Cabot Wood Deck Stain Review  3/5 (69)

This post was updated on May 1, 2024

Cabout Australian Timber Oil Stain Review

Cabot Australian Timber Oil Review 2024

Cabot Wood and Deck Stains offer 3-way protection for exterior wood and decking. This offers maximum durability from water damage while penetrating deep into the wood. Containing linseed oil and Trans-oxides, Cabot Stains will reflect UV damage giving long-lasting protection. Cabot traditionally has been one of the leaders in the exterior wood restoration industry.

For the test deck and review, we choose to use Cabot’s Australian Timber Oil in the Natural tone.

Cabot Australian Timber Oil Wood Deck Stain Rating (1-10)

Appearance After Initial Stain Application: 7

– The Natural Tone of the Cabot Stain did a remarkable job of restoring the wood colors in our pine deck. The stain did not penetrate into the wood as expected and had shiny spots throughout the flooring.

Preventing UV Graying at 2 Year Mark: 6

-The Cabot Deck Stain showed 60% color retention after 2 years. The Natural tint faded in color significantly on the flooring. We expected better results from Cabot Australian Timber Oil.

Wear/Tear and Peeling: 7.5

-On 25% of the decking surface, the Cabot Stain was completely gone after two years. It seemed that the winter did substantial damage to the stain as there was heavy wearing.

Cost Per Square Foot: 8

– We only needed one gallon of the Cabot’s to cover the 200 square feet. This equates to $.23 a square foot.

Preventing Mold/Mildew/Algae: 6

– After 2 years there was a decent amount of mold growing on about 30% of the deck. In addition, there was algae growth under the railings and around the perimeter of the house.

Ease of Application: 8.5

– The Australian Timber Oil did not apply as easily as we would like. The finish spread very well as far as coverage but we had difficulty with getting the stain to absorb evenly into the wood. We used a stain pad applicator and applied it evenly but the Cabot dried tacky and sticky in several areas.

Color Shifting (darkening) after 2 Years: 7.5

– Darkening of the stain had occurred where the stain was still attached to the wood. Mostly due to dirt and mold.

Difficulty of Reapplication: 7

– We would suggest a heavy stripping followed by a wood brightening to restore the Cabot Stain. We suggest stain removal since the stain had worn in places and there was mold/algae. This would be the best way to prep for another coat of stain.

Overall Score Cabot Wood Deck Stain at 2 Year Period: 7.19

– The Cabot Australian Timber Oil had an average score compared to other stains that we tested. We expected more from Cabot when it comes to preventing mold and algae. In addition, the UV resistance scored low. Not a bad stain but not the best either. A good option if you are limited to buying from a big box store. There are better decking stains online.

Product Information:

Where To Buy: Select Hardware Stores or Online
Cost: $55.99 per Gallon, $265.99 per 5 Gallon Pail
Stain Type: Semi-Transparent
Available Colors: Amberwood, Honey Teak, Mahogany Flame, Natural
Application Temperature: 45-90 F
Coats Required: 1-2 Coats
Coverage Per Gallon: 200-300 sq. ft
Application Tools: Sprayer, Pad, Brush, Roller
Dry Time: 24 Hours
Cleanup: Mineral Spirits
VOC Compliant: 250 Compliant in All 50 States
More Info: Product Data
Manufacturer: Cabot

Test Deck Stats:

Deck Wood Type: Pine
Deck Square Footage: 200
UV Exposure: Mostly Sun with southern exposure
How Many Years Tested: 2 Years
Stain Color Used: 
Natural

*All products tested and results are from our experience. We offer no guarantee of similar results. Take into consideration that results may differ due to different wood types, exposure to UV radiation, and natural weathering.

