Valspar One-Coat Stain & Sealer Review 2.1/5 (48)

by Deck Stain Help

This post was updated on January 14, 2022

Valspar Wood Deck Stain Semi-Transparent Review

The Valspar Wood Deck Stain & Sealer was introduced in Lowes in the last couple of years. This is an acrylic water-based version. Basically a thin paint. Our test results were poor and coincide with other reviews on Valspar’s own website. Their Consumer ratings of the Valspar Deck and Wood Stain is 2.9 out of 5.

If you have used the Valspar Wood and Deck Stain or have any questions, please post in the comment area below.


Valspar Wood and Deck Stain Review

Valspar Wood and Deck Stain Review

Valspar Deck Stain Ratings

Valspar Deck Stain Review

Manufacturer Description

Valspar Semi-Transparent Stain & Sealer adds subtle color that helps mask imperfections and provides UV defense against fading. Dries rain-ready in four hours and provides a mold- and mildew-resistant finish. Easy soap and water cleanup. Available in 50 nature-inspired shades.

  • Stain and sealer offers all-weather defense in just one coat
  • Cedar Naturaltone Semi-Transparent Stain and Sealer is ideal for use on decks, siding, fences, and outdoor furniture
  • Semi-transparent stain adds more grain-enhancing color and sun protection
  • Provides mold and mildew resistant finish
  • Rain ready in four hours
  • UV defense against fading
  • Easy cleanup with soap and water
  • One coat stain and sealer

Valspar Wood Deck Stain & Sealer Scores (1-10)

Appearance After Initial Stain Application: 4

– With the Valspar Wood Deck Stain & Sealer, we used a cedar color. We applied the Semi-Transparent Valspar with an exterior stain pad. When done, we had a very splotchy stain coverage. It did not look good. The Valspar Wood Deck Stain & Sealer did not penetrate very well and did form a film on top of the wood. It looked more opaque in transparency and not a true semi-transparent stain.

Preventing UV Graying at 2 Year Mark: 6

–At the 2-year test mark, Valspar Wood Deck Stain & Sealer lost about 50% color retention. Some peeling, fading and graying were noticed in traffic areas.

Valspar Deck Stain Failure

Valspar Deck Stain Failure

Wear/Tear and Peeling: 4
–As mentioned the Valspar Wood Deck Stain & Sealer did show signs of fading and a little peeling. Most of the fading and wearing were on the horizontal surface like the tops of the handrails and deck flooring. There were almost bare areas with no stain left in the high traffic sections of the deck.

Cost Per Square Foot: 6

– It took 4 gallons total of Valspar Wood Deck Stain to coat the entire 400 square foot deck. The manufacturer claims 250-350 square feet per gallon but we experienced closer to 100-150 square feet per gallon.

Valspar Deck Stain Peeling

Valspar Deck Stain Peeling

Preventing Mold/Mildew/Algae: 7

– Valspar Wood Deck Stain & Sealer provided an average mildew-resistant coating and did an okay job at preventing fungal growth.

Ease of Application: 6

– The Valspar Wood Deck Stain & Sealer was not easy to apply. We did a one-coat application using a stain pad and did not get great coverage. The stain turned out blotchy when it dried and 3 gallons were barely enough to cover the 400 square feet.

Color Shifting (darkening) after 2 Years: 7

– At the 2-year mark, we did notice some darkening due to mildew but the Valspar Stain did lighten up on 90% of the deck.

The Difficulty of Reapplication: 6

– We did have to strip the Valspar off due to bare wood and graying showing in high traffic areas and lightening of the stain in other areas to ensure a new even coverage for the new coating.

Overall Score Valspar Wood Deck Stain & Sealer at 2 Year Period: 5.625

– The Valspar Wood Deck Stain & Sealer did not score very well. The stain did hold up fairly well except in high traffic areas and some mildew was present. We were not overly happy with the coverage rates and it applied blotchy. We would not use this product again

Valspar Deck Stain Photos

Valspar Deck Stain

Where To Buy: Lowes
Cost: $36.99 per Gallon
Stain Type: Semi-Transparent and Transparent Water-Based
Application Temperature: 45-95 F
Coats Required: 1-2 Coats
Coverage Per Gallon: 150-200 sq. ft
Application Tools: Sprayer, Pad, Brush, Roller – Back brush as needed.
Dry Time: 24 Hours
Cleanup: Water
VOC Compliant: 250 Compliant
Manufacturer: Valspar

Valspar Deck Stain Colors

Custom Mixed. Over 50 colors.

