Behr Deck Stain Review 2.2/5 (175)

by Deck Stain Help

This post was updated on January 19, 2022

Behr Premium Deck Stain Review for 2022

Behr Premium Wood Stain ReviewWe would love to hear from you if you have used the Behr Deck Stain on your wood or deck. Please post a rating in the Consumer Star Ratings below. Behr Deck Stain Stains consumer reviews below have shown issues with the application, drying unevenly, and peeling. We encourage you to read all the comment reviews below.

If you have any pictures of your experience with Behr Deck Stain, you can add them in the comment area with a detailed description.

Note: See here if you need to remove the Behr Premium Semi-Transparent Wood Stain.


BEHR’s Premium semi-transparent wood stain offers a 100% acrylic formula that penetrates into the wood to deliver complete protection from the elements on decks, fences, and siding. The silicone-fortified formula protects from the sun’s harmful UV rays. Behr’s Premium Semi-Transparent Wood Stain is available in 83 custom colors allowing the natural wood grain to show through.

Behr Wood Deck Stain Rating (1-10)

Appearance After Initial Stain Application: 2

– Behr’s Premium Deck Stain is a 100% acrylic stain which means it is a water-based product. We found that the stain does not penetrate into the wood as promised in its description. The product had the look of a semi-solid stain, not a semi-transparent stain. 80-90% of the wood grain was masked by the heavy pigment. A good way to describe the finished appearance is to compare Behr Deck Stain to a watered-down paint. The Cedar color we choose was much darker/redder than other brands.

Preventing UV Graying at 2 Year Mark: 7

– Behr Deck Stain performed well in the areas where the stain was still on the surface of the deck after the 2 years of testing.

Wear/Tear and Peeling: 3

– One of the worst stains that we have ever tested! The Behr Deck Stain had peeled on 80% of the decking surface. This stain seemed to offer little to no protection on the flooring after the 2 years. The railings did hold up much better.

Cost Per Square Foot: 5

– Behr Premium Deck Stain costs $39 per gallon. The manufacturer stated 250-350 square feet per gallon when actual coverage was less than 150 feet per gallon. We used 20 gallons for the 1200 square foot deck translating to a per square foot price of $.67 per foot.

Preventing Mold/Mildew/Algae: 8

– As expected with a water-based stain, Behr had no mold or mildew on top or growing in the stain. Small amounts of algae were present along the perimeter of the home.

Ease of Application: 1

– Nothing positive to say here. We tried applying for manufacturer directions with horrible results. Behr suggests applying with a pump sprayer and back brushing with a pad applicator. The problem is the stain does not apply evenly or at all with a sprayer. We switched to a pad applicator but still had horrendous results with ease of application. It was next to impossible to achieve an even finished appearance with the Behr Stain.

Color Shifting (darkening) after 2 Years: 7

– Behr Deck Stain retained close to 90% of its original color after 2 years. No noticeable darkening and the railings looked like they had not changed at all in appearance.

Difficulty of Reapplication: 4

– The Behr Deck Stain would be difficult to fix. Since the stain failed so badly we would suggest a professional cleaning with a stain stripper and possibly sanding of the entire surface.

Overall Score Behr Premium Wood Stain at 2 Year Period: 4.625

– Behr Premium Deck Stain gets our lowest score to date of all deck stains tested. The initial appearance, application, and peeling making Behr Decking Stain a poor choice for any exterior wood restoration project.

Buyer Beware!

Product Information:

Behr Deck Stain Home Depot

Where To Buy: Home Depot
Cost: $42.99 per Gallon, $214.99 per 5 Gallon Pail
Stain Type: Premium Semi-Transparent – Water Based
Available Colors: 83 mixed colors
Application Temperature: 40-90 F
Coats Required: 2 Coats
Coverage Per Gallon: 125-150 sq. ft in field tests
Application Tools: Sprayer, Pad, Brush, Roller
Dry Time: 24-48 Hours
Cleanup: Soap and Water
VOC Compliant: 250 Compliant in all States
More Info: Product Data
Manufacturer: Behr

Test Deck Stats:

Deck Wood Type: Pressure Treated Pine
Deck Square Footage: 1200 Square Feet
UV Exposure: Partial Sun
How Many Years Tested: 2 Years
Stain Color Used: 
Cedar

BEHR Semi-Transparent Deck Stain Photos

*All products tested and results are from our hands-on experience. We offer no guarantee of similar results. Take into consideration that results may differ widely due to different wood types, exposure to UV radiation, and natural weathering.

