Sherwin Williams Super Deck Stain Review 2024  2.7/5 (71)

This post was updated on May 1, 2024

Sherwin Williams SuperDeck Stain Review 2024

We at Deckstainhelp.com appreciate your loyalty. It is our commitment to remain your number one source for deck staining tips and the latest industry news on the internet in 2024. Sherwin Williams SuperDeck continues to follow the same wear trends and issues with turning black as years before. Leave us a comment if you’ve used Sherwin Williams SuperDeck and let us know how your projects held up.


Superdeck Wood Deck Stain Review

Note: Sherwin Williams bought Super Deck in 2013. This review is for the original SuperDeck Oil-Based semi-transparent formula.

SUPERDECK® by Sherwin Williams is a professional grade exterior wood deck finish that was developed to provide superb weather protection and color enhancement. Superdeck semi-transparent deck stain utilizes iron oxide pigments to protect against harmful UV rays. Superdeck is a blend of tung and linseed oils to help inhibit the growth of mold and mildew.

A high-solid wood finish developed to give superior protection and beautiful color to exterior wood. Superdeck® Semi-Transparent Stain uses the highest quality ingredients to provide superior protection. This unique formula contains carnauba wax for an extremely durable finish and a beautiful lustrous sheen with mar and scuff resistance. Superdeck® Semi-Transparent Stain will not track and is resistant to foot traffic patterning. Superdeck® Semi-Transparent Stain is expertly formulated for any exterior surface including decks, fences, siding, and furniture. Available in a spectacular 63-color palette to capture the beauty you seek.

SUPERDECK® Semi-Transparent Stain Ratings (1-10)

Appearance After Initial Stain Application: 7

–Our test deck was a cedar deck. We chose to use the Superdeck cedar color. Unfortunately, after drying the finish was a tacky uneven finish that did not dissipate for several days. A single coat of stain was applied.

Preventing UV Graying at 2 Year Mark: 8

–Superdeck deck stain did score well in this category. Nearly 80% of the original color was still intact in full sun exposure at the 2-year mark.

Wear/Tear and Peeling: 8

–Superdeck stain showed no signs of peeling although there were some signs of wear in the high traffic areas. Our new porch is also the entrance to the home so traffic is heavy. Superdeck was substantially worn off at the entrance.

Cost Per Square Foot: 7

–Superdeck can be purchased for around $40 per gallon on average. Our 500 square foot redwood porch burned up 4 gallons of stain including the deck floor and railings.

Preventing Mold/Mildew/Algae: 7

–After weathering for 2 years, Superdeck deck stain revealed a noticeable quantity of mildew present in the finish. Superdeck contains mildewcides it does contain linseed oil, which is known to attract mildew. We concluded that Superdeck was ineffective at inhibiting fungal growth and were forced to score it low in this category.

Ease of Application: 6

–We used a stain brush to apply Superdeck semi-transparent stain to the entire redwood porch. Penetration issues were a problem causing an uneven finish. It took two people staining for 8 hours to complete the job.

Color Shifting (darkening) after 2 Years: 6

–We were disheartened with Superdeck having a darkened appearance at the 2-year mark. It was almost as if dirt was attracted to the finish. A nearby tree may have added to the problem.

Difficulty of Reapplication: 6

–Reapplication of Superdeck on our test deck will be more difficult than we had hoped. Due to the darkened appearance and mildew infiltration, the stain will have to be stripped off prior to a stain recoat.

Overall Score SUPERDECK® Semi-Transparent Stain at 2 Year Period: 6.875

–We were not overly excited with the results of SuperDeck Sherwin Williams stain. We were mostly let down with the application appearance as well as the appearance after 2 years. A high scoring wood stain will not darken after 2 years of weather exposure. Besides being extremely unsightly it makes for a more difficult recoat.

Sherwin Williams SuperDeck Stain Photos from Consumers

Product Information:

Where To Buy: Sherwin Williams, Lumber Yards and Paint Stores
Cost: $42.99 per Gallon, $199.99 per 5 Gallon Pail
Stain Type: Semi-Transparent oil-based
Available Colors: Cedar, Redwood, Weathered Gray – Tintable to 60+ Colors
Application Temperature: 40-95 F
Coats Required: 1 Coat
Coverage Per Gallon: 250-350 sq. ft. The actual coverage was 175 sq. feet as tested
Application Tools: Sprayer, Pad, Brush, Roller
Dry Time: 8-24 Hours
Cleanup: Mineral Spirits
VOC Compliant: 250 Compliant in All 50 States. 100 VOC for LA Area
Manufacturer:  Sherwin Willaims

Test Deck Stats:
Deck Wood Type: Cedar Deck
Deck Square Footage: 500
UV Exposure: Full Sun
How Many Years Tested: 2 Years
Stain Color Used: 
Cedar

*All products tested and results are from our experience. We offer no guarantee of similar results. Take into consideration that results may differ due to different wood types, exposure to UV radiation, and natural weathering.

