TWP Deck Stain Review – Updated 2024  5/5 (18)

This post was updated on February 23, 2024

TWP Stain Reviews

TWP Stain Reviews

TWP Wood Deck Stain Reviews

In reviewing some of the top stains on the market for 2024 we could not overlook TWP stain. It is a registered EPA wood preservative that offers excellent protection from UV graying, wood decay, and water infiltration. TWP uses select mildewcides that naturally resist fungal growth to help eliminate wood rot. The semi-transparent oil-based formula penetrates deeply into wood pores without extreme surface film accumulation. It emphasizes and enhances existing wood grain beauty with color depth and warmth.

Our TWP Stain review 2024 shows that this stain goes beyond the TWP claims of being the number one wood preservative. Top contractors and professionals prefer wood stains that penetrate into the wood surface and can be easily maintained and reapplied without sanding. This makes wood maintenance easier, cheaper, more effective, and less frequent. Most TWP stained surfaces will last 2-3 years before a recoat is needed. The excellent UV-absorbing pigments eliminate wood discoloring and graying, which is a common problem with exterior wood surfaces.

In recent tests, TWP Stain Reviews noted that after 2 years the stain did not darken like many other brands of oil-based stains typically do. In addition to excellent color retention, TWP Stain applies easily enough that your typical do-it-yourselfer can get professional-like results. We also found in most cases TWP Stain is not affected by rain after an hour or two of stain absorption. We noticed that the natural and synthetic oils in TWP showed very little fungal growth at the 2-year mark as well as no peeling, flaking, or chipping.

Another plus to the TWP Stain review 2024 was the fact that as well as this stain performs it still remains a low VOC oil-based formula and is compliant in all 50 states. TWP Stain scored well in all tests in overall protection, longevity, compliance, and final finish results.

See this for more in-depth TWP Reviews

TWP 100 Series Reviews

TWP 1500 Series Reviews

TWP Stain Dealers

TWP 100 Series Deck Stain Photos

TWP 100 Pro-Series Review Video

Please Rate This. You may also post comments or ask questions below.

author avatar
Scott Paul ~ Restoring Wood & Decks Since 1993
#As an article and comment contributor to the site, Scott has been around the pressure washing industry since attending college. In 1993 he started his first company called Oakland Pressure Wash specializing in exterior pressure washing and deck staining. That company evolved into OPW L.L.C. shortly thereafter concentrating more on exterior wood and deck restoration. Scott and his Deck Cleaning Michigan company have restored over 10,000 decks in the Metro Detroit area since the early years. He has become an authority in the deck restoration industry and has contributed to numerous wood restoration forums and informative sites. All the products he suggests through this site are sold through online sites and in retail stores, allowing the consumer to choose their own means of purchase. Scott’s eCommerce sites do sell many top brands he endorses and if you appreciate any of the help he has offered then feel free to purchase from one of them.

Related Deck Stain Help Articles & Reviews

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
118 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Gary
Gary
7 days ago

I have heard that Twp101 cedar tone is discontinued. Is that true ?,and if so is there a replacement? Thank you

Gary
Gary
7 days ago

I am in Michigan and I could only find it at ace and now they are telling me it’s no longer in their warehouse

Gary
Gary
7 days ago

I live in Michigan

Gary
Gary
7 days ago

Great, thank you very much

Mauricio Pérez
Mauricio Pérez
2 months ago

¿Can I use TWP 100 series (clear) to treat and protect a Parota Wood Door? This principal entrance door is not Varnished and its Permanently exposed to sunlight and sometimes rain (not much rain) this door was previously treated with linseed oil (Flaxseed oil). Thank You for your answer.

Trannum
Trannum
7 months ago

Staining cedar, with twp 120 pro series pecan. Wood has been stripped and pressure washed. I gave 3/5 day dry time. Why would the knots in the wood be green. Algae ?

Alakar
Alakar
10 months ago

I used the TWP 100 Redwood stain on a new western red cedar fence in 2014. It has held up incredibly well. I’m finally needing to restain the fence after 9 years. I’m in south-eastern Wisconsin so I don’t get the kind of sun as someone in the south gets and it is on a fence, but 9 years is pretty incredible for any kind of finish to last.

PXL_20230619_165113501.jpg
PXL_20230619_165126150.MP.jpg
KThompson
KThompson
1 year ago

The low-VOC 1520 formula worked great for me on redwood as long as I had previously treated the wood with Boracare to prevent rot, mold and wood-boring insects. The color lasted for a couple of years. 

But the low-VOC formula failed pretty badly when applied to ipe. The first light rain washed it off. There went my hard work preparing the ipe. The regular VOC 120 formula performed much better on ipe, much more rain resistant. This isn’t the manufacturer’s fault. It is due to environmental regulations (separate issue and don’t want to debate it), putting low-VOC on ipe is a waste of time and money IMO. I want to save others from what I had to go through with the low-VOC formula on ipe. 

Larry Loar
Larry Loar
1 year ago

I live in the South West part of Ohio. I was able to clean my deck with the Gemini products that are recommended. I’m resealing with the same TWP 1500 that I used the last time a couple of years ago. From what I read on the can on the TWP 1500, I need to wait at least 2 days for the deck to dry and I need 2 days before it may rain. If I remember from what I read, I need to seal it within 2 weeks of the cleaning. I’m wondering what happens if I’m not able to seal it before the 2 weeks are up? Do I have to re-clean it again? It seems like the weather forecast is rain about every 4 days, for the moment\. This is usually the dry part of the year. Thanks for your suggestions!