BEHR Semi-Transparent Deck Stain


Please Rate This. You may also post comments or ask questions below.

Related Deck Stain Help Articles & Reviews

guest
318 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Ann
Ann
5 months ago

Worst product I ever used was Behr product on my deck It came with. 10 year warranty and didn’t last a year peeled and flaked Just finished sanding the whole deck again and not sure what to use for our harsh Canadian winters but nothing from Behr that’s for sure

daniel harvey
daniel harvey
7 months ago

Lets put it this way (BEHR)ly worth it. After two years of battling with their conflict resolution department. Can you imagine you have such a crappy product you need a conflict resolution department. And a very rude conflict resolution department at that. Why not just make a reputable product. First offer after stripping entire deck and restaining and then having same problem with peeling was a $400.00 offer. I spent 120 hours of intense labor so that comes to $3.33/hour. Thanks alot for standing by your crappy product.Well I wrote to Behr president directly and low and behold they sent an adjuster to look at problem like I asked them to do 3 years ago. So they finally sent me a check for $3500.00 if I hold them harmless along with Home Depot. Yes your harmless but your product still sucks. I have two choices now being replace all the decking boards or paint it which is not why I used stain in the first place. So my review is a minus 20. Can’t see how you rate a 2.2 out of 5 or even anything over a 0.0. If I could go lower than minus 20 like minus 100 I would. If you read this review I suggest you use some other product. Anything has to be better than this product and their customer service or should I say disservice. Run, Flee and get as far away from BEHRly worth it as you can. 😩😬

Larry Leonard
Larry Leonard
1 year ago

Behr Premiun Stain, these photos were taken 6 months after the stain was applied. Notice from the photos, the tremendous amount of mold. In the 25 years, I have owned my house, I have have never seen anything this bad. Behr claims that their stain is “mildew resistant”. This statement isn’t even close to being true!

DFC270B5-1163-42F3-82E6-8609FE092177.jpeg
EFDBB37E-A895-4E0C-A0BB-BB652FBD2A05.jpeg
46B51F2A-2265-43CA-8B77-E4C7ADF97ABF.jpeg
6226D89F-EA82-4F6C-8CA5-1F5681D16BD2.jpeg
Barry
Barry
2 months ago

No need to post pictures- mine looks just as crappy as most others. First time when deck was new and wood cured for several months it lasted a little over a year. Power washed to loosen old and then sanded entire flat part of deck and steps and cleaned. Put 2 coats as required and started peeling within 6 month. Only the rails are ok. Give them -10 stars

Karlyn Berg
Karlyn Berg
4 months ago

Well wish I had just read this before buying Behr… but can’t afford to buy more right now. Last year I bought the semi-transparent Behr (you show above) and it was horrible, and yes just like everyone has reported it peeled and flaked! After a Minnesota Winter and by Spring it was horrible. It took me 4 heavy duty pressure washing efforts to finally get down to bare wood in hopes of starting all over again. This time I thought I would try transparent stain thinking the problem was primarily because the semi transparent was more like paint. This week I plan to apply this transparent stain. I took a little bit to see if I would like the color which I got because our wood is nothing of beauty and clear would not make it attractive. I am see from my test area I will need to apply a thin coat to get the transparent results I want. I am hoping that if I put a thin application it will tint the dull color wood but not be a layer that will peel and flake. Is there hope? Is there something I can mix it with to not end up with a have looking paint like surface. I hope it just soaks in Only good news deck is clean and mold free and it can’t look worse then it did with that semi transparent Behr…

VVQ
VVQ
6 months ago

Hi, What is the different between Behr Premium vs Behr DeckPlus? Thanks in advance!!

Bob
Bob
7 months ago

I recently stained my deck with an Armstrong semi transparent cedar and am very happy I chose it. I built a frame for a garden door and used Behr stain. Boy I can tell the difference just by how they applied to the wood. Behr was drippy and barely penetrated the wood. The frame was small so will be interesting to see how long each wears out in full sun.

Bob
Bob
7 months ago

Glad I didn’t use Behr on my deck. I followed the advice on this site and used Armstrong stain.

Robin Labossiere
Robin Labossiere
8 months ago

Followed the instructions to the letter. New deck. Let it dry for over a year before staining. Not happy. Re-stained the next year – still came off.

Susan HD
Susan HD
9 months ago

I posted 5 days ago- neglected to specify the awful product used on my deck as BEHR Deck Plus – semi-transparent Wood Stain – Cedar Natural Tone. Again – it didn’t last 8 months. Peeling and discoloration. This is the worst product. Home Depot should pay for the repairs now needed. Attaching a photo.

