

This stain does not hold up if area is not covered. We applied this to our deck and after one winter it was coming off completely in areas. I would not recommend

Julie Britt
Julie Britt
11 months ago

We purchased the color (moonless) for our deck. Semi transparent stain and sealer. We wanted something different, but still beautiful. This color is amazing and I love it even more after applying it. It’s a beautiful blue and really shows wood grain nicely. I am pleased with the color and even after we applied and it got a little rain on it it still looked amazing. Even areas where we replaced some wood with newer boards the coverage was almost perfect. Couldn’t re really tell where the older and newer boards meant. The best part was we always check the mistint area of Lowe’s to see if any paints or stains have been returned or didn’t meet color wanted by purchaser and we got lucky. We were able to purchase a 5 gallon container for 37 dollars which was a 173.00 originally. We are over the moon how our deck is looking and if your looking for something different and not the same old brown, red, or plain try this color. The more you apply the darker the color just like any other stain. Thank you Valspar for thinking outside of the box and not just carrying the same old cookie cutter colors.

Joe Ross
Joe Ross
1 year ago

Worst product ever
Peeled off 1 month after applying.
This product is not a stain in any form It is a paint and I would nit recommend using it
It ruined my new deck and I am now power washing to strip it away. Horrible ble.

Graham
Graham
1 year ago

Can valspar one coat exterior stain and sealer be thinned with water or other thinners

Julie
Julie
1 year ago

Valspar Semi-transparent deck stain has got to be the absolute worst product on the market. So disappointed. Our double-decker deck was a job x1000 and now (literally days later) there are scratches simply from my dogs going in and out. Waste of money.

David
David
1 year ago

Can you pressure wash Valspar semi transparent water based deck stain after two years?

Bill Bihler
Bill Bihler
1 year ago

Used the Valspar deck stain according to directions in summer or 2019. Used their deck cleaner before hand & let throughly dry. By Spring of 2020, the stain was peeling/fading. By Spring 2021, the deck is pitiful. I guess it will need to be stripped down to bare wood & start all over again. I DO NOT recommend this product.

Robert Davis
Robert Davis
1 year ago

Valspar one coat exterior sealant is not worth buying. First of all, it’s yellow and will leave a yellowish looking tiny. Then when I put the furniture back on the porch it was wet with dew and the rocking chair slide halfway across the porch. Guess it’s my bad experience. I would not recommend this product. Guess I stuck will an extra Gallo.

greg
greg
1 year ago

First. You don’t know if a person cleaned their deck or fence first(press wash). You don’t know if they allowed the wood to fully dry out. All of this determines the longevity of the stain.

mary elias
mary elias
1 year ago

what is the best deck stain for composite decking

dahi
dahi
1 year ago

Hi,
I am planning to stain my deck. It is DIY project. Old stain is peeling off. I want to stripp off old paints as much as possible. I may have to sand it. Then I want to clean with wood brighter Is it ok if I leave my deck as it is after I prep it and stain it next spring ?.
Does cold weather and snow going to affect the wood during winter ? I live in Pennsylvania.

Thanks.

IMG-0018.jpg
IMG-0019-2.jpg
Pam Schneider
Pam Schneider
1 year ago

After reading reviews on Valspar Wood Semi-Translucent Desk Stain – unfortunately I have already purchased the product and begin using it but have only completed about 1/4 of the project – suffice it to say that I will not be continuing the use of this product! So from the posts I have read I will need to purchase a deck stripper (Defy Stain Stripper) product to remove as much of the stain that I can, sand off the rest, power wash and then brighten the wood? Just want to be sure that I am doing this in the correct order. This is a cedar deck approximately 4 years old – previously had only used clear Thompson product to protect the deck. This is the first time staining. Had already power washed and sanded lightly to apply the Valspar stain but had not used a brightener. Please advise and thank you!

Last question – is Restore-A-Deck Semi Transparent Wood stain the way to go when I begin the staining process again?