Please Rate This. You may also post comments or ask questions below.

author avatar
Scott Paul ~ Restoring Wood & Decks Since 1993 Owner
As an article and comment contributor to the site, Scott has been around the pressure washing industry since attending college. In 1993 he started his first company called Oakland Pressure Wash specializing in exterior pressure washing and deck staining. That company evolved into OPW L.L.C. shortly thereafter concentrating more on exterior wood and deck restoration. Scott and his Deck Cleaning Michigan company have restored over 10,000 decks in the Metro Detroit area since the early years. He has become an authority in the deck restoration industry and has contributed to numerous wood restoration forums and informative sites. All the products he suggests through this site are sold through online sites and in retail stores, allowing the consumer to choose their own means of purchase. Scott’s eCommerce sites do sell many top brands he endorses and if you appreciate any of the help he has offered then feel free to purchase from one of them.

Related Deck Stain Help Articles & Reviews

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
195 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Mical
Mical
1 year ago

After 2 years Australian Timber oil is flaking on our Pergola & our Cedar Fence. We pay top dollar for this CRAP. Writing to Cabot is nothing more than a BLACK HOLE – no response. Our Pergola shelf is perfect example of NO TRAFFIC yet peeling up…

IMG_8648.jpg
IMG_8649.jpg
Dave Winterhalter
Dave Winterhalter
3 years ago

Terrible product. Gone in 6 months. Expensive. I will be going back to Lowe’s to complain

J. Gib
J. Gib
4 years ago

Never ever again will purchase we put it on our deck after about a year and now it’s peeling up and flaking , looks horrible.

Cheryl Hall
Cheryl Hall
3 years ago
Reply to  J. Gib

We had the same problem! Now I have to scrape it off and start over. The color also didnt look like the chip either. Worst stain ever!

Mike Wilde
Mike Wilde
4 years ago

This review is in regards to the natural tone product ,applied the the product in accordance with the prep and all others requirements. This is a 35 year old front porch victorian out of the elements porch. Used one gallon , it has now been almost two weeks since the application it’s sticky as you walk on it. Called Cabot today 7/11.2019 told them of the issue there recommendation was to go buy a a jug of simple green to clean the deck !WHAT! a joke! OH YEA! call the simple green company and ask how to use it. Not what I expected and to say it didn’t absorb the product what a joke a 35 year old deck cleaned and prep per ther instructions not to mention a deck that has never had a product put on it that was a joke! This is a poor product BUYER BEWARE!

Steve mast
Steve mast
4 years ago

Cabot stain is a terrible product. I applied on my new redwood deck and after 2 years, I had to sand down deck to remove massive peeling. It caused a lot of work. I am a contractor and I will do my best to pass along this information to all customers.

Jed
Jed
4 years ago
Reply to  Steve mast

Yes I agree, same thing do not use this product

Robin
Robin
2 years ago
Reply to  Steve mast

Agree. Sticky at first even after power washing the deck and allowing it to dry, All it does is seal in moisture and next year it starts rotting. 2 years after application, the whole deck is rotted.
My next deck paint will be no paint. When I can get a home loan will replace with trex. What a disappointment!

Tom Murphy
Tom Murphy
5 years ago

I live in Northern, Illinois and have a cedar deck. I replaced all f my decking and let it “weather” for a year before applying a stain. I really shopped around for a good product and was advised by Lowes, that for my area and the finish I wanted, they recommended Cabot Australian Timber Oil. I contacted Cabot and they told me the procedure to follow. Well, I purchased 2 gallons of the product, cleaned deck, per instructions and let dry completely. I applied the stain, and as it dried, it looked like a million bucks. Looks were deceiving. This was May of 2018. Here it is, mid April 2019 and my deck looks terrible (wish I could attach photos). I just contacted cabot and was advised they would send me a refund, with proof of purchase. Now, let me ask you. How many people keep a receipt that long? Then they went on to tell me, that was about the life expectancy of the product. My advice: STEER CLEAR OF THIS TERRIBLE, TERRIBLE PRODUCT!!!

