Olympic Maximum Stain + Sealant in One Review 3/5 (67)

This post was updated on April 21, 2022

Olympic Wood Deck stain Reviews 2022

Olympic Maximum Stain + Sealant in One

Olympic Maximum Stain + Sealant in One

Note for 2022: This review is for the Olympic Maximum Stain + Sealant in One. This is their newer water-based version. For the Oil Based review see: Olympic Maximum Stain Review

OLYMPIC MAXIMUM Deck, Fence & Siding Semi-Transparent Stain provides a subtle color that allows wood’s natural grain and texture to show through. Core-shell hybrid resin technology provides deep stain penetration, waterproofing, and UV defense to strengthen, protect and condition wood fibers, ensuring the wood’s natural beauty lasts.

Recommended for use on properly prepared exterior wood, including decks, fences, siding, railings, outdoor furniture, and other wood surfaces.

Note: Olympic Elite Stain is the same stain, just a different label for different stores.

Olympic Maximum Stain + Sealant in One Stain Rating (1-10)

Appearance After Initial Stain Application: 6

– The Olympic Maximum Stain + Sealant in One is a water-based acrylic oil hybrid. What that really means is that it is a waterborne stain. This stain applies like the majority of water-based stains in that it is a film-forming stain that does not penetrate into the wood deeply. The appearance of the Cedar natural tone on the deck was a mild orange color. We applied evenly but the final look was uneven as some of the stain dried into the wood and some did not.

Preventing UV Graying at 2 Year Mark: 8

– After 2 years the Olympic Maximum in the water-based version did a fairly decent job with only about 30% fading

Wear/Tear and Peeling: 5

– This stain had worn about 50% on the surface and handrails. Not a very good showing here.

Cost Per Square Foot: 6

– We used 10 gallons to cover the 800 square foot deck and railings at a cost of $.53 a foot. Coverage per gallon was closer to 150 sq. feet per gallon

Preventing Mold/Mildew/Algae: 9

– Olympic Maximum Stain + Sealant is a water-based stain that did an excellent job and preventing mold and algae growth. This is typical of most water-based stains.

Ease of Application: 6

– Average to apply. We applied 1 thin coat as the manufacturer suggests. The coverage was poor and not even close to the specs. Application with a stain pad did cause some overlapping.

Color Shifting (darkening) after 2 Years: 8

– The OLYMPIC® MAXIMUM lightens in color instead of darkening.

Difficulty of Reapplication: 6

– Since the stain had worn unevenly we needed to strip off the rest and start over. This proved slightly difficult but the old stain did remove after a couple of attempts with the stain remover

Overall Score Olympic Maximum Stain + Sealant in One at 2 Year Period: 6.75

– The Olympic Maximum has moved away from oil-based to water-based stains and like many other brands, the performance has gone downhill. If you can still find the oil-based versions in your local Lowes or Sears, then consider yourself lucky. If not, there are many better stains out there.

Important Note: OLYMPIC® MAXIMUM claims a 6 years warranty for decks. Warranties that claim ridiculous amounts of 5, 6, and 7 years for exterior wood are using this for marketing. Do not believe these false advertisements.

Olympic Deck Stain Photos

Product Information:

Where To Buy: Lowes
Cost: $43.99 per Gallon, $219.99 per 5 Gallon Pail
Stain Type: Semi-Transparent Acrylic Water Based
Available Colors: Transparent Natural, Transparent Cedar, Clove Brown, Slate Gray
Application Temperature: 45-95 F
Coats Required: 1 Coat
Coverage Per Gallon: 150-250 sq. ft
Application Tools: Sprayer, Pad, Brush, Roller – Back brush as needed.
Dry Time: 24 Hours
Cleanup: Soapy Water
VOC Compliant: 250 Compliant in All 50 States
Manufacturer: PPG

Test Deck Stats:

Deck Wood Type: Pine Deck
Deck Square Footage: 600
UV Exposure: Full sun
How Many Years Tested: 2 Years
Stain Color Used: 
Cedar Naturaltone

*All products tested and results are from our experience. We offer no guarantee of similar results. Take into consideration that results may differ due to different wood types, exposure to UV radiation, and natural weathering.


Please Rate This. You may also post comments or ask questions below.

Related Deck Stain Help Articles & Reviews

guest
198 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Bonnie Shannon
Bonnie Shannon
1 year ago

Very disappointed with this product! Our deck is a mess! Waste of $$ and our time. Cannot recommend this product. Pictures of deck after one Canadian winter. Can’t attach photo..probably a good thing…. file too big.

