Behr Deckover Review 2.4/5 (434)

by Deck Stain Help

Behr Deckover Review Update 2019

Since the article was first originally published, we have had numerous comments from consumers who have used the Deckover and have had a terrible experience with peeling and failure. If you have used the Behr Deckover, please upload and post pictures of your exterior wood or deck with the Deckover on it. A short description of your experience would be helpful as well. This can be done in our comment area below. Feel free to also submit a Star Rating on the Behr Deckover coating.


Behr Deckover Stain ReviewBehr DeckOver RatingsBring new life to old wood and concrete surfaces with BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER. This 100% acrylic formula conceals cracks and splinters up to 1/4″, and creates a smooth, slip-resistant finish that also resists cracking and peeling. It’s available in 54 solid custom colors and is also great for decks, railings, patios, composite decks, pool decks, and walkways.

Recommended for properly prepared exterior weathered or cracked horizontal and vertical wood and composite surfaces such as Decks, Railings, Porches and Boat Docks. Also great for concrete surfaces such as Pool Decks, Patios, and Sidewalks. Do not use on drivable surfaces such as garage floors and driveways.

Behr Deckover Stain Scores (1-10)

Appearance After Initial Stain Application: 4

– Behr applies like thick paint and helps to fill cracks and conceal splinters. It looks like paint, not like a deck stain. Our customer complained about dirty footprints always showing up on the deck. Had to scrub to remove.

Preventing UV Graying at 2 Year Mark: 10

– Excellent UV protection from graying in the areas that were not peeling.

Wear/Tear and Peeling: 4

– One Winter and the Deckover was peeling heavily. We prepped according to manufacturer directions so we know that was not the problem. In general, we have found that all Behr stains have a tendency to peel, especially after a Winter in a cold weather state.

Cost Per Square Foot: 1

– Not good. Behr says 75 sq. per gallon and that is very generous. We used 8 gallons for the 400 sq. foot deck. First coat applied at about 50 sq. feet and the second coat applied at 75 sq. feet per gallon.

Preventing Mold/Mildew/Algae: 10

– No Mold or Algae were on the deck stain after 1+ year.

Ease of Application: 2

– Very difficult to apply. We applied with a brush and roller. Needed to back brush numerous times to get the stain to fill in the cracks. We had numerous drips between the deck boards showing.

Color Shifting (darkening) after 2 Years: 10

– Did not darken or attract dirt.

The Difficulty of Reapplication: 1

– This would be tough to fix and may not be worth it to recoat with the same product. You would have to scrape and sand all loose stain before reapplication. If you wanted to change brands, you would need to sand the entire deck to remove as the Behr Deckover will not strip off with a conventional deck stripper remover.

Overall Score Behr Deckover at 2 Year Period: 5.5

– If you took away the UV protection of being a solid stain product, this product’s ratings would be much less. There are numerous complaints on the internet about the Behr Deckover. Use at your own risk as there is a good chance it will peel and create a huge mess for you to fix.

Product Information:

Where To Buy: Home Depot
Cost: $35 per Gallon
Stain Type: Acrylic Solid Stain – Water Based
Available Colors: 54 Custom colors
Application Temperature: 45-95 F
Coats Required: 2 Coats.
Coverage Per Gallon: 75 sq. ft per gallon. Need 2 coats for best performance.
Application Tools: Brush, Roller
Dry Time: 8-24 Hours
Cleanup: Water
VOC Compliant: 250 Compliant in all States
Manufacturer: Behr

Test Deck Stats:

Deck Wood Type: Untreated Pressure Treated Pine Dock
Deck Square Footage: 400 Square feet
UV Exposure: Full sun
How Many Years Tested: 1 Year. Peeled after the first Winter
Stain Color Used: 
Cedar tinted

Update Spring of 2019

Please read our article on Gulf Synthetics Deck Revive Review 2019 We believe this product has real value if looking for these product types that actually work.

*All products tested and results are from our experience. We offer no guarantee of similar results. Take into consideration that results may differ due to different wood types, exposure to UV radiation, and natural weathering.

Please Rate This. You may also post comments or ask questions below.

