Gulf Synthetics Deck Revive Review 2024  4.8/5 (71)

This post was updated on March 21, 2024

Gulf Synthetics Deck Revive Review 2024

This review is from a third party. We personally have used the product numerous times throughout the last 4 years. No failures like the other Deck Resurface types. Reading the comments and reviews from consumers below, you will see the results have been excellent.

This review is not an actual outdoor field test but a Freeze/Thaw test.

Deck Revive is a DIY acrylic based polymer deck coating that resurfaces old decks, docks, and other treated lumber — in ANY color you choose.  Deck Revive repairs and protects wood structures from the constant expansion and contraction cycle that destroys wood.

Traditional deck stains, deck paints, and deck sealers just put a new color on old splinters, cracks, and nailheads and have to be re-applied annually.  Deck Revive actually fills in cracks and knots,  locks down splinters and nailheads,  and provides a new slip-resistant textured surface that lasts for years.

Unlike other “Deck Resurfacer” type products, Deck revive is breathable, allowing moisture to escape.

Gulf3medium

DeckRevive Freeze-Thaw Performance Test

Scope: Test comparison of Rust-Oleum Deck Restore, Behr Deck Over, and Gulf Synthetics DeckRevive.

Test Parameters:

  1. The front panel and edges were coated according to manufacturer-recommended application instructions, leaving the back of the panel untreated.
  2. The panel was fully submerged in water at room temperature for 24 hours, removed from the water and placed in 15° Fahrenheit freezer for 24 hours, and removed and allowed to recover at room temperature. This process constitutes one cycle.
  3. As of this published overview of freeze/thaw testing the panel has been exposed to 24 cycles

Test Results:

  1. Deck Restore was initially soft and somewhat recovered but can be removed from the substrate with little effort and there was no evidence of substrate cracking through the coating.
  2. Deck Over slightly softened and fully recovered but due to its lack of film build compared to the other coatings displayed substrate cracking through the coating.
  3. Deck Revive slightly softened but fully recovered within the 24-hour room temperature portion

See Testing Video Here:

Product Information:

Web site: Gulf Synthetics
Cost: $275 per Kit
Stain Type: Solid Color Deck Surfacer, water based
Available Colors: Any Color
Application Temperature: 45-95 F
Coats Required: 2 Coats.
Coverage Per Gallon: 200 sq. ft for 2 coats per kit.
Application Tools: Brush, Roller
Dry Time: 2-8 Hours
Cleanup: Water Cleanup
VOC Compliant: 250 Compliant in all States
More Info: Product Data
Manufacturer: Gemini Coatings

Gulf Synthetics Deck Revive Photos

*We offer no guarantee of similar results. Take into consideration that results may differ due to different wood types, exposure to UV radiation, and natural weathering.


Please Rate This. You may also post comments or ask questions below.

author avatar
Scott Paul ~ Restoring Wood & Decks Since 1993
#As an article and comment contributor to the site, Scott has been around the pressure washing industry since attending college. In 1993 he started his first company called Oakland Pressure Wash specializing in exterior pressure washing and deck staining. That company evolved into OPW L.L.C. shortly thereafter concentrating more on exterior wood and deck restoration. Scott and his Deck Cleaning Michigan company have restored over 10,000 decks in the Metro Detroit area since the early years. He has become an authority in the deck restoration industry and has contributed to numerous wood restoration forums and informative sites. All the products he suggests through this site are sold through online sites and in retail stores, allowing the consumer to choose their own means of purchase. Scott’s eCommerce sites do sell many top brands he endorses and if you appreciate any of the help he has offered then feel free to purchase from one of them.

Related Deck Stain Help Articles & Reviews

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
320 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Teresa
Teresa
6 years ago

I used GULF Synthetic in Sept of 2015 on my front porch. Today is 5/1/17. We live in NY with harsh winters. The porch gets a little morning sun but is otherwise shaded. Application of this product is difficult but I did it myself. I followed directions completely and made sure I was totally ready to move quickly when I began the process. The porch still looks great with no pealing or wearing noted. I must note we shovel this porch when it snows. 🙂 I think It is the best product out there to cover that nasty deck situation you might have. The only thing I find to be a very small issue is the “grit” The surface is gritty however it beats splinters. I now plan to do my back deck 1350 sq feet, a huge undertaking. This product is costly but at least it does what it says. I have researched all these products and I think using the Gulf is the way to go.

Dianna
Dianna
6 years ago
Reply to  Teresa

Does the deck synthetc coating show any wear after you shovel?. We get a lot of snow , therefore lots of shoveling and I am looking for a product that would withstand tht.

Teresa
Teresa
6 years ago
Reply to  Dianna

no it held up well.

Ri enn
Ri enn
6 years ago
Reply to  Teresa

Do you mean that grit releases continuously? We walk into our house onto hardwood floors. I would be worried that the grit would scratch them. thanks.

Ri enn
Ri enn
6 years ago

OK. thanks.