Valspar Test Deck Stats

Deck Wood Type: Pine
Deck Square Footage: 400
UV Exposure: Full sun
How Many Years Tested: 2 Years
Stain Color Used: 
Cedar

*All products tested and results are from our experience. We offer no guarantee of similar results. Take into consideration that results may differ due to different wood types, exposure to UV radiation, and natural weathering.

Please Rate This. You may also post comments or ask questions below.

Related Deck Stain Help Articles & Reviews

guest
68 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Paul Eastman
Paul Eastman
5 months ago

This product (Valspar solid stain) went on nicely and covered well. But after the winter and spring came, the solid stain started to peel off and come off in large pieces. It didn’t even last a year! Now our new deck looks awful and we have to figure out how to get the rest of the stain off. This product is not a good product to use on new decks that was prep for the stain. Especially areas of the deck that has no roof.

image.jpg
Jane raynor
Jane raynor
8 months ago

This was the worst product I’ve ever used I applied it to my $5000 cedar deck that was brand new and they proceeded to immediately turn moldy fade and at one year it’s peeling off and I have no idea how to get it off to apply a decent staying cost me $150 for the 5 gallon thing was the worst product I’ve ever purchased

Dave Matthias
Dave Matthias
1 year ago

We used Valspar Acrylic deck sealer on a new cedar deck. Very disappointed with the results as within a couple weeks the product is failing, leaving patching of untreated wood. The rep from Valspar was no help and took a month just to respond, offering only to allow more product. This product clearly states to use only one coat. We will have to completely sand the huge deck off,power wash and apply a different product….certainly not Valspar!!

Jane raynor
Jane raynor
8 months ago
Reply to  Dave Matthias

Yes the same thing happened to me and I was hoping I could find a product to strip it off with instead of the cost to have it sanded so I have two large Dacks

Linda Marchio
Linda Marchio
1 year ago

I stained my decks Oct. of 2019, for about a month, it looked good, then when it rained white milky spots appeared, and do not got away. i tried washing them off, but the water I was using spotted also. So, two months ago I noticed the railings were sctatched, like a fingernail scratched them, which I know hasn’t happened, then it started on the steps,ones that I used and ones I don’t use. I thought Olympic stain was awful, but, Valsparis the worst. i bought 6 gals, which I had left my deck alone. It is a mess!!!

Tom Barton
Tom Barton
1 year ago

Applied on Sunday. Rained on Tuesday. Now have white spots on about 1/3rd of the deck. Not real happy with the results.

Dianne
Dianne
1 year ago

Same here. I spent a tremendous amount of time prepping the war they recommended and then staining my deck (600 sq. Ft.). I used nearly 4 gallons, which is way more than Valspar estimates. It looked great throughout the rest of last summer, so you can imagine my disappointment and frustration when spring came and much of the stain was gone. When I think of all of the time I put into this project, it angers me that I have to do it all over again less than one year later.

Shannon Bartlett
Shannon Bartlett
1 year ago

I followed the instructions to a tee on the solid bald par stain. Spent hours restraining my pool deck. Imagine my dismay when I went out a few days later to find spots where it literally just wiped away. Has anyone else had this problem? It was previously stained deck but I followed and cleaned like told to do. I am sick to my stomach as the only fix is to rip the deck down and build new.

Shannon Bartlett
Shannon Bartlett
1 year ago

Ugh I am so mad! They need to pull this product from shelves it’s useless. Is there anyway to remove it that’s not going to mess my pool water up? Or will it be best to wait until fall when we cover the pool?

MDS
MDS
3 months ago

Valspar clear deck sealant is a disaster. It looked great for about a month but finally ruined our new cedar deck. Now, the deck is covered in mold and mildew – not just the floor boards but the railings, posts and expensively milled pickets. Although this Valspar product is defective, I doubt the consumer has any recourse but to sand the damage and repaint with a decent product. Of course, I bought the valspar at Lowe’s before learning they are the worst home / hardware store in the state, bar none.