Behr DeckOver Consumer Rating Results

5 33
4 39
3 93
2 92
1 177
5 109
4 98
3 87
2 46
1 94
5 57
4 47
3 63
2 78
1 189
5 27
4 8
3 21
2 23
1 355
5 84
4 63
3 69
2 60
1 158
5 72
4 43
3 52
2 58
1 209

593
Ask a Question or Post a Review

avatar
 
smilegrinwinkneutralshockunamusedcooloopsrollcryeeklolmadsadexclamationquestionhmmbeg
Photo and Image Files
 
 
 
 
Audio and Video Files
 
 
 
 
newest oldest
Lori
Lori

Does anyone have any recommendations on how to move it without ruining the concrete. Love to hear it, thanks.

Lori
Lori

I put this on a very large concrete patio. It was horrible to apply. thick and sandy, the sand doesn’t spread evenly through the paint. I bought a middle sand graded one. AWFULL!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Everything sticks to it. can’t get it to look clean. Started peeling and bubbling up as soon as it got wet. Tried to remove with hose. Some of it came up in large peels and in other places it’s stuck on like concrete to the concrete. I called Behr, they said use a power washer to get it off. Well just using the garden hose in some places lifted the concrete right up. so now I have chunks of concrete out of the patio that need repairing. I tried paint remover in one area, it liquified and sunk into the concrete so I stopped doing that. Haven’t rented a power sprayer yet, almost afraid too. I spent a lot of money, more than 10 gallons of product. The lady at Home Depot in the paint department said she used it on her patio, she said she bought the smooth coating. I tried to return it after I did one section, they said I needed to give it a chance and to stir the paint better so it would go on more evenly, so sorry I listened to them, what a sham Behr! They should be ashamed of themselves. So why didn’t they discourage me from buying it? It has so many bad reviews now and a class acton suit going. I asked a guy in the paint department why they still were carrying it, he said he didn’t know anything about the law suit, sure he didn’t! I live in Las Vegas where it’s hotter than hell in the summer and just want a nice patio. A concrete company said they’ed get it off and stain the patio for $2100.00. Really? So disappointed in Behr, don’t think I’ll be buying Behr any more either. I let you know what happens when I finally use a power sprayer.

StanG
StanG

What a waste of time and money. I will never use another Behr product again. Save yourself the money and labor,

Stan Goddard
Stan Goddard

After spending $200.00 for the Behr deck over and No. 63 wood deck cleaner $100.00 to rent a deck sander at Home Depot Which has also lost my business. I am extremely disappointed in this product. It Not to mention all the proper 1/2 nap rollers that I bought and had to throw away because they couldn’t be cleaned properly. This product had the texture of cement. Luckily I stopped at 50 sq. feet. So I only have to re-sand with my belt sander 1/5th. of my deck.
DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT. Home Depot has youngsters that graduated from McDonalds School of Shame…

Pissed consumer
Pissed consumer

Absolutely the sorryest product I have experienced and wasted alot of good hard earned money on! Bought all of the promoted Behr prep products and followed all the instructions to the “t” and this sorry Behr deckover crap began peeling at 6 months from application. Crap comes off in big sheets. The only plus I could give it is it comes off in big sheets making it easy to get off but a bitch to pick all the crap up! Big waste of money and time.

C Flor
C Flor

The paint, deckover , has cracked, and the wood, is rotting under the Deckover paint.
Painted the deck about 3 years ago.

Juniors
Juniors

Seriously this product has no coverage at all. I used several rollers and it just won’t spread. It states that it will cover 125 sq ft but you will be lucky to get close to that number. I even used the deck over roller that is sold for triple the price and could not get the coverage. This product is beyond expensive but does not apply well. Home Depot provide limited sales support

Rob P
Rob P

First of all, there was a class action lawsuit regarding Home Depot’s/Behr DeckOver product. See here
http://www.behrdeckoverclassaction.com/

Of course, to participate in it – you have to show proof of purchase…..who keeps old cans and/or receipts?

Since we agree Home Depot/Behr DeckOver, or Advanced DeckOver (what’s that term – you can put lipstick on a pig, but….), sucks, not worth the money, misrepresented/marketed, – what is everyone recommending to use for staining cedar fence or wood deck? Thanks in advance for your responses.