Michael
Michael
6 years ago
Reply to  Teresa

Is it gritty in a good way, that you have firm traction when the surface is wet? We live in western NY. I also want to avoid the bubbling or peeling in the Summer. I am retired and can’t afford to do the job twice. I want to do it right the first time.

Mitch
Mitch
5 years ago
Reply to  Michael

i am the original owner and developer of DeckRevive. i am originally from Rochester, NY and can relate to the harsh winters. i have the first batch of DeckRevive on my deck in georgia whuch was applied in 2008. No peeling and still looks like the day i applied it

Curriers painting/decorating
Curriers painting/decorating
5 years ago
Reply to  Mitch

I have been using the product for 5 years now this will be my 6th year I have no complaints of peeling I love this product and it’s the only one I will use for my business in ct..

Bill Stratman
Bill Stratman
2 years ago
Reply to  Mitch

Is it in the sun?? I have sunny areas and they don’t do well with Deckover

Jeanette
Jeanette
4 years ago
Reply to  Teresa

what about Olympic Rescue It Max , resurfacer+Primer+Sealant

Paul
Paul
1 month ago

How would this product hold up to two 70 lb dogs running around/nail scratches? Any feedback appreciated.

Norma
Norma
1 year ago

I have a large deck and am replacing the boards you walk on. The rest is still okay but painted. Can I use the deck restore on both the new pressure treated and the painted older surfaces? Also, should I paint the crossbeams under the wood I’m replacing?

jim defrancisco
jim defrancisco
1 year ago

I am preparing to restore a lumber (pressure treated) deck using one of the deck restore products. I am looking to choose between the Cabot deck correct and Pittsburgh revitalize for heavy to moderate needs. Prices are similar for 5 gallon containers and my deck looks similar to pictures shown in their respective brochures. Cleaning and large crack filling look to be similar for both, and they both require 2 coats to complete the restoration. I have approximately 1000 sq ft of deck to restore. I have ruled out other recovery products for various reasons. after reading your reviews, it looks like you recommend the Gulf Synthetic Deck Revive product, which I will look into.

I would be interested in a recommendation amongst the 3 products mentioned above. I know nothing lasts forever, but if I can get another 5 – 10 years out of this deck, I would be happy. It appears that once you use one of these types of restorative products, nothing more can be done to the deck besides sanding all off. Looks like they cannot be patched or recoated with another coat of same product.

Thoughts or comments?

Jack
Jack
1 year ago

Why is Perma Bond not sold with deck revive “Full kit”?
Can I purchase a similar product (Perma Bond) in a store?

Jack
Jack
1 year ago

Should I fill in large cracks in deck boards along with large knots with wood filler before hand?

Andrew
Andrew
1 year ago

I’m replacing the floor in a boat. I’m using new 3/4″ marine plywood. Will this product (Gemini Deck Revive) do what I’m hoping for on new material? It is a fishing boat so color, grittiness and protection (breathability) are very important. There won’t be carpet or vinyl going over it. Plus, I’m old and don’t want to do this again. My assumption is to apply the entire kit. Thank you

Les
Les
1 year ago

Hello,
Do you have any knowledge / experience with ArmorRenew Deck & Concrete Patio Re-surfacer from ArmorProxy? Or PRO RENEW WOOD AND CONCRETE RESURFACERfrom Epoxy Central?
Thanks

Garrett
Garrett
1 year ago

Thank God I found your site and product reviews. You prevented me from going with Rustoleum RockSolid and the similar Behr product for my back deck re-furb project. My deck is 12×24 so I’m thinking I’d need 2 kits for a proper 2 coat application. I’ve pressure washed the surface and sanded the hand rails. Spraying mildew/mold cleaner on it today. I’m not sure of the original paint, but I’ve been in the house for 5 years and now I need to do something. Based on the pictures, can I just apply the Perma Bond, then paint directly over existing paint with the Deck Revive?

PXL_20220518_013209043.NIGHT.jpg
PXL_20220513_223215438.MP.jpg
Melissa
Melissa
2 years ago

I’m thinking of using this on our wooden Adirondack chairs. Would the grit be uncomfortable to sit on and rest your arms on? We bought these inexpensive hand made Adirondacks and they guy who made them did not seal them properly with polyurethane, so there are spots where there is none. They look terrible now and I was thinking this product might improve the look and also help them last longer. Would I need to remove all the old poly first?

Mickey Roy
Mickey Roy
2 years ago

Can I use a spray gun with this product?

Michael Roy
Michael Roy
2 years ago

Thanks…I guess it’s the old fashion way!

Paul Kim
Paul Kim
2 years ago

I have a 25year old deck, just power washed and cleaned with deck wash solution. It has some minor surface cracks, can I use a solid stain or product like the Gulf Deck Revive is only option?

