TWP Deck Stain Review – Updated 2022 5/5 (16)

This post was updated on January 18, 2022

TWP Stain Reviews

TWP Stain Reviews

TWP Wood Deck Stain Reviews

In reviewing some of the top stains on the market for 2022 we could not overlook TWP stain. It is a registered EPA wood preservative that offers excellent protection from UV graying, wood decay, and water infiltration. TWP uses select mildewcides that naturally resist fungal growth to help eliminate wood rot. The semi-transparent oil-based formula penetrates deeply into wood pores without extreme surface film accumulation. It emphasizes and enhances existing wood grain beauty with color depth and warmth.

Our TWP Stain review 2022 shows that this stain goes beyond the TWP claims of being the number one wood preservative. Top contractors and professionals prefer wood stains that penetrate into the wood surface and can be easily maintained and reapplied without sanding. This makes wood maintenance easier, cheaper, more effective, and less frequent. Most TWP stained surfaces will last 2-3 years before a recoat is needed. The excellent UV-absorbing pigments eliminate wood discoloring and graying, which is a common problem with exterior wood surfaces.

In recent tests, TWP Stain Reviews noted that after 2 years the stain did not darken like many other brands of oil-based stains typically do. In addition to excellent color retention, TWP Stain applies easily enough that your typical do-it-yourselfer can get professional-like results. We also found in most cases TWP Stain is not affected by rain after an hour or two of stain absorption. We noticed that the natural and synthetic oils in TWP showed very little fungal growth at the 2-year mark as well as no peeling, flaking, or chipping.

Another plus to the TWP Stain review 2022 was the fact that as well as this stain performs it still remains a low VOC oil-based formula and is compliant in all 50 states. TWP Stain scored well in all tests in overall protection, longevity, compliance, and final finish results.

See this for more in-depth TWP Reviews

TWP 100 Series Reviews

TWP 1500 Series Reviews

TWP Stain Dealers

TWP 100 Series Deck Stain Photos

TWP 100 Pro-Series Review Video

Please Rate This. You may also post comments or ask questions below.

Related Deck Stain Help Articles & Reviews

guest
91 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
betty
betty
10 days ago

what is your opinion about hemp seed oil for decks?

Dave Czar
Dave Czar
10 days ago

I have a three year old deck that I stained with Behr premium semi-transparent Oil based stain, I am not happy at all with the performance of this stain, it’s total junk. Anything would be better than this stuff. Given that it is an Oil based stain what product would you recommend? and what would be the best preparation for the new stain? Thanks!

Dave Czar
Dave Czar
9 days ago

This is the deck and the hand rail it was prepped with the recommended behr deck prep before staining

DF96D136-B959-4075-ABF9-5349B651B832.jpeg
323C5CA9-986B-4D09-B417-5EEED8831170.jpeg
Dave Czar
Dave Czar
9 days ago

Thanks a lot!

Carla
Carla
13 days ago

How long does it take for the 1500 series to dry at 70 degrees with little or no humidity

Carla Rogers
Carla Rogers
13 days ago

H0w soon after washing deck can I apply stain. This is the third time I have stained my deck with this product over about 8 years.

Gale
Gale
9 months ago

Can I put other stains over this?

Pravin Bhagwan
Pravin Bhagwan
10 months ago

How do I spread stain big deck

J Hummel
J Hummel
11 months ago

it says 2-3 yrs before recoat and yet some other name brand products say 15+ yrs on siding. I’m sure the latter is marketing hype but what is realistic? Is 2-3yrs on decking the same as 2-3 yrs on siding? I have used twp before and I thought results were amazing. Just gathering more info for a commercial client.

J Vickoren
J Vickoren
1 year ago

My clear stain looked milky when opened. Is something wrong with it. It may have been inadvertently left outside in Georgia freezing temps.

Cheryl
Cheryl
1 year ago

I recently had a deck built using KDAT pine. I have read that I should not wait and do not need to wait longer than 1 month to stain it. Does that hold true for TWP stain and which TWP product should I use?

Robin
Robin
1 year ago

I have a Weathershield Cedar-toned PT wood deck on the east side of my MN house, installed late October of 2019. What would be a good product to use on it?
I wood like to keep it pretty much the same color.

Robin
Robin
1 year ago

Any idea of what color to use on top of the cedar tone? I don’t want it to turn orangey or yellow. Are sample sizes available?

Robin
Robin
1 year ago

Will the cedar tone color it is now go away when it is cleaned and brightened? or how will colors look over it? Should I use the 100 series? Is there a color you reccomend that would work best over it?

Donna
Donna
1 year ago

Thinking of staining my deck with TWP semi-transparent 1504 black walnut. Ordered a sample and love it but a friend said the dark stain would make the deck too hot to walk barefoot in. Is this true?

David
David
1 year ago

What product do you recommend for redwood?

David
David
1 year ago
Reply to  David

The 100 series or the 1500 series?

David
David
1 year ago

Northern Minnesota. On the Canadian border.

David
David
1 year ago

Thank you!

Lee
Lee
1 year ago

We have a lot of pine tree sap on our 3 yr old wood deck that was stained with TWP natural color two years ago. What is the best way to remove/clean the deck to get rid of the sap?