Deck 7months.jpg
Joe
Joe
8 months ago
Reply to  Susan HD

Yep, ours peeled as well. We will never use this product again. Its horrible

Susan
Susan
9 months ago

Absolute worst! Didn’t even hold up 8 months… peeling, PEELING!! – horrible uneven marks from application appeared just one month after application. Horrible mess . DO NOT USE THIS PRODUCT

Judy Anderson Berge
Judy Anderson Berge
9 months ago

Worked hard for a long time last summer (2020) using the Behr semi-transparent redwood color stain on old and new redwood. It did not survive. It is all peeling off in sheets. Do not have pics, but it looks just like the ones you have shown. I am sick. As time goes by, will look to your website for remedies. Have another 34′ x 10′ deck to stain. Want to do it in a redwood color so everything matches. Will use another brand.

Joe B.
Joe B.
1 year ago

I restained my cedar deck with Behr Premium 100% Acrylic semi-transparent stain 7 years ago and was happy with the result. The only prep was sanding the heavily weathered deck. Application was simple with a deck pad — two *very thin* coats. I do remember it taking a very long time to dry completely. I second two aspects of this review — It did look “redder” than I expected for a cedar stain, part way to redwood, but I really liked the color. And it did not penetrate as much as I thought it should and looked more like a semi-solid rather than semi-transparent stain. It retained color and resisted wear well for about 5 years. Started peeling after that in places. This is in Colorado, so UV is the main enemy, but we also get snow that sits on the deck for a few weeks at at time. I am suspecting that others are having trouble in wetter climates… or maybe the formulation has changed?

I just stripped the deck and cleaned (with Behr products) and sanded to prep for a new round of staining. Given the reviews I think I will return the unopened Behr to Home Depot and try something better. I want something that is a) easier to recoat next time (i.e. no stripping), b) is a bit on the “red” side of cedar tones like the Behr, and c) has great UV protection, and d) has a bit of a surface to it (not just a penetrating stain). Would like semi-transparent so that the grain shows through because the cedar boards are still pretty good for 30+ year old wood. Prefer water based if possible, but not completely rigid on that one. Any suggestions?

Roger Olson
Roger Olson
1 year ago

I used the behr oil base stain for 13 years.. Never sanded my three decks and stairs on the side of my home looked better than most peoples floors in their homes. 2 years ago they changed the formula.. It could have been 3 years because I always tried to keep an extra can on hand in my garage. They stop making the Redwood color oil base and than changed the formula. two year ago the new formulat dried in streaks and on my stairs it bubbled. This year I had no choice I had to strip off my stair and my entry area deck. I am on my 2nd can now. It won’t dry. It is like taking oil that you put in your car spread it out and than it just sits there. I am so pissed off. Before I strip this shit off I will hire someone to put in trek’s. I can’t believe any company would put out crap like this. For 13 years I’d put it on and within 4 hours I could walk on it. It was shiny and looked beautiful. I have 3 decks off one each level of my home and an entrance deck and stairs going down the side of my home. I have stained these areas successfully for 13 years. Now they change the formula and it is my problem.

Irene LB
Irene LB
1 year ago

I have the same problem with the Behr stain and paint products. I hired a contractor to replace some boards, power wash the deck, left it to dry for several days. After the first year it was peeling and hadn’t adhered to the deck boards at all. What I am wondering if anyone had filed a complaint with Behr and if, also included the labor? I never thought of looking into reviews after filing my complaint and seeing how many homeowners have had the same issue. Unfortunately I accepted the money they offered to cover the expense for the stain that I can’t file a claim for the labor I paid the contractor. I’m just wondering if anyone had that type of success being reimbursed for the labor.

Marc Arneau’s
Marc Arneau’s
1 year ago

I am on my second year of having to restrain mine and my neighbors deck I was given a gallon of deck wash from you last year along with a few gallons of stain, I am truly disappointed in the appearance of this product I will be staining a 10×10 shed this year and don’t know that I’ll be using the Behr product if I have to keep staining every year. Any suggestions of what to do
The deck is peeling and cracking both of our decks.
Marc Arneau
586-855-1401

Marc A.
Marc A.
1 year ago

Oh hell no I’m not starting over did that last year I’ll be looking in to a different brand for my outdoor shed up north very disappointed with the Behr product

Diane Hanna
Diane Hanna
1 year ago

Run do not walk away from this stain. I had the exact same issue as the video above, only after six months. What a disaster.