Bonnie
Bonnie
2 months ago

Can I get a refund from Olympic or PPG?

Bonnie
Bonnie
2 months ago

Stain has a white look in places, which tells me it did not penetrate the wood evenly. Its a mess and its only 6 months old. I’m so disappointed and we paid 1800 to have this crap applied.

Jared
Jared
3 months ago

Picked up three gallons of Olympic Maximum recently at Home Depot for $4 a gallon (90 percent off.) The Can looks the same as pictured newer formula but the fine print lists a higher VOC (VOC <600 instead of <100) than what they still sell for full price. Cleanup says mineral spirits. I am looking for a cheap move to an oil-based stain rather than continuing to use Thompson’s water seal every year.

I’m ok with what was reported on the performance of the older version of Olympic linked at the top of this article…the new formula gives me pause. Would it be safe to say I purchased the OK performing older oil formula?

Jared Taylor
Jared Taylor
3 months ago

How many years ago? So which version does your review cover? The higher VOC, apparently water based (with mineral spirit cleanup) that I bought or the newer, even lower VOC version with soap cleanup?

It’s all very confusing.

Meme
Meme
7 months ago

Can the Olympic Stain and Sealant be use if you have pets! Is it pet friendly

Patricia
Patricia
9 months ago

I have a half gallon left of Olympic Maximum stain and sealer in one. How many years can it be kept in the can? Would like to use it again eventually.

John S
John S
1 year ago

What is the difference between Olympic Maximum cedar semi transparent stain and sealer and Olympic WaterGuard cedar semi transparent stain snd sealer ?

Ryan Gauder
Ryan Gauder
1 year ago

Can I use the oil based stain over top of the maximum line win it is time to restrain?

Jamie G
Jamie G
1 year ago

I bought the Maximum Stain + Sealant in One with a 10 year warranty on decks, 25 years on fences/siding. Even had the Good Housekeeping seal of approval. It was easy to apply and looked great after application. Applied in 2017 and started peeling 2 years later. Now at the 4 year mark, the peeling is terrible and the wood is getting wet and mildewing. I would not recommend this product at all. Unless you like having it removing the old paint and repainting every 2 years. I saw they reduced the warranty on this product – smart move on Olympics part. Run as far away from this product as possible!

Mike Bockover
Mike Bockover
1 year ago

Recent stained fence what can I put on it to make it semi shiny shiny

Bob DePiero
Bob DePiero
1 year ago

Do you also review oil based stains for redwood siding or do you just review decks.

I am trying to match olympic redwood stain for redwood shingles and want oil base.

Andrew thomas
Andrew thomas
1 year ago

What is the best thing to use to thin the stain+sealant?

Laurie
Laurie
2 years ago

We used this on our deck when it was new in 2012. I reapplied three years later, and then again two days ago. It’s warm and sunny, but it’s still oily and and not drying. I don’t know what the deal is, but my husband started trying to soak up the excess with towels and it looks terrible.

Frank Torino
Frank Torino
2 years ago

This is the worst deck stain I ever used. I stained a new deck that was installed 9 months ago. The stain goes on unevenly. Used 2 gallons for 384 sq ft and couldn’t complete the deck. The color is so uneven I now have to completely redo it with a solid stain. Which will be from another company. Will never use Olympic again.

Steven Jacobs
Steven Jacobs
2 years ago

We bought this can of stain for our deck/fence 3 years ago. Is it the same now? We cleaned the flat surface of the deck and planned to just stain that portion again. We do not want to have to do the rails and side boards. Just wondering if it will match?!

F561AB16-946C-4BE5-B3DF-B74537651EFD.jpeg
55454FFD-1BCA-4CE9-8BA8-E94215873AB8.jpeg
Donna
Donna
2 years ago

Can you use Olympic maximum stain and sealant on an indoor floor

Liisa
Liisa
2 years ago

I’ve used the TWP 100 Cedartone color for probably 6-9 years. I typically get two years out of it after each application for my 18 year cedar old deck in Minnesota that is in full sun. I was wanting to switch to something less orange. If I were to switch to the Pecan color in the same stain line or Dark Oak, can I just power wash it and use the cleaner and wood brightener on it or do I need to strip the old stain before the slight color adjustment? The latter two photos were from two years ago when I did it last time. thanks!

Deck #1.jpg
Deck #2.jpg
Deck Pic #1 2018.JPG
Deck PIc #2 2018.JPG
ryan macinnes
ryan macinnes
2 years ago

I used the Olympic redwood stain on my very large deck. Took me all summer season to finish the deck and fence around my pool inside and out.
After one winter this stain has peeled and looks terrible.
All summer wasted and over $3000 stain and labor down the drain.