Donnelly
Donnelly
2 years ago

I just used the brightener onthe deck, it us already dry. How long do I have to wait before I stain in with the 1500 series stain.

Donnelly
Donnelly
2 years ago

I power washed my deck two days ago. Is it necessary to use a cleaner/brightener on the deck as well before staining?

Donnelly
Donnelly
2 years ago

Hiw long do zi need to wait in between coats for the 1500 series stain.

Donnelly
Donnelly
2 years ago

How long of a drying time do you need on the 2500 series stsin.

Chris
Chris
2 years ago

i have used TWP stain for the last three years and every year i have to restrain my deck. It is in direct sunlight but it does not last and keep it’s color.

Robert H Jeffers
Robert H Jeffers
2 years ago

I applied TWP last summer, my customer is asking me to apply a 2nd coat. Will a 2nd coat adhere?

Robert H Jeffers
Robert H Jeffers
2 years ago

Clean how? Deck wash again?

Robert H Jeffers
Robert H Jeffers
2 years ago

What fo you recommend?
Soapy water,
Just power washing
Or chemicals?

Paul
Paul
3 years ago

Hello,
I am going to use TWP Cedartone to stain new cedar rustic channel siding used to enclose a car port to make a garage. The entire house has 22 year old cedar channel siding that was last stained with TWP Cedartone about 5 years ago. Location –

My questions:

1) Do I need to wait, beyond the 10-14 days to allow the cedar to acclimate to the area, before staining?
2) Do I really need to stain all surfaces of the siding before installing?
3) How close of a color match do you think the new cedar will be to the existing cedar?

Thank you for your time; I appreciate it……….Paul

Paul
Paul
3 years ago

So I don’t have to wait if using the rough-sawn side of the channel siding, thereby not requiring any prep?

bernard beneteau
bernard beneteau
3 years ago

Stained our deck, (cedar), with twp 8 yrs ago. Stain on the top of deck is pretty much wore off. I’m assuming a deck wash would be adequate to restore it, however, railings and spindles still has some of the old stain on them. My question is, can I just use a deck wash on spindles and railings then re-stain on top of these areas using a twp stain. The stain has faded considerably. Long and short of it, can use twp on top of old twp assuming it is properly cleaned.

Ashley Dickson
Ashley Dickson
3 years ago

Just refinished deck with this product today. It has bee 2 hours and parts are still ‘shiny’ – how long should I give the stain to absorb and how to proceed wiping off the shiny areas?

Leona Arnold
Leona Arnold
3 years ago

Who sells this product in the Sudbury, Manitoulin Island, Ontario area?

Chris Pisano
Chris Pisano
4 years ago

Just finishing a new 1200 sq. ft. deck using bee grade redwood here in Sacramento California. Local lumber supplier recommends Penofin. We are looking for a clear finish to let the natural colors show thru. What’s the best product?

Chris Pisano
Chris Pisano
4 years ago
Reply to  Chris Pisano

As I mentioned I am just completing my Redwood deck installation. Thanks for the quick response. Great web site. Another question. Just this morning black mold blotches appeared. I am taking your advice on waiting 4+ months for the deck to season before applying finish. What should be done about the mold during this time?

Edith
Edith
4 years ago

Will this stain be good for extrem hot weather in the south

Karen G
Karen G
4 years ago

We are in the process of having a brand new cedar fence installed in Central Texas. Am I correct to assume that this product ( TWP Deck Stain) would also be the best for a new cedar fence to keep it looking great and protecting it?

Karen G
Karen G
4 years ago

The fence is rough. Should I stain it right away? The installer wants to stain it asap

Karen G
Karen G
4 years ago

Thank you!

David L Jordan
David L Jordan
4 years ago

My deck was finished with Rust-oleum RESTORE. Bad move. I have used an acrylic remover and got up most. However there are spots like cement that are not going to come up. I will have to use a solide stain, but which one and will it stay down over the old spots that did not come off??

Erick
Erick
3 years ago

Since TWP does not make a solid stain would you say Flood is the best performing solid stain for vertical siding? If not, which product do you recommend from testing results? Thanks!

Erick
Erick
3 years ago

Found it at local PPG store. Thanks. I applied TWP 1500 in 2015 on my all cedar home. Love the look and performance of stain. Just thinking of a change in color. Attached are photos of my home in TWP 1500 Rustic Oak. Awesome product!

20160706_160407.jpg
20151114_142451.jpg
20150914_090658.jpg
Erick
Erick
3 years ago

Thanks, I agree. Was thinking semi-solid or solid would stretch out time between maintenance coats.

Anne
Anne
4 years ago

We have sanded our entire deck to rid it of colored stain that flaked every year. We are looking for a CLEAR protectant that will keep the wood looking clean and fresh like it does now after sanding. The deck faces South and we live in Southern Michigan. We have worked so hard to get that flakey Behr stain off. We want something with good performance.

Cindy
Cindy
4 years ago

Should you pressure wash a deck

Cindy
Cindy
4 years ago

What prepping products should I use? I am probably going to use either the TWP 100 or the Defty Extreme stain.

Diann
Diann
4 years ago

Where do you buy this deck stain?

91
0
Questions or leave a review, please comment!x