Please Rate This. You may also post comments or ask questions below.

author avatar
Scott Paul ~ Restoring Wood & Decks Since 1993 Owner
As an article and comment contributor to the site, Scott has been around the pressure washing industry since attending college. In 1993 he started his first company called Oakland Pressure Wash specializing in exterior pressure washing and deck staining. That company evolved into OPW L.L.C. shortly thereafter concentrating more on exterior wood and deck restoration. Scott and his Deck Cleaning Michigan company have restored over 10,000 decks in the Metro Detroit area since the early years. He has become an authority in the deck restoration industry and has contributed to numerous wood restoration forums and informative sites. All the products he suggests through this site are sold through online sites and in retail stores, allowing the consumer to choose their own means of purchase. Scott’s eCommerce sites do sell many top brands he endorses and if you appreciate any of the help he has offered then feel free to purchase from one of them.

Related Deck Stain Help Articles & Reviews

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
78 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Kathy
Kathy
11 months ago

I’m here to warn you NOT use this stain/ paint.. first of all it peels up and it’s far from a stain and semi transparent . I know it’s water soluble, but it’s clearly paint. I did my deck not once but twice on a brand new deck and it’s only been on there for four months and already peeling and did everything by the book. and read the small print on their warranty!!!! They don’t warrant their product just the value of the paint, which means if this product ruins your deck you’re screwed they’ll pay you just for your stain 🤬 which is ridiculous. I will never use this product or recommend this product to anybody. Hopefully this will help somebody so you won’t go through the hell I did . go to Home Depot and get bear stain….

James Peters
James Peters
2 years ago

I have used the db superdeck Heart Redwood and Cedar colors (prior to SW buying them) many times and loved the product. When I could no longer find it, i saw that Sherwin-Williams had “superdeck”, and it appeared that they had bought the company or at least the rights to the product name. Having just used it, I cannot speak to its lasting ability, BUT I can say that it is not the same product. Upon opening the can, it has a milky white appearance, whereas the original db Superdeck product was clear, oil based. The SW products appears to sit on the surface a bit more that the original. They call it “Modified-oil formula.”
My main objection is the application. It is very difficult to blend while applying, and shows overlaps. Although I was extremely careful to get full coverage, many bare spots showed up after it dried. It simply does not ‘flow’ . I had some of the original db superdeck product and I finished the rest of the deck with it. A world of difference. It went on much easier, and gave flawless coverage, and no overlaps.
I will be looking for a new oil-based transparent product.

Todd
Todd
4 years ago

I followed the application instructions as provided by Sherwin Williams. Our cedar deck had aged for 10 months, was power washed 1 week prior to application, I applied one coat avoiding excess, and had no rain for > 24 hours after application. The initial appearance was great! There was no tackiness within a day and the natural appearance of the cedar came through. However, not even 4 months later, the > 2,000 sq ft deck, railing, posts are now grey to black. I spoke with the manager at SW and he stated Superdeck is a poor product and has a history of doing this. His recommendation – strip it, use a brightener/revive, followed by a higher end stain. I put close to 30 hours in and have at least twice that to completely redo the deck. AVOID this stain at all cost.

Blaz
Blaz
10 months ago

I find that Super Deck works really well when applied appropriately. The weather cannot be hot or cold, the surfaces are best coated when not on direct sunlight, and the prep work can be extensive. There are a lot of trees whose deadfall causes a chemical reaction with Super Deck. Birch is especially bad, leaving the whole surface black if not properly sanded. I sand everything with an orbital sander, and I go hard.

It’s a pain to work with, but when done right, the product delivers.

Not for DIY. Pro’s only.

Becky
Becky
11 months ago

What do you recommend for a stained sealer on a 100-year-old Log Cabin and also what is % of UVprotection?

Polly
Polly
1 year ago

Unfortunately, our SW superdeck solid stain product did not actually “stain” the decking but is instead peeling, much like paint, leaving raw, unprotected wood. Sherwin Williams representative came to our house and indicated the “conditions” (sun and sometimes rain) made the product release from the decking. Coincidentally, the stain on our covered deck is also releasing from the decking. The pressure treated decking had been dried for approx 9 mos- 1 yr and pressure washed before product was applied. We will definitely be searching for another deck stain that will actually STAIN the wood but of course, we’ll wait til the SW superdeck has released. Hopefully, we can get stained color on our deck by next year.

Debbie W
Debbie W
1 year ago

We built a new deck and followed all the directions. This is year two of the stain and it is junk. It is peeling off for no reason in areas that have hardly been used. Every person with this problem deserves a refund…not just someone telling you how to get it off!