Tamara
Tamara

Gorgeous for about 6 months……. now looks awful. Lifts and peels in sections. Also, dark brown has faded after 2 years. Don’t recommend!

Kenneth Hirsch (Jean)
Kenneth Hirsch (Jean)

There’s no rolling this mud like product. Very disappointing. Had to brush it on. I had my knee pads working on for ever. Took three times as long as I thought to apply. Knees, back, legs, arms and hands ache. Quite a workout. The test is how it winters. KenE

Nana in Ohio
Nana in Ohio

I put this on 2 years ago and went back to complain that it was peeling after a mild winter in Ohio. I was convinced to try the new advanced formula. I sanded and reapplied in May and it’s already peeling in long strips especially under the glass patio table. I will sand down to bare wood and apply a stain from another company. Home Depot has lost my paint business.

Nancy Stubbs
Nancy Stubbs

I put this on my deck 2 years ago. This year all my boards are rotting away. I am going to have to replace my whole deck. I will never put this stuff on again.

Derek Minnich
Derek Minnich

Applied 2 x 5 Gallons of color Tugboat Textured DeckOver in Spring of 2017, in perfect dry 70° weather conditions after following prep instructions exactly.
After 2017/2018 winter, the product began to fail and peal off in sheets.

What can i do about this, other than contact Behr, which i just did, via email from their site?

Thank You.

Cindy Campbell
Cindy Campbell

Did my deck 2yrs ago now I’m trying to get it off so guess I’m going to have to sand it horrible peeled everywhere deck over did not hole up like your stain does
I use to apply behr’s stains always but I’ll never buy or recommend this product

Derek Minnich
Derek Minnich

Same here, Cindy. I used color Tugboat. It should have been called Shipwreck.

Steve thomas
Steve thomas

Looked ok the first summer. By the next summer it was peeling off. Spent a lot of time preping the deck with cleaner and power washer. Now when I use my blower on the deck pieces of it peel up and break off. Missed the class action.

Derek Minnich
Derek Minnich

Same here, Steve.

Bryan
Bryan

After applying one coat, I have shiny area and dull areas.
What is cause.
What is solution

Rick Govlik
Rick Govlik

I installed Deckover over my cracking treated pool deck, the first year it looked good. The second year it started pealing and I was finding places at seams that had lowered. I removed the boards and found underneath the deckover the boards were rotting it was also pealing at the cracks badly I could simply pull it off in long strips Conclusion, the wood was wet under the deckover it never adhered properly . I installed it according to the instructions but now what do I do find a solution or replace about 900 sq ft of deck

Cindy Campbell
Cindy Campbell

Same here nightmare

George Tullis
George Tullis

I used Deck Over on a concrete 600 sq ft screened porch. Wow did it look great. I used textured option and wish I’d went with smooth. I can’t damp mop the porch. I vacuum from time to time and wash a few times a year. I’ve had maybe five or ten dime and quarter size pieces come up. That was the prep. It’s a great product for concrete. But moving things around and excessive traffic causes scuffing; not really wear. I used a darker color so that’s half of it.
Would I use again on concrete? Heck yes. Would I use the textured option? NO! I wouldn’t use a dark color either. My back porch looks great when it’s clean. My plan is to reapply a coating of smooth texture and see what happens. Of course I’ll clean with degreaser and rinse and dry thoroughly before hand.
Putting anything like paint or a coating on wood is a stretch. If I needed to get just a few more years out of the wood deck maybe. Painting or coating wood floor for the long haul? NO. It’s a temporary fix.
Again. This is perfect for concrete that’s been prepped properly. Truth is a spent literally 120 hours getting up carpet glue off the porch before applying the Deck Over and some remained. It’s a great product but not for wood.

Jackie Frazier
Jackie Frazier

Is there a product that can be put on top of Deckover to prevent the peeling???

Mile Ambrose
Mile Ambrose

how does deck over work on bare concrete?

Shelley Mikolainis
Shelley Mikolainis

I had the same experience with Deck Over as the other postings. So terrible. We have 4 seasons. I applied last Aug. When snow melted in Apr it had peeled. Now I’m having a heck of a time scraping it all off. Will take many days. So disappointing. Was offered a cleaner and can of paint by Behr. But that doesn’t help as I will never use this product again. Same thing happened to a friend if mine and didnt even know she was using it. Wish I had of read the reviews first.