2C0DAD04-B709-49ED-AA8F-495B7EB1C402.jpeg
F89C7B68-753A-4230-9B45-B9E86BC489B6.jpeg
C62A84C1-13F6-4F9C-994C-790778F87420.jpeg
9BDCFAAB-0C17-4A81-A925-12514CC4A4BB.jpeg
Bobbi Ambruster
Bobbi Ambruster
3 months ago

I applied a coat of clear Valspar sealant over Thompson’s stain seal it and after it rained it has a little white dots all over it. The dots are smooth. What can I do to fix this?

Jay
Jay
5 months ago

I just applied Valspar Semi-Transparent to a 4 month old pressure treated pine deck (previously un-stained). I’m already seeing water spots and very unhappy with the finish appearance (very uneven and showing brush marks). Reading the reviews here, it seems peeling is inevitable. Is the Restore-A-Deck Stripper a good option to start over? Also, would there be any issues with waiting until next spring, or will that make the stripping process more difficult?
Thank you

Jay
Jay
5 months ago

Photos

20210822_101404.jpg
20210822_101459.jpg
20210822_101525.jpg
20210822_101624.jpg
Paul
Paul
5 months ago

This stain does not hold up if area is not covered. We applied this to our deck and after one winter it was coming off completely in areas. I would not recommend

Julie Britt
Julie Britt
5 months ago

We purchased the color (moonless) for our deck. Semi transparent stain and sealer. We wanted something different, but still beautiful. This color is amazing and I love it even more after applying it. It’s a beautiful blue and really shows wood grain nicely. I am pleased with the color and even after we applied and it got a little rain on it it still looked amazing. Even areas where we replaced some wood with newer boards the coverage was almost perfect. Couldn’t re really tell where the older and newer boards meant. The best part was we always check the mistint area of Lowe’s to see if any paints or stains have been returned or didn’t meet color wanted by purchaser and we got lucky. We were able to purchase a 5 gallon container for 37 dollars which was a 173.00 originally. We are over the moon how our deck is looking and if your looking for something different and not the same old brown, red, or plain try this color. The more you apply the darker the color just like any other stain. Thank you Valspar for thinking outside of the box and not just carrying the same old cookie cutter colors.

Joe Ross
Joe Ross
7 months ago

Worst product ever
Peeled off 1 month after applying.
This product is not a stain in any form It is a paint and I would nit recommend using it
It ruined my new deck and I am now power washing to strip it away. Horrible ble.

Graham
Graham
7 months ago

Can valspar one coat exterior stain and sealer be thinned with water or other thinners

Julie
Julie
8 months ago

Valspar Semi-transparent deck stain has got to be the absolute worst product on the market. So disappointed. Our double-decker deck was a job x1000 and now (literally days later) there are scratches simply from my dogs going in and out. Waste of money.

David
David
8 months ago

Can you pressure wash Valspar semi transparent water based deck stain after two years?

Bill Bihler
Bill Bihler
9 months ago

Used the Valspar deck stain according to directions in summer or 2019. Used their deck cleaner before hand & let throughly dry. By Spring of 2020, the stain was peeling/fading. By Spring 2021, the deck is pitiful. I guess it will need to be stripped down to bare wood & start all over again. I DO NOT recommend this product.

Robert Davis
Robert Davis
1 year ago

Valspar one coat exterior sealant is not worth buying. First of all, it’s yellow and will leave a yellowish looking tiny. Then when I put the furniture back on the porch it was wet with dew and the rocking chair slide halfway across the porch. Guess it’s my bad experience. I would not recommend this product. Guess I stuck will an extra Gallo.

greg
greg
1 year ago

First. You don’t know if a person cleaned their deck or fence first(press wash). You don’t know if they allowed the wood to fully dry out. All of this determines the longevity of the stain.

mary elias
mary elias
1 year ago

what is the best deck stain for composite decking

dahi
dahi
1 year ago

Hi,
I am planning to stain my deck. It is DIY project. Old stain is peeling off. I want to stripp off old paints as much as possible. I may have to sand it. Then I want to clean with wood brighter Is it ok if I leave my deck as it is after I prep it and stain it next spring ?.
Does cold weather and snow going to affect the wood during winter ? I live in Pennsylvania.

Thanks.

IMG-0018.jpg
IMG-0019-2.jpg
Pam Schneider
Pam Schneider
1 year ago

After reading reviews on Valspar Wood Semi-Translucent Desk Stain – unfortunately I have already purchased the product and begin using it but have only completed about 1/4 of the project – suffice it to say that I will not be continuing the use of this product! So from the posts I have read I will need to purchase a deck stripper (Defy Stain Stripper) product to remove as much of the stain that I can, sand off the rest, power wash and then brighten the wood? Just want to be sure that I am doing this in the correct order. This is a cedar deck approximately 4 years old – previously had only used clear Thompson product to protect the deck. This is the first time staining. Had already power washed and sanded lightly to apply the Valspar stain but had not used a brightener. Please advise and thank you!