Carla
Carla
1 year ago

We have old pine boards under roof as our outdoor porch flooring in Louisiana. We pressure washed and are ready to put a sealer. What item and color do recommend? We like the rustic look.

image.jpg
image.jpg
Carla
Carla
1 year ago

So once the old stain is removed, which TWP do you suggest and what color ??

Rick Baggett
Rick Baggett
1 year ago

Just built a new deck and love the new Southern Yellow Pine look. Can walk on it barefoot in full sun with 90 degree GA weather. Can I use the clear product after a couple of months? Will just a good pressure washing of the dirt be enough prep for a new deck? Thanks

Jack Watson
Jack Watson
1 year ago

I have used TWP 100 series on my 400 sq ft deck in Oct. 2019 and May 2021 after a complete sanding and repair in Oct 2018. I loved your Dark Mahogany stain. Am I correct that color is no longer available? I/2 my deck gets direct Reno, NV sun throughout the day. The other 1/2 gets only gets the indirect sunlight. Is Dark Mahogany available anywhere (one of your stores)?
What would you propose as a substitute TWP Color? I loved the dark mahogany after having more of a lighter (i.e. redwood) color for 10 years before changing to the superior TWP and Dark Mahogany. Sad to not see Mahogany in your latest color listings. Need a quick answer please!

Anna
Anna
1 year ago

What is the best transparent/semi-transparent stain for brand new cedar fence? How long should it weather before it is stained? Currently it is four weeks old.

Joy T.
Joy T.
1 year ago

I have a 20 year old deck to which I have been applying BEHR or DUCK or Olympic. Lasts one year. Wood is grey/dark brown, even though it has been UV protected. For the railings, I am now using Spar Varnish (Man-o-war) with UV. Election is 7,000 ft, so the sun is very strong (Nevada).

I think TWP 100 would be a better choice than Behr. The wood is old – will cleaning still be necessary? I have been washing the deck with TSP before applying the Behr, Duck, etc.

Your advice appreciated!!

betty
betty
1 year ago

what is your opinion about hemp seed oil for decks?

Dave Czar
Dave Czar
1 year ago

I have a three year old deck that I stained with Behr premium semi-transparent Oil based stain, I am not happy at all with the performance of this stain, it’s total junk. Anything would be better than this stuff. Given that it is an Oil based stain what product would you recommend? and what would be the best preparation for the new stain? Thanks!

Dave Czar
Dave Czar
1 year ago

This is the deck and the hand rail it was prepped with the recommended behr deck prep before staining

DF96D136-B959-4075-ABF9-5349B651B832.jpeg
323C5CA9-986B-4D09-B417-5EEED8831170.jpeg
Dave Czar
Dave Czar
1 year ago

Thanks a lot!

Carla
Carla
1 year ago

How long does it take for the 1500 series to dry at 70 degrees with little or no humidity

Carla Rogers
Carla Rogers
1 year ago

H0w soon after washing deck can I apply stain. This is the third time I have stained my deck with this product over about 8 years.

Gale
Gale
2 years ago

Can I put other stains over this?

Pravin Bhagwan
Pravin Bhagwan
2 years ago

How do I spread stain big deck

J Hummel
J Hummel
2 years ago

it says 2-3 yrs before recoat and yet some other name brand products say 15+ yrs on siding. I’m sure the latter is marketing hype but what is realistic? Is 2-3yrs on decking the same as 2-3 yrs on siding? I have used twp before and I thought results were amazing. Just gathering more info for a commercial client.

J Vickoren
J Vickoren
3 years ago

My clear stain looked milky when opened. Is something wrong with it. It may have been inadvertently left outside in Georgia freezing temps.

Cheryl
Cheryl
3 years ago

I recently had a deck built using KDAT pine. I have read that I should not wait and do not need to wait longer than 1 month to stain it. Does that hold true for TWP stain and which TWP product should I use?

Robin
Robin
3 years ago

I have a Weathershield Cedar-toned PT wood deck on the east side of my MN house, installed late October of 2019. What would be a good product to use on it?
I wood like to keep it pretty much the same color.

Robin
Robin
3 years ago

Any idea of what color to use on top of the cedar tone? I don’t want it to turn orangey or yellow. Are sample sizes available?

Robin
Robin
3 years ago

Will the cedar tone color it is now go away when it is cleaned and brightened? or how will colors look over it? Should I use the 100 series? Is there a color you reccomend that would work best over it?

Donna
Donna
3 years ago

Thinking of staining my deck with TWP semi-transparent 1504 black walnut. Ordered a sample and love it but a friend said the dark stain would make the deck too hot to walk barefoot in. Is this true?

David
David
3 years ago

What product do you recommend for redwood?

David
David
3 years ago
Reply to  David

The 100 series or the 1500 series?

David
David
3 years ago

Northern Minnesota. On the Canadian border.

David
David
3 years ago

Thank you!

Lee
Lee
3 years ago

We have a lot of pine tree sap on our 3 yr old wood deck that was stained with TWP natural color two years ago. What is the best way to remove/clean the deck to get rid of the sap?

Donnelly
Donnelly
3 years ago

I just used the brightener onthe deck, it us already dry. How long do I have to wait before I stain in with the 1500 series stain.

118
0
Questions or leave a review, please comment!x