Christina McCullough
Christina McCullough

Your product is awful. Not at all pleased with what we paid for and thought it would last. Followed all directions and used your products to clean and prepare deck. Wish we justed used something else. Now having to pressure wash and start over with something else. Not a fan of your products at all.

Patty Flick
Patty Flick

Patty
I thought I would update, sense my last post, we had to replace our deck ( 15 x 32 ) It could not be saved . Also because it was rotting the joists were starting to rot also, I think we did it just in time to save the deck. Now I have to try to save my pool deck before it starts rotting too, better hurry! very expensive lesson DO NOT PAINT DECK. Note: tried power washing it did not work.

Karen Miron
Karen Miron

Worse product I have ever used. I spent about $300 to purchase the paint and cleaner for my deck last year. It’s already peeling off in huge chunks everywhere! The money was bad enough, the labor to clean and paint this stuff on my deck and front porch was overwhelming and now I have to scape it all off and do it over. Behr doesn’t stand behind their product- lots of people have had a horrible experience with this paint. Now they’ve come out with a new “Advanced formula” I won’t ever buy their product again!

Donald LaDue
Donald LaDue

Painted my deck 3 years ago. It started peeling. Upstate NY.

20190815_103722.jpg
20190815_103714.jpg
20190815_103701.jpg
Barb
Barb

DON’T use Deckover!!! Used it in 2014. Flaked in 6 months. Cleaned and repainted. Flaked in 6 months. Can’t get what won’t flake off, even after calling Behr customer service for suggestions. Tried strippers and power washing-by a professional. Behr says only option is paint-which will hold water and rot the wood, put on a solid stain-which will flake when the crap Deckover left starts to peel, or use the new advanced Deckover. Oh, and of course wait for years until it all wears off! Only difference in advanced Deckover and old crap is Behr lowered the warranty from 5 years to 1 so they won’t have a class action lawsuit that they had on the old Deckover that they lost. We replaced half the deck. The other still trying to figure out what to do. As our contractor said “It looks like sh##.” Attached r pictures. We r out $1500 so far for replacing half the deck and only halfway through. It sucks. Pictures speak THOUSANDS of words.

4B087ECA-DB96-4837-B0CB-367A8F907F5B.jpeg
D8EB6227-6F14-4F47-8E7C-41735408127F.jpeg
20864740-C86B-4D74-88C9-EBE7BEFA9329.jpeg
6CA6FF55-0BBC-4D4F-8B4C-EA3FBF6A4E88.jpeg
Mije
Mije

Deck over completely destroyed my mahogany deck boards. They advertise this product to fill in small cracks, and it has turned my boards to saw dust. Avoid at all costs

A78C24E0-060E-4429-A20F-E25895F5F831.jpeg
8F523C8A-617B-4164-B62B-7733A4EF99E0.jpeg
Katie
Katie

If I could give this less than 1 star I would. Spent hours re doing my deck for absolutely nothing… peeling off with a blower… looks like absolute shit. DO NOT USE THIS PRODUCT. Same thing happened on my mom’s deck. Waste of time and money!!

Jeremy
Jeremy

Applied it 3 seasons ago. Ended up replacing all the deck boards this year instead if trying to sand it all off. Will use TWP200 on new boards.

George Tullis
George Tullis

This guy said it. If your wood deck needs replacing. Put a new one on and treat with TWP. IT’s the greatest. Sad thing is Deck Over is a super product on concrete. If someone actually believes they can paint wood that’s exposed to the outside (much less where it snows) they have no business attempting DIY projects anyway. Don’t blame the manufacturer! Anyone with any sense has to realize that wood attracts and holds water. THAT MEANS FROM THE BOTTOM AND ENDS TOO!
If you have a solid wood deck, clean off the gray color with a pressure washer. Let dry a few days and coat with TWP. Allow to set until the next spring and do coat again. You’ll be good to go ten years. Been there and done it.

Sean
Sean

We used deckover 3 yrs ago.2016. Every year it peels up all over. I repeat. Next yr same thing. I am presently attempting stripping. Not having good luck. Any suggestions? Will eventually replace deck serface.bought two types of strippers. One curled edges, other in process. Open to ideas.