Scott
Scott
1 year ago

Same delima as the video. 2 years into an application and our deck looks similar to the one in the video but far worst in many places. I have about 1000sqft of deck that now looks like shit. My options? spent the next month trying to sand this stuff off the deck,hand rails and a couple hundred upright slats. Cant see trying to stain it because the “sealer” part will prevent penetration, cant pain over because most of it is peeling off. Frankly it would be easier to tear it down and start over with new wood and a quality finishing product. Disgusted beyond your wildest dreams. More Home Depot, AKA Chinese home improvement center garbage.

Kerry
Kerry
1 year ago

Some places it won’t stick and yet it’s hard to completely remove. It is horrible stuff and should be taken off the market. After two professional contractors have tried and failed to fix it we are having all the decking and stair treads replaced!

Michael R Hale
Michael R Hale
1 year ago

This is a deck, siding and fence stain. I have used Behr solid on my fences and it has worked very well. The only wear, of course, is from rain. There was no issue of greying because we purposely chose Boot Hill Grey which looks like weathered cedar to start with. The fences were done 8-10 years ago and, still, any dirt washes off with a hose.

Peggy Ullery
Peggy Ullery
2 years ago

Berh stain is awful! Using restore a deck remover and starting over.

Bill
Bill
2 years ago

I think the problem with a lot of people leaving negative reviews is that they don’t know how to apply stain correctly.

Les R Wallach
Les R Wallach
2 years ago

After one week surface is still tacky. Advice,?

Mike
Mike
2 years ago

I used Behr Premium Waterproofing Clear Wood Finish. It was a new deck that was about 7 mths old, not been sealed yet and was dry. It has been 11 days of sun and in the 80’s and the finish is still tacky. I put one medium coat on it. Will this eventually dry?

Mike
Mike
2 years ago

Why won’t it dry? It’s been in the 80’s with no rain for a couple of days before I put it down on Aug 1st up and till now. Will soap and water or some type of mild cleaner (not mineral spirits or a deck cleaner) take some of it off so it dries? I have stained decks for years and have never had a product stay tacky for more than a few hours. I’ve read many of the negative reviews on line and agree there must be something wrong with the wood sealer.

Sean H
Sean H
2 years ago
Reply to  Mike

Unfortunately, it sounds like it was applied too thick. I have made the same mistake. I found that the best results came from using a Shur-line Deck Pad and pushing it real THIN. A little goes a long way. Also, this product, in my opinion, looks best when used on cedar, red wood or pressure treated lumber. Pine, white ash, it looks so-so. Be sure to sand even new lumber, this stuff needs to soak into the wood and not just sit on top. I’ve had excellent looking and long lasting results even without using the recommend preparatory products. My best word of advise is to read and follow the back label. Best of luck.

Dan Sethner
Dan Sethner
2 years ago

I used this Behr solid acrylic stain on all vertical surfaces 5 years ago on all vertical surfaces on deck and it still looks great.That being said I used Behr deck over on surface and it sucked after one year. Started to peel and raise up.
Dan Pittsburgh Pa.

don quint
don quint
2 years ago

this is the worst product sold cleaned as directed looked good for (one) year then started peeling. talked to other people they have the same problem . there is no place where you can contact the behr company. also home depo where they sell this junk will not help you so beware of the false advertising. very poor product

Anna S.
Anna S.
2 years ago

This was the first time I stained a deck. Horrible application! I thought it was just my inexperience until I read the reviews. The ratings and comments are absolutely true! I wish I would have known where to look before buying a deck stain. I absolutely love Behr’s interior paint, but the wood stain is awful! My dogs have already scratched up the stain after two days of having it on (it was the fast-drying stain). I have posted this site on my personal Facebook page as a warning to all other DIY-er friends not to use Behr deck stain. I’m still baffled at how BADLY it turned out (and I applied a 2nd coat!).

Bob Reed
Bob Reed
2 years ago

We have Behr stain on our deck. some mud footprints were tracked on the deck. We have been unable to clean the footprints off the deck. We have used household cleaners and even power-washed the deck, to no avail. Can anyone offer a solution to our problem, ie, ridding the deck of the muddy footprint residual.