MegP
5 years ago
Reply to  Tom Murphy

I absolutely agree. I will never touch a Cabot product again. OR a Sherwin Wms (since they now own Cabot) I loved SW for years. Until I suddenly didn’t, when I accidentally encountered their woter-borne semi-trans stain. My FIRST disaster (which ended in replacing the deck) (time had come. 20 yrs old)
New deck I had a shop apply Cabot semi-transparent alkyd stain to my new air dried in a ‘spa-drying’ shop. CVG cedar. It was a disaster that I am still dealing with a year later. Cabot rep came out and just shrugged and said ‘I don ‘t know”. The shop said they followed normal coating procedure -drying green wood for 2 wks at 80º before coating.. long story, Wine Valley Siding (the shop that coated it) told me to take it up with the lumber broker. I knew I was screwed. It appeared that it was a mill-glaze issue. The lumber vender steered me away from sanding,. (Thanks LS Cedar, Vashon Island.)I am happy to have found this site. I have just pressure washed the crap off my deck, what was left. Now trying to determine the next step. Sand? Brighten? G&T seems to be the only way to go. I hope my photos get posted!
Misery loves company. So happy to have found this site!

IMG_6175.jpeg
IMG_6174.jpeg
IMG_6176.jpg
Bill
Bill
8 months ago

In your review you applied the Cabot Wood and Deck Stain to a deck.
Do you feel it might get better results on cedar garage doors? I am in Ontario, Canada and my doors are south facing.

Kevin
Kevin
1 year ago

You’re product sucks

Kevin
Kevin
1 year ago

Cabot stain isn’t worth the price. I get 1 year out of it

Orb painters llc
Orb painters llc
2 years ago

Bad quality in this product,
I tested in couple deck boards after a week it peels off very easily beautiful color but not good product. What I did is to match the color with super deck semitransparent from sherwin Willimas, one of the best product I use in all my job

Last edited 2 years ago by Orb painters llc
Roberta Hitt
Roberta Hitt
2 years ago

Cabot solid and deck correct did not do a good job on my deck it it chipping and coming off I am very upset because I spent a good bit of money I don’t know if I would recommend it I am on a limited income and don’t have the money to buy something else

Dan Wallace
Dan Wallace
3 years ago

Cabot semi solid deck stain is an awesome product. I highly recommend it.

Lisa
Lisa
3 years ago

Used cabot deck correct and a year later it peeled and looking for a better product. Do not use Cabot deck correct.

Debbie
Debbie
3 years ago

Without reading through everyone’s posts, been there with you m, what IS considered the BEST stain/sealers for decks ???
Than you!!

Bill Babb
Bill Babb
3 years ago

I just applied the Jarrah Brown. It’s NOT brown, it’s red! Very disappointed.

obaldo lopez
obaldo lopez
3 years ago

can you coat with urathane varnish after useing australian oil?

Decker
Decker
3 years ago

Cabot Gold Stain question. Someone noted many of the negative reviews were from users with the Low VOC product. I see some of this product marketed online as Low VOC and some have no mention. Is the Low VOC noted by the number on the can, bottom right of the front label? See pics. I tested a few dry cedar deck boards recently and like the look. Wondering which VOC level I’ve got…Or is the number meaningless and all of the product is Low VOC?. Number on my can is 3471. Comments, pics welcome from those who have used this product beyond the initial “wow” appearance phase.
New red cedar front porch in Pacific NW.
Thank you!

3471.jpg
19471.jpg
Jessica
Jessica
3 years ago

No, it’s available as regular or low VOC (like the Timber Oil, the low VOC is five digits; the old version is four, starting with a 3). Congrats, you got the non-low-VOC version!

Jim Bauer
Jim Bauer
3 years ago

How can i blend new cedar boards with old ones. I’ve always used cedartone twp but it doesn’t have enough pigment to blend in.

Jim Bauer
Jim Bauer
3 years ago

Do you recommend a semi solid by cabot.