Patricia West
Patricia West

I would suggest not buying this expensive product. We built this ramp & deck for our disabled daughter. Talked to rep. Guaranteed it would last 7 years in Wisconsin. This mess we have here is unreal. The time my husband put into prepping this to do as they said. Saving money to buy it all. Then the time it took to do it all. Then to have it peel off after only being on 6 months. Then this company doesn’t pay for all the labor & materials to remove the mess on this ramp or deck. It’s taking me forever to get this done. They should be buying us all new wood and redoing our ramp and deck. After all the money and time we have spent. I can’t belive you would even try selling this CRAPPY Product to anyone else. Come fix this mess and then maybe, we would give you a better review. I want any future buyers to be ware of this.

Mike & Patricia West
Dousman, Wisconsin

Janet Mcdowell
Janet Mcdowell

Just replaced a16x16 cedar wood deck because of the issues created after using this horrible deck over paint. It peels and traps moisture causing
the boards to rot in places. Same thing happened to our neighbor. I hope this stuff has been pulled from the stores. Hope there is a class action suit out there.

Monique Lalonde
Monique Lalonde

Comment on peut éclaircir la peinture qui est trop épaisse. C’est un gallon qu’on s’est servi l’an passé il en reste 3/4 d’un gallon et elle est très épaisse.

My Deck is Rotting
My Deck is Rotting

After 2 years, my deck is peeling and rotting as a result of using this product. I’m highly disappointed. I think we should all file a suit against Behr and sue them for replacement of our decks.

Never again
Never again

Horrible product. Moisture got under it and made the underlying wood start to rot. Peeled right up after one year. Horrible horrible horrible.

15648477156151340580457587310980.jpg
20190803_085138.jpg
20190803_085159.jpg
Lisa Ghita
Lisa Ghita

Horrible product. peeling after 2 years and we have spent countless hours scraping and pressure washing deck to get this stuff off so we can get a decent product on there before winter. Leaves a very bad taste in my mouth when saying it was a Behr product. Have had no problems with their house paints, but this DeckOver is horrible and should be taken off the market.

George Blumreich
George Blumreich

I wouldn’t recommend this product. I believe the problem with it is in sits on top of the wood and doesn’t soak in to grip and keep water from getting under it and cause peeling which is exactly what I’m dealing with now and it’s a huge mess trying to peel up. I’m pretty furious overall. Especially don’t use it on full sun decking.

T C
T C

After 2 years our full sun deck steps are peeling as well as the surfaces that get the most wear. Started seeing cracking and peeling after the 1st winter (Pennsylvania). Asked a Behr rep about the steps last year. He attributed the poor adhesion to moisture in the wood at the time of application. It hadn’t rained in a few days and felt dry to the touch, but possibly the wood hadn’t dried completely through. I don’t know. The floor of our covered gazebo on the deck still looks great after 2 years.

Mike Jones
Mike Jones

This stuff is crap

larry scott
larry scott

I used Deckover on my deck 2100 sq ft of decking Even the lower level is peeling. its partially covered.. Ok I get it we all believed it was a good product its not…..What resolution has Behr provided to anyone? II have not contacted them yet but I do have all my receipts and paperwork….Any Resolution?

John
John

We used the cedar deck over last summer on a new wood deck. Any where snow spent any time on the surface it lifted up off the wood. The application was easy. This year we purchased the product again to treat the areas that had gone bad. The product was so thick it was almost impossible to apply with the recommended 1/2” nap roller and set up in the bucket in spite of stirring per instructions. Hopefully our experience this time will be better!! We did prep the wood per recommendation both times.

Carol Johnson
Carol Johnson

We applied and followed all cleaning and application instructions. It is peeling terribly and has created md on some areas of the wood. We hate it and are sorry we ever let the people at Home Depot talk us into this product. We have tried sanding to no avail, we are going to have to replace our entire deck to get rid of this horrible product. When I was in Home Depot last week I ran into a Behr rep who told me to call the 800 number and send pictures. He had no solution other than the new reformulated product was so much better, but advised not to apply over old product.