Stew
Stew
2 years ago

Contractor here. I have a deck that was stained 4 years ago with Olympic Maximum Oil based Water Proofing Sealer-Honey Gold. Will this new Olympic Maximum Stain + Sealant in One is a water based acrylic oil hybrid go over the previous stain? Or do I need to strip the entire deck and start again. Or can I go with another Oil base stain and go over it after it is washed? Thank you.

Stew
Stew
2 years ago
Reply to  Stew

I was a Solid Color-Honey Gold.

Stew
Stew
2 years ago

Thank you.
Is there any stain type that you can wash and prep to have a stain re-applied without stripping the entire thing (with previous stain)?
I was lead to believe that you could do that. Appreciate the help.

Sara D.
Sara D.
2 years ago

I installed a new deck in 2017 and had it stained with this product as it came highly rated at the time. 2 years later it has lost all water proofing. In northern exposed areas it is growing algae and mildew like crazy. In southern exposed areas it has worn away from the wood. In all areas, it is no longer repelling water. Definitely not a long term solution & will not use again!

Robert Hoeflich
Robert Hoeflich
2 years ago

It’s best to let the new wood sit for at least one season before putting on a stain. I even recommended to lightly sand the wood to get the millings off from the lumber mill. It helps the Stain to adhere better and rough up the wood slightly for better absorption. A lot of people make the mistake of putting stain on way too early. Take a little bit of water and put it on the wood if it doesn’t soak in right away it’s not ready yes usually new wood the first coat usually doesn’t last long. These steps will help make it last longer,
I know from experience.

Allan
Allan
2 years ago

A very disappointing product

Very unsatisfied
Very unsatisfied
2 years ago

We used Olympic Elite Advanced Semi-Transparent Stain and Sealer on a very nice redwood deck in Oct. 2017. PPG shows a “Lifetime Results Guarantee” right on the can. The price was much higher than any stain we’ve used before. It required nearly 4 times as much stain. It wore off in less than a year (less expensive stains lasted 3 times longer), and in less than 2 years our redwood deck went from a really nice deck to several boards rotting. We are waiting to hear PPG’s response. Even if they do refund our money, it doesn’t account for the damage done by their deceptive advertising claims and incredibly inferior product. I’m convinced our deck would be in much better shape if we wouldn’t have used anything at all versus this stuff. How can PPG get away with this? They are advertising a lifetime warranty and guaranteeing this is their best “Elite” product when they surely must know their cheaper 3 and 4 year products last far longer than this one, cost far less, and actually protect wood instead of ruining it.

The deck was scrubbed and prepared very well with Olympic deck cleaner. All instructions on all the Olympic products were followed. The deck was in exceptional shape before application. The product didn’t even last a year and water was soaking right in. At less than two years, several boards are rotting and splitting and need replacing. Redwood decks are tough and rated for 30 years. Ours isn’t even half that old. Several of our exposed boards went from perfect to poor in less than two years after using this product. The stain went on like water and required over 4 times more stain than we ever used before. It seemed to soak past the top layer of the wood, then wore off the surface within a few months. So because of this product, I think water soaks through the top layer very quickly, then sits just under the wood surface and rots the boards faster.

On top of all this, their customer service was really poor. A Lowe’s representative called PPG with me. They were disconnected 3 times. Then they said they would email me a complaint form to fill out and didn’t. After 2 hours, I called back and they acted like it was my fault. Finally, I received the email and they asked every question under the sun about how I prepped it, how I applied it, deck condition, sq. ft., and more. I was very thorough in my response and I asked for a manager to call me. No reply or call yet.

See attached pictures. I have many more before and after photos.

stain-card.jpg
rot.jpg
Brenda Venable
Brenda Venable
2 years ago

Please tell me what happened. I am experiencing the same thing. Mine is treated pine. I have had several decks and always used Thompson Water Sealer. So disgusted in myself for swaying to Olympic Elite. My boards are rotting daily. What I found on the internet specifically consumer reports is there product doesn’t allow the normal contracting and expansion therefore causing cracking which the water gets into rotting the boards out. The underside of my deck and the frame it is sitting on is in great shape. They have given so many excuses. It is over $1000 in just the wood alone. They offered to reimburse for the product WOW!