Ruth Frantz
Ruth Frantz
2 years ago

Can these products also be used on a cedar fence? If so which would be best on a 15 year old cedar fence that has not been stained or sealed for 7 or 8 years.

James Wahlquist
James Wahlquist
2 years ago

Hi:
I had a new cedar fence installed in September 2021. Sherwin Williams recommended Super Deck Cedar Semi Transparent stain applied at 250~300 Square feet/gal by spray application. Had a reputable painter spray, back roll with a guy coming behind and catching any drips with a bristle brush. Poor penetration and after 3 days or 75 – 80 degree temperature, parts of fence still tacky and splotchy PLUS- MY FENCE WAS YELLOW! Sherwin Customer Service in December told me to wait until Spring (March) and the splotchy sections would have evened out. It is now worse than before. Was told to get with SW store manager for resolution. SM told me to sand and start over. I reminded him of their 100% Customer Satisfaction policy. I was told they (SW) could do nothing more.
So what can I do. The fence cost $36,000.
Does anyone have any ideas???
Thanks,
James-

James Wahlquist
James Wahlquist
2 years ago

The Super deck product is SW modified oil.

0B43443D-DEBE-4FE7-8044-FF01771EA495.jpeg
B6648E28-25F1-48A6-98F4-D1E20729F012.jpeg
Best Type of Deck Stain
Tim Stewart
Tim Stewart
2 years ago

Given the price per gallon of Super Deck exterior stain, when will samples be available in Sherwin Williams stores?
I cannot justify spending $50/60 for a gallon of stain that ends up different than what was previously stained.
You would actually make money selling samples,

tim r draper
tim r draper
2 years ago

your article talks of the semi transparent which i had on my deck and it beaded (but I had a milky appearance problem and was suggested to use SOLID instead of semi transparent…the SOLID does NOT bead…is this your experience with the SOLID..water just lays on top or puddles…thanks for any help tim draper

Faye
Faye
2 years ago

I have composite deck that stain and I would like to change the color also. Will superdeck do the job?

Joshua Colson
Joshua Colson
2 years ago

I believe super Deck should rate higher on the initial application after staining, the first category mentioned here. I just finished a deck with semi-transparent cedar color and my first and only coat is, and looks extremely even. Maybe for whoever wrote this review the prep job on the deck was not up to par. I spent a fair time sanding the surface down so there were no rough places to irritate the feet and it was well scuffed for Superior product adhesion.

Also, a side note, it rained within 12 hours of application and it looked funny after I used a blower to remove the standing water. But once the deck fully dried it looked smooth, even, and fantastic. I would recommend super Deck to all my customers. I particularly like the waterborne products. They’re extremely gentle on nearby vegetation, easy to work with, easy to clean and far more forgiving than an oil-based stain. It’s easier to put on evenly and it shows very little overlap marks where you let it dry as you were applying it.

Let me be clear, there may be better oil products out there, I haven’t tried everything. I would highly recommend the waterborne stain. That stuff is fantastic. Some people may say that it peels after a couple of years and they don’t like that but that can be removed pretty easily and I’ve seen oil products peel as well. There’s no reason not to go with a waterborne. And remember, and always helps to properly prepare your deck for staining.

Last edited 2 years ago by Joshua Colson
Corey
Corey
2 years ago

Less than 1 year after application & following all the instructions, the product literally pealed off in sheets. The absolute worst product I ever purchased. I bought 7 gallons for the job. The SW rep came to the house & said “I” need strip it all & redo with another product. I won’t be using SW products again. Their was a class action lawsuit on this product because of its failure to perform. I have received no compensation for the cost of the product nor all the effort for preparation & application.

Geoff Smith
Geoff Smith
2 years ago

I have been using Superdeck Cedar #2001 and now find out that is is no longer available. Any suggestions for an equivalent from Sherwin Williams or other?

Melanie Copeland
Melanie Copeland
3 years ago

3 years and we have scrubbed and scrubbed…now repainting. This product does not hold color and gets so dirty. Won’t ever use again…

75115154-4917-41B1-B22D-35934B283440.jpeg
19327440-E8A1-43D9-A669-53EDB2B9B77E.jpeg
Joshua Colson
Joshua Colson
2 years ago

Switch to waterborne. I posted a couple comments about this but the waterborne product is fantastic and incredibly easy to work with as well as far less harmful to the vegetation around your project. I’m assuming it’s far less harmful to the environment in general being waterborne. It seems to hold up pretty well and repels water extremely well even shortly after being applied. I just did a fairly large deck and it rained within 12 hours probably less and it pulled up on top, I blew it off with a blower and my finish still looked fantastic. Don’t worry about what other people say about waterborne products, they’re pretty good and I will recommend them any day of the week to all of my customers.

Rita Toro
Rita Toro
3 years ago

I have twice used the oil based Semi transparent Super Deck in Coastal Gray with very good results. But now I’ve been trying to buy it again with no luck. How can I get it in Puerto Rico? Please, answer me.