Jeff Queen
Jeff Queen
2 years ago

Im in south Florida and im putting in a bid on a 2300sf dock to clean prep and seal and it is badly weathered and may need a couple areas filled with wood filler or putty or something but my question is will the Restore-A-Deck Semi-Transparentbe ok to use or should i look at something solid color maybe Gulf Synthetics Deck Revive

Jeff Queen
Jeff Queen
2 years ago

Would you recommend RAD solid over Deck Revive ?

betty
betty
2 years ago

I have a deck that was painted with behr restore about 10 years ago. No peeling, but now I can see the deck beneath starting to bleed through. I power washed it, and I want to repaint just to give me one more year before tearing it off. Can I use the behr replacement product over it?

Oliver
Oliver
2 years ago

I would like to use Deck Revive on my deck floor. I hear that the surface is coarse. I have benches and prefer not to have rough seats. Is there another product that I can use on my benches that will complement the DeckRevive on the floor? I prefer that it is not a stain since I would like to have a paint color to match the DeckRevive floor. Thanks in Advance

Al S
Al S
2 years ago

Will this product work on a composite deck?

Currier painting / decorating
Currier painting / decorating
2 years ago
Reply to  Al S

I have been doing trex decking for three years now i also sent my samples with untreated samples to gemini lab and they verified my research that it will work i also put a coating for concrete on it after that gives it a wet look makes concrete revive look wet on a sunny day does not fail the product after 4 years proven to work

may
may
2 years ago

10×16 pressure treated wood deck, 50 years old, central NY, 1-2 coats of old deck paint mostly intact under eaves, mostly peeled off in sun, some splintering there too. I’ve washed it with a stiff scrub brush and deck cleaner w/mildew remover (strong bleach smell). No pressure washer on hand, so used the garden hose. Then I found this site! Will Gulf Synthetic work on this varying surface, and do I still need to pressure wash – wouldn’t that further tear up the aging wood? If the mildewcide wash is a problem, how long before it’s not? Many thanks.

Tyler Berney
Tyler Berney
2 years ago

I am considering deck revive for refinishing my deck. I have sanded most of the deck with a belt sander to remove the old coating I believe it was paint over the top of a solid stain. Can you tell me if deck revive would work for my deck based on the attached photos and can you also advise if I need to do any more prep work before applying deck revive? Also if there is a better option than deck revive please let me know so I can consider that too. Thanks!

DD6735B3-4F8A-49A0-9991-C4601BABB925.jpeg
Greg Sherriff
Greg Sherriff
2 years ago

how do i tell how old deck revive is, as there are no batch numbers or date on materials

Kathryn Michalo
Kathryn Michalo
2 years ago

Can I use DeckRevive over old textured deck paint? There are areas on our deck where the old paint will not come up.

Lori
Lori
2 years ago

Does this product work for a concrete dock?

Currier painting / decorating
Currier painting / decorating
2 years ago

To all deck revive users this our 7th year over 150 decks nobody is suing us or Gemini because it’s the only deck product when applied correctly and maintained correctly last for many many years I want to share something we have been putting a concrete sealer over our deck revive the next day it gives It a wet look does not hurt the product I feel it helps it even more stays cleaner to we also proved it on trex decking with the sealer and concrete with the sealer it works this is our trademark product all we will use

Jesse
Jesse
2 years ago

does this Deck Revive come with any kind of warrantee? It’s a lot of money for this kind of product, however I haven’t seen a negative review yet…

Currier painting / decorating
Currier painting / decorating
2 years ago
Reply to  Jesse

I give a 3 year warranty on all my decks

Glenn
Glenn
2 years ago

I used an Olympic semi transparent stain on my new deck three years ago. After just two years it started to look awful. The deck it attached to an above ground pool, hence subjected to the chlorine. Any recommendations? Thanks

Glenn
Glenn
2 years ago

Thank you. Where may I obtain that product? Color choices?

Janet Davis
Janet Davis
2 years ago

Would DeckRevive be a good product for an old power washed composite deck?

shannon
shannon
2 years ago

Hello, is this deck worth restoring? It splinters in spots and has areas of deeper crevices and is rough. The spindles are ok but the top rail needs done as well. Opinions on what you think may be best? I don’t know that we’ve ever sanded it but with ots roughness not sure it’d matter in most areas. Appreciate your insight 🙂

20210824_080414.jpg
20210824_080423.jpg
20210824_080434.jpg
20210824_080516.jpg
Shannon
Shannon
2 years ago

Thank you so much for your reply. So how do I fill in those thinner crevices? (probably from sun drying it out with no protection) which will likely splinter out in someone’s foot? We have lots of barefoot kids here and for the past 5 years of doing nothing because I thought I was going to have to replace it $$$, I’d tell everyone WEAR YOUR SHOES and don’t hold the side too hard as you walk down the stairs!!

Shannon
Shannon
2 years ago

Thanks…can’t wait to see how this goes…nervous though 🙂

Janet Davis
Janet Davis
2 years ago

Does your product revive an old, power washed composite deck?