Greg T
Greg T
4 years ago

I put Cabot premium woodcare on my new deck last fall and it looks absolutely terrible 5 months later, what to do? It went on great, it looked amazing when I put it on. I let the deck acclimate for 1 month after it was built as recommended by my contractor before applying the woodcare. Now it looks like the entire deck needs to be sanded and refinished

Mary Ramsden
Mary Ramsden
4 years ago

I want to apply the solid color oil deck stain (brown) to the exterior of a new Cedar cat house and would like to know if it is lead free and would it be toxic to outdoor pets or people? Please respond ASAP!

Pissed consumer
Pissed consumer
4 years ago

Tried semi solid and solid stains by Cabot. Glad we bought samples. It didn’t dry evenly but looks even till it starts drying, then to late. Ragging suggested if you use their stain. I personally think its garbage. The Valspar looks great and costs less.

Jim English
Jim English
4 years ago

I just applied two coats of cabot gold to my tongue and groove pine porch floor. I followed manufacturer’s recommendations for prepping, application, and coverage. It still seems a little “greyish” around the knots. I’m wondering if I can apply a third coat?

Mary Hall
Mary Hall
4 years ago

I plan to use product for privacy fence. I bought Cabot at Lowe’s 10 yrs ago; when I went back 3 yrs ago they had switched to another brand, which I didn’t like as well. I don’t a deck but I do own privacy fence; I found no problem with graying or mold. My husband or son painted so I can’t tell you how well it applied;I know that there were 2 spray n go canisters that were used.

Bill Hawkins
Bill Hawkins
4 years ago

Review for Cabot Solid Acrylic Deck Stain. Rebuilt 700 square foot deck with replacing about 3/4 of the boards with new PT and then completely stripping and sanding the older boards in summer of 2018. Uses Cabot new redwood solid color ( water borne). Waited about 60 days for the PYT to dry and stained in July of last year. Its been about a year and the stain is still beautiful. NO PEELING, NO CHALKING. I live in NH and winters are rough here with lots of moisture. I swear some of the bad reviews of this stain are from people that although they said they prepped and stained correctly they actually didn’t…. Put the stain down with a 4 inch brush which took some time on such a large deck but I think that you really need to use a brush. I highly recommend this stain. Also I swear that some of the overly positive reviews from the other brands here are written by their own organization.. Just Saying. Cabot is a great stain.

Marie Timmer
Marie Timmer
4 years ago

we used Cabot wood tone deck and siding stain 3000natural and are wondering if we should apply another coat next year. We applied the first one in 2018

jerry
jerry
5 years ago

I used TWP to stain my deck. It held the color but not water resistant after the 1st year. What can I put on it to be water resistant?

Carol
Carol
5 years ago

We did our deck 2 years ago, 2 coats with australian timber oil, 1st year water beaded up, was beautiful. 2nd year, not too bad, faded slightly but still beads water. This year going to wash/reapply.
Did not have any pealing, some scratches from furniture, some green mold from rain, but otherwise I think it held up good and is easy to use.
Just wondering, how much prep I need to do before reapply? Just wash or strip???

Barb
Barb
5 years ago

We used Cabot on our boathouse deck and within 30 days mold started showyup. Our deck looks terrible. All molded. I’m sick about it!!! How can we get this #%%!!! Off??? We have ruined our boathouse. 😥

Taylor
Taylor
5 years ago

I applied 2 coats of Cabot semi solid to my dry boathouse deck 2 months ago Now, I have mold everywhere rain has contacted the deck. What can I do?

Barb
Barb
5 years ago

How do we strip it over lake water? We don’t want to harm the fish.

Jane
Jane
5 years ago

Is Cabot SPF 48 product still available? Any experience putting another product on top of it? We have mostly Golden Tan on redwood decks.

Andre
Andre
5 years ago
Reply to  Jane

Available at ACE Hardware. Checked 3/2/2019.

20190329_094603.jpg
Gloria Kasper
Gloria Kasper
5 years ago

can I apply a new coat of Cabot 19400 (water clean up) over the exciting 3400 ( mineral spirits cleanup)?

195
0
Questions or leave a review, please comment!x