Brandt Olsen
Brandt Olsen

This is a horrible product. Don’t waste your money. I’ve had to apply a new coat every year for the past 4 years. It wears off every year. At least with stain I could clean it and reapply. With Deckover your stuck with it you can’t strip it off. It is very labor intensive to paint it on and it wears off each year. I hate that I was ever talked into it now I’m stuck with it until I pull up all the wood and replace it. I ABSOLUTELY HATE IT!!!

image.jpg
image.jpg
Jim
Jim

This stuff is shit.. only a year old at the cabin and 4 months at the house. We did step by step following behrs instructions after all the hard work and cost we have two big pieces of shit decks… Home Depot pull this shit off the shelf… Pissed.

156477958493317722542.jpg
15647795675041853867729.jpg
15647795463311027344691.jpg
Tracey Podlowski
Tracey Podlowski

I used Behr Deck Over two years ago after it was highly endorsed and a sample deck was built in a local Home Depot store and they applied the two different textures of Deck Over. My deck is approximately 2200square feet. I opted for the smoother version. I followed all application instructions. There were no other products on the deck prior to the Deck Over. It looked great when completed but one year after was starting to peel in areas. This is year 2 and I am now trying to strip it off, which is almost impossible. It cannot be sanded due to the grit in the product. I have spent almost 100 hours pressure washing it off piece by piece. I will then . have to sand the entire deck before I can put another product on it,. When I called the company their suggestion was to go over it and they claimed the product has been reformulated. I explained to them that it was peeling and simply reapplying would not work. After a long discussion, all customer service offered was 5 free ga.lls on Deck Over. I will never use this product again and am telling everyone I I know to stay away from it. Even when I’m in the store. I will never purchase another Behr product and am thoroughly disgusted with their customer service and solutions for a product that has proven to be defective.

STAY FAR AWAY FROM THIS PRODUCT

Brenda
Brenda

Terrible Terrible. I striped my deck down to bare wood, then used Behr wood stain and finish stripper and Behr all in one wood cleaner. Dry dry dry. Applied with brush. 40+ hours for small deck. Slightest movement made scratches. Peeling less than two years.

Hank Peters
Hank Peters

Following all directions, in fact I even sanded my deck. I applied Deck Over in September 2015, was able to complete the application in one day. In the fall of 2016 after blowing leaves all the deck, I noticed small pieces peeling. I was going to repair these areas after the winter. in spring of 2017, I blew the deck clean. This time large pieces were peeling away. I went to the Home Depot where I purchased the Deck Over (5 gal) and ran into a Behr Representative. After telling him my tail of woe…he told me I put it down wrong. Tried to explain to him how I applied the paint…it was my fault. I have power washed the deck, on my hands and knees with a putty knife trying to get it up…only to need a sander to clean off the deck. Yes, I will agree with the Behr Rep…it was my fault…to be conned by the false advertisement making the paint something it is not and to buy the paint in the first place. NEVER AGAIN…bye, bye Behr and bye, bye Home Depot. Your standing behind your product really sucks !!!

Marsha Hightower
Marsha Hightower

I applied Behr DeckOver May 2017. In May of 2018, it began peeling. I sanded those areas really well, cleaned up really well, and applied another coat. June 2019, Disaster!!! The whole thing is coming off. Peeling everywhere, and the wood underneath looks worse than when I first applied the paint in 2017. I have read now that this is standard for this product. My question is, what do I do now? How do I get this awful mess cleaned up? What product should I apply once I do get this awful, awful product off.

Chris K
Chris K

I used Behr DeckOver 4 years ago on the concrete deck around my in ground swimming pool. It did a great job covering the many patches and cracks on the concrete. I believe the key was following the preparation instructions carefully.
It has held up very well despite water from the chlorine pool and the harsh northeast winters. After 4 years it is showing signs of stress and wear, but I consider that normal wear and tear.

I’m going to use DeckOver again now. I recommend it highly.

William
William

The Behr deck over left my veranda in a complete peeling mess only after 2 yrs,

I still have not refinished my veranda, they should have sent some one to do that for me😠

What expensive crap, I would never never recommend this product, STAY AWAY.

William

Karen
Karen

I’ve had all the problems mentioned above. Too expensive, too labor intensive, peels off. Worthless. I wonder if there’s a lawsuit against Behr, too many people like us have spent too much money for a lousy product and you can’t even paint over it!