Rita Toro
Rita Toro
3 years ago

Thanks.

Susan
Susan
2 years ago
Reply to  Rita Toro

You can not get the oil based stain any longer because stinking CA says so.
we were fortunate enough to have found the last 5 gal can at a hardware store nearby.
will be looking for a new brand someday.
Superdeck was my favorite stain for years. But no more

Tricia
Tricia
3 years ago

My deck was stain 2 – 3 years ago with Sherwin Williams Semi Transparent oil based stain. There was not enough gray color and painter said I had to wait 18 mo for next coat…. ?
Now I am staining again, can I switch brands to another oil based and just use cleaner and brightener?

I think I have to strip.

Bob Boice
Bob Boice
4 years ago

I bought Sherwin-Williams Superdeck since it was so highly rated. After less than 5 months the cedar wood is turning black with mold. I spent weeks completely stripping the wood so there was no old stain showing. We even added extra mold and mildew inhibitors. I am super disappointed with Superdeck and will never use this product again

3A80AE04-44E9-4F56-AC41-2F62EE5D5392.jpeg
B5520617-14D7-4C7D-A24B-10D7C10D81C6.jpeg
AF5AADE9-BB61-4DE0-ACCB-FBF21D0718A9.jpeg
936D695D-26BD-4AFE-81B1-790071B3B0D2.jpeg
Joshua Colson
Joshua Colson
2 years ago
Reply to  Bob Boice

You shouldn’t spend weeks removing any product from anything. I would recommend power washing, using a removal product and sanding. Of course use power tools, don’t waste your time sanding by hand. Use a nice heavy grit, like 60 for your sandpaper. Get in there and tear it up. Even that rough grit will leave a deck nice and smooth and ready to accept a coat of your alternative product.

BobK
BobK
4 years ago

Is the SW Superdeck the same as Duck Superdeck?

Regina Area
Regina Area
4 years ago

Terrible Product. I did my whole log house using the log house superdeck stain. In 3 years my whole house is black. Hzve to sand and do it all again. DONT USE IT!!!!!!!

Ken
Ken
4 years ago

What is the top 3 choices?

Jim Loffer
Jim Loffer
4 years ago

I applied the Sherwin Williams Superdeck Transparent to a newly installed cedar deck last fall. The “Transparent” color was darker that I anticipated once the entire 600 Sq Ft deck was complete. The deck is in full sunlight. After 9 months, the deck was very dirty and oily with deck color changing to BLACK. The color was so black I could not see the nice cedar grain. How disappointing !!! Washing the deck removed loose dirt but did not remove the black color. I am extremely disappointed in this product. I am in the process of hand scrubbing the deck and removing the Sherwin Williams product for a more reliable product that is clear when applied.

I will NOT be recommending this product to anyone as it is not worth the money. I always have stood behind using Sherwin Williams, but not in this case. If I could get a refund I would request one.

kenneth thomson
kenneth thomson
5 years ago

what is the best wood stain with non slip mixed in with it

Cory Davis
Cory Davis
5 years ago

Just recently stained a deck that has never been stained. After letting stain sit for three days noticed that the tint of the stain was sitting on the surface and did not soak into the wood the color was SuperDeck birch white and mountain ash the deck was pressure washed and let sit for 2 days to insure drying before applying stain it is a semi transparent stain. Applied in 50 degree weather no rain or high moisture. Why is the tint sitting on the surface when all conditions were within the perimeters recommended by this company. Also tested on a new piece of wood that was stained inside with 76 degrees temp and still had the same issue

Todd
Todd
5 years ago

Horrible product. Failure in less than a year.

79FB66D9-9D19-4FBC-B675-A4E3B9B9F6AE.jpeg
4F3ED7A2-E39A-422C-A57A-4E860C7D0A8E.jpeg
Pete
Pete
5 years ago

I have been using Superdeck for 21 years here at 9,000′ elevation in Colorado. On my rough sawn siding there are still sides of the house that have not been re-treated since 1997 and still look good. On redwood decks, nothing will last more than 2 years in our harsh UV conditions but Superdeck holds up pretty decent and soaks in deep for a good penetrating seal. When reading about “peeling” I can’t even picture how this could happen unless the wood wasn’t prepped right and the product was just applied over an existing finish.

Miranda
Miranda
5 years ago

We followed all directions and applied SuperDeck to our covered porches. Within a month there were signs of peeling. The product did not soak into the wood at all. In less than 2 years significant amounts of the product had peeled off. Again, this is not a high traffic area, and is protected from direct exposure to elements.

0DEA6935-14ED-43CC-819B-8355E9B95BAC.jpeg
E039750F-D309-48FC-9BFE-9EA37C5AF1D8.jpeg
78
0
Questions or leave a review, please comment!x