John
John
1 year ago

Used Valspar semi transparent one coat exterior stain and sealer. When it rains water beads on deck, but doesn’t dry for a long period of time even in the hot sun. Do we need a sealer in addition

Sandy
Sandy
2 years ago

We used the Valspar clear sealer and now our deck is so slippery we cannot walk on it. Help! What can i do to make it less slippery?

Sandy
Sandy
2 years ago

Before I go that route, is there nothing else I can do.? Why did this happen? How can I be sure it won’t happen again?

Barbara Hillis
Barbara Hillis
2 years ago

I asked a question last week about the best stripper to use on the Valspar deck stain. It would have been nice to have gotten an answer.

Barbara Hillis
Barbara Hillis
2 years ago

My apologies if my comment seemed rude. It was not intended to be. I was simply desperate, and to the point of tears.

Barbara Hillis
Barbara Hillis
2 years ago
Reply to  Barbara Hillis

Thank you for your understanding. In my original post I explained that I had used Valspar Solid Stain and Sealer on my deck. It had never been stained, and had aged for a year. It is peeling badly. Today I am trying to strip it with trucleanEX Deck &Roof Cleaner. It was recommended by the Porter Paint people. I mixed it very strong. It isn’t doing a good job. I wanted to know the name of what you recommend to get the old stain off. I really can’t do anything complicated as I am an old woman doing this on my own. Your help would be greatly appreciated.

Barbara Hillis
Barbara Hillis
2 years ago

Thank you for your help.

Jeff
Jeff
2 years ago

Will this product work for a pool deck? Have concerns about the chemicals in pool reacting to it

Judy
Judy
2 years ago

Before and After using Valspar Deck Semi Translucent. I did my Deck today, All Day! Took the live long day prepping and repairing prior to the Stain. Before and After.🤭😃

BEEB20BA-FE3B-442B-AB95-BB763D3F7FED.jpeg
5DF7DF59-9656-4C4B-8CA4-B42E05E4DF95.jpeg
Joe LaCivita
Joe LaCivita
2 years ago

Cleaned deck with cleaner then power washed three days later after deck was dried.Applied stain on deck and it looked great,3 days later it rained rain beading on deck every where rain beaded lights spots appeared.2 gallons of stain now what

Charlie
Charlie
2 years ago

We applied this product to a brand new deck and the results were terrible. Used recommended prep allowed to dry. What’s the best product to remover this stain.

Cari
Cari
2 years ago

We used this on a newly installed cedar deck that goes to our salt water pool last spring. Now we have black spots and peeling. How would we fix or remove this and what would be a good stain to use? This is also in full sun.

Bob
Bob
2 years ago

Howlongafteriapply alightcolorstaincaniapplyadarker color,honey to grey color

Ryan
Ryan
2 years ago

I bought this for a DIY outdoor furniture (lounge chairs) project. It is untreated 2×4’s and 2×6’s. Should I apply two coats for better protection or can I apply a clear water sealer over the first coat? I applied the first coat to the under side last night and was going to apply a second coat this afternoon. Any advice is much appreciated.

Fran yonts
Fran yonts
2 years ago

I used this on my bare concrete patio in August 2019. It started peeling off in various places in February 2020. I am desperate on what I need to do to remove the rest . This had never had anything on it and I clean and remove all dust and painted in a beautiful warm day. I need help! I went to Lowe’s and they couldn’t tell me anything. I would appreciate it so much if anyone could assist me in what my next steps to take. Thanks

Sandy
Sandy
2 years ago

I just applied this to my deck late summer of 2019 after prepping with their recommended deck cleaner and it is peeling/flaking off terribly,! Such a waste of time and money! Very Disappointed!,

Karen Dague
Karen Dague
2 years ago

Came out blotchy and didn’t look sem-transperant….Will a second coat help ?

Tom
Tom
2 years ago

Can this be used as a primer and then paint over?

74
0
Questions or leave a review, please comment!x