A year ago. Do I still have to remove that stain f
A year ago. Do I still have to remove that stain f
2 years ago

If it was already stained with Olympic maximum A year ago. Do I still have to remove that stain from last year even though I’m applying Olympic maximum again?

larry hiatt
larry hiatt
2 years ago

I just did a test patch on a red gum eucalyptus stump that was cut down about 2 weeks ago. I sanded the surface, cleaned and applied a thin coat. It has the appearance of a yellow pine, not the natural red color of the stump. I am waiting 24 hours for dry time, but hope this is not the final color. Is this normal?

jon
jon
2 years ago

I used the Olympic Maximum acrylic/oil stain back in 2012 on a cedar railing. I recently sanded the railing down mostly to bare wood, but not completely as sanding close to other rail material was hard to get it to bare wood so there’s some spots on the vertical 4x4s where it’s not completely bare wood . What brand/type of stain would you recommend to re-coat? Do I still need to use a stripper or a brightener? I live in NJ.
Thanks!

Jon
Jon
2 years ago

As a follow up to my previous question, here’s a few pictures. Ideas on further prep and a compatible stain to recoat?
And thanks so much for your advice.

8854A08F-F74F-4AC8-AC7C-2F3A174629DF.jpeg
83F32E8E-93D1-4BF7-A7F2-BB844516E357.jpeg
7E231452-A403-4671-BA12-4E4EBE35EB5E.jpeg
Don
Don
3 years ago

What are the ingredients in this? I want to thin it as it’s settleing and becoming darker than I wantef

Don
Don
3 years ago

What are the ingredients in the stain?

Jeff
Jeff
3 years ago

I recently used restore a deck stripper and brightner to remove most of my old Behr transparent deck plus stain. I’m in the process of sanding the boards,but I’m not going to be able to remove the od stain off the handrails and such. I’d love to use a semi-transparent oil based stain, but I don’t think this is an option based on what I’ve read here. Can you confirm? Also, is Olympic Maximum considered an oil based or water based stain? My deck sees a lot of sunlight and use.

IMG-2090.JPG
IMG-2089.JPG
Ivonne
Ivonne
3 years ago

They must have changed their formula. Canyon Brown two years ago does not even come close to the stain now. Impossible to match – project looks horrible. I will never buy olympic brand again. Horrible and pissed for almost $400 worth of stain.

sue
sue
3 years ago
Reply to  Ivonne

I have the same problem with the color teak.

Diane Jett
Diane Jett
2 years ago
Reply to  sue

The colors dont dry close to anything they picture! I’m so upset with the results! I will never recommend this product…quite the opposite!

David
David
3 years ago

I applied a single coat yesterday of olympic maximum 10 yr stain an sealer in one, but did not have time to apply a second coat. Is it too late for a second coat. This is siding rails for a utility trailer.

Martha Hudson Borchetta
Martha Hudson Borchetta
3 years ago

Can you use deck stain after it’s been frozen

Elizabeth Eileen Lones
Elizabeth Eileen Lones
3 years ago

I have used this on my deck since it was built in 2012 and it does an amazing job. My deck faces the north. It is amazing! I put it on with a roller and a brush. I do it when it is overcast and breezy and comfortable for working early in the fall. The directions say it dries in 24 hours. That is correct. It is sticky until it is fully dried. When it is fully dried and when the rain does come, the rain puddles on the deck and does not soak in. I will buy no other product. It has kept my deck looking beautiful. I use the Honey Gold color.

Ronda
Ronda
3 years ago

I used Olympic elite semi-transparent stain on a newly constructed deck. (2 coats) and it is very slippery when wet! Any suggestions?

Ed Colombi
Ed Colombi
3 years ago

I have used olympic stain on my new cedar deck 1st application. Just did my 4th redo after 12 years..i have had and do have 2 100 plus pound boxers that are hell on 90 degree corner steps..
Think 1st application was oil base and 2 – 4 th application water based as cant find original. Quality has gone downhill and this crap about 6 yr warranty is b.s.

Joe
Joe
4 years ago

I’ve painted our decks three times now since they were new in 2013 and all three times I’ve used the same Olympic Maximum Solid Stain Ten Year product that claims to have superior waterproofing, but the water still just soaks in and there’s no beading whatsoever. Now I’m in search of a new brand and trying to research online.

Sharon
Sharon
4 years ago

Applied on deck in Salem Oregon . Still feels sticky to walk on after 48 hours now what

Dan O'Malley
Dan O'Malley
4 years ago

Penetrating acrylic/oil formula

15298479024407683368043356678677.jpg
Dan O'Malley
Dan O'Malley
4 years ago

What stripper should I use to remove olympic maximum stain and sealant.