Bob Reed
Bob Reed
2 years ago
Reply to  Bob Reed

I contacted Behr Customer Service. They recommended scrubbing the deck with Dawn dishwasher detergent. We actually used the Kirkland brand environmentally friendly dish soap and it worked!
Bob Reed

Linda
Linda
2 years ago

Is there a semi stain for decks that last more than one year?

allen
allen
2 years ago

Worst product I ever used. Coverage is uneven after application and get worse with time. Used three times the product because It doesn’t cover anywhere near what the label claimed. Bought the clear and found out it is far from clear. It dried sort of a baby sh– brown. Not the look I wanted

Bob
Bob
2 years ago

Behr stain is the worst I’ve ever used. At over 40 bucks a gallon Behr owes me a refund . It didn’t last 1 yr and started peeling.

Cathy
Cathy
2 years ago

Replaced not one but 3 decks. All new wood. One winter with Behr waterproof semi transparent and the wood has so many cracks stain peeling etc. Wood is not waterproofed. Thousands spent and 100 for stain was suppose to protect. Terrible product Don’t use

John
John
2 years ago

How is techniseal stain rated?

Beth
Beth
2 years ago

Worst stain I’ve ever purchased.. started peeling after 3 days.. Will never purchase again and going to take back to Home Depot..

IMG_0750.JPG
IMG_0750.JPG
Duane Crisp
Duane Crisp
2 years ago

A terrible product. Need answers on how to fix. Peeling, dark areas and inconsistent adhesion. Looks awful after 2 years. Home Depot is of no help.

Peggy
Peggy
2 years ago

Indoor paint–love Behr products. Favorite. 5 stars
Outdoor stain– yikes. The product we used was Behr Quick Drying. Like many “transparent”, “clear” stains, it wasn’t. It was an extra strange mottled yellow. (Maybe b/c it went on unevenly), it looked like a pet had urinated on the boards! 😯

Vanda Weldon
Vanda Weldon
2 years ago
Reply to  Peggy

We used the quick drying also. Terrible product, ours was an ugly orange in spots and other areas it disappeared. Redid the entire deck with the regular Behr stain and half the deck is still tacky after a week. All I can hope is that it doesn’t last and we can start over next summer!

DCB - disappointed
DCB - disappointed
2 years ago

IF I could rate this stuff a zero I would! it peeled severely after first winter, my coworker had the same experience.
I will not buy another behr product. I had a similar problem with a shed and behr paint. do not buy this crap

Vicki Johnson
Vicki Johnson
2 years ago

Must I remove all previous stain before I restain with the same product? I have used your stripper to remove most of it but there are still some spots left. Will the stain cover those spots? Or must I sand them clean?

Vicki johnson
Vicki johnson
2 years ago

Old finish was transparent weather proofing all-in-one wood finish Natural #500. No longer available but I was told to get transparent waterproofing wood finish. Clear #500N is suppose to be the same. Is this true?

Sean H
Sean H
2 years ago
Reply to  Vicki johnson

No, #500-N is lighter in color. If you purchased #500 in the past and want that same color again ask the Home Depot associate to add 6 drops of red. I had to find this out the hard way. I was about 75% finished with my deck. I must have purchased the last gallon before they restocked with #500-N. I am very pleased with this product when applied properly, HINT! read and follow the back label.

William bardella
William bardella
2 years ago
Reply to  Sean H

6 drops of red to 1 gallon or 5 gallon

Sean H
Sean H
2 years ago

6 drops for 1 gallon.

tzk
tzk
2 years ago

This is Horrible weatherproof stain. Used it on my brand new deck and by 7 months it was all faded to gray, peeling, rough. looks awful! there went thousands of dollars on a new deck

6AEF6258-DFF6-4F2F-B649-4785F82D2996.JPG
Norman McLaren
Norman McLaren
2 years ago

Unfortunately I applied Behr Deck-over and am absolutely disgusted with the product and the terrible customer support of Home Depot. After much communication Behr offered to give me a credit for more Behr product. Like I am going to replicate my previous efforts with a known terrible product. Why Home Depot continues to sell this as a quality product is beyond me. I have now refused to purchase anything at Home Depot

Tim Warnke
Tim Warnke
2 years ago

Why is my paint peeling off after a year and a half. I followed the instructions and made shure the deck was dry. I would understand if small areas were peeling but I’m getting 3 x 8 inch strips

Blaine
Blaine
2 years ago

This stuff is fine on redwood if not exposed to any moisture or constant sunshine. But the area receiving rain and snow begins to peal off in a year on my deck. Guess I will try your preferred picks. Somehow I thought the Behr had been determined to be among the best but have been very disappointed with it on redwood. It just peels off when exposed to moisture or sustained sunshine on a deck or table. On a table left out it is garbage in a year, and would need to be re stained at least once . The Behr I purchased claimed 4 to 6 year duration, I believe.

gary shapiro
gary shapiro
3 years ago

i wish i had read this before i put the ceder water proof stain on my wood dock..it was a mess of mold and it was grey..i used woodrich stripper and brightner and pressure washed between steps as described..the wood looked like brand new..then i put the behrs wood stain on it.
have to say it covered a 5×30 foot dock 2 coats with one gallon..did one let it dry and did another..it looks good..now after reading all these reviews and considering how much work went into getting the dock clean i am dreading what it will look like in a year.