Last question – is Restore-A-Deck Semi Transparent Wood stain the way to go when I begin the staining process again?

John
John
1 year ago

Used Valspar semi transparent one coat exterior stain and sealer. When it rains water beads on deck, but doesn’t dry for a long period of time even in the hot sun. Do we need a sealer in addition

Sandy
Sandy
1 year ago

We used the Valspar clear sealer and now our deck is so slippery we cannot walk on it. Help! What can i do to make it less slippery?

Sandy
Sandy
1 year ago

Before I go that route, is there nothing else I can do.? Why did this happen? How can I be sure it won’t happen again?

Barbara Hillis
Barbara Hillis
1 year ago

I asked a question last week about the best stripper to use on the Valspar deck stain. It would have been nice to have gotten an answer.

Barbara Hillis
Barbara Hillis
1 year ago

My apologies if my comment seemed rude. It was not intended to be. I was simply desperate, and to the point of tears.

Barbara Hillis
Barbara Hillis
1 year ago
Reply to  Barbara Hillis

Thank you for your understanding. In my original post I explained that I had used Valspar Solid Stain and Sealer on my deck. It had never been stained, and had aged for a year. It is peeling badly. Today I am trying to strip it with trucleanEX Deck &Roof Cleaner. It was recommended by the Porter Paint people. I mixed it very strong. It isn’t doing a good job. I wanted to know the name of what you recommend to get the old stain off. I really can’t do anything complicated as I am an old woman doing this on my own. Your help would be greatly appreciated.

Barbara Hillis
Barbara Hillis
1 year ago

Thank you for your help.

Jeff
Jeff
1 year ago

Will this product work for a pool deck? Have concerns about the chemicals in pool reacting to it

Judy
Judy
1 year ago

Before and After using Valspar Deck Semi Translucent. I did my Deck today, All Day! Took the live long day prepping and repairing prior to the Stain. Before and After.🤭😃

BEEB20BA-FE3B-442B-AB95-BB763D3F7FED.jpeg
5DF7DF59-9656-4C4B-8CA4-B42E05E4DF95.jpeg
Joe LaCivita
Joe LaCivita
1 year ago

Cleaned deck with cleaner then power washed three days later after deck was dried.Applied stain on deck and it looked great,3 days later it rained rain beading on deck every where rain beaded lights spots appeared.2 gallons of stain now what

Charlie
Charlie
1 year ago

We applied this product to a brand new deck and the results were terrible. Used recommended prep allowed to dry. What’s the best product to remover this stain.

Cari
Cari
1 year ago

We used this on a newly installed cedar deck that goes to our salt water pool last spring. Now we have black spots and peeling. How would we fix or remove this and what would be a good stain to use? This is also in full sun.

Bob
Bob
1 year ago

Howlongafteriapply alightcolorstaincaniapplyadarker color,honey to grey color

Ryan
Ryan
1 year ago

I bought this for a DIY outdoor furniture (lounge chairs) project. It is untreated 2×4’s and 2×6’s. Should I apply two coats for better protection or can I apply a clear water sealer over the first coat? I applied the first coat to the under side last night and was going to apply a second coat this afternoon. Any advice is much appreciated.

Fran yonts
Fran yonts
1 year ago

I used this on my bare concrete patio in August 2019. It started peeling off in various places in February 2020. I am desperate on what I need to do to remove the rest . This had never had anything on it and I clean and remove all dust and painted in a beautiful warm day. I need help! I went to Lowe’s and they couldn’t tell me anything. I would appreciate it so much if anyone could assist me in what my next steps to take. Thanks

Sandy
Sandy
1 year ago

I just applied this to my deck late summer of 2019 after prepping with their recommended deck cleaner and it is peeling/flaking off terribly,! Such a waste of time and money! Very Disappointed!,

Karen Dague
Karen Dague
1 year ago

Came out blotchy and didn’t look sem-transperant….Will a second coat help ?

Tom
Tom
1 year ago

Can this be used as a primer and then paint over?

68
0
Questions or leave a review, please comment!x