Carolyn
Carolyn
4 years ago

Carolyn
We prepared our deck properly according to a Rep. from Olympic Summit Advanced Stain + Sealant.
Our contractor power washed our deck, drying for over 48 hrs. and sanded the entire floor.
Two coats of Olympic Summit Advanced Stain + Sealant were applied to Rails, Vertical Privacy Fence and Floor of Deck. The Following year the areas that were in full sun and not covered by a table, a swing, outdoor pots, barbecue, the stain was wearing off. We spent over $600 for this Olympic Summit Advanced Stain + Sealant and over $800 to a contractor. We had bought this stain in good faith after speaking with a sales clerk where we purchased this stain and Olympic Warranteed This Stain for 5-6 years.
I contacted Company in Quebec and after sending them many pictures showing the areas of the Stain wearing off, they had the nerve to say there were brown areas and they would not honor their Warranty.
I explained that I wet the deck so that the pictures would show the areas of wearing off and I asked to speak with an expert supervisor. The supervisor and the other man called me on the phone and they were questioning everything we did to prepare our deck; the supervisor was comparing our deck to a bottle of milk left out of the refrigerator for a long period. I sent them more pictures to show that other parts of our deck were fine and only because there was no constant sun on these particular areas; the fact that the stain was still intact demonstrates the deck was prepared correctly, before applying the Stain + Sealant.
This man and woman from Quebec still refused to honor Olympic Summit Advanced Stain + Sealant Warranty!

Dennis
Dennis
4 years ago

What stain do you reccomend for staining acomposite deck

Bellicini
Bellicini
4 years ago

Can Olympic stain-sealant be used over texture 111 siding that was previously stained with Olympic oil stain?

Barb Goodwin
Barb Goodwin
4 years ago

Stained our deck last summer with this product…wow it is EXTREMELY slippery!!! my two small dogs go skidding across the deck at the first sign of rain..and dont even ask me how it is in the winter!°.We have had to place carpet runners on the deck so no-one slips and falls…we plan to sand this stain completely off the deck this spring. Very unsafe. i am terrified to walk on it.

Mark
Mark
4 years ago
Reply to  Barb Goodwin

Did Olympic do anything to reimburse you or recommend a solution to the problem. I’m going out to buy “Sharkgrip” from Sherman Williams, add it to the rest of the paint and apply another coat. Maybe they should have suggested this before customer kill themselves or maybe someone will really get hurt and sue the company.

Norene
Norene
3 years ago
Reply to  Mark

Wondering if the Sharkgrip worked? Wish I would have read this our deck is so slippery and our old dog can’t even walk on it!

richard clinch
richard clinch
4 years ago

Excellent ease of application to new and old fence panels.
Absolutely the best that I have tried!
Clean Up is easier with a couple of squirts of old fashioned Windex directly to the brush, let it sit for 60 seconds, rinse.

Debra
Debra
4 years ago

Product has gone downhill significantly in recent years. Very poor appearance and wear. Would not recommend.

Pat Higgins
Pat Higgins
4 years ago

Okay to use this product on flooring for dog kennel….cannot find any facts on his directly?

Joseph Schlund
Joseph Schlund
4 years ago

Can it be used indoors? I want to touch up the door trim. thanks

Don
Don
4 years ago

How long should Iwait after power washing deck?

Geoff
Geoff
5 years ago

How do you strip this her Renda’s product off of a deck? Is it going to be a sanding deal or do any strippers work? I’ve tried the stripper from Home Depot and Lowe’s at this point and neither have really done any more than what could be accomplished by a bunch of elbow grease. Thanks!

Geoff
Geoff
5 years ago

I had resigned myself to such a reality….sorry you had to agree! Thanks!

Geoffrey
Geoffrey
5 years ago

I applied this solid paint stain thing to my deck. It held out about as well as water. Unfortunately, in the areas it actually did take, stripping it is impossible. What stripper do you recommend to get this off my deck so I can put an actual sealant on it? Or am I destined to hand sanded the entire bloody deck? I tried a stripper from Home Depot and Lowe’s. Neither did a single thing to this coating.

Bill Sellner
Bill Sellner
5 years ago

I purchased Olympic Maximum 6 year stain , natural tone, for my fence, and was told I could use a sprayer, bought a garden sprayer, tested with water first , got the fan I was looking for, when I put the stain in, the water shot first with what was in the hose, then stain , it would only go in a stream. What do I need to do. I have almost 300 feet of fence to stain. I used the 4 year product when I built the fence and had no problems spraying.

Joyce
Joyce
5 years ago

I apparently put on too many layers of Olympic Maximum on my deck did three instead of two still tacky after three days what should I do

198
0
Questions or leave a review, please comment!x