Jeremy Reeves
Jeremy Reeves
3 years ago

This is the worst stain we have ever applied as a painting company. We stripped and sanded the entire deck, rolled and back brushed two coats and seven days later the stain hadn’t cured/dried/hardened. The adhesion/penetration is horrible. It did not appear as a semi-transparent stain at all but more like a cloudy solid stain. Nothing good to say here.

Mike Clune
Mike Clune
3 years ago

Used Behr solid color “Chestnut#SC110” on several decks and after drying, Sap came out of covered wood. Are there any cleaning or removal suggestions ?

Bob
Bob
3 years ago

How long do I have to wait before putting your stain on a deck that was built a month ago. Treated lumber.

Paul
Paul
3 years ago

How do you thin BEHR premium coating semi-transparent WEATHER PROOFING all in one wood stain & sealer? Mine is like thin peanut butter.

K. Quinn
K. Quinn
3 years ago

I am very dissatisfied with the. Her product. I filed a claim with Behr and have been told they will give me the cost of the product (unfortunately I cannot find all my receipts, when I started the process, it was 1 yr and 8 myths -note to self-keep receipts for the time length of any warranty). And $250 for my trouble. I stained my deck two years ago this past June, last summer (1year) out it was looking sad, this February (1.8 months) it looked aweful. I sent multiple photos documenting the process. They basically are giving me $0.25 per square back. Would not recommend Behr wood cleaner, conditioner or stain products.

Naomi Hoffman
Naomi Hoffman
3 years ago

I recently power washed and used the semi-transparent water based on my deck and it’s still tacky after 6 weeks. I followed all of the directions exactly. I called Behr and they instructed me to wash the deck with a mild soap, no scrubbing just lightly wash the deck and if that doesn’t work then sand the deck and start over. I have washed the deck 2 times the second time I scrubbed it and it is still tacky. I paid someone to power wash the deck, so that I could apply the waterproofing I put on a very thin coat. I don’t have money to pay someone to come a second time to power wash my deck and reapply a product. I work full time and I’m a full time caregiver. I’m devastated by this, my husband is paralyzed from his neck down in a wheelchair on life-support and requires 24/7 nurses so I don’t know where I will find the money and time to address this issue. He doesn’t go outside much because of the cold snowy winters and accessibility issues and now he can’t even go out on the deck. With all of the complaints that I have read has anyone reported this to the Attorney General’s Consumer Protection office. I live in Massachusetts and will be reporting this. There should be a Class Action lawsuit to have Behr stop selling this product and to have Home Depot remove this product from their shelves particularly since Home Depot recommended that I used Behr over Thompson.

Patsy England
Patsy England
3 years ago

What is the best solid wood stain to use on a deck that is in full sun?

Sulaimanul Hifli Marikar
Sulaimanul Hifli Marikar
3 years ago

I have stained my beautiful cedar deck with this semi transparent stain and it sucks. I should have read before staining and both times after sanding I used Behr. Never buy it in the future and false advertisement saying they are good.

Patty
Patty
3 years ago

I just stained my deck. Finished up last step at 9:00PM. It started raining at 11:00PM. Will I have to do deck over again?

Darryl
Darryl
3 years ago

GREAT REVIEW! My deck looks exactly the same as yours after 2 years. Trying to figure out to get this crap off.

G Fox
G Fox
3 years ago

I have used the Natural Cedar stain on almost ever piece of wood in my yard. I loved the finished look of this stain. A couple of years ago I decided to use it on my wooden 6’ tall privacy fence that was at least 15 years old (unsure of age, but that is how long I have lived here). The fence had never been stained, but was still structurally sound.
The fence looked amazing once I was done, but for some reason less than 2 years after staining it the fence just rapidly deteriorated. It is just completely warping everywhere and is falling apart and falling down.
Has anyone else ever experienced this?
My hope when staining it was to not only make it look nicer, but was to preserve it.

318
0
Questions or leave a review, please comment!x